Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 61
  2. Negative: 1 out of 61
  1. Feb 27, 2012
    92
    Hironobu Sakaguchi and Nobuo Uematsu team up again to make a Japanese RPG which can be easily considered one of the best in years. It succeeds in innovating in a lot of features, with a charming gameplay that works and is very fun. It also has an epic and well-told story. A must-have for fans of the genre.
  2. Mar 19, 2012
    91
    If you're looking for an atmospheric RPG for your Wii, you can't go wrong with The Last Story.
  3. Mar 8, 2012
    91
    Simply a delightful game to play. With its rich, lively combat system and entertaining characters, it strikes a masterful balance between engaging gameplay and heartfelt story-telling.
  4. Sep 4, 2012
    90
    This game is the product of a true master.
  5. Aug 25, 2012
    90
    If Sakaguchi believed that fantasy of decades ago shouldn't be the final, may he now see that this story shouldn't be the last.
  6. Aug 24, 2012
    90
    A strong story that doesn't drag on too long makes for a satisfying RPG experience.
  7. Aug 20, 2012
    90
    The Last Story isn't perfect, but its engaging characters and strong gameplay are more than enough to carry it through any rough patches.
  8. Aug 1, 2012
    90
    Overall, however, The Last Story is an awesome experience. [Aug 2012, p.84]
  9. Apr 12, 2012
    90
    Everything is tied together by yet another gorgeous soundtrack by long term Sakaguchi collaborator and true mater of the art, Nobuo Uematsu. [May 2012, p.62]
  10. Feb 29, 2012
    90
    If this is Hironobu Sakaguchis last story, it's certainly sad, since it feels like he's finally managed to get back into form. It's a lavish, emotional tale told in a high pace, with strong, unusual characters, moral ambiguity and delivered with the precision we expect from the man. The one major complaint? It should have arrived earlier, while the Wii still had some life in it. Now it risks sinking into obscurity due to the target platform collecting dust in wardrobes.
  11. Feb 28, 2012
    90
    The Last Story is a brilliant role-playing game that's as rich and emotionally affecting as the best in the genre.
  12. Feb 27, 2012
    90
    The Last Story definitely deserves to follow in the footsteps of Xenoblade Chronicles, appealing to RPG fans everywhere, tapping into what makes the classics, such as Chrono Trigger and Final Fantasy so addictive, namely a strong focus on story with good pacing and a fluid battle mechanic that works almost flawlessly throughout the adventure.
  13. Feb 24, 2012
    90
    The Last Story combines the best we can expect from modern gaming-luxuries with elements we know and love from the 16-bit-days and Japanese RPGs. This includes likeable characters, a well thought-out combat-system and a story that will keep you at the edge of your seat hour after hour.
  14. Feb 23, 2012
    90
    This may well be the last great jRPG on Wii, so if you're a fan of the genre you really shouldn't miss it.
  15. Feb 17, 2012
    90
    Sakaguchi knows how to make great JRPGs. The Last Story is a memorable and magical work. The combat system is brilliant, it's fun, and Nobuo Uematsu's music helps you to remember the great games of the genre. Nintendo Wii has another essential. Zael will be your friend.
  16. Feb 10, 2012
    90
    Mistwalker once again delivers an interesting and deep role-playing game that also manages to innovate the RPG-genre in some aspects. A convincing story, combined with a unique combat system and a great audiovisual presentation, makes The Last Story a must-have game for anyone who has a special place in their heart for special RPG's.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 130 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    What an amazing game. it is worth every penny. it is one of the best j rpgs of all time and i think its close to xenoblade. had a great story. i did not finish the game yet but so far its been a great experience. good graphics for the wii and had great gameplay Full Review »
  2. Sep 1, 2012
    10
    What an amazing game. it is worth every penny. it is one of the best j rpgs of all time and i think its close to xenoblade. had a great story. i did not finish the game yet but so far its been a great experience. good graphics for the wii and had great gameplay Full Review »
  3. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    this game is cool, I like it, |I also think it's good and fun and nice.| When I| played this game it made me feel happy like when I eat ice cream or poop. Full Review »