The Last Story Wii

Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 61
  2. Negative: 1 out of 61
Buy On
  1. Aug 14, 2012
    60
    The Last Story is the latest project from Final Fantasy creator Hironobu Sakaguchi, and industry luminary Nobuo Uematsu composed the soundtrack. Previous collaborations involving these two legends have resulted in titles like Final Fantasy IV, Chrono Trigger, and Blue Dragon. I had high hopes for this Wii-exclusive RPG. Given its pedigree, I never imagined that it would fail to meet the low bar set by dozens of middling entries in the genre.
  2. Feb 23, 2012
    70
    It's a familiar mix of wonder and frustration, and it's eclipsed by Monolith's more intoxicating vision of the JRPG's future. The end result is a tale that's worth hearing out, but hard to hold dear.
  3. Aug 21, 2012
    70
    The Last Story is by no means a perfect game. However, the good here far outweighs the game's shortcomings, and, unlike RPGs that are bloated with fetch quests and tiring level-grinding, everything here is absolutely in service of the game's story.
  4. Aug 22, 2012
    60
    A mixed bag. Those who don't mind some badly written jRPG tropes will find quite a bit to love in combat, but the game is generally too linear and plodding to earn anything above the praise of "decent."
  5. Mar 16, 2012
    70
    By the end it can be hard to care, even if the plot is far more interesting. Couple the mediocre story with the less than fulfilling gameplay, and you have an experience that drags to begin with in both story and gameplay, discouraging you from progressing, but once it picks up pace it is far more enjoyable and worth the trudge.
  6. Aug 28, 2012
    50
    The Last Story feels like a JRPG that took incomplete notes as it tried to learn from Western design. The simplistic implementation of massively multiplayer online (MMO) combat motifs makes battles boring or frustrating. The character customizability, though wonderful, is purely cosmetic, never really extending into the play or storytelling. Worst of all, the gameplay and story might as well be two ships passing in the night. While Zael confronts the game's real antagonists in cutscenes, the player simply sits on the sidelines. In games, that's the last way you should try to tell a story. Ra
  7. Feb 23, 2012
    60
    Technically outdated on a aging Wii console, The Last Story ends up being quite linear... and too short. Online games and the New Game + feature won't really make up for it, despite the artificial extension of its life span. Hopefully, the voice acting is good, and combat is quite satisfying. And there's always this Sakaguchi's touch... which is always nice to have... The last game of the genre on the Wii?
  8. Aug 27, 2012
    73
    At the end of the day, The Last Story is a decent RPG, but nothing to be excited about. A dull story and uninteresting characters mar a unique combat system and solid gameplay.
  9. Mar 14, 2012
    50
    Look past the industry veterans standing behind it, and The Last Story fails to garner any sense of wonder. The new gameplay and combat mechanics are a refreshing addition to the genre, but doesn't hold up under much scrutiny. Clich├ęd characters and trite storytelling grind the experience down to a mediocre one.
  10. Feb 24, 2012
    70
    Mistwalker has made a great effort to add new ideas, but the game falls short of its own ambitions.
  11. Aug 14, 2012
    70
    While The Last Story is a solid offering from Japanese RPG legend Hironobu Sakaguchi, the boilerplate storytelling, familiar tropes, and lack of meaningful exploration make it feel like it could have been so much more.

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2012
#3 Most Shared Wii Game of 2012
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 178 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 39
  2. Negative: 5 out of 39
  1. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    I wrote a review of this game August 14th when it was released, and while my score doesn't differ, my opinion does.

    I hadn't completed the
    I wrote a review of this game August 14th when it was released, and while my score doesn't differ, my opinion does.

    I hadn't completed the game when I wrote the review, but when I finally did, I realized just how much I loved this game and will remember it for years to come. The Last Story and Lost Odyssey really show Mistwalker's talent, and I hope they come out with something new soon.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    What an amazing game. it is worth every penny. it is one of the best j rpgs of all time and i think its close to xenoblade. had a great story.What an amazing game. it is worth every penny. it is one of the best j rpgs of all time and i think its close to xenoblade. had a great story. i did not finish the game yet but so far its been a great experience. good graphics for the wii and had great gameplay Full Review »
  3. Sep 1, 2012
    10
    What an amazing game. it is worth every penny. it is one of the best j rpgs of all time and i think its close to xenoblade. had a great story.What an amazing game. it is worth every penny. it is one of the best j rpgs of all time and i think its close to xenoblade. had a great story. i did not finish the game yet but so far its been a great experience. good graphics for the wii and had great gameplay Full Review »