The Last Story Wii

The Last Story Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 193 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Last Story is a JRPG for the Wii console from Hironobu Sakaguchi that lets you take charge of a band of mercenaries and journey with them into a sprawling cinematic adventure. Enjoy the adventure alone in this epic Wii game or jump into online multiplayer modes with up to five otherThe Last Story is a JRPG for the Wii console from Hironobu Sakaguchi that lets you take charge of a band of mercenaries and journey with them into a sprawling cinematic adventure. Enjoy the adventure alone in this epic Wii game or jump into online multiplayer modes with up to five other players. [Nintendo UK] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 61
  2. Negative: 1 out of 61
  1. Feb 27, 2012
    92
    Hironobu Sakaguchi and Nobuo Uematsu team up again to make a Japanese RPG which can be easily considered one of the best in years. It succeeds in innovating in a lot of features, with a charming gameplay that works and is very fun. It also has an epic and well-told story. A must-have for fans of the genre.
  2. Feb 17, 2012
    90
    Sakaguchi knows how to make great JRPGs. The Last Story is a memorable and magical work. The combat system is brilliant, it's fun, and Nobuo Uematsu's music helps you to remember the great games of the genre. Nintendo Wii has another essential. Zael will be your friend.
  3. Nintendo Power
    Aug 1, 2012
    90
    Overall, however, The Last Story is an awesome experience. [Aug 2012, p.84]
  4. Feb 20, 2012
    80
    Full of gags, bawdy humour and pratfalls (what other game gives you the chance to shoot bananas at the feet of citizens for comic relief?) it's got charm to spare. Unlike Sakaguchi's biggest hit, The Last Story's title is more likely to be a self-fulfilling prophecy, but it represents compelling proof that there's still life in the old JRPG yet.
  5. Apr 17, 2012
    80
    An engaging and refreshingly svelte JRPG, but one that offers mere hints at where the genre may go from here rather than the new blueprint it could have been. [Issue#121, p.110]
  6. Feb 29, 2012
    80
    The Last Story and Xenoblade Chronicles are two different games which both try to achieve certain similar goals, however, The Last Story often shows potential without ever fully succeeding in basically every field. Visuals are absolutely pretty but special effects cause heavy FPS drops; battles are intriguing but extremely easy and confusing; the story itself is well told but very cliché. It's an overall good game, although it doesn't live up to its own hype.
  7. Aug 14, 2012
    40
    If The Last Story is the Wii's swan song, it is a miserable dirge, full of regret and remorse.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 39
  2. Negative: 5 out of 39
  1. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    I wrote a review of this game August 14th when it was released, and while my score doesn't differ, my opinion does.

    I hadn't completed the
    I wrote a review of this game August 14th when it was released, and while my score doesn't differ, my opinion does.

    I hadn't completed the game when I wrote the review, but when I finally did, I realized just how much I loved this game and will remember it for years to come. The Last Story and Lost Odyssey really show Mistwalker's talent, and I hope they come out with something new soon.
    Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2014
    10
    ive only played this game for about a week maybe im about half way through it. i have to say i love everything the graphics are well done theive only played this game for about a week maybe im about half way through it. i have to say i love everything the graphics are well done the characters are well done the weapon choice is great the story itself is amazing one of the best stories ive ever played the JRPG styled format of the game is amazingly done the enemies are superb as are the classes im constantly guessing who did it? i cant wait to get to the end im sure that ill be disappointed that it is over. id say that this game is as good as any Legend of Zelda game on the market and that it is completely worth every penny i spent for it. i know that when i finish this game i will play it again this is the best game for the wii console ive seen in awhile certaintly better than many supposedly great games. no doubt this game deserves the highest score possible certaintly though there are moments where i feel like crying due to the story line, i wont let any of the story i know out of the bag but this is an amazing game and i encourage anyone who has a wii to buy this game if they love a great story Expand
  3. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    this game is cool, I like it, |I also think it's good and fun and nice.| When I| played this game it made me feel happy like when I eat icethis game is cool, I like it, |I also think it's good and fun and nice.| When I| played this game it made me feel happy like when I eat ice cream or poop. Expand
  4. Dec 12, 2012
    9
    This review is based on a completed run through of the game.
    It's been a long time since I have played a game like this. This is how Final
    This review is based on a completed run through of the game.
    It's been a long time since I have played a game like this. This is how Final Fantasy should have been over the last 10 years or so. Most of the complaints that I have about this game would be problems with the wii. I hated the fact that I couldn't see these wonderful characters in HD. I wish I could have used a better controller, but that being said, Mistwalker really avoided having useless controller waggle forced into the game. The sound, the game play, the story, the characters were all very enjoyable. I just wish that the game would have been on a grander scale (there is only one town) I wish it would have been longer. My play through took about 36 hours to complete the story, side quests, and epilogue. If you do play, I would recommend playing the co-op in the beginning. The weapons that you win in the co-op mode are very useful in the first half of the game but not so much toward the end. I highly this as the last great wii game.
    Expand
  5. Aug 22, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Last Story is an awesome game, from it's great gameplay to it's brilliant musical score. It is very much a traditional JRPG at heart, with the kinds of characters that you'd expect from any Final Fantasy doing the rounds. But it does differentiate itself rather well from the traditional "young man or woman with amnesia" style of character: the way the characters all interact with each other is fantastic and really adds a human layer to the proceedings, leading the way to a climatic ending where Zael (the main protagonist of the piece) has to battle against everything he knows to be right and wrong. And that is what the game is really about, a man's struggle to find his place in the world, challenging what he knows while making (and losing) friends along the way. The combat system is also a breath of fresh air when it comes to JRPGs, it is not turn based, but real-time and actually relatively strategic. It's not perfect, but it could really come alive with a sequel. The musical score (as you'd expect) is fantastic and really fits the mood of the game well. But it doesn't deserve a "ten" for a few reasons, the graphics, while great, are occasionally jarring with some parts looking fantastic and others looking like a (high end) game from the last generation; which is a little disappointing. It is also just a tad short (clocking in at just over 20 hours depending on skill) for me, it seemed as though it should not have ended that early, I would have happily played a further 10-15 hours. To sum it up, this is a fantastic game that does almost everything right, 90/100. Expand
  6. Jan 7, 2015
    8
    Im putting an 8 just because the game kicked ass in the final moments, but truly deserves a 7.5 being generous.

    The last story is a nice
    Im putting an 8 just because the game kicked ass in the final moments, but truly deserves a 7.5 being generous.

    The last story is a nice story with its faults of narrative, sometimes you feel they missed some spots to make the story more believable, but it also compensates by giving some sweet moments that immerse you in the tale. Expect some bidimensional antagonists and some surprises as well.

    Battle system, when you get the hang of things is great, too bad the game is TOO EASY! practically plays by itself. It is also very linear and short but those things i dont mind really. Last 2 bosses are challenging enough specially if you come under leveled (there's no need to grind in this game at all!)

    Characters are nice except for the main one, voice acting is ok, music is alright with some nice tunes near the end as well.

    Dont expect a masterpiece, take the game for what it is and youll enjoy it! A nice experience not to be missed by RPG fans and non alike, specially since is a good game to introduce anyone to the genre, is THAT easy.
    Expand
  7. Aug 21, 2016
    0
    The game is terrible, it's a cheap Final Fantasy ripoff with janky controls, poor combat mechanics, and a cliche story. To attack youThe game is terrible, it's a cheap Final Fantasy ripoff with janky controls, poor combat mechanics, and a cliche story. To attack you literally run into the enemies, there is no attack button. The story railroads you hard, there's almost no way to spend time doing what you WANT to do. The game suffers massive slowdown just running around town. The story explains nothing. Not in an 'ooh mystery' way, but in a 'okay why are we actually doing any of this?' way.

    The only reason we play it is because we paid full price, and we won't get rid of it because we don't want anyone else to accidentally buy it.
    Expand

See all 39 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2012
#3 Most Shared Wii Game of 2012