The Last Story Wii

Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 154 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Last Story is a JRPG for the Wii console from Hironobu Sakaguchi that lets you take charge of a band of mercenaries and journey with them into a sprawling cinematic adventure. Enjoy the adventure alone in this epic Wii game or jump into online multiplayer modes with up to five otherThe Last Story is a JRPG for the Wii console from Hironobu Sakaguchi that lets you take charge of a band of mercenaries and journey with them into a sprawling cinematic adventure. Enjoy the adventure alone in this epic Wii game or jump into online multiplayer modes with up to five other players. [Nintendo UK] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 61
  2. Negative: 1 out of 61
  1. Feb 27, 2012
    92
    Hironobu Sakaguchi and Nobuo Uematsu team up again to make a Japanese RPG which can be easily considered one of the best in years. It succeeds in innovating in a lot of features, with a charming gameplay that works and is very fun. It also has an epic and well-told story. A must-have for fans of the genre.
  2. Feb 17, 2012
    90
    Sakaguchi knows how to make great JRPGs. The Last Story is a memorable and magical work. The combat system is brilliant, it's fun, and Nobuo Uematsu's music helps you to remember the great games of the genre. Nintendo Wii has another essential. Zael will be your friend.
  3. Aug 1, 2012
    90
    Overall, however, The Last Story is an awesome experience. [Aug 2012, p.84]
  4. Feb 20, 2012
    80
    Full of gags, bawdy humour and pratfalls (what other game gives you the chance to shoot bananas at the feet of citizens for comic relief?) it's got charm to spare. Unlike Sakaguchi's biggest hit, The Last Story's title is more likely to be a self-fulfilling prophecy, but it represents compelling proof that there's still life in the old JRPG yet.
  5. Apr 17, 2012
    80
    An engaging and refreshingly svelte JRPG, but one that offers mere hints at where the genre may go from here rather than the new blueprint it could have been. [Issue#121, p.110]
  6. Feb 29, 2012
    80
    The Last Story and Xenoblade Chronicles are two different games which both try to achieve certain similar goals, however, The Last Story often shows potential without ever fully succeeding in basically every field. Visuals are absolutely pretty but special effects cause heavy FPS drops; battles are intriguing but extremely easy and confusing; the story itself is well told but very cliché. It's an overall good game, although it doesn't live up to its own hype.
  7. Aug 14, 2012
    40
    If The Last Story is the Wii's swan song, it is a miserable dirge, full of regret and remorse.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    I wrote a review of this game August 14th when it was released, and while my score doesn't differ, my opinion does.

    I hadn't completed the
    I wrote a review of this game August 14th when it was released, and while my score doesn't differ, my opinion does.

    I hadn't completed the game when I wrote the review, but when I finally did, I realized just how much I loved this game and will remember it for years to come. The Last Story and Lost Odyssey really show Mistwalker's talent, and I hope they come out with something new soon.
    Expand
  2. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    Plot Summary:
    In this captivating game you play as male name Zeal and his 6 mercenary comrades Yurick (the pyromancer),Syrenne (the hearty
    Plot Summary:
    In this captivating game you play as male name Zeal and his 6 mercenary comrades Yurick (the pyromancer),Syrenne (the hearty drinker),Dagran(the helpful friend),Lowell(the cryomancer/flirt),Calista(the dreamer),and Mirania (the healer stomach of 10 men) as you band together to save the world from a deteriorating fate.While playing this game, I have felt captivated by the game's articulate use of scenery and vocabulary.I was also pleased with the relative character personalities.
    Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    I've never played an action RPG that plays like this. All the options on how you can approach enemies is really interesting and fun. And theI've never played an action RPG that plays like this. All the options on how you can approach enemies is really interesting and fun. And the game is beautiful and sounds great. I truly hope this becomes an ongoing series Expand
  4. Dec 12, 2012
    9
    This review is based on a completed run through of the game.
    It's been a long time since I have played a game like this. This is how Final
    This review is based on a completed run through of the game.
    It's been a long time since I have played a game like this. This is how Final Fantasy should have been over the last 10 years or so. Most of the complaints that I have about this game would be problems with the wii. I hated the fact that I couldn't see these wonderful characters in HD. I wish I could have used a better controller, but that being said, Mistwalker really avoided having useless controller waggle forced into the game. The sound, the game play, the story, the characters were all very enjoyable. I just wish that the game would have been on a grander scale (there is only one town) I wish it would have been longer. My play through took about 36 hours to complete the story, side quests, and epilogue. If you do play, I would recommend playing the co-op in the beginning. The weapons that you win in the co-op mode are very useful in the first half of the game but not so much toward the end. I highly this as the last great wii game.
    Expand
  5. Nov 29, 2013
    9
    It's been quite a while since I enjoyed an rpg all the way through like I did this one. For the Wii the graphics are pretty good and it'sIt's been quite a while since I enjoyed an rpg all the way through like I did this one. For the Wii the graphics are pretty good and it's just a blast in my opinion. It's not a perfect rpg, but it is very well done. Here are some thoughts:

    Pro's:
    - While not extremely deep or complex, the storyline is enjoyable
    - Fantastic cast of characters around the main protagonist
    - Very amusing with funny banter frequently
    - Some adult themes occasionally which were pretty amusing
    - Lots of little side things to do throughout town that continue to pop up throughout the game over time
    - Battle system is original and fun
    - Weapon upgrade system is fun and not too complex
    - Quite a few optional story missions and dungeons
    - New game +

    Cons:
    - Very linear game
    - Not open world, you are pretty much stuck to the city the whole time.
    - Other characters in the party, while fun and amusing, could use more back story
    - Somewhat short for an rpg
    Expand
  6. Nov 27, 2012
    8
    The Last Story is a great send-off to Wii! Despite working with outdated hardware, the game looks and sounds fantastic. The characters areThe Last Story is a great send-off to Wii! Despite working with outdated hardware, the game looks and sounds fantastic. The characters are well rounded, the voice acting for the most part is quite well done. The story kept me hooked throughout the game, and how many RPG's come with an online mode? Not many. The only thing hampering this game is some performance issues I ran into and a somewhat lackluster ending to an otherwise fantastic story. Expand
  7. Aug 26, 2014
    0
    this game is just beyond crap.... lame gampeplay (the stealth sections is a total embarassement), a silly story, no exploration... and thethis game is just beyond crap.... lame gampeplay (the stealth sections is a total embarassement), a silly story, no exploration... and the framerate is a joke.... no interest at all... what a shame for sakaguchi.... Expand

See all 35 User Reviews