User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 51
  2. Negative: 1 out of 51

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    One of greatest adventures I under took in my late childhood was playing The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past! Many claim that Zelda: Ocarina of Time is the best Zelda game, and while indeed it is excellent, the real masterpiece that Ocarina was built from is A Link to the Past. The gamed design, gameplay, art design, quest design, dungeon layout, themes, items, pacing, and story allOne of greatest adventures I under took in my late childhood was playing The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past! Many claim that Zelda: Ocarina of Time is the best Zelda game, and while indeed it is excellent, the real masterpiece that Ocarina was built from is A Link to the Past. The gamed design, gameplay, art design, quest design, dungeon layout, themes, items, pacing, and story all were set out here that Ocarina and the later Zelda titles would follow. When I finished this game over a summer while young I felt as if I had finished a great quest, an epic journey. There have been few games that brought this level and feeling of satisfaction. But this game is not a masterpiece because I enjoyed it as a child, Zelda: A Link to the Past is one of the best crafted and designed action/adventure video games of all time with or without nostalgia. Expand
  2. Dec 17, 2010
    10
    Forget about the old review!I confused it with Zelda 2!Thi score is high and the game a classic!YES!THIS GAME IS REALLY GOOD!frearfsetgwsrgsrgdrsgsdrgsrdgdsfgsf
  3. May 19, 2012
    10
    my favorite game of all time brings back so many memories and it doesn't get any better than this in a zelda game. way better than 3d zeldas in acception for ocarina of time!
  4. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    A Link to the Past uses The Legend of Zelda's popular overhead view and so much more. The story in this game is a lot more clear and involving than previous Zelda games. The art style is flawless and memorable. The musical scores are classic. Gameplay wise, instead of merely stabbing with the sword like in the Legend of Zelda, Link swipes, and if you hold down the sword button, he does aA Link to the Past uses The Legend of Zelda's popular overhead view and so much more. The story in this game is a lot more clear and involving than previous Zelda games. The art style is flawless and memorable. The musical scores are classic. Gameplay wise, instead of merely stabbing with the sword like in the Legend of Zelda, Link swipes, and if you hold down the sword button, he does a spin attack, which has become a staple of the Zelda series and opened a doorway into new gameplay possibilities. The game design of this game is phenomenal. The overworld is a joy to be part of, as each new screen is something different. The game shines mostly however, in its dungeons. They are expertly made and fiendishly clever, not to mention at some points difficult. If I were to give a score to this game it would be 9.8. Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Anybody a fan of the Zelda series needs to play this game, simply to see how much they are missing out. Not just for a SNES game, but a game in general, it is packed with so much content and replay value, it is simply a game ahead of it's own time. I've recently played it and it really shows that Zelda had excellent games not only on the N64, but on the SNES too.
  6. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    While I had played the NES games, this was the first Zelda game I ever owned. I remember playing this game as a child for hours. Sometimes I would just run around the world for no reason at all but to explore, knowing I have already completed it 100%. Exploring Hyrule to me, was like Exploring one of the vast lands of the Elder Scrolls games today.
  7. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    "A Link To The Past" is the best Zelda game at date, and that's saying much. Story, grafics, gameplay, difficulty... everything is honed to a perfection!
  8. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    A classic. I don't know why, but all of these SNES Nintendo games have been a joy to play. I'll be going to my local gaming store to get a Wii Points card more often than usual. Oh, sorry! I must have dozed off! The gameplay is great, the amount of secrets in this game is outstanding. Those character models are so colorful and detailed, you will want to play this game just to look atA classic. I don't know why, but all of these SNES Nintendo games have been a joy to play. I'll be going to my local gaming store to get a Wii Points card more often than usual. Oh, sorry! I must have dozed off! The gameplay is great, the amount of secrets in this game is outstanding. Those character models are so colorful and detailed, you will want to play this game just to look at its visuals. It looks like a Saturday morning cartoon, and for good reason. It is quite the long game, the boss battles are satisfying and the overall feeling of accomplishment I got from beating this game is more than enough to recommend it to other gamers. This is a must-buy. Do yourself a favor and buy it, if you haven't done so already. Expand
  9. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    "The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past" has been cited by many as the best game in the franchise... It seems that it is in an endless battle for the #1 spot with Ocarina of Time and possibly Majora's Mask. While I don't like to get into all these discussions about which one is the better game, I certainly agree that "A Link to the Past" is a real gem in the Zelda series and the Wii"The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past" has been cited by many as the best game in the franchise... It seems that it is in an endless battle for the #1 spot with Ocarina of Time and possibly Majora's Mask. While I don't like to get into all these discussions about which one is the better game, I certainly agree that "A Link to the Past" is a real gem in the Zelda series and the Wii cetainly does a great job in showing you its nostalgic splendor with no real changes whatsoever. The game does well in portraying a story that revolves on a young Link, serving as sort of a prequel in the series. The simple gameplay, yet complex story, is great for any Zelda fan, hardcore gamers, and even anyone who has never played a single Zelda game and wants to give one a try. It receives a 10/10 from me. Tis' truly amazing. Expand
  10. Jul 11, 2013
    9
    The blueprint for all future Zelda games. The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past has a vast open world to explore with perhaps the best dungeons of the entire series. Nintendo took the formula of the original Zelda and added a full scale map, more diverse dungeons, more and better items, and an overall better experience. One aspect that doesn't seem to get brought up is the less crypticThe blueprint for all future Zelda games. The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past has a vast open world to explore with perhaps the best dungeons of the entire series. Nintendo took the formula of the original Zelda and added a full scale map, more diverse dungeons, more and better items, and an overall better experience. One aspect that doesn't seem to get brought up is the less cryptic secrets compared to the original Zelda. In a Link to the Past, there is always some sort of clue to finding secrets weather it be heart pieces, rupees, or items. And to put a cherry on top is the fantastic and lively open world. It is my favorite open world to explore in the entire Zelda series. And nevertheless, this might be my favorite Zelda installment in the franchise. Expand
  11. Sep 10, 2014
    10
    A masterpiece. This is the definitive 2D game in the series, and BY FAR the best 2D game, if not THE BEST Zelda!

    The sword is satisfying, the story is developed just right, the items are wisely used, the exploration is well dosed, and the challenge is perfectly fair.

    And dat music!

    Also, the atmosphere is just right!
    A well merited 10/10!

There are no critic reviews yet.