User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1560 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is the game the Wii was built for! The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword is an absolute masterpiece from beginning to end. IGN, a trusted website, doesn't hand out perfect 10's lightly. A must own. 10/10.
  2. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Maybe the best zelda game yet? Maybe! Skyward sword is another game in the long running series, a series well known for having one of the best games of all time. This game is a masterpiece. Enough said. The gameplay is incredible. Trust me, once you play an hour of SKyward Sword, you will never want to go back to controllers. Wii motion plus is what Zelda is made for. Every enemy isnt, WHO CAN HIT EACHOTHER FASTER or somethign like that. It is now, SEE IF YOU CAN LOCATE THE WEAKNESS IN MY STRATEGY AND THEN ATTACK THERE! Trust me it IS amazing. Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    To the people who have been giving this game a zero. If you expected this game to have guns, blood, sexuality, or anything like that you are ignorant beyond any reasonable belief. IF you think those elements make a game mature, once again, ignorant. If you gave this a 10/10 for one group of people but 0/10 for another the full review cannot be 0/10 it must at least be a 5. If you actually have a review of this game please post it. If you just say you don't like it, I don't believe you even bought it/ I don't believe you were going to buy it anyway. zeros are by far the most ridiculous scores, even people on Skyrim who give it a zero are ignorant. You know it is worth more, review the game fairly. This game is a 10 for me. Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This Zelda is one of the best Zelda game ever. First of all the gameplay is great, with the wiimote plus everything you do will be recognized and its really impressive. But because it uses the gyro instead of using the sensor bar you will often of to recenter the wiimote while using items like the slingshot. Graphics are really wonderfull, its are the best you can find on wii, but take care, while playing on an HD TV you might have a lot of aliasing. Classical Story but with tons of surprises in the second part of the game. You will certainly find the beginning of the game to slow and not really impressive, but the second part of the game is really really cool. A must own. Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Im now 15 hours into this game and I think this is enough to judge it. There are several things i don't like about it such as every time if you restart the game and pick something up it will tell you the same **** what this is and bla bla bla about it. The other negative thing isn't the game itself. It is the **** Wii and its HI-RES YAYAYAY. I have a 50" tv and at the beginning it was a pain to get into it. But I think there wouldn't be any other game which could bound me with this resolution. In my opinion it is the best Zelda game and it makes fun in every way. The controls, the dungeons, the flying around, the new things and even the senseless bug catching thing is funny. This Zelda shows the world that you don't need the best graphics or cool explosions in every corner of the screen. This Zelda shows us that a game with a brilliant and catchy story makes more fun then most of the other games out there.This is a true Zelda game and everyone with a Wii should get it. No exceptions! Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    [NO spoilers] I believe this is as good as Ocarina of time. They tried innovating and succeeded! This game makes old gamers happy and new people to the series as well. They changed a lot of new things but in a way that did not disappoint people who loved the formula and got tired of the formula. In my opinion, the old formula was fine, but I still believe this is extravagant. Perfection!!! This game is meant for hardcore and newcomers to the series. Game play is amazing. The Wii motion plus makes you actually feel like youâ Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Just beat the game a 100%, and can now safely say that this game is a true masterpiece.
    It may be easy to point out some minor flaws, but no big dealbreaker in any way.
    As for the controls, after 5 hours they´re natural and fantastic!
    This is a solid 9.8 in my book, but the only cons is some minor flaws thats not even worth mentioning so im pumping it up to a 10 for the
    metacritic :D

    A MUST BUY! (And it´s worth to buy a Wii for it)!
    Expand
  8. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    25 hours till now playing the game ,controls are very impressive,clever, initiative . the important part that i have the same feeling in Ocarina of time the Depth of game play the value that i want to replay the dungeons and visit the area than one Time, ZELDA is the reason i play games
  9. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is the best game of Wii. The game the Wii was built for. The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword is a demostration of making great designs and a reinvention of the adventures genere.
    A game that all gamer must to play. Must have, masterpiece 10/10.

    Juan Lopez, Zaragoza. España.
  10. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Absolutely fantastic. It's colorful, it's challenging, and while it's reasonably accessible for new players it does none of the claustrophobic hand-holding that many other recent Zeldas have done. The combat is a massive improvement over Twilight Princess, the motion controls being precise, responsive, and making combat an actual treat. A must-own...definitely the best Zelda released since the Wii era began. Expand
  11. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is so amazing. I played all Zelda series's games, it's not simple to say which is the best, but Skyward Sword is surely one of the best game I ever played. The controls are very good, the graphic is stylish and its design for every part of the world is crafted caring about every single aspect. The soundtrack is the best of the series. If you are a fan of The Legend of Zelda you must buy Skyward Sword and you'll see with your eyes one of the best game ever created from 25 years to now. Masterpiece 10/10 Expand
  12. Nov 21, 2011
    6
    After waiting so many months Skyward Sword Zelda, after reading so many articles, see movies and read rumors, even I would give this game 10/10. Then he came out, I bought and tried and it is at this point that came the disappointment. I quickly realized that so much praise, so many high scores were just advertising. I am an expert player of Zelda, I played three times and finished Zelda Twilight Princess and I would have expected much more from Skyward Sword. Grainy graphics, controller goes crazy when you look off the field, the controller is not precise, enemies in spite of the above the new Motion Plus controller, are killed simply shaking the controller. And then the most important thing, the story,missing the magic, the soul is lacking, there is no involvement, few dialogues. It looks like a game made in a hurry to go to meet business needs, putting together the pieces of the previous Zelda,yet they have had 5 years of time. I've played now for 20 hours since I hope that going forward you change something... Expand
  13. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    The best Zelda ever. I have been playing 19 hours from now and the dungeons are the best of the series. The graphics are the best wii can get. The gameplay with the wii controller is superb
  14. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Have been playing this for 30 hours now, completing the sixth dungeon. It is very difficult to state this is the best Zelda ever. You can observe it in two ways; is it the best Zelda gameplaywise and technically? Yes, it is. It has the gameplay of all the Zelda games and has the best graphics and power. Some dungeondesigns are pretty good. I am pleased they attempted to use more dungeonthemes than just the standard earthelements like forest, water, fire. This time you will use more creative elements like timeshiftstones and pirates. Also the motion controls adds more feel to the game. This is easily the best motion game out there, because it works. the swordfighting is very responsive and I always get an exciting feeling when approaching an enemy, even after 30 hours. You fight only because it's fun while you can just run away. Only Nintendo is able to do this in this video game generation. The graphics are the best in a Zeldagame yet. It combines Windwaker with Twilight Princess and adds a waterpainting feeling to it when watching in the distance. The closer you are to an object, the sharper it gets. although, sometimes it is just a pixelmess.


    And then there is another way to review this game. Nintendo already knew fans wanted some changes in the Zeldaformula. You can see they tried with this game. But the things they tried, like returning to already done dungeons, an upgradesystem for your items like shields, potions and the beetle, adding a staminameter, collecting upgradeitems, are not the most creative elements out there in the game. This has already done many times before, therefore it adds no new feeling to it really. It feels like a combination of some old gameplaymechanics with the Zelda-formula (Darksiders gave me the same feeling, combines Zelda with god of war). the changes didn't really stunned me in a way the older Zeldagames did when they were new. It is often predictable what to do when you're stuck, like looking to the ceiling or use the new item you get, because you recognize the situation, it feels very familiar. Of course, some people will only appreciate this nostalgia-feeling. But I already thought Zelda TP felt to familiar and therefore the puzzels were easy. This Zelda has gone some changes in the original formula, but not enough. Don't ask me what is necessary to give a Zelda game a whole new feeling to it but at the same time also feels like a Zelda-game, that is for Nintendo to find out. This is CERTAINLY not a bad game! Gameplaywise it is still one of the best games this game-moviegeneration. But is doesn't stunned me like Mario Galaxy did compared to other Mario-games. Galaxy felt VERY creative, did many things new and still felt like a Mario-game. It is time for the next Zelda to do the same. I heard Miyamoto is leading the first Zelda HD. I can't wait to see what they will do with this one.
    Expand
  15. Nov 22, 2011
    2
    Motion controlls lag, camera seems to go off into its own little world so you cant even see whats infront of you. Story is average. Gameplay is fun though. The motion controlls are scripted, and they tend to do something completely different then what you wanted it to do. Theres no voice acting, like wtf Nintendo?
  16. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    18 Perfect scores for a good reason, Zelda skyward sword gameplay is perfect, using the bow like wii sport resort feels awesome and after swinging the sword you wont want to go back. Using loftwing feel fast and very fun, you will love loftwing alot more than epona. This zelda is a must buy even if u have never pla ya zelda before. 10/10
  17. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Perfect controls, great dungeon design, there are some minor flaws but they don't make it less fun or playable, clearly this game is a fresh air to the zelda formula, a must own for every Wii owner not only Zelda fans.
  18. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Its finally here, this is the game many have been waiting for and let me start off by say it does not disappoint. This is why there are so many fans of the series, amazing story telling, huge dungeons, tons of characters, my heart strings being tugged. From start to finish this game amazed me in all kind of different ways, from being frustrated at times and finally figuring out the correct way to defeat an enemy to the amazing art style and even some really awesome story twists, which I dare not spoil them for you. If you have a Wii I urge you to get this game, if you are a huge fan of the franchise this is a must buy, and if your tired of debating which game is better then that game, check this one out, you will be very thankful you did. i have played every single Zelda game that Nintendo has produced and i can say truthfully this is their finest piece of work ever. Please do not pass up one of the greatest experiences you could ever have with a video game. Expand
  19. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    The most unique with this game is the artstyle and that it isn't grimdark like the most of the games this generation. It got extremely many colors and has good graphic considered it is a Wii game. The controls are amazing too and so is the story. One thing I like about this game is that it really explain the beginning of the master sword and the legends!
  20. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    All of you absolute morons rating this a 0 need to stop being jealous that your PS3 and 360's cannot play this masterpiece. You're a cancer to gaming and I hope you all rot with your generic first-person shooters that you defend to the death, and yet bash real innovation like this game with its FLAWLESS controls, design, orchestrated music and 50-100 hours of gameplay. Long live Zelda and this game will sell MILLIONS thank god. Expand
  21. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is the most unique Zelda game in years. Nintendo has crafted an experience that feels familiar, but also very fresh and exciting. Skyward Sword's beautiful art design, coupled with phenomenally accurate controls, makes what is easily the most definitive experience on the Wii. This game is a must own for Zelda fans.
  22. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is epic! I just started, and I think it's already better than most Zelda games. It deserves all of the tens it's getting. Best Zelda game? Maybe, once I beat of course, but I'm already considering it to be a little better than ocarina! If you're a Zelda fan, you'll adore this one!
  23. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Ok so I got this game a few days ago and still have a long way to go but I had to write a review in response to so many people who rated this 0. 0? seriously are you really that bitter that you think this game has absolutely nothing to offer? even if you think you are too grown up to play Zelda (im 27 and I can swallow my pride to play a less mature game) and you think the graphics look a few years old you have to admit that the game play and the controls are quite spectacular, the experience it creates for the first time with motion controls gives a sense of reality that all these other high end graphics button bashing games can't achieve. Yes the formula of quirky characters, dungeons and puzzles is similar to previous Zelda titles but why break a wining formula. Any one who is unsure about this game don't listen to the 0 reviews they are people who are more entertained by style rather then substance (not that this game doesnt have style). I will say that it takes a few hours to really get in to the game as the first part introduces the story and controls. This game isnt perfect and in my opinion so far doesnt deserve 10/10 but not many games do but there are several moments in the game that are 10/10 and unrivalled by any game on any other system purely because of the unique controls. I want to see more games use this control system and yes it would be good to have better graphics and some blood and gore but not in a Zelda game. I was playing Skyrim all last week and was addicted but I cant go back to it until Zelda is completed because pointing in the right direction and bashing a button seems so unsophisticated now. The only thing that bugs me about this game is not so much the graphics but that the Wii doesnt support HD so doesnt do the art style of the game any justice. Expand
  24. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    5 years in waiting for a console Legend of Zelda and by god, it is very satisfying to play a brand new Zelda game on the big screen. I have been playing for 18 hours since Friday so this is a good amount of time to finally do a review. Even though Skyward Sword has the Zelda name, it feels like a complete departure from the other games and I felt like I was playing a newly realized Zelda. Dungeons are still here but the only difference is that the whole world map is a big fat dungeon and I think it's an interesting take on Zelda tradition. The main selling point of the game is its fully implemented motion controls and while it works really well, it's not perfect as it can get frustrating at times, especially when you're in combat, aiming a long range weapon or playing your musical instruments, all requiring motion based gameplay but you will get used to it and in time, it becomes second to nature as the controls has a tight learning curve. The layout scheme itself has also changed (for the better) as the item menu is pretty much at your firsthand disposal instead of pausing into the menu and picking the item then un-pausing, leading to a more fast paced gameplay. The story is the most cinematic I have ever seen in a Zelda game and the visual and graphical style is jaw dropping gorgeous to look at and while I should be half way to through the story, it's pacing is slower compared to the other games but its memorable characters, emotional attachments and atmosphere makes it worthwhile. In conclusion, this is the best game I have played this year alone and the best Wii game because it completely realize and utilizes what the console can do. Albeit not being perfect, the motion controls does its job easing you in the game's mechanics so well that the frustration is forgotten in seconds and the visual style makes Skyward Sword the best looking Zelda game since Windwaker and the best looking game on the Wii overall. If you have a Wii, you have to buy this game as sadly, this is might be the Wii's final swansong in its six year lifespan and by god, what a way to go. Expand
  25. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Finally the first zelda game for the wii comes out and it's the best one since OoT, miyamoto didn't lie when he said, its the best zelda or no more zeldas.

    ITS A MUST PLAY
  26. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    excellent game, the best on the wii, and the best of this generation, GOTY.If you expected this game to have guns, blood, sexuality, or anything like that you are ignorant beyond any reasonable belief.As for the controls, after 5 hours theyÃ
  27. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is a spectacular addition to the Zelda series. I knew long before purchasing this game that I would enjoy it, but after trying it myself, I found that it not only lived up to its high expectations, but surpassed them by far. I was blown away by this game's amazing gameplay, which was a huge improvement from the shortcomings of Spirit Tracks. As hard as I try, I can find no flaws in this game. If there is any Zelda game that could possibly challenge Ocarina of Time for the spot of the best game in video gaming history, this is it. Expand
  28. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    This game is amazing, I'm not sure what the people who are complaining about the controls are talking about, they work fine for me. Definately a GOTY contender.
  29. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Best Zelda game ever! Hands down. Great graphics gameplay characters and puzzles. Very original. The wii motion plus is very well done and certainly adds to the experience.
  30. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    As I've read in most forums, obvious troll is obvious and these people live in a world all their own. Spewing out negativity in spite, just because they can. Pay no mind to those who are bashing this game, unless they give a legitimate reasoning to why they dislike the game. Anyone who buys Zelda expecting something other than the Zelda formula shouldn't be able to buy the game honestly. That's what players have come to love of this series and if they changed it then we wouldn't have Zelda anymore. Unresponsive controls? What game are you playing? This probably has some of the best usage of the Wii remote to date. The story is plenty intriguing to grab an audience and keep them playing. Everything seems more thought out, and more time was put into the final product. They use cinematic parts to help with the story driving creating drama and all sorts of emotions. The characters are amazing, and well Link is still Link. Best looking game on the Wii and totally worth a buy. 10/10 from me, Zelda is still going strong. Expand
  31. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This was was just a fun one. I saw nothing wrong with it. The story was excellent. While some may say it is graphically lacking, I find the art design aesthetically pleasing.

    Oh, **** has come in just to slander the score.
  32. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    So, I'm just wondering if any of the negative reviewers have actually PLAYED the game? OR, are they really that negative against Nintendo and the Wii? Not a single negative review gives me any reason to believe they actually picked up a Wii remote to give the game a chance. And even the one reviewer that said "then again, it's a Wii game." sounds like he barely lifted a finger to give it a proper chance.

    Now, being someone who HAS played the game, let me say that the positive reviews are absolutely warranted and deserved. Nintendo has truly stepped up their game this time around, by giving us an adventure that's as fun to play, as it is hard to STOP playing.

    I've been reading a lot of complaints about the "unresponsive" motion controls, and it tells me that some people expected the same waggle-gaggle action that Twilight Princess and the original Wii Sports had. That icon at the bottom of the box, symbolizing Wii MotionPlus, means that while it DOES accurately track your motions, you should really give yourself time to get used to it. Remember the frustration in trying to score a strike in Wii Sports Resort? Yeah? Then be patient! After time, the controls are very easy to adapt to. And if you DON'T remember, then maybe you should play Wii a bit more often.

    Of course, where's a Zelda game without the story? This game is set back before Ocarina of Time, and while it isn't an admittedly PERFECT story it's better fare than any of the war games that are out today.

    Between the variety of gameplay options, the vast amount of quests and things to do, the compelling story, and the amazing MotionPlus-enabled combat, Zelda Skyward Sword truly is the best Wii game ever, and possibly the best game I've played all year.

    Speaking of, I'm gonna get back to that now.
    Expand
  33. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Unfortunately I can not give this game 11 ... from my point of view, everything tends to perfection (which unfortunately is known is unreachable): the story is wonderful, the controls are perfectly and places to see jaw-dropping, especially in the dungeons. I love the whole saga of Zelda, but I am ready to put on the fire by 2 hands and one leg that is one if not THE best chapter of Zelda
  34. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I just have played for 20+ hours. It is definitely an amazing masterpiece. I wonder those negative reviews really play the game or not. Some complaints are really funny and irresponsible. I hope who played the game really enjoyed it.
  35. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I love how jealous these negative reviews are. Just because the game is better than your copy/paste MW3 or BF3, does not give you the right to nerd-rage and give Skyward Sword a 0. None of these negative reviews have given me any good, solid reason as to why they gave it that score, proving to me that they're just angry Sony/Microsoft fanboys. Don't listen to the negativity. Now onto the review: I've played about 60% of the game and I think that I should judge it. First of all the graphics: not an important factor, I know, but the graphics are breathtaking. The overall world is beautiful and it's as if you're looking at masterpiece painting. Truly a work of art and it shows that Nintendo can create beauty even without HD graphics. 10/10 Gameplay: Amazing! Each dungeon will have something new to offer and even before each dungeon you have to A LOT of different things in order to even enter it. The boss battles are fresh, fun, and challenging and each temple requires you to think for a good amount of time before you act. Flying on the Crimson Loftwing is also engaging since it is something different. While it is simlar to Wind Waker's Boat sailing, I do find flying much more enjoyable because I feel you interact with it a lot more, making it less tedious. The game also allows you to dash which is great if you want to get to one point as fast you can. My only problem is that a shield breaks when it loses its shield meter. This is not a huge deal as it takes a while for it to break, and you can always buy another one. It also introduces a new challenge to the game. 9.8/10 Story: Great. The story is about Link trying to find Zelda and trying to forge the master sword, and all these events lead up to the events in Ocarina of Time. It may sound cliched, but when you actually play the game, you will find the story very engaging. You can read more of the story at http://www.zeldadungeon.net/Zelda14-skyward-sword-story.php 9.5/10 Controls: Perfect. The Wii Motion Plus responds to you every movement. It is so satisfying having to swing the sword in one direction and making Link swing it the same direction. It truly leaves the player proud when he or she has defeated and enemy since it's like they're holding the sword themselves. Holding the shield is also very engrossing since you have to flick the nunchuk upwards in order to activate it. Flick it forward to activate the shield bash, similar to the shield attack in Twilight Princess. It's perfect and it is exactly what I wanted the Wii to do in the first place. My only problem is the flying. You have to turn the Wii remote in a certain direction to steer the bird, and this can get a tad bit frustrating sometimes since the controller does not fully respond to this at times. Not a big deal, though. For 98% of the time, the controls are very responsive and very well done. 9.8/10

    Music and sounds: Splendid. Every track in this game is beautifully done by a symphony orchestra. Music is always a strong point in Zelda, but I feel that in SS, Nintendo has really outdone itself. Marvelous orchestrated music adds to the suspense and as to the feel of the game, and it really is one of the many assets of the game. The sound effects are also great, such as the "clank" when you hit another enemy's sword with your own. Or when you slice another enemy. Nintendo has truly done a wonderful job in this aspect. 10/10

    Overall, Skyward Sword is a fantastic game. From it's graphics, music, and gameplay, the game really shows what Nintendo is truly capable of. It seems as if Nintendo took their time to make this game, and all their hard work was well worth it. This game is the best Wii game, no scratch that, the best game I have picked up. It is a true masterpiece and, in my opinion, ties with Skyrim for Game of the Year. I give this game an overall score of 9.8/10
    Expand
  36. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Zelda Skyward Sword is not just one of the best games in years: it's also one of the most controversial.
    Many wrote this game off before they ever even played it, spouting comments like "the graphics are childlike" or more commonly "Motion controls are always terrible"

    If you are one of the people who fall into this crowed, I strongly urge you to play the game.
    Dismiss any bias you might
    have toward games with motion controls, try to accept the games unique art style, even though it's different from all the HD "realistic" games that saturate the market.
    If you do what you will find is a game that achieves a greatness so vast, that many simply can't fully comprehend it.

    I can not stress enough: this game is everything that motion controlled game should have been, and hopefully represents what they will become.
    Expand
  37. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is long, beautiful and full of content along with variety. The motion controls can be a bother at times, but by no means does it keep me from enjoying this fantastic Zelda game we were promised back in 2005. It truly is what Miyamoto said it would be!
  38. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    very original game the best in zelda the new controller are the best, there are some minor flaws but they don't make it less fun or playable,They tried innovating and succeeded! This game makes old gamers happy and new people to the series as well.it's reasonably accessible for new players it does none of the claustrophobic hand-holding that many other recent Zeldas have done.
  39. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    A testement to Nintendo's sheer mastery at creating video games. They are truly the most talented developers in the world. It's is sheer brilliance from start to finish. The controls are responsive and incredibley fresh, the graphics are beutiful, the characters and locales are unique and beutiful. This is the game we have all been waiting for.
  40. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Just here to balance out the trolls. Honestly anyone who says that the formula is the same hasn't played the game yet. For the first time in a long time, this game doesn't feel like Dungeon -> field-> dungeon. Now everything is integrated into one huge dungeon meaning that you will always be on your toes having fun.
  41. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    FULL REVIEW HERE: http://richardharo.tumblr.com/post/12969000003/50-hours-of-skyward-sword-later-here-are-my-final#notes

    Skyward Sword has many great puzzles, some amazing boss fights (the six armed Buddha and the fabulous Ghirahim spring to mind) and some of the most memorable locations in Zelda history, such as the pirate ship dungeon. It doesnâ
  42. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Uncharted 3 is medicore compared to this game, Skirym is no match. Ocarina of time lacks depth compared to Skyward sword. Remember the Gameboy Colour Zelda games? This is a perfect description of this game. The over world has puzzles elements, its vast and interesting. So much to explore and do, unlike the past 3D Zelda games. Every dungeon is a masterpiece. The music is wonderful.

    This
    game changes the Zelda formulae, without ruining the feel of Zelda. Items are upgradable etc. and many more changes; which I will not mention in order to not ruin the game experience. Expand
  43. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I can't see how anybody could give this game a Zero, it is by no means a bad game or worth below anything of a 7 in any person's opinion. It's amazing, great art style lots of exploration and the story is great, especially as it relates to OoT. A gem for any wii player, a reclaiming for any Nintendo fan who hated the wii(like me) and a reinventing for any Zelda fan. Unfortunately people will give it 0 for no reason, I literally give it a 10. Expand
  44. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is an amazing game! Everything in this game works perfectly, including the puzzles, motion controls, and graphics. This is easily a contender for the best Zelda game ever and one of my favorite games. If you don't have a Wii yet, this game is the reason to get one.
  45. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome, beautiful music, beautiful graphics and a fantastic story. Should be played by all true gamers. This a game for all kind of player, if you don't like it, you are crazy.
  46. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    It's the Zelda we have been waiting for. It's the first videogame that actually makes me want to SAVE the princess' life. Engaging and fun. I hope this becomes a landmark in Nintendo games.
  47. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Many of the complaints I've read about this game are about the controls. I can't understand that, as the controls have been very responsive for me. Perhaps there is some kind of interference or lack of calibration? Other than that, the gameplay is fun with plenty of exploration, the story keeps you very involved, and the fighting feels very natural. This is the perfect addition to the Zelda franchise. Expand
  48. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I picked up the game as soon as GameStop opened this morning, about 6 hours ago (I was first in line). I have been playing it non-stop, and I am extremely pleased with it. It feels very... Zelda. The only control issues I have had regarded flying, and it ultimately was a reading issue (shouldn't have skimmed those instructions). Looks beautiful, sounds beautiful, and plays beautiful. I can't wait to finish typing this and get back to it! Expand
  49. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is truely a masterpiece. everything is amazing, the music, the story, the graphics, the controls, and everything that makes zelda so great. It retains what makes zelda great while being completely new and different at the same time. even incredible motion controls may not be for everyone, but they're certainly not an issuse and anyone who gave this game less than a 9/10 is full of **** that is all. Expand
  50. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Probably the best Zelda yet. Tough to say, I have 5 tied as the best. This is definitely a contender. And if it's the best Zelda game, that means it's the best game ever,
  51. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I put this very simply, what a Masterpiece of a Game, one of my top favorite of all time. I highly recommend this game to anyone, no matter the age or the tastes. Do not worry about Skyrim this are very different games, i had them both and i could not be more happy. just play the game, before complaining
  52. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    One of the best Zelda games of the series. It's both a pleasure to play and just watch the people and environment. Also the controls are completely fine, gamespot just hires a bunch a dumbasses. There is nothing wrong with them they are responsive and fun to use.
  53. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Skyward Sword stands at the peak of the Nintendo videogame-crafting. It's colorful but eerie atmosphere, the polished gameplay and the amazing plot builds the greatest game in the series.
  54. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    The Wii was built for this. The motion controls are completely unmatched by any other game, and graphically the game uses all of the Wii's graphical power. The gameplay is amazing, and it's a real change from previous Zelda's. This is the game the Zelda 25th anniversary is deserving of!
  55. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Great game controls are a masterpeice and I have never played any motion controls. Awesome gameplay best Zelda game ever game ever. The way link moves, his body language and the way he interacts with other characters and the worlds environment. The in game mechanics and customization allows you to develop link in a,way u have never playee with him before. Best game this gen
  56. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Wow . Having played all the zelda games since the nes i have to say this is without doubt the best . The graphics ,sound and amazing artwork screams quality from the off .

    This is the game that should have been released on the wii at the start to show what can be done with the wii controls , the gameplay grabs you like no other and doesnt let up untill the very end .

    Without doubt the
    best game this generation and probrably the best nintendo game ever . 10/10 Expand
  57. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    i think Oot met his match, the controls are awesome the environments great the story without Ganon is pretty cool, when i expected the same stuff from nintendo, they proved me wrong i maybe have my new favourite game of all times
  58. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Please don't listen to the people who are rating the game negative. They are simply Nintendo haters who are plainly jealous that a non HD system is out performing their precious "hardcore" games. Skyward Sword is a excellent game as evident from the critic reviews. If you're a Zelda fan you simply owe it to yourself to play this game.
  59. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing, it starts of in an odd way, but you need to get used to the controls. The dungeons and the music are incredible but not as incredible as the gameplay. Don't let the negative reviews fool you, this is the best game of the generation.
  60. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    I like how you can't always just defeat the enemy by waving the wii remote about, as many enemies require thought to defeat. Liked collecting items needed to upgrade my weapons and such, as well as the games setting, which is a colourful and vibrant world, with interesting characters. An excellent addition to the Zelda series, and you will get good value for money from this game, as you'd expect from a quality title such as this. Expand
  61. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    At first, I wasn't sure about this game. I was playing for ages, constantly bouncing between thinking it was brilliant and thinking it was terrible. It was pretty solid, there was no denying that, but something just felt a bit off about it. But now that I've had the time to play a fair chunk of it (I'm about three temples in, I think), Skyward Sword is easily a contender for best Zelda (and therefore best game) of all time. Everything about it is brilliant. The controls work perfectly (anyone having an issue, try recalibrating your controller), the Dungeons are challenging without being frustrating, combat and monster design is simple yet engaging, The bosses are like the classic bosses of Zelda, but with a new flare to them making them unique.

    And the graphics are amazing. The environments are absolutely beautiful; especially the third area you go to which is designed flawlessly. Nintendo once again proves that you don't need the best of the best graphics technology to create an amazing, breathtaking world. In the beginning, I was having a real issue with there not being much of a plot. Things just seemed to be happening with no real explanation and for a while I had no plot-based motivation to keep moving forwards. But I'm now beginning to realise that this was an intentional choice by the designers to withhold information and I'm loving how they're presenting it. Also, the villain of the game is probably the best non-ganondorf villain in a Zelda game since Majora. He's funny, yet creepy, and with a brilliant physical design that kind of reminds me of David Bowie... Turns out, combining Zelda with David Bowie is actually the greatest thing ever.
    Expand
  62. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    THIS is the game I've been waiting for, the reason that I and probably lots of people got the Wii in the first place, not only this is an excelent addition to the Zelda series, it's also a huge step forward for motion control, finaly Nintendo was capable to show how much better the experience can be with motion control if they're implementedthe correct game, got a Wii? Get this game! You own it to yourself Expand
  63. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is possibly the best Zelda game out there. And more possibly one of the best games of all time. Its got so many new ideas, and they all work perfectly. Every gamer with an IQ, and want to challenge it would love Zelda. Every gamer that thinks that they are smart, and are "Gamers" can go and buy CoD or Battlefield, or something like that.
    If you are a serious gamer you will think the
    graphics are BEAUTIFUL. The graphics don't have to be the most "realistic" to be good. Just as the story, and gameplay the graphics can be surreal, but still be GREAT. Expand
  64. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I was never really big fan of Zelda series, but this one is epic. It's really different from other games of Zelda series. Controls are working greatly, graphics are nice but why should I care about graphics - they don't make gameply better. Game is decently chalanging which is welcomed though bosses are easy (at least four bosses I fought). I really like all those sky boxes, upgrades and other secret stuff. Game hasn't much side quests, but that small about it has is great. Story is 100 percent better than in any other Nintendo game.
    Downsides: In Earth temple it's sometimes horribly hard to proceed (hard to figure out way)
    For most of guys who rated with 0 as soon as this game was relaesed - play at least one hour from the damned game before rating.
    Expand
  65. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Best Zelda game ever, hands down. Controls are great.
    It looks beautiful.
    The cinematics give life to characters.
    The weapons are awesome.
    The dungeons are challenging.

    Get it.
  66. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is for Wii lovers. So don't listen to trolls. If you're someone who hates the Wii, then why are you playing/reviewing this game? In fact, if you hate the Wii, why do you have one? But if you do actually have a Wii and you're not here to troll, and you enjoy playing it, then you will be thoroughly happy with this game. It's a combination of all of those great Wii Sports games into a classic adventure. Sword fighting, bow shooting, bowling, even the sky diving of Wii Sports resort are all in this game. So if any of those party games struck the fun chord with you, then this game will hit an even stronger note. Expand
  67. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Fantastic Game. Been playing it since this morning. Great controls, story, graphics, etc. In my opinion, it may not turn out to be as great as Link to the Past or Ocarina of Time but from my initial time with SS, it deserves its place alongside the other Zelda games. As always, Nintendo doesn't fail to give their fans a fantastic experience. Great game for gamers of ANY age!
  68. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    its reviews like ActivisionFan99's that really make me say to myself, "what". have you ever played a zelda game through in your entire life? a game's worth shouldnt be based off of whether or not the graphics look, photorealistic, or, "geared for a younger audience". with the wake of games like COD, the actual substance and gameplay of games doesnt mean jack **** if it isnt in HD. any single zelda game has more depth than the whole COD series combined. And seriously, give a 5 year old a zelda game and see how far he gets. let me tell you - not very far. give a 5 year old a 360 controller and COD... and he'll be just fine holding down the trigger doing the same thing for hours. Expand
  69. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    It's amazing how after telling the same story for 25 years Nintendo continues to have the magic of the first time.
    Skyward Sword is the best Zelda ever.
    For several years we have motion controls. Although we have enjoyed in small portions, their performance was more of a fashion. It is to this day that Fujibayashi and his team of geniuses have given me a tour of a dimension of interaction
    did not know. My faith has been revived: this is not a fad. The hardware depends on how developers use it. Forget everything you know about the motion controller gaming, Skyward Sword is the true beginning.

    Skyward Sword starts and doesn't stops. From start to finish, is a feast of amazing and charming characters. Explore new places and enjoy the most beautiful scenery we've seen in a videogame. In most of the adventures we've had in a game just press a button at the right time to get an achievement. However, in Skyward Sword feel firsthand the success to overcome every Bokoblin. It is not meaningless shake control: real enjoyment of defeating an enemy is to give careful consideration to each opponent. We are in the rethinking of how it should work a sword in a game-a fantasy that has been with us since childhood.
    Skyward Sword Zelda is also the freest Zelda of all. It's a world that you'd want to explore in its entirety. The options are endless, even outside the main story. Hundreds of NPCs have fun tasks you will be always busy.
    I have purposely avoided the subject of the story. Skyward Sword is something you have to play by yourself.
    Visually, Skyward Sword has a lot of personality. The graphic style is very original, from the introductory sequence to the credits, graphics feel fresh. They are very similar to the magnificent and original style of Street Fighter IV.
    The dungeons in Skyward Sword are the best I've seen the series. The battles with the bosses redefine what it means to fight a boss in a videogame. The intelligent design in all the puzzles in the game is a constant feature throughout the adventure. Get ready to find mechanisms similar to those seen in the dungeons of the last games of the series, but now scattered throughout the open world, free from confinement of a room or hallway.
    From the moment you start Skyward Sword until the last second, is an hearig brutality. The orchestral soundtrack of Koji Kondo and Hajime Wakai is perhaps the most impressive in the history of the medium. Whether you're in a cave or in a vile dungeon impressive, Skyward Sword is a sonic masterpiece. Freedom of sounds and instruments present in this title is something we've never heard in the series. The album included the 25th anniversary of the franchise is not far behind. I confess that I rarely had moved so much a melody as the theme of the source of the Great Fairy.
    this is the prime example of art in a videogame... simply a must own. 10/10
    Expand
  70. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is by far the most expansive and coherent Zelda game ever. Perfect controls, amazing art style and a heartfelt story make you truly invested in the characters and what happens to them. The great animations and facial expressions really sell the experience, and the dungeons and side quests are some of the best in the series.
  71. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Really great game, best wii game ever and probably best Zelda ever, Nintendo did a awesome job with the story and gameplay, i don't know how this can get better.
  72. Tid
    Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Absolutely fantastic game. From the moment it begins to the moment it ends, everything about this game is setting the standard for Zelda, the Wii, Nintendo, and video gaming. The controls are perfect, I never want to play The Legend of Zelda with buttons ever again. The motion+ technology fits so seamlessly into the traditional Zelda gameplay that I couldn't help but feel as if maybe Nintendo designed the attachment just for the sake of this game. They've given Zelda so much more depth than ever before, every instant is a challenge, and there's no button-mashing in sight.

    I don't want to spoil anything, but the story is beautiful. I'd be willing to call this the best story ever told in a Zelda game, no matter how far fetched that may sound. The wide and varied cast of main and supporting characters differs from the Zelda norm, but it's a refreshing change, and upholds the usual charm that we've come to expect from this series.

    Unfortunately, the game isn't the best looking thing we've ever seen. Compared to the other big name titles hitting stores this month, it simply isn't as visually impressive. However, it pushes the Wii to its absolute limits, there's definitely no better looking game on the system. It was a wise decision for Nintendo to take a more painted art style approach rather than a realistic one, or else the hardware Zelda has been limited to would really start to show its flaws.
    Aside from being compared to the big HD titles, the game is very pretty, that's irrefutable. Not to mention the attention to detail Nintendo has put in with character animations and little tweaks, which just make every corner and character in the game feel so alive.

    In terms of design? The game breaks from the standard Zelda formula. We've still got the forest>fire>ice/water progression as usual, and there are of course familiar elements to the storyline and the world, but past that it's all been revamped, and it's definitely an upgrade. No longer do we have a big empty hub world with dungeons and areas attached to all the corners. No, the overworld is just as dense, challenging and fun as any of the dungeons, and they flow pretty seamlessly together. It's a fun world to explore, and there's a lot of it. Flying is fun. There's not much to it, but it's just... Fun. It's got that breathtaking, discovery feeling that we all loved in Wind Waker, only without the crappy fetchquests and slow travel.

    This is the definitive Zelda game. A Link to the Past and Ocarina of Time were my childhood, because of how adventurous and exciting and memorable they were, and despite having played all the Zelda games that followed, none managed to evoke those feelings in me again. Until now I thought it was because I'd grown up and had just gotten used to those quality standards, and was enjoying more "mature" games. Not any more. Skyward Sword is one of the best games I've ever played, if not THE best. I think in 15-25 years, the current generation of children will remember this adventure as fondly as we all remembered our first Zelda games.
    10/10.
    Expand
  73. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    To put it simply, what this game does for motion controls is what Ocarina of Time did for 3D gaming. The motion controls are simply divine, with any errors being purely on my behalf. I certainly never want to return to 'traditional' controls for a Zelda game, largely because THEY WORK. Many fans, myself included, will argue that this is the best Zelda yet, if not the best game of all time.
  74. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    this game is simply amazing. a mus t own for any persons who own or have access to a wii. the art style is amazingly gorgeous and the game uses the wii motion plus controls to it's fullest.
  75. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    One of the best games ever and the best Zelda game in history. Good graphics and excelent gameplay, history and sound. The best wii game ever.
    I have played nearly all Zelda games and I can easily say that this is the way to go for the franchise. Sad that this is the last Zelda game for the Wii. Buy it!
  76. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is a 10/10 in my eyes it is the best game of this year, I own most of the hot games that have just came out like skyrim,cod mw3,dark souls,batman arkham city, ect ect. the storyline/plot is AMAZING the soundtrack is fantastic,the gameplay is verrry good the graphic to my opinion utilize the wii's potental power yeaa yea it is not HD and it has more of a cartoony feel but not all games have to be battlefield/skyrim graphics this will prob go down as one of my fav zeldas ever right there with link to the past and ocarina of time the others yeaa there oh k but this one really tops it...if you own a wii BUY IT if you do not own a wii buy a wii because there cheap now and then buy the game. the 37 people that gave this game negative comments dont listen to them there nothing they dont know what real video games are ... there also prob from ages 11-15 and there stuck on COD...play the game for yourself yea iam a zelda fan but i do love lots of other games I also was verryy displeased with twilight princes it is 20 bucks now and I still dont own it... that should explain it all. Expand
  77. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Conclusion: THE BEST GAME ON WII. The Legend Zelda: Skyward Sword mix RPG system with the fabulous classical system of Zelda. This game is a masterpiece.
  78. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is the best game for the Wii! it shows what the Wii can really do. The controls are great and good so far. I was stuck sometimes at the start but that all change when i got used to the controls. The story is so far amazing and brilliant. This is my favorite game of the series and for the Wii. 10/10
  79. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Best game in a long time. The game becomes better and better as the story progresses. This is simply the best Zelda game (better than OoT and Twilight Princess).
  80. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is the best game the wii in a long time. With the most responsive controls ever, wich gives you a sence of inmertion. This is a slap in the face of those developers that made all the shovelware for the Wii. Nintendo has proven one more time how the game are develope. Music score is excelent, and the new formula of the overworld makes you think that the game has 20+ dungeon when officially only have 7. The best Zelda i Ever played Expand
  81. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Beste game zelda ever.

    El mejor Zelda que he visto y uno de los grandes juegos de la generacion. Los haters que se abstengan de puntuar. Hay que jugar al jurgo para tener opinion propia.

    Muy buena banda sonora, buen control, rejugable, excelente en todo.
  82. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Before I write the review, I just want to say for those non-zelda lovers, or for those gamers who thought that they are hardcore because they are playing lots of COD, or skyrim etc, please do not read this review... This game is simply AMAZING, one of most amazing game in Wii or probably the best game in Wii... The graphics is beatufully stunning, You can't compare with other HD games, but for Wii it's beautifully stunning, the best looking game in Wii... This game looks very childish, but the puzzles, the action wasn't made for kids, it's difficultness was made for mature gamers... Some people said that the control was terrible some people said it's amazing, so for my opinion this controls works just fine, Perfect! I don't what the other did or how the others did it, if you said that the control is terrible there are only two conclusion: Whether they are did it in the wrong way like Tom Mcshea from Gamespot, or their controls are broken, it works perfect, from horizontal, vertical, diagonal, etc... Thank you Nintendo for making this game... God Bless Nintendo... simply 10/10 !!! Expand
  83. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    First off, the negative reviews come from shallow fanboys living in mom's basement. Most FPS fanboys live in their mom's basement, living off welfare, eating nachos and watching porn because they can't get a real girl or meet real friends (no your X-Box Live list doesn't count you sad sacks)

    You come to bash games like Zelda because you are a group of brainwashed nerds who believe
    anything without a gun is "gay" or "kiddie". The world would be better off if you all disappeared or went far away and drowned in a lake because you are a waste of space. Now to the great game. I've played Batman: AA, Portal 2 and U3. Skyward Sword is the greatest achievement in games this year. It sets the standard for how motion controls should be used in gaming. Its the equivalent of Mario Galaxy to the Mario series. Nintendo are masters at attention to detail and Skyward Sword is no exception. Everything from the world to NPC's have so much personality and rank as some of the best in the series. Every perfect score you read folks is well deserved. The only equal this game has in 2011 is Arkham City with Skyward Sword edging it out. Zelda is back and better than ever.

    In the meantime, the trolls should worry less about killstreaks and bashing this masterpiece and losing weight. Stay free you IQ lacking trolls!
    Expand
  84. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    If I rated this game based on Graphics I might have knocked off a couple points. However, as it stands I rate games based on game play alone. I've been playing Zelda starting with the very first Zelda. I wouldn't call it The BEST Zelda ever, but then again I have yet to actually beat the game! This game deserves a 10. I would understand why someone who isn't really a fan of the series might rate it lower. But I just figure they should go back to playing COD and leave this game to the people who can enjoy a game for it's game play and not it's graphics. Expand
  85. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I definitely think this game is worth the praise it's been receiving, it may not be better than Ocarina of Time or Wind Waker, but it's definitely next in line of my favorite Zelda title of all time.
  86. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    The graphics are so wonderfully stylized and vibrant. The controls really make the game shine though. My original reason for getting a Wii was for zelda. Nintendo did not disappoint.
  87. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    A really cool game, the best Zelda of all time? I up to everyone, like the Beatles records, each Zelda game has it own merits and fans, so is hard to decide which is the best.

    The Graphics are really cool, they look great on the Wii but at the same time wanting to have in the near future a port on HD, it would be even more beautiful.

    Many people are complaining about the controls,
    but I hadn't had any trouble with them.
    Like in recent entries (Wind Waker and Twilight Princess) the personalities of the caracters are really well done, you actually feel that you know them, the new Zelda (the girl) is perhaps the best one yet.

    I felt than the game start a little slower than other entries, but sooner than later this game is soaring high.

    Hopefully this is not the last great game on the wii.
    Buy it, Play it, Enjoy it
    Expand
  88. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Definitely the best wii game in the years its been out. never had any problem with the controls since i didnt swing like a maniac. its one of the best in the series. the game is well worth the money with over 40+ hours of gameplay and artistic style
  89. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Skyward Sword is a masterpiece. The design is absolutely incredible. Instead of most games, when viewing things from far away seeing a standard blur, the game uses an impressive watercolor painting style which is very unforgettable. Amazing music from beginning to end with a great symphony. Game play felt perfect and what Twilight Princess should have played like at launch.(but understanding that the game was suppose to be just a Gamecube game at first) Skyward Sword is a must-have for any Wii owners out there. Expand
  90. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I have all the Zelda games, and Skyward Sword is my favorite. The story is amazing, gameplay is fun, and controls make Zelda a rare gem in video games. This is my game of the year.
  91. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is an amazing game, something to make you remember why you started playing video games in the first place. This is one game where a perfect score is not an exaggeration, it takes everything good from the series past and improves upon it in such refreshing and exciting ways. The inclusion of the Wii motion plus controls is also a very big contribution to the games overall greatness. Never has there been a motion controlled game that works so effortlessly, you might even forget you are holding a controller it works so well. I was skeptical they could make it work but it simply does. Something i found very interesting was the fact that the game does not use the pointer on the Wii remote AT ALL. All items that require aiming use the position tracking of the motion plus to move the cursor on the screen, if you feel it is out of alignment you simply push down on the d-pad and it centers the cursor for you. It works amazingly well, no longer do you need to make sure you are pointing at the sensor bar. Aside from the controls, the graphics are amazing as well, despite what some ps3/360 fanboys WILL say. The world has been crafted with great care, and the watercolor like style really makes good use of the limited horsepower of the Wii, it is without a doubt the best looking game the system has to offer. But in the end it is all about gameplay, thankfully the game is no slouch in this department either. Many people have complained that zelda hasn't done enough in recent years to go beyond what was done in Ocarina of time. I am happy to tell these people that is NOT the case with this game, in fact it feels like every single thing you do in the game is taking your expectations of the series and shattering them, in a very good way. The dungeons are all very well done and they are spread out at a good pace, you will have plenty to do between dungeons. The bosses are probably the best the series has ever seen, each new boss you fight gets more and more epic and will actually give you a challenge. Last but not least is the story. This is the first game in the series story wise and it will definitely blow your mind if you have been a fan of the series since the beginning. Finally the connection between all the games has become more clear than ever, I won't spoil a single thing for you but rest assured zeldas story has never been better. I feel like i have said enough about the game now, please ignore the 360/ps3 trolls giving the game a 0, they have not played the game and are simply trolling as trolls do. I give the game a 10 because it deserves it, simple as that. Expand
  92. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    An absolutely essential purchase for anyone who owns a Wii, and even those who don't own a Wii should play it at least once. I honestly can't believe how much has improved since Twilight Princess, it makes me wonder what the hell Nintendo were thinking not doing this sooner.

    Absolutely fantastic, the swordplay, item control and 95% of the motion controls are spot on. Not a dull moment
    in sight.

    My few complaints: -pointer controls should have been joint motion+ and sensor controled (if that's even possible) because recentering breaks the immersion. -Skyloft is seperate from the rest of the sky (you must go through a 3 second cutscene when entering or leaving) and this seems disjointed.

    -Floating islands rarely hold the same appeal as Wind wakers islands.

    These things asside, it's been a long time since a game had such a hold on me. I don't stop playing because I'm bored, I stop playing because I want this game to last, such is the joy at every turn.

    And make no mistake, Hero mode WILL kill you.
    Expand
  93. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    A beautiful game, an unseen control scheme, a story a lot better told than any Nintendo game, a solid soundtrack and better boss battles and dungeons than any other Zelda game, makes this game a masterpiece.
  94. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    This is a great game. I can understand why people may have minor gripes with it, but anything below an 8 is just silly. Not only does it contain everything we love about Zelda already, it really does innovate. The blurriness of distant objects I find truly striking and not unlike a Nintendo nod to Monet and other impressionists right there on my screen, blending seamlessly with the action oriented foreground. The controls are not perfect, but they do a damn good job. It's Zelda - chill out from your MW3 session and enjoy it for what it is. Expand
  95. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game definitely deserves a 10/10 the story is amazing the graphics and art are creative (YOU DO NOT NEED TOP OF THE LINE GRAPHICS TO MAKE A GOOD GAME) it has very cute and witty scenes but still keeping the serious moments in place and meaningful.The characters are just as good as the others i find my self liking just the common skyloft folk.as for the controls they need some getting used to also they take practice,(but god forbid anyone needing to practice in a video game) but after you get used to it the controls are fun and challenging,When Im fighting monsters I find my self having to think before i swing (which might be a burden for some stupid people) and actually having to fake out the monsters. all said and done its for a select few if you don't like challenges don't get it,if you only like gun totting super soldier Michael bay explosion games don't get it,this is also not for people with a short attention span its a Legend of Zelda game its praised on its challenges and its long story's and quests. This may not be for everyone and if you start sucking at it just watch the info video about it. Expand
  96. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    This is my final review of Skyward Sword after beating 100% of the game.

    I have a very lengthy review that sums up the entire story and all elements of the game. However it is far to long to explain in 5000 words. Here are the most important things to know about the story: Skyward Sword occurs before all other released Zelda games. It is essentially the prequel to Ocarina of Time. Zelda
    is not a princess, but a childhood friend of Link's. The game explains what the Legend of Zelda is! Yes, this game actually explains where the Legend of Zelda originated from. Skyward Sword also tells the back story of the Master Sword and where Gannon originates from. Although Gannon makes no appearance in this game, you learn he is actually the Evil Will of Demise. Long story short is Demise is the main antagonist in this game and when he is defeated, he curses all decedents of Link and Zelda. Basically saying they will always be fighting his demonic will, as his will can never die. Please note, this was a very very rough breakdown of the story. Skyward Sword's story is very deep. There are many cut scenes and text boxes to read through (no voice acting, but I actually prefer Zelda games to be this way). Fans of the Zelda series will appreciate the amount of references to other Zelda games. Once again, this game will explain many things about the origins of many Zelda characters and items. If you've played Ocarina of Time, then the story alone makes this game a must have. Story 10/10.

    Moving onto gameplay, Skyward Sword takes full advantage of Wii Motion plus. This means 1:1 sword movements between Link's Sword and your Wii-mote. Your right hand is Link's sword. The entire game is revolved around this and players can expect enemies and puzzles to take advantage of these controls. Enemies will block your attacks unless you attack their weaknesses. Meaning enemies will leave an angle open and you have to attack it. Otherwise, you can swing all day is never land a hit. Now these controls make for a very engaging and satisfying experience. The only drawback from this is sometimes the controls feel over sensitive. Every once in a while Link will do something you don't want him to do. Also, do not fear that you have to stand up and fling your Wii mote around. The controls do not require you to make full sword swing motions, and only require a small flick with your wrist. In all, the controls offer a very innovating and add a new experience to the Zelda series. Gameplay: 10/10

    Finally, you can expect Skyward Sword to offer 30-50 hours of content. The main story will take at least 20-30 hours to beat on its own. Add in side quests, mini games, and other activities and you can add on another 20-30 hours. In my first playthrough I got everything in the game (completed all quests, got every item, found all Goddess cubes/chests, upgraded every item, etc) in just under 50 hours. Its also worth noting that once you beat Skyward Sword you are given the option to save over your file and play Hero Mode. Hero mode is basically a more challenging version of the game. All enemies do double damage and enemies never drop hearts unless you have the heart medal. The player is given the option to skip some cut scenes, and a few other perks are given to the player (eg: the Skyward Strike attack is at master sword level as soon as you obtain the Goddess Sword). ITS IMPORTANT TO NOTE THAT ONCE YOU CHOOSE TO OVER RIDE YOUR SAVE FOR HERO MODE THAT YOU'LL LOOSE YOUR NORMAL GAME SAVE!!!! This means if you choose to go hero mode, everything on your save will be lost in favor of the hero mode save. To avoid this, make sure you copy your file before going into Hero mode. Skyward Sword will keep you busy for months to come. 10/10 re-playability.

    Some TL DR stuff:
    - 10/10 game, MUST HAVE for Wii owners
    - 7 temples
    -30-50 hours of gameplay (60-100 hours if you complete Hero mode)
    - 1:1 sword control
    - Amazing Story

    *Please note I did not mention anything about the areas you will explore. It would take pages to go through all 3 areas, plus the clouds. The only thing to know is Skyward Sword is designed to include "temple elements" throughout the mainland. This means you'll have to constantly solve puzzles and defeat bad guys to gain access to new lands.
    Expand
  97. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Buy this game, dont trust negative reviews...you will enjoy it for sure!
    Game Spot fell on my concept! GAME OF THE YEAR! Xbox and playstation should make games like this, no graphics based and extremely fun!
  98. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Not the best wii game, is not the best nintendo game is not the best game of this gene is in the best game I've played in my life ... this game is simply a work of art, beyond anything I've ever played, its graphics are wonderful and are very well defined (eg shadows) and the graphic quality deserves a 10 as well as pc. epic sound and well defined, the soundtrack is a great job and
    without comparison, you could
    expect from a Zelda? Wii technology
    used to 100 in this game, see note 8
    enemies moving in front of you with
    total flow while moving the wii
    motion +. overflows innovation and
    gameplay is superb, find those who
    hate nintendo or play pure shooters,
    this is a masterpiece of 10:)
    Expand
  99. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Excelente en todos los aspectos, otro clasico mas para el catalogo de Nintendo. Goob job Ninty, keep the good work, and congrats. Graphics, Sound, History and the Gameplay are excelent. This is the best Zelda game to date period. and one of the best game this Year.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    Overall, this is the best experience I've had playing a Zelda game since Ocarina of Time and I'd have to say they are pretty equal in my opinion. Either way, you won't be disappointed getting this game, it's a masterpiece.
  2. 90
    New Zelda is the best game of whole series since the groundbreaking Ocarina of Time. It is a true masterpiece with uncompromising playability. [Christmas 2011]
  3. Jan 19, 2012
    95
    A magnificent homage for the 25th anniversary of one the biggest franchises in gaming, The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword provides a compelling gaming and artistic showcase for the indefatigable potential of the medium as a whole, and a reason to have gaming as a hobby.