The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword Wii

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1937 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is for Wii lovers. So don't listen to trolls. If you're someone who hates the Wii, then why are you playing/reviewing this game? In fact, if you hate the Wii, why do you have one? But if you do actually have a Wii and you're not here to troll, and you enjoy playing it, then you will be thoroughly happy with this game. It's a combination of all of those great Wii Sports gamesThis game is for Wii lovers. So don't listen to trolls. If you're someone who hates the Wii, then why are you playing/reviewing this game? In fact, if you hate the Wii, why do you have one? But if you do actually have a Wii and you're not here to troll, and you enjoy playing it, then you will be thoroughly happy with this game. It's a combination of all of those great Wii Sports games into a classic adventure. Sword fighting, bow shooting, bowling, even the sky diving of Wii Sports resort are all in this game. So if any of those party games struck the fun chord with you, then this game will hit an even stronger note. Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Fantastic Game. Been playing it since this morning. Great controls, story, graphics, etc. In my opinion, it may not turn out to be as great as Link to the Past or Ocarina of Time but from my initial time with SS, it deserves its place alongside the other Zelda games. As always, Nintendo doesn't fail to give their fans a fantastic experience. Great game for gamers of ANY age!
  3. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    I'm having a lot of trouble understanding the negative reviews complaining about controls and fetch quests. There's always side quests in any sort of RPG, but they are OPTIONAL. Unless you count items and flames that you obtain in dungeons as fetch quests? Regardless, I've decided the control complaints are simply because you suck at the game. I've had no problems, and this is my favoriteI'm having a lot of trouble understanding the negative reviews complaining about controls and fetch quests. There's always side quests in any sort of RPG, but they are OPTIONAL. Unless you count items and flames that you obtain in dungeons as fetch quests? Regardless, I've decided the control complaints are simply because you suck at the game. I've had no problems, and this is my favorite Zelda game yet. The perfect blend of homages to previous games and new, imaginative elements and design. A must have for any gamer, Wii owner, or Zelda fan. Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Not the best wii game, is not the
    best nintendo game is not the best
    game of this gene is in the best game I've played in my life ... this game is simply a work of art, beyond anything I've ever played, its graphics are wonderful and are very well defined (eg shadows) and the graphic quality deserves a 10 as well as pc. epic sound and well defined, the soundtrack is a great job
    Not the best wii game, is not the
    best nintendo game is not the best
    game of this gene is in the best
    game I've played in my life ... this
    game is simply a work of art, beyond
    anything I've ever played, its
    graphics are wonderful and are very
    well defined (eg shadows) and the
    graphic quality deserves a 10 as well
    as pc. epic sound and well defined,
    the soundtrack is a great job and
    without comparison, you could
    expect from a Zelda? Wii technology
    used to 100 in this game, see note 8
    enemies moving in front of you with
    total flow while moving the wii
    motion +. overflows innovation and
    gameplay is superb, find those who
    hate nintendo or play pure shooters,
    this is a masterpiece of 10:)
    Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I love how jealous these negative reviews are. Just because the game is better than your copy/paste MW3 or BF3, does not give you the right to nerd-rage and give Skyward Sword a 0. None of these negative reviews have given me any good, solid reason as to why they gave it that score, proving to me that they're just angry Sony/Microsoft fanboys. Don't listen to the negativity. Now onto theI love how jealous these negative reviews are. Just because the game is better than your copy/paste MW3 or BF3, does not give you the right to nerd-rage and give Skyward Sword a 0. None of these negative reviews have given me any good, solid reason as to why they gave it that score, proving to me that they're just angry Sony/Microsoft fanboys. Don't listen to the negativity. Now onto the review: I've played about 60% of the game and I think that I should judge it. First of all the graphics: not an important factor, I know, but the graphics are breathtaking. The overall world is beautiful and it's as if you're looking at masterpiece painting. Truly a work of art and it shows that Nintendo can create beauty even without HD graphics. 10/10 Gameplay: Amazing! Each dungeon will have something new to offer and even before each dungeon you have to A LOT of different things in order to even enter it. The boss battles are fresh, fun, and challenging and each temple requires you to think for a good amount of time before you act. Flying on the Crimson Loftwing is also engaging since it is something different. While it is simlar to Wind Waker's Boat sailing, I do find flying much more enjoyable because I feel you interact with it a lot more, making it less tedious. The game also allows you to dash which is great if you want to get to one point as fast you can. My only problem is that a shield breaks when it loses its shield meter. This is not a huge deal as it takes a while for it to break, and you can always buy another one. It also introduces a new challenge to the game. 9.8/10 Story: Great. The story is about Link trying to find Zelda and trying to forge the master sword, and all these events lead up to the events in Ocarina of Time. It may sound cliched, but when you actually play the game, you will find the story very engaging. You can read more of the story at http://www.zeldadungeon.net/Zelda14-skyward-sword-story.php 9.5/10 Controls: Perfect. The Wii Motion Plus responds to you every movement. It is so satisfying having to swing the sword in one direction and making Link swing it the same direction. It truly leaves the player proud when he or she has defeated and enemy since it's like they're holding the sword themselves. Holding the shield is also very engrossing since you have to flick the nunchuk upwards in order to activate it. Flick it forward to activate the shield bash, similar to the shield attack in Twilight Princess. It's perfect and it is exactly what I wanted the Wii to do in the first place. My only problem is the flying. You have to turn the Wii remote in a certain direction to steer the bird, and this can get a tad bit frustrating sometimes since the controller does not fully respond to this at times. Not a big deal, though. For 98% of the time, the controls are very responsive and very well done. 9.8/10

    Music and sounds: Splendid. Every track in this game is beautifully done by a symphony orchestra. Music is always a strong point in Zelda, but I feel that in SS, Nintendo has really outdone itself. Marvelous orchestrated music adds to the suspense and as to the feel of the game, and it really is one of the many assets of the game. The sound effects are also great, such as the "clank" when you hit another enemy's sword with your own. Or when you slice another enemy. Nintendo has truly done a wonderful job in this aspect. 10/10

    Overall, Skyward Sword is a fantastic game. From it's graphics, music, and gameplay, the game really shows what Nintendo is truly capable of. It seems as if Nintendo took their time to make this game, and all their hard work was well worth it. This game is the best Wii game, no scratch that, the best game I have picked up. It is a true masterpiece and, in my opinion, ties with Skyrim for Game of the Year. I give this game an overall score of 9.8/10
    Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I can't see how anybody could give this game a Zero, it is by no means a bad game or worth below anything of a 7 in any person's opinion. It's amazing, great art style lots of exploration and the story is great, especially as it relates to OoT. A gem for any wii player, a reclaiming for any Nintendo fan who hated the wii(like me) and a reinventing for any Zelda fan. Unfortunately peopleI can't see how anybody could give this game a Zero, it is by no means a bad game or worth below anything of a 7 in any person's opinion. It's amazing, great art style lots of exploration and the story is great, especially as it relates to OoT. A gem for any wii player, a reclaiming for any Nintendo fan who hated the wii(like me) and a reinventing for any Zelda fan. Unfortunately people will give it 0 for no reason, I literally give it a 10. Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is an amazing game! Everything in this game works perfectly, including the puzzles, motion controls, and graphics. This is easily a contender for the best Zelda game ever and one of my favorite games. If you don't have a Wii yet, this game is the reason to get one.
  8. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    its reviews like ActivisionFan99's that really make me say to myself, "what". have you ever played a zelda game through in your entire life? a game's worth shouldnt be based off of whether or not the graphics look, photorealistic, or, "geared for a younger audience". with the wake of games like COD, the actual substance and gameplay of games doesnt mean jack **** if it isnt in HD. anyits reviews like ActivisionFan99's that really make me say to myself, "what". have you ever played a zelda game through in your entire life? a game's worth shouldnt be based off of whether or not the graphics look, photorealistic, or, "geared for a younger audience". with the wake of games like COD, the actual substance and gameplay of games doesnt mean jack **** if it isnt in HD. any single zelda game has more depth than the whole COD series combined. And seriously, give a 5 year old a zelda game and see how far he gets. let me tell you - not very far. give a 5 year old a 360 controller and COD... and he'll be just fine holding down the trigger doing the same thing for hours. Expand
  9. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    An absolutely essential purchase for anyone who owns a Wii, and even those who don't own a Wii should play it at least once. I honestly can't believe how much has improved since Twilight Princess, it makes me wonder what the hell Nintendo were thinking not doing this sooner.

    Absolutely fantastic, the swordplay, item control and 95% of the motion controls are spot on. Not a dull moment
    An absolutely essential purchase for anyone who owns a Wii, and even those who don't own a Wii should play it at least once. I honestly can't believe how much has improved since Twilight Princess, it makes me wonder what the hell Nintendo were thinking not doing this sooner.

    Absolutely fantastic, the swordplay, item control and 95% of the motion controls are spot on. Not a dull moment in sight.

    My few complaints: -pointer controls should have been joint motion+ and sensor controled (if that's even possible) because recentering breaks the immersion. -Skyloft is seperate from the rest of the sky (you must go through a 3 second cutscene when entering or leaving) and this seems disjointed.

    -Floating islands rarely hold the same appeal as Wind wakers islands.

    These things asside, it's been a long time since a game had such a hold on me. I don't stop playing because I'm bored, I stop playing because I want this game to last, such is the joy at every turn.

    And make no mistake, Hero mode WILL kill you.
    Expand
  10. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome, beautiful music, beautiful graphics and a fantastic story. Should be played by all true gamers. This a game for all kind of player, if you don't like it, you are crazy.
  11. Mar 7, 2012
    8
    Pretty darn good. Third best Zelda in the bunch only to A Link to the Past and Ocarina of Time. The water color art style looked great yet I am really hoping for a more realistic art style in the next installment on the Wii U
  12. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Zelda Skyward Sword is not just one of the best games in years: it's also one of the most controversial.
    Many wrote this game off before they ever even played it, spouting comments like "the graphics are childlike" or more commonly "Motion controls are always terrible"
    If you are one of the people who fall into this crowed, I strongly urge you to play the game. Dismiss any bias you might
    Zelda Skyward Sword is not just one of the best games in years: it's also one of the most controversial.
    Many wrote this game off before they ever even played it, spouting comments like "the graphics are childlike" or more commonly "Motion controls are always terrible"

    If you are one of the people who fall into this crowed, I strongly urge you to play the game.
    Dismiss any bias you might have toward games with motion controls, try to accept the games unique art style, even though it's different from all the HD "realistic" games that saturate the market.
    If you do what you will find is a game that achieves a greatness so vast, that many simply can't fully comprehend it.

    I can not stress enough: this game is everything that motion controlled game should have been, and hopefully represents what they will become.
    Expand
  13. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Before I write the review, I just want to say for those non-zelda lovers, or for those gamers who thought that they are hardcore because they are playing lots of COD, or skyrim etc, please do not read this review... This game is simply AMAZING, one of most amazing game in Wii or probably the best game in Wii... The graphics is beatufully stunning, You can't compare with other HD games, butBefore I write the review, I just want to say for those non-zelda lovers, or for those gamers who thought that they are hardcore because they are playing lots of COD, or skyrim etc, please do not read this review... This game is simply AMAZING, one of most amazing game in Wii or probably the best game in Wii... The graphics is beatufully stunning, You can't compare with other HD games, but for Wii it's beautifully stunning, the best looking game in Wii... This game looks very childish, but the puzzles, the action wasn't made for kids, it's difficultness was made for mature gamers... Some people said that the control was terrible some people said it's amazing, so for my opinion this controls works just fine, Perfect! I don't what the other did or how the others did it, if you said that the control is terrible there are only two conclusion: Whether they are did it in the wrong way like Tom Mcshea from Gamespot, or their controls are broken, it works perfect, from horizontal, vertical, diagonal, etc... Thank you Nintendo for making this game... God Bless Nintendo... simply 10/10 !!! Expand
  14. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game, got it on Friday and played for about 20 hours, does everything right and skimming over the negative comments convinces me people are rating 0s despite not even playing the game. For example calibrating the motion plus isn't even an issue, it takes about 6 seconds and I've only ever needed to do it after turning the controller off, I've played for long periods of timeFantastic game, got it on Friday and played for about 20 hours, does everything right and skimming over the negative comments convinces me people are rating 0s despite not even playing the game. For example calibrating the motion plus isn't even an issue, it takes about 6 seconds and I've only ever needed to do it after turning the controller off, I've played for long periods of time without needing to calibrate once. The combat is amazing, the controls are actually extremely responsive and this game has actually made a big leap in combat, sure beats waggling and button mashing. Oh and I love the colours, very pretty. I'm extra excited for what they'll do with Zelda on Wii U now because this is certainly my all time favourite game thus far. Also just as a heads up it doesn't use the sensor bar, you can totally aim the pointer while you're in a different room. Lesson of the day: read the instruction book. Expand
  15. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Excelente en todos los aspectos, otro clasico mas para el catalogo de Nintendo. Goob job Ninty, keep the good work, and congrats. Graphics, Sound, History and the Gameplay are excelent. This is the best Zelda game to date period. and one of the best game this Year.
  16. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    First of all, this is truly one of the best Zelda games ever made. Yes, the controls may be unresponsive at sometimes but it takes the Wii capabilities to the max. This game offers a great story line, great graphics for the Wii, and some most memorable moments in Zelda history. People need to quit complaining and comparing this game to games like CoD, Assassin's creed, Uncharted, orFirst of all, this is truly one of the best Zelda games ever made. Yes, the controls may be unresponsive at sometimes but it takes the Wii capabilities to the max. This game offers a great story line, great graphics for the Wii, and some most memorable moments in Zelda history. People need to quit complaining and comparing this game to games like CoD, Assassin's creed, Uncharted, or whatever. This is a Zelda game. Not something remotely close to any of the other games. True Zelda fans will add this at the top of their list along side Ocarina of time and Twilight Princess. I give it a 10 all around. Expand
  17. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Another vacations with my favorite game. Thanks Nintendo for the innovation. I love Zelda Skyward Sword so much. The music is great, the storyline is so perfect, the controls is maybe the best part. It's a hard game and i aprecciate this masterpiece since the first minute until the last one. Miyamoto, Eiji and kondo: Thanks again, this will be a fantastic christmas. Now im going for SuperAnother vacations with my favorite game. Thanks Nintendo for the innovation. I love Zelda Skyward Sword so much. The music is great, the storyline is so perfect, the controls is maybe the best part. It's a hard game and i aprecciate this masterpiece since the first minute until the last one. Miyamoto, Eiji and kondo: Thanks again, this will be a fantastic christmas. Now im going for Super Mario Land 3D Expand
  18. Apr 23, 2012
    1
    I am a long time fan of the Zelda series (since NES) and this is by far the worst one ive ever played. The motion controls are horrid. Backtracking is rampant, flying is pointless and boring filler along with the stupid fetch quests that do nothing but add to the time it will take you to finish the game and no it isnt the least bit fun. Everytime i started to have any ounce of fun it wasI am a long time fan of the Zelda series (since NES) and this is by far the worst one ive ever played. The motion controls are horrid. Backtracking is rampant, flying is pointless and boring filler along with the stupid fetch quests that do nothing but add to the time it will take you to finish the game and no it isnt the least bit fun. Everytime i started to have any ounce of fun it was sucked away by stupid game design. How any fan of this series can say this is the best one since ocarina is absolutely beyond me. This game is so bad that it is literally the only zelda game i didnt finish because i got that sick of it. (Completing the sword was the last thing i did. I dont recommended this game at all unless you want to experience incredibly bad motion controls. This entry made me want to play twilight princess again and i didnt even like that one alot but it was defintely better than this trash dont waste your time. Expand
  19. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    First off, the negative reviews come from shallow fanboys living in mom's basement. Most FPS fanboys live in their mom's basement, living off welfare, eating nachos and watching porn because they can't get a real girl or meet real friends (no your X-Box Live list doesn't count you sad sacks)

    You come to bash games like Zelda because you are a group of brainwashed nerds who believe
    First off, the negative reviews come from shallow fanboys living in mom's basement. Most FPS fanboys live in their mom's basement, living off welfare, eating nachos and watching porn because they can't get a real girl or meet real friends (no your X-Box Live list doesn't count you sad sacks)

    You come to bash games like Zelda because you are a group of brainwashed nerds who believe anything without a gun is "gay" or "kiddie". The world would be better off if you all disappeared or went far away and drowned in a lake because you are a waste of space. Now to the great game. I've played Batman: AA, Portal 2 and U3. Skyward Sword is the greatest achievement in games this year. It sets the standard for how motion controls should be used in gaming. Its the equivalent of Mario Galaxy to the Mario series. Nintendo are masters at attention to detail and Skyward Sword is no exception. Everything from the world to NPC's have so much personality and rank as some of the best in the series. Every perfect score you read folks is well deserved. The only equal this game has in 2011 is Arkham City with Skyward Sword edging it out. Zelda is back and better than ever.

    In the meantime, the trolls should worry less about killstreaks and bashing this masterpiece and losing weight. Stay free you IQ lacking trolls!
    Expand
  20. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I have been playing this game for about 35+ hours now and i can say without a doubt this is the best game of the year, one of the best games of this generation and one of if not the best Zelda games.
  21. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Sound -> 10, it's Zelda, and sounds so good!
    Graphics -> 10, it's not HD, but it's beautiful, amazing design and colorful.
    Gameplay -> 10, 1:1, nothing more to say.
    Story -> 10 too.
  22. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    It's amazing how after telling the same story for 25 years Nintendo continues to have the magic of the first time.
    Skyward Sword is the best Zelda ever.
    For several years we have motion controls. Although we have enjoyed in small portions, their performance was more of a fashion. It is to this day that Fujibayashi and his team of geniuses have given me a tour of a dimension of interaction
    It's amazing how after telling the same story for 25 years Nintendo continues to have the magic of the first time.
    Skyward Sword is the best Zelda ever.
    For several years we have motion controls. Although we have enjoyed in small portions, their performance was more of a fashion. It is to this day that Fujibayashi and his team of geniuses have given me a tour of a dimension of interaction did not know. My faith has been revived: this is not a fad. The hardware depends on how developers use it. Forget everything you know about the motion controller gaming, Skyward Sword is the true beginning.

    Skyward Sword starts and doesn't stops. From start to finish, is a feast of amazing and charming characters. Explore new places and enjoy the most beautiful scenery we've seen in a videogame. In most of the adventures we've had in a game just press a button at the right time to get an achievement. However, in Skyward Sword feel firsthand the success to overcome every Bokoblin. It is not meaningless shake control: real enjoyment of defeating an enemy is to give careful consideration to each opponent. We are in the rethinking of how it should work a sword in a game-a fantasy that has been with us since childhood.
    Skyward Sword Zelda is also the freest Zelda of all. It's a world that you'd want to explore in its entirety. The options are endless, even outside the main story. Hundreds of NPCs have fun tasks you will be always busy.
    I have purposely avoided the subject of the story. Skyward Sword is something you have to play by yourself.
    Visually, Skyward Sword has a lot of personality. The graphic style is very original, from the introductory sequence to the credits, graphics feel fresh. They are very similar to the magnificent and original style of Street Fighter IV.
    The dungeons in Skyward Sword are the best I've seen the series. The battles with the bosses redefine what it means to fight a boss in a videogame. The intelligent design in all the puzzles in the game is a constant feature throughout the adventure. Get ready to find mechanisms similar to those seen in the dungeons of the last games of the series, but now scattered throughout the open world, free from confinement of a room or hallway.
    From the moment you start Skyward Sword until the last second, is an hearig brutality. The orchestral soundtrack of Koji Kondo and Hajime Wakai is perhaps the most impressive in the history of the medium. Whether you're in a cave or in a vile dungeon impressive, Skyward Sword is a sonic masterpiece. Freedom of sounds and instruments present in this title is something we've never heard in the series. The album included the 25th anniversary of the franchise is not far behind. I confess that I rarely had moved so much a melody as the theme of the source of the Great Fairy.
    this is the prime example of art in a videogame... simply a must own. 10/10
    Expand
  23. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    A really cool game, the best Zelda of all time? I up to everyone, like the Beatles records, each Zelda game has it own merits and fans, so is hard to decide which is the best.

    The Graphics are really cool, they look great on the Wii but at the same time wanting to have in the near future a port on HD, it would be even more beautiful. Many people are complaining about the controls,
    A really cool game, the best Zelda of all time? I up to everyone, like the Beatles records, each Zelda game has it own merits and fans, so is hard to decide which is the best.

    The Graphics are really cool, they look great on the Wii but at the same time wanting to have in the near future a port on HD, it would be even more beautiful.

    Many people are complaining about the controls, but I hadn't had any trouble with them.
    Like in recent entries (Wind Waker and Twilight Princess) the personalities of the caracters are really well done, you actually feel that you know them, the new Zelda (the girl) is perhaps the best one yet.

    I felt than the game start a little slower than other entries, but sooner than later this game is soaring high.

    Hopefully this is not the last great game on the wii.
    Buy it, Play it, Enjoy it
    Expand
  24. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Definitely the best wii game in the years its been out. never had any problem with the controls since i didnt swing like a maniac. its one of the best in the series. the game is well worth the money with over 40+ hours of gameplay and artistic style
  25. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Finally the first zelda game for the wii comes out and it's the best one since OoT, miyamoto didn't lie when he said, its the best zelda or no more zeldas.

    ITS A MUST PLAY
  26. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    excellent game, the best on the wii, and the best of this generation, GOTY.If you expected this game to have guns, blood, sexuality, or anything like that you are ignorant beyond any reasonable belief.As for the controls, after 5 hours theyÃ
  27. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is by far the most expansive and coherent Zelda game ever. Perfect controls, amazing art style and a heartfelt story make you truly invested in the characters and what happens to them. The great animations and facial expressions really sell the experience, and the dungeons and side quests are some of the best in the series.
  28. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Really great game, best wii game ever and probably best Zelda ever, Nintendo did a awesome job with the story and gameplay, i don't know how this can get better.
  29. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Skyward Sword stands at the peak of the Nintendo videogame-crafting. It's colorful but eerie atmosphere, the polished gameplay and the amazing plot builds the greatest game in the series.
  30. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is long, beautiful and full of content along with variety. The motion controls can be a bother at times, but by no means does it keep me from enjoying this fantastic Zelda game we were promised back in 2005. It truly is what Miyamoto said it would be!
  31. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    It's the Zelda we have been waiting for. It's the first videogame that actually makes me want to SAVE the princess' life. Engaging and fun. I hope this becomes a landmark in Nintendo games.
  32. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    very original game the best in zelda the new controller are the best, there are some minor flaws but they don't make it less fun or playable,They tried innovating and succeeded! This game makes old gamers happy and new people to the series as well.it's reasonably accessible for new players it does none of the claustrophobic hand-holding that many other recent Zeldas have done.
  33. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Many of the complaints I've read about this game are about the controls. I can't understand that, as the controls have been very responsive for me. Perhaps there is some kind of interference or lack of calibration? Other than that, the gameplay is fun with plenty of exploration, the story keeps you very involved, and the fighting feels very natural. This is the perfect addition to theMany of the complaints I've read about this game are about the controls. I can't understand that, as the controls have been very responsive for me. Perhaps there is some kind of interference or lack of calibration? Other than that, the gameplay is fun with plenty of exploration, the story keeps you very involved, and the fighting feels very natural. This is the perfect addition to the Zelda franchise. Expand
  34. Tid
    Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Absolutely fantastic game. From the moment it begins to the moment it ends, everything about this game is setting the standard for Zelda, the Wii, Nintendo, and video gaming. The controls are perfect, I never want to play The Legend of Zelda with buttons ever again. The motion+ technology fits so seamlessly into the traditional Zelda gameplay that I couldn't help but feel as if maybeAbsolutely fantastic game. From the moment it begins to the moment it ends, everything about this game is setting the standard for Zelda, the Wii, Nintendo, and video gaming. The controls are perfect, I never want to play The Legend of Zelda with buttons ever again. The motion+ technology fits so seamlessly into the traditional Zelda gameplay that I couldn't help but feel as if maybe Nintendo designed the attachment just for the sake of this game. They've given Zelda so much more depth than ever before, every instant is a challenge, and there's no button-mashing in sight.

    I don't want to spoil anything, but the story is beautiful. I'd be willing to call this the best story ever told in a Zelda game, no matter how far fetched that may sound. The wide and varied cast of main and supporting characters differs from the Zelda norm, but it's a refreshing change, and upholds the usual charm that we've come to expect from this series.

    Unfortunately, the game isn't the best looking thing we've ever seen. Compared to the other big name titles hitting stores this month, it simply isn't as visually impressive. However, it pushes the Wii to its absolute limits, there's definitely no better looking game on the system. It was a wise decision for Nintendo to take a more painted art style approach rather than a realistic one, or else the hardware Zelda has been limited to would really start to show its flaws.
    Aside from being compared to the big HD titles, the game is very pretty, that's irrefutable. Not to mention the attention to detail Nintendo has put in with character animations and little tweaks, which just make every corner and character in the game feel so alive.

    In terms of design? The game breaks from the standard Zelda formula. We've still got the forest>fire>ice/water progression as usual, and there are of course familiar elements to the storyline and the world, but past that it's all been revamped, and it's definitely an upgrade. No longer do we have a big empty hub world with dungeons and areas attached to all the corners. No, the overworld is just as dense, challenging and fun as any of the dungeons, and they flow pretty seamlessly together. It's a fun world to explore, and there's a lot of it. Flying is fun. There's not much to it, but it's just... Fun. It's got that breathtaking, discovery feeling that we all loved in Wind Waker, only without the crappy fetchquests and slow travel.

    This is the definitive Zelda game. A Link to the Past and Ocarina of Time were my childhood, because of how adventurous and exciting and memorable they were, and despite having played all the Zelda games that followed, none managed to evoke those feelings in me again. Until now I thought it was because I'd grown up and had just gotten used to those quality standards, and was enjoying more "mature" games. Not any more. Skyward Sword is one of the best games I've ever played, if not THE best. I think in 15-25 years, the current generation of children will remember this adventure as fondly as we all remembered our first Zelda games.
    10/10.
    Expand
  35. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    To put it simply, what this game does for motion controls is what Ocarina of Time did for 3D gaming. The motion controls are simply divine, with any errors being purely on my behalf. I certainly never want to return to 'traditional' controls for a Zelda game, largely because THEY WORK. Many fans, myself included, will argue that this is the best Zelda yet, if not the best game of all time.
  36. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    this game is simply amazing. a mus t own for any persons who own or have access to a wii. the art style is amazingly gorgeous and the game uses the wii motion plus controls to it's fullest.
  37. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I picked up the game as soon as GameStop opened this morning, about 6 hours ago (I was first in line). I have been playing it non-stop, and I am extremely pleased with it. It feels very... Zelda. The only control issues I have had regarded flying, and it ultimately was a reading issue (shouldn't have skimmed those instructions). Looks beautiful, sounds beautiful, and plays beautiful.I picked up the game as soon as GameStop opened this morning, about 6 hours ago (I was first in line). I have been playing it non-stop, and I am extremely pleased with it. It feels very... Zelda. The only control issues I have had regarded flying, and it ultimately was a reading issue (shouldn't have skimmed those instructions). Looks beautiful, sounds beautiful, and plays beautiful. I can't wait to finish typing this and get back to it! Expand
  38. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Ok so ive played Skyward Sword for about 7 and a half hours now. and even though its a little to early to judge the game in a whole im gonna give it a 9 but if my opinion changes ill change the review. But so far pretty damn good game
  39. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    All of the people that say this is a bad game probably never even got past the tutorials. It's a sad day when such a beautiful, amazing game gets bogged down with bogus reviews. The controls are good, after you get used to them. The story and gameplay are superb, easily one of the best games Nintendo has ever made. It deserves the amazing critic reviews and to me is better than skyrim.
  40. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    i think Oot met his match, the controls are awesome the environments great the story without Ganon is pretty cool, when i expected the same stuff from nintendo, they proved me wrong i maybe have my new favourite game of all times
  41. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is truely a masterpiece. everything is amazing, the music, the story, the graphics, the controls, and everything that makes zelda so great. It retains what makes zelda great while being completely new and different at the same time. even incredible motion controls may not be for everyone, but they're certainly not an issuse and anyone who gave this game less than a 9/10 is fullThis game is truely a masterpiece. everything is amazing, the music, the story, the graphics, the controls, and everything that makes zelda so great. It retains what makes zelda great while being completely new and different at the same time. even incredible motion controls may not be for everyone, but they're certainly not an issuse and anyone who gave this game less than a 9/10 is full of **** that is all. Expand
  42. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Probably the best Zelda yet. Tough to say, I have 5 tied as the best. This is definitely a contender. And if it's the best Zelda game, that means it's the best game ever,
  43. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    A testement to Nintendo's sheer mastery at creating video games. They are truly the most talented developers in the world. It's is sheer brilliance from start to finish. The controls are responsive and incredibley fresh, the graphics are beutiful, the characters and locales are unique and beutiful. This is the game we have all been waiting for.
  44. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    I gave this game a 10/10 because it definitely deserves it (thus far. i'm about 4 hours into the game). The music is astounding, the colors are amazing, and the story line is just as intriguing as OoT. If the game somehow starts failing as I continue playing, i'll change my review but i don't see that happening. Definitely worth the money and imo, better than TP.
  45. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    If I rated this game based on Graphics I might have knocked off a couple points. However, as it stands I rate games based on game play alone. I've been playing Zelda starting with the very first Zelda. I wouldn't call it The BEST Zelda ever, but then again I have yet to actually beat the game! This game deserves a 10. I would understand why someone who isn't really a fan of the seriesIf I rated this game based on Graphics I might have knocked off a couple points. However, as it stands I rate games based on game play alone. I've been playing Zelda starting with the very first Zelda. I wouldn't call it The BEST Zelda ever, but then again I have yet to actually beat the game! This game deserves a 10. I would understand why someone who isn't really a fan of the series might rate it lower. But I just figure they should go back to playing COD and leave this game to the people who can enjoy a game for it's game play and not it's graphics. Expand
  46. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is a spectacular addition to the Zelda series. I knew long before purchasing this game that I would enjoy it, but after trying it myself, I found that it not only lived up to its high expectations, but surpassed them by far. I was blown away by this game's amazing gameplay, which was a huge improvement from the shortcomings of Spirit Tracks. As hard as I try, I can find no flawsThis game is a spectacular addition to the Zelda series. I knew long before purchasing this game that I would enjoy it, but after trying it myself, I found that it not only lived up to its high expectations, but surpassed them by far. I was blown away by this game's amazing gameplay, which was a huge improvement from the shortcomings of Spirit Tracks. As hard as I try, I can find no flaws in this game. If there is any Zelda game that could possibly challenge Ocarina of Time for the spot of the best game in video gaming history, this is it. Expand
  47. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Just here to balance out the trolls. Honestly anyone who says that the formula is the same hasn't played the game yet. For the first time in a long time, this game doesn't feel like Dungeon -> field-> dungeon. Now everything is integrated into one huge dungeon meaning that you will always be on your toes having fun.
  48. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Easily one of the best games of the year! I will not go to such extent claiming GOTY, although i voted for it already! (btw I avoided twilight princess too!) Skyward Sword is easily one of the best , if not the best Zelda game, a refreshing experience, and quite probably the best game on Wii! If you are a nintendo fan, or if you are a fan of action adventure games with clever puzzles,Easily one of the best games of the year! I will not go to such extent claiming GOTY, although i voted for it already! (btw I avoided twilight princess too!) Skyward Sword is easily one of the best , if not the best Zelda game, a refreshing experience, and quite probably the best game on Wii! If you are a nintendo fan, or if you are a fan of action adventure games with clever puzzles, tons of action, pranks, skydiving, soaring among the clouds, swordfighting and gadgets, as well as challenging memorable and rewarding boss fights this is *definitely* the game for you! If you don't own a wii, borrow or buy a used one, and play this game now! Enjoy the smile on your face after a tense battle! This all what games are about! Expand
  49. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword is the best game on the Wii. It's also the best Zelda game of all time, quite a feat, considing Zelda is considered by some to be the best game series ever. The MotionPlus swordplay, although tough to get used to, is flawless, and I never want to play another Zelda game without it ever again. The structure of the game is incredibly designed, and theThe Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword is the best game on the Wii. It's also the best Zelda game of all time, quite a feat, considing Zelda is considered by some to be the best game series ever. The MotionPlus swordplay, although tough to get used to, is flawless, and I never want to play another Zelda game without it ever again. The structure of the game is incredibly designed, and the music...well, you should count yourself lucky that a soundtrack comes with the game, as in my opinion, it's the best game soundtrack ever. Zelda: Skyward Sword is amazing, and if you have a Wii, you owe it to it and yourself to buy it. 10/10 Expand
  50. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    This is a really really good game, the controls work very well after you get used to them, you can NOT waggle your way through, people who say you can obviously didn't make it out of Skyloft before doing their reviews. It's a really good story, the relationships feel less forced this time around and the characters are creative and come to life throughout the game. The people who have beenThis is a really really good game, the controls work very well after you get used to them, you can NOT waggle your way through, people who say you can obviously didn't make it out of Skyloft before doing their reviews. It's a really good story, the relationships feel less forced this time around and the characters are creative and come to life throughout the game. The people who have been giving this game a 0 are idiots, some named good points meaning the game to them obviously was somewhat good to them, they are just giving 0s to be trolls. I personally believe this game deserves a 9.5 I wouldn't give any game a 10 but this game comes close to it. Expand
  51. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Undoubtedly, unarguably, unquestionably, unequivocally, and UNMISTAKABLY the best, most in-depth, well-played Zelda game I have ever purchased. I can not believe the amount of effort that Nintendo must have put into this game. It will lead you on a trail through a whole train-ride of emotions, ranging from giddiness to rapturous, from tenebrous to fluorescence, from the simplestUndoubtedly, unarguably, unquestionably, unequivocally, and UNMISTAKABLY the best, most in-depth, well-played Zelda game I have ever purchased. I can not believe the amount of effort that Nintendo must have put into this game. It will lead you on a trail through a whole train-ride of emotions, ranging from giddiness to rapturous, from tenebrous to fluorescence, from the simplest depression to the most magnificent happiness! You will buy this game, and you will NOT be dissapointed! The controls are simply splendid, and Nintendo has perfectly achieved the goal of putting you in a real game to the fullest extent! In the Zelda franchise, you are supposed to insert yourself as Link, and the Wii Motion+ makes this all the more corporeal! Combat system in a game before this? Hah! This IS combat. There is no way another game has had a more advanced and splendidly working combat system, ever. End of story. And the variation from the other games! I was never one of those people to say that Zelda hasn't evolved over the years, but I never explicitly believed it lead a revolution - until now. Saying that the Zelda franchise hasn't been evolving after playing this game is like saying that the Call of Duty franchise IS evolving - it's a complete and utter lie! It's not as if you expect them to make something that isn't a Zelda game, do you? If you do, that's what other games are for! You play Zelda because you enjoyed a previous Zelda game, not because you're expecting an entirely different game!

    Everything is riddled with riddles that actually make you think! The puzzle system is entirely duked out beyond belief, and it provides a good challenge to those who are up to it, but if you ever get stuck, there's special 'stones' around to help you out that are completely optional. Zelda games have always been the leading franchise as far as puzzling dungeons go, and this one is no exception. You will be impressed, and I don't doubt it.

    It is a one of a kind puzzle/adventure game, one that cannot be missed out on. It is a suave masterpiece and a prodigy in its own - I believe that it is Nintendo's magnum opus. You will not be dissapointed.
    Expand
  52. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    The best Zelda game so far. Great art style, great soundtrack, great story, and the best control scheme. Motion Plus really does difference in gameplay, how say it not is a dumb.
    Conclusion, play Skyward Sword, don't worry about bad reviews, they reveal envy from author.
  53. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    From the Beautifully Designed Graphics, to the Wonderfully In-depth Characters, i found this game to be as entertaining as any of the previous games of the series. (a lot to say, given their past) the motion control of the game made me excited at every enemy encounter, no matter how small. figuring out their weaknesses, and exploiting them is a very fun thing to do, given the amazingFrom the Beautifully Designed Graphics, to the Wonderfully In-depth Characters, i found this game to be as entertaining as any of the previous games of the series. (a lot to say, given their past) the motion control of the game made me excited at every enemy encounter, no matter how small. figuring out their weaknesses, and exploiting them is a very fun thing to do, given the amazing control.

    Figuring out that certain enemies drop certain things, which can be used for upgrading items was one of the most exciting parts. Definitely will enjoy adventuring all the lands in search of pieces to upgrade my already amazing arsenal of gear.
    beyond that, the cinematics are at peak, and are the best they've ever been. and last, the Graphics are GORGEOUS. i find myself looking at walls, just to see the amazing painting-like artwork throughout the game. over all, a very fun game. Definitely recommend, 10/10
    Expand
  54. Dec 7, 2011
    1
    Woops Kinda did the wrong rating there but just go towards my review - When I first saw this game I thought it would be good or something new aside from the other games like Twighlight princess. Yes it does have a long number of hours of gameplay but it seems to be just another hack and slash. The controls for it was extremely bad even with motion plus. I got frustrated with it becauseWoops Kinda did the wrong rating there but just go towards my review - When I first saw this game I thought it would be good or something new aside from the other games like Twighlight princess. Yes it does have a long number of hours of gameplay but it seems to be just another hack and slash. The controls for it was extremely bad even with motion plus. I got frustrated with it because when my controller went off screen the whole thing **** out. The story is good and interesting but the gameplay seemed to repitive to me. Expand
  55. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Nintendo's changed the game with Skyward sword. The Motion controls are simple and intuitive, requiring minimal time to adjust. From wielding your sword to properly using your shield (ensuring it's not damaged) to bowling with bombs, and flying to the wonderfully made soundtrack. Skyward Sword's a must have for ANYONE who's remotely interested in the Zelda series.
  56. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Only one word: masterpiece, shut up trolls this game is amazing with amazing graphics,amazing gameplay(only if you're a true gamer) and epic story.I give this 10/10 and is better that ocarina.
  57. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    What's new: Enhanced controls.
    New graphics.
    Improved combat system. Different means of over-world travel. Challenging AI Story-driven campaign Upgrading/crafting system. What is preserved from earlier installments: Enemy types Dungeon exploration and puzzles. Auto-jump Item types Protagonists Other common themes from previous titles. Significant Pros: Story, Combat, Music. Criticisms:
    What's new: Enhanced controls.
    New graphics.
    Improved combat system.
    Different means of over-world travel. Challenging AI
    Story-driven campaign
    Upgrading/crafting system.

    What is preserved from earlier installments:
    Enemy types
    Dungeon exploration and puzzles.
    Auto-jump
    Item types
    Protagonists
    Other common themes from previous titles.

    Significant Pros: Story, Combat, Music.
    Criticisms: Controls at times, too precise. Over-world movement. Overall: 9. An improved installment in a classic series.
    Expand
  58. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    From the minute I picked of the controller, I knew I was playing a masterpiece. Games today stick to the traditional button mashing and the same old shoot em up adventures. Skyward Sword and Zelda always does the opposite. It brings something new to the table. Holding the control and watching in amazement as the 1:1 ratio kicks in on every slice just does it for me. Along with anFrom the minute I picked of the controller, I knew I was playing a masterpiece. Games today stick to the traditional button mashing and the same old shoot em up adventures. Skyward Sword and Zelda always does the opposite. It brings something new to the table. Holding the control and watching in amazement as the 1:1 ratio kicks in on every slice just does it for me. Along with an outstanding storyline and gameplay that no one does better then Zelda, this is a must have game. 10/10 Expand
  59. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    A beautiful game, an unseen control scheme, a story a lot better told than any Nintendo game, a solid soundtrack and better boss battles and dungeons than any other Zelda game, makes this game a masterpiece.
  60. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Right. So I'm kind of a big zelda fanboy and I've grown up with the franchise since Ocarina of Time. I have to say that Skyward sword and Twilight Princess are my second and third favorite games of the series. I would give this game a 10 for it's so-far excellent story, but there is one thing that kind of ruins the gameplay for me. I usually pay attention to the plots of the game ratherRight. So I'm kind of a big zelda fanboy and I've grown up with the franchise since Ocarina of Time. I have to say that Skyward sword and Twilight Princess are my second and third favorite games of the series. I would give this game a 10 for it's so-far excellent story, but there is one thing that kind of ruins the gameplay for me. I usually pay attention to the plots of the game rather than it's controls, but the wii motion controls for Skyward sword really iritathttp://i.imgur.com/5uTTP.pnges me. Like it really really /really/ irritates me. I've gone through the first temple today and I don't think I've ever raged like that over a video games controls before. I'm not sure if it's the console's or the game's fault, but in my personal opinion I just think that the wii motion controls for this game are just terrible. I honestly wished they had an option to pick whether you want to play with the standard joystick or use the motion sensors, because I would have picked the joystick in a heartbeat. But I guess you just have to make due with what you got. Maybe some people have had the same problems, maybe others don't have an issue with the controls at all. This is just from my perspective. As far as the graphics go. It's the same as Twilight Princess, which isn't really a bad thing at all. Unless cartoonish nintendo graphics bug you. So if I wanted to rate the game's story, controls/gameplay, and graphics in that order I would rate:

    Story- 10 ( =D )
    Controls/Gameplay- 4 ( =/ )
    Graphics- 8 ( =) )

    All in all, if your a zelda fan you should definitely get this game. I've really enjoyed it so far.
    Expand
  61. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    I whole-heartedly agree with metacritic score and most other scores. This game is quite good. The use of the Wii motion-plus really brings out the Wii to it's full potential. This is probably the best motion based game ever. I mean, the PS move had crummy games, as did the Kinect, but, it's this sort of game that motion controls and epic 1:1 swordplay is built for. However, why must peopleI whole-heartedly agree with metacritic score and most other scores. This game is quite good. The use of the Wii motion-plus really brings out the Wii to it's full potential. This is probably the best motion based game ever. I mean, the PS move had crummy games, as did the Kinect, but, it's this sort of game that motion controls and epic 1:1 swordplay is built for. However, why must people bag this game? It is good, I found nothing wrong with it. It has the best story, characters, quests and dungeons in a Zelda game. A lot of people are complaining about the 1:1 sword gameplay. I admit, this does require some getting used to, but the thing about this is, once you can learn it properly, swordplay becomes more rewarding and you feel like every battle you achieve something. No button mashing in this Zelda game! I am, however, disappointed at Gamespots review of this. It seemed like they were nitpicking at little things and, quite frankly, Gameinformer, IGN and various other trusted game reviewers have given it a perfect score of ten out of ten. I'm not going to let a bunch of FPS fans and ignorant game reviewers make up incriminatory comments, most likely just to stop it from being nominated game of the year, so they can have their precious Call of Duty become game of the year. (BTW CoD wasn't nominated understandably).
    So please, why must you bag this game out. It is a Zelda game for God sakes. No-one has DARED criticise a Zelda game until now, because they know they will be pummelled by angry fanboys. Speaking of which, I am proud to be a Zelda fanboy. Everygame that has been released has been pretty good. some better than others , and I think Skyward Sword is the best of the bunch.
    Expand
  62. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    Every few years there comes a game that is so wonderfully made, that no matter what console you own, or what genre is your favorite, every gamer needs to play. The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword is one of those games. Those familiar with the Legend of Zelda Series will instantly recognize â
  63. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    A modern classic was born. The game of the year will be remembered for decades by the giant scenarios that have now become huge dungeons in which there is much to be done. The narrative is really mature and at the same time speaks of the core issues of the classic stories. Good against evil. The use of the wiimote with its precision 1:1 gives this epic classic story of a modernity that noA modern classic was born. The game of the year will be remembered for decades by the giant scenarios that have now become huge dungeons in which there is much to be done. The narrative is really mature and at the same time speaks of the core issues of the classic stories. Good against evil. The use of the wiimote with its precision 1:1 gives this epic classic story of a modernity that no other device has to offer. Expand
  64. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Es genial, todo es sobresaliente. La música , los gráficos, la historia , las quest secundarias, volar...
    Es un paso evolutivo en la franquicia , las mazmorras. El control perfecto con el wii motion plus.
    La duración es buena.
    Lo tiene todo
  65. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This is truly one of the best games of all time, not just the best Wii game, or the best Nintendo game, the best GAME. The Wii Motion Plus controls may take some getting used to at first (besides the initial calibration the infared sensor is never used) but add an extra layer of depth to the combat that other games can't even hope to match. The enemies exhibit very good AI and I was amazedThis is truly one of the best games of all time, not just the best Wii game, or the best Nintendo game, the best GAME. The Wii Motion Plus controls may take some getting used to at first (besides the initial calibration the infared sensor is never used) but add an extra layer of depth to the combat that other games can't even hope to match. The enemies exhibit very good AI and I was amazed that they managed to predict my movements so many times. Another thing about the controls is you shouldn't worry if you are left handed, I'm a lefty and I haven't experienced any problems. The graphics are more beautiful than 90% of games out there, and that is saying something being on an under powered console like the Wii. Once again Nintendo shows us that console power isn't as important as innovation, and this games has my favorite visual style in the whole series. You won't be disappointed. Expand
  66. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    I don't have to explain myself. For me, this and every other Zelda game will always be a 10. jkbljgcjfhjvjb ghcvgfhvb,jobhmgdfhgfhjliugfcxsdfdgcfghmjn,hgvcnfsdvsbdvbfgnvhbn,bjmthdzscxdc
  67. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This is by far, hands down, the best Zelda game ever created. It steals the Ocarina of Time's spotlight easily and this is indeed a masterpiece. See Nintendo? Put effort into your games and you get a game that could be a timeless classic.
  68. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Simple as this its a good as The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time and for people who never played that this is your chance to play a game as good as it and its GOTY for me hands down
  69. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    So far I have played the game and I've gotten a taste of swordplay, flying, and overall starting to get used to flying mechanics. I love the game and I think it is an amazing challenge; it brings me back to when I first played Ocarina of Time and Majora's Mask and how I found both of them to be rather difficult to me at the time, being they were my first Zelda games.

    Skyward Sword is
    So far I have played the game and I've gotten a taste of swordplay, flying, and overall starting to get used to flying mechanics. I love the game and I think it is an amazing challenge; it brings me back to when I first played Ocarina of Time and Majora's Mask and how I found both of them to be rather difficult to me at the time, being they were my first Zelda games.

    Skyward Sword is getting bad scores due to people thinking too highly of it and comparing it to other games like Assassin's Creed. If they would compare it to the REST of the Zelda series instead, the game would be getting a better score.

    Trust me, don't judge a game because of other users reviews. Well... yes take it into account... but don't let it ruin it. I say try the game out, maybe as a rental, then buy it if you want. It's a good game.
    Expand
  70. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Definitely a new take on the Zelda franchise while remaining true to what the series is known for. At first, the controls seem awkward as you raise your wii remote upwards before dealing a devastating strike but after an hour, I can't imagine playing Skyward Sword in any other way. A surprisingly involving story and excellent mechanics make this game the reason why you should pick up aDefinitely a new take on the Zelda franchise while remaining true to what the series is known for. At first, the controls seem awkward as you raise your wii remote upwards before dealing a devastating strike but after an hour, I can't imagine playing Skyward Sword in any other way. A surprisingly involving story and excellent mechanics make this game the reason why you should pick up a motion plus. After only a couple hours of game play, you can't wait to play more. The characters are more welcoming than ever, each with their own personality, especially the game's villain. There was more areas to discover and reasons why you should return to previous areas. The flight seems strange at first but to have controls not limited by the joystick seems like a very free feeling. The only thing that slows the game down somewhat is the lack of response the controller has but that is a trifle, barely noticeable when you can control exactly the direction your sword strikes. This is how a true motion control game should play. Each aspect of the technology is used effectively. The ability to change the UI is an excellent addition. Despite the game not having the graphics that Skyrim or Modern Warfare 3 have, it keeps true to the Zelda theme. The game is bright and a welcoming change to the greys and browns normally seen in mainstream gaming. This game signals a new start for the Zelda franchise and possibly the only reason to buy a Wii if you haven't already. Expand
  71. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing game, which affords a new control scheme which makes interesting new gameplay options possible. Negative reviews are reprehensible given that the game's usage of motion controls was announced originally --- people who want to sit down and play games by mashing buttons should re-play the old games, or choose to purchase games which cater to that. People who played WiiAbsolutely amazing game, which affords a new control scheme which makes interesting new gameplay options possible. Negative reviews are reprehensible given that the game's usage of motion controls was announced originally --- people who want to sit down and play games by mashing buttons should re-play the old games, or choose to purchase games which cater to that. People who played Wii Sports Resort and wanted more freedom and control (and interesting puzzles) or Red Steel 2 and wanted a longer game will be well-rewarded by this game. Expand
  72. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Magical. Minor complaints here and there with motion controls and pacing, but this game is captivating from beginning to end. Would expect nothing less from a Zelda game. Easily crack my top ten of all time.
  73. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This is not only an incredible Wii game, but an engaging game on any platform. It pushes the graphics on Nintendo's little white box, utilizing an excellent art style that feels perfect for the series. If Zelda was upscaled to high definition, this would be on par with a good looking XBOX360 or PS3 game, and that's exciting, yet simultaneously disappointing considering no other Wii games,This is not only an incredible Wii game, but an engaging game on any platform. It pushes the graphics on Nintendo's little white box, utilizing an excellent art style that feels perfect for the series. If Zelda was upscaled to high definition, this would be on par with a good looking XBOX360 or PS3 game, and that's exciting, yet simultaneously disappointing considering no other Wii games, save one or two, achieve this. This is the greatest Zelda game made, and a wonderful swan song for a console that has been greatly underappreciated. Expand
  74. Dec 27, 2011
    9
    Skyward Sword is the first and only Zelda game built ground up for the Wii and makes extensive use of Wii Motion Plus in nearly every aspect of its designs. Overall I believe this to be among the better Zelda games and a significantly better game than the Wii version of Twilight Princess in terms of its controls and level design. I don't need to describe much else because if it's a ZeldaSkyward Sword is the first and only Zelda game built ground up for the Wii and makes extensive use of Wii Motion Plus in nearly every aspect of its designs. Overall I believe this to be among the better Zelda games and a significantly better game than the Wii version of Twilight Princess in terms of its controls and level design. I don't need to describe much else because if it's a Zelda game, they all follow the same design principles. What this one did right: The sword combat is the most engaging it's ever been. Every single enemy requires special attention in order to to be defeated. This includes proper sword swings and blocking/countering. Countering is especially neat, allowing you to stun enemies with a well-timed shield bash that deflects an attack, but a poorly timed one will still block an attack at the cost of shield integrity. The sword controls can be a bit much to get used to, but when I was more careful, swung with my whole arm and made more deliberate arm movements I found that accuracy of the sword fighting to be 100%. At worst when I was flicking my wrist around and flinching it was as low as 30%. It takes some practice and technique, but once mastered is a profoundly rewarding system. Going to back to earlier Zelda games, the combat suddenly feels empty and bland. Skyward Sword answers a question I didn't know I had, and this is one reason why Skyward Sword is perhaps the best 3D Zelda game yet. Another is the level design. There are only a few major areas, and each has a predictable theme you've already seen before. That doesn't really matter much in the long run. The environments are meticulously designed and incredibly well-used. As the game progressed, the environments changed in ways that surprised and impressed even me, a 20 year veteran on the series. The maps are also the most detailed, colorful and easy to use of any 3D Zelda. The dungeons are often brilliant. In many ways they are a return to basics, yet explore new avenues in their own ways. One aspect I was floored by is that enemies do not reappear after you've killed them unless you quit the game or leave the dungeon entirely. This lent a even more powerful sensation to combat, that each encounter was final and satisfying. The puzzles are really slick, in particular towards the end there is some of the best dungeon puzzles I've ever seen, and certainly the best incorporation of different items and skills together in the same breaths. The menus and interfaces for navigating your items are also the most accessible and don't hurt the flow of game, everything is seamless. The items feel great on the Wii motion plus, the bow packs a punch, the beetle is just sweet and other returning members such as the bombs have new functionality. The items all worked flawlessly for me, no control issues except for the occasional centering. Which brings to what the game did wrong: the really could have used the senor bar to auto-center the controller like Wii Sports Resort did. The camera was also an issue, at this point there really should be a comprehensive solution the a 3D camera and there isn't. No right stick, no D-pad control like many other superb Wii games have utilized. Nothing but Z-targeting and looking around in first person with C button. So in order to look at something, I have to either switch my method of viewing the world entirely and slowly turn towards it, or snap the camera around with the Z button, guessing which way exactly I need to face to get the best view. It's just clunky, they had five years to figure something out. I would have taken some simple rotation control on the D-Pad, and those buttons on the D-pad are not even used for anything. Very unfortunate. There's to much talking, the new side kick is a very, very talkative character and her text moves very, very slowly. Even mashing the A button barely speeds things up. At this point, we really outta be past the constant instruction. She even repeats the same blasted instructions you've heard before, just because well in case you forgot, ugh. Overall, I very much recommend Skyward Sword to any fan of action adventure and Zelda games. Ultimately, a willingness to learn new control schemes and adapt to them will be the best indicator, this game isn't for everyone. It's the toughest 3D Zelda yet, has the most moving soundtrack, has a fantastic new inventory and upgrading system and all kinds of other anachronistic features and elements that will polarize your emotions against themselves. It certainly did to me, and initially I didn't like Skyward Sword. In time it revealed itself to me, but not without some extra effort and tolerance on my end. Despite Nintendo's ultra-inclusive philosophies on design, the only Zelda game made for the Wii is also the most challenging. Skyward Sword is great both because and despite this. It will be loved and hated. For what it's worth, I found it a road well worth traveling. Expand
  75. Nov 21, 2011
    6
    After waiting so many months Skyward Sword Zelda, after reading so many articles, see movies and read rumors, even I would give this game 10/10. Then he came out, I bought and tried and it is at this point that came the disappointment. I quickly realized that so much praise, so many high scores were just advertising. I am an expert player of Zelda, I played three times and finished ZeldaAfter waiting so many months Skyward Sword Zelda, after reading so many articles, see movies and read rumors, even I would give this game 10/10. Then he came out, I bought and tried and it is at this point that came the disappointment. I quickly realized that so much praise, so many high scores were just advertising. I am an expert player of Zelda, I played three times and finished Zelda Twilight Princess and I would have expected much more from Skyward Sword. Grainy graphics, controller goes crazy when you look off the field, the controller is not precise, enemies in spite of the above the new Motion Plus controller, are killed simply shaking the controller. And then the most important thing, the story,missing the magic, the soul is lacking, there is no involvement, few dialogues. It looks like a game made in a hurry to go to meet business needs, putting together the pieces of the previous Zelda,yet they have had 5 years of time. I've played now for 20 hours since I hope that going forward you change something... Expand
  76. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    I'm playing SS for about 23 hours and here are my thoughts:

    + Memorable Story
    + Character design
    + World design & size
    + Controls
    + Humor

    - Getting used to the controls took me a while

    Check it out guys, it's one of the last Wii gems!!
  77. Apr 5, 2012
    5
    Nintendo brings a new flavor of dungeon'ing and exploring to Zelda, though it has repercussions that weaken the foundations on which the series was built on. The artwork and design are colourful and beautiful, and add a vibrant atmosphere to every area, but the problem that arises with the setting is that they are confined. Zelda fans should be well accustomed to being able to explore aNintendo brings a new flavor of dungeon'ing and exploring to Zelda, though it has repercussions that weaken the foundations on which the series was built on. The artwork and design are colourful and beautiful, and add a vibrant atmosphere to every area, but the problem that arises with the setting is that they are confined. Zelda fans should be well accustomed to being able to explore a vast amount of environments, that's part of the appeal of the series. Unfortunately SS restricts the players ability to travel from one area to another, and so a feeling of disconnection arises, like how you do when you have to go back to a menu in a game to pick a new destination. You no longer feel as immersed in the gameplay. Monsters are few and far between, though they are spread over larger areas. The motions of defeating them become repetitive, just as pressing a certain button repeatedly would. The motion controls do not feel natural because of inaccuracy, lag and the need to calibrate often. This also causes the motion controls to not feel anymore realistic than pressing buttons would, you've only changed how you send commands.

    The characters and plot felt bland and empty. Your companion for the game in particular, who will also give away many puzzles in the game before you can even take a crack at them. The final battle and ending left me dissatisfied, but given the story that led up to it, that wasn't surprising.

    Overall, the game should be played through to the end before you review it. Too many seemed to jump on the bandwagon of excitement, played it for a few hours, gave it critical acclaim, and then had second thoughts later. It's a game worth playing, if not just to make your own opinion about the motion controls. Those expecting a dynamic journey with a great story and character development that doesn't make you roll your eyes, may be disappointed.
    Expand
  78. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    After finishing this game, I can truly say that this game is one of the best Legend of Zelda games I have ever played. I rank this game on par with my other Zelda favorites, Ocarina of Time and Majora's Mask (although I haven't met a Zelda game I didn't like). The storyline is amazing and the musical score is one of the best I have heard! The controls are fluid and intuitive, and afterAfter finishing this game, I can truly say that this game is one of the best Legend of Zelda games I have ever played. I rank this game on par with my other Zelda favorites, Ocarina of Time and Majora's Mask (although I haven't met a Zelda game I didn't like). The storyline is amazing and the musical score is one of the best I have heard! The controls are fluid and intuitive, and after about a 2 hour learning curve, you forget they are even there. The puzzles are challenging, but not overwhelming to where you get stuck for hours on end. While the graphics are not high definition, they fit the game perfectly and are colorful and interesting to look at. If you want an adventure game, with puzzles and challenges, where you can immerse yourself and forget about your real life troubles, then this is the game for you! Expand
  79. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    This game definitely is one of the better Zelda games I've played.. but not the best, not by a long shot. The graphics are alright, yes they are very artistic looking, but that doesn't hide the fact that pixels are made very obvious. But hey, I can forgive graphics and graphics don't make a game (although personally TP has better graphics IMO..). The gameplay itself is as good as ever, butThis game definitely is one of the better Zelda games I've played.. but not the best, not by a long shot. The graphics are alright, yes they are very artistic looking, but that doesn't hide the fact that pixels are made very obvious. But hey, I can forgive graphics and graphics don't make a game (although personally TP has better graphics IMO..). The gameplay itself is as good as ever, but the motion controls really put a downer on it, as personally, I'm more of a button-masher than a motion controlled sword swinging guy, sorry but they just bug me, plus the motion control don't always work which is VERY frustrating! Anyway, the story so far isn't too bad, but I'd prefer a darker story like TP's, but hey-ho I'll see how it turns out (only at the 2nd dungeon so not really judging it yet don't worry). It's kind of obvious that I've set my standards high after playing TP, because after that I couldn't really get into WW or PH/ST, they were just too childish for my taste, lets just hope this isn't either! Expand
  80. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    The Legend of Zelda Skyward Sword is one of the greatest games i have ever played. The near perfect pacing of when you are just starting to get bored of something you change directions and start doing something else. the controls are near perfection. i am sorry gamespot but i dont know what you were playing but i have had nothing but pure enjoyment from the controls. i have played everyThe Legend of Zelda Skyward Sword is one of the greatest games i have ever played. The near perfect pacing of when you are just starting to get bored of something you change directions and start doing something else. the controls are near perfection. i am sorry gamespot but i dont know what you were playing but i have had nothing but pure enjoyment from the controls. i have played every zelda from a link to the past up and this i will with no problem say tops ocarina of time in my book as best in the franchise. This is the perfect gift from nintendo for zeldas 25th aniversery if you have a wii get this game and if you you dont im sorry because you are missing out on a great game Expand
  81. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    A Different, but still very good Zelda Game. I now play for 21 hours and the game is definitely a masterpiece. There are incorporated so many small elements that it is unique in its kind but I like the look, it fits Zelda and the game looks like a walking painting. As always, everything has a purpose and use in Zelda. The puzzles are great made â
  82. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    It will make use your head until the end...It's one of the most difficult Zelda compared to the last Zeldas; excellent gameplay associated with a perfect game design. The Legend is back!!
  83. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    My favorite Zelda game has been The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker for as long as the game has been out. I tried playing Twilight Princess several time but just couldn't get into it. I bought Skyward Sword yesterday and I am pretty deep into the game. I think I may have a new favorite.... The atmosphere and the controls are my favorite parts of the game. The controls are almost perfect soMy favorite Zelda game has been The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker for as long as the game has been out. I tried playing Twilight Princess several time but just couldn't get into it. I bought Skyward Sword yesterday and I am pretty deep into the game. I think I may have a new favorite.... The atmosphere and the controls are my favorite parts of the game. The controls are almost perfect so far. I've had zero issues with registering jabs or swings and have only needed to recenter the cursor a couple of times while looking at the map. I'm guessing that the people that are having issues aren't use to the motion controls, have a broken controller, or haven't played the game. It looks like all of the COD trolls are trying to avenge their user metascore. Expand
  84. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    People who say this is "dumb" or "boring" don't know how to play video games then. It's not the same. It's everything we love about Zelda, but in a different way. Half of you probably say that, then give Call of Duty or some sports game a 10/10. Stupid hypocrites.
    Pros: This game is amazing. It's well worth the 10/10 and is way more fun to play than Skyrim or Battlefield 3. I haven't
    People who say this is "dumb" or "boring" don't know how to play video games then. It's not the same. It's everything we love about Zelda, but in a different way. Half of you probably say that, then give Call of Duty or some sports game a 10/10. Stupid hypocrites.
    Pros: This game is amazing. It's well worth the 10/10 and is way more fun to play than Skyrim or Battlefield 3. I haven't touched either since I've gotten the game. Skyrim is decent, but leaves the player left doing nothing with tremendous power and is barely a challenge. The only challenge I found were the OHKO bosses and Giants. But even then, after you get the ebony stuff, it's too easy. BF3 is okay, but idc for shooters anymore because gameplay wise it's not changing. I like BF3 a little more though because it's squad base, granted if you find a squad who does squad things. The reason I threw those two games in here is because it's to make a point, both games are not revolutionizing gameplay. The main thing is your stuck using a controller and it's not like your actually doing anything, just watching. Like a movie with choices to choose your adventure kinda thing. Then comes along BF3, where it's still your point and shoot shooter. yeah it's overly harsh and you have to go into more detail, but lets face it, the only thing seperating BF3 and MW3 are a few gameplay differences. What makes Skyward sword different is the new motion controls that make you feel more like Link. That alone makes the game a 8/10. Getting more into the game, there's tons of neat little references to past Zelda games, epic music, a vast world(s), and for a first, a pretty good story to boot. This game also proves a game doesn't need great graphics to be great. That reminds me, How's that swimming coming along in Skyrim? Compared to Skyward Sword's water physics, Skyrim looks like jello or something. Horrible in Skyrim. Worst part is Bethesda doesn't know how to do bug fixes and leave it up to the fanbase to do it. Nintendo takes pride in their games at least and fixes those bugs so the player doesn't have to do anything except enjoy.
    Cons: The controls are a bit annoying, but that's because I usually play laying down :P This just means I need to get my lazy butt up of the couch more or less. Nothing has made this a game a disappointment and anyone who thinks it does is just a nintendo-hater who thinks only good games are the violent ones.
    Nintendo proves again you can make a great game with just gameplay. I can't wait for the next installment in the Zelda series, it'll be tough to beat this one.
    Expand
  85. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    great game because like what some of the reviewers are saying it feels like one big dungeon getting to the dungeon. controls are great but occasionally when drawing my sword it wasn't where i was pointing it. it seemed like it was doing opposite of my movements. instead of recalibrating i would go to item menu and recenter and everything would be great. one other small complaint is alwaysgreat game because like what some of the reviewers are saying it feels like one big dungeon getting to the dungeon. controls are great but occasionally when drawing my sword it wasn't where i was pointing it. it seemed like it was doing opposite of my movements. instead of recalibrating i would go to item menu and recenter and everything would be great. one other small complaint is always hitting B to equipped the item that alrealy set on B. once it's set it should be set. also B should use the item instead of hitting B then A to shoot. but still a great game my fav is majora's mask then a tie between this and twilight princess. Expand
  86. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Well, this game has the best controls ever seen in a game. The story is awesome and the swordplay is simply perfect. I think this is a game that will pass through generations... it's really a masterpiece.
  87. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games i have ever played. the visuals are stunning and the motion controls feel like it was meant for zelda. it has been receiving some of the best reviews i have seen on the net, getting a perfect 40 from FAMITSU magazine which consists of four different reviewers that review the game and give it a final score. only16 games in existence have achieved this before,This is one of the best games i have ever played. the visuals are stunning and the motion controls feel like it was meant for zelda. it has been receiving some of the best reviews i have seen on the net, getting a perfect 40 from FAMITSU magazine which consists of four different reviewers that review the game and give it a final score. only16 games in existence have achieved this before, Oot being the first. This is truely a game for the ages Expand
  88. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game! Great ideas, new experiences and a story that honors the entire legacy. The graphics are incredible for Wii's capacity and maybe you have to choose wisely your TV and it's configuration before start playing. Orchestras sounds are terrific and the controls REALLY work if you wanna play it correctly. Congrat's, Nintendo. Nobody does it better.
  89. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Featuring many of the series best ideas while bringing in an array of new ideas to the franchise; The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword is fantastic.

    One of the best improvements come from the control system. One of the few games to truly utilize the Wii, the fighting finally feels natural and adds some depth to the battle system, which has been a very shallow area in previous instalments.
    Featuring many of the series best ideas while bringing in an array of new ideas to the franchise; The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword is fantastic.

    One of the best improvements come from the control system. One of the few games to truly utilize the Wii, the fighting finally feels natural and adds some depth to the battle system, which has been a very shallow area in previous instalments. The controls also breathe life into the flight mechanic. It could have become very tedious, alike to how some took the boat in Wind Waker, however, the one-to-one twisting of the wii remote and the speed between destinations allow it to be an enjoyable part of the game, even towards the end of the game.

    The best part of the game however comes with the exploration between dungeons. In previous instalments it was purely to get from destination to destination and could have been taken as pretty lacklustre (Majoraâ
    Expand
  90. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Awesome! The characters feel real! This is what gaming is about! The interface is perfect! The motion controls are accurate and smooth. The story is well-told by a cast of believable characters.
  91. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    Skyward Sword adds some new elements to the overarching Zelda timelines but also answers a few in the process. However, though the storyline is engaging enough to keep you playing, the inconsistent Wii Motion Plus controls paired with shoddy aiming will cause you to pay attention to your hastily rising blood pressure instead of the story.

    I'd say aside from the controls, my biggest gripe
    Skyward Sword adds some new elements to the overarching Zelda timelines but also answers a few in the process. However, though the storyline is engaging enough to keep you playing, the inconsistent Wii Motion Plus controls paired with shoddy aiming will cause you to pay attention to your hastily rising blood pressure instead of the story.

    I'd say aside from the controls, my biggest gripe with the game overall is that the "New Formula" added in Skyward Sword, which has you solving puzzles and defeating enemies almost at a constant rate. It makes me long for the times where I could calmly ride through Hyrule field, or stroll through Kakariko Village and enjoy the sites without having to constantly think and fight (or flail around my arms for that matter).

    Skyward Sword is a fun game that is worth-while to play through, and while the controls can be frustrating, more often than not you'll find them to be tolerable. This is definitely not the best Zelda game since OOT, A Link to the Past, or Majora's Mask, but it's still a pretty good entry. Don't buy into too much of the hype, or disappointment may ensue.
    Expand
  92. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    Nintendo is trying to innovate instead of creating another OoT clone; In my opinion, they've succeeded. The controls are well done, the story is great, the characters are nicely developed and likable. Instead of vast open unfilled areas they've condensed it to three areas that you visit multiple times, unlocking a new area each time. Some might consider this a 'lack of content', but thatNintendo is trying to innovate instead of creating another OoT clone; In my opinion, they've succeeded. The controls are well done, the story is great, the characters are nicely developed and likable. Instead of vast open unfilled areas they've condensed it to three areas that you visit multiple times, unlocking a new area each time. Some might consider this a 'lack of content', but that is just not true.
    I've heard a lot of people complain about the controls, but they are just waggling the wiimote like an idiot; It's very responsive and adds to the immersion.

    I give this game a 9/10 with the only actual gripe I have with it being the amount of fetch quests.
    Expand
  93. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    I've been playing it for about 4 hours and can't get enough of it. The Wii Motion Plus really helps the game, and I think is going to be be a very good rival for Ocarina of Time as the best Zelda Ever.
  94. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Absolutely revolutionary. HAVE NO IDEA what's up with the negatives... it's just fan boys marking it badly but just look at the critic reviews. Those reviews are the ones you can rely on...which I did to decide to buy the game. 49.99 is a great price for a great game
  95. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This game deserves a 10 out of 10 Gamespot is wrong about skyward sword. Check out this vid it by the WiiFolderJosh an official reviewer company [(here is the link) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QEge_2Vuft0&feature=feedu ] basically this guy does his skyward sword gameplay live with his body on the bottom right corner showing all the moves he is doing. And Link is doing exactly what he isThis game deserves a 10 out of 10 Gamespot is wrong about skyward sword. Check out this vid it by the WiiFolderJosh an official reviewer company [(here is the link) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QEge_2Vuft0&feature=feedu ] basically this guy does his skyward sword gameplay live with his body on the bottom right corner showing all the moves he is doing. And Link is doing exactly what he is doing on the screen. Gamespot, i really disagree with them with their review. Gamespot says the controls are innacurate yet he says you can waggle your way to victory. But his review is very innacurate. And to disagree with you metacritics the average rating of syward sword is a 10 out of ten not including gamespot with their innacurate review. I mean have you ever seen their review. I know they want Skyrim to be the game of the year so they decided to give it a bad review. But please look at everybody else`s review mostly the game has gotten a 10 out of 10 even with IGN. Please i beg you look at the description and find some other reviews of syward sword to see the others. Gamespot really didn`t do a good review they even said Link seems like old link with un-human like movements. Yet Nintendo changed the whole style of Link`s and everybody else`s movements to make it look more life like. Please look at IGN review Gametrailer`s review and review you can find, then watch the Gamespot`s review and see how completey different they are. Then watch the link i gave (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QEge_2Vuft0&feature=feedu) you to the video. Please even if you want Skyrim to be game of the year, though i`m not saying you do. Please reconsider the score of Skyward sword. And even if Gamespot gave it a 7.5 it doesn`t mean that`s the average of the game. Check with every other review and then calculate the average. Then contact me at my email (mr.flash2017@yahoo.com) please do it now because the scores aren`t fair Expand
  96. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Perfect in every way, definitely the most enjoyable Zelda I've ever played. Packed full of plenty of side missions as well as a very well-done main quest, it's a non-stop ride of pure joy and excitement. Anyone who enjoys gaming should definitely pick this up, a must-buy for sure.
  97. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Amazing game. I've been waiting for this game for over a year. You know what I say, it was worth it. It has really good controls. Spaced out enemys. You can even adjust how to point the wii remote, so you can sit at any angle you want. 11/10
  98. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    1 word...........said multiple times.....

    WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW
  99. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This game makes new standard for all motion games. If you like Zelda games then you'll love it and won't even want to go back to old control scheme. This is probably last worth game for the Wii but really, it's a must to own it and play it. The game is getting everywhere positive reviews from critics (this is rather confirmation that in 90% bad reviews are made from fanboys here..). I'veThis game makes new standard for all motion games. If you like Zelda games then you'll love it and won't even want to go back to old control scheme. This is probably last worth game for the Wii but really, it's a must to own it and play it. The game is getting everywhere positive reviews from critics (this is rather confirmation that in 90% bad reviews are made from fanboys here..). I've played almost all Zeldas and I like them all, but for now this is one of my favourites. Hope you will have also the same good time as I had playing it. 10/10 ! Expand
  100. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Un bon 10/10 pour ce jeu magnifique , sa rachètera certaines notes pourris et injustifié comme celle de kickinit525 , qui lui colle un 0/10 car il aime pas la jouabilité .... alors qu'elle est très bonne , m'enfin bon il faut savoir utiliser ses mains ... Puis encore un pro X-box qui colle son 10/10 a Skyrim et 0/10 a Zelda , tellementUn bon 10/10 pour ce jeu magnifique , sa rachètera certaines notes pourris et injustifié comme celle de kickinit525 , qui lui colle un 0/10 car il aime pas la jouabilité .... alors qu'elle est très bonne , m'enfin bon il faut savoir utiliser ses mains ... Puis encore un pro X-box qui colle son 10/10 a Skyrim et 0/10 a Zelda , tellement pathétique que je vais faire la même chose sur son jeu adoré , en pestant sur la jouabilité ... j'espère qu'il lira mon test , et se rendra compte de sa connerie ^^ Expand

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2011
#1 Most Shared Wii Game of 2011
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    Overall, this is the best experience I've had playing a Zelda game since Ocarina of Time and I'd have to say they are pretty equal in my opinion. Either way, you won't be disappointed getting this game, it's a masterpiece.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 19, 2012
    90
    New Zelda is the best game of whole series since the groundbreaking Ocarina of Time. It is a true masterpiece with uncompromising playability. [Christmas 2011]
  3. Jan 19, 2012
    95
    A magnificent homage for the 25th anniversary of one the biggest franchises in gaming, The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword provides a compelling gaming and artistic showcase for the indefatigable potential of the medium as a whole, and a reason to have gaming as a hobby.