User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1711 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Great game controls are a masterpeice and I have never played any motion controls. Awesome gameplay best Zelda game ever game ever. The way link moves, his body language and the way he interacts with other characters and the worlds environment. The in game mechanics and customization allows you to develop link in a,way u have never playee with him before. Best game this gen
  2. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    I like how you can't always just defeat the enemy by waving the wii remote about, as many enemies require thought to defeat. Liked collecting items needed to upgrade my weapons and such, as well as the games setting, which is a colourful and vibrant world, with interesting characters. An excellent addition to the Zelda series, and you will get good value for money from this game, as you'dI like how you can't always just defeat the enemy by waving the wii remote about, as many enemies require thought to defeat. Liked collecting items needed to upgrade my weapons and such, as well as the games setting, which is a colourful and vibrant world, with interesting characters. An excellent addition to the Zelda series, and you will get good value for money from this game, as you'd expect from a quality title such as this. Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    It's amazing how after telling the same story for 25 years Nintendo continues to have the magic of the first time.
    Skyward Sword is the best Zelda ever.
    For several years we have motion controls. Although we have enjoyed in small portions, their performance was more of a fashion. It is to this day that Fujibayashi and his team of geniuses have given me a tour of a dimension of interaction
    It's amazing how after telling the same story for 25 years Nintendo continues to have the magic of the first time.
    Skyward Sword is the best Zelda ever.
    For several years we have motion controls. Although we have enjoyed in small portions, their performance was more of a fashion. It is to this day that Fujibayashi and his team of geniuses have given me a tour of a dimension of interaction did not know. My faith has been revived: this is not a fad. The hardware depends on how developers use it. Forget everything you know about the motion controller gaming, Skyward Sword is the true beginning.

    Skyward Sword starts and doesn't stops. From start to finish, is a feast of amazing and charming characters. Explore new places and enjoy the most beautiful scenery we've seen in a videogame. In most of the adventures we've had in a game just press a button at the right time to get an achievement. However, in Skyward Sword feel firsthand the success to overcome every Bokoblin. It is not meaningless shake control: real enjoyment of defeating an enemy is to give careful consideration to each opponent. We are in the rethinking of how it should work a sword in a game-a fantasy that has been with us since childhood.
    Skyward Sword Zelda is also the freest Zelda of all. It's a world that you'd want to explore in its entirety. The options are endless, even outside the main story. Hundreds of NPCs have fun tasks you will be always busy.
    I have purposely avoided the subject of the story. Skyward Sword is something you have to play by yourself.
    Visually, Skyward Sword has a lot of personality. The graphic style is very original, from the introductory sequence to the credits, graphics feel fresh. They are very similar to the magnificent and original style of Street Fighter IV.
    The dungeons in Skyward Sword are the best I've seen the series. The battles with the bosses redefine what it means to fight a boss in a videogame. The intelligent design in all the puzzles in the game is a constant feature throughout the adventure. Get ready to find mechanisms similar to those seen in the dungeons of the last games of the series, but now scattered throughout the open world, free from confinement of a room or hallway.
    From the moment you start Skyward Sword until the last second, is an hearig brutality. The orchestral soundtrack of Koji Kondo and Hajime Wakai is perhaps the most impressive in the history of the medium. Whether you're in a cave or in a vile dungeon impressive, Skyward Sword is a sonic masterpiece. Freedom of sounds and instruments present in this title is something we've never heard in the series. The album included the 25th anniversary of the franchise is not far behind. I confess that I rarely had moved so much a melody as the theme of the source of the Great Fairy.
    this is the prime example of art in a videogame... simply a must own. 10/10
    Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    this game is simply amazing. a mus t own for any persons who own or have access to a wii. the art style is amazingly gorgeous and the game uses the wii motion plus controls to it's fullest.
  5. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    One of the best games ever and the best Zelda game in history. Good graphics and excelent gameplay, history and sound. The best wii game ever.
    I have played nearly all Zelda games and I can easily say that this is the way to go for the franchise. Sad that this is the last Zelda game for the Wii. Buy it!
  6. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Conclusion: THE BEST GAME ON WII. The Legend Zelda: Skyward Sword mix RPG system with the fabulous classical system of Zelda. This game is a masterpiece.
  7. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is the best game for the Wii! it shows what the Wii can really do. The controls are great and good so far. I was stuck sometimes at the start but that all change when i got used to the controls. The story is so far amazing and brilliant. This is my favorite game of the series and for the Wii. 10/10
  8. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Best game in a long time. The game becomes better and better as the story progresses. This is simply the best Zelda game (better than OoT and Twilight Princess).
  9. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Before I write the review, I just want to say for those non-zelda lovers, or for those gamers who thought that they are hardcore because they are playing lots of COD, or skyrim etc, please do not read this review... This game is simply AMAZING, one of most amazing game in Wii or probably the best game in Wii... The graphics is beatufully stunning, You can't compare with other HD games, butBefore I write the review, I just want to say for those non-zelda lovers, or for those gamers who thought that they are hardcore because they are playing lots of COD, or skyrim etc, please do not read this review... This game is simply AMAZING, one of most amazing game in Wii or probably the best game in Wii... The graphics is beatufully stunning, You can't compare with other HD games, but for Wii it's beautifully stunning, the best looking game in Wii... This game looks very childish, but the puzzles, the action wasn't made for kids, it's difficultness was made for mature gamers... Some people said that the control was terrible some people said it's amazing, so for my opinion this controls works just fine, Perfect! I don't what the other did or how the others did it, if you said that the control is terrible there are only two conclusion: Whether they are did it in the wrong way like Tom Mcshea from Gamespot, or their controls are broken, it works perfect, from horizontal, vertical, diagonal, etc... Thank you Nintendo for making this game... God Bless Nintendo... simply 10/10 !!! Expand
  10. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    First off, the negative reviews come from shallow fanboys living in mom's basement. Most FPS fanboys live in their mom's basement, living off welfare, eating nachos and watching porn because they can't get a real girl or meet real friends (no your X-Box Live list doesn't count you sad sacks)

    You come to bash games like Zelda because you are a group of brainwashed nerds who believe
    First off, the negative reviews come from shallow fanboys living in mom's basement. Most FPS fanboys live in their mom's basement, living off welfare, eating nachos and watching porn because they can't get a real girl or meet real friends (no your X-Box Live list doesn't count you sad sacks)

    You come to bash games like Zelda because you are a group of brainwashed nerds who believe anything without a gun is "gay" or "kiddie". The world would be better off if you all disappeared or went far away and drowned in a lake because you are a waste of space. Now to the great game. I've played Batman: AA, Portal 2 and U3. Skyward Sword is the greatest achievement in games this year. It sets the standard for how motion controls should be used in gaming. Its the equivalent of Mario Galaxy to the Mario series. Nintendo are masters at attention to detail and Skyward Sword is no exception. Everything from the world to NPC's have so much personality and rank as some of the best in the series. Every perfect score you read folks is well deserved. The only equal this game has in 2011 is Arkham City with Skyward Sword edging it out. Zelda is back and better than ever.

    In the meantime, the trolls should worry less about killstreaks and bashing this masterpiece and losing weight. Stay free you IQ lacking trolls!
    Expand
  11. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    If I rated this game based on Graphics I might have knocked off a couple points. However, as it stands I rate games based on game play alone. I've been playing Zelda starting with the very first Zelda. I wouldn't call it The BEST Zelda ever, but then again I have yet to actually beat the game! This game deserves a 10. I would understand why someone who isn't really a fan of the seriesIf I rated this game based on Graphics I might have knocked off a couple points. However, as it stands I rate games based on game play alone. I've been playing Zelda starting with the very first Zelda. I wouldn't call it The BEST Zelda ever, but then again I have yet to actually beat the game! This game deserves a 10. I would understand why someone who isn't really a fan of the series might rate it lower. But I just figure they should go back to playing COD and leave this game to the people who can enjoy a game for it's game play and not it's graphics. Expand
  12. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Skyward Sword is a masterpiece. The design is absolutely incredible. Instead of most games, when viewing things from far away seeing a standard blur, the game uses an impressive watercolor painting style which is very unforgettable. Amazing music from beginning to end with a great symphony. Game play felt perfect and what Twilight Princess should have played like at launch.(butSkyward Sword is a masterpiece. The design is absolutely incredible. Instead of most games, when viewing things from far away seeing a standard blur, the game uses an impressive watercolor painting style which is very unforgettable. Amazing music from beginning to end with a great symphony. Game play felt perfect and what Twilight Princess should have played like at launch.(but understanding that the game was suppose to be just a Gamecube game at first) Skyward Sword is a must-have for any Wii owners out there. Expand
  13. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    A beautiful game, an unseen control scheme, a story a lot better told than any Nintendo game, a solid soundtrack and better boss battles and dungeons than any other Zelda game, makes this game a masterpiece.
  14. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    This is a great game. I can understand why people may have minor gripes with it, but anything below an 8 is just silly. Not only does it contain everything we love about Zelda already, it really does innovate. The blurriness of distant objects I find truly striking and not unlike a Nintendo nod to Monet and other impressionists right there on my screen, blending seamlessly with the actionThis is a great game. I can understand why people may have minor gripes with it, but anything below an 8 is just silly. Not only does it contain everything we love about Zelda already, it really does innovate. The blurriness of distant objects I find truly striking and not unlike a Nintendo nod to Monet and other impressionists right there on my screen, blending seamlessly with the action oriented foreground. The controls are not perfect, but they do a damn good job. It's Zelda - chill out from your MW3 session and enjoy it for what it is. Expand
  15. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is truely a masterpiece. everything is amazing, the music, the story, the graphics, the controls, and everything that makes zelda so great. It retains what makes zelda great while being completely new and different at the same time. even incredible motion controls may not be for everyone, but they're certainly not an issuse and anyone who gave this game less than a 9/10 is fullThis game is truely a masterpiece. everything is amazing, the music, the story, the graphics, the controls, and everything that makes zelda so great. It retains what makes zelda great while being completely new and different at the same time. even incredible motion controls may not be for everyone, but they're certainly not an issuse and anyone who gave this game less than a 9/10 is full of **** that is all. Expand
  16. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Probably the best Zelda yet. Tough to say, I have 5 tied as the best. This is definitely a contender. And if it's the best Zelda game, that means it's the best game ever,
  17. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I put this very simply, what a Masterpiece of a Game, one of my top favorite of all time. I highly recommend this game to anyone, no matter the age or the tastes. Do not worry about Skyrim this are very different games, i had them both and i could not be more happy. just play the game, before complaining
  18. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    One of the best Zelda games of the series. It's both a pleasure to play and just watch the people and environment. Also the controls are completely fine, gamespot just hires a bunch a dumbasses. There is nothing wrong with them they are responsive and fun to use.
  19. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Skyward Sword stands at the peak of the Nintendo videogame-crafting. It's colorful but eerie atmosphere, the polished gameplay and the amazing plot builds the greatest game in the series.
  20. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    i think Oot met his match, the controls are awesome the environments great the story without Ganon is pretty cool, when i expected the same stuff from nintendo, they proved me wrong i maybe have my new favourite game of all times
  21. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing, it starts of in an odd way, but you need to get used to the controls. The dungeons and the music are incredible but not as incredible as the gameplay. Don't let the negative reviews fool you, this is the best game of the generation.
  22. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Fantastic Game. Been playing it since this morning. Great controls, story, graphics, etc. In my opinion, it may not turn out to be as great as Link to the Past or Ocarina of Time but from my initial time with SS, it deserves its place alongside the other Zelda games. As always, Nintendo doesn't fail to give their fans a fantastic experience. Great game for gamers of ANY age!
  23. Tid
    Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Absolutely fantastic game. From the moment it begins to the moment it ends, everything about this game is setting the standard for Zelda, the Wii, Nintendo, and video gaming. The controls are perfect, I never want to play The Legend of Zelda with buttons ever again. The motion+ technology fits so seamlessly into the traditional Zelda gameplay that I couldn't help but feel as if maybeAbsolutely fantastic game. From the moment it begins to the moment it ends, everything about this game is setting the standard for Zelda, the Wii, Nintendo, and video gaming. The controls are perfect, I never want to play The Legend of Zelda with buttons ever again. The motion+ technology fits so seamlessly into the traditional Zelda gameplay that I couldn't help but feel as if maybe Nintendo designed the attachment just for the sake of this game. They've given Zelda so much more depth than ever before, every instant is a challenge, and there's no button-mashing in sight.

    I don't want to spoil anything, but the story is beautiful. I'd be willing to call this the best story ever told in a Zelda game, no matter how far fetched that may sound. The wide and varied cast of main and supporting characters differs from the Zelda norm, but it's a refreshing change, and upholds the usual charm that we've come to expect from this series.

    Unfortunately, the game isn't the best looking thing we've ever seen. Compared to the other big name titles hitting stores this month, it simply isn't as visually impressive. However, it pushes the Wii to its absolute limits, there's definitely no better looking game on the system. It was a wise decision for Nintendo to take a more painted art style approach rather than a realistic one, or else the hardware Zelda has been limited to would really start to show its flaws.
    Aside from being compared to the big HD titles, the game is very pretty, that's irrefutable. Not to mention the attention to detail Nintendo has put in with character animations and little tweaks, which just make every corner and character in the game feel so alive.

    In terms of design? The game breaks from the standard Zelda formula. We've still got the forest>fire>ice/water progression as usual, and there are of course familiar elements to the storyline and the world, but past that it's all been revamped, and it's definitely an upgrade. No longer do we have a big empty hub world with dungeons and areas attached to all the corners. No, the overworld is just as dense, challenging and fun as any of the dungeons, and they flow pretty seamlessly together. It's a fun world to explore, and there's a lot of it. Flying is fun. There's not much to it, but it's just... Fun. It's got that breathtaking, discovery feeling that we all loved in Wind Waker, only without the crappy fetchquests and slow travel.

    This is the definitive Zelda game. A Link to the Past and Ocarina of Time were my childhood, because of how adventurous and exciting and memorable they were, and despite having played all the Zelda games that followed, none managed to evoke those feelings in me again. Until now I thought it was because I'd grown up and had just gotten used to those quality standards, and was enjoying more "mature" games. Not any more. Skyward Sword is one of the best games I've ever played, if not THE best. I think in 15-25 years, the current generation of children will remember this adventure as fondly as we all remembered our first Zelda games.
    10/10.
    Expand
  24. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    To put it simply, what this game does for motion controls is what Ocarina of Time did for 3D gaming. The motion controls are simply divine, with any errors being purely on my behalf. I certainly never want to return to 'traditional' controls for a Zelda game, largely because THEY WORK. Many fans, myself included, will argue that this is the best Zelda yet, if not the best game of all time.
  25. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is a 10/10 in my eyes it is the best game of this year, I own most of the hot games that have just came out like skyrim,cod mw3,dark souls,batman arkham city, ect ect. the storyline/plot is AMAZING the soundtrack is fantastic,the gameplay is verrry good the graphic to my opinion utilize the wii's potental power yeaa yea it is not HD and it has more of a cartoony feel but not allThis game is a 10/10 in my eyes it is the best game of this year, I own most of the hot games that have just came out like skyrim,cod mw3,dark souls,batman arkham city, ect ect. the storyline/plot is AMAZING the soundtrack is fantastic,the gameplay is verrry good the graphic to my opinion utilize the wii's potental power yeaa yea it is not HD and it has more of a cartoony feel but not all games have to be battlefield/skyrim graphics this will prob go down as one of my fav zeldas ever right there with link to the past and ocarina of time the others yeaa there oh k but this one really tops it...if you own a wii BUY IT if you do not own a wii buy a wii because there cheap now and then buy the game. the 37 people that gave this game negative comments dont listen to them there nothing they dont know what real video games are ... there also prob from ages 11-15 and there stuck on COD...play the game for yourself yea iam a zelda fan but i do love lots of other games I also was verryy displeased with twilight princes it is 20 bucks now and I still dont own it... that should explain it all. Expand
  26. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is the best game the wii in a long time. With the most responsive controls ever, wich gives you a sence of inmertion. This is a slap in the face of those developers that made all the shovelware for the Wii. Nintendo has proven one more time how the game are develope. Music score is excelent, and the new formula of the overworld makes you think that the game has 20+ dungeon whenThis is the best game the wii in a long time. With the most responsive controls ever, wich gives you a sence of inmertion. This is a slap in the face of those developers that made all the shovelware for the Wii. Nintendo has proven one more time how the game are develope. Music score is excelent, and the new formula of the overworld makes you think that the game has 20+ dungeon when officially only have 7. The best Zelda i Ever played Expand
  27. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Beste game zelda ever.

    El mejor Zelda que he visto y uno de los grandes juegos de la generacion. Los haters que se abstengan de puntuar. Hay que jugar al jurgo para tener opinion propia.

    Muy buena banda sonora, buen control, rejugable, excelente en todo.
  28. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is an amazing game! Everything in this game works perfectly, including the puzzles, motion controls, and graphics. This is easily a contender for the best Zelda game ever and one of my favorite games. If you don't have a Wii yet, this game is the reason to get one.
  29. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I picked up the game as soon as GameStop opened this morning, about 6 hours ago (I was first in line). I have been playing it non-stop, and I am extremely pleased with it. It feels very... Zelda. The only control issues I have had regarded flying, and it ultimately was a reading issue (shouldn't have skimmed those instructions). Looks beautiful, sounds beautiful, and plays beautiful.I picked up the game as soon as GameStop opened this morning, about 6 hours ago (I was first in line). I have been playing it non-stop, and I am extremely pleased with it. It feels very... Zelda. The only control issues I have had regarded flying, and it ultimately was a reading issue (shouldn't have skimmed those instructions). Looks beautiful, sounds beautiful, and plays beautiful. I can't wait to finish typing this and get back to it! Expand
  30. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    The graphics are so wonderfully stylized and vibrant. The controls really make the game shine though. My original reason for getting a Wii was for zelda. Nintendo did not disappoint.
  31. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    This game is so amazing. I played all Zelda series's games, it's not simple to say which is the best, but Skyward Sword is surely one of the best game I ever played. The controls are very good, the graphic is stylish and its design for every part of the world is crafted caring about every single aspect. The soundtrack is the best of the series. If you are a fan of The Legend of Zelda youThis game is so amazing. I played all Zelda series's games, it's not simple to say which is the best, but Skyward Sword is surely one of the best game I ever played. The controls are very good, the graphic is stylish and its design for every part of the world is crafted caring about every single aspect. The soundtrack is the best of the series. If you are a fan of The Legend of Zelda you must buy Skyward Sword and you'll see with your eyes one of the best game ever created from 25 years to now. Masterpiece 10/10 Collapse
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    Overall, this is the best experience I've had playing a Zelda game since Ocarina of Time and I'd have to say they are pretty equal in my opinion. Either way, you won't be disappointed getting this game, it's a masterpiece.
  2. 90
    New Zelda is the best game of whole series since the groundbreaking Ocarina of Time. It is a true masterpiece with uncompromising playability. [Christmas 2011]
  3. Jan 19, 2012
    95
    A magnificent homage for the 25th anniversary of one the biggest franchises in gaming, The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword provides a compelling gaming and artistic showcase for the indefatigable potential of the medium as a whole, and a reason to have gaming as a hobby.