The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword Wii

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1968 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Great game controls are a masterpeice and I have never played any motion controls. Awesome gameplay best Zelda game ever game ever. The way link moves, his body language and the way he interacts with other characters and the worlds environment. The in game mechanics and customization allows you to develop link in a,way u have never playee with him before. Best game this gen
  2. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Fantastic Game. Been playing it since this morning. Great controls, story, graphics, etc. In my opinion, it may not turn out to be as great as Link to the Past or Ocarina of Time but from my initial time with SS, it deserves its place alongside the other Zelda games. As always, Nintendo doesn't fail to give their fans a fantastic experience. Great game for gamers of ANY age!
  3. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    I like how you can't always just defeat the enemy by waving the wii remote about, as many enemies require thought to defeat. Liked collecting items needed to upgrade my weapons and such, as well as the games setting, which is a colourful and vibrant world, with interesting characters. An excellent addition to the Zelda series, and you will get good value for money from this game, as you'dI like how you can't always just defeat the enemy by waving the wii remote about, as many enemies require thought to defeat. Liked collecting items needed to upgrade my weapons and such, as well as the games setting, which is a colourful and vibrant world, with interesting characters. An excellent addition to the Zelda series, and you will get good value for money from this game, as you'd expect from a quality title such as this. Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    To put it simply, what this game does for motion controls is what Ocarina of Time did for 3D gaming. The motion controls are simply divine, with any errors being purely on my behalf. I certainly never want to return to 'traditional' controls for a Zelda game, largely because THEY WORK. Many fans, myself included, will argue that this is the best Zelda yet, if not the best game of all time.
  5. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    this game is simply amazing. a mus t own for any persons who own or have access to a wii. the art style is amazingly gorgeous and the game uses the wii motion plus controls to it's fullest.
  6. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is a 10/10 in my eyes it is the best game of this year, I own most of the hot games that have just came out like skyrim,cod mw3,dark souls,batman arkham city, ect ect. the storyline/plot is AMAZING the soundtrack is fantastic,the gameplay is verrry good the graphic to my opinion utilize the wii's potental power yeaa yea it is not HD and it has more of a cartoony feel but not allThis game is a 10/10 in my eyes it is the best game of this year, I own most of the hot games that have just came out like skyrim,cod mw3,dark souls,batman arkham city, ect ect. the storyline/plot is AMAZING the soundtrack is fantastic,the gameplay is verrry good the graphic to my opinion utilize the wii's potental power yeaa yea it is not HD and it has more of a cartoony feel but not all games have to be battlefield/skyrim graphics this will prob go down as one of my fav zeldas ever right there with link to the past and ocarina of time the others yeaa there oh k but this one really tops it...if you own a wii BUY IT if you do not own a wii buy a wii because there cheap now and then buy the game. the 37 people that gave this game negative comments dont listen to them there nothing they dont know what real video games are ... there also prob from ages 11-15 and there stuck on COD...play the game for yourself yea iam a zelda fan but i do love lots of other games I also was verryy displeased with twilight princes it is 20 bucks now and I still dont own it... that should explain it all. Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is the best game for the Wii! it shows what the Wii can really do. The controls are great and good so far. I was stuck sometimes at the start but that all change when i got used to the controls. The story is so far amazing and brilliant. This is my favorite game of the series and for the Wii. 10/10
  8. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is an amazing game! Everything in this game works perfectly, including the puzzles, motion controls, and graphics. This is easily a contender for the best Zelda game ever and one of my favorite games. If you don't have a Wii yet, this game is the reason to get one.
  9. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Beste game zelda ever.

    El mejor Zelda que he visto y uno de los grandes juegos de la generacion. Los haters que se abstengan de puntuar. Hay que jugar al jurgo para tener opinion propia.

    Muy buena banda sonora, buen control, rejugable, excelente en todo.
  10. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I picked up the game as soon as GameStop opened this morning, about 6 hours ago (I was first in line). I have been playing it non-stop, and I am extremely pleased with it. It feels very... Zelda. The only control issues I have had regarded flying, and it ultimately was a reading issue (shouldn't have skimmed those instructions). Looks beautiful, sounds beautiful, and plays beautiful.I picked up the game as soon as GameStop opened this morning, about 6 hours ago (I was first in line). I have been playing it non-stop, and I am extremely pleased with it. It feels very... Zelda. The only control issues I have had regarded flying, and it ultimately was a reading issue (shouldn't have skimmed those instructions). Looks beautiful, sounds beautiful, and plays beautiful. I can't wait to finish typing this and get back to it! Expand
  11. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is truely a masterpiece. everything is amazing, the music, the story, the graphics, the controls, and everything that makes zelda so great. It retains what makes zelda great while being completely new and different at the same time. even incredible motion controls may not be for everyone, but they're certainly not an issuse and anyone who gave this game less than a 9/10 is fullThis game is truely a masterpiece. everything is amazing, the music, the story, the graphics, the controls, and everything that makes zelda so great. It retains what makes zelda great while being completely new and different at the same time. even incredible motion controls may not be for everyone, but they're certainly not an issuse and anyone who gave this game less than a 9/10 is full of **** that is all. Expand
  12. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Probably the best Zelda yet. Tough to say, I have 5 tied as the best. This is definitely a contender. And if it's the best Zelda game, that means it's the best game ever,
  13. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Skyward Sword is a masterpiece. The design is absolutely incredible. Instead of most games, when viewing things from far away seeing a standard blur, the game uses an impressive watercolor painting style which is very unforgettable. Amazing music from beginning to end with a great symphony. Game play felt perfect and what Twilight Princess should have played like at launch.(butSkyward Sword is a masterpiece. The design is absolutely incredible. Instead of most games, when viewing things from far away seeing a standard blur, the game uses an impressive watercolor painting style which is very unforgettable. Amazing music from beginning to end with a great symphony. Game play felt perfect and what Twilight Princess should have played like at launch.(but understanding that the game was suppose to be just a Gamecube game at first) Skyward Sword is a must-have for any Wii owners out there. Expand
  14. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    The graphics are so wonderfully stylized and vibrant. The controls really make the game shine though. My original reason for getting a Wii was for zelda. Nintendo did not disappoint.
  15. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is an amazing game, something to make you remember why you started playing video games in the first place. This is one game where a perfect score is not an exaggeration, it takes everything good from the series past and improves upon it in such refreshing and exciting ways. The inclusion of the Wii motion plus controls is also a very big contribution to the games overall greatness.This is an amazing game, something to make you remember why you started playing video games in the first place. This is one game where a perfect score is not an exaggeration, it takes everything good from the series past and improves upon it in such refreshing and exciting ways. The inclusion of the Wii motion plus controls is also a very big contribution to the games overall greatness. Never has there been a motion controlled game that works so effortlessly, you might even forget you are holding a controller it works so well. I was skeptical they could make it work but it simply does. Something i found very interesting was the fact that the game does not use the pointer on the Wii remote AT ALL. All items that require aiming use the position tracking of the motion plus to move the cursor on the screen, if you feel it is out of alignment you simply push down on the d-pad and it centers the cursor for you. It works amazingly well, no longer do you need to make sure you are pointing at the sensor bar. Aside from the controls, the graphics are amazing as well, despite what some ps3/360 fanboys WILL say. The world has been crafted with great care, and the watercolor like style really makes good use of the limited horsepower of the Wii, it is without a doubt the best looking game the system has to offer. But in the end it is all about gameplay, thankfully the game is no slouch in this department either. Many people have complained that zelda hasn't done enough in recent years to go beyond what was done in Ocarina of time. I am happy to tell these people that is NOT the case with this game, in fact it feels like every single thing you do in the game is taking your expectations of the series and shattering them, in a very good way. The dungeons are all very well done and they are spread out at a good pace, you will have plenty to do between dungeons. The bosses are probably the best the series has ever seen, each new boss you fight gets more and more epic and will actually give you a challenge. Last but not least is the story. This is the first game in the series story wise and it will definitely blow your mind if you have been a fan of the series since the beginning. Finally the connection between all the games has become more clear than ever, I won't spoil a single thing for you but rest assured zeldas story has never been better. I feel like i have said enough about the game now, please ignore the 360/ps3 trolls giving the game a 0, they have not played the game and are simply trolling as trolls do. I give the game a 10 because it deserves it, simple as that. Expand
  16. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    A really cool game, the best Zelda of all time? I up to everyone, like the Beatles records, each Zelda game has it own merits and fans, so is hard to decide which is the best.

    The Graphics are really cool, they look great on the Wii but at the same time wanting to have in the near future a port on HD, it would be even more beautiful. Many people are complaining about the controls,
    A really cool game, the best Zelda of all time? I up to everyone, like the Beatles records, each Zelda game has it own merits and fans, so is hard to decide which is the best.

    The Graphics are really cool, they look great on the Wii but at the same time wanting to have in the near future a port on HD, it would be even more beautiful.

    Many people are complaining about the controls, but I hadn't had any trouble with them.
    Like in recent entries (Wind Waker and Twilight Princess) the personalities of the caracters are really well done, you actually feel that you know them, the new Zelda (the girl) is perhaps the best one yet.

    I felt than the game start a little slower than other entries, but sooner than later this game is soaring high.

    Hopefully this is not the last great game on the wii.
    Buy it, Play it, Enjoy it
    Expand
  17. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Definitely the best wii game in the years its been out. never had any problem with the controls since i didnt swing like a maniac. its one of the best in the series. the game is well worth the money with over 40+ hours of gameplay and artistic style
  18. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    A beautiful game, an unseen control scheme, a story a lot better told than any Nintendo game, a solid soundtrack and better boss battles and dungeons than any other Zelda game, makes this game a masterpiece.
  19. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I put this very simply, what a Masterpiece of a Game, one of my top favorite of all time. I highly recommend this game to anyone, no matter the age or the tastes. Do not worry about Skyrim this are very different games, i had them both and i could not be more happy. just play the game, before complaining
  20. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    One of the best Zelda games of the series. It's both a pleasure to play and just watch the people and environment. Also the controls are completely fine, gamespot just hires a bunch a dumbasses. There is nothing wrong with them they are responsive and fun to use.
  21. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Skyward Sword stands at the peak of the Nintendo videogame-crafting. It's colorful but eerie atmosphere, the polished gameplay and the amazing plot builds the greatest game in the series.
  22. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I have all the Zelda games, and Skyward Sword is my favorite. The story is amazing, gameplay is fun, and controls make Zelda a rare gem in video games. This is my game of the year.
  23. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    This is a great game. I can understand why people may have minor gripes with it, but anything below an 8 is just silly. Not only does it contain everything we love about Zelda already, it really does innovate. The blurriness of distant objects I find truly striking and not unlike a Nintendo nod to Monet and other impressionists right there on my screen, blending seamlessly with the actionThis is a great game. I can understand why people may have minor gripes with it, but anything below an 8 is just silly. Not only does it contain everything we love about Zelda already, it really does innovate. The blurriness of distant objects I find truly striking and not unlike a Nintendo nod to Monet and other impressionists right there on my screen, blending seamlessly with the action oriented foreground. The controls are not perfect, but they do a damn good job. It's Zelda - chill out from your MW3 session and enjoy it for what it is. Expand
  24. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    The Wii was built for this. The motion controls are completely unmatched by any other game, and graphically the game uses all of the Wii's graphical power. The gameplay is amazing, and it's a real change from previous Zelda's. This is the game the Zelda 25th anniversary is deserving of!
  25. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    i think Oot met his match, the controls are awesome the environments great the story without Ganon is pretty cool, when i expected the same stuff from nintendo, they proved me wrong i maybe have my new favourite game of all times
  26. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Just here to balance out the trolls. Honestly anyone who says that the formula is the same hasn't played the game yet. For the first time in a long time, this game doesn't feel like Dungeon -> field-> dungeon. Now everything is integrated into one huge dungeon meaning that you will always be on your toes having fun.
  27. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Please don't listen to the people who are rating the game negative. They are simply Nintendo haters who are plainly jealous that a non HD system is out performing their precious "hardcore" games. Skyward Sword is a excellent game as evident from the critic reviews. If you're a Zelda fan you simply owe it to yourself to play this game.
  28. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    At first, I wasn't sure about this game. I was playing for ages, constantly bouncing between thinking it was brilliant and thinking it was terrible. It was pretty solid, there was no denying that, but something just felt a bit off about it. But now that I've had the time to play a fair chunk of it (I'm about three temples in, I think), Skyward Sword is easily a contender for best ZeldaAt first, I wasn't sure about this game. I was playing for ages, constantly bouncing between thinking it was brilliant and thinking it was terrible. It was pretty solid, there was no denying that, but something just felt a bit off about it. But now that I've had the time to play a fair chunk of it (I'm about three temples in, I think), Skyward Sword is easily a contender for best Zelda (and therefore best game) of all time. Everything about it is brilliant. The controls work perfectly (anyone having an issue, try recalibrating your controller), the Dungeons are challenging without being frustrating, combat and monster design is simple yet engaging, The bosses are like the classic bosses of Zelda, but with a new flare to them making them unique.

    And the graphics are amazing. The environments are absolutely beautiful; especially the third area you go to which is designed flawlessly. Nintendo once again proves that you don't need the best of the best graphics technology to create an amazing, breathtaking world. In the beginning, I was having a real issue with there not being much of a plot. Things just seemed to be happening with no real explanation and for a while I had no plot-based motivation to keep moving forwards. But I'm now beginning to realise that this was an intentional choice by the designers to withhold information and I'm loving how they're presenting it. Also, the villain of the game is probably the best non-ganondorf villain in a Zelda game since Majora. He's funny, yet creepy, and with a brilliant physical design that kind of reminds me of David Bowie... Turns out, combining Zelda with David Bowie is actually the greatest thing ever.
    Expand
  29. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    THIS is the game I've been waiting for, the reason that I and probably lots of people got the Wii in the first place, not only this is an excelent addition to the Zelda series, it's also a huge step forward for motion control, finaly Nintendo was capable to show how much better the experience can be with motion control if they're implementedthe correct game, got a Wii? Get this game! YouTHIS is the game I've been waiting for, the reason that I and probably lots of people got the Wii in the first place, not only this is an excelent addition to the Zelda series, it's also a huge step forward for motion control, finaly Nintendo was capable to show how much better the experience can be with motion control if they're implementedthe correct game, got a Wii? Get this game! You own it to yourself Expand
  30. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is for Wii lovers. So don't listen to trolls. If you're someone who hates the Wii, then why are you playing/reviewing this game? In fact, if you hate the Wii, why do you have one? But if you do actually have a Wii and you're not here to troll, and you enjoy playing it, then you will be thoroughly happy with this game. It's a combination of all of those great Wii Sports gamesThis game is for Wii lovers. So don't listen to trolls. If you're someone who hates the Wii, then why are you playing/reviewing this game? In fact, if you hate the Wii, why do you have one? But if you do actually have a Wii and you're not here to troll, and you enjoy playing it, then you will be thoroughly happy with this game. It's a combination of all of those great Wii Sports games into a classic adventure. Sword fighting, bow shooting, bowling, even the sky diving of Wii Sports resort are all in this game. So if any of those party games struck the fun chord with you, then this game will hit an even stronger note. Expand
  31. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    Im now 15 hours into this game and I think this is enough to judge it. There are several things i don't like about it such as every time if you restart the game and pick something up it will tell you the same **** what this is and bla bla bla about it. The other negative thing isn't the game itself. It is the **** Wii and its HI-RES YAYAYAY. I have a 50" tv and at the beginning it was aIm now 15 hours into this game and I think this is enough to judge it. There are several things i don't like about it such as every time if you restart the game and pick something up it will tell you the same **** what this is and bla bla bla about it. The other negative thing isn't the game itself. It is the **** Wii and its HI-RES YAYAYAY. I have a 50" tv and at the beginning it was a pain to get into it. But I think there wouldn't be any other game which could bound me with this resolution. In my opinion it is the best Zelda game and it makes fun in every way. The controls, the dungeons, the flying around, the new things and even the senseless bug catching thing is funny. This Zelda shows the world that you don't need the best graphics or cool explosions in every corner of the screen. This Zelda shows us that a game with a brilliant and catchy story makes more fun then most of the other games out there.This is a true Zelda game and everyone with a Wii should get it. No exceptions! Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2011
#1 Most Shared Wii Game of 2011
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    Overall, this is the best experience I've had playing a Zelda game since Ocarina of Time and I'd have to say they are pretty equal in my opinion. Either way, you won't be disappointed getting this game, it's a masterpiece.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 19, 2012
    90
    New Zelda is the best game of whole series since the groundbreaking Ocarina of Time. It is a true masterpiece with uncompromising playability. [Christmas 2011]
  3. Jan 19, 2012
    95
    A magnificent homage for the 25th anniversary of one the biggest franchises in gaming, The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword provides a compelling gaming and artistic showcase for the indefatigable potential of the medium as a whole, and a reason to have gaming as a hobby.