The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword Wii

The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2108 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A Link to the Future - The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword shakes up the tried-and-true adventure game formula and marks a turning point for the franchise. The introduction of full motion controls enabled by Wii MotionPlus technology synchronizes player movements with Link's actions whileA Link to the Future - The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword shakes up the tried-and-true adventure game formula and marks a turning point for the franchise. The introduction of full motion controls enabled by Wii MotionPlus technology synchronizes player movements with Link's actions while offering the most intuitive play control of any game in the series to date.

    FEATURES:

    * The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword boasts the most realistic sword combat of any game to date, turning every encounter into a challenge of both brains and brawn. Wii MotionPlus technology accurately translates the angle of every sword slice, effectively putting Link's blade in the player's hand. Analyzing enemy attack and defense tendencies and counteracting with precise swings of the sword provide a satisfying experience that blends puzzle-solving with a new and distinctly unique combat system.

    * Explore a massive, multilayered world that seamlessly blends soaring exploration in a sea of clouds with intense ground-based adventuring that blurs the line between the main world and traditional Zelda dungeons. Link soars through the skies on the back of a noble bird and dives beneath the clouds to the continent below in an epic quest that lays the foundation for the events in the critically acclaimed The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time.

    * Prepare for intense puzzle-solving as only The Legend of Zelda games can deliver. Exploration of the forests, volcanoes and deserts requires players to think on their feet as they solve puzzles, overcome obstacles and escape deadly traps. Once they find their way to each dungeon, they are confronted by even more puzzles guarded by fiendish enemies.

    * The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword redefines the traditional Zelda framework and introduces an arsenal of items, upgrades and rewards unlike any game in the franchise to date. The adventure guides players into, out of and back to dungeons and areas they've already completed. Along the way, Link gathers a massive inventory of peculiar items and resources that can be used to upgrade many of his weapons and equipment.
    * Every copy in the initial production of the game will come packaged with a special music CD featuring orchestral arrangements of select songs that will be performed at The Legend of Zelda 25th Anniversary Symphony Concert.
    * This version of The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword comes packaged with a special Gold Wii Remote Plus controller. You can also purchase a copy of the game without a controller.
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword - Comic-Con Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. 100
    Skyward Sword is an epic, the sort of epic you call out of work or school for a few days to complete. A focused playthrough will take you north of 30 hours, and if you try to 100% the game, there is a 50+ hour quest to go through. Throw in the second quest, dubbed Hero Mode, and there is a lot of game to play.
  2. Nov 18, 2011
    100
    An exhilarating journey in every sense. Skyloft is an area you'll want to explore and Skyward Sword is well worth the wait. Prepare to be amazed.
  3. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    Overall, this is the best experience I've had playing a Zelda game since Ocarina of Time and I'd have to say they are pretty equal in my opinion. Either way, you won't be disappointed getting this game, it's a masterpiece.
  4. Nov 14, 2011
    95
    My new favorite 3D Zelda title, beating out Majora's Mask and Wind Waker by a substantial margin. It would be hard to go back to any of those games now. All of the gameplay innovations, emotionally involving moments, beautiful little details, and purely blissful experiences in this game have me completely and utterly spoiled.
  5. Dec 20, 2011
    91
    It's excruciating, mostly because Skyward Sword is such a rare, utterly wonderful game. It fully deserves to be thought of as a modern classic and a masterpiece, and it's so good that even controller frustrations couldn't keep me from sinking a completely crazy amount of time into it.
  6. Nov 21, 2011
    90
    Link is back in the best shape we've seen him in for years. The puzzles and challenges are brilliant, and the motion controls really shows you how to do something right. This 25 year old kid is still as relevant as ever.
  7. Jan 9, 2012
    60
    After finishing the game, I can say that The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword was not what I expected. I thought it would be a good (but not great) practitioner of the Zelda formula hampered by unnecessary motion controls, much like Twilight Princess was. Instead, I got a game that's cripplingly hamstrung by its controls and even falters when presenting the basic Zelda recipe.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 61 out of 766
  1. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    Don't hate this game because YOU can't figure out the motion control's just yet. Or because you think the graphics "suck" ARE YOU KIDDING ME?!Don't hate this game because YOU can't figure out the motion control's just yet. Or because you think the graphics "suck" ARE YOU KIDDING ME?! LOOK AT OCARINA OF TIME or even the very first Zelda game! It is supposed to be somewhat kid oriented, but that has always been part of the Zelda charm and HELLO it's a NINTENDO GAME. I love how they use tons of Zelda and Nintendo logic for the puzzles. Like rotating the sword to make the eye dizzy. If I could give this game a high rating I would! It's exactly like Ocarina of Time, Majora's Mask, and Windwaker all into one amazing game!! BEST GAME of the series in my opinion, and please note I started playing Zelda games at the age of seven. What makes this game the best: Realistic fighting, you don't just swing your sword to kill enemies because some of them especially Ghirahim will know where you are going to strike. By the way, best villain ever definitely compares with Gannondorf! Side Quests are just awesome and have also always been a part of what makes a Zelda game a Zelda game. The art style of the game makes me feel like I am playing a classic Zelda game and watching a Disney movie at the same time! It's a game that isn't beaten in just a day or two, it takes time to work through the game and figure out, which is awesome. Well worth the money! Its a breeze of excitement and wonder. How can you not love/like this game or at least give this game a worthy rating?! It's okay because in my book it's a perfect 10, oh hey look 583 positive to 131 negative, hope my score helps ;P Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is the game the Wii was built for! The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword is an absolute masterpiece from beginning to end. IGN, a trustedThis is the game the Wii was built for! The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword is an absolute masterpiece from beginning to end. IGN, a trusted website, doesn't hand out perfect 10's lightly. A must own. 10/10. Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2017
    10
    The controls are love-em-or-hate-em. If you take an hour or two to really focus on the nuances of the motion controls (small gestures, notThe controls are love-em-or-hate-em. If you take an hour or two to really focus on the nuances of the motion controls (small gestures, not giant swinging), you'll fall in love with this game. The puzzles and enemies are unlike any other game because of how precise and fantastic the sword controls are. It's linear, but that aids the story. Also, the characters and side quests make this world a fantastic one to live in! Expand
  4. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    *~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~
    This game is so **** epic. **** off these stupid haters, ****
    *~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~
    This game is so **** epic. **** off these stupid haters, ****
    *~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~
    Expand
  5. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    I gave this game a 10/10 because it definitely deserves it (thus far. i'm about 4 hours into the game). The music is astounding, the colorsI gave this game a 10/10 because it definitely deserves it (thus far. i'm about 4 hours into the game). The music is astounding, the colors are amazing, and the story line is just as intriguing as OoT. If the game somehow starts failing as I continue playing, i'll change my review but i don't see that happening. Definitely worth the money and imo, better than TP. Expand
  6. Nov 26, 2011
    8
    First of all, this is a great game.

    It still has room for improvement and one can only notice that it was probably going to be bigger but was
    First of all, this is a great game.

    It still has room for improvement and one can only notice that it was probably going to be bigger but was cut short... On the plus side, the stuff that made into the game was mostly well done and very polished in typical Nintendo fashion.

    I had mixed results with the motion controls: they take some time to get used to but once you do, they worked well to some extent and there are parts where it's truly satisfying to slash, stab, parry, spin and finalize most enemies... other times i was frustrated by how sensitive the controls are as i very often saw changing the position of the sword read as a slash or a slash turning into two slashes when returning the remote to the center, or having a stab turn to a spin attack due to the slightest hint of the nunchuck moving when doing the stab gesture, especially since the combat is very particular in how it let's you deal damage to enemies, the misread gestures make for some infuriating moments in the heat of tense fights that demand precision, sadly subtracting enjoyment in some of them.

    The story was fine yet some of the changes I disliked, especially for Zelda, who i think should have played a more active role in this quest as hinted in the beginning and sometimes her actions don't make sense. It'd have been great to see some part where she joins the fight, I mean, she's a student of the knight academy, yet she's the most fragile and delicate I've seen her except for Zelda II where she sleeps the entire game, or maybe have her do the spiritual parts since she's a "Spirit" maiden and those parts didn't involve combat but stealth... instead we get the tired old "sorry, but the princess is in another castle" routine, they paint Zelda and Link's missions as of the utmost importance yet you don't get to see or play any part of what Zelda does which is not much anyways (sorry Zelda, but it's true, i think it's funny my 5 y.o. calls the game "Link")

    The Dungeons, Puzzles, and Boss Fights are as great as ever, except when they make you fight the same drawn out boss battle three times... reeks of lengthening the play time through a silly trick and I absolutely hated that. The sky thing and flying on a bird is nowhere near as great as wind waker's sailing was, but it doesn't get in the way either, and the skydiving is pretty cool.

    Music's great, especially considering they also used some pieces from Wind Waker which has the best music in a Zelda game, IMO. Fits the mood perfectly, well done guys. It's a shame Nintendo still doesn't want to take the risk to add voice to their Zelda games.

    For graphics, all i can add is that the framerate is rock solid... the painting style looks very well and hides muddy textures very well, as long as you keep your expectations in reality... the look of the game won't disappoint.

    Thanks for Reading.
    Expand
  7. Apr 7, 2017
    0
    This is the only Zelda title that completely lacks an overworld. Instead you have linear slices to play through that you visit multiple timesThis is the only Zelda title that completely lacks an overworld. Instead you have linear slices to play through that you visit multiple times that all look & feel kinda the same (except that one's green, one's red, and one's yellow... That's all that's really different.) You mostly fight the same few bosses over & over instead of getting new boss challenges to solve. Combat is slow and repetitive. The first few times swinging the sword to slice the enemy at the correct angle, it was alright, but after that it was more of a hindrance to push through to get back to playing the game.

    Not that there was much game to play through. The whole thing was super easy. The hardest part was sitting through the interruptions whenever the game decided to tell you the solution to something you already figured out on your own, or to re-display text you already read about what things are.

    The gratitude crystals were also very forgettable, unlike other Zelda games' collection items. There was no real searching needed to easily find them all.

    The final dungeon was alright. I liked that dungeon's main gameplay mechanic. (Avoiding spoilers, but if you've played it, then you know what I'm talking about.) That's the only good thing I have to say about this game though.

    The desert had a mechanic in it that looked like it could've been a lot of fun if they actually did much with it, but instead really just added a bit of blue coloring. (Avoiding spoilers, but if you played it, you probably know what I'm talking about.)
    Expand

See all 766 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Every Legend of Zelda Game, Ranked

    Every Legend of Zelda Game, Ranked Image
    Published: March 7, 2017
    The new Breath of the Wild is great, but how does it compare to past Zelda releases? We rank all 18 Legend of Zelda games from worst to best.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.
  3. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  4. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives Image
    Published: January 14, 2011
    Our preview of the year in gaming concludes with a look at the top titles expected in 2011 that will be exclusive to the 360, PS3, Wii, PC, or handheld platforms.

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2011
1
#1 Most Shared Wii Game of 2011