User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1461 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EnddD.
    Jul 23, 2007
    4
    I like the Wii controls, but other wise it's a very boring game.
  2. HarrisonS.
    Oct 18, 2007
    3
    As a massive zelda fan, i can only express my most severe disappointment... it takes shapeshifting from windwaker and adds that to ocarina of time... that's this game. but ocarina of time was new and amazing, a believable massive world with gorgeous graphics and gameplay. twilight princess is, in the year 2006, none of those things. it's physically painful for me to watch my As a massive zelda fan, i can only express my most severe disappointment... it takes shapeshifting from windwaker and adds that to ocarina of time... that's this game. but ocarina of time was new and amazing, a believable massive world with gorgeous graphics and gameplay. twilight princess is, in the year 2006, none of those things. it's physically painful for me to watch my most beloved franchises go down the drain... and look at the critic reviews. 95/100? did nobody notice that the only new thing is the light gun control? Why nintendo, why. why couldn't the wii be more than an overclocked gamecube with a new controller and a higher price tag? look at assassins creed, a game that actually looks like a incredible new genre all it's own. why can't zelda break any new ground? because it's on the wii. Expand
  3. Jan 1, 2012
    3
    This game doesn't stack up to other Zeldas like Ocarina or Wind Waker. For me, the darkness doesn't suit the series and being a wolf felt so boring and felt like an unnecessary addition. The controls were fine though but overall the game didn't give me motiviation to be completed.
  4. JamesK.
    Apr 16, 2007
    3
    I'm writing only in the hope that I can convice someone NOT to buy this game and instead rent before you might buy. This game had the potential to be one of the greatest games ever made. However, I don't know what Nintendo was doing...sometimes I am amazed by the ideas and gameplay, and other times I just look around the room trying to find a reason for WHY Nintendo put so many I'm writing only in the hope that I can convice someone NOT to buy this game and instead rent before you might buy. This game had the potential to be one of the greatest games ever made. However, I don't know what Nintendo was doing...sometimes I am amazed by the ideas and gameplay, and other times I just look around the room trying to find a reason for WHY Nintendo put so many childish things in the game. Nintendo...you can't cater to both adults and children... Overall, its a great addition to the series, but if anyone from Nintendo ever reads this please... please... PLEASE make a game for people over 10. Somehow I have flashbacks to that green guy that hoovered over Fred Flinstone (zazu?) in the later episodes. What were you thinking? MAN this could have been a great game... instead its a good game somehow ahead of its time. Expand
  5. DavidF
    Jan 4, 2010
    4
    Are all these critics on Nintendo's payroll? Is this a terrible game? Certainly not. But is it a great game? Not even close. If you think frustration is the same as fun, this may be your thing. But if you're a fan of the original, then this game isn't for you. It's almost identical to Ocarina of Time. Ok, they turned Navi into a little demon thing, but that's Are all these critics on Nintendo's payroll? Is this a terrible game? Certainly not. But is it a great game? Not even close. If you think frustration is the same as fun, this may be your thing. But if you're a fan of the original, then this game isn't for you. It's almost identical to Ocarina of Time. Ok, they turned Navi into a little demon thing, but that's pretty much the only difference. I mean how many years has it been since Ocarina? And they haven't improved _anything_? If you loved Ocarina, you'll love this game, but if you thought Zelda's gone nothing but downhill since the first one, this is nothing but another step down. The first and second ones, and even to an extent the thrid one, you could just pick up and play, to have FUN. Not with this one, the painfully linear storyline and controls cripple what had some amazing potential. Expand
  6. Andrew
    Feb 12, 2007
    2
    Why is this game good? I rented it for a week... after half an hour playing it, I cant be bothered with it at all. An extremely slow start... if it gets better after the start, that's great -- but I can't be bothered going through all the boring bits for that.
  7. Jun 8, 2011
    0
    This was a terrible game in comparison to OoT and Majoras Mask, I am ashamed at the direction Nintendo went with this

    Too easy bosses, no love at all

    Does not deserve such a high rating, I beat it once and have no desire ever to touch it again
  8. Dec 4, 2010
    3
    I liked the game ok the first time, but after playing it again I really noticed... They were just trying to hard to make an epic game, and I don't feel like they did a good job of it.
    Ocarina of Time was an accidental hit if you really think about it; they weren't trying to create a great game, they were just experimenting with giving the Legend of Zelda series 3d graphics, and they just
    I liked the game ok the first time, but after playing it again I really noticed... They were just trying to hard to make an epic game, and I don't feel like they did a good job of it.
    Ocarina of Time was an accidental hit if you really think about it; they weren't trying to create a great game, they were just experimenting with giving the Legend of Zelda series 3d graphics, and they just had fun with the rest. It also had a good story and a sort of hidden message about the loss of innocence with age.
    Twilight Princess is not Ocarina of Time. Twilight Princess basically attempts to add the darker two-world tone of A Link to the Past to Ocarina of Time. I won't go into specifics to prevent spoilers, but the bottom line is that they were just trying too hard. It had too many cheesy moments.
    Expand
  9. MarkE.
    Feb 23, 2007
    4
    Sorry guys I'm not impressed. I come from the PC world and bought the Wii because of the innovative controls. Wii sports is a blast and I have had a lot of fun with it. Zelda seems like an outdated, poorly designed game with a somewhat interesting storyline. The controls are "BAD", the character keeps running into things and getting stuck both in Link and Wolf mode. Wolf mode Sorry guys I'm not impressed. I come from the PC world and bought the Wii because of the innovative controls. Wii sports is a blast and I have had a lot of fun with it. Zelda seems like an outdated, poorly designed game with a somewhat interesting storyline. The controls are "BAD", the character keeps running into things and getting stuck both in Link and Wolf mode. Wolf mode especially seems to be really touchy... fighting mobs seems to be difficult as well. You can't use the nunchuk to turn to the enemy (too slow/awkward), you have to constantly target them. There are some things I like about the game, e.g., fishing but yeeesh... when does this actually get fun? I'd take WoW, Oblivion or some modern RPG any day. Expand
  10. Apr 3, 2011
    1
    first off i would like to say that this was my first and only zelda game because this game has turned me off to the whole series. now for as to what is wrong with it when ever you are on your horse or in wolf mode it is so easy to get stuck on things unless you are only walking and not going fast but then there is no point of the horse in the begining becasue of this flaw. next up is thefirst off i would like to say that this was my first and only zelda game because this game has turned me off to the whole series. now for as to what is wrong with it when ever you are on your horse or in wolf mode it is so easy to get stuck on things unless you are only walking and not going fast but then there is no point of the horse in the begining becasue of this flaw. next up is the characters they do not look right they look like they were made on the Mii chanel or something because they have the same shaped heads that you can give your Miis but the actual game enviroment was beutiful so that is why i dont give it a 0. stay away and do yourself a huge favor Expand
  11. MarkG.
    Mar 30, 2007
    3
    Dont buy this game, if you are older than 10. Graphics=2, Controls=2, Story=3, Sound= What sound?, No voice acting, incredibly boring boss fights. (No idea, how this game managed to create all that hype, guess Nintendo is investing a lot in getting favorable reviews instead of investing in hardware and games)
  12. BlenderM.
    Nov 23, 2006
    1
    This is a long tiresome game. Music terrible, Control terrible. It makes me sad to be an elf.
  13. TrevH.
    Dec 13, 2006
    2
    This game plays off the sucess of ooT,the controls blow and while the game play is so so, its feels like if just tried to hard to be better then ooT rather then just focusing on makeing a good game, it seems they took everything that made ooT famous and copyed it.
  14. PokeyM.
    Dec 14, 2006
    2
    This game claims to have bad graphics but good gameplay, but really it does neither very well. This game is basically OOT with tacked on wii-wand control and Character design. Link looked badass in OOT, but in Twilight Princess he reminds me of an emotional 7th heaven character. Nintendo should really just do what they intended to do in the first place and remake OOT with updated This game claims to have bad graphics but good gameplay, but really it does neither very well. This game is basically OOT with tacked on wii-wand control and Character design. Link looked badass in OOT, but in Twilight Princess he reminds me of an emotional 7th heaven character. Nintendo should really just do what they intended to do in the first place and remake OOT with updated graphics. Of course, the Wii is just the tiniest step up from the 64 anyways, and is not capable of rendering better images than the original Xbox. Somewhere in the last 7-10 years, Nintendo lost their way. Expand
  15. Nov 4, 2010
    3
    The only Zelda games I have played prior to this title was "OOT", "Link to the Past", and "The Legend of Zelda." Going into this game I really wanted to like it. It started out really slow, and then it got really boring. The story was also awkward. You turn into a wolf with some giggly little cat looking thing on your back. Eventually you turn back into Link; and even he looks weird.The only Zelda games I have played prior to this title was "OOT", "Link to the Past", and "The Legend of Zelda." Going into this game I really wanted to like it. It started out really slow, and then it got really boring. The story was also awkward. You turn into a wolf with some giggly little cat looking thing on your back. Eventually you turn back into Link; and even he looks weird. I'm not one who stops playing a game halfway through it, but unfortunately I will have to on this one. Expand
  16. Feb 15, 2011
    4
    This is my first Zelda game aside from a few hours on the N64. Everything is fun and all, but two things ruined the game for me. First, the fishing. Good luck getting that one figured out without going to youtube and watching a few demos frame by frame. That is the most frustrated and annoyed with a game that I have ever been in my almost 40 year life. It was unnecessary lack ofThis is my first Zelda game aside from a few hours on the N64. Everything is fun and all, but two things ruined the game for me. First, the fishing. Good luck getting that one figured out without going to youtube and watching a few demos frame by frame. That is the most frustrated and annoyed with a game that I have ever been in my almost 40 year life. It was unnecessary lack of functionality in the controls that almost made me throw the thing out the window. That made me wary of further annoyances and jaded me significantly. Second, the 3rd person moving camera. Just gotta love being attacked from offscreen and not being able to do anything about it. I do not like dying because of the camera. That's a deal breaker in any game. Tragic to have to pan a game with so much beauty but the fact I'm angry while writing this has to mean something. Expand
  17. Nov 12, 2013
    4
    The Ocarina of Time is quite rightly regarded as one of the cornerstones of gaming and at the time it certainly raised the bar for the 3d action adventure genre. Perhaps it was the fact that The Wind Waker received a lot of criticism upon its release (I personally really enjoyed it) but for the final GameCube outing Nintendo decided to go back to the template used in their N64 classic.The Ocarina of Time is quite rightly regarded as one of the cornerstones of gaming and at the time it certainly raised the bar for the 3d action adventure genre. Perhaps it was the fact that The Wind Waker received a lot of criticism upon its release (I personally really enjoyed it) but for the final GameCube outing Nintendo decided to go back to the template used in their N64 classic. Unfortunately eight years later much of that template just feels dated. Travelling from dungeon to dungeon is a specific order just isn't able to hold my attention anymore and, while most are intelligently designed, none could exactly be considered original. The same could also be said of Twilight Princesses combat system which is lifted almost straight from The Wind Waker, yet strangely doesn't feel quite as fluent or satisfying.

    If I’d never played a Zelda title before I’m sure I would have found plenty to enjoy in Twilight Princess but as it is I couldn't help as though I’d seen everything it has to offer more than once over the last decade.
    Expand
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 73
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 73
  3. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. 100
    An excellent addition (and homage to "Ocarina") to the franchise, and you'll have an enormous amount of fun playing it from start to finish. Get over the fact that the Wii's hardware is simply not as powerful as the other next-gen machines and get into the fact that Twilight Princess is one of the best games you'll play this year.
  2. It truly is, in my opinion, the best and longest Zelda ever made. With nearly 70 hours of playtime committed and more still to do, I cant think of a better experience or value this holiday season.
  3. 100
    Truly fantastic. It's not a reinvention of the genre like Ocarina was -- but it's much better, because it takes all its predecessors' raw ideas, perfects them, and creates an experience that's at once new and familiar. It's rare to find a launch game that truly justifies the purchase of a new console, but this is precisely that.