User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1365 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 28, 2012
    9
    Once again I find myself loving another Zelda game. Twilight Princess is fantastic in nearly every way. The story is fantastic and filled with characters I absolutely loved, and it brings a new darker, mature setting. It's got some of the best, coolest and weirdest dungeons in the series I've seen thus far, like for instance one isn't really a dungeon, but a mansion with a friendly yetiOnce again I find myself loving another Zelda game. Twilight Princess is fantastic in nearly every way. The story is fantastic and filled with characters I absolutely loved, and it brings a new darker, mature setting. It's got some of the best, coolest and weirdest dungeons in the series I've seen thus far, like for instance one isn't really a dungeon, but a mansion with a friendly yeti family living inside it! Also half way through the dungeon, before you can get the dungeon item, you fight a mini boss, which is a lot of fun to do. The bosses in the game are really cool but also dark and creepy fitting the darker setting excellently, but I found them to be shockingly easy to beat, the only tough one being the final (four part) boss battle, let's put it this way the mini bosses are more difficult to beat then the main bosses. You also get some really cool sections where you can transform into a wolf. The puzzles are as always fantastic, and I found the game almost impossible to put down. This game is also massive, it has a huge world to explore filled with side quests, hidden secrets, and treasure just waiting for you to sink your teeth into, I played it for roughly 36-40 hours and still could go back and find stuff to do. As this is the Wii version it also uses motion controls, aiming with the Wii remote never felt better, and combat is also more fun even if it is just controller waggling XD. And it's a completely mirrored port of the GameCube version, so there's a reason for GameCube owners to test this version out. The soundtrack is fantastic although it's not as great as other Zelda game's. the graphics are awesome most of the time, with fantastic character animations and beautiful locations, but sometimes you looking at dated and bland textures or blurriness. In closing it's a Zelda game so obviously it's fantastic. It's story and setting will suck you in like no other game in the series, and the gameplay has some great new additions. It's just a fantastic game that I recommend to any and all gamers. A must play. Expand
  2. Nov 12, 2013
    4
    The Ocarina of Time is quite rightly regarded as one of the cornerstones of gaming and at the time it certainly raised the bar for the 3d action adventure genre. Perhaps it was the fact that The Wind Waker received a lot of criticism upon its release (I personally really enjoyed it) but for the final GameCube outing Nintendo decided to go back to the template used in their N64 classic.The Ocarina of Time is quite rightly regarded as one of the cornerstones of gaming and at the time it certainly raised the bar for the 3d action adventure genre. Perhaps it was the fact that The Wind Waker received a lot of criticism upon its release (I personally really enjoyed it) but for the final GameCube outing Nintendo decided to go back to the template used in their N64 classic. Unfortunately eight years later much of that template just feels dated. Travelling from dungeon to dungeon is a specific order just isn't able to hold my attention anymore and, while most are intelligently designed, none could exactly be considered original. The same could also be said of Twilight Princesses combat system which is lifted almost straight from The Wind Waker, yet strangely doesn't feel quite as fluent or satisfying.

    If I’d never played a Zelda title before I’m sure I would have found plenty to enjoy in Twilight Princess but as it is I couldn't help as though I’d seen everything it has to offer more than once over the last decade.
    Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    I loved it! Not as good as The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker, but better than The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. The series still feels like new even after this game. The series will only get better from here!
  4. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    YES! At last, a Wii game that I can enjoy! "The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess" is one good looking and good playing game that will appeal very strongly to your gaming senses. Looks cheesy and childish? Then stop trolling and go play your COD.
  5. Apr 7, 2012
    5
    Twilight Princess keeps all the traditions and staples of the Zelda franchise intact.If you're a long time fan, then you'll certainly be on familiar ground. But for me, that was a big part of the problem. I loved Ocarina and Wind Waker, but video games have evolved a lot since that time. Twilight Princess is the point where the Zelda series starts to stagnate, in my opinion. Instead ofTwilight Princess keeps all the traditions and staples of the Zelda franchise intact.If you're a long time fan, then you'll certainly be on familiar ground. But for me, that was a big part of the problem. I loved Ocarina and Wind Waker, but video games have evolved a lot since that time. Twilight Princess is the point where the Zelda series starts to stagnate, in my opinion. Instead of delighting, the game mechanics and weapons feel over-familiar and unexciting. This isn't helped by the visual aesthetic. Wind Waker had a bright, vibrant color pallet and a wonderfully breezy tone.Conversely, Twilight Princess feels drab and lifeless. I know it's an attempt to make a more adult and darker world, but the result feels a bit boring. In the end, Twilight Princess just wasn't compelling enough to push through to completion and my long streak of obsessively-cleared Zelda games has finally come to a close. Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    In video games industry there is a conflict saying that video games aren't at all "ART" while other say they're ART. In my words this Zelda game proves all the idiots of the industry saying that games aren't ART they are wrong.Twilight Princess beautiful and gorgeous and hell of a fun game with great puzzles and confusing dungeons. While there isn't replay value, you will enjoy theIn video games industry there is a conflict saying that video games aren't at all "ART" while other say they're ART. In my words this Zelda game proves all the idiots of the industry saying that games aren't ART they are wrong.Twilight Princess beautiful and gorgeous and hell of a fun game with great puzzles and confusing dungeons. While there isn't replay value, you will enjoy the landscapes and heroic and sticky music. Twilight princess is above and shoulder to almost any game. Expand
  7. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    Twilight Princess is in many ways a near perfect Zelda game. The controls are spot on, the story is standard Zelda fare with a twilight twist, and the world is expansive. In many ways, this game feels like a refinement of the Zelda formula, and this is both a good and a bad thing. It's good because the game is near perfection, with no aspect lagging (except for the music, which only has 2Twilight Princess is in many ways a near perfect Zelda game. The controls are spot on, the story is standard Zelda fare with a twilight twist, and the world is expansive. In many ways, this game feels like a refinement of the Zelda formula, and this is both a good and a bad thing. It's good because the game is near perfection, with no aspect lagging (except for the music, which only has 2 or 3 good tracks). It's bad because the game doesn't feel very different. The graphics are, in my opinion, rather bland as compared to other games, such as the gorgeous Wind Waker. They attempt to make the graphical style very dark in order to add to the whole twilight concept of the game, however it feels more boring than it is dark. Take for example Majora's Mask, a game that had a very dark plot while having great multicolored graphics. Twilight Princess attempts this same darkness, but seems to fail.
    This game is near perfect, and in my opinion it may just be better than Ocarina of Time from a technical and formulaic standpoint. However, it's lack of creativity and ambition seems to hold it back.
    Expand
  8. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    The only Zelda to match Oot. A huge epic experience. Unfortunetly better on the Gamecube because of camera control, but this was my favorite game ever for a while.
  9. Sep 3, 2014
    10
    The amount of hate over the years for this game is incredible. I can't understand why so many people didn't like it. Although, I do admit the Wolf sections were pretty lame... but unique. The rest of the game shines, easily making it into my top 5 Zelda games of all time. The longest game in the series, and the darkest, Twilight Princess is a must-play for any Zelda fan or anyone who wantsThe amount of hate over the years for this game is incredible. I can't understand why so many people didn't like it. Although, I do admit the Wolf sections were pretty lame... but unique. The rest of the game shines, easily making it into my top 5 Zelda games of all time. The longest game in the series, and the darkest, Twilight Princess is a must-play for any Zelda fan or anyone who wants to get into the series. (Yes, the Wii version controls are a bit weird at first, but that's not the point because it was a great game) Expand
  10. Sep 25, 2014
    9
    "Twilight Princess" is one of my favorite Legend of Zelda video games. The story is the best part of the game; it's engrossing, dark, interesting, and quite deep. The graphics look great, the dungeons are extremely well designed, and the world is very huge and expansive, leaving a lot to explore. Some negative points are that the items are very rarely used after the dungeon you find them"Twilight Princess" is one of my favorite Legend of Zelda video games. The story is the best part of the game; it's engrossing, dark, interesting, and quite deep. The graphics look great, the dungeons are extremely well designed, and the world is very huge and expansive, leaving a lot to explore. Some negative points are that the items are very rarely used after the dungeon you find them in is completed, and it is overall a very easy game. Despite those flaws, it's one of the best Zelda games and one of the best Wii games. Expand
  11. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    I already did a review of Twilight Princess before but this one is a full, kind of detailed review. Twilight Princess is in my top 5 Legend Of Zelda games, before Majora's Mask, Ocarina of Time and Windwaker. Though one of the easiest Zelda games, the sheer length and size of the game, engaging storyline, unique characters and entertainment value are the factors that makes it such a greatI already did a review of Twilight Princess before but this one is a full, kind of detailed review. Twilight Princess is in my top 5 Legend Of Zelda games, before Majora's Mask, Ocarina of Time and Windwaker. Though one of the easiest Zelda games, the sheer length and size of the game, engaging storyline, unique characters and entertainment value are the factors that makes it such a great game. I have played this game both on the Wii and the Gamecube version but in my opinion, the Wii port is much more intuitive. The motion controls are pitch perfect and it does feel like your are slashing a sword. The story is much darker than other Zelda games, probably as dark as Majora's Mask. Midna the imp is one of the greatest sidekick characters you will have, up there with King of the Red Lions and Princess Zelda herself. Graphics wise, the game has a unique and great looking art design, reminiscent of OoT. My one tiny complain about this game is its sub-par musical score. The use of MIDI is great on sound effects and subtle sounds cues but as a whole score, it doesn't work as well albeit being a really grand size game. If you have a Wii, definitely get it as it is the one of the first great Wii games and if you have a Gamecube, it is an essential as it is the great final swansong for Nintendo's fourth console. Expand
  12. Apr 3, 2011
    1
    first off i would like to say that this was my first and only zelda game because this game has turned me off to the whole series. now for as to what is wrong with it when ever you are on your horse or in wolf mode it is so easy to get stuck on things unless you are only walking and not going fast but then there is no point of the horse in the begining becasue of this flaw. next up is thefirst off i would like to say that this was my first and only zelda game because this game has turned me off to the whole series. now for as to what is wrong with it when ever you are on your horse or in wolf mode it is so easy to get stuck on things unless you are only walking and not going fast but then there is no point of the horse in the begining becasue of this flaw. next up is the characters they do not look right they look like they were made on the Mii chanel or something because they have the same shaped heads that you can give your Miis but the actual game enviroment was beutiful so that is why i dont give it a 0. stay away and do yourself a huge favor Expand
  13. Mar 31, 2014
    9
    While Twilight Princess is probably my least favorite 3D Zelda game, I think that it is indeed another great Zelda game that everyone should check out. This story was great! However it was maybe trying a little too hard to be dark at times even the atmosphere is dark enough to the point where it may even be a bit unsettling. I like the wide open space in this game and the many differentWhile Twilight Princess is probably my least favorite 3D Zelda game, I think that it is indeed another great Zelda game that everyone should check out. This story was great! However it was maybe trying a little too hard to be dark at times even the atmosphere is dark enough to the point where it may even be a bit unsettling. I like the wide open space in this game and the many different locations, this is definitely one of the most elaborate worlds seen in a Zelda game which could also be a problem because of all the walking; of course you do have Epona, but she isn't much help until later on in the game; so I think that if this wide open space is ever used again, There should either be more things to do out on the field or there should be faster transportation from the get-go or both. The graphics are also pretty good, they are nicely done to look more realistic, but I really don't mind cartoonish looks like what they had in The Wind Waker. This game also had some really epic moments like the final battle and even some battles between tons of enemies; sure a lot of it felt like fan service which could either be a good or bad thing but it was cool. The dungeons were also cool, especially Arbiter's Grounds, the only problem this game had with these that isn't really found in other Zeldas is the items are not used much after being used in their founding dungeon; for example it was fun using the Spinner in Arbiter's Grounds, but after that dungeon you literally only use that item again like about 3 or 4 more times or so. Despite me pointing out all these problems I highly recommend TP, you can get it now on Wii and GameCube (keep in mind that the Wii version is a little more common). Expand
  14. Jun 4, 2013
    7
    Don't get me wrong, Twilight Princess is a fantastic game and I loved it to pieces, but why I give it a lower score is because I feel it was copy and pasted from Ocarina of Time. When I originally played the game, I gave it a 10/10, but playing Ocarina, it made me appreciate it less. I think it's better than Ocarina, but still it's disappointing. Besides that it's
  15. Nov 26, 2010
    9
    An awesome launch title for the Wii, Twilight Princess may not be as innovative as Wind Waker or as groundbreaking as Ocarina of Time, but it's still a high quality Zelda game, and that means a lot.
  16. Sep 2, 2012
    9
    Even though you can't say hands down that Twilight Princess is the best Zelda, to me it is a very good game and is third on the list under Ocarina of Time and A Link to the Past. I was relieved to see Nintendo move away from the kiddish graphics used in Wind Waker, which surprising to me a lot of people liked. This game sometimes had a dark aspect to it, especially when your a wolf, but itEven though you can't say hands down that Twilight Princess is the best Zelda, to me it is a very good game and is third on the list under Ocarina of Time and A Link to the Past. I was relieved to see Nintendo move away from the kiddish graphics used in Wind Waker, which surprising to me a lot of people liked. This game sometimes had a dark aspect to it, especially when your a wolf, but it makes for an interesting adventure. When I play this game it feels more like OoT than Skyward Sword does, and for me that's a big plus. Twilight Princess does a good job having the Zelda aspect needed along with a few new ideas that blend in well with the series. The ending and end bosses of this game are the best part, and possibly the best the series has to offer. I don't want to spoil anything, but your in for some pretty intense battles towards the end. I also liked the story in Twilight Princess more than Skyward Sword, and I think overall it's a better game. Expand
  17. Aug 23, 2010
    9
    Certainly takes a while to get going, but when it does it's a cracking adventure, and a stunning Zelda game to boot. While not perfect, it's very easy to pick up, and difficult to put back down. While lacking something that superior Zelda games have, like Ocarina of Time, it's still one of the best Wii games.
  18. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    This is my favorite game of all time and i have no shame in stating that. Everything about this game is perfect: the music, the story, the characters, the atmosphere and tone, the visual style, the bosses (though easy), the dungeons, everything about this game is perfect. I definitely consider this one of the upper-echelon and just downright best games ever made. If you have a Wii or aThis is my favorite game of all time and i have no shame in stating that. Everything about this game is perfect: the music, the story, the characters, the atmosphere and tone, the visual style, the bosses (though easy), the dungeons, everything about this game is perfect. I definitely consider this one of the upper-echelon and just downright best games ever made. If you have a Wii or a GameCube, you should already have this game in your library and if you are playing it right now, keep playing it. If you don't have this game, it is a must buy. Seriously, you are not going to regret it. Expand
  19. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = One of my personal favorite action adventure games. Very well designed and extremely addictive.
  20. Nov 14, 2010
    8
    This game is quite good. However, it has a major shortcoming: It is simply a rehash of Ocarina of Time. Ocarina of Time was an amazing game. Twilight Princess is also a great game. The problem is, I've played it before. And the first time was better.

    This game has a lot of strengths - the visuals in the game are excellent. While the game is not the best thing ever graphically, it has a
    This game is quite good. However, it has a major shortcoming: It is simply a rehash of Ocarina of Time. Ocarina of Time was an amazing game. Twilight Princess is also a great game. The problem is, I've played it before. And the first time was better.

    This game has a lot of strengths - the visuals in the game are excellent. While the game is not the best thing ever graphically, it has a very good style to it, particularly the darker sections of the game, where the design is the strongest. Midna, your ally, has an amazing design, and Link's wolf form is quite cool.

    The wolf sections of the game are the only real new addition to the game, and they are fun - they aren't long enough to get annoying in their simplicity, and the theme of travelling through the darkness is quite fun.

    The parts where you play as Link are very standard for games of this type - you can't really jump, you use your tools to progress through the levels, and combat is pretty basic.

    The major ways this game falls down are a fewfold.

    Firstly, it is too easy. Most of the game is pretty easy. I like to die periodically to make me feel challenged, but in this game, I didn't die even once. The enemies were not interesting enough to fight, and it was only the very rare fight, in the very end of the game or the optional side-dungeon, which felt even remotely challenging.

    Secondly, it often felt a bit too linear. While all the Zelda games are fairly linear, a lot of them disguised it fairly well; this game does not do so, removing the illusion of choice for the most part. Moreover, the Hookshot, previously a fun way to explore, has its equivalent in this game be much worse for the random exploration the Hookshot was good for.

    All in all, it is a solid title, and worth playing, but it'd be nice to feel like I was playing a new Zelda game, not a game which I played on the N64.
    Expand
  21. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    Best Zelda Period! thats all you need to know to buy this game and while it isn't perfect, it's still a great game! so if your still wondering you, need to have this game on your wii. it's a must have!
  22. Dec 31, 2013
    8
    I feel kind of bad for Nintendo. They are stuck between nostalgia and originality. If they were to present a new idea, complaints would arise about fan-favorites being excluded. If they brought in the fan-favorites, complaints would arise of lack of freshness. I felt the latter. This game relied very heavily on Ocarina of Time and Majora's Mask and felt like an exact mix of those two. II feel kind of bad for Nintendo. They are stuck between nostalgia and originality. If they were to present a new idea, complaints would arise about fan-favorites being excluded. If they brought in the fan-favorites, complaints would arise of lack of freshness. I felt the latter. This game relied very heavily on Ocarina of Time and Majora's Mask and felt like an exact mix of those two. I also felt there was a lot of obvious filler in the game such as the owl statues across Hyrule. A button to press for the sword would have been more concise, in my opinion. I really wish there was another way for the camera to rotate besides Z-targeting. However, this game still is one of my favorite Zelda games. The transition from human to wolf was short and smooth. The score is amazing and the Arbiter's Grounds and Snowpeak Ruins temples take the cake with 3-D Zelda temples. The final boss was truly epic, but kind of easy. If the bosses and overall game were harder, Twilight Princess could have been the best. The hardest part was the cave of ordeals and it is really boring and merely challenging (took me 3 tries). Also, there are far too many rupees in the game, and I could not even get rid of them fast enough. Overall, great game, but the later bosses should have made me die at least once, and, sadly, did not. Expand
  23. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    Of all Zelda games this is by far the most cinematic. The scenes and landscapes are amazing, and so are the character, monster and level designs. This, unlike the previous installments of Zelda since Majora's Mask, is quite dark - so dark and texturally realistic that it is the first in the series to get a T-Rating (which by today's standards isn't saying much, but still). When I firstOf all Zelda games this is by far the most cinematic. The scenes and landscapes are amazing, and so are the character, monster and level designs. This, unlike the previous installments of Zelda since Majora's Mask, is quite dark - so dark and texturally realistic that it is the first in the series to get a T-Rating (which by today's standards isn't saying much, but still). When I first played this game I thought it was amazing and thought it had a perfect length and everything (this was back in 2006), but then when I beat it, I was - and sadly, still am - disappointed by the abrupt ending. This is really the game's only flaw. Beyond that, the controls are perfectly workable for the Wii (The Gamecube version is equally easy, the only difference is the fact that the map is mirrored and you don't aim with a Wii-mote) Okay, but back to the cinematic quality - it's amazing, and it takes Zelda to a new level that it hasn't been at before. I mean previous games have been great visually, but this is masterful like a Kurosawa movie with the vast landscapes used in the scenes and the use of nature. Also, again, like previous games, the lore is very original, and keeps introducing new things about the series which keeps it all very interesting. It's by far the best Wii game I've ever played (unfortunately the majority of Wii games are crappy board game rip offs or carnival mini-games). Another minor thing about this game that ticked me off a little bit was the shortness of the levels and the fact that the bosses aren't much of a challenge, but the game is extremely entertaining. It's sort of like a mix of Ocarina of Time and Majora's Mask in the sense that there are lots of dungeons and a really long story to follow to beat the game, but there are also many side-quests you can do and there's a Cave of Ordeals similar to that in Wind Waker and Majora's Mask (except this one is much more challenging than both). Expand
  24. Dec 21, 2011
    8
    An excellent adventure, and easily the best Wii game to date (one of few good wii games, that is). Plays pretty much as any other zelda game, the changes lies in the details. On the downside, the game is quite ugly and doesn't really benefit from the motion control.
  25. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    yeah....

    here we go.... its a new game... but it all feels old its in good light thats what im told but everything just all feels the same....... in my console it looks more to me, like a bland land of stuff thats gimmicky my time spent on the game it made me see.... that i dont really like it all that much i dont think it good as usual i never disliked zelda this way, but thats the
    yeah....

    here we go....

    its a new game...
    but it all feels old
    its in good light thats what im told
    but everything just all feels the same.......

    in my console
    it looks more to me,
    like a bland land
    of stuff thats gimmicky
    my time spent on the game it made me see....

    that i dont really like it all that much
    i dont think it good as usual
    i never disliked zelda this way,
    but thats the stuff that not good,
    there is some stuff that is good...

    (like) GAMEPLAY

    an that is what rly counts
    a-what im sayin is this is t. princess
    not great like M.M
    still...
    its still pretty cool

    i think its quite cool
    not normal standards
    but still awesome
    but not much colour
    its just some little blips in the design

    if u think its the best zelda
    youd be wrong it is M.M
    and if youre thinkin oot,
    then i wouldnt kill you, and still be pretty

    COOL

    but tp is very flawed
    and anyways i
    think it a great game
    coulerless but creative
    teee....p

    tps a gr8 game..

    play it once, u suck play it twice, u still suck play it 3 or... more times and then ur awesome!!! teee peee it rly isnt up too high in my top games but thi is the question what score ya giv-n give it a good score or pummeled to the floor yoooouuuu ya think it need 9 or more (maybe 10) this is some ZELDA!!! play it if ur with meh come an get ur copy wooooah come an get ur copy wooooahhhh come an play it again woooah come and debate mah score.... AGAIN!!!!!!!! what song does this tune into copy the link to find out, or figure it out anyway, this is getting a 9 and an 85% score http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TAFNgEZuepA
    Expand
  26. Jan 1, 2012
    3
    This game doesn't stack up to other Zeldas like Ocarina or Wind Waker. For me, the darkness doesn't suit the series and being a wolf felt so boring and felt like an unnecessary addition. The controls were fine though but overall the game didn't give me motiviation to be completed.
  27. Aug 17, 2010
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Graphically the best game so far. However it was so horribly easy that it sucked the fun out of the dungeons and fights. The lack of secret side quests was also damaging to the game. The major killer of this game for me was that the most awesome area and character in the game will not be returning in any sequel(Or so the ending indicated). Midna beats the hell out of Navi in every way and then poofs forever at the end. It's my assumption that with the removal of their forums and the invention of the wii along with game endings like this that Nintendo is just trying to burn themselves down for the insurance money. Expand
  28. Nov 27, 2013
    8
    Twilight Princess is a difficult game to review. On my first playthrough of the game, I had never experienced Ocarina of Time, one of the most immersive experiences in video game history. While Twilight Princess seemed innovative in design, I didn't realize that nearly every aspect of the story had been borrowed from Ocarina. It seems as though Ocarina was a revolutionary template thatTwilight Princess is a difficult game to review. On my first playthrough of the game, I had never experienced Ocarina of Time, one of the most immersive experiences in video game history. While Twilight Princess seemed innovative in design, I didn't realize that nearly every aspect of the story had been borrowed from Ocarina. It seems as though Ocarina was a revolutionary template that Twilight Princess uses, rather than builds upon. That being said, does the game hold its own in the Zelda universe as a stand alone adventure?
    The story will sound familiar to anyone who has played a Zelda game before. Link, the Hero of Time, must save the land of Hyrule from certain demise by defeating the evil Ganondorf, saving Princess Zelda, and obtaining the Master Sword. Only this time, the twist is that the land is being covered in a darkness known as the Twilight Realm. This world collides with Hyrule, and Link must traverse between worlds to save them both from Ganon's rage. Not only does Link transform into a wolf in the Twilight Realm, he also meets a Navi-esque companion named Midna, who aids Link in his quest. Midna is the best part of the experience, giving the game some life with snarky commentary, a definite change in attitude as the story progresses, and a genuinely heartbreaking farewell.
    However, Midna is perhaps the only investing part of the game. The rest seems just as lifeless and depressing as the Twilight Realm itself. Hyrule Field is huge in scope and impressive to explore, but there's practically nothing worthwhile to look for, feeling more of a wasted opportunity than an enticing overworld full of mystery. The dungeons suffer from a lack of ingenuity, following a cookie-cutter layout of finding keys to open doors, and offering little excitement in terms of swordplay or puzzle-solving. Even Link fails in this regard. Although it's hard to give a voiceless protagonist personality, the prior Links all were memorable in their own ways. Twilight Link gives off a feeling of perpetual moodiness, making it seem that he isn't even enjoying the game he was put in. Add all of that to a beautiful score hindered by its lack of orchestra and dull graphics that contrast the energized colors of the previous games, and one realizes how this attempt at making the game darker limits both creativity and fun for the player.
    With all of these flaws, however, there's no denying that Twilight Princess is a good game. Fighting is very fun when done right, and doing somersaults and rolls make battling hordes of enemies feel fresh and fast-paced. While the dungeons do suffer from repetitiveness, the boss battles almost entirely make up for them. There are too many memorable bosses to count, such as one ingenious fight with two parts where one must use the physics of an item to take down a massive skeleton. All of these fights make up for the lack of creativity present throughout the rest of the game. And, while the darker tone does have its downsides, it is nice to see Nintendo try and put a darker spin on the classic franchise, especially in the cutscenes. Fighting on horseback on a bridge to save the life of a child is both thrilling and unique, and is one of several moments that made me want to stand up and cheer.
    Therefore, while there are many faults with the game, Twilight Princess pulls through with its atmosphere, boss battles, and, most importantly of all, the addition of Midna. While it borrows heavily from the past and contributes very little to the present, the game is an important stepping stone for Zelda games in the future.
    Expand
  29. Jun 28, 2012
    10
    Excellent game. I really got into this game. I've played Zelda games before, but I really got the concept down with this game. I loved it. Everything is top notch and feels polished.
  30. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The first Zelda experience on Wii is masterful. The pace of the game in the beginning is rather slow, however, when the game picks up you may not want to put the Wii controller and Nunchuck down. The game features the best visuals in a Zelda game. Memorable boss fights and difficult quests do not fail to impress. The franchise villain makes an unexpected drop in near the very end that is sure to excite any fan of the series. Expand
  31. Nov 1, 2011
    8
    As expected the game was very good, it had great story, large amounts of gadgets, a large varied world and of course good game play although the game does have some problems, firstly the controls suck and i can simply sit on my couch and swing the sword which clearly means the wii is not accurate and is a failed product, the game is wayyy toooo easy (one can literally go through the gameAs expected the game was very good, it had great story, large amounts of gadgets, a large varied world and of course good game play although the game does have some problems, firstly the controls suck and i can simply sit on my couch and swing the sword which clearly means the wii is not accurate and is a failed product, the game is wayyy toooo easy (one can literally go through the game and not die once), the combat in general could have been better and required more strategy and lastly the game has a lot of space that simply isn't utilized properly leaving a large and a lot of the time an empty world as well. Overall a pretty good game but not near as good as OOT.. 8.8/10. Expand
  32. May 19, 2012
    9
    After three playthroughs and about 200 hours of playing this game I've come to my conclusion. It falls down on a few things: -It's too easy. I felt like superman slashing up every enemy in my way, it got annoying because I felt myself looking for a challenge and acting as if some bosses were tough. The puzzles were a bit on the easier side too but still challenging. -Another big letdownAfter three playthroughs and about 200 hours of playing this game I've come to my conclusion. It falls down on a few things: -It's too easy. I felt like superman slashing up every enemy in my way, it got annoying because I felt myself looking for a challenge and acting as if some bosses were tough. The puzzles were a bit on the easier side too but still challenging. -Another big letdown was that the game felt 'empty'. Nearly every reward was rupees and there wasn't much interesting you could do with all your rupees. My wallet was constantly full. Big landscapes with little secrets, just some treasures with worthless rupees. With that said the rest is all wonderfull, awesome and thrilling. Definatly the most epic Zelda experience I've had. They didn't offer a lot new to the game except the wolf aspect, which wasn't really special. They played it safe and made it a traditional Zelda, which is fine with me. But it won't go down as the best Zelda ever. It's still the best game for the Wii though. 9/10 Expand
  33. Mar 14, 2013
    9
    The Legend of Zelda series continues to impress in game design with Twilight Princess, Perfecting the formula that has come with previous titles with a dark story, fun bosses and some great characters. the graphics are pretty good for a Wii launch title and I know a lot of people love the dark gritty style of Twilight Princess but I personally prefer the style of Wind Waker or SkywardThe Legend of Zelda series continues to impress in game design with Twilight Princess, Perfecting the formula that has come with previous titles with a dark story, fun bosses and some great characters. the graphics are pretty good for a Wii launch title and I know a lot of people love the dark gritty style of Twilight Princess but I personally prefer the style of Wind Waker or Skyward Sword, I think my main complaint with the game is that it is just a bit too easy, the bosses are not very challenging but they are fun. This was easily the best launch title for the Wii and provides another fantastic adventure for Link to embark on and anyone playing it will enjoy it, the game lasts a solid 30-45 hours depending on how well you play but there is tons of side content that can easily bump that number up to 50-60 hours. Pick this game up and enjoy! Expand
  34. Apr 25, 2011
    8
    This is a fantastic game; the characters are classic Zelda, easy to like, friendly and unique. The gameplay is also classic Zelda, but with the Wii controls, it makes it far more interesting. The story is pretty classic too; enemies come, take over huge swathes of the land , and you have to go and clear it of evil. It's fun all the way, although at times, the travelling can be annoying andThis is a fantastic game; the characters are classic Zelda, easy to like, friendly and unique. The gameplay is also classic Zelda, but with the Wii controls, it makes it far more interesting. The story is pretty classic too; enemies come, take over huge swathes of the land , and you have to go and clear it of evil. It's fun all the way, although at times, the travelling can be annoying and slow. The enemies are not particularly intelligent, and they're not especially varied either. The environments are varied, from deserts to meadows to frozen lakes, it's all done beautifully. The soundtrack is subdued and atmospheric, kicking in during combat to increase the drama. If you enjoyed Wind Waker, you'll love Twilight Princess. 4/5. Expand
  35. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    Zelda Twilight Princess kicks butt! While starting out slow the game picks up! Like traditional Zelda games in the past Twilight Princess gives you challenging puzzles, mysterious dungeons, damaging weapons, and plenty of twists and turns that will have you coming back for more! Skyward Sword should not disapoint considering Zelda a Link to the Past is my favorite game of all time!
  36. Jul 31, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Although this is one of my absolute favorite Zelda games I can't give it a 10. The story fits in beautifully after Majora's Mask, the graphics and music is absolutely amazing. I love the twists and turns throughout the story, the villains, and how you finally, FINALLY get to sword fight Gannondorf. Even your guide/assistant (Midna) is enjoyable because you get to know the backstory of her and her people (Personal Theory: Her people are the ones who made Majora's Mask). I enjoy the twilight realm and how you can turn into a beast....the bosses are fun and the temples are interesting BUT as much as I love this game there are still a few problems.

    My biggest problem with this game on the Wii.... Link is RIGHT handed. No joke, LINK.... notoriously and ALWAYS LEFT handed before, is now RIGHT handed. Continuity issue! Sure, I understand why they did it with the wii-mote controls and such (you swing the wii-mote to swing the sword and most people are right handed and it would be weird to be cross swinging on the screen) but still. I think it's kinda cool how they utilized the wii-mote in aiming your arrows, swinging the sword, etc but the issue is still present and as a major Zelda fan and it irks me to no end and is the main reason I can't give this a 10.
    Secondly, what the hell is up with Gannon? He looks like an old man in curlers.... they should have kept the design and improved the graphics from OoT's Gannon.
    Thirdly, the fight with Zant is just... bad. He's intimidating up until you fight him and after you do or in any replays of the game you can't take him seriously anymore because he fights like he's having a little temper-tantrum.
    Fourthly- For a Zelda game, it is a bit on the easy side (not that it really takes away from it and is a great way to introduce new players to the franchise) and sadly, being on the wii, it doesn't have HD capabilities meaning there are some jagged edges and blurriness but even so, it still looks nice and is still improved from the N64 graphics by a lot
    Finally- the ending makes Link seem kinda retarded with what Midna (almost) says to him. I REALLY am hoping for Midna to return in another Zelda game... a sequel to Twilight Princess story wise keeping the same (or better) graphics and music etc.

    I still love this game though, even on the wii it's amazing...story, music, graphics, gameplay, it's all there and fantastic and solid.
    Expand
  37. Jul 22, 2013
    9
    The first Zelda game I played and it did not disappoint! One of he many aspects I like in videogames is the darkness in it. Twilight Princess is full of dark moments, with the Arbiter's Grounds and the Palace of Twilight being my favourite examples with dark themes, even though most of the game is fairly dark. The graphics look REALLY and the game introduced some of my favouriteThe first Zelda game I played and it did not disappoint! One of he many aspects I like in videogames is the darkness in it. Twilight Princess is full of dark moments, with the Arbiter's Grounds and the Palace of Twilight being my favourite examples with dark themes, even though most of the game is fairly dark. The graphics look REALLY and the game introduced some of my favourite characters in the Zelda franchise, such as Midna and Zant (The Postman is also getting a mention because you can't disregard a guy who does his job well!) i also LOVED the wolf mechanic since wolves are my favourite animals and who wouldn't love clawing and biting your enemies to death! But there is something about this game that really isn't appealing to me but I'm not sure what it is. The game starts of REALLY slow (and stays that way until you get the Master Sword which is after THREE sungeons and vanishing all of the Twilight from Hyrule!) Some sidequests are pretty annoning (that game in Castle Town with the clawshots. Anyone?) Some of the main missions are pretty boring. (Oh look there's an owl statue. Let's take that away with the Dominion Rod. Oh look a book. GREAT! Wait, I have to get more of these things!?...) and some of the dungeons are pretty irritating (City in the Sky is pretty irritating but the Lakebed Temple just takes the cake which seem to be a theme is Zelda games with Water temples being so annoying!) But Twilight Princess is still a great game and you should definitely play it! Expand
  38. Jan 1, 2014
    10
    Twilight princess is an incredible game the game is huge the mature feel of the games is great .graphics and sounds are perfect the controls are flawless
    The game is phenomenal and you will love it
  39. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    Ocarina you can such it...this is the best Zelda game of all time. This is one hell of a game and to go in on every detail would take forever. This feels very much like ocarina with the added difference of the Twilight. Now this is dark compared to windwaker this could be resident evil. If you want this is further darkened by the fact that in this game there is no voice acting. This couldOcarina you can such it...this is the best Zelda game of all time. This is one hell of a game and to go in on every detail would take forever. This feels very much like ocarina with the added difference of the Twilight. Now this is dark compared to windwaker this could be resident evil. If you want this is further darkened by the fact that in this game there is no voice acting. This could be one of the downfalls, I think its time for Nintendo to move on. The wii controls are a total enchantments to the experience and helps in every way. You don't control every move but its better than a button in every way. With all the advantages of the wii nothing beats the shooting mechanics and its accuracy. The wolf is also a great addition giving different gameplay opportunities that Link did not offer....it also helps with travelling later on which could get tedious. The game is epic to say the least, not to mention the vast amount of side quests on offer you could spend hours on the game and didn't even touch the main story line. The dungeons are also awesome some of them similar to ocarina but revamped. This is the Zelda universe but a re imagined and alive one. The game will test you especially when it comes to puzzles and all round adventuring, I would have liked a more challenging bosses but that is a small one because all the rest makes up for it. The game also happens to look beautiful which obviously adds to the credentials. The whole game runs smoothly keeping in mind that this is the biggest game in Zelda history. The cinematic could be better but this is again nit-picking at an impressive graphical presentation. When it comes to music its a missed one the orchestrated sections are perfect but the ones with the keyboards are just annoying. On the whole Twilight princess is one of the greatest games I ever played. This is a must own if you have a wii. Expand
  40. Sep 4, 2011
    9
    This game is absolutely amazing! Although the graphics seem a little outdated, the puzzles are really unique, and the story is absolutely fantastic! The story line is so unique I think this could be rivaling some movies and shooter games. Not to mention the game takes 50-70 hours to finish on your first try.
  41. Oct 8, 2011
    9
    An amazing adventure game, if you play for at least an hour, you'll feel like your in Hyrule. The story is completely brilliant, puzzles are just as, well puzzling, graphics were great, and the level design is so detailed, the whole game blew my mind.
  42. Oct 21, 2012
    10
    I didn't play own a Zelda game until early 2008. The cover didn't really interest me and I didn't know too much about the franchise. One day I took a break from Super Mario Galaxy and started playing it. The start was slow, but still pretty good. When the true part of the game started, I was amazed. I played for over two hours until I beat the first dungeon. The graphics were wonderful,I didn't play own a Zelda game until early 2008. The cover didn't really interest me and I didn't know too much about the franchise. One day I took a break from Super Mario Galaxy and started playing it. The start was slow, but still pretty good. When the true part of the game started, I was amazed. I played for over two hours until I beat the first dungeon. The graphics were wonderful, adding a touch of realism to a fantasy action-adventure, the story was excellent, the music was phenomenal, the characters were...hit or miss. Zant and Midna were great, but I expected more out of Zelda, you know, the title character? But everything else about this game was near perfection. The dungeon design was great, the items were useful in many different scenarios outside of the dungeons(even the Spinner if you know what you're doing) and just the darn everything was great. Now that I've played more games in the franchise, I can see that it focusses a lot more on sword combat than others. Bottom line: Get this game. Expand
  43. Jun 5, 2014
    10
    A darker Legend of Zelda game that I didn't expect to enjoy as much as the others, but I did. I doubt I will ever be disappointed with a LoZ game. It might be one of the few ones I wouldn't recommend to young children though, it can be pretty scary at points. I loved it.
  44. Oct 13, 2014
    10
    An awesome, lengthy game with a great story and good characters. There are tons of dungeons for you to discover and this game never becomes tedious. The bosses are pretty epic, there are several sidequests that you can attempt to complete, such as fishing, Poe hunting or bug collecting. The world is quite huge and is varied enough so as not to feel boring. The whole game has a dark toneAn awesome, lengthy game with a great story and good characters. There are tons of dungeons for you to discover and this game never becomes tedious. The bosses are pretty epic, there are several sidequests that you can attempt to complete, such as fishing, Poe hunting or bug collecting. The world is quite huge and is varied enough so as not to feel boring. The whole game has a dark tone that is nice to see in a Zelda game. Also, Midna is easily the best companion. You have to play this game! Expand
  45. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    The Legend of Zelda Twilight princess is the most mature take on the Zelda series to date. It is a massive game that redefines realism in the Zelda series. Plot: Link is a farmer in the village of Ordon and is well respected. One evening as he apologizes to one of the villager's, Ilyia for not taking good enough care of his horse, Epona; monsters known as Bulbins abduct her, as he attemptsThe Legend of Zelda Twilight princess is the most mature take on the Zelda series to date. It is a massive game that redefines realism in the Zelda series. Plot: Link is a farmer in the village of Ordon and is well respected. One evening as he apologizes to one of the villager's, Ilyia for not taking good enough care of his horse, Epona; monsters known as Bulbins abduct her, as he attempts to give chase his path is blocked by mysterious dark wall which pulls him inside. As a Twilight Beast is about to murder him, the triforce marking on his hand glows and causes the Twilight Beast to flinch and transforms Link into a Wolf as he goes unconscience but later regains conscienceness in a jail cell. Here he meets the Twilight Imp, Midna who breaks him out and introduces him to Princess Zelda. Zelda tells Link that Hyrule has surrendered to the Twilight beasts led by Zant and that because of the darkness all humans are now lost souls who now know nothing but fear. Midna returns Link back to Ordon and meets the Spirit of Light, Faron. Faron gives Link the Vessel of Light and tells Link that in each province to collect a Vessel of Light from each Spirit of Light and to then collect all Tears of Light from each area to restore light and to return back to his former self. After Link restores light to the province of Ordon, Faron gives Link the Hero of Time's ancient clothes and tells Link that the force of darkness within the woods must be stopped. After Link defeats Diababa, a fragment of the Fused Shadow appears. Midna tells Link that if they collect all three Fused Shadows and return light, then they can defeat Zant and his army. Compared to The Legend of Zelda Ocarina of Time: The horse gameplay is much more realistic, as well as extended boundarys, Hyrule Field is divided into four lengthy sections, whearas in OOT it was one section that can't compare to one leg of TP's field. Wolf gameplay: not very revolutionary although it is very original but very limited, can't complain. My opinion: This is a great Wii launch title and I reccommend this to any gamer, any Zelda fan, and anyone interested in medieval settings or questing. This is a game so original, realistic, and true to the Zelda franchise should be played through at least once. Expand
  46. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    An amazing story, jaw-dropping gameplay, interesting puzzles, great music, addicting minigames, and classic Zelda design; this is one of the best games on the Wii and quite possibly the greatest Zelda yet.
  47. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    The Legend of Zelda Twilight Princess was my first Zelda ever, and thus, it definitely caused an impact on me. It immediately make me a fan of the series since. The game is simply beautiful, both on its scale and story, and it is without a doubt one of the best games I have ever played. It is probably the longest and most rewarding game I also happen to come across. Every bit of it is joltThe Legend of Zelda Twilight Princess was my first Zelda ever, and thus, it definitely caused an impact on me. It immediately make me a fan of the series since. The game is simply beautiful, both on its scale and story, and it is without a doubt one of the best games I have ever played. It is probably the longest and most rewarding game I also happen to come across. Every bit of it is jolt with such perfection that it is simply incredible. It may not have some of the amazing creativity and innovation of the latest Skyward Sword, but I do guess it is rounded with a little bit more of heart, when you look at how long and simply flawless it is. The story, full of lovely characters is one not to be forgotten and it really makes you feel like the like the hero, the one and only, hero of time! Another Nintendo masterpiece! Expand
  48. Mar 9, 2012
    5
    Bought the game but became bored after a couple of hours realising its just the same game as the n64 zeldas, needs gameplay originality.
  49. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    9.5 rounds up to a 10. One of the best Wii games around: long and engaging story line, beautiful surroundings, great music and a wide variety of enemies. The game plays fantastic and never gets boring due to collectibles and minigames. Only downside might be the iffy camera at times.
  50. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    The appearance of the regular series villain was also good to see. The art direction was a nice choice on the part of Nintendo, giving fans the more cinematic approach they really wanted, after the Wind Waker's cartoony look. the only downside to that was that being a wii Game it did not have HD capabilities meaning jagged edges and blurriness.
  51. Nov 13, 2011
    8
    Not the best Zelda game, but it does have some serious competition in that field!

    I recently went back to this game, in preparation for Skyward Sword. I can't believe I never finished it! Graphically it could be better - the Wii has proven itself in this area since - but for a launch title/late Gamecube game, it looks very nice. Nintendo have rarely repeated a graphical style for Zelda
    Not the best Zelda game, but it does have some serious competition in that field!

    I recently went back to this game, in preparation for Skyward Sword. I can't believe I never finished it!

    Graphically it could be better - the Wii has proven itself in this area since - but for a launch title/late Gamecube game, it looks very nice. Nintendo have rarely repeated a graphical style for Zelda games, and this is another new style for them. It lacks the character of Wind Waker before it, but works well with what it does.

    The adventure and story are very exciting, as you'd expect, with several new elements to mix with the standard swordplay, slingshot and everything else you know will be in a Zelda game.

    The controls are a weak point in my opinion. Mapping items to the D-pad makes it awkward to select them. Waving the remote to initiate an attack makes the game more tiring than it would otherwise be. Aiming projectiles is a real benefit though with the remote. Otherwise the controls are functional, but I would prefer to be able to use a Classic Controller or Gamecube controller. Of course, you COULD play the GC version on your Wii (or GC) but we're reviewing the Wii version here.

    Playing TP again has really got me excited for Skyward Sword. I just hope I manage to complete it in the next 5 days so I can move on to SS ;)
    Expand
  52. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Gaming all my life since the 2600 days. I've got to say this is one awsome game. I liked to use of wii controls and the graphics are nice for a launch wii title. If you like rpg's and you have a wii pick this one up. Buy It!!
  53. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Need I say Anything about Twilight Princess It's a master Piece for the Wii alongside other Early Wii Lauch titles like Sonic and the Secret Rings, Super Mario Galaxy, Rayman Raving Rabbids and Resident Evil 4. Expand
  54. Jun 19, 2014
    10
    Twilight Princess has the richest overworld in the Zelda franchise while still managing to have interesting characters and fantastically crafted dungeons. The art style is beautiful and immersive, and the fresh ideas the game introduces are outstanding.
  55. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    My best game of all time, with a cool graphics incredible story and a lots of quests. The giant Hyrule field is a thing that i've appreciated. Good job Nintendo.
  56. Sep 11, 2013
    9
    My favourite dive into the Zelda universe which feels slightly darker and yet familiar. The graphical look is more realistic than other Zelda games and the world feels more expansive and deeper than other titles. I prefer Link at this age, and I also love his ability to become a wolf which works very well with his scent and howling abilities.
    The items in this game are the usual lot but
    My favourite dive into the Zelda universe which feels slightly darker and yet familiar. The graphical look is more realistic than other Zelda games and the world feels more expansive and deeper than other titles. I prefer Link at this age, and I also love his ability to become a wolf which works very well with his scent and howling abilities.
    The items in this game are the usual lot but feel more useful in a world where where you should use them is not quite so obvious.
    Temples are engaging as ever, and get a good balance of puzzles in.

    Thoroughly deserves it's place in a gamer's game rack.
    Expand
  57. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    A game that is as near to perfection as a wii game is possible to get. The storyline was fantastic. and expanded on the game play of OOT. The appearance of the regular series villain was also good to see. The art direction was a nice choice on the part of Nintendo, giving fans the more cinematic approach they really wanted, after the Wind Waker's cartoony look. the only downside to thatA game that is as near to perfection as a wii game is possible to get. The storyline was fantastic. and expanded on the game play of OOT. The appearance of the regular series villain was also good to see. The art direction was a nice choice on the part of Nintendo, giving fans the more cinematic approach they really wanted, after the Wind Waker's cartoony look. the only downside to that was that being a wii Game it did not have HD capabilities meaning jagged edges and blurriness. The only faults the game has is being too easy, apart from that the level designs are excellent, and the bosses are fun. I had a jolly good time playing it! Expand
  58. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    This was the first Zelda game that I completed. I would say the most outstanding part is the gameplay the game's packed, there's like a dozen weapons tools which you unlock thorough the game and they keep adding new ways of interacting with the environment, so it never feels repetitive and there's always something new to do. I was disappointed by boss battles they were too easy. A bossThis was the first Zelda game that I completed. I would say the most outstanding part is the gameplay the game's packed, there's like a dozen weapons tools which you unlock thorough the game and they keep adding new ways of interacting with the environment, so it never feels repetitive and there's always something new to do. I was disappointed by boss battles they were too easy. A boss needs to be a boss, not only look like one but also pose an obstacle to the player. I liked the artistic style (pity it's not an HD title). The story is quite simple, yet engaging. Highly recommended game. Expand
  59. Aug 10, 2014
    10
    One of the finest games ever made, and definitely the best Zelda game to date. A definition of the action/adventure genre, and a true gem.

    This game will take you 50++ hours to complete, and you will not want to put down the controller untill you've saved Hyrule and the Princess Zelda.
  60. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    This is the best zelda game, nay, the greatest Nintendo game. I think that the gamecube version is better than the Wii's, but maybe it's just me. This game is everything that I loved about Ocarina of Time, but with new gameplay, characters, and just awesomeness. Get it if you don't already have it.
  61. Sep 18, 2011
    9
    In terms of innovation, this Zelda game really hit the nail on the head. The controls were very interactive, even though there were times they could have been better. The graphics are pretty impressive for the Wii and even more so unlike anything on any other Zelda game before it. The story seems to trail off a little bit and the world feels different but it doesn't disappoint. Easily aIn terms of innovation, this Zelda game really hit the nail on the head. The controls were very interactive, even though there were times they could have been better. The graphics are pretty impressive for the Wii and even more so unlike anything on any other Zelda game before it. The story seems to trail off a little bit and the world feels different but it doesn't disappoint. Easily a classic addition to the Zelda series. It was bewildering to see the world of Hyrule in a different light. The story progresses nicely, there is plenty to do and explore but not an insurmountable amount of item gathering, which is good for my tastes. It is decent in length especially if you try to get 100% and it does boast some challenging levels. Love it or hate it, I think it really comes down to if you like action/adventure games and even more so if you like the Zelda storyline. Although, I personal believe it stands out all on its own. I highly recommend this game. Expand
  62. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Not as revolutionary as Ocarina of Time, but still shines very well and is possibly the definitive Zelda title. Packed with deep gameplay made famous by Ocarina of Time, a dark, well written story, great content, and amazing soundtrack, this is a game any gamer at all will not want to miss. Anybody that doesn't have a Nintendo console, go buy a Gamecube or Wii, and play this game.
  63. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    For role playing games fans this is the absolute best, top of the line game out there. First of all there is a very well thought storyline and a dynamic in-game plot, with an excellent and interesting development throughout the entire game that will keep you deeply submerged into it at all times. The characters are great too, we have the traditional heroes and villas but also newcomersFor role playing games fans this is the absolute best, top of the line game out there. First of all there is a very well thought storyline and a dynamic in-game plot, with an excellent and interesting development throughout the entire game that will keep you deeply submerged into it at all times. The characters are great too, we have the traditional heroes and villas but also newcomers appear, all of them brilliant. Beautiful and colorful scenarios are all over the game, constructing an astonishing world to walk, explore, gallop and fight in. The gameplay is amazingly good, with great controls and a very complex yet comfortable battle interface with multiple options and numerous weapons that never gets old. A nice soundtrack taken from previous games and some of it original too will accompany you during the adventure. Truly a videogame that will make you go through the utmost excitement and a greatly entertaining experience. Definitely an instant classic, a flawless and awesome adventure that you will not forget. Expand
  64. May 5, 2013
    9
    This isn't close to being the best Zelda. But I've had so much fun with this game it's hard to care. This game is just so full of stuff to do that it can take over 50 hours for one playthrough. Definitely worth a but especially because it's only 20 dollars!
  65. Dec 3, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great atmosphere and artistic style
    + Good dungeon design
    + Most well-made character-driven story in Zelda still.

    - Easy all-around, and boss battles are consistently let-downs for anyone who's beaten Ocarina of Time or like.
    - The size of the world doesn't balance out very well with the content it holds. It lacks life and is generally poorly realised
    - The final bossfight is a huge let-down. It feels downright mediocre and tacked-on.
    - The story falls apart towards the last section, and the payoff could've been a lot better.

    Overall, this is still a very memorable Zelda game, but even after my first playthrough when I was only 12 years old, I was disappointed at the final section of the game and I did notice how simplistic and downright cakewalks the boss-battles were, particularly the second and third ones. The final boss just felt hamfisted and honestly I don't know if Nintendo were rushed or just didn't feel the fire for it. It was a huge missed opportunity and it highly diminished another "antagonist's" role in the game.

    8/10: A very good game in its own right, but maybe not a very good Zelda game.
    Expand
  66. Jan 7, 2014
    9
    I really loved this game, it's one of 3 reasons I still have my Wii. I actually liked it better than Skyward Sword. The only criticism I have is I wasn't very compelled to explore away from where I had to go. There are a lot of secret areas I missed... for example I never went to the bug collector's house. But maybe that's just me.
  67. Nov 20, 2011
    7
    A mediocre Zelda game.

    Nothing new added in what seems like a misguided attempt at making Ocarina of Time 2.0. Tedious oppening, boring wolf sections and item bloat. Once you get the master sword however, the game really does become like OoT, which while feeling dated, does obviously make it highly enjoyable. Some stunning boss fights let down by their simplicity in their
    A mediocre Zelda game.

    Nothing new added in what seems like a misguided attempt at making Ocarina of Time 2.0.

    Tedious oppening, boring wolf sections and item bloat.

    Once you get the master sword however, the game really does become like OoT, which while feeling dated, does obviously make it highly enjoyable.

    Some stunning boss fights let down by their simplicity in their defeat.

    Great horseback combat that is crimminally underused.

    You'll wonder how you ever did without pointer controlls for the bow.
    Expand
  68. Feb 13, 2012
    10
    Okay I'm too tired to write a full review so im just gonna say it: This game is good, very good I would recommend anyone that dont know the zelda franchise to start with this one.
  69. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    second best game ever. yyyyyyyyyyayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy.zelda ss has best gameplay
  70. Jan 18, 2013
    9
    excellent solid title. Midna is a great character in the game. Wolf Link is a lot of fun and very different. The temples and items in this game are amazing. The dark plot makes it feel like an old school Zelda title in a new generation and time. Better than Skyward Sword in my opinion.
  71. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    I adore this game to no end and is definletley the best Zelda game so far. It is also the #1 game on my favourite games list. It is just about perfect. A comprehensive story, great gameplay, excellent mechanics, dark and mature, but doesn't let of that Zelda style we all know and love. In my opinion this is just about the greatest RPG ever (and for all of you that don't consider Zelda anI adore this game to no end and is definletley the best Zelda game so far. It is also the #1 game on my favourite games list. It is just about perfect. A comprehensive story, great gameplay, excellent mechanics, dark and mature, but doesn't let of that Zelda style we all know and love. In my opinion this is just about the greatest RPG ever (and for all of you that don't consider Zelda an RPG, you're stupid, it is) by FAR the best Zelda game, and just about the greatest game ever developed. My absolute favourite game ever! Expand
  72. Jul 24, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. a fair but disappointing game for the zelda series; hyrule is empty and desolate, there are few sidequests, the ending boss fight is a disappointment!

    PLOT SPOILERS AHEAD!

    zant was a huge letdown! they built him up to be this evil, demonic, bad guy and what happens at the end? he ends up being a kook! it just totally destroys the whole build up of zant! and why did they throw in ganondorf at the end! the plot was going good with zant being the main villian! it felt like nintendo ran out of ideas with zant and was,like," yeahhhhh..... lets just throw in ganondorf!" also the temples were not immersive, the soundtrack was abysmal, and the twilight realm was uninteresting! so the characters are trapped in an alternate realm and they dont know about it? so basically theyre just continuing life as it is and their life is not in danger? so what? hyrule did not feel like it was in any immediate danger and nobody was aware of it, and nobody was bothered by it honestly! so why bother trying to save hyrule? no body's life is in danger or at risk!

    nowwww ill talk about the good aspects of twilight! exploration was fun to a certain extent, nice graphics, some interesting puzzle mechanics here and there, variety of destinations to go to, annnnnnd some good enemy battles sprinkled throughout the game and uhhhhh, a fairly engaging story butttt uhhhhhh.... yeah thats it

    overall though, nintendo you disappointed me; im hoping skyward will be the one to beat ocarina of time in the end

    6 out of 10!
    Expand
  73. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    A truly great game in the series. I love how they dared to blend it up with dark environments big parts of the game. I think they went more for the mature segment of the Zelda series (which I think is the biggest), which is probably why the game recieved the rating T (for teen).

    Compared to Skyward sword which is rated e10+ (for everyone above 10 years old), I think it offers a greater
    A truly great game in the series. I love how they dared to blend it up with dark environments big parts of the game. I think they went more for the mature segment of the Zelda series (which I think is the biggest), which is probably why the game recieved the rating T (for teen).

    Compared to Skyward sword which is rated e10+ (for everyone above 10 years old), I think it offers a greater diversity. Its a more solid experience. If the hardware in Wii was better I can imagine the graphics would have been great. The fantasy feeling combined with just enough realism. I skyrim with the Zelda simplicity and classic game mechanics. Recommended!
    Expand
  74. Sep 19, 2013
    9
    In Twilight Princess, Link can turn into a wolf. At first, there are human and wolf parts, buf later you'll be able to transform into one whenever you want. Link's companion in this game is Midna. At first she seems like a rude, selfish, criminal, but as you progress she becomes a better character. The story is good, so is the gameplay, dungeons, items, and minigames. That is basically whyIn Twilight Princess, Link can turn into a wolf. At first, there are human and wolf parts, buf later you'll be able to transform into one whenever you want. Link's companion in this game is Midna. At first she seems like a rude, selfish, criminal, but as you progress she becomes a better character. The story is good, so is the gameplay, dungeons, items, and minigames. That is basically why I gave this a 9/10 Expand
  75. Nov 6, 2010
    10
    Screw Ocarina, this is the best game ever. If I'm asked to recommend either the Wii or GC version though, I'd pick the original GC one. It isn't 'mirrored' like the Wii version is, and the controls won't leave you with an aching arm.

    You simply can't go wrong with TP. It is by far the best video game ever made, surpassing even the greats like Metal Gear Solid 3 and Super Mario Galaxy 2.
  76. Apr 1, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game has glimpses of great level design but they are few and far between. The bosses, although interesting, are a bit too easy. The over-world is big, but seems so empty. The second from last boss (Zant) just runs through previous bosses that you have faced, which is disappointing. Quite a lot of the heart pieces are found in dungeons, which could have been used to fill out the over-world more. Even with its flaws, I still enjoyed the temples and bosses. It is a fun and enjoyable game. Recommended. Expand
  77. Feb 17, 2013
    10
    At first the game darkness and the whole beast link human link might seem weird, but as the game goes on, everything is just spectacular... cinematography, gameplay, puzzles... the whole history makes a lot of sense at the end (while in the beginning you might feel lost and wondering why do you actually have to play as a wolf). At the end, you'll feel like you have truly finished aAt first the game darkness and the whole beast link human link might seem weird, but as the game goes on, everything is just spectacular... cinematography, gameplay, puzzles... the whole history makes a lot of sense at the end (while in the beginning you might feel lost and wondering why do you actually have to play as a wolf). At the end, you'll feel like you have truly finished a legend. Cannot think of negative aspects of this game, blew me out! And it just gets better and better... Expand
  78. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    Twilight Princess gave us so many things that Ocarina of Time instilled, and added enough that resulted in an amazing game. I would be lying if I said this game was a masterpiece because in my opinion, there were some problems in terms of pacing and although the graphics appeared great at some points, at other points, the game was covered with bland textures. Despite this, the more darkerTwilight Princess gave us so many things that Ocarina of Time instilled, and added enough that resulted in an amazing game. I would be lying if I said this game was a masterpiece because in my opinion, there were some problems in terms of pacing and although the graphics appeared great at some points, at other points, the game was covered with bland textures. Despite this, the more darker look of the game fits the darker theme of the game perfectly. Link's wolf form is a very welcome addition, despite some tedious collecting points in the game. The story in Twilight Princess is epic as hell, again revealing a darker side to the series. If I could give this game somewhere between a 9 and 10 on metacritic, I would but I can't so, I will settle for the lesser of the scores, because again the game, at least for me is not considered a masterpiece, but is an amazing experience. Expand
  79. Mar 25, 2011
    9
    This game is great! The graphics are awesome, the gameplay is amazing, and the RPG elements (including: multiple items to discover, health potions, and sand-box) are completely showing. Great boss fights mean this is an all-round complete, and crystal clear, addition to the Zelda series.
  80. Apr 13, 2011
    9
    This is my favorite Zelda game of all the series but i havent had the chance to play Ocarina of Time yet.Wind Waker is a close second but its not the best.Twilight Princess is an awsome adventure game that you will never want to stop playing.
  81. Jan 24, 2013
    9
    To me this was the best Zelda game in the series. The task of getting the master sword was so awesome and unique, it was a lot better than just walking into the temple of time and removing it from the pedestal. The art style is one of my favorites, but what kept this game from receiving a 10 was that it was ported from the GCN and the graphics weren't what they could have been.
  82. Jun 30, 2012
    7
    I could write a massively eloquent review about this game like I usually do with others, but I'm not in the mood so I will say this: The first time I played it when it came out, it blew my expectations away and I completed it 100% in a week. But I tried replaying it the other day and I almost wanted to kill myself, it's very strange and I'm sure I could elaborate. But I think the matter isI could write a massively eloquent review about this game like I usually do with others, but I'm not in the mood so I will say this: The first time I played it when it came out, it blew my expectations away and I completed it 100% in a week. But I tried replaying it the other day and I almost wanted to kill myself, it's very strange and I'm sure I could elaborate. But I think the matter is that this game doesn't have much replay value, which is surprising for a Zelda game. Maybe it's all the wolf parts or the unusual Ocarina of Time butt-kissing, but it's something strange and I never plan on playing this game again. But I will be fair because I remember the first time playing it was like playing Ocarina of Time for the first time. And that will stay with me for a long time. Expand
  83. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Amazing!!
    Verdict: This game for me is the best Zelda game ever!! The graphics are nice for the wii but the art style is just brilliant. The controls are amazing and the story and music is brilliant. A must have game to be in your collection.
    Presentation:10/10 Gameplay:10/10 Sound:10/10 Graphics:10/10 Replay Value:10/10 Overall:10/10.
  84. Jan 23, 2014
    10
    Severely underrated and one of the best zelda games ever that shouldn't be missed out by anyone. I don't care how different or realistic this game is, Twilight Princess is a magnificent game.
  85. Jun 8, 2011
    0
    This was a terrible game in comparison to OoT and Majoras Mask, I am ashamed at the direction Nintendo went with this

    Too easy bosses, no love at all

    Does not deserve such a high rating, I beat it once and have no desire ever to touch it again
  86. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    No doubts. The best game for the wii and the best zelda besides majoras mask. The length is much longer than any other zelda if you tried a speed run in all of them and the dungeons are my favorite in the series. The boss fights are the most memorable and it's all around a fantastic game.
  87. Oct 26, 2012
    9
    My favorite Zelda game of all time is Twilight Princess. The gameplay is the high point of the game, reinforced by its precise controls and easy navigation. Twilight Princess' atmosphere is also greatly enhanced by its beautiful score. The story is a bit dicey in places but still holds together well with its other elements and doesn't seem to sour the experience at all.
  88. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    Twilight Princess is probably not the best Zelda game, but it is indeed one of the best Wii games. Great visuals and music, Comfortable controls, good story, and thanks to a lot of side-quests 60+ hours length
  89. Aug 6, 2013
    9
    Wow! Just wow!

    If you're looking for a great Zelda experience, this is it! Never have I played a more amazing Zelda titles since Ocarina of Time! This game takes the elements that we loved about Ocarina of Time and mixes it up into something completely different while still retaining what we loved so much from the N64 masterpiece. This personally one of my favorite Zelda titles! The
    Wow! Just wow!

    If you're looking for a great Zelda experience, this is it! Never have I played a more amazing Zelda titles since Ocarina of Time! This game takes the elements that we loved about Ocarina of Time and mixes it up into something completely different while still retaining what we loved so much from the N64 masterpiece. This personally one of my favorite Zelda titles!

    The Wii version is inferior to the Gamecube's version due to the requirement of Nunchuck and Wii-remote waggling, but it's not that bad either. If you own a Wii, and like the waggling controls, don't be afraid to pick this one up, but I still recommend the Gamecube version.
    Expand
  90. Nov 4, 2010
    3
    The only Zelda games I have played prior to this title was "OOT", "Link to the Past", and "The Legend of Zelda." Going into this game I really wanted to like it. It started out really slow, and then it got really boring. The story was also awkward. You turn into a wolf with some giggly little cat looking thing on your back. Eventually you turn back into Link; and even he looks weird.The only Zelda games I have played prior to this title was "OOT", "Link to the Past", and "The Legend of Zelda." Going into this game I really wanted to like it. It started out really slow, and then it got really boring. The story was also awkward. You turn into a wolf with some giggly little cat looking thing on your back. Eventually you turn back into Link; and even he looks weird. I'm not one who stops playing a game halfway through it, but unfortunately I will have to on this one. Expand
  91. May 15, 2011
    9
    In my mind the best Zelda game. The plot and atmosphere the game creates is essentially brilliant. It honestly feels like it should be a movie, not a game (and I mean that in a good way! this isn't like Final Fantasy!) that being said, it does suffer from what every other 3D Zelda game has suffered from and that is that some sections (ESPECIALLY the temples) drag on WAAY too long. It'sIn my mind the best Zelda game. The plot and atmosphere the game creates is essentially brilliant. It honestly feels like it should be a movie, not a game (and I mean that in a good way! this isn't like Final Fantasy!) that being said, it does suffer from what every other 3D Zelda game has suffered from and that is that some sections (ESPECIALLY the temples) drag on WAAY too long. It's just puzzle after puzzle after puzzle and it's so boring, so frustrating and so unnecessary. Besides that, this is one of the best Wii games, and like I said the best Zelda. Expand
  92. Apr 17, 2012
    9
    This is the best Zelda game I played from Ocarina of Time. Simple. Dot. I'd like more dungeons or quests, but anyway it's a great game, with good graphics and enjoyable characters.
  93. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    This is the best Legend of Zelda game that I have ever played. The graphics, story line, enemies/bosses, and soundtrack are all very good. The graphics are good quality and the edges of models are good and smooth when shown up close. The story line is incredibly engaging and is original. The enemies are good and varied, and the bosses are the way they should be: multiple types of attacksThis is the best Legend of Zelda game that I have ever played. The graphics, story line, enemies/bosses, and soundtrack are all very good. The graphics are good quality and the edges of models are good and smooth when shown up close. The story line is incredibly engaging and is original. The enemies are good and varied, and the bosses are the way they should be: multiple types of attacks and a specific weakness. The soundtrack is original and very fitting to the current situations. For example, the music during the final boss battle is shockingly dramatic with a heavy rhythm and very low notes, and a very dark sound about it. In contrast, the music at the beginning of the game that you hear when in Ordon Village is very soft and calm, because nothing bad has happened yet, as far as you know. What I like very much is the ending. It brings about a feeling of a new start and things going back to normal after the horrible events that followed the light being taken away from the spirits. Expand
  94. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    Like most Zelda games, they usher in a new era of gaming. Rarely do they ever get a bad review. This is a game that I found worthwile. They managed to do something that Sega failed at, and made one of the most memorable game of the series. For those who were dissapointed by Wind Waker, this game made thwm believe in the saga once again. With the introduction of both Midna and Zant, thisLike most Zelda games, they usher in a new era of gaming. Rarely do they ever get a bad review. This is a game that I found worthwile. They managed to do something that Sega failed at, and made one of the most memorable game of the series. For those who were dissapointed by Wind Waker, this game made thwm believe in the saga once again. With the introduction of both Midna and Zant, this game doesn't have the typical bad guys. When I got this game when I was 8, I solved all of the puzzles with relative ease. The game's bosses were scarier than anything I found in any of my games. I would always run to my dad shouting, "Dad! There's a big monster on the screen!" And I would start crying. He always killed the bosses while I solved the puzzles. We bonded over that game. It took me a while to defeat Zant by myself and Ganon. But I did. This is one of the best games I have had the joy of playing. Expand
  95. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    Just flawless. Superb story, superb gameplay, keeps surprising. It's fresh but nostalgic. Certainly one of the best games I've ever played. My only gripe is that once you have completed it 100%, it doesn't offer too many incentives to continue playing.
  96. Nov 5, 2011
    7
    I consider myself a bit of a Nintendo fanboy, particularly when it comes to the Zelda franchise, and I was looking forward to the release of Twilight Princess with an almost feverish fervour. The end product did not quite meet my expectations. Dont get me wrong, it is still a good game, but it doesnt quite match some of the best moments of the series (Ocarina of Time, heres looking atI consider myself a bit of a Nintendo fanboy, particularly when it comes to the Zelda franchise, and I was looking forward to the release of Twilight Princess with an almost feverish fervour. The end product did not quite meet my expectations. Dont get me wrong, it is still a good game, but it doesnt quite match some of the best moments of the series (Ocarina of Time, heres looking at you). Good points: 1.The dungeons are for the most part classic Nintendo ingenuity, with perfectly crafted puzzles and some really impressive boss fights. 2. Combat is well executed and feels like it takes what previous 3d Zelda games have done and polishes the mechanics to a finer lustre. Bad points now: 1. The overworld map is too large. Maybe that sounds like an odd complaint, but it just feels too empty with a lack of hidden secrets or enemies, so that traversing it just feels like killing time rather than exploring, 2. Its just no fun being the wolf. It feels like a punishment, having all your items removed, and having the finely tuned combat controls replaced with the limited and sluggish collect-em-up sections that constitute the twilight/wolf sections of the game. It is by no means my least favourite Zelda title, and if it didnt have it's ancestors to live up to, it would be a great standalone game, but I was hoping for and expecting more. I am replaying it at the moment in anticipation of Skyward Sword, and all the time I am playing it, I am hoping that the games mistakes will be rectified and the successes will be built upon for Zeldas future. Expand
  97. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    First off: All those people that rated bad I cant blame you your just pissed that you couldn't figure out the controls, or had enough talent to finish the game so you rate it bad because you have suckish hand-eye coordination, it's understandable.
    Second: The graphic are amazing in this game. The best Zelda so far, to be honest. Windwaker had more animation then Zelda Twilight Princess and
    First off: All those people that rated bad I cant blame you your just pissed that you couldn't figure out the controls, or had enough talent to finish the game so you rate it bad because you have suckish hand-eye coordination, it's understandable.
    Second: The graphic are amazing in this game. The best Zelda so far, to be honest. Windwaker had more animation then Zelda Twilight Princess and I enjoy really realistic games. Third: All those people who talk about the wolf form and how Link gets stuck in wolf form, well thats part of the plot dumbo, he's supposed to. That is what is supposed to happen and I also like being in wolf form and how you can have night vision and stuff
    Forth: Whoever says that some of the ideas of Twilight Princess are copied from other Zeldas, well why not take a few things here and there to spice it up? Zelda is all one big series and it's not barbaric to take a few ideas from other Zelda games, geesh.
    Fifth: One last thing, if you can;t finish the game, don;t blame it on the controls, because to be honest it's just you screwing up and getting agitated because you don't have enough strategic skill to complete the game.
    Expand
  98. Jul 28, 2012
    9
    This game is amazing but the wolf fetch parts are kind of tedius but if you can power through them then your in for one of the best games of this generation!!!
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 73
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 73
  3. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. 100
    An excellent addition (and homage to "Ocarina") to the franchise, and you'll have an enormous amount of fun playing it from start to finish. Get over the fact that the Wii's hardware is simply not as powerful as the other next-gen machines and get into the fact that Twilight Princess is one of the best games you'll play this year.
  2. It truly is, in my opinion, the best and longest Zelda ever made. With nearly 70 hours of playtime committed and more still to do, I cant think of a better experience or value this holiday season.
  3. 100
    Truly fantastic. It's not a reinvention of the genre like Ocarina was -- but it's much better, because it takes all its predecessors' raw ideas, perfects them, and creates an experience that's at once new and familiar. It's rare to find a launch game that truly justifies the purchase of a new console, but this is precisely that.