User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1358 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 18, 2013
    9
    excellent solid title. Midna is a great character in the game. Wolf Link is a lot of fun and very different. The temples and items in this game are amazing. The dark plot makes it feel like an old school Zelda title in a new generation and time. Better than Skyward Sword in my opinion.
  2. Jul 28, 2012
    9
    This game is amazing but the wolf fetch parts are kind of tedius but if you can power through them then your in for one of the best games of this generation!!!
  3. Sep 2, 2012
    9
    Even though you can't say hands down that Twilight Princess is the best Zelda, to me it is a very good game and is third on the list under Ocarina of Time and A Link to the Past. I was relieved to see Nintendo move away from the kiddish graphics used in Wind Waker, which surprising to me a lot of people liked. This game sometimes had a dark aspect to it, especially when your a wolf, but itEven though you can't say hands down that Twilight Princess is the best Zelda, to me it is a very good game and is third on the list under Ocarina of Time and A Link to the Past. I was relieved to see Nintendo move away from the kiddish graphics used in Wind Waker, which surprising to me a lot of people liked. This game sometimes had a dark aspect to it, especially when your a wolf, but it makes for an interesting adventure. When I play this game it feels more like OoT than Skyward Sword does, and for me that's a big plus. Twilight Princess does a good job having the Zelda aspect needed along with a few new ideas that blend in well with the series. The ending and end bosses of this game are the best part, and possibly the best the series has to offer. I don't want to spoil anything, but your in for some pretty intense battles towards the end. I also liked the story in Twilight Princess more than Skyward Sword, and I think overall it's a better game. Expand
  4. Oct 26, 2012
    9
    My favorite Zelda game of all time is Twilight Princess. The gameplay is the high point of the game, reinforced by its precise controls and easy navigation. Twilight Princess' atmosphere is also greatly enhanced by its beautiful score. The story is a bit dicey in places but still holds together well with its other elements and doesn't seem to sour the experience at all.
  5. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is nintendo`s way of going dark. Since link turns into a wolf and the princess gets possessed by Ganon I think you see why I said that. Their is a lot of fan serves in this game also some new arrivals like Midna (Shes actually really pretty) and Zant. There is Navi ( Shes not annoying she just is their as your pointer thing) and the one and only Ganon but the real main main boss enemy is Zant but that`s for another day hope you liked my review hope to see you again! Expand
  6. May 5, 2013
    9
    This isn't close to being the best Zelda. But I've had so much fun with this game it's hard to care. This game is just so full of stuff to do that it can take over 50 hours for one playthrough. Definitely worth a but especially because it's only 20 dollars!
  7. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    Twilight Princess is in many ways a near perfect Zelda game. The controls are spot on, the story is standard Zelda fare with a twilight twist, and the world is expansive. In many ways, this game feels like a refinement of the Zelda formula, and this is both a good and a bad thing. It's good because the game is near perfection, with no aspect lagging (except for the music, which only has 2Twilight Princess is in many ways a near perfect Zelda game. The controls are spot on, the story is standard Zelda fare with a twilight twist, and the world is expansive. In many ways, this game feels like a refinement of the Zelda formula, and this is both a good and a bad thing. It's good because the game is near perfection, with no aspect lagging (except for the music, which only has 2 or 3 good tracks). It's bad because the game doesn't feel very different. The graphics are, in my opinion, rather bland as compared to other games, such as the gorgeous Wind Waker. They attempt to make the graphical style very dark in order to add to the whole twilight concept of the game, however it feels more boring than it is dark. Take for example Majora's Mask, a game that had a very dark plot while having great multicolored graphics. Twilight Princess attempts this same darkness, but seems to fail.
    This game is near perfect, and in my opinion it may just be better than Ocarina of Time from a technical and formulaic standpoint. However, it's lack of creativity and ambition seems to hold it back.
    Expand
  8. Mar 3, 2013
    9
    O hype em torno de como seria o novo Zelda no Wii foi grande,Twilight Princess fez muita gente sonhar acordado inclusive eu pois demonstrava direto para meu primo Nintendista fanático as possibilidades que o Wii remote traria com direito até de refazer a cena final de Ocarina of Time onde LinK enfiava a espada na cabeça Gannon, assim nossas expectativas quanto ao jogo aumentava prá lá daO hype em torno de como seria o novo Zelda no Wii foi grande,Twilight Princess fez muita gente sonhar acordado inclusive eu pois demonstrava direto para meu primo Nintendista fanático as possibilidades que o Wii remote traria com direito até de refazer a cena final de Ocarina of Time onde LinK enfiava a espada na cabeça Gannon, assim nossas expectativas quanto ao jogo aumentava prá lá da Via Láctea, e quando finalmente o jogo veio pude conferir o que Shigueru e a Nintendo tinha aprontado e ao jogar quase vi esse Twilight ser melhor que Ocarina. O enredo apesar do mesmo(salve a princesa Zelda de Gannon que irá acabar com Hyrule) de sempre conta como nosso herói se tornou lobo e também o porque do mundo paralelo Light Realm, um dos mais sérios da Legenda, os gráficos são sensacionais desde da construção dos personagens aos cenários, que no Wii, Hyrule está ao contrário do que a versão para Game Cube onde está tudo do jeito certo, os efeitos sonoros são animalescos, as músicas apesar estar no formato MIDI e ter versões remixadas de temas famosos ainda sim são extraordinária sem falar na música de abertura e dos inimigos do Lobo Link são emocionante e sombria respectivamente, o designer de fases dá banho e escola para todas as produtoras ou pessoas que queiram fazer jogos de primeira linha, pois cada Dungeon foi feita de maneira inteligente e faz você usar muito do seu cérebro para resolver tudo e os controles deixei eles por último pois ao mesmo tempo que ele a "revolução" também o motivo de não ter dado 10, graças a lentidão do nunchuk para defender com escudo e a sensibilidade imprecisa do Wii remote com os dois gancho corrente, arco e flecha e outros instrumentos e isso nas horas cruciais do jogo como os puzzles com o tempo acabando e inimigos atacando na surdina com meu life pouco, fizeram com que eu me sentisse incapacitado de guiar Link como se fose um carro que acabou de quebrar a barra de direção no meio da curva, ainda faltou a Nintendo conceber ao nosso herói orelhudo um apretecho inédito que fizesse uso do Wii Motion para alterar de forma original toda a mecânica de jogo (OKAMI elevou o nível) e por causa do Wii remote Link ficou destro fazendo com o que a equipe de produção convertesse também o mapa e a posição dos enigmas nas dungeons me fazendo as vezes sentir que não era a mesma Hyrule de outros Zelda (fora o bug do salve na Vila kakariko) daí a nota 9 (na versão do GC só tiro 0,5 ponto por falta de inovação no controle), mas o fato de você desferir espadadas (só chacoalhando o controle), pescar, usar bugigangas que Link carrega durante a aventura ou derrubar touro pelos chifres muito mais real e legal do que com controle convencional e aí que tiro o chapéu para Nintendo que certamente com o Wii Motion Plus e idéias novas de jogabilidade irá fazer um novo Zelda tão melhor quanto Ocarina of Time. Alex 29/06/2009 Expand
  9. Mar 14, 2013
    9
    The Legend of Zelda series continues to impress in game design with Twilight Princess, Perfecting the formula that has come with previous titles with a dark story, fun bosses and some great characters. the graphics are pretty good for a Wii launch title and I know a lot of people love the dark gritty style of Twilight Princess but I personally prefer the style of Wind Waker or SkywardThe Legend of Zelda series continues to impress in game design with Twilight Princess, Perfecting the formula that has come with previous titles with a dark story, fun bosses and some great characters. the graphics are pretty good for a Wii launch title and I know a lot of people love the dark gritty style of Twilight Princess but I personally prefer the style of Wind Waker or Skyward Sword, I think my main complaint with the game is that it is just a bit too easy, the bosses are not very challenging but they are fun. This was easily the best launch title for the Wii and provides another fantastic adventure for Link to embark on and anyone playing it will enjoy it, the game lasts a solid 30-45 hours depending on how well you play but there is tons of side content that can easily bump that number up to 50-60 hours. Pick this game up and enjoy! Expand
  10. Aug 6, 2013
    9
    Wow! Just wow!

    If you're looking for a great Zelda experience, this is it! Never have I played a more amazing Zelda titles since Ocarina of Time! This game takes the elements that we loved about Ocarina of Time and mixes it up into something completely different while still retaining what we loved so much from the N64 masterpiece. This personally one of my favorite Zelda titles! The
    Wow! Just wow!

    If you're looking for a great Zelda experience, this is it! Never have I played a more amazing Zelda titles since Ocarina of Time! This game takes the elements that we loved about Ocarina of Time and mixes it up into something completely different while still retaining what we loved so much from the N64 masterpiece. This personally one of my favorite Zelda titles!

    The Wii version is inferior to the Gamecube's version due to the requirement of Nunchuck and Wii-remote waggling, but it's not that bad either. If you own a Wii, and like the waggling controls, don't be afraid to pick this one up, but I still recommend the Gamecube version.
    Expand
  11. Aug 14, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Twilight Princess is an amazing game. It has a couple flaws, but it's still fantastic. It won't last you thousands of hours like Skyrim or something like that will, but it still takes an easy twenty hours to beat, and that's without going after any of the Poes or Heart Pieces. The gameplay is solid; there are no bugs or glitches to be found anywhere (without seriously digging for them). The swordplay is a lot of fun, especially once you start finding skills. Every item maintains some purpose throughout the game (except the slingshot). The music will get stuck in your head; it's pretty good for being synthetic. The story is easy to follow and will capture your interest. There's a pretty large world to explore, and you have a variety of ways to do it, from horse-riding to boar-riding (if you can steal one) to teleporting around. The environments are diverse, and so are the dungeons.

    Definitely the best part about the game is the combat. In essence, it's the same Zelda combat you're used to in a 3-D Zelda game. It is focused around targeting your opponent and figuring out some way to bypass their defenses. However, unlike other Zelda games, the swordplay is a lot more diverse. Ocarina and Majora's Mask had the jump attack and all the basic stuff. Wind Waker had the parry. Twilight Princess has many different sword techniques you gain throughout the game, which really make the combat diverse and entertaining.

    There are two major flaws, though (major being a relative term... there's not that much wrong with the game at all). First of all, there's hardly anything to spend your Rupees on once you've gotten the Magic Armor. That armor will slowly consume your Rupees while you're wearing it, but unless you really feel like cheating through the game and have serious trouble beating the enemies, you probably don't want to wear that too much. This issue is magnified by the facts that you have a limit to the amount of Rupees you can hold based on wallet size (unlike the DS games, where you can have something like 9999 as your limit from the start), and that it's so easy to get money in this game! Small Rupee quantities drop from monsters very frequently, which isn't a really big deal. However, just about every bonus chest you find has Rupees in it, ranging from yellow to silver. Most commonly, though, you get purple Rupees from chests, which are worth 50. You start with a limit of 300, I believe. Find 6 chests... well, you can't get any more money. Arrows are too easy to get to make them worth buying. Bombs are more scarce but you still probably won't need to buy them very often. Potions aren't worth the cash, when you only have a few bottles and you can just kill a Chu to get them anyway. You'll end up wealthy as can be very quickly with nothing to buy (what a quandary!).

    The other main issue is that the game is just too easy. That's in comparison to other Zelda/Nintendo games mainly, which can be notoriously difficult, so if you're coming from other games on other systems, you might not feel the same way. Nonetheless, I finished playing this game through for about the third time in five years today. I didn't die once. I was careless with the final boss and had to use a fairy, but overall I burned through the game without running into much trouble at all. Even the puzzles are pretty simple. If you're like me, and you manage to walk past something ridiculously obvious ten times, you might have trouble occasionally, but compared to other Zelda games, Twilight Princess is a walk in the park. The bosses are epic but some are just so simple... If you're careful, and you know what you're doing, you'll finish this game without much challenge at all.

    That being said, I have finished this game like three times now. I don't replay games that often. This one is a lot of fun for me to play it so many times. I definitely recommend it.
    Expand
  12. Sep 11, 2013
    9
    My favourite dive into the Zelda universe which feels slightly darker and yet familiar. The graphical look is more realistic than other Zelda games and the world feels more expansive and deeper than other titles. I prefer Link at this age, and I also love his ability to become a wolf which works very well with his scent and howling abilities.
    The items in this game are the usual lot but
    My favourite dive into the Zelda universe which feels slightly darker and yet familiar. The graphical look is more realistic than other Zelda games and the world feels more expansive and deeper than other titles. I prefer Link at this age, and I also love his ability to become a wolf which works very well with his scent and howling abilities.
    The items in this game are the usual lot but feel more useful in a world where where you should use them is not quite so obvious.
    Temples are engaging as ever, and get a good balance of puzzles in.

    Thoroughly deserves it's place in a gamer's game rack.
    Expand
  13. Sep 19, 2013
    9
    In Twilight Princess, Link can turn into a wolf. At first, there are human and wolf parts, buf later you'll be able to transform into one whenever you want. Link's companion in this game is Midna. At first she seems like a rude, selfish, criminal, but as you progress she becomes a better character. The story is good, so is the gameplay, dungeons, items, and minigames. That is basically whyIn Twilight Princess, Link can turn into a wolf. At first, there are human and wolf parts, buf later you'll be able to transform into one whenever you want. Link's companion in this game is Midna. At first she seems like a rude, selfish, criminal, but as you progress she becomes a better character. The story is good, so is the gameplay, dungeons, items, and minigames. That is basically why I gave this a 9/10 Expand
  14. Jan 7, 2014
    9
    I really loved this game, it's one of 3 reasons I still have my Wii. I actually liked it better than Skyward Sword. The only criticism I have is I wasn't very compelled to explore away from where I had to go. There are a lot of secret areas I missed... for example I never went to the bug collector's house. But maybe that's just me.
  15. Mar 31, 2014
    9
    While Twilight Princess is probably my least favorite 3D Zelda game, I think that it is indeed another great Zelda game that everyone should check out. This story was great! However it was maybe trying a little too hard to be dark at times even the atmosphere is dark enough to the point where it may even be a bit unsettling. I like the wide open space in this game and the many differentWhile Twilight Princess is probably my least favorite 3D Zelda game, I think that it is indeed another great Zelda game that everyone should check out. This story was great! However it was maybe trying a little too hard to be dark at times even the atmosphere is dark enough to the point where it may even be a bit unsettling. I like the wide open space in this game and the many different locations, this is definitely one of the most elaborate worlds seen in a Zelda game which could also be a problem because of all the walking; of course you do have Epona, but she isn't much help until later on in the game; so I think that if this wide open space is ever used again, There should either be more things to do out on the field or there should be faster transportation from the get-go or both. The graphics are also pretty good, they are nicely done to look more realistic, but I really don't mind cartoonish looks like what they had in The Wind Waker. This game also had some really epic moments like the final battle and even some battles between tons of enemies; sure a lot of it felt like fan service which could either be a good or bad thing but it was cool. The dungeons were also cool, especially Arbiter's Grounds, the only problem this game had with these that isn't really found in other Zeldas is the items are not used much after being used in their founding dungeon; for example it was fun using the Spinner in Arbiter's Grounds, but after that dungeon you literally only use that item again like about 3 or 4 more times or so. Despite me pointing out all these problems I highly recommend TP, you can get it now on Wii and GameCube (keep in mind that the Wii version is a little more common). Expand
  16. Oct 15, 2014
    9
    This was probably my 2nd favorite zelda game out of the series [first being, of course, ocarina of time]. The game has so much about it to love from the fighting system to the creativity of the temples to how vast the entire world is. So much love for this game.
  17. Jul 31, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Although this is one of my absolute favorite Zelda games I can't give it a 10. The story fits in beautifully after Majora's Mask, the graphics and music is absolutely amazing. I love the twists and turns throughout the story, the villains, and how you finally, FINALLY get to sword fight Gannondorf. Even your guide/assistant (Midna) is enjoyable because you get to know the backstory of her and her people (Personal Theory: Her people are the ones who made Majora's Mask). I enjoy the twilight realm and how you can turn into a beast....the bosses are fun and the temples are interesting BUT as much as I love this game there are still a few problems.

    My biggest problem with this game on the Wii.... Link is RIGHT handed. No joke, LINK.... notoriously and ALWAYS LEFT handed before, is now RIGHT handed. Continuity issue! Sure, I understand why they did it with the wii-mote controls and such (you swing the wii-mote to swing the sword and most people are right handed and it would be weird to be cross swinging on the screen) but still. I think it's kinda cool how they utilized the wii-mote in aiming your arrows, swinging the sword, etc but the issue is still present and as a major Zelda fan and it irks me to no end and is the main reason I can't give this a 10.
    Secondly, what the hell is up with Gannon? He looks like an old man in curlers.... they should have kept the design and improved the graphics from OoT's Gannon.
    Thirdly, the fight with Zant is just... bad. He's intimidating up until you fight him and after you do or in any replays of the game you can't take him seriously anymore because he fights like he's having a little temper-tantrum.
    Fourthly- For a Zelda game, it is a bit on the easy side (not that it really takes away from it and is a great way to introduce new players to the franchise) and sadly, being on the wii, it doesn't have HD capabilities meaning there are some jagged edges and blurriness but even so, it still looks nice and is still improved from the N64 graphics by a lot
    Finally- the ending makes Link seem kinda retarded with what Midna (almost) says to him. I REALLY am hoping for Midna to return in another Zelda game... a sequel to Twilight Princess story wise keeping the same (or better) graphics and music etc.

    I still love this game though, even on the wii it's amazing...story, music, graphics, gameplay, it's all there and fantastic and solid.
    Expand
  18. Sep 25, 2014
    9
    "Twilight Princess" is one of my favorite Legend of Zelda video games. The story is the best part of the game; it's engrossing, dark, interesting, and quite deep. The graphics look great, the dungeons are extremely well designed, and the world is very huge and expansive, leaving a lot to explore. Some negative points are that the items are very rarely used after the dungeon you find them"Twilight Princess" is one of my favorite Legend of Zelda video games. The story is the best part of the game; it's engrossing, dark, interesting, and quite deep. The graphics look great, the dungeons are extremely well designed, and the world is very huge and expansive, leaving a lot to explore. Some negative points are that the items are very rarely used after the dungeon you find them in is completed, and it is overall a very easy game. Despite those flaws, it's one of the best Zelda games and one of the best Wii games. Expand
  19. Oct 11, 2014
    9
    I honestly don't see why people hate this game. It has lots of mini games, collectible items, and side quests to keep you playing after you finish the story, not to mention just exploring the vast world. The controls are okay, I only wish that if you stabbed, or vertical or horizontal slashed, it would do that same action. Not 1 to 1 like Skyward Sword, but with more difference betweenI honestly don't see why people hate this game. It has lots of mini games, collectible items, and side quests to keep you playing after you finish the story, not to mention just exploring the vast world. The controls are okay, I only wish that if you stabbed, or vertical or horizontal slashed, it would do that same action. Not 1 to 1 like Skyward Sword, but with more difference between moves. But it doesn't really matter, because you can learn advance sword techniques to mix up the combat, although the actual gestures can be tricky to pull off due to controls, and it would have been nice to have an option to play it with the classic pro, or GameCube controller would be nice. Its also a darker tone than other Zelda games. The cinematics are epic, but creepy, and they leave you feeling hopeless, and its sort of touching. Some of the characters aren't handled well, like Zant, Ganon, Ilia, and Zelda, and it would have been nice to have voice acting, and better facial animations, but its not a big deal. Lastly, the dungeons and items are fantastic. Seriously, these puzzles are great and the bosses are amazing, if easy. Its unfortunate that the Spinner, Ball and Chain, and Dominion rod aren't worth poop out of their dungeons, but it's, yet again, not a big problem. A truly epic Zelda game, and the best I've played. Expand
  20. Oct 31, 2014
    9
    Incredible game. Even though I prefer the brighter art styles of other zelda games such an Wind Waker and Skyward Sword this game is still incredibe to play. The only thing is sometimes it can get a little to dark and not have enough color
  21. Nov 2, 2014
    9
    As a wii game, you have to admit it pretty good. Storyline, bosses, controls and characters wise.
    They wanted to try a new visual and did so by choosing a darker colour tone which apparently a lot of people hate. I thought the colour scheme made the environment more intense.
    I love this game so much. I think anyone who is playing a Zelda game for the first time or truly appreciate the
    As a wii game, you have to admit it pretty good. Storyline, bosses, controls and characters wise.
    They wanted to try a new visual and did so by choosing a darker colour tone which apparently a lot of people hate. I thought the colour scheme made the environment more intense.
    I love this game so much. I think anyone who is playing a Zelda game for the first time or truly appreciate the Zelda franchise will definitely appreciate this game.
    Expand
  22. Apr 25, 2011
    8
    This is a fantastic game; the characters are classic Zelda, easy to like, friendly and unique. The gameplay is also classic Zelda, but with the Wii controls, it makes it far more interesting. The story is pretty classic too; enemies come, take over huge swathes of the land , and you have to go and clear it of evil. It's fun all the way, although at times, the travelling can be annoying andThis is a fantastic game; the characters are classic Zelda, easy to like, friendly and unique. The gameplay is also classic Zelda, but with the Wii controls, it makes it far more interesting. The story is pretty classic too; enemies come, take over huge swathes of the land , and you have to go and clear it of evil. It's fun all the way, although at times, the travelling can be annoying and slow. The enemies are not particularly intelligent, and they're not especially varied either. The environments are varied, from deserts to meadows to frozen lakes, it's all done beautifully. The soundtrack is subdued and atmospheric, kicking in during combat to increase the drama. If you enjoyed Wind Waker, you'll love Twilight Princess. 4/5. Expand
  23. Nov 1, 2011
    8
    As expected the game was very good, it had great story, large amounts of gadgets, a large varied world and of course good game play although the game does have some problems, firstly the controls suck and i can simply sit on my couch and swing the sword which clearly means the wii is not accurate and is a failed product, the game is wayyy toooo easy (one can literally go through the gameAs expected the game was very good, it had great story, large amounts of gadgets, a large varied world and of course good game play although the game does have some problems, firstly the controls suck and i can simply sit on my couch and swing the sword which clearly means the wii is not accurate and is a failed product, the game is wayyy toooo easy (one can literally go through the game and not die once), the combat in general could have been better and required more strategy and lastly the game has a lot of space that simply isn't utilized properly leaving a large and a lot of the time an empty world as well. Overall a pretty good game but not near as good as OOT.. 8.8/10. Expand
  24. Dec 31, 2013
    8
    I feel kind of bad for Nintendo. They are stuck between nostalgia and originality. If they were to present a new idea, complaints would arise about fan-favorites being excluded. If they brought in the fan-favorites, complaints would arise of lack of freshness. I felt the latter. This game relied very heavily on Ocarina of Time and Majora's Mask and felt like an exact mix of those two. II feel kind of bad for Nintendo. They are stuck between nostalgia and originality. If they were to present a new idea, complaints would arise about fan-favorites being excluded. If they brought in the fan-favorites, complaints would arise of lack of freshness. I felt the latter. This game relied very heavily on Ocarina of Time and Majora's Mask and felt like an exact mix of those two. I also felt there was a lot of obvious filler in the game such as the owl statues across Hyrule. A button to press for the sword would have been more concise, in my opinion. I really wish there was another way for the camera to rotate besides Z-targeting. However, this game still is one of my favorite Zelda games. The transition from human to wolf was short and smooth. The score is amazing and the Arbiter's Grounds and Snowpeak Ruins temples take the cake with 3-D Zelda temples. The final boss was truly epic, but kind of easy. If the bosses and overall game were harder, Twilight Princess could have been the best. The hardest part was the cave of ordeals and it is really boring and merely challenging (took me 3 tries). Also, there are far too many rupees in the game, and I could not even get rid of them fast enough. Overall, great game, but the later bosses should have made me die at least once, and, sadly, did not. Expand
  25. Nov 14, 2010
    8
    This game is quite good. However, it has a major shortcoming: It is simply a rehash of Ocarina of Time. Ocarina of Time was an amazing game. Twilight Princess is also a great game. The problem is, I've played it before. And the first time was better.

    This game has a lot of strengths - the visuals in the game are excellent. While the game is not the best thing ever graphically, it has a
    This game is quite good. However, it has a major shortcoming: It is simply a rehash of Ocarina of Time. Ocarina of Time was an amazing game. Twilight Princess is also a great game. The problem is, I've played it before. And the first time was better.

    This game has a lot of strengths - the visuals in the game are excellent. While the game is not the best thing ever graphically, it has a very good style to it, particularly the darker sections of the game, where the design is the strongest. Midna, your ally, has an amazing design, and Link's wolf form is quite cool.

    The wolf sections of the game are the only real new addition to the game, and they are fun - they aren't long enough to get annoying in their simplicity, and the theme of travelling through the darkness is quite fun.

    The parts where you play as Link are very standard for games of this type - you can't really jump, you use your tools to progress through the levels, and combat is pretty basic.

    The major ways this game falls down are a fewfold.

    Firstly, it is too easy. Most of the game is pretty easy. I like to die periodically to make me feel challenged, but in this game, I didn't die even once. The enemies were not interesting enough to fight, and it was only the very rare fight, in the very end of the game or the optional side-dungeon, which felt even remotely challenging.

    Secondly, it often felt a bit too linear. While all the Zelda games are fairly linear, a lot of them disguised it fairly well; this game does not do so, removing the illusion of choice for the most part. Moreover, the Hookshot, previously a fun way to explore, has its equivalent in this game be much worse for the random exploration the Hookshot was good for.

    All in all, it is a solid title, and worth playing, but it'd be nice to feel like I was playing a new Zelda game, not a game which I played on the N64.
    Expand
  26. Apr 1, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game has glimpses of great level design but they are few and far between. The bosses, although interesting, are a bit too easy. The over-world is big, but seems so empty. The second from last boss (Zant) just runs through previous bosses that you have faced, which is disappointing. Quite a lot of the heart pieces are found in dungeons, which could have been used to fill out the over-world more. Even with its flaws, I still enjoyed the temples and bosses. It is a fun and enjoyable game. Recommended. Expand
  27. Nov 13, 2011
    8
    Not the best Zelda game, but it does have some serious competition in that field!

    I recently went back to this game, in preparation for Skyward Sword. I can't believe I never finished it! Graphically it could be better - the Wii has proven itself in this area since - but for a launch title/late Gamecube game, it looks very nice. Nintendo have rarely repeated a graphical style for Zelda
    Not the best Zelda game, but it does have some serious competition in that field!

    I recently went back to this game, in preparation for Skyward Sword. I can't believe I never finished it!

    Graphically it could be better - the Wii has proven itself in this area since - but for a launch title/late Gamecube game, it looks very nice. Nintendo have rarely repeated a graphical style for Zelda games, and this is another new style for them. It lacks the character of Wind Waker before it, but works well with what it does.

    The adventure and story are very exciting, as you'd expect, with several new elements to mix with the standard swordplay, slingshot and everything else you know will be in a Zelda game.

    The controls are a weak point in my opinion. Mapping items to the D-pad makes it awkward to select them. Waving the remote to initiate an attack makes the game more tiring than it would otherwise be. Aiming projectiles is a real benefit though with the remote. Otherwise the controls are functional, but I would prefer to be able to use a Classic Controller or Gamecube controller. Of course, you COULD play the GC version on your Wii (or GC) but we're reviewing the Wii version here.

    Playing TP again has really got me excited for Skyward Sword. I just hope I manage to complete it in the next 5 days so I can move on to SS ;)
    Expand
  28. Dec 5, 2011
    8
    A good game though Extremely overrated. Some of the problems include, playing it safe, slow pacing, framerate issues, tacked-on motion controls, as well as having to much filler.
  29. Dec 21, 2011
    8
    An excellent adventure, and easily the best Wii game to date (one of few good wii games, that is). Plays pretty much as any other zelda game, the changes lies in the details. On the downside, the game is quite ugly and doesn't really benefit from the motion control.
  30. Dec 22, 2011
    8
    Very good zelda game. It is a bit too similar to OOT for my likeing, but everything else is very well done. Gameplay: 9
    Story: 7
    Presentation: 8
    Sound: 9
    Controls: 9
    Boss fights are very easy though
  31. Jan 21, 2013
    8
    Twilight Princess is a great game without doubt but not a great Zelda game, fans of the series will notice quickly what's missing, the atmosphere. This isn't the only problem, the world is quite empty and the dark graphics style doesn't suit the series. These are the only problems though and the good makes up for the bad. There are an intresting range of items, plenty of other things to doTwilight Princess is a great game without doubt but not a great Zelda game, fans of the series will notice quickly what's missing, the atmosphere. This isn't the only problem, the world is quite empty and the dark graphics style doesn't suit the series. These are the only problems though and the good makes up for the bad. There are an intresting range of items, plenty of other things to do besides the story and the story itself is surprisingly good and is one of the best in the whole series. Overall this game is great and is definitely worth a rental at least. Expand
  32. Dec 3, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great atmosphere and artistic style
    + Good dungeon design
    + Most well-made character-driven story in Zelda still.

    - Easy all-around, and boss battles are consistently let-downs for anyone who's beaten Ocarina of Time or like.
    - The size of the world doesn't balance out very well with the content it holds. It lacks life and is generally poorly realised
    - The final bossfight is a huge let-down. It feels downright mediocre and tacked-on.
    - The story falls apart towards the last section, and the payoff could've been a lot better.

    Overall, this is still a very memorable Zelda game, but even after my first playthrough when I was only 12 years old, I was disappointed at the final section of the game and I did notice how simplistic and downright cakewalks the boss-battles were, particularly the second and third ones. The final boss just felt hamfisted and honestly I don't know if Nintendo were rushed or just didn't feel the fire for it. It was a huge missed opportunity and it highly diminished another "antagonist's" role in the game.

    8/10: A very good game in its own right, but maybe not a very good Zelda game.
    Expand
  33. Aug 20, 2013
    8
    This is a good game, no doubt about it at all, but it isn't perfect. It makes excellent use of the formula that many Zelda players are familiar with. My main complaints would be the difficulty, which is a huge step down from Ocarina (the game it is obviously taking a lot of inspiration from), the bosses are easy to beat and you may not get a chance to see the game over screen until laterThis is a good game, no doubt about it at all, but it isn't perfect. It makes excellent use of the formula that many Zelda players are familiar with. My main complaints would be the difficulty, which is a huge step down from Ocarina (the game it is obviously taking a lot of inspiration from), the bosses are easy to beat and you may not get a chance to see the game over screen until later in the game, my other complaint would be item usage. I doubt that I am the only one who looks forward to the items in a Zelda game, what was then disappointing was normally an item became basically redundant after temple that you found it in.

    That however is most of my complaints out of the way. the major place that I personally found the game excelled hugely where the temples. The dungeon layout in Twilight has clearly been well thought out and designed and though they are not the most challenging dungeons in a Zelda game you will find yourself absorbed in them from start to finish.

    The game looks fantastic especially when you remember that it was a GC port, Link looks as heroic as ever and the enemies look equally nasty. Though the game doesn't look anywhere near as dark as Majora's Mask (although it clearly tries) it still gives off an air of depression and darkness that contrasts hugely against the light hearted adventure of its predecessor The Wind Waker.

    With regards to gameplay this game fits in with all the other 3D Zeldas, solid controls that lead to an enjoyable adventure and satisfying combat. Item usage with the Wiimote excels with regards to weapons like the bow, where all you have to do is aim at the the screen and fire away. I found sword combat a little strange, a flick of the wrist to make Link swing his sword, it wasn't a horrible experience but if the developers where not prepared to go the whole way with motion control then it seems a shame they didn't just leave the sword aligned to a button, it is not a big problem at all and certainly doesn't make the game less enjoyable, it is just something that possibly should have had more thought put into it.

    I think Link's wolf form is something that you will either love or hate. It is fairly basic but works for the story. If you find that you enjoy it then it will be a nice treat to enter the form as and when it happens. If you find you don't enjoy it then it is going to be something that you will absolutely dread and may ruin portions of the game for you. Personally I enjoyed it, not as much as playing as Link but it was okay, I can see the good points behind it, breaking up the story into easy to distinguish chapters however more development could have gone into this rather large section of the game. Again I am not complaining but merely commenting on an area of the game that perhaps didn't quite live up to its potential.

    Overall this is an excellent game that veteran Zelda players will enjoy though possibly completely with minimal effort, and if you are new to the series then this is an great way to get into the series and not find yourself overly frustrated.
    Expand
  34. Oct 1, 2013
    8
    an 8.5. a great game one of the best on the wii. compared to skyward sword it just is boring. the land is huge but has dull color, the story only picks up around halfway through the game, and the bosses aren't memorable
  35. Nov 27, 2013
    8
    Twilight Princess is a difficult game to review. On my first playthrough of the game, I had never experienced Ocarina of Time, one of the most immersive experiences in video game history. While Twilight Princess seemed innovative in design, I didn't realize that nearly every aspect of the story had been borrowed from Ocarina. It seems as though Ocarina was a revolutionary template thatTwilight Princess is a difficult game to review. On my first playthrough of the game, I had never experienced Ocarina of Time, one of the most immersive experiences in video game history. While Twilight Princess seemed innovative in design, I didn't realize that nearly every aspect of the story had been borrowed from Ocarina. It seems as though Ocarina was a revolutionary template that Twilight Princess uses, rather than builds upon. That being said, does the game hold its own in the Zelda universe as a stand alone adventure?
    The story will sound familiar to anyone who has played a Zelda game before. Link, the Hero of Time, must save the land of Hyrule from certain demise by defeating the evil Ganondorf, saving Princess Zelda, and obtaining the Master Sword. Only this time, the twist is that the land is being covered in a darkness known as the Twilight Realm. This world collides with Hyrule, and Link must traverse between worlds to save them both from Ganon's rage. Not only does Link transform into a wolf in the Twilight Realm, he also meets a Navi-esque companion named Midna, who aids Link in his quest. Midna is the best part of the experience, giving the game some life with snarky commentary, a definite change in attitude as the story progresses, and a genuinely heartbreaking farewell.
    However, Midna is perhaps the only investing part of the game. The rest seems just as lifeless and depressing as the Twilight Realm itself. Hyrule Field is huge in scope and impressive to explore, but there's practically nothing worthwhile to look for, feeling more of a wasted opportunity than an enticing overworld full of mystery. The dungeons suffer from a lack of ingenuity, following a cookie-cutter layout of finding keys to open doors, and offering little excitement in terms of swordplay or puzzle-solving. Even Link fails in this regard. Although it's hard to give a voiceless protagonist personality, the prior Links all were memorable in their own ways. Twilight Link gives off a feeling of perpetual moodiness, making it seem that he isn't even enjoying the game he was put in. Add all of that to a beautiful score hindered by its lack of orchestra and dull graphics that contrast the energized colors of the previous games, and one realizes how this attempt at making the game darker limits both creativity and fun for the player.
    With all of these flaws, however, there's no denying that Twilight Princess is a good game. Fighting is very fun when done right, and doing somersaults and rolls make battling hordes of enemies feel fresh and fast-paced. While the dungeons do suffer from repetitiveness, the boss battles almost entirely make up for them. There are too many memorable bosses to count, such as one ingenious fight with two parts where one must use the physics of an item to take down a massive skeleton. All of these fights make up for the lack of creativity present throughout the rest of the game. And, while the darker tone does have its downsides, it is nice to see Nintendo try and put a darker spin on the classic franchise, especially in the cutscenes. Fighting on horseback on a bridge to save the life of a child is both thrilling and unique, and is one of several moments that made me want to stand up and cheer.
    Therefore, while there are many faults with the game, Twilight Princess pulls through with its atmosphere, boss battles, and, most importantly of all, the addition of Midna. While it borrows heavily from the past and contributes very little to the present, the game is an important stepping stone for Zelda games in the future.
    Expand
  36. Mar 19, 2014
    8
    Un juego Buenisimo para el Wii,la historia se cuenta bien (tambien cuenta con partes tan tristes que no podras evitar soltar una lagrima o 2) Epona se maneja Bien ahora permitiendote usar la espada ,las flechas y un monton de objetos mas que no se podian usar en OOT,ademas la forma de lobo cambia totalmente el gameplay (o controles del juego) permitiendote Ver hyrule de una formaUn juego Buenisimo para el Wii,la historia se cuenta bien (tambien cuenta con partes tan tristes que no podras evitar soltar una lagrima o 2) Epona se maneja Bien ahora permitiendote usar la espada ,las flechas y un monton de objetos mas que no se podian usar en OOT,ademas la forma de lobo cambia totalmente el gameplay (o controles del juego) permitiendote Ver hyrule de una forma diferente y que no pensamos jamas,eso mas la adicion de el crepusculo (o el lado corrupto de hyrule) hace un aventura tetrica y salvaje de TLOZ Jamas vista antes
    Hay cosas que no me gustaron:Los controles a veces te dejan cansado,ademas Midna Es Molestas en ciertas partes (a veces dice cosas taaaan obvias)
    8 de 10
    Expand
  37. Nov 5, 2011
    7
    I consider myself a bit of a Nintendo fanboy, particularly when it comes to the Zelda franchise, and I was looking forward to the release of Twilight Princess with an almost feverish fervour. The end product did not quite meet my expectations. Dont get me wrong, it is still a good game, but it doesnt quite match some of the best moments of the series (Ocarina of Time, heres looking atI consider myself a bit of a Nintendo fanboy, particularly when it comes to the Zelda franchise, and I was looking forward to the release of Twilight Princess with an almost feverish fervour. The end product did not quite meet my expectations. Dont get me wrong, it is still a good game, but it doesnt quite match some of the best moments of the series (Ocarina of Time, heres looking at you). Good points: 1.The dungeons are for the most part classic Nintendo ingenuity, with perfectly crafted puzzles and some really impressive boss fights. 2. Combat is well executed and feels like it takes what previous 3d Zelda games have done and polishes the mechanics to a finer lustre. Bad points now: 1. The overworld map is too large. Maybe that sounds like an odd complaint, but it just feels too empty with a lack of hidden secrets or enemies, so that traversing it just feels like killing time rather than exploring, 2. Its just no fun being the wolf. It feels like a punishment, having all your items removed, and having the finely tuned combat controls replaced with the limited and sluggish collect-em-up sections that constitute the twilight/wolf sections of the game. It is by no means my least favourite Zelda title, and if it didnt have it's ancestors to live up to, it would be a great standalone game, but I was hoping for and expecting more. I am replaying it at the moment in anticipation of Skyward Sword, and all the time I am playing it, I am hoping that the games mistakes will be rectified and the successes will be built upon for Zeldas future. Expand
  38. Nov 20, 2011
    7
    A mediocre Zelda game.

    Nothing new added in what seems like a misguided attempt at making Ocarina of Time 2.0. Tedious oppening, boring wolf sections and item bloat. Once you get the master sword however, the game really does become like OoT, which while feeling dated, does obviously make it highly enjoyable. Some stunning boss fights let down by their simplicity in their
    A mediocre Zelda game.

    Nothing new added in what seems like a misguided attempt at making Ocarina of Time 2.0.

    Tedious oppening, boring wolf sections and item bloat.

    Once you get the master sword however, the game really does become like OoT, which while feeling dated, does obviously make it highly enjoyable.

    Some stunning boss fights let down by their simplicity in their defeat.

    Great horseback combat that is crimminally underused.

    You'll wonder how you ever did without pointer controlls for the bow.
    Expand
  39. Jun 30, 2012
    7
    I could write a massively eloquent review about this game like I usually do with others, but I'm not in the mood so I will say this: The first time I played it when it came out, it blew my expectations away and I completed it 100% in a week. But I tried replaying it the other day and I almost wanted to kill myself, it's very strange and I'm sure I could elaborate. But I think the matter isI could write a massively eloquent review about this game like I usually do with others, but I'm not in the mood so I will say this: The first time I played it when it came out, it blew my expectations away and I completed it 100% in a week. But I tried replaying it the other day and I almost wanted to kill myself, it's very strange and I'm sure I could elaborate. But I think the matter is that this game doesn't have much replay value, which is surprising for a Zelda game. Maybe it's all the wolf parts or the unusual Ocarina of Time butt-kissing, but it's something strange and I never plan on playing this game again. But I will be fair because I remember the first time playing it was like playing Ocarina of Time for the first time. And that will stay with me for a long time. Expand
  40. Jul 30, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is great, but it needs more gameplay, lasting more than 5 hrs of gameplay, the dungeons are hard than any other zelda game to me. It has an excellent gameplay, but harder dungeons. Expand
  41. Jun 4, 2013
    7
    Don't get me wrong, Twilight Princess is a fantastic game and I loved it to pieces, but why I give it a lower score is because I feel it was copy and pasted from Ocarina of Time. When I originally played the game, I gave it a 10/10, but playing Ocarina, it made me appreciate it less. I think it's better than Ocarina, but still it's disappointing. Besides that it's
  42. Sep 13, 2014
    7
    playning as wolf was borinnnngggg, and hmm. Most are copies from OOT i know TP is a sequelc timeline OOT but Nintendo Should make better some think not copies old good idea from oot 7/10
  43. May 14, 2011
    6
    It does away with a lot of the more difficult elements of past Zelda games in favor of a dumbed-down, more accessible approach. Your objectives are spoon-fed to you, bosses are simple, and there were only a couple puzzles that had me scratching my head. Hyrule felt more like an environment to play a game in instead of a living, breathing world as it has in the past. Overall, there wereIt does away with a lot of the more difficult elements of past Zelda games in favor of a dumbed-down, more accessible approach. Your objectives are spoon-fed to you, bosses are simple, and there were only a couple puzzles that had me scratching my head. Hyrule felt more like an environment to play a game in instead of a living, breathing world as it has in the past. Overall, there were only a couple moments that wowed me and the game fails to create an identity for itself as past games have, instead choosing to piggyback off of OoT. Expand
  44. Jul 24, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. a fair but disappointing game for the zelda series; hyrule is empty and desolate, there are few sidequests, the ending boss fight is a disappointment!

    PLOT SPOILERS AHEAD!

    zant was a huge letdown! they built him up to be this evil, demonic, bad guy and what happens at the end? he ends up being a kook! it just totally destroys the whole build up of zant! and why did they throw in ganondorf at the end! the plot was going good with zant being the main villian! it felt like nintendo ran out of ideas with zant and was,like," yeahhhhh..... lets just throw in ganondorf!" also the temples were not immersive, the soundtrack was abysmal, and the twilight realm was uninteresting! so the characters are trapped in an alternate realm and they dont know about it? so basically theyre just continuing life as it is and their life is not in danger? so what? hyrule did not feel like it was in any immediate danger and nobody was aware of it, and nobody was bothered by it honestly! so why bother trying to save hyrule? no body's life is in danger or at risk!

    nowwww ill talk about the good aspects of twilight! exploration was fun to a certain extent, nice graphics, some interesting puzzle mechanics here and there, variety of destinations to go to, annnnnnd some good enemy battles sprinkled throughout the game and uhhhhh, a fairly engaging story butttt uhhhhhh.... yeah thats it

    overall though, nintendo you disappointed me; im hoping skyward will be the one to beat ocarina of time in the end

    6 out of 10!
    Expand
  45. Feb 21, 2013
    6
    I realize I'm in the minority here, but I must say, this represents the lowest "Zelda" moment in the francise's 26-year history. The fact that it's still worthy of a 6/10 should be proof enough that I really do love the series, I just felt this one seemed like Nintendo took several safe steps backwards (which is even more apparent in the Wii iteration, with its lazily slapped-on controlI realize I'm in the minority here, but I must say, this represents the lowest "Zelda" moment in the francise's 26-year history. The fact that it's still worthy of a 6/10 should be proof enough that I really do love the series, I just felt this one seemed like Nintendo took several safe steps backwards (which is even more apparent in the Wii iteration, with its lazily slapped-on control scheme). The story is stale and takes nearly ten hours to pick up genuine speed, the world is vast yet somehow vasly uninteresting, it's much, much easier than previous "Zeldas" (though, to be honest, this is the current trajectory of most Nintendo-developed licenses these days), and everything from the graphics to the locales feels awfully dated it did even when it debuted in 2006. Since the above would suggest I'm just ragging on the game, I'd like to mention aspects I really enjoyed: catching bugs and bringing them to that weird chick, the hilarious plot/dialogue during the Snowpeak section, every single weapon old and new (this may actually be my favorite thing), certain 'cinematic' sequences, and Midna, who's infinitely less annoying than other sidekicks in the "Zeldas." Expand
  46. Mar 9, 2012
    5
    Bought the game but became bored after a couple of hours realising its just the same game as the n64 zeldas, needs gameplay originality.
  47. Aug 17, 2010
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Graphically the best game so far. However it was so horribly easy that it sucked the fun out of the dungeons and fights. The lack of secret side quests was also damaging to the game. The major killer of this game for me was that the most awesome area and character in the game will not be returning in any sequel(Or so the ending indicated). Midna beats the hell out of Navi in every way and then poofs forever at the end. It's my assumption that with the removal of their forums and the invention of the wii along with game endings like this that Nintendo is just trying to burn themselves down for the insurance money. Expand
  48. Apr 7, 2012
    5
    Twilight Princess keeps all the traditions and staples of the Zelda franchise intact.If you're a long time fan, then you'll certainly be on familiar ground. But for me, that was a big part of the problem. I loved Ocarina and Wind Waker, but video games have evolved a lot since that time. Twilight Princess is the point where the Zelda series starts to stagnate, in my opinion. Instead ofTwilight Princess keeps all the traditions and staples of the Zelda franchise intact.If you're a long time fan, then you'll certainly be on familiar ground. But for me, that was a big part of the problem. I loved Ocarina and Wind Waker, but video games have evolved a lot since that time. Twilight Princess is the point where the Zelda series starts to stagnate, in my opinion. Instead of delighting, the game mechanics and weapons feel over-familiar and unexciting. This isn't helped by the visual aesthetic. Wind Waker had a bright, vibrant color pallet and a wonderfully breezy tone.Conversely, Twilight Princess feels drab and lifeless. I know it's an attempt to make a more adult and darker world, but the result feels a bit boring. In the end, Twilight Princess just wasn't compelling enough to push through to completion and my long streak of obsessively-cleared Zelda games has finally come to a close. Expand
  49. Nov 11, 2011
    5
    In my opinion this game was flawed, though it is hard to see why. The universe they created lacked that "zelda" feel, more so then windwaker in my opinion. Part of the problem was, this game took itself too seriously, as well as the dreary atmosphere. I also found a lot of the new items were lackluster and fairly useless outside of dungeons. Perhaps the Zelda formula was just getting old,In my opinion this game was flawed, though it is hard to see why. The universe they created lacked that "zelda" feel, more so then windwaker in my opinion. Part of the problem was, this game took itself too seriously, as well as the dreary atmosphere. I also found a lot of the new items were lackluster and fairly useless outside of dungeons. Perhaps the Zelda formula was just getting old, but I found this game to be a huge disappointment. Expand
  50. Dec 18, 2011
    5
    I can't believe I almost thought this was the greatest game ever. What was I thinking? Even when I thought that, I knew this game has flaws. But it has much more than I thought I did. For one, the storyline. Link's friend gets kidnapped, the forest gets covered in Twilight, link turns into a wolf, meets a stupid creature, and then has to collect tears of light to remove the Twilight. Then,I can't believe I almost thought this was the greatest game ever. What was I thinking? Even when I thought that, I knew this game has flaws. But it has much more than I thought I did. For one, the storyline. Link's friend gets kidnapped, the forest gets covered in Twilight, link turns into a wolf, meets a stupid creature, and then has to collect tears of light to remove the Twilight. Then, you do that two more times. Then, you battle Zant and then out of nowhere, Ganondorf comes in. For being traditional, this game barely has Ganondorf. Could it be more linear? It is impossible to do anything out of order? Despite there being no obstacle between the forest and Hyrule field, Midna does not allow you to leave until you beat the Forest Temple. The world and towns are linear as hell. Kakariko is not a town, it's just a linear set of nearly completely inaccesible buildings. Same with Castle Town. The dungeons are linear than ever too. Once you enter a Twilighted area, you are stuck until you get the dumb tears of light. The people are retarded. They look Wierd, they say dumb things and act dumb, some are just like robots, and overall there is just no development. What is so great about collecting all these useless items. You get the item in the dungeon, you use it, you use it for about one thing, and then it's no longer used. You get the slingshot and use it for the first half hour only. You get a whistle to call your horse near the end of the game. What the hell? You spend trillions of rupees for magic armor that runs on rupees. What the hell? Other than the useless magic armor, there is nothing to spend the rupees on. Rupees are everywhere in Twilight Princess. But there is nothing to spend them on and if you can't carry anymore and you open a chest with a rupee, then it'll say let's put it back. It's annoying because if you may not remember that that chest just has rupees and you could come and open it again and just get the same message. The bosses are painfully easy. Zant was a horrible disappointment. Even Ganondorf was. Only half a heart when he hits you? The soundtrack is incredibly weak with the exception of a few tracks. There's barely any Sidequests. Barely any mini games. Midna is Navi but rude. The world is empty. Everything looks generic. Bleh. The only positives are being a wolf at times, the dungeons while linear are really good, the bosses while easy are pretty cool, horse back combat, new swordplay mechanics and not much more. Overall, this is an overrated game. I overrated it as well. It's a good game. But a bad Zelda game. Expand
  51. Feb 15, 2011
    4
    This is my first Zelda game aside from a few hours on the N64. Everything is fun and all, but two things ruined the game for me. First, the fishing. Good luck getting that one figured out without going to youtube and watching a few demos frame by frame. That is the most frustrated and annoyed with a game that I have ever been in my almost 40 year life. It was unnecessary lack ofThis is my first Zelda game aside from a few hours on the N64. Everything is fun and all, but two things ruined the game for me. First, the fishing. Good luck getting that one figured out without going to youtube and watching a few demos frame by frame. That is the most frustrated and annoyed with a game that I have ever been in my almost 40 year life. It was unnecessary lack of functionality in the controls that almost made me throw the thing out the window. That made me wary of further annoyances and jaded me significantly. Second, the 3rd person moving camera. Just gotta love being attacked from offscreen and not being able to do anything about it. I do not like dying because of the camera. That's a deal breaker in any game. Tragic to have to pan a game with so much beauty but the fact I'm angry while writing this has to mean something. Expand
  52. Nov 12, 2013
    4
    The Ocarina of Time is quite rightly regarded as one of the cornerstones of gaming and at the time it certainly raised the bar for the 3d action adventure genre. Perhaps it was the fact that The Wind Waker received a lot of criticism upon its release (I personally really enjoyed it) but for the final GameCube outing Nintendo decided to go back to the template used in their N64 classic.The Ocarina of Time is quite rightly regarded as one of the cornerstones of gaming and at the time it certainly raised the bar for the 3d action adventure genre. Perhaps it was the fact that The Wind Waker received a lot of criticism upon its release (I personally really enjoyed it) but for the final GameCube outing Nintendo decided to go back to the template used in their N64 classic. Unfortunately eight years later much of that template just feels dated. Travelling from dungeon to dungeon is a specific order just isn't able to hold my attention anymore and, while most are intelligently designed, none could exactly be considered original. The same could also be said of Twilight Princesses combat system which is lifted almost straight from The Wind Waker, yet strangely doesn't feel quite as fluent or satisfying.

    If I’d never played a Zelda title before I’m sure I would have found plenty to enjoy in Twilight Princess but as it is I couldn't help as though I’d seen everything it has to offer more than once over the last decade.
    Expand
  53. Nov 4, 2010
    3
    The only Zelda games I have played prior to this title was "OOT", "Link to the Past", and "The Legend of Zelda." Going into this game I really wanted to like it. It started out really slow, and then it got really boring. The story was also awkward. You turn into a wolf with some giggly little cat looking thing on your back. Eventually you turn back into Link; and even he looks weird.The only Zelda games I have played prior to this title was "OOT", "Link to the Past", and "The Legend of Zelda." Going into this game I really wanted to like it. It started out really slow, and then it got really boring. The story was also awkward. You turn into a wolf with some giggly little cat looking thing on your back. Eventually you turn back into Link; and even he looks weird. I'm not one who stops playing a game halfway through it, but unfortunately I will have to on this one. Expand
  54. Dec 4, 2010
    3
    I liked the game ok the first time, but after playing it again I really noticed... They were just trying to hard to make an epic game, and I don't feel like they did a good job of it.
    Ocarina of Time was an accidental hit if you really think about it; they weren't trying to create a great game, they were just experimenting with giving the Legend of Zelda series 3d graphics, and they just
    I liked the game ok the first time, but after playing it again I really noticed... They were just trying to hard to make an epic game, and I don't feel like they did a good job of it.
    Ocarina of Time was an accidental hit if you really think about it; they weren't trying to create a great game, they were just experimenting with giving the Legend of Zelda series 3d graphics, and they just had fun with the rest. It also had a good story and a sort of hidden message about the loss of innocence with age.
    Twilight Princess is not Ocarina of Time. Twilight Princess basically attempts to add the darker two-world tone of A Link to the Past to Ocarina of Time. I won't go into specifics to prevent spoilers, but the bottom line is that they were just trying too hard. It had too many cheesy moments.
    Expand
  55. Jan 1, 2012
    3
    This game doesn't stack up to other Zeldas like Ocarina or Wind Waker. For me, the darkness doesn't suit the series and being a wolf felt so boring and felt like an unnecessary addition. The controls were fine though but overall the game didn't give me motiviation to be completed.
  56. Apr 3, 2011
    1
    first off i would like to say that this was my first and only zelda game because this game has turned me off to the whole series. now for as to what is wrong with it when ever you are on your horse or in wolf mode it is so easy to get stuck on things unless you are only walking and not going fast but then there is no point of the horse in the begining becasue of this flaw. next up is thefirst off i would like to say that this was my first and only zelda game because this game has turned me off to the whole series. now for as to what is wrong with it when ever you are on your horse or in wolf mode it is so easy to get stuck on things unless you are only walking and not going fast but then there is no point of the horse in the begining becasue of this flaw. next up is the characters they do not look right they look like they were made on the Mii chanel or something because they have the same shaped heads that you can give your Miis but the actual game enviroment was beutiful so that is why i dont give it a 0. stay away and do yourself a huge favor Expand
  57. Jun 8, 2011
    0
    This was a terrible game in comparison to OoT and Majoras Mask, I am ashamed at the direction Nintendo went with this

    Too easy bosses, no love at all

    Does not deserve such a high rating, I beat it once and have no desire ever to touch it again
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 73
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 73
  3. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. 100
    An excellent addition (and homage to "Ocarina") to the franchise, and you'll have an enormous amount of fun playing it from start to finish. Get over the fact that the Wii's hardware is simply not as powerful as the other next-gen machines and get into the fact that Twilight Princess is one of the best games you'll play this year.
  2. It truly is, in my opinion, the best and longest Zelda ever made. With nearly 70 hours of playtime committed and more still to do, I cant think of a better experience or value this holiday season.
  3. 100
    Truly fantastic. It's not a reinvention of the genre like Ocarina was -- but it's much better, because it takes all its predecessors' raw ideas, perfects them, and creates an experience that's at once new and familiar. It's rare to find a launch game that truly justifies the purchase of a new console, but this is precisely that.