User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1307 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    A game that is as near to perfection as a wii game is possible to get. The storyline was fantastic. and expanded on the game play of OOT. The appearance of the regular series villain was also good to see. The art direction was a nice choice on the part of Nintendo, giving fans the more cinematic approach they really wanted, after the Wind Waker's cartoony look. the only downside to that was that being a wii Game it did not have HD capabilities meaning jagged edges and blurriness. The only faults the game has is being too easy, apart from that the level designs are excellent, and the bosses are fun. I had a jolly good time playing it! Expand
  2. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    YES! At last, a Wii game that I can enjoy! "The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess" is one good looking and good playing game that will appeal very strongly to your gaming senses. Looks cheesy and childish? Then stop trolling and go play your COD.
  3. Jan 1, 2012
    3
    This game doesn't stack up to other Zeldas like Ocarina or Wind Waker. For me, the darkness doesn't suit the series and being a wolf felt so boring and felt like an unnecessary addition. The controls were fine though but overall the game didn't give me motiviation to be completed.
  4. Jun 8, 2011
    0
    This was a terrible game in comparison to OoT and Majoras Mask, I am ashamed at the direction Nintendo went with this

    Too easy bosses, no love at all

    Does not deserve such a high rating, I beat it once and have no desire ever to touch it again
  5. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Every Zelda has insanely high expectations and tough criticism. This is a great game but not an elite game in the storied franchise. I thoroughly enjoyed TP, but it seemed to rely to much on the past. It began with a painfully slow start but was great once you got into the meat of the game. The overworld is huge with tons of land to explore and I really enjoyed the art style. I wish I could have seen more innovation and a bigger evolution for the Zelda franchise. It is still probably one of the best games on Wii that doesn't have the word Galaxy in it. Expand
  6. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    The Legend of Zelda continues to delight fans throughout the years. Twilight Princess is no exception. Although the graphics and sound may be disappointing to many in 2011, the entertaining story and exciting dungeons are enough to make this a must-play title.
  7. Apr 13, 2011
    9
    This is my favorite Zelda game of all the series but i havent had the chance to play Ocarina of Time yet.Wind Waker is a close second but its not the best.Twilight Princess is an awsome adventure game that you will never want to stop playing.
  8. Dec 18, 2011
    5
    I can't believe I almost thought this was the greatest game ever. What was I thinking? Even when I thought that, I knew this game has flaws. But it has much more than I thought I did. For one, the storyline. Link's friend gets kidnapped, the forest gets covered in Twilight, link turns into a wolf, meets a stupid creature, and then has to collect tears of light to remove the Twilight. Then, you do that two more times. Then, you battle Zant and then out of nowhere, Ganondorf comes in. For being traditional, this game barely has Ganondorf. Could it be more linear? It is impossible to do anything out of order? Despite there being no obstacle between the forest and Hyrule field, Midna does not allow you to leave until you beat the Forest Temple. The world and towns are linear as hell. Kakariko is not a town, it's just a linear set of nearly completely inaccesible buildings. Same with Castle Town. The dungeons are linear than ever too. Once you enter a Twilighted area, you are stuck until you get the dumb tears of light. The people are retarded. They look Wierd, they say dumb things and act dumb, some are just like robots, and overall there is just no development. What is so great about collecting all these useless items. You get the item in the dungeon, you use it, you use it for about one thing, and then it's no longer used. You get the slingshot and use it for the first half hour only. You get a whistle to call your horse near the end of the game. What the hell? You spend trillions of rupees for magic armor that runs on rupees. What the hell? Other than the useless magic armor, there is nothing to spend the rupees on. Rupees are everywhere in Twilight Princess. But there is nothing to spend them on and if you can't carry anymore and you open a chest with a rupee, then it'll say let's put it back. It's annoying because if you may not remember that that chest just has rupees and you could come and open it again and just get the same message. The bosses are painfully easy. Zant was a horrible disappointment. Even Ganondorf was. Only half a heart when he hits you? The soundtrack is incredibly weak with the exception of a few tracks. There's barely any Sidequests. Barely any mini games. Midna is Navi but rude. The world is empty. Everything looks generic. Bleh. The only positives are being a wolf at times, the dungeons while linear are really good, the bosses while easy are pretty cool, horse back combat, new swordplay mechanics and not much more. Overall, this is an overrated game. I overrated it as well. It's a good game. But a bad Zelda game. Expand
  9. Jan 21, 2013
    8
    Twilight Princess is a great game without doubt but not a great Zelda game, fans of the series will notice quickly what's missing, the atmosphere. This isn't the only problem, the world is quite empty and the dark graphics style doesn't suit the series. These are the only problems though and the good makes up for the bad. There are an intresting range of items, plenty of other things to do besides the story and the story itself is surprisingly good and is one of the best in the whole series. Overall this game is great and is definitely worth a rental at least. Expand
  10. Nov 26, 2010
    9
    An awesome launch title for the Wii, Twilight Princess may not be as innovative as Wind Waker or as groundbreaking as Ocarina of Time, but it's still a high quality Zelda game, and that means a lot.
  11. Aug 23, 2010
    9
    Certainly takes a while to get going, but when it does it's a cracking adventure, and a stunning Zelda game to boot. While not perfect, it's very easy to pick up, and difficult to put back down. While lacking something that superior Zelda games have, like Ocarina of Time, it's still one of the best Wii games.
  12. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    Best Zelda Period! thats all you need to know to buy this game and while it isn't perfect, it's still a great game! so if your still wondering you, need to have this game on your wii. it's a must have!
  13. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    Twilight Princess gave us so many things that Ocarina of Time instilled, and added enough that resulted in an amazing game. I would be lying if I said this game was a masterpiece because in my opinion, there were some problems in terms of pacing and although the graphics appeared great at some points, at other points, the game was covered with bland textures. Despite this, the more darker look of the game fits the darker theme of the game perfectly. Link's wolf form is a very welcome addition, despite some tedious collecting points in the game. The story in Twilight Princess is epic as hell, again revealing a darker side to the series. If I could give this game somewhere between a 9 and 10 on metacritic, I would but I can't so, I will settle for the lesser of the scores, because again the game, at least for me is not considered a masterpiece, but is an amazing experience. Expand
  14. Nov 13, 2011
    8
    Not the best Zelda game, but it does have some serious competition in that field!

    I recently went back to this game, in preparation for Skyward Sword. I can't believe I never finished it!

    Graphically it could be better - the Wii has proven itself in this area since - but for a launch title/late Gamecube game, it looks very nice. Nintendo have rarely repeated a graphical style for Zelda
    games, and this is another new style for them. It lacks the character of Wind Waker before it, but works well with what it does.

    The adventure and story are very exciting, as you'd expect, with several new elements to mix with the standard swordplay, slingshot and everything else you know will be in a Zelda game.

    The controls are a weak point in my opinion. Mapping items to the D-pad makes it awkward to select them. Waving the remote to initiate an attack makes the game more tiring than it would otherwise be. Aiming projectiles is a real benefit though with the remote. Otherwise the controls are functional, but I would prefer to be able to use a Classic Controller or Gamecube controller. Of course, you COULD play the GC version on your Wii (or GC) but we're reviewing the Wii version here.

    Playing TP again has really got me excited for Skyward Sword. I just hope I manage to complete it in the next 5 days so I can move on to SS ;)
    Expand
  15. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Its an amazing game, with a awesome original score solid gameplay and dungeons and a really well written storyline. It isn't my favorite zelda game but it is still amazing
  16. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    If you've never played a Zelda game, pick this up first.

    This is the most awesome Zelda visual style and the coolest story in the series. The game is extremely slow and boring at first, but as soon as you get to the first dungeon, it dramatically picks up. The fire temple boss and heat waves are incredibly beautiful, and Hyrule field is Even bigger than Ocarina of Time. People love to
    complain about the simple score and lack of voice acting, but to be honest, it wouldn't be Zelda with voice acting, and as long as the music is well written it doesn't matter what instrument is playing it. There are several instances, especially outside of the dungeons where I got stuck, and I even put the game down for awhile, but trust me it is worth looking on the internet for help in these instances because there is so much great content, beautiful environments, and expertly designed puzzles in the game to pass it up. I recommend any version of this game to literally anyone. Expand
  17. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    I adore this game to no end and is definletley the best Zelda game so far. It is also the #1 game on my favourite games list. It is just about perfect. A comprehensive story, great gameplay, excellent mechanics, dark and mature, but doesn't let of that Zelda style we all know and love. In my opinion this is just about the greatest RPG ever (and for all of you that don't consider Zelda an RPG, you're stupid, it is) by FAR the best Zelda game, and just about the greatest game ever developed. My absolute favourite game ever! Expand
  18. Apr 17, 2012
    9
    This is the best Zelda game I played from Ocarina of Time. Simple. Dot. I'd like more dungeons or quests, but anyway it's a great game, with good graphics and enjoyable characters.
  19. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    A welcome adition to the series. Glad to see they aimed to please the 15+ Zelda fans. The games blend of both dark and colourful environments in the story and visuals adds a depth to it. It had a much more mature feeling to it. The visuals with the design of characters was much better than Skyward Sword. To be honest, Skyward Sword felt like Super Marios sister compared to this game. Im hoping for a re-release in HD with optional motion controls. I miss laying in bed on Sundays without haveing to wave my hands in the air! Expand
  20. Apr 7, 2012
    5
    Twilight Princess keeps all the traditions and staples of the Zelda franchise intact.If you're a long time fan, then you'll certainly be on familiar ground. But for me, that was a big part of the problem. I loved Ocarina and Wind Waker, but video games have evolved a lot since that time. Twilight Princess is the point where the Zelda series starts to stagnate, in my opinion. Instead of delighting, the game mechanics and weapons feel over-familiar and unexciting. This isn't helped by the visual aesthetic. Wind Waker had a bright, vibrant color pallet and a wonderfully breezy tone.Conversely, Twilight Princess feels drab and lifeless. I know it's an attempt to make a more adult and darker world, but the result feels a bit boring. In the end, Twilight Princess just wasn't compelling enough to push through to completion and my long streak of obsessively-cleared Zelda games has finally come to a close. Expand
  21. Apr 3, 2011
    1
    first off i would like to say that this was my first and only zelda game because this game has turned me off to the whole series. now for as to what is wrong with it when ever you are on your horse or in wolf mode it is so easy to get stuck on things unless you are only walking and not going fast but then there is no point of the horse in the begining becasue of this flaw. next up is the characters they do not look right they look like they were made on the Mii chanel or something because they have the same shaped heads that you can give your Miis but the actual game enviroment was beutiful so that is why i dont give it a 0. stay away and do yourself a huge favor Expand
  22. Apr 17, 2011
    10
    ive played this game and beat it around 3 or 4 times, yet i find my self stretching my arms, and getting a snack and drink ready when encountering a boss. i still can go in my room and beat it and get a feeling of self satisfaction doing it. top 10 games for sure
  23. May 14, 2011
    6
    It does away with a lot of the more difficult elements of past Zelda games in favor of a dumbed-down, more accessible approach. Your objectives are spoon-fed to you, bosses are simple, and there were only a couple puzzles that had me scratching my head. Hyrule felt more like an environment to play a game in instead of a living, breathing world as it has in the past. Overall, there were only a couple moments that wowed me and the game fails to create an identity for itself as past games have, instead choosing to piggyback off of OoT. Expand
  24. Jan 24, 2013
    9
    To me this was the best Zelda game in the series. The task of getting the master sword was so awesome and unique, it was a lot better than just walking into the temple of time and removing it from the pedestal. The art style is one of my favorites, but what kept this game from receiving a 10 was that it was ported from the GCN and the graphics weren't what they could have been.
  25. Nov 20, 2011
    7
    A mediocre Zelda game. Nothing new added in what seems like a misguided attempt at making Ocarina of Time 2.0. Tedious oppening, boring wolf sections and item bloat. Once you get the master sword however, the game really does become like OoT, which while feeling dated, does obviously make it highly enjoyable. Some stunning boss fights let down by their simplicity in their defeat.

    Great horseback combat that is crimminally underused.

    You'll wonder how you ever did without pointer controlls for the bow.
    Expand
  26. Jul 30, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is great, but it needs more gameplay, lasting more than 5 hrs of gameplay, the dungeons are hard than any other zelda game to me. It has an excellent gameplay, but harder dungeons. Expand
  27. Oct 21, 2012
    10
    I didn't play own a Zelda game until early 2008. The cover didn't really interest me and I didn't know too much about the franchise. One day I took a break from Super Mario Galaxy and started playing it. The start was slow, but still pretty good. When the true part of the game started, I was amazed. I played for over two hours until I beat the first dungeon. The graphics were wonderful, adding a touch of realism to a fantasy action-adventure, the story was excellent, the music was phenomenal, the characters were...hit or miss. Zant and Midna were great, but I expected more out of Zelda, you know, the title character? But everything else about this game was near perfection. The dungeon design was great, the items were useful in many different scenarios outside of the dungeons(even the Spinner if you know what you're doing) and just the darn everything was great. Now that I've played more games in the franchise, I can see that it focusses a lot more on sword combat than others. Bottom line: Get this game. Expand
  28. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    Just flawless. Superb story, superb gameplay, keeps surprising. It's fresh but nostalgic. Certainly one of the best games I've ever played. My only gripe is that once you have completed it 100%, it doesn't offer too many incentives to continue playing.
  29. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    The Legend of Zelda Twilight Princess was my first Zelda ever, and thus, it definitely caused an impact on me. It immediately make me a fan of the series since. The game is simply beautiful, both on its scale and story, and it is without a doubt one of the best games I have ever played. It is probably the longest and most rewarding game I also happen to come across. Every bit of it is jolt with such perfection that it is simply incredible. It may not have some of the amazing creativity and innovation of the latest Skyward Sword, but I do guess it is rounded with a little bit more of heart, when you look at how long and simply flawless it is. The story, full of lovely characters is one not to be forgotten and it really makes you feel like the like the hero, the one and only, hero of time! Another Nintendo masterpiece! Expand
  30. Mar 9, 2012
    5
    Bought the game but became bored after a couple of hours realising its just the same game as the n64 zeldas, needs gameplay originality.
  31. Aug 17, 2010
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Graphically the best game so far. However it was so horribly easy that it sucked the fun out of the dungeons and fights. The lack of secret side quests was also damaging to the game. The major killer of this game for me was that the most awesome area and character in the game will not be returning in any sequel(Or so the ending indicated). Midna beats the hell out of Navi in every way and then poofs forever at the end. It's my assumption that with the removal of their forums and the invention of the wii along with game endings like this that Nintendo is just trying to burn themselves down for the insurance money. Expand
  32. Apr 25, 2011
    8
    This is a fantastic game; the characters are classic Zelda, easy to like, friendly and unique. The gameplay is also classic Zelda, but with the Wii controls, it makes it far more interesting. The story is pretty classic too; enemies come, take over huge swathes of the land , and you have to go and clear it of evil. It's fun all the way, although at times, the travelling can be annoying and slow. The enemies are not particularly intelligent, and they're not especially varied either. The environments are varied, from deserts to meadows to frozen lakes, it's all done beautifully. The soundtrack is subdued and atmospheric, kicking in during combat to increase the drama. If you enjoyed Wind Waker, you'll love Twilight Princess. 4/5. Expand
  33. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    I already did a review of Twilight Princess before but this one is a full, kind of detailed review. Twilight Princess is in my top 5 Legend Of Zelda games, before Majora's Mask, Ocarina of Time and Windwaker. Though one of the easiest Zelda games, the sheer length and size of the game, engaging storyline, unique characters and entertainment value are the factors that makes it such a great game. I have played this game both on the Wii and the Gamecube version but in my opinion, the Wii port is much more intuitive. The motion controls are pitch perfect and it does feel like your are slashing a sword. The story is much darker than other Zelda games, probably as dark as Majora's Mask. Midna the imp is one of the greatest sidekick characters you will have, up there with King of the Red Lions and Princess Zelda herself. Graphics wise, the game has a unique and great looking art design, reminiscent of OoT. My one tiny complain about this game is its sub-par musical score. The use of MIDI is great on sound effects and subtle sounds cues but as a whole score, it doesn't work as well albeit being a really grand size game. If you have a Wii, definitely get it as it is the one of the first great Wii games and if you have a Gamecube, it is an essential as it is the great final swansong for Nintendo's fourth console. Expand
  34. Nov 1, 2011
    8
    As expected the game was very good, it had great story, large amounts of gadgets, a large varied world and of course good game play although the game does have some problems, firstly the controls suck and i can simply sit on my couch and swing the sword which clearly means the wii is not accurate and is a failed product, the game is wayyy toooo easy (one can literally go through the game and not die once), the combat in general could have been better and required more strategy and lastly the game has a lot of space that simply isn't utilized properly leaving a large and a lot of the time an empty world as well. Overall a pretty good game but not near as good as OOT.. 8.8/10. Expand
  35. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    An amazing story, jaw-dropping gameplay, interesting puzzles, great music, addicting minigames, and classic Zelda design; this is one of the best games on the Wii and quite possibly the greatest Zelda yet.
  36. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = One of my personal favorite action adventure games. Very well designed and extremely addictive.
  37. Dec 31, 2013
    8
    I feel kind of bad for Nintendo. They are stuck between nostalgia and originality. If they were to present a new idea, complaints would arise about fan-favorites being excluded. If they brought in the fan-favorites, complaints would arise of lack of freshness. I felt the latter. This game relied very heavily on Ocarina of Time and Majora's Mask and felt like an exact mix of those two. I also felt there was a lot of obvious filler in the game such as the owl statues across Hyrule. A button to press for the sword would have been more concise, in my opinion. I really wish there was another way for the camera to rotate besides Z-targeting. However, this game still is one of my favorite Zelda games. The transition from human to wolf was short and smooth. The score is amazing and the Arbiter's Grounds and Snowpeak Ruins temples take the cake with 3-D Zelda temples. The final boss was truly epic, but kind of easy. If the bosses and overall game were harder, Twilight Princess could have been the best. The hardest part was the cave of ordeals and it is really boring and merely challenging (took me 3 tries). Also, there are far too many rupees in the game, and I could not even get rid of them fast enough. Overall, great game, but the later bosses should have made me die at least once, and, sadly, did not. Expand
  38. Nov 4, 2010
    3
    The only Zelda games I have played prior to this title was "OOT", "Link to the Past", and "The Legend of Zelda." Going into this game I really wanted to like it. It started out really slow, and then it got really boring. The story was also awkward. You turn into a wolf with some giggly little cat looking thing on your back. Eventually you turn back into Link; and even he looks weird. I'm not one who stops playing a game halfway through it, but unfortunately I will have to on this one. Expand
  39. Nov 6, 2010
    10
    Screw Ocarina, this is the best game ever. If I'm asked to recommend either the Wii or GC version though, I'd pick the original GC one. It isn't 'mirrored' like the Wii version is, and the controls won't leave you with an aching arm.

    You simply can't go wrong with TP. It is by far the best video game ever made, surpassing even the greats like Metal Gear Solid 3 and Super Mario Galaxy 2.
  40. Nov 14, 2010
    8
    This game is quite good. However, it has a major shortcoming: It is simply a rehash of Ocarina of Time. Ocarina of Time was an amazing game. Twilight Princess is also a great game. The problem is, I've played it before. And the first time was better.

    This game has a lot of strengths - the visuals in the game are excellent. While the game is not the best thing ever graphically, it has a
    very good style to it, particularly the darker sections of the game, where the design is the strongest. Midna, your ally, has an amazing design, and Link's wolf form is quite cool.

    The wolf sections of the game are the only real new addition to the game, and they are fun - they aren't long enough to get annoying in their simplicity, and the theme of travelling through the darkness is quite fun.

    The parts where you play as Link are very standard for games of this type - you can't really jump, you use your tools to progress through the levels, and combat is pretty basic.

    The major ways this game falls down are a fewfold.

    Firstly, it is too easy. Most of the game is pretty easy. I like to die periodically to make me feel challenged, but in this game, I didn't die even once. The enemies were not interesting enough to fight, and it was only the very rare fight, in the very end of the game or the optional side-dungeon, which felt even remotely challenging.

    Secondly, it often felt a bit too linear. While all the Zelda games are fairly linear, a lot of them disguised it fairly well; this game does not do so, removing the illusion of choice for the most part. Moreover, the Hookshot, previously a fun way to explore, has its equivalent in this game be much worse for the random exploration the Hookshot was good for.

    All in all, it is a solid title, and worth playing, but it'd be nice to feel like I was playing a new Zelda game, not a game which I played on the N64.
    Expand
  41. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    The only Zelda to match Oot. A huge epic experience. Unfortunetly better on the Gamecube because of camera control, but this was my favorite game ever for a while.
  42. Dec 4, 2010
    3
    I liked the game ok the first time, but after playing it again I really noticed... They were just trying to hard to make an epic game, and I don't feel like they did a good job of it.
    Ocarina of Time was an accidental hit if you really think about it; they weren't trying to create a great game, they were just experimenting with giving the Legend of Zelda series 3d graphics, and they just
    had fun with the rest. It also had a good story and a sort of hidden message about the loss of innocence with age.
    Twilight Princess is not Ocarina of Time. Twilight Princess basically attempts to add the darker two-world tone of A Link to the Past to Ocarina of Time. I won't go into specifics to prevent spoilers, but the bottom line is that they were just trying too hard. It had too many cheesy moments.
    Expand
  43. Jun 28, 2012
    9
    Once again I find myself loving another Zelda game. Twilight Princess is fantastic in nearly every way. The story is fantastic and filled with characters I absolutely loved, and it brings a new darker, mature setting. It's got some of the best, coolest and weirdest dungeons in the series I've seen thus far, like for instance one isn't really a dungeon, but a mansion with a friendly yeti family living inside it! Also half way through the dungeon, before you can get the dungeon item, you fight a mini boss, which is a lot of fun to do. The bosses in the game are really cool but also dark and creepy fitting the darker setting excellently, but I found them to be shockingly easy to beat, the only tough one being the final (four part) boss battle, let's put it this way the mini bosses are more difficult to beat then the main bosses. You also get some really cool sections where you can transform into a wolf. The puzzles are as always fantastic, and I found the game almost impossible to put down. This game is also massive, it has a huge world to explore filled with side quests, hidden secrets, and treasure just waiting for you to sink your teeth into, I played it for roughly 36-40 hours and still could go back and find stuff to do. As this is the Wii version it also uses motion controls, aiming with the Wii remote never felt better, and combat is also more fun even if it is just controller waggling XD. And it's a completely mirrored port of the GameCube version, so there's a reason for GameCube owners to test this version out. The soundtrack is fantastic although it's not as great as other Zelda game's. the graphics are awesome most of the time, with fantastic character animations and beautiful locations, but sometimes you looking at dated and bland textures or blurriness. In closing it's a Zelda game so obviously it's fantastic. It's story and setting will suck you in like no other game in the series, and the gameplay has some great new additions. It's just a fantastic game that I recommend to any and all gamers. A must play. Expand
  44. May 15, 2011
    9
    In my mind the best Zelda game. The plot and atmosphere the game creates is essentially brilliant. It honestly feels like it should be a movie, not a game (and I mean that in a good way! this isn't like Final Fantasy!) that being said, it does suffer from what every other 3D Zelda game has suffered from and that is that some sections (ESPECIALLY the temples) drag on WAAY too long. It's just puzzle after puzzle after puzzle and it's so boring, so frustrating and so unnecessary. Besides that, this is one of the best Wii games, and like I said the best Zelda. Expand
  45. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    Nintendo did it again! Iam a zelda fanatic since ocarina of time and i must say that twilight princess is really awesome and well worth buying. Iam really happy that Nintendo kept some of the classic ocarina of time songs within the dungeons it really brought up old good memories. This game is certainly a must buy for everyone that loves adventure type games. Thank you Nintendo!
  46. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    This is the best zelda game, nay, the greatest Nintendo game. I think that the gamecube version is better than the Wii's, but maybe it's just me. This game is everything that I loved about Ocarina of Time, but with new gameplay, characters, and just awesomeness. Get it if you don't already have it.
  47. Feb 15, 2011
    4
    This is my first Zelda game aside from a few hours on the N64. Everything is fun and all, but two things ruined the game for me. First, the fishing. Good luck getting that one figured out without going to youtube and watching a few demos frame by frame. That is the most frustrated and annoyed with a game that I have ever been in my almost 40 year life. It was unnecessary lack of functionality in the controls that almost made me throw the thing out the window. That made me wary of further annoyances and jaded me significantly. Second, the 3rd person moving camera. Just gotta love being attacked from offscreen and not being able to do anything about it. I do not like dying because of the camera. That's a deal breaker in any game. Tragic to have to pan a game with so much beauty but the fact I'm angry while writing this has to mean something. Expand
  48. Jul 22, 2013
    9
    The first Zelda game I played and it did not disappoint! One of he many aspects I like in videogames is the darkness in it. Twilight Princess is full of dark moments, with the Arbiter's Grounds and the Palace of Twilight being my favourite examples with dark themes, even though most of the game is fairly dark. The graphics look REALLY and the game introduced some of my favourite characters in the Zelda franchise, such as Midna and Zant (The Postman is also getting a mention because you can't disregard a guy who does his job well!) i also LOVED the wolf mechanic since wolves are my favourite animals and who wouldn't love clawing and biting your enemies to death! But there is something about this game that really isn't appealing to me but I'm not sure what it is. The game starts of REALLY slow (and stays that way until you get the Master Sword which is after THREE sungeons and vanishing all of the Twilight from Hyrule!) Some sidequests are pretty annoning (that game in Castle Town with the clawshots. Anyone?) Some of the main missions are pretty boring. (Oh look there's an owl statue. Let's take that away with the Dominion Rod. Oh look a book. GREAT! Wait, I have to get more of these things!?...) and some of the dungeons are pretty irritating (City in the Sky is pretty irritating but the Lakebed Temple just takes the cake which seem to be a theme is Zelda games with Water temples being so annoying!) But Twilight Princess is still a great game and you should definitely play it! Expand
  49. Mar 25, 2011
    9
    This game is great! The graphics are awesome, the gameplay is amazing, and the RPG elements (including: multiple items to discover, health potions, and sand-box) are completely showing. Great boss fights mean this is an all-round complete, and crystal clear, addition to the Zelda series.
  50. Apr 1, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game has glimpses of great level design but they are few and far between. The bosses, although interesting, are a bit too easy. The over-world is big, but seems so empty. The second from last boss (Zant) just runs through previous bosses that you have faced, which is disappointing. Quite a lot of the heart pieces are found in dungeons, which could have been used to fill out the over-world more. Even with its flaws, I still enjoyed the temples and bosses. It is a fun and enjoyable game. Recommended. Expand
  51. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    In video games industry there is a conflict saying that video games aren't at all "ART" while other say they're ART. In my words this Zelda game proves all the idiots of the industry saying that games aren't ART they are wrong.Twilight Princess beautiful and gorgeous and hell of a fun game with great puzzles and confusing dungeons. While there isn't replay value, you will enjoy the landscapes and heroic and sticky music. Twilight princess is above and shoulder to almost any game. Expand
  52. Apr 30, 2011
    9
    Story (9/10)
    Story(10/10)
    The story is well written, straight-forward, as well as filled with many dark secrets and questions. It takes you to many, many environments like deserts, underwater temples, snowy mountains, with many medieval themed settings.
    Graphics (8/10)
    The graphics were, and to this day; probably the best graphics in a wii game of all time. The textures are sharp, the
    polygons are plentiful and lighting is accurate. Although the bloom sometimes make it TOO soft; blending foreground objects with background objects.
    Gameplay (9/10)
    There are many chests of goodies to find around the game, many tools that are gained throughout the story, and the wii-pointer controls bring a perspective of accuracy no other game can accomplish. The only problem is that you have to swing the wii remote in order to do attacks with the sword; which i think makes the combat a bit clumsy.
    Sound (7/10)
    The score is both good and lacking. There are some very iconic and original pieces that almost define the entire game; and there are pieces of music that is just plain noise.
    Overall (9/10)
    When looking at the game as a whole; the pros easily weigh out the cons. If you like a good story; this game will not disappoint
    Expand
  53. Nov 12, 2013
    4
    The Ocarina of Time is quite rightly regarded as one of the cornerstones of gaming and at the time it certainly raised the bar for the 3d action adventure genre. Perhaps it was the fact that The Wind Waker received a lot of criticism upon its release (I personally really enjoyed it) but for the final GameCube outing Nintendo decided to go back to the template used in their N64 classic. Unfortunately eight years later much of that template just feels dated. Travelling from dungeon to dungeon is a specific order just isn't able to hold my attention anymore and, while most are intelligently designed, none could exactly be considered original. The same could also be said of Twilight Princesses combat system which is lifted almost straight from The Wind Waker, yet strangely doesn't feel quite as fluent or satisfying.

    If I’d never played a Zelda title before I’m sure I would have found plenty to enjoy in Twilight Princess but as it is I couldn't help as though I’d seen everything it has to offer more than once over the last decade.
    Expand
  54. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Need I say Anything about Twilight Princess It's a master Piece for the Wii alongside other Early Wii Lauch titles like Sonic and the Secret Rings, Super Mario Galaxy, Rayman Raving Rabbids and Resident Evil 4. Expand
  55. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    Of all Zelda games this is by far the most cinematic. The scenes and landscapes are amazing, and so are the character, monster and level designs. This, unlike the previous installments of Zelda since Majora's Mask, is quite dark - so dark and texturally realistic that it is the first in the series to get a T-Rating (which by today's standards isn't saying much, but still). When I first played this game I thought it was amazing and thought it had a perfect length and everything (this was back in 2006), but then when I beat it, I was - and sadly, still am - disappointed by the abrupt ending. This is really the game's only flaw. Beyond that, the controls are perfectly workable for the Wii (The Gamecube version is equally easy, the only difference is the fact that the map is mirrored and you don't aim with a Wii-mote) Okay, but back to the cinematic quality - it's amazing, and it takes Zelda to a new level that it hasn't been at before. I mean previous games have been great visually, but this is masterful like a Kurosawa movie with the vast landscapes used in the scenes and the use of nature. Also, again, like previous games, the lore is very original, and keeps introducing new things about the series which keeps it all very interesting. It's by far the best Wii game I've ever played (unfortunately the majority of Wii games are crappy board game rip offs or carnival mini-games). Another minor thing about this game that ticked me off a little bit was the shortness of the levels and the fact that the bosses aren't much of a challenge, but the game is extremely entertaining. It's sort of like a mix of Ocarina of Time and Majora's Mask in the sense that there are lots of dungeons and a really long story to follow to beat the game, but there are also many side-quests you can do and there's a Cave of Ordeals similar to that in Wind Waker and Majora's Mask (except this one is much more challenging than both). Expand
  56. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    This was the first Zelda game that I completed. I would say the most outstanding part is the gameplay the game's packed, there's like a dozen weapons tools which you unlock thorough the game and they keep adding new ways of interacting with the environment, so it never feels repetitive and there's always something new to do. I was disappointed by boss battles they were too easy. A boss needs to be a boss, not only look like one but also pose an obstacle to the player. I liked the artistic style (pity it's not an HD title). The story is quite simple, yet engaging. Highly recommended game. Expand
  57. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    9.5 rounds up to a 10. One of the best Wii games around: long and engaging story line, beautiful surroundings, great music and a wide variety of enemies. The game plays fantastic and never gets boring due to collectibles and minigames. Only downside might be the iffy camera at times.
  58. Feb 17, 2013
    10
    At first the game darkness and the whole beast link human link might seem weird, but as the game goes on, everything is just spectacular... cinematography, gameplay, puzzles... the whole history makes a lot of sense at the end (while in the beginning you might feel lost and wondering why do you actually have to play as a wolf). At the end, you'll feel like you have truly finished a legend. Cannot think of negative aspects of this game, blew me out! And it just gets better and better... Expand
  59. Aug 19, 2011
    10
    Zelda games are the best out there. The only reason someone can dislike Zelda is because they are either to stupid to solve the puzzles or they are the kind of gamer who only craves violence. Every Zelda game 10/10. They are the best games of all time, and no one can question that.
  60. Sep 4, 2011
    9
    This game is absolutely amazing! Although the graphics seem a little outdated, the puzzles are really unique, and the story is absolutely fantastic! The story line is so unique I think this could be rivaling some movies and shooter games. Not to mention the game takes 50-70 hours to finish on your first try.
  61. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    yeah.... here we go.... its a new game... but it all feels old its in good light thats what im told but everything just all feels the same....... in my console it looks more to me, like a bland land of stuff thats gimmicky my time spent on the game it made me see.... that i dont really like it all that much i dont think it good as usual i never disliked zelda this way, but thats the stuff that not good, there is some stuff that is good... (like) GAMEPLAY an that is what rly counts a-what im sayin is this is t. princess not great like M.M still... its still pretty cool i think its quite cool not normal standards but still awesome but not much colour its just some little blips in the design if u think its the best zelda youd be wrong it is M.M and if youre thinkin oot, then i wouldnt kill you, and still be pretty COOL but tp is very flawed and anyways i think it a great game coulerless but creative teee....p tps a gr8 game.. play it once, u suck play it twice, u still suck play it 3 or... more times and then ur awesome!!! teee peee it rly isnt up too high in my top games but thi is the question what score ya giv-n give it a good score or pummeled to the floor yoooouuuu ya think it need 9 or more (maybe 10) this is some ZELDA!!! play it if ur with meh come an get ur copy wooooah come an get ur copy wooooahhhh come an play it again woooah come and debate mah score.... AGAIN!!!!!!!! what song does this tune into copy the link to find out, or figure it out anyway, this is getting a 9 and an 85% score http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TAFNgEZuepA Expand
  62. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    Like many of its predecessors, the game features brilliant level design, and ingenious use of the puzzles and acquired items. There is a part where you use Iron Boots to hang upside down from a giant magnet and shoot enemies! In the 2nd level! The whole game is a joy to play, and yes while it is a little easy and predictable, there are certainly challenges and frustrating parts. And while the 'world' lacks a little atmosphere, the temples are immersive with great music and superb graphics. It is certainly not BORING! How can shooting orcs with an on-screen bow-and-arrow target be called boring? So just play it and let it take over your life for a couple of days! Expand
  63. Sep 18, 2011
    9
    In terms of innovation, this Zelda game really hit the nail on the head. The controls were very interactive, even though there were times they could have been better. The graphics are pretty impressive for the Wii and even more so unlike anything on any other Zelda game before it. The story seems to trail off a little bit and the world feels different but it doesn't disappoint. Easily a classic addition to the Zelda series. It was bewildering to see the world of Hyrule in a different light. The story progresses nicely, there is plenty to do and explore but not an insurmountable amount of item gathering, which is good for my tastes. It is decent in length especially if you try to get 100% and it does boast some challenging levels. Love it or hate it, I think it really comes down to if you like action/adventure games and even more so if you like the Zelda storyline. Although, I personal believe it stands out all on its own. I highly recommend this game. Expand
  64. Oct 8, 2011
    9
    An amazing adventure game, if you play for at least an hour, you'll feel like your in Hyrule. The story is completely brilliant, puzzles are just as, well puzzling, graphics were great, and the level design is so detailed, the whole game blew my mind.
  65. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    Zelda Twilight Princess kicks butt! While starting out slow the game picks up! Like traditional Zelda games in the past Twilight Princess gives you challenging puzzles, mysterious dungeons, damaging weapons, and plenty of twists and turns that will have you coming back for more! Skyward Sword should not disapoint considering Zelda a Link to the Past is my favorite game of all time!
  66. Nov 5, 2011
    7
    I consider myself a bit of a Nintendo fanboy, particularly when it comes to the Zelda franchise, and I was looking forward to the release of Twilight Princess with an almost feverish fervour. The end product did not quite meet my expectations. Dont get me wrong, it is still a good game, but it doesnt quite match some of the best moments of the series (Ocarina of Time, heres looking at you). Good points: 1.The dungeons are for the most part classic Nintendo ingenuity, with perfectly crafted puzzles and some really impressive boss fights. 2. Combat is well executed and feels like it takes what previous 3d Zelda games have done and polishes the mechanics to a finer lustre. Bad points now: 1. The overworld map is too large. Maybe that sounds like an odd complaint, but it just feels too empty with a lack of hidden secrets or enemies, so that traversing it just feels like killing time rather than exploring, 2. Its just no fun being the wolf. It feels like a punishment, having all your items removed, and having the finely tuned combat controls replaced with the limited and sluggish collect-em-up sections that constitute the twilight/wolf sections of the game. It is by no means my least favourite Zelda title, and if it didnt have it's ancestors to live up to, it would be a great standalone game, but I was hoping for and expecting more. I am replaying it at the moment in anticipation of Skyward Sword, and all the time I am playing it, I am hoping that the games mistakes will be rectified and the successes will be built upon for Zeldas future. Expand
  67. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    I loved it! Not as good as The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker, but better than The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. The series still feels like new even after this game. The series will only get better from here!
  68. Nov 11, 2011
    5
    In my opinion this game was flawed, though it is hard to see why. The universe they created lacked that "zelda" feel, more so then windwaker in my opinion. Part of the problem was, this game took itself too seriously, as well as the dreary atmosphere. I also found a lot of the new items were lackluster and fairly useless outside of dungeons. Perhaps the Zelda formula was just getting old, but I found this game to be a huge disappointment. Expand
  69. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    The closest thing to an Ocarina remake, sure It was well different in many aspects, but the visual and dungeon style and just the overall feel was a well welcomed return to Ocarina imo. only thing to let it down was the poor wii motion controls at the time, but I won't hold the game responsible for the hardware. Epic adventure.
  70. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Not as revolutionary as Ocarina of Time, but still shines very well and is possibly the definitive Zelda title. Packed with deep gameplay made famous by Ocarina of Time, a dark, well written story, great content, and amazing soundtrack, this is a game any gamer at all will not want to miss. Anybody that doesn't have a Nintendo console, go buy a Gamecube or Wii, and play this game.
  71. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    one of the best games ever,and I mean great! geinus darker adaptation to the series.awsome game, way better than wind waker and oringinal zelda's game.gameplay was new and I liked that even though it made link look like a girl.
  72. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Gaming all my life since the 2600 days. I've got to say this is one awsome game. I liked to use of wii controls and the graphics are nice for a launch wii title. If you like rpg's and you have a wii pick this one up. Buy It!!
  73. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    The appearance of the regular series villain was also good to see. The art direction was a nice choice on the part of Nintendo, giving fans the more cinematic approach they really wanted, after the Wind Waker's cartoony look. the only downside to that was that being a wii Game it did not have HD capabilities meaning jagged edges and blurriness.
  74. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    First off: All those people that rated bad I cant blame you your just pissed that you couldn't figure out the controls, or had enough talent to finish the game so you rate it bad because you have suckish hand-eye coordination, it's understandable.
    Second: The graphic are amazing in this game. The best Zelda so far, to be honest. Windwaker had more animation then Zelda Twilight Princess and
    I enjoy really realistic games. Third: All those people who talk about the wolf form and how Link gets stuck in wolf form, well thats part of the plot dumbo, he's supposed to. That is what is supposed to happen and I also like being in wolf form and how you can have night vision and stuff
    Forth: Whoever says that some of the ideas of Twilight Princess are copied from other Zeldas, well why not take a few things here and there to spice it up? Zelda is all one big series and it's not barbaric to take a few ideas from other Zelda games, geesh.
    Fifth: One last thing, if you can;t finish the game, don;t blame it on the controls, because to be honest it's just you screwing up and getting agitated because you don't have enough strategic skill to complete the game.
    Expand
  75. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    A gamer since I was 8, at 31 I'm still a die-hard Zelda fan... Since the Legend of Link on the NES back in 88, I've followed the Legends of Zelda through time, loving every game more than the last - Twilight Princess is the best game I have ever played. Then played again. And again.
  76. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    Ocarina you can such it...this is the best Zelda game of all time. This is one hell of a game and to go in on every detail would take forever. This feels very much like ocarina with the added difference of the Twilight. Now this is dark compared to windwaker this could be resident evil. If you want this is further darkened by the fact that in this game there is no voice acting. This could be one of the downfalls, I think its time for Nintendo to move on. The wii controls are a total enchantments to the experience and helps in every way. You don't control every move but its better than a button in every way. With all the advantages of the wii nothing beats the shooting mechanics and its accuracy. The wolf is also a great addition giving different gameplay opportunities that Link did not offer....it also helps with travelling later on which could get tedious. The game is epic to say the least, not to mention the vast amount of side quests on offer you could spend hours on the game and didn't even touch the main story line. The dungeons are also awesome some of them similar to ocarina but revamped. This is the Zelda universe but a re imagined and alive one. The game will test you especially when it comes to puzzles and all round adventuring, I would have liked a more challenging bosses but that is a small one because all the rest makes up for it. The game also happens to look beautiful which obviously adds to the credentials. The whole game runs smoothly keeping in mind that this is the biggest game in Zelda history. The cinematic could be better but this is again nit-picking at an impressive graphical presentation. When it comes to music its a missed one the orchestrated sections are perfect but the ones with the keyboards are just annoying. On the whole Twilight princess is one of the greatest games I ever played. This is a must own if you have a wii. Expand
  77. Dec 5, 2011
    8
    A good game though Extremely overrated. Some of the problems include, playing it safe, slow pacing, framerate issues, tacked-on motion controls, as well as having to much filler.
  78. Dec 21, 2011
    9
    This game takes everything that was good about The Legend of Zelda up to this point, expand on it, and throws in a little someting extra. The controls are well mapped and responsive (with the exception of the sword being mapped to shaking the remote, making "lock on and start shaking" an effective strategy), fun and imaginative weapons, and a storyline which is creative and epic in scope. In all the games in the series, Link has never felt as epic as this, with a huge, expansive world (Hyrule field is so huge it consists of four seperate areas), some of the best music to date, and beautifully orchestrated art direction, while I still consider Ocarina of Time the best game in the series, this is an extremely close second and an absolute blast. Expand
  79. Dec 21, 2011
    8
    An excellent adventure, and easily the best Wii game to date (one of few good wii games, that is). Plays pretty much as any other zelda game, the changes lies in the details. On the downside, the game is quite ugly and doesn't really benefit from the motion control.
  80. Dec 22, 2011
    8
    Very good zelda game. It is a bit too similar to OOT for my likeing, but everything else is very well done. Gameplay: 9
    Story: 7
    Presentation: 8
    Sound: 9
    Controls: 9
    Boss fights are very easy though
  81. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The first Zelda experience on Wii is masterful. The pace of the game in the beginning is rather slow, however, when the game picks up you may not want to put the Wii controller and Nunchuck down. The game features the best visuals in a Zelda game. Memorable boss fights and difficult quests do not fail to impress. The franchise villain makes an unexpected drop in near the very end that is sure to excite any fan of the series. Expand
  82. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    For role playing games fans this is the absolute best, top of the line game out there. First of all there is a very well thought storyline and a dynamic in-game plot, with an excellent and interesting development throughout the entire game that will keep you deeply submerged into it at all times. The characters are great too, we have the traditional heroes and villas but also newcomers appear, all of them brilliant. Beautiful and colorful scenarios are all over the game, constructing an astonishing world to walk, explore, gallop and fight in. The gameplay is amazingly good, with great controls and a very complex yet comfortable battle interface with multiple options and numerous weapons that never gets old. A nice soundtrack taken from previous games and some of it original too will accompany you during the adventure. Truly a videogame that will make you go through the utmost excitement and a greatly entertaining experience. Definitely an instant classic, a flawless and awesome adventure that you will not forget. Expand
  83. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    This is the best Legend of Zelda game that I have ever played. The graphics, story line, enemies/bosses, and soundtrack are all very good. The graphics are good quality and the edges of models are good and smooth when shown up close. The story line is incredibly engaging and is original. The enemies are good and varied, and the bosses are the way they should be: multiple types of attacks and a specific weakness. The soundtrack is original and very fitting to the current situations. For example, the music during the final boss battle is shockingly dramatic with a heavy rhythm and very low notes, and a very dark sound about it. In contrast, the music at the beginning of the game that you hear when in Ordon Village is very soft and calm, because nothing bad has happened yet, as far as you know. What I like very much is the ending. It brings about a feeling of a new start and things going back to normal after the horrible events that followed the light being taken away from the spirits. Expand
  84. Feb 13, 2012
    10
    Okay I'm too tired to write a full review so im just gonna say it: This game is good, very good I would recommend anyone that dont know the zelda franchise to start with this one.
  85. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    My best game of all time, with a cool graphics incredible story and a lots of quests. The giant Hyrule field is a thing that i've appreciated. Good job Nintendo.
  86. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    second best game ever. yyyyyyyyyyayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy.zelda ss has best gameplay
  87. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is for me the best zelda game ever along with wind waker and ocarina of time. The boses are awsome, i know they are a bit easy to beat but still they'r awsome and the music isn't the best. But this game got the best story ever In a videogame. And the dungeons are awsome. And i think Midna is the coolest helper Link has ever had. This also got what i think is the best evil character ever in a videogame. Every gamer should have this game. Expand
  88. Apr 24, 2012
    10
    I loved the game. Adored it. It had its points were it was tedious, but that's to be expected, it is a Zelda game after all. There were moments when I thought something could have been put together better, or could use some improving (Some of the puzzles, and the graphics), but the storyline made up for this fairly quickly. The controls on the wii were smooth and lovely, even if you did end up spamming buttons occasionally. I just completed the game a few weeks ago, and was quite sad to see it go. I've actually started a new game just to see how fast I can cruise through it. : / Expand
  89. Jun 28, 2012
    10
    Excellent game. I really got into this game. I've played Zelda games before, but I really got the concept down with this game. I loved it. Everything is top notch and feels polished.
  90. May 11, 2012
    10
    Amazing game! Makes me feel nostalgic everytime I play it. The controls aren't too bad, the storyline is great, and graphics are pretty good -especially with a component cable. This game started a little slow, but really shows up after about an hour. Twilight Princess is in my top 5 games ever, and if you play it, you'll know what I mean.
  91. May 19, 2012
    9
    After three playthroughs and about 200 hours of playing this game I've come to my conclusion. It falls down on a few things: -It's too easy. I felt like superman slashing up every enemy in my way, it got annoying because I felt myself looking for a challenge and acting as if some bosses were tough. The puzzles were a bit on the easier side too but still challenging. -Another big letdown was that the game felt 'empty'. Nearly every reward was rupees and there wasn't much interesting you could do with all your rupees. My wallet was constantly full. Big landscapes with little secrets, just some treasures with worthless rupees. With that said the rest is all wonderfull, awesome and thrilling. Definatly the most epic Zelda experience I've had. They didn't offer a lot new to the game except the wolf aspect, which wasn't really special. They played it safe and made it a traditional Zelda, which is fine with me. But it won't go down as the best Zelda ever. It's still the best game for the Wii though. 9/10 Expand
  92. May 28, 2012
    9
    TP is awesome but not perfect. Zelda games should be way harder. It is impossible to die every enemy even bosses when you are hit only take 1 heart away or less even the main boss which is kind of disappointing. Rupees are everywhere and not many things to spend them on. Some people complain that it is way to linear however I like it the way it is. to enjoy more the experience pass the game with only 3 hearts and only grab rupees from treasure chests and spend them on magic armor. Do not destroy boxes to get rupees or arrows instead buy them at shops so it feels more real. Aside from all this the game has nice graphics interesting side quests and story. What makes this game different than other Zelda games are the hidden skills enhancing the experience to the limit. Expand
  93. Jun 30, 2012
    7
    I could write a massively eloquent review about this game like I usually do with others, but I'm not in the mood so I will say this: The first time I played it when it came out, it blew my expectations away and I completed it 100% in a week. But I tried replaying it the other day and I almost wanted to kill myself, it's very strange and I'm sure I could elaborate. But I think the matter is that this game doesn't have much replay value, which is surprising for a Zelda game. Maybe it's all the wolf parts or the unusual Ocarina of Time butt-kissing, but it's something strange and I never plan on playing this game again. But I will be fair because I remember the first time playing it was like playing Ocarina of Time for the first time. And that will stay with me for a long time. Expand
  94. Jan 18, 2013
    9
    excellent solid title. Midna is a great character in the game. Wolf Link is a lot of fun and very different. The temples and items in this game are amazing. The dark plot makes it feel like an old school Zelda title in a new generation and time. Better than Skyward Sword in my opinion.
  95. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    This is my absolute favorite Zelda game in the series -well this and A Link to the Past that is. This game is perfect in terms of story and art style in my opinion. TP and its wide array fully developed and unique characters really leave the player inspired to complete his duty as a hero. Zelda has had some good games but this game is the only one who has left me nearly tearing up. P.s. Minda is the best partner in zelda game history, she even has a interesting story behind her. Expand
  96. Jul 28, 2012
    9
    This game is amazing but the wolf fetch parts are kind of tedius but if you can power through them then your in for one of the best games of this generation!!!
  97. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    No doubts. The best game for the wii and the best zelda besides majoras mask. The length is much longer than any other zelda if you tried a speed run in all of them and the dungeons are my favorite in the series. The boss fights are the most memorable and it's all around a fantastic game.
  98. Sep 2, 2012
    9
    Even though you can't say hands down that Twilight Princess is the best Zelda, to me it is a very good game and is third on the list under Ocarina of Time and A Link to the Past. I was relieved to see Nintendo move away from the kiddish graphics used in Wind Waker, which surprising to me a lot of people liked. This game sometimes had a dark aspect to it, especially when your a wolf, but it makes for an interesting adventure. When I play this game it feels more like OoT than Skyward Sword does, and for me that's a big plus. Twilight Princess does a good job having the Zelda aspect needed along with a few new ideas that blend in well with the series. The ending and end bosses of this game are the best part, and possibly the best the series has to offer. I don't want to spoil anything, but your in for some pretty intense battles towards the end. I also liked the story in Twilight Princess more than Skyward Sword, and I think overall it's a better game. Expand
  99. Sep 10, 2012
    10
    I remember playing this game when it was released and i was 11 years old. I played the game and for the first time, i actually completely fell in love with the game. All the characters were nothing less than astonishing. And then there was Midna who overwhelmed my mind. How it was possible to make such a great character? I spent good 60 hours playing the game even though i had some concentration problems back then. The story line, the feeling and everything. The mind inspiring musics and scenery. How could i describe it? The puzzles sometimes got me annoyed for a moment, but there was never a time i wouldn't come crawling back to the game. As DrEggman said, "A game that is as near to perfection as a wii game is possible to get" The game is deep, beautiful and full of feeling. And there is a LOT to do. As you do the main quest line you would be crazy to not to stop by somethings, like the good old Agitha and her bugs. But even if you won't stop and anything and just play the main story it will take you a good piece of time. This game is legend. So grab your controllers and plunge yourself into a new adventure. Or if you are familiar to the game, try it again. Works on me. This is Sainto, and i'm out. Expand
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 73
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 73
  3. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. 100
    An excellent addition (and homage to "Ocarina") to the franchise, and you'll have an enormous amount of fun playing it from start to finish. Get over the fact that the Wii's hardware is simply not as powerful as the other next-gen machines and get into the fact that Twilight Princess is one of the best games you'll play this year.
  2. It truly is, in my opinion, the best and longest Zelda ever made. With nearly 70 hours of playtime committed and more still to do, I cant think of a better experience or value this holiday season.
  3. 100
    Truly fantastic. It's not a reinvention of the genre like Ocarina was -- but it's much better, because it takes all its predecessors' raw ideas, perfects them, and creates an experience that's at once new and familiar. It's rare to find a launch game that truly justifies the purchase of a new console, but this is precisely that.