User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1461 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 16, 2014
    10
    Awesome game. Possibly one of my favourite games ever.
    So much to do in the game, it's wonderful, truly wonderful. Feels like a real, living world. Wish there were more games of this solid quality around.
  2. Feb 3, 2015
    10
    This won't be a long review!
    Here you have classic Zelda. The graphics are really atmospheric, and the story and characters are great.
    The whole thing is really immersive, the sound treatment is awesome. Just buy it.
    Wish more games were as much fun and just plain damn good as this.
  3. Feb 9, 2015
    10
    Yeah, really good game.
    Graphics are superb considering the limitations of the WII.
    So much to do here, you can while away hours just fishing for the hell of it if you want.
    Sound's good too.
    A little darker in places than some other WII games. but nothing wrong with that!
    If you've got a WII, buy it!
  4. Jan 30, 2015
    10
    Finding a title as good as this, that has this much depth, characterization, stuff to do, unexpected delights and sheer FUN is what makes being a gamer worthwhile.

    It's awesome, so just buy it. The only downside is that most of your other games are going to look terrible in comparison. Seriously.
  5. Feb 12, 2015
    10
    Picked this up a while back, and had an absolute blast with it.
    Recommended without hesitation to anyone.
    No previous knowledge of Zelda games required either.
    A solid buy.
  6. Feb 3, 2015
    10
    Amazing game, full of life and stuff to do. Look at this, and then the rest of the stuff in your collection and weep.
    All gamers and designers should be forced to play this game...
  7. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    I adore this game to no end and is definletley the best Zelda game so far. It is also the #1 game on my favourite games list. It is just about perfect. A comprehensive story, great gameplay, excellent mechanics, dark and mature, but doesn't let of that Zelda style we all know and love. In my opinion this is just about the greatest RPG ever (and for all of you that don't consider Zelda anI adore this game to no end and is definletley the best Zelda game so far. It is also the #1 game on my favourite games list. It is just about perfect. A comprehensive story, great gameplay, excellent mechanics, dark and mature, but doesn't let of that Zelda style we all know and love. In my opinion this is just about the greatest RPG ever (and for all of you that don't consider Zelda an RPG, you're stupid, it is) by FAR the best Zelda game, and just about the greatest game ever developed. My absolute favourite game ever! Expand
  8. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    A game that is as near to perfection as a wii game is possible to get. The storyline was fantastic. and expanded on the game play of OOT. The appearance of the regular series villain was also good to see. The art direction was a nice choice on the part of Nintendo, giving fans the more cinematic approach they really wanted, after the Wind Waker's cartoony look. the only downside to thatA game that is as near to perfection as a wii game is possible to get. The storyline was fantastic. and expanded on the game play of OOT. The appearance of the regular series villain was also good to see. The art direction was a nice choice on the part of Nintendo, giving fans the more cinematic approach they really wanted, after the Wind Waker's cartoony look. the only downside to that was that being a wii Game it did not have HD capabilities meaning jagged edges and blurriness. The only faults the game has is being too easy, apart from that the level designs are excellent, and the bosses are fun. I had a jolly good time playing it! Expand
  9. MasterJ.
    Nov 26, 2006
    10
    Ocarina of Time, your time is up. This is hands down the greatest zelda game ever made, it is flawless in every way. I can't wait for the GC version of the game which will be better.
  10. JackBlack
    Sep 23, 2006
    10
    This is the best game ever! If u do not like it, u have not seen or played it! Amazing graphics, amazing action, amazing everything! Extremely action full and non stop action, that never ends, and keeps gettting better and better! Get it, or u will not be on top of the besst video games, even if u hate most of Nintendo's games! Truust me on this one I no?!!!...
  11. Ace
    Jan 10, 2007
    10
    Excellent Game! Full of suprises and very addicting. The graphic, sound, and game play was excellent. No doubt that it is a 10.
  12. jonny
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    Pay no attention to these closed minded non-gamers decrying this game for lack of innovation or lesser graphics. This game was a Gamecube game, every addition we got from the Wii (which are all welcome and very cool, though not the best we expect from the Wii later) are bonuses. They make the experience better. If this had been a Gamecube only release even 6 months earlier, none of these Pay no attention to these closed minded non-gamers decrying this game for lack of innovation or lesser graphics. This game was a Gamecube game, every addition we got from the Wii (which are all welcome and very cool, though not the best we expect from the Wii later) are bonuses. They make the experience better. If this had been a Gamecube only release even 6 months earlier, none of these issues would rise with anyone. This game is huge, beautiful, endearing, exciting, and just next to flawless. Get lost in this game, it is soooo worth it. Expand
  13. DeclanD
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    has to be a 10. It is my favorite Zelda game, of all time, Well my favorite game ever!!! the only thing i didn't like was there was a glitch in it, so any one still playing the game, When you get the cannon to get to sky temple, DONT SAVE AND QUIT, thanks =] dispite a glitch, 10/10 well done nintendo,
  14. DiegoM.
    Jan 24, 2007
    10
    Superb Game, Zelda Twilight Princess delivers excellent thinks in all what the game can offers, wonderfull graphics, stunning light effects, beauty art style, Superb gameplay, very good Music, Excellent presentation, awesome story, the few bads of the game are only technically speaking. Zelda Twilight Princess definitely raises Wii, Gamecube and all video games bar.
  15. Alex
    Jan 26, 2007
    9
    Its been a long time since I played a Zelda game. Its hard to appreciate how much you miss something until you actually have it again. everything Zelda was, and is, is wrapped up nicely into a package called Legend of Zelda: Twighlight Princess. to say the very least, this game is FUN. from the first sword swing, TP grabs you by the metaphorical cajones and doesn't let go. my only Its been a long time since I played a Zelda game. Its hard to appreciate how much you miss something until you actually have it again. everything Zelda was, and is, is wrapped up nicely into a package called Legend of Zelda: Twighlight Princess. to say the very least, this game is FUN. from the first sword swing, TP grabs you by the metaphorical cajones and doesn't let go. my only complaints about the game thus far are that the speaker on the Wiimote sounds like crap (taking away the developers intended feel of "pulling" the bowstring, etc.), and swinging the Wiimote to attack gets a little old after a while. that, and Link runs funny in this one. overall, 9.4 out of 10. Expand
  16. KevinR.
    Feb 20, 2007
    10
    This just may be the greatest game of all-time. An epic story, surpassing any other one put forward by a Zelda title, combined with one of the best and most intuitive control schemes ever, show just why Nintendo was justified in waiting to release this game. While it draws some mild influence from previous Zelda entries (for those idiots out there, not just from Ocarina, but from ALL that This just may be the greatest game of all-time. An epic story, surpassing any other one put forward by a Zelda title, combined with one of the best and most intuitive control schemes ever, show just why Nintendo was justified in waiting to release this game. While it draws some mild influence from previous Zelda entries (for those idiots out there, not just from Ocarina, but from ALL that preceded it), it feels completely original, focusing more on Link and his new friend Midna than anything else. I highly recommend this game to anyone who has any interest at all in video games or fun in general. Expand
  17. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    I loved it! Not as good as The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker, but better than The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. The series still feels like new even after this game. The series will only get better from here!
  18. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    one of the best games ever,and I mean great! geinus darker adaptation to the series.awsome game, way better than wind waker and oringinal zelda's game.gameplay was new and I liked that even though it made link look like a girl.
  19. Apr 3, 2015
    9
    This is probably the best Zelda title since Ocarina of Time, the story is amazing and being able to transform into a wolf was an interesting innovation from nintendo allowing fans to play the game in ways never possible before adding a new perspective to the series, even allowing you to communicate with critters. The addition of Midna as Links companion in the game allows for someThis is probably the best Zelda title since Ocarina of Time, the story is amazing and being able to transform into a wolf was an interesting innovation from nintendo allowing fans to play the game in ways never possible before adding a new perspective to the series, even allowing you to communicate with critters. The addition of Midna as Links companion in the game allows for some additional comical and emotional elements to the game allowing for a more immersive experience. As far as innovative new weapons go twilight princess does offer some strange new items, one of which allows link to move along the walls, however unfortunately aside from that the game just reuses old ideas. gameplay much reflects much reflects the traditional style of previous games which is not a bad thing however the addition of Midna allows for a wonderful new ability allowing you to attack multiple enemies at once hic comes in really useful, however this ability is only available to Link in wolf form. A downside to this game is the level of difficulty, which has been considerably watered down since the N64 era and that is why for me Ocarina of Time, Majora's Mask and A Link to the past still out shine this chapter but that is not to take away this games right to claim itself as Wii's best Zelda title as it is still miles better that Skyward Sword and absolutely one of Wii's All time top 3 titles. If you have never played this game then what are you waiting for. Expand
  20. Evan
    Jul 23, 2007
    10
    Absolutely phenomenal from start to finish. One of the best video games of all time.
  21. AlanW.l
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    The best game I've ever played to completion - and I'm 30 and have been gaming since 14!
  22. ElliottP.
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    This game never falters! OoT left me amazed, and this game managed to surpass even that.
  23. TomH
    Apr 5, 2009
    9
    One of the best games I have ever played in my life. I have been a Zelda fan since I was a kid and continue to be as of today for many reasons. This is the darkest storyline out of the series with the twilight world and zant. If you have mastered other zelda games it should take you around 90 hours to master this one, tons of side quests and the dungeons are very difficult so I must say One of the best games I have ever played in my life. I have been a Zelda fan since I was a kid and continue to be as of today for many reasons. This is the darkest storyline out of the series with the twilight world and zant. If you have mastered other zelda games it should take you around 90 hours to master this one, tons of side quests and the dungeons are very difficult so I must say "prepare yourself". Expand
  24. DaveH
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    I really dislike comments people make about this game being so similar to Ocarina of Time, but I am even more pissed off those fanboys calling Ocarina the best videogame ever, yes it is a good game, but not that awesome that everyone will call it the perfect game. Truth is, I loved this game, I started playing Zelda with A Link to the Past and then continued with Minish Cap, they were I really dislike comments people make about this game being so similar to Ocarina of Time, but I am even more pissed off those fanboys calling Ocarina the best videogame ever, yes it is a good game, but not that awesome that everyone will call it the perfect game. Truth is, I loved this game, I started playing Zelda with A Link to the Past and then continued with Minish Cap, they were awesome, I loved the game and the gameplay, and when I found this game, I just liked it so much, the fact that you can convert into a wolf was the best feature, yeah well, maybe the storyline wasn't the best, but I sure do think "save both the light and the dark realms" is better than "get in a comma and save the world". Expand
  25. MarcoF.
    Nov 30, 2006
    10
    It's easily the best Zelda game ever, it has beautiful enviroments, good graphics, excelent story, and the gameplay it's superb. I've played all the Zelda Games since the first one in NES, but this is the pinacle of the Legend: Twilight Princess.
  26. CurlyCurly
    Jan 1, 2007
    10
    Amazing Intense gameply Amazing plot line that had me guessing every where plaenty of play time for anyone Beutiful graphics Nice comeback from the Wind Waker Overall: Zelda is one of the best sereis to ever come out. It makes you think more than just point and shoot Twilight keeps you on the ege of your seat for the entire game down to the last climatic batles Gameplay, very smooth, I Amazing Intense gameply Amazing plot line that had me guessing every where plaenty of play time for anyone Beutiful graphics Nice comeback from the Wind Waker Overall: Zelda is one of the best sereis to ever come out. It makes you think more than just point and shoot Twilight keeps you on the ege of your seat for the entire game down to the last climatic batles Gameplay, very smooth, I love the new sword moves Graphics, as far as I car it looks amazing Plotline, one of the best ones for zelda since OoT 10/10 no doubt. Expand
  27. JayL.
    Jan 27, 2007
    9
    First off, it was amazing game. But somewhere in the game you feel like you have missed something. Zelda no longer had the in-depth characters, they all seem linear. The twilight worlds colors are dull and make your time spent there very tedious. The music has been improved slightly, with some new tracks added, and some that sound familiar to the old OoT and Majora's Mask. The First off, it was amazing game. But somewhere in the game you feel like you have missed something. Zelda no longer had the in-depth characters, they all seem linear. The twilight worlds colors are dull and make your time spent there very tedious. The music has been improved slightly, with some new tracks added, and some that sound familiar to the old OoT and Majora's Mask. The gameplay is nice with some additions of new skills that are unlockable. there is no musical instrument; they are replaced with howling and use of plants. When it comes down to it, the linear characters just seem to be the major pit of this game. The puzzles are challenging, and even the enemies can be if you are not aware of what tactic/strategy to use. Its a solid game. Expand
  28. SamJ.
    Oct 4, 2007
    10
    Twilight Princess gives you everything you want from a video game. A moving and inspired storyline, gameplay, and hours of entertainment. If you have ever played a Zelda game in the past, you can't pass this up.
  29. JonathanC.
    Jan 5, 2007
    10
    It is the best Zelda game I have ever played! Some good graphics, but the best part of it is that you get to be Link!
  30. TomP.
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    I absolutely love Zelda games and this is definitely worth even more than 10 on 10. Hopefully Nintendo will come out with some more games this good soon.
  31. RyanH.
    May 6, 2007
    10
    This game is superior to even ocarina of time. by far this is the greatest game I've played
  32. JasonC.
    Jun 14, 2007
    9
    An outstanding game that can be played in a more linear fashion or allows for exploration. The only minor complaint I have is that the use of the Wii remote doesn't really translate into the kind of swordplay you'd expect.
  33. DLippert
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Great game once you get past the inital story line (like all Zelda games). If you own a Wii and have any interest in action/fantasy you must buy it. There is one fatal error in this game use two save points to avoid (fixed in later copies). I hit the error and it broke my heart, until i copied a friend's saved game to not have to start from the begining. A copy of real tricky things Great game once you get past the inital story line (like all Zelda games). If you own a Wii and have any interest in action/fantasy you must buy it. There is one fatal error in this game use two save points to avoid (fixed in later copies). I hit the error and it broke my heart, until i copied a friend's saved game to not have to start from the begining. A copy of real tricky things on the air world if you can't figure it out get help. Expand
  34. MichaelLasnek
    Jan 6, 2009
    9
    Its a fantastic game, but it doesn't have the same amazing feel that OoT and Majora's Mask have. I go back and play those games and I get goose bumps they are so good. I don't think another game that good will ever come along, but then again, maybe its just cause I'm not playing the game as a 9 year old...
  35. IanF
    May 6, 2009
    9
    The game is stunning and the play smooth A must for all Zelda fans. Gave it a 9 because it seem overall too easy. The time spent in between dungeons was way to short. Wish there were more games and prizes to win. Exploring seemed not as necessary or a waste of time compared to previous Zeldas. There was also nothing to waste rupees on buying. Ruppee collection was way to easy.
  36. JayJ.
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    Cons: midi sample music, no voice overs, blurry textures, annoying remote noises, sometimes feels a little gimicky, often predicable, seen most of it before. Pros: Flawless art direction, flawless gameplay, amazing storyline, although the music is midi its still the most beautiful and best written music in any game (or film) ever. Can sometimes feel retro (which is a very good thing) its Cons: midi sample music, no voice overs, blurry textures, annoying remote noises, sometimes feels a little gimicky, often predicable, seen most of it before. Pros: Flawless art direction, flawless gameplay, amazing storyline, although the music is midi its still the most beautiful and best written music in any game (or film) ever. Can sometimes feel retro (which is a very good thing) its zelda. Also, its probably the best game ever made. Expand
  37. JustusR.
    Nov 24, 2006
    10
    I didn't think I'd see the day when I'd be more engrossed in a game than I was with OoT. The day has come.
  38. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    I already did a review of Twilight Princess before but this one is a full, kind of detailed review. Twilight Princess is in my top 5 Legend Of Zelda games, before Majora's Mask, Ocarina of Time and Windwaker. Though one of the easiest Zelda games, the sheer length and size of the game, engaging storyline, unique characters and entertainment value are the factors that makes it such a greatI already did a review of Twilight Princess before but this one is a full, kind of detailed review. Twilight Princess is in my top 5 Legend Of Zelda games, before Majora's Mask, Ocarina of Time and Windwaker. Though one of the easiest Zelda games, the sheer length and size of the game, engaging storyline, unique characters and entertainment value are the factors that makes it such a great game. I have played this game both on the Wii and the Gamecube version but in my opinion, the Wii port is much more intuitive. The motion controls are pitch perfect and it does feel like your are slashing a sword. The story is much darker than other Zelda games, probably as dark as Majora's Mask. Midna the imp is one of the greatest sidekick characters you will have, up there with King of the Red Lions and Princess Zelda herself. Graphics wise, the game has a unique and great looking art design, reminiscent of OoT. My one tiny complain about this game is its sub-par musical score. The use of MIDI is great on sound effects and subtle sounds cues but as a whole score, it doesn't work as well albeit being a really grand size game. If you have a Wii, definitely get it as it is the one of the first great Wii games and if you have a Gamecube, it is an essential as it is the great final swansong for Nintendo's fourth console. Expand
  39. Sep 3, 2014
    10
    The amount of hate over the years for this game is incredible. I can't understand why so many people didn't like it. Although, I do admit the Wolf sections were pretty lame... but unique. The rest of the game shines, easily making it into my top 5 Zelda games of all time. The longest game in the series, and the darkest, Twilight Princess is a must-play for any Zelda fan or anyone who wantsThe amount of hate over the years for this game is incredible. I can't understand why so many people didn't like it. Although, I do admit the Wolf sections were pretty lame... but unique. The rest of the game shines, easily making it into my top 5 Zelda games of all time. The longest game in the series, and the darkest, Twilight Princess is a must-play for any Zelda fan or anyone who wants to get into the series. (Yes, the Wii version controls are a bit weird at first, but that's not the point because it was a great game) Expand
  40. Oct 31, 2014
    9
    Incredible game. Even though I prefer the brighter art styles of other zelda games such an Wind Waker and Skyward Sword this game is still incredibe to play. The only thing is sometimes it can get a little to dark and not have enough color
  41. AramisGutierrez
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    I had just got to the end of Gears of War (I usually only play 1 game at a time), but I thought I would play 10 minutes of Zelda just to see how the controls were. After 10 minutes I was totally captivated. I guess it is going to be a long, long time before I get back to Gears of War.
  42. Apr 17, 2012
    9
    This is the best Zelda game I played from Ocarina of Time. Simple. Dot. I'd like more dungeons or quests, but anyway it's a great game, with good graphics and enjoyable characters.
  43. Nov 20, 2014
    10
    Almost pure perfection
    This game if they invested a little bit of replay value and some extra characters could not just have been great with its story, plot combat and unforgettable characters it could have been extraordinary and get pure fantastic acclaim.
    This game is one of the true Zelda masterpieces and I have not given it the recognition it deserves it is completely misrepresented
    Almost pure perfection
    This game if they invested a little bit of replay value and some extra characters could not just have been great with its story, plot combat and unforgettable characters it could have been extraordinary and get pure fantastic acclaim.
    This game is one of the true Zelda masterpieces and I have not given it the recognition it deserves it is completely misrepresented by both me and Hyrule Warriors and I need to get a run that's at least partially worthy of it I know it will take plenty of effort but there are no shortcuts to anywhere worth going
    Expand
  44. Dec 29, 2014
    9
    The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess is one of the few games to go out and buy a 300 dollar gaming system to play.

    While playing the game, it seems to follow a much darker and edgy version of The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, which how can you not love that? When starting the game, the requirement of the Wii Remote and Nunchuck was a bit of a disappointment since i have the
    The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess is one of the few games to go out and buy a 300 dollar gaming system to play.

    While playing the game, it seems to follow a much darker and edgy version of The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, which how can you not love that?

    When starting the game, the requirement of the Wii Remote and Nunchuck was a bit of a disappointment since i have the classic pro controller, but the controls were not quite as bad as i would of expected. Controls overall feel great, both in your human form and wolf form. There are a few minigames like the one on a snowboard where controls feel wonky and you can easily make a small turn and end up hitting the way. Swimming feels weird, when wearing the Hero's Tunic A is to "sprint" or swim faster, but wearing to Zora's Tunic A is to dive. I found out multiple times that I'm just trying to swim faster and i will accidentally dive when I didn't mean to. Once you get used to it, it isn't too bad. Overall the controls with the Wii Remote and Nunchuck aren't all bad, i just wish support for the classic pro controller was added.

    Storywise it was fantastic. I was so hooked. My first playthou was over 40 hours without even doing the side quests or collecting heart pieces. The shear amount of dungeons and content actually surprised me since i had just finished Wind Waker HD and it felt a bit...empty? Going though some of the dungeons and hearing some of that Ocarina of Time blew my mind. All the new music is also very good used throughout the dungeons. You spend a lot of time building up and devolping around Zant, i wish they had give you a bit more time and development with Ganondorf, the final confrontation, while good, felt a bit rushed. Overall the new twilight realm felt amazing. Going between the light and dark world was awesome. Even the ending felt awesome, and sad at the same time.

    Overall this is a great addition to the Zelda library. 9/10
    Expand
  45. Apr 17, 2011
    10
    ive played this game and beat it around 3 or 4 times, yet i find my self stretching my arms, and getting a snack and drink ready when encountering a boss. i still can go in my room and beat it and get a feeling of self satisfaction doing it. top 10 games for sure
  46. Jan 21, 2013
    8
    Twilight Princess is a great game without doubt but not a great Zelda game, fans of the series will notice quickly what's missing, the atmosphere. This isn't the only problem, the world is quite empty and the dark graphics style doesn't suit the series. These are the only problems though and the good makes up for the bad. There are an intresting range of items, plenty of other things to doTwilight Princess is a great game without doubt but not a great Zelda game, fans of the series will notice quickly what's missing, the atmosphere. This isn't the only problem, the world is quite empty and the dark graphics style doesn't suit the series. These are the only problems though and the good makes up for the bad. There are an intresting range of items, plenty of other things to do besides the story and the story itself is surprisingly good and is one of the best in the whole series. Overall this game is great and is definitely worth a rental at least. Expand
  47. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    Twilight Princess gave us so many things that Ocarina of Time instilled, and added enough that resulted in an amazing game. I would be lying if I said this game was a masterpiece because in my opinion, there were some problems in terms of pacing and although the graphics appeared great at some points, at other points, the game was covered with bland textures. Despite this, the more darkerTwilight Princess gave us so many things that Ocarina of Time instilled, and added enough that resulted in an amazing game. I would be lying if I said this game was a masterpiece because in my opinion, there were some problems in terms of pacing and although the graphics appeared great at some points, at other points, the game was covered with bland textures. Despite this, the more darker look of the game fits the darker theme of the game perfectly. Link's wolf form is a very welcome addition, despite some tedious collecting points in the game. The story in Twilight Princess is epic as hell, again revealing a darker side to the series. If I could give this game somewhere between a 9 and 10 on metacritic, I would but I can't so, I will settle for the lesser of the scores, because again the game, at least for me is not considered a masterpiece, but is an amazing experience. Expand
  48. Nov 13, 2011
    8
    Not the best Zelda game, but it does have some serious competition in that field!

    I recently went back to this game, in preparation for Skyward Sword. I can't believe I never finished it! Graphically it could be better - the Wii has proven itself in this area since - but for a launch title/late Gamecube game, it looks very nice. Nintendo have rarely repeated a graphical style for Zelda
    Not the best Zelda game, but it does have some serious competition in that field!

    I recently went back to this game, in preparation for Skyward Sword. I can't believe I never finished it!

    Graphically it could be better - the Wii has proven itself in this area since - but for a launch title/late Gamecube game, it looks very nice. Nintendo have rarely repeated a graphical style for Zelda games, and this is another new style for them. It lacks the character of Wind Waker before it, but works well with what it does.

    The adventure and story are very exciting, as you'd expect, with several new elements to mix with the standard swordplay, slingshot and everything else you know will be in a Zelda game.

    The controls are a weak point in my opinion. Mapping items to the D-pad makes it awkward to select them. Waving the remote to initiate an attack makes the game more tiring than it would otherwise be. Aiming projectiles is a real benefit though with the remote. Otherwise the controls are functional, but I would prefer to be able to use a Classic Controller or Gamecube controller. Of course, you COULD play the GC version on your Wii (or GC) but we're reviewing the Wii version here.

    Playing TP again has really got me excited for Skyward Sword. I just hope I manage to complete it in the next 5 days so I can move on to SS ;)
    Expand
  49. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    A welcome adition to the series. Glad to see they aimed to please the 15+ Zelda fans. The games blend of both dark and colourful environments in the story and visuals adds a depth to it. It had a much more mature feeling to it. The visuals with the design of characters was much better than Skyward Sword. To be honest, Skyward Sword felt like Super Marios sister compared to this game. ImA welcome adition to the series. Glad to see they aimed to please the 15+ Zelda fans. The games blend of both dark and colourful environments in the story and visuals adds a depth to it. It had a much more mature feeling to it. The visuals with the design of characters was much better than Skyward Sword. To be honest, Skyward Sword felt like Super Marios sister compared to this game. Im hoping for a re-release in HD with optional motion controls. I miss laying in bed on Sundays without haveing to wave my hands in the air! Expand
  50. Apr 25, 2011
    8
    This is a fantastic game; the characters are classic Zelda, easy to like, friendly and unique. The gameplay is also classic Zelda, but with the Wii controls, it makes it far more interesting. The story is pretty classic too; enemies come, take over huge swathes of the land , and you have to go and clear it of evil. It's fun all the way, although at times, the travelling can be annoying andThis is a fantastic game; the characters are classic Zelda, easy to like, friendly and unique. The gameplay is also classic Zelda, but with the Wii controls, it makes it far more interesting. The story is pretty classic too; enemies come, take over huge swathes of the land , and you have to go and clear it of evil. It's fun all the way, although at times, the travelling can be annoying and slow. The enemies are not particularly intelligent, and they're not especially varied either. The environments are varied, from deserts to meadows to frozen lakes, it's all done beautifully. The soundtrack is subdued and atmospheric, kicking in during combat to increase the drama. If you enjoyed Wind Waker, you'll love Twilight Princess. 4/5. Expand
  51. JordanKnight
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    Brilliant Zelda game, really stands up to Ocarina of Time, i'd have to say that TP is better than I expected, expecially as I have played OoT over 5 times I think it is brilliant, as it should being Zelda and all, it has great graphics, storyline and characters... I love the new bosses and the new array of items is excellent, it gets a definite 10 from me. I think that this game Brilliant Zelda game, really stands up to Ocarina of Time, i'd have to say that TP is better than I expected, expecially as I have played OoT over 5 times I think it is brilliant, as it should being Zelda and all, it has great graphics, storyline and characters... I love the new bosses and the new array of items is excellent, it gets a definite 10 from me. I think that this game could bring anybody to the Nintendo side. Expand
  52. I
    Feb 10, 2007
    10
    This game is really great. I would give it 9.5 (nothing is perfect), but I can't do that so I'll just have to round it up to a 10. Anyway this game is definitely the best game for the Wii out there. When rating this game, I compared it to Wind Waker (the first Zelda game I got) and Ocarina of Time (never actually completed that game though) I realize this game was better then This game is really great. I would give it 9.5 (nothing is perfect), but I can't do that so I'll just have to round it up to a 10. Anyway this game is definitely the best game for the Wii out there. When rating this game, I compared it to Wind Waker (the first Zelda game I got) and Ocarina of Time (never actually completed that game though) I realize this game was better then both of them in almost all respects. I thought in OOT the combat style was incredibly awkward and I found my self using my shield too much. In WW the sword fighting was definitely improved, but probably too much. You could easily go through the entire game without using your shield once. That also made OOT too hard and almost tedious at times and WW, almost too easy. TP is a good balance of the two games, and it has a very good storyline. If the Phantom Hourglass is anything like TP, I'm very much looking forward to a sequel to WW (even though many fans hate WW I actually think it was better then OOT). Ok, sorry to bore you all with this long speech. Anyway, this game pwns and I gave it a 10. Expand
  53. Nov 26, 2010
    9
    An awesome launch title for the Wii, Twilight Princess may not be as innovative as Wind Waker or as groundbreaking as Ocarina of Time, but it's still a high quality Zelda game, and that means a lot.
  54. Aug 23, 2010
    9
    Certainly takes a while to get going, but when it does it's a cracking adventure, and a stunning Zelda game to boot. While not perfect, it's very easy to pick up, and difficult to put back down. While lacking something that superior Zelda games have, like Ocarina of Time, it's still one of the best Wii games.
  55. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Its an amazing game, with a awesome original score solid gameplay and dungeons and a really well written storyline. It isn't my favorite zelda game but it is still amazing
  56. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    If you've never played a Zelda game, pick this up first.

    This is the most awesome Zelda visual style and the coolest story in the series. The game is extremely slow and boring at first, but as soon as you get to the first dungeon, it dramatically picks up. The fire temple boss and heat waves are incredibly beautiful, and Hyrule field is Even bigger than Ocarina of Time. People love to
    If you've never played a Zelda game, pick this up first.

    This is the most awesome Zelda visual style and the coolest story in the series. The game is extremely slow and boring at first, but as soon as you get to the first dungeon, it dramatically picks up. The fire temple boss and heat waves are incredibly beautiful, and Hyrule field is Even bigger than Ocarina of Time. People love to complain about the simple score and lack of voice acting, but to be honest, it wouldn't be Zelda with voice acting, and as long as the music is well written it doesn't matter what instrument is playing it. There are several instances, especially outside of the dungeons where I got stuck, and I even put the game down for awhile, but trust me it is worth looking on the internet for help in these instances because there is so much great content, beautiful environments, and expertly designed puzzles in the game to pass it up. I recommend any version of this game to literally anyone.
    Expand
  57. Oct 21, 2012
    10
    I didn't play own a Zelda game until early 2008. The cover didn't really interest me and I didn't know too much about the franchise. One day I took a break from Super Mario Galaxy and started playing it. The start was slow, but still pretty good. When the true part of the game started, I was amazed. I played for over two hours until I beat the first dungeon. The graphics were wonderful,I didn't play own a Zelda game until early 2008. The cover didn't really interest me and I didn't know too much about the franchise. One day I took a break from Super Mario Galaxy and started playing it. The start was slow, but still pretty good. When the true part of the game started, I was amazed. I played for over two hours until I beat the first dungeon. The graphics were wonderful, adding a touch of realism to a fantasy action-adventure, the story was excellent, the music was phenomenal, the characters were...hit or miss. Zant and Midna were great, but I expected more out of Zelda, you know, the title character? But everything else about this game was near perfection. The dungeon design was great, the items were useful in many different scenarios outside of the dungeons(even the Spinner if you know what you're doing) and just the darn everything was great. Now that I've played more games in the franchise, I can see that it focusses a lot more on sword combat than others. Bottom line: Get this game. Expand
  58. KevinC.
    Aug 10, 2007
    5
    Rent before you buy, this is definitely not a game for everyone. I was surprised at the near-universal praise from critics -- I can't help but think part of that is nostalgia for all things Zelda. For me, the game looks great and the Wii controls really add something but the gameplay itself bored and frustrated me. Some of the "puzzles" or mini-quests were just annoying and tedious, Rent before you buy, this is definitely not a game for everyone. I was surprised at the near-universal praise from critics -- I can't help but think part of that is nostalgia for all things Zelda. For me, the game looks great and the Wii controls really add something but the gameplay itself bored and frustrated me. Some of the "puzzles" or mini-quests were just annoying and tedious, NOT fun. I have a feeling things will be better later in the game, but I'm quitting permanently after 7+ hours into the 50+ hr dragfest. I think I wore out my (A) button with all the repetitive & mindless chores. Oh well. Expand
  59. Nov 1, 2011
    8
    As expected the game was very good, it had great story, large amounts of gadgets, a large varied world and of course good game play although the game does have some problems, firstly the controls suck and i can simply sit on my couch and swing the sword which clearly means the wii is not accurate and is a failed product, the game is wayyy toooo easy (one can literally go through the gameAs expected the game was very good, it had great story, large amounts of gadgets, a large varied world and of course good game play although the game does have some problems, firstly the controls suck and i can simply sit on my couch and swing the sword which clearly means the wii is not accurate and is a failed product, the game is wayyy toooo easy (one can literally go through the game and not die once), the combat in general could have been better and required more strategy and lastly the game has a lot of space that simply isn't utilized properly leaving a large and a lot of the time an empty world as well. Overall a pretty good game but not near as good as OOT.. 8.8/10. Expand
  60. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    An amazing story, jaw-dropping gameplay, interesting puzzles, great music, addicting minigames, and classic Zelda design; this is one of the best games on the Wii and quite possibly the greatest Zelda yet.
  61. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    There is no other word than "Perfection" for this game. it brings all the good memories of the old ones It's a lot darker, like it has grown with the players of Ocarina of Time.
  62. Oct 15, 2014
    9
    This was probably my 2nd favorite zelda game out of the series [first being, of course, ocarina of time]. The game has so much about it to love from the fighting system to the creativity of the temples to how vast the entire world is. So much love for this game.
  63. Sep 25, 2014
    9
    "Twilight Princess" is one of my favorite Legend of Zelda video games. The story is the best part of the game; it's engrossing, dark, interesting, and quite deep. The graphics look great, the dungeons are extremely well designed, and the world is very huge and expansive, leaving a lot to explore. Some negative points are that the items are very rarely used after the dungeon you find them"Twilight Princess" is one of my favorite Legend of Zelda video games. The story is the best part of the game; it's engrossing, dark, interesting, and quite deep. The graphics look great, the dungeons are extremely well designed, and the world is very huge and expansive, leaving a lot to explore. Some negative points are that the items are very rarely used after the dungeon you find them in is completed, and it is overall a very easy game. Despite those flaws, it's one of the best Zelda games and one of the best Wii games. Expand
  64. Oct 13, 2014
    10
    An awesome, lengthy game with a great story and good characters. There are tons of dungeons for you to discover and this game never becomes tedious. The bosses are pretty epic, there are several sidequests that you can attempt to complete, such as fishing, Poe hunting or bug collecting. The world is quite huge and is varied enough so as not to feel boring. The whole game has a dark toneAn awesome, lengthy game with a great story and good characters. There are tons of dungeons for you to discover and this game never becomes tedious. The bosses are pretty epic, there are several sidequests that you can attempt to complete, such as fishing, Poe hunting or bug collecting. The world is quite huge and is varied enough so as not to feel boring. The whole game has a dark tone that is nice to see in a Zelda game. Also, Midna is easily the best companion. You have to play this game! Expand
  65. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    Best Zelda Period! thats all you need to know to buy this game and while it isn't perfect, it's still a great game! so if your still wondering you, need to have this game on your wii. it's a must have!
  66. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Every Zelda has insanely high expectations and tough criticism. This is a great game but not an elite game in the storied franchise. I thoroughly enjoyed TP, but it seemed to rely to much on the past. It began with a painfully slow start but was great once you got into the meat of the game. The overworld is huge with tons of land to explore and I really enjoyed the art style. I wish IEvery Zelda has insanely high expectations and tough criticism. This is a great game but not an elite game in the storied franchise. I thoroughly enjoyed TP, but it seemed to rely to much on the past. It began with a painfully slow start but was great once you got into the meat of the game. The overworld is huge with tons of land to explore and I really enjoyed the art style. I wish I could have seen more innovation and a bigger evolution for the Zelda franchise. It is still probably one of the best games on Wii that doesn't have the word Galaxy in it. Expand
  67. Apr 13, 2011
    9
    This is my favorite Zelda game of all the series but i havent had the chance to play Ocarina of Time yet.Wind Waker is a close second but its not the best.Twilight Princess is an awsome adventure game that you will never want to stop playing.
  68. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    YES! At last, a Wii game that I can enjoy! "The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess" is one good looking and good playing game that will appeal very strongly to your gaming senses. Looks cheesy and childish? Then stop trolling and go play your COD.
  69. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    The Legend of Zelda continues to delight fans throughout the years. Twilight Princess is no exception. Although the graphics and sound may be disappointing to many in 2011, the entertaining story and exciting dungeons are enough to make this a must-play title.
  70. Oct 11, 2014
    9
    I honestly don't see why people hate this game. It has lots of mini games, collectible items, and side quests to keep you playing after you finish the story, not to mention just exploring the vast world. The controls are okay, I only wish that if you stabbed, or vertical or horizontal slashed, it would do that same action. Not 1 to 1 like Skyward Sword, but with more difference betweenI honestly don't see why people hate this game. It has lots of mini games, collectible items, and side quests to keep you playing after you finish the story, not to mention just exploring the vast world. The controls are okay, I only wish that if you stabbed, or vertical or horizontal slashed, it would do that same action. Not 1 to 1 like Skyward Sword, but with more difference between moves. But it doesn't really matter, because you can learn advance sword techniques to mix up the combat, although the actual gestures can be tricky to pull off due to controls, and it would have been nice to have an option to play it with the classic pro, or GameCube controller would be nice. Its also a darker tone than other Zelda games. The cinematics are epic, but creepy, and they leave you feeling hopeless, and its sort of touching. Some of the characters aren't handled well, like Zant, Ganon, Ilia, and Zelda, and it would have been nice to have voice acting, and better facial animations, but its not a big deal. Lastly, the dungeons and items are fantastic. Seriously, these puzzles are great and the bosses are amazing, if easy. Its unfortunate that the Spinner, Ball and Chain, and Dominion rod aren't worth poop out of their dungeons, but it's, yet again, not a big problem. A truly epic Zelda game, and the best I've played. Expand
  71. Nov 29, 2014
    10
    I love this game,this was one of the first if not, the first zelda game I played and no other zelda game has matched the beauty that this game is.This game was brilliant when I first played and when I came back to it recently,I still love it which shows that old games can be still fun.As a WII game,the controls are, at first,quite clunky but I can forgive since to me, the Wii haas alwaysI love this game,this was one of the first if not, the first zelda game I played and no other zelda game has matched the beauty that this game is.This game was brilliant when I first played and when I came back to it recently,I still love it which shows that old games can be still fun.As a WII game,the controls are, at first,quite clunky but I can forgive since to me, the Wii haas always been a bit clunky but you will get used to it Expand
  72. Jan 21, 2015
    10
    I don't know why i just beat the game. I should've played it awhile ago but anyway this game is great. The art style is def my favorite out of all zelda games. This game had very good gameplay which i thought the sword and the wii motion sensor wouldn't do well but i was wrong. twilight Link and epona are my favorite because they look like how the hero and his noble steed should look;I don't know why i just beat the game. I should've played it awhile ago but anyway this game is great. The art style is def my favorite out of all zelda games. This game had very good gameplay which i thought the sword and the wii motion sensor wouldn't do well but i was wrong. twilight Link and epona are my favorite because they look like how the hero and his noble steed should look; Strong, cut, and well matured. Twilight had a huge map and a lot of exploration. Although it did not have many side missions the main story was very long so you didn't have to worry about it being short. The amount of cool weapons and strength link had in this game you couldn't argue that he is not the strongest link out of the whole series (besides majors mask link aka the hero of time kid link) The bosses in this game were fun and the dungeons were so creative. This is just another great Zelda game to add on to the franchise Expand
  73. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    The Legend of Zelda Twilight Princess was my first Zelda ever, and thus, it definitely caused an impact on me. It immediately make me a fan of the series since. The game is simply beautiful, both on its scale and story, and it is without a doubt one of the best games I have ever played. It is probably the longest and most rewarding game I also happen to come across. Every bit of it is joltThe Legend of Zelda Twilight Princess was my first Zelda ever, and thus, it definitely caused an impact on me. It immediately make me a fan of the series since. The game is simply beautiful, both on its scale and story, and it is without a doubt one of the best games I have ever played. It is probably the longest and most rewarding game I also happen to come across. Every bit of it is jolt with such perfection that it is simply incredible. It may not have some of the amazing creativity and innovation of the latest Skyward Sword, but I do guess it is rounded with a little bit more of heart, when you look at how long and simply flawless it is. The story, full of lovely characters is one not to be forgotten and it really makes you feel like the like the hero, the one and only, hero of time! Another Nintendo masterpiece! Expand
  74. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Not as revolutionary as Ocarina of Time, but still shines very well and is possibly the definitive Zelda title. Packed with deep gameplay made famous by Ocarina of Time, a dark, well written story, great content, and amazing soundtrack, this is a game any gamer at all will not want to miss. Anybody that doesn't have a Nintendo console, go buy a Gamecube or Wii, and play this game.
  75. Nov 2, 2014
    9
    As a wii game, you have to admit it pretty good. Storyline, bosses, controls and characters wise.
    They wanted to try a new visual and did so by choosing a darker colour tone which apparently a lot of people hate. I thought the colour scheme made the environment more intense.
    I love this game so much. I think anyone who is playing a Zelda game for the first time or truly appreciate the
    As a wii game, you have to admit it pretty good. Storyline, bosses, controls and characters wise.
    They wanted to try a new visual and did so by choosing a darker colour tone which apparently a lot of people hate. I thought the colour scheme made the environment more intense.
    I love this game so much. I think anyone who is playing a Zelda game for the first time or truly appreciate the Zelda franchise will definitely appreciate this game.
    Expand
  76. KarlP.
    Feb 12, 2007
    6
    As a new convert to the Wii from the PS2 and fan of the Tomb Raider series, time splitters and Baldurs gate games on the PS2, I didn't know what to expect from Zelda. Likes: -Some great ideas in here, like the wolf persona with it's various skills, the monkeys are funny -The story line is good -The game is generally enjoyable Dislikes: - I almost gave up on the game during the As a new convert to the Wii from the PS2 and fan of the Tomb Raider series, time splitters and Baldurs gate games on the PS2, I didn't know what to expect from Zelda. Likes: -Some great ideas in here, like the wolf persona with it's various skills, the monkeys are funny -The story line is good -The game is generally enjoyable Dislikes: - I almost gave up on the game during the introduction level because it was so boring - it's a bit easy - the graphics are good, but not stunning Where I think though the game does let itself down is on the control system. I had hoped that being a Wii game, it would feel very interactive, but it doesn't. The sword actions don't mimic what you do with the Wiiremote and the game is lesser for it. What makes the Wii stand out from the crowd is the potential for truly interactive gaming experience, but this game can be played with the merest flicks of the wrist, which bear little resemblance to the on screen action, whilst lounging on the settee. Here's hoping the next Zelda is properly interactive! Expand
  77. MattB
    Nov 15, 2009
    6
    Sure, an OK game, but far too much time spent just getting from place to place. Gets old quick.
  78. OscarO.
    Oct 25, 2007
    6
    Decent game. But too ambitious. It just doesn't fill me with the same joy as wind waker.
  79. Jan 24, 2013
    9
    To me this was the best Zelda game in the series. The task of getting the master sword was so awesome and unique, it was a lot better than just walking into the temple of time and removing it from the pedestal. The art style is one of my favorites, but what kept this game from receiving a 10 was that it was ported from the GCN and the graphics weren't what they could have been.
  80. Dec 18, 2011
    5
    I can't believe I almost thought this was the greatest game ever. What was I thinking? Even when I thought that, I knew this game has flaws. But it has much more than I thought I did. For one, the storyline. Link's friend gets kidnapped, the forest gets covered in Twilight, link turns into a wolf, meets a stupid creature, and then has to collect tears of light to remove the Twilight. Then,I can't believe I almost thought this was the greatest game ever. What was I thinking? Even when I thought that, I knew this game has flaws. But it has much more than I thought I did. For one, the storyline. Link's friend gets kidnapped, the forest gets covered in Twilight, link turns into a wolf, meets a stupid creature, and then has to collect tears of light to remove the Twilight. Then, you do that two more times. Then, you battle Zant and then out of nowhere, Ganondorf comes in. For being traditional, this game barely has Ganondorf. Could it be more linear? It is impossible to do anything out of order? Despite there being no obstacle between the forest and Hyrule field, Midna does not allow you to leave until you beat the Forest Temple. The world and towns are linear as hell. Kakariko is not a town, it's just a linear set of nearly completely inaccesible buildings. Same with Castle Town. The dungeons are linear than ever too. Once you enter a Twilighted area, you are stuck until you get the dumb tears of light. The people are retarded. They look Wierd, they say dumb things and act dumb, some are just like robots, and overall there is just no development. What is so great about collecting all these useless items. You get the item in the dungeon, you use it, you use it for about one thing, and then it's no longer used. You get the slingshot and use it for the first half hour only. You get a whistle to call your horse near the end of the game. What the hell? You spend trillions of rupees for magic armor that runs on rupees. What the hell? Other than the useless magic armor, there is nothing to spend the rupees on. Rupees are everywhere in Twilight Princess. But there is nothing to spend them on and if you can't carry anymore and you open a chest with a rupee, then it'll say let's put it back. It's annoying because if you may not remember that that chest just has rupees and you could come and open it again and just get the same message. The bosses are painfully easy. Zant was a horrible disappointment. Even Ganondorf was. Only half a heart when he hits you? The soundtrack is incredibly weak with the exception of a few tracks. There's barely any Sidequests. Barely any mini games. Midna is Navi but rude. The world is empty. Everything looks generic. Bleh. The only positives are being a wolf at times, the dungeons while linear are really good, the bosses while easy are pretty cool, horse back combat, new swordplay mechanics and not much more. Overall, this is an overrated game. I overrated it as well. It's a good game. But a bad Zelda game. Expand
  81. EnddD.
    Jul 23, 2007
    4
    I like the Wii controls, but other wise it's a very boring game.
  82. ElliottW
    Mar 10, 2009
    5
    O-V-E-R-A-T-E-D. Sure, the graphics are good. Sure, the controls are good. But, I mean is it just me or is this game SO BORING? It's got no charm, the whole thing is slow and it drags out too long. I just got bored of it and stopped playing. This may be a must for Zelda fans or fans of the genre, but from my point of view....... Meh.
  83. Apr 7, 2012
    5
    Twilight Princess keeps all the traditions and staples of the Zelda franchise intact.If you're a long time fan, then you'll certainly be on familiar ground. But for me, that was a big part of the problem. I loved Ocarina and Wind Waker, but video games have evolved a lot since that time. Twilight Princess is the point where the Zelda series starts to stagnate, in my opinion. Instead ofTwilight Princess keeps all the traditions and staples of the Zelda franchise intact.If you're a long time fan, then you'll certainly be on familiar ground. But for me, that was a big part of the problem. I loved Ocarina and Wind Waker, but video games have evolved a lot since that time. Twilight Princess is the point where the Zelda series starts to stagnate, in my opinion. Instead of delighting, the game mechanics and weapons feel over-familiar and unexciting. This isn't helped by the visual aesthetic. Wind Waker had a bright, vibrant color pallet and a wonderfully breezy tone.Conversely, Twilight Princess feels drab and lifeless. I know it's an attempt to make a more adult and darker world, but the result feels a bit boring. In the end, Twilight Princess just wasn't compelling enough to push through to completion and my long streak of obsessively-cleared Zelda games has finally come to a close. Expand
  84. Jul 30, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is great, but it needs more gameplay, lasting more than 5 hrs of gameplay, the dungeons are hard than any other zelda game to me. It has an excellent gameplay, but harder dungeons. Expand
  85. BrentH.
    Aug 8, 2007
    5
    I hate myself for hating this game. It just feels soo boring, I play it for about 10 mins then turn off my Wii and go do something else. After playing this game, I have realized I hate RPGs.
  86. HarrisonS.
    Oct 18, 2007
    3
    As a massive zelda fan, i can only express my most severe disappointment... it takes shapeshifting from windwaker and adds that to ocarina of time... that's this game. but ocarina of time was new and amazing, a believable massive world with gorgeous graphics and gameplay. twilight princess is, in the year 2006, none of those things. it's physically painful for me to watch my As a massive zelda fan, i can only express my most severe disappointment... it takes shapeshifting from windwaker and adds that to ocarina of time... that's this game. but ocarina of time was new and amazing, a believable massive world with gorgeous graphics and gameplay. twilight princess is, in the year 2006, none of those things. it's physically painful for me to watch my most beloved franchises go down the drain... and look at the critic reviews. 95/100? did nobody notice that the only new thing is the light gun control? Why nintendo, why. why couldn't the wii be more than an overclocked gamecube with a new controller and a higher price tag? look at assassins creed, a game that actually looks like a incredible new genre all it's own. why can't zelda break any new ground? because it's on the wii. Expand
  87. Jan 1, 2012
    3
    This game doesn't stack up to other Zeldas like Ocarina or Wind Waker. For me, the darkness doesn't suit the series and being a wolf felt so boring and felt like an unnecessary addition. The controls were fine though but overall the game didn't give me motiviation to be completed.
  88. JamesK.
    Apr 16, 2007
    3
    I'm writing only in the hope that I can convice someone NOT to buy this game and instead rent before you might buy. This game had the potential to be one of the greatest games ever made. However, I don't know what Nintendo was doing...sometimes I am amazed by the ideas and gameplay, and other times I just look around the room trying to find a reason for WHY Nintendo put so many I'm writing only in the hope that I can convice someone NOT to buy this game and instead rent before you might buy. This game had the potential to be one of the greatest games ever made. However, I don't know what Nintendo was doing...sometimes I am amazed by the ideas and gameplay, and other times I just look around the room trying to find a reason for WHY Nintendo put so many childish things in the game. Nintendo...you can't cater to both adults and children... Overall, its a great addition to the series, but if anyone from Nintendo ever reads this please... please... PLEASE make a game for people over 10. Somehow I have flashbacks to that green guy that hoovered over Fred Flinstone (zazu?) in the later episodes. What were you thinking? MAN this could have been a great game... instead its a good game somehow ahead of its time. Expand
  89. DavidF
    Jan 4, 2010
    4
    Are all these critics on Nintendo's payroll? Is this a terrible game? Certainly not. But is it a great game? Not even close. If you think frustration is the same as fun, this may be your thing. But if you're a fan of the original, then this game isn't for you. It's almost identical to Ocarina of Time. Ok, they turned Navi into a little demon thing, but that's Are all these critics on Nintendo's payroll? Is this a terrible game? Certainly not. But is it a great game? Not even close. If you think frustration is the same as fun, this may be your thing. But if you're a fan of the original, then this game isn't for you. It's almost identical to Ocarina of Time. Ok, they turned Navi into a little demon thing, but that's pretty much the only difference. I mean how many years has it been since Ocarina? And they haven't improved _anything_? If you loved Ocarina, you'll love this game, but if you thought Zelda's gone nothing but downhill since the first one, this is nothing but another step down. The first and second ones, and even to an extent the thrid one, you could just pick up and play, to have FUN. Not with this one, the painfully linear storyline and controls cripple what had some amazing potential. Expand
  90. May 14, 2011
    6
    It does away with a lot of the more difficult elements of past Zelda games in favor of a dumbed-down, more accessible approach. Your objectives are spoon-fed to you, bosses are simple, and there were only a couple puzzles that had me scratching my head. Hyrule felt more like an environment to play a game in instead of a living, breathing world as it has in the past. Overall, there wereIt does away with a lot of the more difficult elements of past Zelda games in favor of a dumbed-down, more accessible approach. Your objectives are spoon-fed to you, bosses are simple, and there were only a couple puzzles that had me scratching my head. Hyrule felt more like an environment to play a game in instead of a living, breathing world as it has in the past. Overall, there were only a couple moments that wowed me and the game fails to create an identity for itself as past games have, instead choosing to piggyback off of OoT. Expand
  91. Nov 20, 2011
    7
    A mediocre Zelda game.

    Nothing new added in what seems like a misguided attempt at making Ocarina of Time 2.0. Tedious oppening, boring wolf sections and item bloat. Once you get the master sword however, the game really does become like OoT, which while feeling dated, does obviously make it highly enjoyable. Some stunning boss fights let down by their simplicity in their
    A mediocre Zelda game.

    Nothing new added in what seems like a misguided attempt at making Ocarina of Time 2.0.

    Tedious oppening, boring wolf sections and item bloat.

    Once you get the master sword however, the game really does become like OoT, which while feeling dated, does obviously make it highly enjoyable.

    Some stunning boss fights let down by their simplicity in their defeat.

    Great horseback combat that is crimminally underused.

    You'll wonder how you ever did without pointer controlls for the bow.
    Expand
  92. Andrew
    Feb 12, 2007
    2
    Why is this game good? I rented it for a week... after half an hour playing it, I cant be bothered with it at all. An extremely slow start... if it gets better after the start, that's great -- but I can't be bothered going through all the boring bits for that.
  93. Jun 8, 2011
    0
    This was a terrible game in comparison to OoT and Majoras Mask, I am ashamed at the direction Nintendo went with this

    Too easy bosses, no love at all

    Does not deserve such a high rating, I beat it once and have no desire ever to touch it again
  94. Dec 4, 2010
    3
    I liked the game ok the first time, but after playing it again I really noticed... They were just trying to hard to make an epic game, and I don't feel like they did a good job of it.
    Ocarina of Time was an accidental hit if you really think about it; they weren't trying to create a great game, they were just experimenting with giving the Legend of Zelda series 3d graphics, and they just
    I liked the game ok the first time, but after playing it again I really noticed... They were just trying to hard to make an epic game, and I don't feel like they did a good job of it.
    Ocarina of Time was an accidental hit if you really think about it; they weren't trying to create a great game, they were just experimenting with giving the Legend of Zelda series 3d graphics, and they just had fun with the rest. It also had a good story and a sort of hidden message about the loss of innocence with age.
    Twilight Princess is not Ocarina of Time. Twilight Princess basically attempts to add the darker two-world tone of A Link to the Past to Ocarina of Time. I won't go into specifics to prevent spoilers, but the bottom line is that they were just trying too hard. It had too many cheesy moments.
    Expand
  95. MarkE.
    Feb 23, 2007
    4
    Sorry guys I'm not impressed. I come from the PC world and bought the Wii because of the innovative controls. Wii sports is a blast and I have had a lot of fun with it. Zelda seems like an outdated, poorly designed game with a somewhat interesting storyline. The controls are "BAD", the character keeps running into things and getting stuck both in Link and Wolf mode. Wolf mode Sorry guys I'm not impressed. I come from the PC world and bought the Wii because of the innovative controls. Wii sports is a blast and I have had a lot of fun with it. Zelda seems like an outdated, poorly designed game with a somewhat interesting storyline. The controls are "BAD", the character keeps running into things and getting stuck both in Link and Wolf mode. Wolf mode especially seems to be really touchy... fighting mobs seems to be difficult as well. You can't use the nunchuk to turn to the enemy (too slow/awkward), you have to constantly target them. There are some things I like about the game, e.g., fishing but yeeesh... when does this actually get fun? I'd take WoW, Oblivion or some modern RPG any day. Expand
  96. Apr 3, 2011
    1
    first off i would like to say that this was my first and only zelda game because this game has turned me off to the whole series. now for as to what is wrong with it when ever you are on your horse or in wolf mode it is so easy to get stuck on things unless you are only walking and not going fast but then there is no point of the horse in the begining becasue of this flaw. next up is thefirst off i would like to say that this was my first and only zelda game because this game has turned me off to the whole series. now for as to what is wrong with it when ever you are on your horse or in wolf mode it is so easy to get stuck on things unless you are only walking and not going fast but then there is no point of the horse in the begining becasue of this flaw. next up is the characters they do not look right they look like they were made on the Mii chanel or something because they have the same shaped heads that you can give your Miis but the actual game enviroment was beutiful so that is why i dont give it a 0. stay away and do yourself a huge favor Expand
  97. Juha
    Jan 7, 2007
    8
    I played the first Zelda on NES, but none of the following games until Twilight Princess. So I'm not a huge fan of the series and that probably lessened the experience for me. Twilight Princess just didn't do it for me. The game is decent, but not compelling enough to play through. The Wiimote is basicly used like a D-Pad and he game is too linear. Beyond the shortcomings its a I played the first Zelda on NES, but none of the following games until Twilight Princess. So I'm not a huge fan of the series and that probably lessened the experience for me. Twilight Princess just didn't do it for me. The game is decent, but not compelling enough to play through. The Wiimote is basicly used like a D-Pad and he game is too linear. Beyond the shortcomings its a good game, but feels like you should know the series to enjoy it fully. Expand
  98. DominikE.
    Aug 10, 2007
    6
    It's the best game, I've ever played!
  99. James
    Apr 28, 2008
    7
    Graphics, gameplay, and plot are great. However, the bosses are too simple and that takes away from the game. Midna informs you of anything that you might have to thin kabout and there are only a couple parts of the game where the player actually has to think. The user can go throughout the entire game only using four of the seven hidden skills, but the shadow and light worlds make it Graphics, gameplay, and plot are great. However, the bosses are too simple and that takes away from the game. Midna informs you of anything that you might have to thin kabout and there are only a couple parts of the game where the player actually has to think. The user can go throughout the entire game only using four of the seven hidden skills, but the shadow and light worlds make it worth the journey. I would recommend this game for any Zelda fan, but be prepared to be disappointed by the ending. Expand
  100. Miles
    Dec 16, 2006
    10
    I don't care what anyone says, nobody cares about graphics if the game plays like crap. This game, although not the most graphically advanced, has the most important quality of any game: it's fun. The guys at Nintendo decided that rather than focusing on raw power (graphically, the Wii looks more like the original XBox), they would innovate, and they did. Besides, it I don't care what anyone says, nobody cares about graphics if the game plays like crap. This game, although not the most graphically advanced, has the most important quality of any game: it's fun. The guys at Nintendo decided that rather than focusing on raw power (graphically, the Wii looks more like the original XBox), they would innovate, and they did. Besides, it doesn't look bad, just a tad dated, which in the long run, doesn't matter. It is, however, fun, new, and deserving of any and all 100s it receives. Expand
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 73
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 73
  3. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. 100
    An excellent addition (and homage to "Ocarina") to the franchise, and you'll have an enormous amount of fun playing it from start to finish. Get over the fact that the Wii's hardware is simply not as powerful as the other next-gen machines and get into the fact that Twilight Princess is one of the best games you'll play this year.
  2. It truly is, in my opinion, the best and longest Zelda ever made. With nearly 70 hours of playtime committed and more still to do, I cant think of a better experience or value this holiday season.
  3. 100
    Truly fantastic. It's not a reinvention of the genre like Ocarina was -- but it's much better, because it takes all its predecessors' raw ideas, perfects them, and creates an experience that's at once new and familiar. It's rare to find a launch game that truly justifies the purchase of a new console, but this is precisely that.