User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 44
  2. Negative: 10 out of 44
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TimG.
    Apr 21, 2007
    0
    This game is a quick bad port of the PC version and is effectively unplayable on the Wii. Golf in Wii Sports is infinitely better and uses the Wii controller much better. The use of the Wii controller in this game is a bad joke. Worst of all, the computer player will often suddenly swing spontaneously and hit the ball while you are either preparing for your swing or doing nothing. This This game is a quick bad port of the PC version and is effectively unplayable on the Wii. Golf in Wii Sports is infinitely better and uses the Wii controller much better. The use of the Wii controller in this game is a bad joke. Worst of all, the computer player will often suddenly swing spontaneously and hit the ball while you are either preparing for your swing or doing nothing. This happens several times per game, ruining your score. I wrote to Electronic Arts about this and they admitted it, sending me a mail with which I was able to return the game to the store for a full refund, even though there were Wii scratches on the disc. Total waste of time and money, play Wii Sports instead, it's much better. (The menu controls with the Wii controller will also drive you totally nuts.) Expand
  2. JeffE.
    Mar 23, 2007
    4
    As both a golfer and a gamer this was a must buy, even taking into account the poor reviews. I laughed those off as being written by 'non-golfers' who were put off by the nuances of trying to hit a ball straight - difficult enough in real life let alone with a wiimote... After playing however, I can confirm that all of the harsh reviews are justified. Driving and approach shots As both a golfer and a gamer this was a must buy, even taking into account the poor reviews. I laughed those off as being written by 'non-golfers' who were put off by the nuances of trying to hit a ball straight - difficult enough in real life let alone with a wiimote... After playing however, I can confirm that all of the harsh reviews are justified. Driving and approach shots are OK (ish) but the putting mechanism is a complete farce. It is neither realistic (ie like real putting) nor controllable. I average a dozen attempted 'swipes' per green before the thing realizes I am trying to putt... Graphically I place it behind the last GC incarnation, and it cannot keep a constant frame rate. It all smacks of 'can't get it right so get it out as it is' - like in the tutorial where it advises you to take a practise swing by pressing the minus key only to find that the feature does not work until you get to the main game! All in all I would prefer to play Wii Sports Golf... as soon as Super Swing is out in the UK I am afraid Tiger will be out on his ear. Expand
  3. TomW.
    May 25, 2007
    0
    Unplayable due to the on-screen character taking shots at random, even when the controller is sitting completely still. How anyone could have looked at Wii Golf and then made such a mess of the core idea (swinging the controller swings the club) is astounding! Everything about this game shouts "get it out the door quick!", from the appalling menu system to the rubbish that is the gameplay Unplayable due to the on-screen character taking shots at random, even when the controller is sitting completely still. How anyone could have looked at Wii Golf and then made such a mess of the core idea (swinging the controller swings the club) is astounding! Everything about this game shouts "get it out the door quick!", from the appalling menu system to the rubbish that is the gameplay there's no way this was play tested by EA for more than a few minutes. Going back for a refund tomorrow. Expand
  4. BobL.
    Jun 16, 2007
    0
    Golf on Wii Sports is so much better than this! The only flaw in the graphics is that the colour palette is so dull that you hardly ever feel like the sun's shining. But who cares about graphics when the gameplay is so bad!? The entire mechanism for swinging is screwed up. In Wii Golf the character's movements follow yours, in TW07 the on-screen character simply responds Golf on Wii Sports is so much better than this! The only flaw in the graphics is that the colour palette is so dull that you hardly ever feel like the sun's shining. But who cares about graphics when the gameplay is so bad!? The entire mechanism for swinging is screwed up. In Wii Golf the character's movements follow yours, in TW07 the on-screen character simply responds robotically to jerks - even tiny ones - of the controller. One jerk to swing back, another to swing forward. That's pathetic; there's no attempt to simulate your actual swing at all. The commentary is by some tedious Americans (I assume Peter Allis and Sam Torrance were too expensive) and the club choice is limited. Plus, even half an inch of fairway before the fringe means no putter allowed! The distance ratings for chipping are just a lie and the computer's insane desire to take sudden strikes at 30-40% (a consequence of the "jerk once for yes" control system) makes this into a joke of a game. Anyone who rated this above a 2 must be fantasically easy to entertain. Hours of my life wasted trying to find some rationale for how this thing works but the simple answer is "it doesn't". Avoid like the plague. Expand
  5. MarcR.
    Jul 16, 2007
    3
    The game itself is well put together and the graphics and sounds work nicely, but this game is SOOOOOOOO frustrating because of the lack of finese in the controls. It's easy to play a big booming drive but around 3 times out of 10 you swing back, hear a "Thwack" and look around in astonishment as the Wii has taken the weakest shot it possibly could to leave you in serious trouble. The game itself is well put together and the graphics and sounds work nicely, but this game is SOOOOOOOO frustrating because of the lack of finese in the controls. It's easy to play a big booming drive but around 3 times out of 10 you swing back, hear a "Thwack" and look around in astonishment as the Wii has taken the weakest shot it possibly could to leave you in serious trouble. The controls on the Wii sports golf game works ok, why not this one? This ruins what could have been a great game and if EA cared more about the product and their reputation rather than sales, they would spend some more time in testing and putting (pardon the pun) out a quality product. Ok rant over. Expand
  6. MrSquirrel
    Jul 5, 2007
    3
    Could have been good, but crappy control and difficulty in getting into any decent games makes this a BIG let-down! I would NOT recomment buying this game - I'm going to look at Pangya Golf with Style instead.
  7. BrendanRobinson
    Jun 7, 2008
    3
    This game is absolutely terrible. How can you play a game when the controls don't even work properly? Terrible game. Wii Golf on Wii sports is way more responsive and enjoyable than this p.o.s. Honestly, when a Golf game is both more frustrating and boring than actual golf, then something is seriously wrong. Too bad Tiger put his name out on this piece of shit.
  8. OmarR.
    Mar 25, 2007
    2
    This game actually is not great at all, I was excited to get it because I thought it was perfect for the Wii but the controls are so ridiculously bad, 1 out of every 3 swings I take the guy swings when i am still in my backswing, ive tried going faster/slower/everything, what a waste of money, the Wii sports golf game is much better sadly.
  9. Overdroid
    Jun 19, 2007
    0
    This game has frustrated me more than any game I have played ever - mostly because their is the possibility that the game could be fun, and at times it is. But the controls are just not done properly. The interface is horrible, hovering over something opens it up, the controls are non-intuitive and non-standard (pushing the - key takes you back one menu, doesn't every other game use This game has frustrated me more than any game I have played ever - mostly because their is the possibility that the game could be fun, and at times it is. But the controls are just not done properly. The interface is horrible, hovering over something opens it up, the controls are non-intuitive and non-standard (pushing the - key takes you back one menu, doesn't every other game use the B button?), and you rapidly move through menu items based on where the screen pointer is on the screen. Then there's the game - 1 out of 10 times you swing too early because the programmers obviously didn't take the time to work the kinks out of the Wiimote. In a game that requires precision this just isn't acceptable. DO NOT BUY THIS! Expand
  10. May 27, 2013
    2
    This is an all around poor game that's just boring to play. The controls are what will cause even the most dedicated golf fan to give up on this game. The Wii remote doesn't always respond to your commands, and may even hit the ball for you even though you have yet to swing. There are a lot of different modes but your just doing the same thing throughout all of them. I don't even know whyThis is an all around poor game that's just boring to play. The controls are what will cause even the most dedicated golf fan to give up on this game. The Wii remote doesn't always respond to your commands, and may even hit the ball for you even though you have yet to swing. There are a lot of different modes but your just doing the same thing throughout all of them. I don't even know why they bothered including the "arcade" minigames if the gameplay is exactly the same across the board. There is a lot of content, and the thought of swinging the Wii mote as a golf club does sound cool, but it doesn't work. Why bother putting yourself through this torture when you can just go out and play golf for real. Expand

Awards & Rankings

28
20
#20 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Nintendo Gamer
    60
    No matter how well-crafted these features are, they all boil down to gameplay based on a swinging club - the one thing the game can't do. To misquote Twain: "PGA Tour 07 is a good franchise spoilt." [Apr 2007, p.46]
  2. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    73
    As for Tiger's mechanics, arthritics beware. If my backswing was jittery, I swung before I intended to--which is frustrating, as the maddening result is a dink instead of a dive. [Apr 2007, p.83]
  3. 75
    The control hiccups may cause problems, but most of them can be countered with care. But the biggest bonus: Not once will you see starlight dancing off the ball.