Tiger Woods PGA Tour 08 Wii

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Roygeeeee
    Sep 3, 2007
    8
    The swing motion is much better than the previous release, with draw and fade movements quite similar to the real thing and coz of this the casual golfer will truely enjoy this game. It does slightly struggle with the back swing on chips and putts, but this can be resolved by slowing down on the pull back. excellent group play, overall a fairly solid golf game. If you enjoy the PGA, The swing motion is much better than the previous release, with draw and fade movements quite similar to the real thing and coz of this the casual golfer will truely enjoy this game. It does slightly struggle with the back swing on chips and putts, but this can be resolved by slowing down on the pull back. excellent group play, overall a fairly solid golf game. If you enjoy the PGA, You'll "Love this Game!" :) Expand
  2. [Anonymous]
    Sep 4, 2007
    8
    If you bought 07 you were severely disappointed in how unresponsive and frustrating the controls were. if you hated 07 please give 08 a try, it is actually pretty good! the swing is very fun and very forgiving and responsive.
  3. MatP.
    Sep 28, 2007
    9
    The motion sensor works very well, paticular the putting compared to wii sports. A very solid and enjoyable game for single and multiplayer.
  4. jonathanb
    Mar 29, 2008
    9
    big fan of tiger but some time it take your shoot 4 you.its great using the wii control its makes it harder so i cant shoot 24 under par at the moment.i hpoe they get the controls set up better.i think i speak all the golfs we want the master course to win the green jacket
  5. DW
    Nov 3, 2007
    9
    I think some of these reviewers may have played TW07, not 08. Simply put, I love this game. The courses are interesting, the challenges are just right. If anything, it might be too easy once the experience points pile up. I can't imagine playing this game without the Wiimote . . . why would it be interesting unless you are swinging and putting? I'd play more, but it makes my arm I think some of these reviewers may have played TW07, not 08. Simply put, I love this game. The courses are interesting, the challenges are just right. If anything, it might be too easy once the experience points pile up. I can't imagine playing this game without the Wiimote . . . why would it be interesting unless you are swinging and putting? I'd play more, but it makes my arm hurt. Only reason I didn't give a 10 is due to the graphics. They are good, but not up to the look of the other Wii games. Luckily, it doesn't distract from the game. Expand
  6. JonathanH.
    Aug 29, 2007
    8
    Improved over last years tiger woods. Graphics are the same but the draw distance in the environments has been vastly improved. Also the glitches in swing recognition have been almost completely ironed out. The new mini-putt mode is fun too plus other new modes. Pretty good game!
  7. ClaudeR.
    Sep 2, 2007
    9
    Great game of golf. Lots of options, plus wii remote play.
  8. Dugger
    Sep 6, 2007
    8
    I'll start by saying I havn't played a Tiger Woods game since my friend brought over his copy for the XBox. That said, I've never been into golf, especially in videogames, just too darned boring to press buttons to golf. However, once we got the Wii and played the Wii Sports Golf, my wife and I really got into it, but obviously there wasn't much to that version. Since I'll start by saying I havn't played a Tiger Woods game since my friend brought over his copy for the XBox. That said, I've never been into golf, especially in videogames, just too darned boring to press buttons to golf. However, once we got the Wii and played the Wii Sports Golf, my wife and I really got into it, but obviously there wasn't much to that version. Since then, we've been searching for a fun golf game with more holes, more characters, more...well....everything. After having played both Super Swing and this game, we are VERY pleased we picked up Tiger Woods 08. The graphics aren't anything to write home about (it is the Wii mind you) but they work. The character editor is substantial (if you can keep pressing the correct buttons that is and get over the scrolling feature ...blech) and there appears to be a good variety in the golf courses and the like. What really sells the game for us however is the actual act of golfing. Like Wii Golf, it's easy and fun to get into. Buttons are well placed and the character actually mimics your swing movements. The putting takes a little getting used to but after a few games we got into the swing (*tiddy boom*) of things. I have yet to touch the single player, but thats not what we got the game for, so I cannot comment on it. Overall, if you liked Wii Golf and want something that plays similar to it, then Tiger Woods 08 is your game. Expand
  9. PhilMickelson
    Jun 10, 2008
    8
    I think that the Wii finally does the game some justice! Not only does the game continue to give gamers realistic courses and the ability to creat/build your own golfer, it also incorporates swing mechanics. Don't know why anyone would want to sit down while playing this game...My only complaints would be that chipping can be difficult (too much focus on the speed of follow through)I think that the Wii finally does the game some justice! Not only does the game continue to give gamers realistic courses and the ability to creat/build your own golfer, it also incorporates swing mechanics. Don't know why anyone would want to sit down while playing this game...My only complaints would be that chipping can be difficult (too much focus on the speed of follow through) and approach shots aren't too influenced by the hole being above/below the ball. Previous editions seemed to emphasize this more. The putting is realistic (unless you are a cheater, don't bother with the putt preview), but just like actually putting, it takes practice. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

27
34
#34 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
68
#68 Most Shared Wii Game of 2007
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. It is a great game to have around when friends come over, and the controls really make the game fun. However, if you just want to play the career mode by yourself, I would suggest picking up a copy for one of the other systems. The overall complexity of the title is not as deep as it is on the other consoles, but the gameplay is much more fun for the average player.
  2. The best Tiger in years just appeared on the Xbox 360 and PS3, but this game just doesn’t feel the same in comparison. Of course, with the Wii controller it shouldn’t – but it also shouldn’t leave me guessing half the time as to where my ball is going.
  3. If you did buy it last year you won’t find anything here that makes it worth spending your money again.