Top Spin 3 Wii

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 29
  2. Negative: 10 out of 29
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LarsB.
    Jul 12, 2008
    10
    what a fantastic play of tennis. In my dreams I´ve waited exactly for this pearl and i´m very very thankful it has been come true! the gameplay is a manifestation! Thank you 2K, more of this!
  2. MaryS.
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    This game is the best sports game on Wii. Period.
  3. YvonneM.
    Jul 24, 2008
    9
    Has a fairly long learning curve, butif you stick with it, very enjoyable and fun. Moves players around court and alows choice of various shots and ability to place them. I'd advise using a wireless nunchuk, or you will cause yourself endless problems. Wish there were more players and more difficult and advancing levels of competition. Maybe the next version?
  4. EdwinV.
    Jun 29, 2008
    9
    I'd say this is exactly what i was hoping for in a tennis game. I've been playing for hours now and it's just right. Sure there are some flaws, like mishitting a shot for whatever reason, but overall it's very good. Movement is tricky for the first 10 minutes, but thats mostly because we are all used to the non-swinging technique executed to control Wii Sports Tennis. I'd say this is exactly what i was hoping for in a tennis game. I've been playing for hours now and it's just right. Sure there are some flaws, like mishitting a shot for whatever reason, but overall it's very good. Movement is tricky for the first 10 minutes, but thats mostly because we are all used to the non-swinging technique executed to control Wii Sports Tennis. It's a blast to be able to hit the ball into an area you were trying to hit the ball into. I found the single player to be very cool, doubles not so much because of the volleys are quite hard. Players move like they do for real, which is nice. Overall a very good first installment on the wii! (still a pitty there's no Wimbledon and the grass of dublin makes me blind). Expand
  5. IG
    Jul 6, 2008
    9
    This game is fun to play. Yes, you do have to get used to the controls and yes that takes a little learning time. If you are ok with that this game is for you. The real attraction is of course is the fact that you are actually moving for gameplay. Otherwise your options are to go get the Xbox or Playstation and press some buttons.
  6. wiimad
    Jul 28, 2008
    8
    Yes i agree with all, lacks career mode,does not have Wimbeldon!, but a dodgy Irish imitation. My dream of Federer finally crushing Nadal in the French has gone as well as he is only on PS3, can't create a version of myself and beat Federer at Wimbeldon ,ALL gone. great sim, due to motion controls let down by wiis graphics and lazy developers. Plus as I progress through the game , Yes i agree with all, lacks career mode,does not have Wimbeldon!, but a dodgy Irish imitation. My dream of Federer finally crushing Nadal in the French has gone as well as he is only on PS3, can't create a version of myself and beat Federer at Wimbeldon ,ALL gone. great sim, due to motion controls let down by wiis graphics and lazy developers. Plus as I progress through the game , boy I wish i could turn off the cut scenes between each point, it makes each match twice as long Now onto game play. Whats wrong with people!!! this game is easy and intuitive, everyone must have played wii tennis, its not that different, you don't even have to hit backhand! Yes I can play real tennis and I have played mario tennis to death on the N64 so slotting into top spin should be easier for me but cmon. I have am not up to the Opens yet but have not lost a set yet. Even with my six year old as a doubles partner we managed to squeak out a win. I have found the game very easy to pick up ,though putting away some opponents to win a point can take some time. Let me make it clear I am not that great at this game, I don't hit very many balls with orange or red markings which mean good timing I guess. I have still not figured out the slide serve so I can't understand whats so hard for others to about pick it up and win. Ball crosses net, run to spot, pull back racquet, move stick to opposite side of court to opponent and try to swing in time, repeat till opponent are out of court enough to miss a return, next point. Maybe lin the opens the finer points apply such as timing, drop shots, lobs, top spinning as opponents approach the net or sliding serve returns across court but if you watch any tennis on tv the same rules apply. Love the game play, but yes bring on Top Spin 4. Expand
  7. AnonymousMC
    Jul 3, 2008
    8
    You guys cannot rate a game bad because you suck at it you rate it on how well it plays and if it is based on being real or sci fi this is obviously based upon a real life thing that is why it is harder because real tennis you cant just pick up all easy it takes skill and if you rate tennis as a 2 because you suck at life your a damn idiot rate games on playability not your own skill level

Awards & Rankings

#21 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2008
#54 Most Shared Wii Game of 2008
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Nintendo Power
    70
    If you're a devoted fan of straightforward tennis, you'll likely enjoy the game. [June 2008, p.88]
  2. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    81
    It's the most realistic tennis game on the Wii and great fun to play. If you have even a passing interest in tennis this is worth a look. [July 2008, p.73]
  3. Nintendo Gamer
    60
    Sideways grip may well be more like proper tennis, but it's not comfy. Lefties aren't welcome. [Aug 2008, p.58]