• Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: Nov 20, 2007
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. 85
    No global changes were needed, but the new game has more depth in gameplay, added multiplayer support, online ranking, more VO, and better overall story, improved presentation – now with 16:9 as well as the previously included 480p – a larger span of difficulty on both the easy and hard side of thins, and a fresh coat of polish around the entire package.
  2. This operation has its share of complications, but most of them are good ones.
  3. Better than last year’s counterpart, Trauma Center: New Blood is all-around improved. If you’re looking for a quirky game this holiday, I suggest picking up New Blood for the co-op multiplayer component alone.
  4. Although the "cinematics" remain fairly archaic, the noticeable bump to its graphics and the excellent addition of voice work makes New Blood a more compelling experience overall.
  5. The title’s gameplay is fun and the coordination between the Wii remote and nunchuk enables you to act quickly when it comes to using surgical tools.
  6. 50
    But New Blood's single-player experience has all of the frustration of the original without the promise of eventual success. It's all stick and no carrot.
  7. Just as distinctively great as it always was.
  8. 85
    The storyline is great and the gameplay is as entertaining as you all remember from the other games. If you liked the excellent Second Opinion, you'll love New Blood just as much.
  9. Trauma Center: New Blood does not outshine the original, but it really does not need to do so to be a solid, exceptional work.
  10. Alas, you can expect more of the same, except for a substantially increased difficulty. New Blood is still a load of fun, but it also comes with a load of aggravation.
  11. 50
    I've been willing to somewhat forgive the series' unbalanced gameplay until now, but after three games on two distinct platforms, the developers should be full-fledged M.D.s by now...so why do they keep making the same med-school mishaps?
  12. It's not the breakthrough of medicine and motion controls it was last year, but Trauma Center: New Blood greatly improves on one of the Wii's best showcases.
  13. No task is impossible alone, but the ease of co-op mustn't cloud the the fact that Atlus is still to find that sweet spot between virtual and actual brain surgery. [Mar 2008, p.100]
  14. More of the same with some nice extra touches that don’t quite fulfil their potential. [Feb 2008, p.118]
  15. A new blood transfusión comes to Wii with an updated videogame which has a new story, a cooperative mode and the same surgical taste as ever. Trauma Center: New Blood is a good solution to enlarge the life of the wiimote as a scalpel, but also an interesting option for people looking for a way to play doctors in Wii.
  16. It's incredibly difficult and frustrating in places, but it's still a recommended purchase if the idea of carving up skin, lasering tumours and drawing five-point stars floats your boat.
  17. Still, Trauma Center: Second Opinion was one of my favorite games during the launch window for the Wii, and New Blood delivers more of the same joy. [Dec 2007, p.73]
  18. After three games, the developers should be full-fledged M.D.s...so why do they keep making the same med-school mishaps? [Jan 2008, p.87]
  19. Atlus one-ups themselves with the first real sequel in the Trauma Center series.
  20. If you missed out on "Trauma Center" before, this is the version to buy. If you're a series veteran, then--as good as New Blood is--it's really just more of the same, so it's your call. [Holiday 2007, p.86]
  21. 80
    New Blood is the most fun you'll ever have performing open heart surgery. With parasites that shoot mucus clouds.
  22. Trauma Center: New Blood is everything that Second Opinion was, only a little bit better. All the operations are fun and challenging to do and the extras and adjustments offer enough new gameplay elements that it justifies a new game instead of an add-on. Just beware of the difficulty setting, that only a true doctor will enjoy.
  23. New Blood is a wonderful game that combines a compelling story, challenging gameplay with fully adjustable difficulty, and plenty of variety and longevity. It’s perfect for fans of Second Opinion, while the cooperative mode and optional tutorials make it easier for new players to learn.
  24. Trauma Center returns to Nintendo Wii showing no sign of innovation. However, the two players co-op mode offers some very exciting moments. The two main characters, Markus Vaughn and Valerie Blaylock, show interesting personalities and are perfect to give flavor to a well executed story.
  25. 80
    It's fun, serious and silly by turns, and, dare I doom it by saying... possibly educational?
  26. Trauma Center's developers need some serious interventional design therapy before the series's prognosis degrades beyond hope of recovery.
  27. It's a tough game but for all the wrong reasons. For Trauma Center die-hards only.
  28. The best Trauma Center to date, we recognise that the game is ultra niche - so we've dropped our original score a little. [Dec 2008, p.73]
  29. Less crazy, more motivating and imaginative, this is New Blood. If you have ever dreamt of becoming a surgeon you can see what it takes — and you will enjoy every single operation. [Feb 2009]
  30. New Blood represents third-party innovation at its finest and is a solid buy or, for the more cash-strapped, an absolute must-rent.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Feb 7, 2014
    10
    awesome game! one of my favorites for wii. i play it for hours, very addictive. you con choose the difficulty, from easy to hard (if you are aawesome game! one of my favorites for wii. i play it for hours, very addictive. you con choose the difficulty, from easy to hard (if you are a true gamer). I'm a med intern, and may be the medical facts aren't completely true, but i play for the fun, no for realism. Full Review »
  2. BobbyHill
    Dec 18, 2008
    10
    Amazing game! Highly addictive and easy to play! I recommend this game to anyone who owns a wii and enjoys rhythmn/puzzle type games. ItAmazing game! Highly addictive and easy to play! I recommend this game to anyone who owns a wii and enjoys rhythmn/puzzle type games. It can be played in short burst since operations last any where from a couple of minutes up to 10 minutes. But if you're like me, you'll find yourself playing for hours trying to get the best rankings and highest score possible. Upon beating the game, there are online leader board scores for the die-hard players. Players can compete to get the best score and upload via the online wi-fi. I've clocked approximately 60 hours on this game already and still enjoy playing it. I can't wait for the next installment in the series. Full Review »
  3. AnonymousMC
    Dec 3, 2008
    10
    This game is necessary for anybody who has liked a Trauma Center game, and if you haven't liked one, something in your brain is probablyThis game is necessary for anybody who has liked a Trauma Center game, and if you haven't liked one, something in your brain is probably gone. It's one of the most entertaining series of this generation, and I don't give awards like this very often. In fact, the last time I did was with the Dark Cloud series, and those were almost perfect. As was this. If you have a Wii, go get this game NOW. However, if you don't have one, don't feel left out. Get one of the DS Trauma Center games. Full Review »