Trauma Team Wii

  • Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: May 18, 2010
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
Buy On
  1. With an improved co-op and five fresh gameplay styles It's a great new direction for the Trauma Center series and one of the year's best Wii games so far.
  2. With a super-easy Intern difficulty, the accessibility of the controls and the brilliance of the presentation, there's probably no better time for newcomers to jump in.
  3. Trauma Team is definitely the most accessible game in Trauma Center's history. With an overwhelming amount of variety, an awesome presentation, and solid gameplay, Trauma Team isn't just the best game in the series; it's also one of the best games on Wii.
  4. games(TM)
    90
    The new gameplay types easily dispel the lack of variety that blighted previous games. [Aug 2010, p.116]
  5. In the end, it seems that Trauma Team has something for everybody, whether you like to take your time, be rushed to save multiple lives, be on the investigative side of things, or just play some ol’ fashioned surgical gameplay.
  6. Trauma Team is a great new avenue for this series with more variety to the action and a story to actually care about. The campaign is a meaty 30 hours long with the option for co-op is most of the missions and additional difficulties to really test your skills.
  7. Nintendo Gamer
    86
    Reminds you of the bizarre tactile thrills only Wii can offer. [July 2010, p.58]
  8. If you liked the Trauma Center games, you have to try Trauma Team, as Atlus has evolved the formula so much that its predecessors look pretty primitive. For those that didn't dig older Trauma Center games so much, know Trauma Team is a much improved experience, many times over.
  9. This game offers a more powerful presentation than previous installments, and it's also more complete as far as gameplay modes are concerned. In addition, co-op gameplay lets you share the experience.
  10. The six distinctly different modes, along with six main characters, add plenty of variety to Trauma Team while keeping it constantly feeling fresh.
  11. Trauma Team is a step in the right direction for the series, adding new elements to keep things fresh while managing to preserve what's worked well.
  12. Trauma Team does a lot of things right that make it far more compelling than previous entries in the series.
  13. Trauma Team does a great job of enticing new players with some great new gameplay, while not alienating those who loved the challenge of the previous games in the series.
  14. Six careers blend in plenty of interesting variety, though pacing gets unexpectedly slow in the adventure-style diagnostic and forensic modes.
  15. Trauma Team isn't quite as focused or challenging as its predecessors, but even though the faces have changed and the scenarios have evolved, Atlus has proven that it still knows how to create a compelling and engagingly tense medical drama.
  16. Great presentation, (mostly) great gameplay, and an above-average set of characters combine to deliver what I see as the most diverse, entertaining Trauma game to date in a series that really doesn't have a weak link.
  17. It's a kinder, gentler Trauma Team, and that's a good thing. It's also got the most variety, offering both twitch surgery and medical puzzles.
  18. 80
    It may get overlooked with bigger Wii titles like Super Mario Galaxy 2 and Metroid: Other M on the horizon, but for fans of the earlier titles, it's definitely worth a purchase.
  19. Though the characters and the activities have their flaws, the whole comes together impressively, making Trauma Team a great bet no matter what your specialty is.
  20. Nintendo Power
    80
    A great game that provides further proof of just how thrilling-and fun-saving lives can be. [June 2010, p.86]
  21. Overall, Trauma Team is a very solid inclusion to the franchise. It is undoubtedly a kinder, gentler entry to the franchise that tries to appeal to gamers who've been scared off by the high difficulty of the previous entries.
  22. Still, despite being overly-casual, Trauma Team is an incredibly enjoyable game.
  23. If you’re a fan of the series, or have an interest in the medical genre, I can definitely recommend this game to you. If you feel that you’ve played the series out, however, then there just may not be enough quality, fresh content to pull you back.
  24. 80
    This is an easy one: Buy this game. There's a ton of content, and you're almost scientifically certain to like some of it. It's rare that I'm able to make this strong of a recommendation, but honestly, six games on one disc? How am I supposed to argue with that?
  25. 80
    Fans of the Trauma series are going to be quite pleased with the new gameplay elements, and newcomers should easily find something interesting to grab onto while learning the ropes.
  26. Edge Magazine
    80
    Atlus's surgery sim is in rude health. [July 2010, p.103]
  27. 75
    Nothing in this medical drama is unplayable, but it's still disappointing that the rest of the game couldn't live up to the exhilarating potential of virtually performing surgery.
  28. 75
    As someone who was only a light Trauma Center player, I was happy to play a follow-up that actually kept me playing all the way to the end without hating myself.

Awards & Rankings

#27 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2010
#26 Most Shared Wii Game of 2010
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Feb 14, 2016
    10
    I honestly believe Trauma Team is one of the most underrated games of all time, at the very least its generation. The creativity, originalityI honestly believe Trauma Team is one of the most underrated games of all time, at the very least its generation. The creativity, originality and fun of the medical drama sticks out amongst so many games that stick to traditional genres.

    The genius lies in being able to take control of six doctors who function very differently but also you get to chose how the story is told, at least the first half of the game. Each doctor has a different style keeping gameplay fresh, and their own unique story. Part of the aforementioned genius in telling the story is for the first part of the game you can jump around at will through the scenarios. Want to run through each doctor all at once and put together how the stories interact later? You can. Want to follow the traditional timeline jumping? You can. Want to just follow two at a time? You can.

    Some of the stories are really engrossing with good voice acting. The depressed and sardonic diagnostician was my favorite in both his personality, voice acting and scenario. But that was followed closely by forensics. Forensics had the underrated undercurrent of sexual tension between Kimoshima and "Little Guy" whom it seems they had a tryst. And while Little Guy DID grow up, Kimoshima sees him as immature and belittles him. I got invested in their interplay.

    My only issue with the game is I didn't really identify with Tamoe (endoscopy) or Hank (orthopedics). I especially liked Hank's surgeries, but his and Tomoe's stories and voice acting were a little on the "cheesy" side for me. But that may have been by design, in contrast to Kimoshima and Daniel Cunningham's more series and occasionally depressing story (Forensic's scenario mission #2 is legendary within the Trauma Team fan crowd for its emotional impact).

    I would call this game a must-buy off an auction or if this ever hits the Wii U marketplace. Anyone looking for something different, or dramatic, at least one doctor's play-style and story should appeal to you.

    P.S. The music is pretty good too. Again, Forensics and Diagnostics have the best tracks.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 4, 2015
    10
    I fully agree with another reviewer who compared the game to TV dramas; playing the surgeons is like Grey's Anatomy, diagnostics is likeI fully agree with another reviewer who compared the game to TV dramas; playing the surgeons is like Grey's Anatomy, diagnostics is like House, and forensics plays like an episode of CSI. It all culminates into one of the most intense and enjoyable Wii games I've ever played, with great comic-style graphics and backstories for each doctor that all combine in the end. This game is somewhat easier than the ones that came before it in the series, but makes up for it with story, intensity, and variety. Playing the EMT Maria was one of the most immersive and stressful (but fun) gaming experiences I've ever had, and it had my heart was racing throughout all the scenarios.

    One downside of this game is the lack of replay value, especially with diagnostics and forensics, and although there are several stages for each profession, I finished the game craving more. This led me to purchase and play through all of its predecessors in the Trauma Center series and I can't wait for the next one!
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 5, 2016
    10
    Great story, very good gameplay mechanics and pretty good graphics for a Wii. Great game, for me, the best one from the Trauma series. It usesGreat story, very good gameplay mechanics and pretty good graphics for a Wii. Great game, for me, the best one from the Trauma series. It uses pretty well the Wii remote. Full Review »