Trauma Team Wii

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Trauma Team Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Trauma Team is an entirely new medical entertainment experience from the makers of the award-winning Trauma Center series. Encounter unprecedented depth across six distinct fields of medicine: play as a general surgeon, diagnostician, E.M.T., orthopedic surgeon, endoscope technician, andTrauma Team is an entirely new medical entertainment experience from the makers of the award-winning Trauma Center series. Encounter unprecedented depth across six distinct fields of medicine: play as a general surgeon, diagnostician, E.M.T., orthopedic surgeon, endoscope technician, and medical examiner. Follow the story as never before with all-new dynamic story sequences inspired by Japanese animation and comics; each dramatic chapter comes vividly to life with distinct style. Hand-drawn art, innovative animation, and quality voice acting perfectly capture the raw intensity, excitement, and danger of every heart-pounding moment. Bigger, more exciting, and more balanced than ever before, Trauma Team promises to be the ultimate medical entertainment experience. [Atlus USA] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. With an improved co-op and five fresh gameplay styles It's a great new direction for the Trauma Center series and one of the year's best Wii games so far.
  2. games(TM)
    90
    The new gameplay types easily dispel the lack of variety that blighted previous games. [Aug 2010, p.116]
  3. Nintendo Gamer
    86
    Reminds you of the bizarre tactile thrills only Wii can offer. [July 2010, p.58]
  4. Overall, Trauma Team is a very solid inclusion to the franchise. It is undoubtedly a kinder, gentler entry to the franchise that tries to appeal to gamers who've been scared off by the high difficulty of the previous entries.
  5. Trauma Team isn't quite as focused or challenging as its predecessors, but even though the faces have changed and the scenarios have evolved, Atlus has proven that it still knows how to create a compelling and engagingly tense medical drama.
  6. 80
    It may get overlooked with bigger Wii titles like Super Mario Galaxy 2 and Metroid: Other M on the horizon, but for fans of the earlier titles, it's definitely worth a purchase.
  7. Diagnostics and forensics may slow down the otherwise exciting pacing of the medical drama, but are not so detrimental as to keep this game from being the best entry in the series so far.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    By combining the story telling and emotions of a tv hospital drama with the fun game play of six different game modes, this is the best of theBy combining the story telling and emotions of a tv hospital drama with the fun game play of six different game modes, this is the best of the Trauma series if not a must have for the Wii. The game has independent game play modes each focusing on a different doctor with interweaving stories. Each doctor has their own background with great characterization and specialization. 4 out of 6 of the game play modes are fully co-op which work very well together (though we found the endoscopy lacked a bit). Of the other two, playing the diagnostic missions is like playing the tv show House while the other is like CSI. Each mode is fun and different from the others, as well each mission is different enough that game play doesn't begin to feel repetitive. The story and characters are bright and funny with a good mix of drama that brings all six characters together in the end. This game was surprisingly amazing and I highly recommend it. Expand
  2. Feb 14, 2016
    10
    I honestly believe Trauma Team is one of the most underrated games of all time, at the very least its generation. The creativity, originalityI honestly believe Trauma Team is one of the most underrated games of all time, at the very least its generation. The creativity, originality and fun of the medical drama sticks out amongst so many games that stick to traditional genres.

    The genius lies in being able to take control of six doctors who function very differently but also you get to chose how the story is told, at least the first half of the game. Each doctor has a different style keeping gameplay fresh, and their own unique story. Part of the aforementioned genius in telling the story is for the first part of the game you can jump around at will through the scenarios. Want to run through each doctor all at once and put together how the stories interact later? You can. Want to follow the traditional timeline jumping? You can. Want to just follow two at a time? You can.

    Some of the stories are really engrossing with good voice acting. The depressed and sardonic diagnostician was my favorite in both his personality, voice acting and scenario. But that was followed closely by forensics. Forensics had the underrated undercurrent of sexual tension between Kimoshima and "Little Guy" whom it seems they had a tryst. And while Little Guy DID grow up, Kimoshima sees him as immature and belittles him. I got invested in their interplay.

    My only issue with the game is I didn't really identify with Tamoe (endoscopy) or Hank (orthopedics). I especially liked Hank's surgeries, but his and Tomoe's stories and voice acting were a little on the "cheesy" side for me. But that may have been by design, in contrast to Kimoshima and Daniel Cunningham's more series and occasionally depressing story (Forensic's scenario mission #2 is legendary within the Trauma Team fan crowd for its emotional impact).

    I would call this game a must-buy off an auction or if this ever hits the Wii U marketplace. Anyone looking for something different, or dramatic, at least one doctor's play-style and story should appeal to you.

    P.S. The music is pretty good too. Again, Forensics and Diagnostics have the best tracks.
    Expand
  3. Feb 15, 2013
    10
    Fast, intense and very wel designed game.Soundtracks are very well composed. The tutorials are great this time, the use of all the tools areFast, intense and very wel designed game.Soundtracks are very well composed. The tutorials are great this time, the use of all the tools are very well explained in this game. A very good sequel for the Trauma Center series. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2016
    10
    Great story, very good gameplay mechanics and pretty good graphics for a Wii. Great game, for me, the best one from the Trauma series. It usesGreat story, very good gameplay mechanics and pretty good graphics for a Wii. Great game, for me, the best one from the Trauma series. It uses pretty well the Wii remote. Expand
  5. Jul 4, 2015
    10
    I fully agree with another reviewer who compared the game to TV dramas; playing the surgeons is like Grey's Anatomy, diagnostics is likeI fully agree with another reviewer who compared the game to TV dramas; playing the surgeons is like Grey's Anatomy, diagnostics is like House, and forensics plays like an episode of CSI. It all culminates into one of the most intense and enjoyable Wii games I've ever played, with great comic-style graphics and backstories for each doctor that all combine in the end. This game is somewhat easier than the ones that came before it in the series, but makes up for it with story, intensity, and variety. Playing the EMT Maria was one of the most immersive and stressful (but fun) gaming experiences I've ever had, and it had my heart was racing throughout all the scenarios.

    One downside of this game is the lack of replay value, especially with diagnostics and forensics, and although there are several stages for each profession, I finished the game craving more. This led me to purchase and play through all of its predecessors in the Trauma Center series and I can't wait for the next one!
    Expand
  6. Apr 1, 2013
    8
    This is a very fun game, especially for those who have enjoyed the Trauma Center franchise on the Wii in past years. This time they decided toThis is a very fun game, especially for those who have enjoyed the Trauma Center franchise on the Wii in past years. This time they decided to put 6 characters front and center with some new and unique gameplay elements. The surgeries are still where it is at for this franchise. They are easily the most enjoyable parts of the game. There are different elements to the surgeries with 4 out of the 6 characters here and there and they are different enough to mix things up. The issue is the new diagnoses and autopsy elements of the game. While unique, things just take away from what the game does best and that's the fast paced, steady-hand surgeries. These two new elements are very slow and kinda boring. The characters themselves are not but the gameplay is just hard to get through sometimes and can be a bit ambiguous at times with what they want you to do. The story is really good and the talent they brought in to voice these characters is probably the best collection of talent I've seen in a video game in years. It's fun to see how all these characters start to come together and why they are all related in the end. I enjoyed quite a bit with this game that, even for a big fan of the series, slipped under the radar quite a bit. For people looking to get the most out of a system that has been all but forgotten at this point, give this one a shot. And, if you can get through the very dull diagnoses and autopsies, then you'll love everything about this game. Expand
  7. Apr 4, 2013
    7
    Trauma Team is surprisingly decent. It has a good amount of variety and it is long enough (about 20 hours) to feel like you got your money'sTrauma Team is surprisingly decent. It has a good amount of variety and it is long enough (about 20 hours) to feel like you got your money's worth out of it, without overstaying its welcome. The length is such that when you are at the end of the game, you feel like you are at the end of the game, and that it shouldn't go on beyond when it does. It is a nice change of pace from most other games, and the variety in internal gameplay helps to keep it fresh despite the odd repetitive or weaker section.
    I would give the game a rating of B-. While the game is not amazing, it is a welcome change of pace from pretty much everything else I ordinarily play, and the overall story and gameplay combine in a solid way. While it could be improved in many ways, particularly in reducing the repetition in some parts of the game and altering the failure mechanics, its length and overall diversity help to make it a worthy buy.

    High point: First responder. This section of the game is quite awesome, and it hits all the right marks.

    Low point: Endoscopy. This section is really repetitive, uses awkward controls, and just isn't that much fun.

    Final thought: This game is not only a medical simulation, but also an adventure game, an interesting choice of mix of genre.
    Collapse

See all 9 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#27 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2010
#25 Most Shared Wii Game of 2010