WarioWare: Smooth Moves Wii

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 176 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 176
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    Una excelente cadena de mini juegos y diferentes niveles y historias que encantan y divierten a los jugadores de este excelente juego de Wii.............
  2. Jun 10, 2014
    8
    La saga de Warioware es el mejor ejemplo que se puede tener de la ludología en los videojuegos. Sin duda una de las sagas más delirantes y con más cambios de mecánicas de la historia.
  3. Jul 17, 2011
    10
    WarioWare could only be called a good game if you like fun. The controls are great and everything about this game is pure delight. Highly recommended for children, drunks, and anyone else who knows how to have a good time.
  4. Jun 27, 2011
    9
    I think if you enjoy games like WarioWare and Mario Party, you will enjoy this -- and if you don't, you will not enjoy WW:Smooth Moves. Mini-games have great variety and the devs did great, innovative mechanics using the Wiimote, which is surprisingly rare with Wii games. There are some fun multiplayer games, but just not enough. Once the nunchuk gets involved, gameplay becomes veryI think if you enjoy games like WarioWare and Mario Party, you will enjoy this -- and if you don't, you will not enjoy WW:Smooth Moves. Mini-games have great variety and the devs did great, innovative mechanics using the Wiimote, which is surprisingly rare with Wii games. There are some fun multiplayer games, but just not enough. Once the nunchuk gets involved, gameplay becomes very challenging -- I doubt anyone calling the game easy has made it to the "red elephant." Playing the hard levels works up a sweat and requires a fair amount of mental agility to keep up. While the majority of controls and concepts are very intuitive, there are a couple I still don't understand and fail at every time the mini-game comes up. The game is absolutely hilarious in some parts with graphic devs showing a great eye for absurdity. That said, the "movies" in the game should have been skippable because they were simply "cute" -- not funny, interesting, or disturbing - an odd part of the game which in a different universe from the rest of the game's atmosphere. The game has solid replay value and is one of the only Wii games I find myself picking up every now and then to play after having effectively finished it. Expand
  5. Jul 7, 2012
    10
    If you don't have friends or family DON'T BUY THIS GAME! The single player is very easy and I beat it within 4 hours and had every mode unlocked. This game is extremely fun to play with other people, but not a very good experience alone.
  6. Oct 27, 2010
    9
    Yes it's short, yes it's stupid, yes it has poor graphics, yes these "flaws" are intentional. WarioWare takes what makes games bad exploits it for a great time playing. This is no serious game - it's all about hanging out with friends and family and laughing the whole way through. Those who say it's too short don't realize that it's only supposed to be played 20-30 minutes a day forYes it's short, yes it's stupid, yes it has poor graphics, yes these "flaws" are intentional. WarioWare takes what makes games bad exploits it for a great time playing. This is no serious game - it's all about hanging out with friends and family and laughing the whole way through. Those who say it's too short don't realize that it's only supposed to be played 20-30 minutes a day for cutting loose at the end of a tough day when sitting for four hours and playing another one of Nintendo's masterpieces just isn't possible. And on top of that, the multiplayer modes just add to the experience - sure there's not many and they're quite simple, but the minigames keep it fun and can be picked up right away, making it automatically fun for everyone who wants to live and laugh a little. It's competitive, it's weird, it's fun - it's how the Wii was meant to be played. Expand
  7. Nov 16, 2010
    9
    WarioWare Smooth Moves is a fun game to play straight out of the box. The graphics are cartoony and suit the Wii well, so they don't appear clunky or dated. The games are fun - they have a variety of 'forms', ie ways to hold the Wiimote (eg 'The Diner', 'The Umbrella', and my personal favourite 'The Elephant'). The character roster features old favourites like Wario, Mona, Dribble & SpitzWarioWare Smooth Moves is a fun game to play straight out of the box. The graphics are cartoony and suit the Wii well, so they don't appear clunky or dated. The games are fun - they have a variety of 'forms', ie ways to hold the Wiimote (eg 'The Diner', 'The Umbrella', and my personal favourite 'The Elephant'). The character roster features old favourites like Wario, Mona, Dribble & Spitz and Dr. Crygor, but adds new characters like Crygor's daughter Penny. Old minigame favourite Pyoro also returns in 'Pyoro S'
    Overall a brilliantly fun and funny game with a great sense of humour - highly recommended.
    Expand
  8. JustinC.
    Jun 6, 2007
    8
    It was fun, but ultimately too short. You can beat it in an afternoon easily.
  9. CarlS.
    Jan 13, 2007
    9
    I just bought this game and I think its the best use of the wii remote yet. I cannot see how much further developers can take the concept of Wario Ware. Simply the perfect game for the platform.
  10. ThomasL.
    Jan 16, 2007
    9
    Probably more of a 9.5 but I can't give it a perfect 10 due to the missing multiplayer elements from earlier versions. The lack of replay value has been greatly overexaggerated. Are you gonna play this game for 40 hours straight like Zelda? Probably not. But this is the first game many Wii users will still be picking up in 6 months. If you're looking for a game that is great in Probably more of a 9.5 but I can't give it a perfect 10 due to the missing multiplayer elements from earlier versions. The lack of replay value has been greatly overexaggerated. Are you gonna play this game for 40 hours straight like Zelda? Probably not. But this is the first game many Wii users will still be picking up in 6 months. If you're looking for a game that is great in short bursts and has enough fun for repeated playthroughs and mad multiplayer action, this one has pound for pound more replay value than almost any other on the system. Other than Zelda (which for the purposes of this review will be considered a GCN port), WarioWare: Smooth Moves is the first classic game for the Wii. Expand
  11. EBrusselford
    Jan 22, 2007
    8
    If you are familiar with and enjoyed the previous games in the series, this version will likely be of little surprise, but you'll like it. However, it is rather short (yes, replayable, etc) and it feels that some of the games rely on the novelty of the controls as opposed to being interesting in and of themselves, as in the first in the series. At the very least, it's a fun If you are familiar with and enjoyed the previous games in the series, this version will likely be of little surprise, but you'll like it. However, it is rather short (yes, replayable, etc) and it feels that some of the games rely on the novelty of the controls as opposed to being interesting in and of themselves, as in the first in the series. At the very least, it's a fun party game that has a sense of humor and makes creative use of the "form baton". Expand
  12. JonS.
    Jun 10, 2007
    8
    It will get boring after awhile, but its just plain fun, and will guarantee some laughs.
  13. PaulA.
    Jul 8, 2007
    9
    Literally hundreds of 3 second games as well as a few mini games to keep you ammused for many hours. The more i played smooth moves, the more I got hooked. 3 year old kids love it to, as so simple to play. Great fun game.. highly recommended for everyone, including people who don't like shoot them up type games.
  14. ScottW.
    Aug 19, 2007
    9
    Of all games on the new plattforms this is the most fun. Realy wacky and crazy! Most injoyable played in groups of all ages. The only problem with the game is that that the story mode seems to just fly away. Your done the game before you nkow it.
  15. DrewF.
    Jun 10, 2008
    9
    Okay, fair comment form everyone, the single player mode take about half an hour to complete... But you do get some dancing cats and a pair of ninjas call cat and Anna (katana for everyone who didn't get that). It's good fun, and it kept me amused for the half an hour that it took to play, but then the real fun came in the multilayer mode. As a testament to what they have Okay, fair comment form everyone, the single player mode take about half an hour to complete... But you do get some dancing cats and a pair of ninjas call cat and Anna (katana for everyone who didn't get that). It's good fun, and it kept me amused for the half an hour that it took to play, but then the real fun came in the multilayer mode. As a testament to what they have archived, my 84 year-old granddad when he left my house after playing the game asked my nan if they could get one. This is the perfect game for the Wii, good honest family group fun! although I would still like a longer single player mode. Expand
  16. SqueM.
    Aug 28, 2008
    8
    Sure...it's short,the graphics aren't really appealing and no main storyline but Wario Ware isn't about those things...it's about fun. Even if you beat it, you go for more as it's addictive and funny. It isn't the best in the series...but it is well done.
  17. Michael
    Sep 5, 2009
    9
    One of the most fun and innovative experiences out there for the Wii. Personally the quirky graphics make this game even better, elevating SmoothMoves to on of the most visually innovative games I've seen in a long time. Though some will surely gripe (short single player and quirky controls) this game will bring any party to its feet in no time. Can't remember having more funOne of the most fun and innovative experiences out there for the Wii. Personally the quirky graphics make this game even better, elevating SmoothMoves to on of the most visually innovative games I've seen in a long time. Though some will surely gripe (short single player and quirky controls) this game will bring any party to its feet in no time. Can't remember having more fun with a large group of folks on any system... ever, really. It's short for sure, but pick it up used or rent it and see for yourself. Awesome game! Expand
  18. DanH.
    Jan 21, 2007
    8
    This game is a must buy for anyone who owns a Wii. Tons of fast paced and odd minigames that never get boring, the only reason you might not want this game are for its mostly 2D graphics and extreme wackiness.
  19. Stephen
    Jan 21, 2007
    9
    Was slightly dissapointed with the multiplayer mode, but is still great fun. My roomates and I have been playing this game for hours.
  20. LukeM.
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  21. RustyS.
    Jan 28, 2007
    9
    A very well-made game. The way that this game takes advantage of the Wiimote is absolutely incredible. The games are very fun and the controls are spot-on (98% of the time, sometimes it won't register but that's pretty rare). The game has a ton of personality, and while short, has a lot of replay value. You'll blast through the story mode, but it the game offers you a lot A very well-made game. The way that this game takes advantage of the Wiimote is absolutely incredible. The games are very fun and the controls are spot-on (98% of the time, sometimes it won't register but that's pretty rare). The game has a ton of personality, and while short, has a lot of replay value. You'll blast through the story mode, but it the game offers you a lot of bonus content. Also you'll want to replay the stages over and over again to enhance your score. The bonus games are all fun, as well as the multiplayer. Multiplayer is a pass the controller affair, and it works perfectly. When you have a large group of friends it's a blast. There seem to be less minigames on the multiplayer modes, but it still stays fresh for long enough. Graphically, the game retains it art style, while branching off into some GameCube graphics during some of the minigames. The colors are vibrant, the framerate a smooth 60 fps, and it looks very sharp in 480p. It is definitely one of the best games on the Wii besides for Zelda: The Twilight Princess and Trauma Center: Second Opinion in my opinion. You realize you're playing something special when you think about how this cannot be done on any other console. Expand
  22. AndrewG.
    Jan 28, 2007
    9
    I would give the game a 10, except that they made some annoying decisions with the multiplayer options. The minigames are interesting and varied, and the dancing minigame in particular is a show stopper. Multiplayer is really fun and very accessible, but 1) at least the survival mode should give you the option of having more than one life; and 2) when playing with more than 2 people, both I would give the game a 10, except that they made some annoying decisions with the multiplayer options. The minigames are interesting and varied, and the dancing minigame in particular is a show stopper. Multiplayer is really fun and very accessible, but 1) at least the survival mode should give you the option of having more than one life; and 2) when playing with more than 2 people, both the balloon mode and the bomb mode are dumb because they only go until someone LOSES - it doesn't eliminate that person and then continue. Overall, great game though. Expand
  23. AnonymousMC
    Feb 13, 2007
    10
    I was gonna give it a 9, but naaaaaaaaaaahh, this gets a ten. This is the best, most fun, party game ever made and OH MY GOD I LOVE IT SO MUCH. Having said that its not for everyone. The following are groups of people who will not enjoy it: serious hard core gamers, handicapped people, easily frustrated people, depressed people, stupid people, very very smart people, people withoutI was gonna give it a 9, but naaaaaaaaaaahh, this gets a ten. This is the best, most fun, party game ever made and OH MY GOD I LOVE IT SO MUCH. Having said that its not for everyone. The following are groups of people who will not enjoy it: serious hard core gamers, handicapped people, easily frustrated people, depressed people, stupid people, very very smart people, people without friends, people who hate wii sports and or wii, people who blame games for their own shortcomings, video game haters, lazy people, angry people, and people who only like classic games. No offense to any of those groups.. Expand
  24. EddyH.
    Feb 6, 2007
    8
    Lots of fun, even for non-gamers
  25. BobS.
    Feb 9, 2007
    10
    Great game! The most fun I've had with a game for awhile! Well, besides Gears of War, but those shouldn't be compared anyway. Fact is, this game is fun, shows off the capabilities of the Wii remote, and most of all, it cannot be done on any other system. You'll keep coming back to it regardless of the games length because it's so addictive. Great job, Nintendo!
  26. Jory
    Mar 2, 2007
    8
    A good game, although it's understandable why some folks don't see it as such. The game is rather frenetic, being comprised of a collection of very very very short challenges. There are some that would be more fun to play in an extended format, but aren't available as such. However, once finished with the story mode, the multi-user mode opens up, which is really where the A good game, although it's understandable why some folks don't see it as such. The game is rather frenetic, being comprised of a collection of very very very short challenges. There are some that would be more fun to play in an extended format, but aren't available as such. However, once finished with the story mode, the multi-user mode opens up, which is really where the strength of this game is. There are a number of different multi-player modes, mainly utilizing the frenetic micro-games already played, but aimed at more of a "get the most points" or "who's the last one standing" type of situation. You can have up to 12 users, which share a single Wii Remote, so you can see how this, as a party game, really succeeds. Expand
  27. RyanO.
    Mar 20, 2007
    9
    Best use of Wii controls but too short and not enough multiplayer content.
  28. BenjaminB.
    Mar 22, 2007
    9
    I cannot think that there will be ever a game which makes more fun than this one and it makes perfectly use of the wiimote. but i gave it a nine, because for people who do not play Wii with friends (I hope it's a minority), the game is too short, when you dislike playing for highscores.
  29. KateH.
    Jul 28, 2007
    9
    I like the little ccities especially because most of them are so random. I also like the fact that when you had finished the game you could play multi-player. I play with my younger brother on the multi player and we both have so much fun. I would definately reccomend this game. 9/10 !
  30. AdamO.
    Aug 31, 2007
    10
    You may think my score is too generous, but you're completely wrong. Wario Ware for Wii is genius, despite how stupid it is. It's just simple but brilliant and stupid fun. Production values are charming with simple graphics that work fine, and instantly catchy music. I've never seen a game use the Wii remote in such silly and amazing way. The different positions are You may think my score is too generous, but you're completely wrong. Wario Ware for Wii is genius, despite how stupid it is. It's just simple but brilliant and stupid fun. Production values are charming with simple graphics that work fine, and instantly catchy music. I've never seen a game use the Wii remote in such silly and amazing way. The different positions are idiotic, but excellent. Where WW: SM's true strength lies its frantic multiplayer. Easily accesible, yet impossible to master (especially the co-op jumping minigame). I think I've already said enough to tell you why I gave this game a 10. Expand
  31. DaveKnight
    Dec 28, 2008
    8
    An enjoyable game. Graphics aren't the best, but the mini-games are just ridiculously daft. And that makes them fun. The biggest irritation is the need to complete the single player campaign to unlock multiplayer, although the single player campaign only takes a couple of hours (which is in itself a bit of a downside). Other than that though, Smooth Moves is a fun game that providesAn enjoyable game. Graphics aren't the best, but the mini-games are just ridiculously daft. And that makes them fun. The biggest irritation is the need to complete the single player campaign to unlock multiplayer, although the single player campaign only takes a couple of hours (which is in itself a bit of a downside). Other than that though, Smooth Moves is a fun game that provides plenty of daft entertainment and is especially good fun with a bunch of friends.
    And no Mr Anonymous, I'm not a game promoter...
    Expand
  32. UrbanA.
    Jan 8, 2008
    9
    The game started off quick and crazy, and just got more fun. It is an awesome party game, quick-paced, lots of laughs, and entertaining, though very bizarre. After about 20 minutes of playing I began to second-guess my purchase, but then I got the hang of it and totally changed my mind, I love this game (and so does everyone else in the family). Make sure you play all the way through The game started off quick and crazy, and just got more fun. It is an awesome party game, quick-paced, lots of laughs, and entertaining, though very bizarre. After about 20 minutes of playing I began to second-guess my purchase, but then I got the hang of it and totally changed my mind, I love this game (and so does everyone else in the family). Make sure you play all the way through Single Player mode to unlock the Multi-player, makes the games 10 times more worth playing. Expand
  33. C.Clarke
    Jan 2, 2009
    9
    I really enjoy playing this game when having a little gathering of friends and some alcohol. The games are nice and fast-paced--perfect for quick games when things around you are hectic. It's also enjoyable in single player mode. As for the storyline, there isn't one. But who buys a game full of mini-games just for the storyline? Just get in there and play.
  34. ChuckChuckerster
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    I am from the Future along with these reviews! it is the best game ever released by Nintendo to come out before it has been released! If you have a chance to go to the future and play this game DO IT!! otherwise you will have to wait till it's actually released you NOOB!
  35. EBiddulph
    Dec 31, 2006
    10
    A fun, wacky game that should be in every Wii owner's collection! It is a lot of fun to just pick up and play with your friends, which works perfectly with the Wii controller! Enjoy!
  36. JosephV.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    Only a loner in a basement with a pre-determined mindset could possibly call this game a waste of money. It's an absolute blast. Gamers in my home love to get competitive with this game. Non-gamers in my home end up laughing so hard that they hold their sides in pain and wipe tears from their eyes- even those who aren't playing. And I'm talking about social adults, not Only a loner in a basement with a pre-determined mindset could possibly call this game a waste of money. It's an absolute blast. Gamers in my home love to get competitive with this game. Non-gamers in my home end up laughing so hard that they hold their sides in pain and wipe tears from their eyes- even those who aren't playing. And I'm talking about social adults, not little children. The game is anything but boring. If you don't like this game, you don't like laughter. Expand
  37. MichaelG.
    Jan 29, 2007
    9
    Great game. Lots of fun. My first experience with the microgame idea. I was a skeptic, but it is great. Even my wife likes it.
  38. MaddieB.
    Feb 18, 2007
    9
    This game is really fun, but a little hard. It is very creative and it keeps me entertained each game is a lot of fun and its a good buy.
  39. BenD.
    Mar 17, 2007
    9
    Excellent multiplayer, which is why I bought it. Appeals to gamers and non-gamers alike.
  40. LoganD.
    May 27, 2007
    8
    Fun party game, but i was let down by how short the main game is. sometimes repetitive, and many times i comlete the task without meaning to.
  41. DeniseR.
    Aug 19, 2007
    9
    Fun and fast paced. Keeps group playing for hours!
  42. RossO.
    Jan 26, 2008
    9
    Why does everyone keep saying I bought it for a party game but I beat it in a hour? Sounds like you play games by yourself and you have no friends. So why would you need a party game? This is still a good game.
  43. Jul 6, 2012
    9
    Perfect party game! If you and your friends are drinking and looking to play a fun game, this is it. It get's everyone involved and is always a blassssssssssssssssttttttttttttttttt!
  44. Apr 30, 2014
    8
    As with the other games in the series, 5 seconds is all you need for each of these minier-than-minigames microgames, but with the invention of the Wii and Wii remote, they had to add motion controls.

    If you’ve played other games in the series, you know how crazy Wario’s money scheme of a game can be, with short amounts of time to do things from sharpening pencils to picking noses (yes,
    As with the other games in the series, 5 seconds is all you need for each of these minier-than-minigames microgames, but with the invention of the Wii and Wii remote, they had to add motion controls.

    If you’ve played other games in the series, you know how crazy Wario’s money scheme of a game can be, with short amounts of time to do things from sharpening pencils to picking noses (yes, it’s true). For those of you who haven’t, be prepared, because Wario is lazy and impatient, and the very short and simple microgames he makes show it off.

    Since this was made for the Wii, motion controls and the sensor bar are almost the only things that you use (aside from a few clicks of the A and B buttons), though the microgames Nintendo has come up with are original and fun despite being weird and short. Actions range from shaking to swinging to dancing, and the game never feels too easy - there are actually some that are more difficult than others, though this doesn’t feel negative in any way. And there are about 20 starting ‘forms’, or positions, at the start of each microgame, which tells you how you should position yourself for each game, like holding the Wii Remote vertically or holding it on top of your head.

    I can’t say anything specific about the microgame graphics - they’re all meant to give a different feel to the games. One microgame might be a 3D flipping of a pancake, and the next might be pixel Mario collecting coins from a block. The cutscenes and world map have a cartoonish style, but there isn’t much animation in the characters, they’re all either stop motions or moving pictures. Then there’s the sound. There’s music everywhere; there’s almost always music playing. The sound effects are really fitting if not sometimes funny, like when Wario bursts out from a wanted poster you had to flatten on to the wall.

    Although the story part of the game is short and could be completed in a few hours, you only discover half of the microgames the first time ‘round. There are over 200 microgames, and if you want them all, you have to replay the section in which the microgame comes from, which can get a little bit repetitive if you’re unlucky. Every time you play, the game randomizes the microgames that you go through. After a certain amount of microgames, they get faster and you have less time to complete them, and eventually you’ll get to a boss game, that is challenging but has no time limit. After that, the minigames become harder, and you’ll cycle through that 3 times before reaching a point where every microgame you play gets a little bit faster.

    After completing the game, there are the extras. First there’s the actual, full games, which include a bird version of Space Invaders and a block stacking game. Then there’s a set of microgames that use the Balance Stone, a.k.a the Nunchuk. There’s a fitness-type stage that has you moving a lot. There’s a sound studio, and finally, there are four games that mix up all the microgames in different ways, for example, starting out really fast or not telling you what form to use.

    Fast and fun, WarioWare Smooth Moves has over 200 microgames and makes really good use of the Wii’s motion controls and sensor bar, though multiplayer could be improved a bit with more game modes and multi-controller support.

    *This is part of a school project for review writing, but still, consider this as a legitimate review, as it is mostly based on my experience.
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

#6 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
#12 Most Shared Wii Game of 2007
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. 90
    Where the true value of Warioware lies is in both its multiplayer experience - which, depending on how Mario Party turns out, could be the definitive Wii party game - and it's unrivaled charm.
  2. 90
    I had a great time with Wario Ware: Smooth Moves, and you'll get a lot of value out of the game if you're the type that hosts parties or if you have a group of friends or family already that are enjoying games like "Wii Sports" or "Rayman: Raving Rabbids" together.
  3. Games Master UK
    85
    Bigger than before and funny enough to make anyone smile, but control problems annoy. [Feb 2007, p.78]