User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 141 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 141

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. biffj
    Jul 4, 2008
    2
    Pretty useless for anyone under 90. Doesn't even strengthen the core very well. To slow tempo for proper fat burning. I wouldn't even use it as a warmup before i lift as my muscles would be to cold from this. They needed bands or cables to come with it. There's bands out there that give 300lb to each side, so enough resistance for anyone. They also allow for a ton of core Pretty useless for anyone under 90. Doesn't even strengthen the core very well. To slow tempo for proper fat burning. I wouldn't even use it as a warmup before i lift as my muscles would be to cold from this. They needed bands or cables to come with it. There's bands out there that give 300lb to each side, so enough resistance for anyone. They also allow for a ton of core and running work. Expand
  2. StevenH
    Jan 2, 2010
    0
    What happens when you take advice from middle-aged, overweight female chiropractors, Tai Chi instructors, yoginis, and businesswomen? Something like Wii Fit, of course. As a fitness program, the intensity ranges from standing in certain positions to doing isometric calisthenics for 30 seconds (in other words it's useless). As a game it is incredibly boring and just another gimmicky What happens when you take advice from middle-aged, overweight female chiropractors, Tai Chi instructors, yoginis, and businesswomen? Something like Wii Fit, of course. As a fitness program, the intensity ranges from standing in certain positions to doing isometric calisthenics for 30 seconds (in other words it's useless). As a game it is incredibly boring and just another gimmicky Nintendo Wii title. An utter failure on all fronts. Observe the sales this thing gets, and you will at once understand how pervasive and powerful marketing and advertisement have become. Expand
  3. RoyM.
    May 22, 2008
    4
    Nintendo needs to make freaking GAMES.
  4. TAIPirate
    May 20, 2008
    8
    It's like having your own personal trainer on your T.V. Used in conjunction with a gym contract, the result are pretty awesome. It the measurements and techniques used and offered are excellent. VERY NICE!
  5. TathagataD.
    May 28, 2008
    10
    Best Nintendo product to date. It is as good as it has been hyped. highly recommended for anybody lazy about exercising in a regular basis.
  6. NickH
    Jun 28, 2008
    5
    Don't buy this as a fun game. Im a fittness fanatic and you don't wont to waite 3 minutes for every exercise to load otherwise it will take 2 - 3 hours to do a proper workout. Very disappointed I traded it in and got guitar hero 3 which is awesome. It also gave me stress fracture from running on the spot.
  7. DonnaHowe
    Jul 6, 2008
    10
    best way to exercise daily and have fun while doing it!
  8. AlistairT.
    Apr 26, 2008
    5
    lackluster attempt at demonstrating advanced pressure sensitive technology. What is sad about it is that no matter what nintendo release at the moment, I'm sure the "wii" crowd will lap it up with its fancy advertisement.
  9. BruceW.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    My best purchase yet for the Wii. The first evening it kept 4 of us absorbed and laughing for 3 hours solid. No, it is not the same as a full Gym workout, but it provides targets, motivation and fun and will - I suspect - lead many to exercise more in the real world, just to impress their Wii trainer. I was so shamed by the fat tummy given to my Mii after my first body check that I have My best purchase yet for the Wii. The first evening it kept 4 of us absorbed and laughing for 3 hours solid. No, it is not the same as a full Gym workout, but it provides targets, motivation and fun and will - I suspect - lead many to exercise more in the real world, just to impress their Wii trainer. I was so shamed by the fat tummy given to my Mii after my first body check that I have already increased my morning run distance. Maybe I'll keep it up, this time, just because I fancy my female (Wii) trainer. Expand
  10. SuperS.
    May 23, 2008
    9
    Looks good so far, but kind of easy for me. I hope it gets harder as your workouts continue. The whole family is using it right now.
  11. JenniferV.
    May 30, 2008
    9
    I love the wii fit and you can't deny that it makes for a lot of faminly fun! Even my boyfriend who though it would be stupid enjoyed it very much. I believe that if you use it properly , you can lose weight. This is very motivational and fun at the same time.
  12. CalvinG.
    May 30, 2008
    10
    My entire family loved the game. I think its makes exercising in your living room much more interesting and fun. It doesnt beat having a real personal training and a gym membership, but definitely works up a sweat! Great workout
  13. KaishiA.
    Jun 10, 2008
    9
    Wii Fit is both exercise equipment, video-trainer, and a game. For fitness purposes, the encouragement and progress tracking are the most beneficial elements of the game. I've already lost 7 pounds while owning my copy. I also hit the gym 3 days a week, but Wii Fit allows me to do non-sitting fairly aerobic games from my apartment. I highly recommend it.
  14. EllieM.
    Jun 20, 2008
    9
    A little tedious, but a wonderful way to work out and have fun.
  15. AgentS.
    Jun 5, 2008
    5
    As a game I think it's cute and quaint. As a sole source of fitness (as many are unfortunately seeing this product as), it is simply not. It was fun to try out some of the mini-games but they are short segments and the down-time during navigating the menus drops the heartrate and you lose what exercise momentum you may have been building. There's so many ways to cheat yourself As a game I think it's cute and quaint. As a sole source of fitness (as many are unfortunately seeing this product as), it is simply not. It was fun to try out some of the mini-games but they are short segments and the down-time during navigating the menus drops the heartrate and you lose what exercise momentum you may have been building. There's so many ways to cheat yourself out of proper stances and positions that you might not be doing as much good for yourself as you think you might be. And definitely not as much good as a gym and/or trainer would. And....I'm a horribly practical person with the frugality nurtured by my poor artist background so.... I played this one mini-game of virtual hula-hooping, and I couldn't help but think how much more physical benefits I'd get from a $2 hula hoop as opposed to the hundreds of dollars spent on the wii. Or how much more social interaction comes with $10 soccer ball than watching someone virtually kick a wiiBall with their wiiMee's wiiHead. As I said earlier.... cute game. And I applaud Nintendo on a new approach to tackling the gamer laziness syndrome. Rather than criticizing the lazy with ineffective commercials telling everyone to go out and be active, they used the video game console to create an INTRODUCTORY to the active lifestyle. It's fun for playtime and hopefully it's a springboard to people become more active. Expand
  16. BradWS
    Jun 8, 2008
    7
    This obviously hits the market it intends to - couch potatoes with BMI's 25 and over that rarely exercise. For anyone that does physical activity aside from this and has (even a rough) eating plan Wii Fit fails to deliver. Multiple queued exercises, body type (muscular/fat) options, even a guide for the calorie intake/moderation required, calories burned in a workout, etc, etc... are This obviously hits the market it intends to - couch potatoes with BMI's 25 and over that rarely exercise. For anyone that does physical activity aside from this and has (even a rough) eating plan Wii Fit fails to deliver. Multiple queued exercises, body type (muscular/fat) options, even a guide for the calorie intake/moderation required, calories burned in a workout, etc, etc... are all things that so easily could have been included but haven't - even if it was buried deep in the options. For anyone serious about fitness (with an existing regime) buy it and have a look as a talking point but don't expect anymore than you'd get on your warm-up at the gym. For anyone who wants to pin all their weight loss hopes on a new gimmick you're not going to see any results without performing some moderate cardio at least - which is the failing point here, someone obese should be running or cycling for the 30-40 minutes they can spare each day not using this. I've got body fat % scales which are dramatically more accurate at capturing someones general health and physique too. Expand
  17. LindaD.
    Aug 29, 2008
    10
    I love my Wii Fit. I finally got some unresolved medical issues corrected with proper meds. Illness left me week and very obese. After the meds began to take effect, I started to walk my country road 30 minutes a day and lost 15 pounds. Two weeks ago my husband bought Wii Fit. I have since lost 5 additional pounds. He loves the traditional games and I love the fitness component. I I love my Wii Fit. I finally got some unresolved medical issues corrected with proper meds. Illness left me week and very obese. After the meds began to take effect, I started to walk my country road 30 minutes a day and lost 15 pounds. Two weeks ago my husband bought Wii Fit. I have since lost 5 additional pounds. He loves the traditional games and I love the fitness component. I continue to walk outside 30 minutes each morning and do aerobics on Wii Fit for 45 to 60 minutes per day. I thank everyone who had the courage to carry the wonderful idea of Wii Fit to fruition. Please know that I for one have no current desire to join a gym. The fact that you have taken the need for something like Wii Fit seriously, and found a niche for those of use who would and do take it seriously as well; leaves me with much appreciation for your kind efforts. Personally I am most appreciative of an accurate scale that tracks weight and BMI and has the 'make me sweat and lose weight' factor. Thank you, Nintendo. PS: It is now August, 2008 and I currently weigh in at 220 (down from 240 in April, 2008 and I am only 5' 2" tall). I feel that now I can attain my healthy BMI and have fun doing it! Oh, by the way I am 56 years old. I am very proud of the smiles on the faces of my husband and my doctor. Again, thank you! Expand
  18. MamaK
    Aug 4, 2008
    10
    I am a mother of 2 little children. I can't get to a gym, I can't get out for a walk. But I can Wii fit, and my kids love to sit and watch. So we're all happy. I didn't think it possible to get fit by hula hooping, but I'm proof you can. It is awesome. People who don't like it must have had strangely high expectations.
  19. JohnF
    Feb 15, 2009
    7
    Although, Wii Fit has a high price attached to it, remember that it is a fitness program and not a game. If you were planning on buying this as some sort of substitute for eating healthy and exercising, it will do you no good. If you planning to buy this game as a tool to impress your friends, remember that the multiplayer value is low, and this game will collect dust if you personally Although, Wii Fit has a high price attached to it, remember that it is a fitness program and not a game. If you were planning on buying this as some sort of substitute for eating healthy and exercising, it will do you no good. If you planning to buy this game as a tool to impress your friends, remember that the multiplayer value is low, and this game will collect dust if you personally are not interested in using it. If none of the above would trouble you, then you should consider buying Wii Fit for your Wii. Wii Fit allows the user to create their own profile which the user can protect with a password. The Wii Balance Board is able to weigh the user and the game will show the user Collapse
  20. GregM
    Apr 25, 2009
    10
    I've used Wii Fit every day for the last 16 weeks. I've used it for 3 hours a day for the last 8 weeks. I'm down 45 pounds ... only 60 pounds to go. I'm sure my results are atypical, but I'm documenting my "journey" on my blog, WiiFatMarathon.com
  21. AnonymousMC
    Apr 8, 2009
    6
    No doubt this is fun and I enjoy doing all the different activities. However, it takes too long! You must have a good chunk of time to devote to "exercise" because a lot of time is spent watching your score being posted, seeing how many "credits" you earn, deciding whether you want to repeat the exercise or move on. So your "rest time" is probably longer than the actual workout time. ButNo doubt this is fun and I enjoy doing all the different activities. However, it takes too long! You must have a good chunk of time to devote to "exercise" because a lot of time is spent watching your score being posted, seeing how many "credits" you earn, deciding whether you want to repeat the exercise or move on. So your "rest time" is probably longer than the actual workout time. But many of the challenges are pretty challenging and I have had sore muscles the next day trying to outdo my kids on certain activities. Or even to prove to the silly "trainer" that I can do a sit up, I just can't figure out how the Wii wants me to do it! So I wouldn't say it's for the already fit, I would say it's more for the person who is a couch potato or is just looking for something to do in addition to a regular workout routine and who doesn't belong to the gym. Expand
  22. TerryB
    Nov 29, 2008
    10
    I've lost pounds and continue to do so with the help of the Wii Fit. I still walk and exercise in addition to the Wii but it helps with keeping track of my weight loss goals.
  23. Nik
    Oct 22, 2008
    0
    It's amazing that this is even considered a game. For everything you can do here, you can do for free outside. And it's boring, meaningless, and stupid. Donating the money paid for this game to the poor is a better option.
  24. MarcoG.
    Apr 18, 2008
    0
    Unfortunately I lived to see this, Nintendo creating a game, that looks nothing like a game, people all around the world excited because of the innovative features, innovative indeed, but soulless! All silly little games, yoga and all, no gaming delivered, and contrary to what is believed, it's not a good or healthy way to lose weight, I regret and now would spend my money on Unfortunately I lived to see this, Nintendo creating a game, that looks nothing like a game, people all around the world excited because of the innovative features, innovative indeed, but soulless! All silly little games, yoga and all, no gaming delivered, and contrary to what is believed, it's not a good or healthy way to lose weight, I regret and now would spend my money on anything else than this. Expand
  25. JonathanP.
    Apr 24, 2008
    9
    Another great piece of Nintendo innovation that truly moves the game industry forward.
  26. aitaisteach
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    Fantastic fun and healthy too. Aerobics, Yoga, Muscle Exercises and fun games that maximise the balance board. From my 3 year old son to my 39 year old wife the wii fit has given huge healthy fun. We compete with each other to lower our Wii Fit age, improve our health and beat the pants of each other. For the tech bit. The board keeps track of your weight and balance / posture as you useFantastic fun and healthy too. Aerobics, Yoga, Muscle Exercises and fun games that maximise the balance board. From my 3 year old son to my 39 year old wife the wii fit has given huge healthy fun. We compete with each other to lower our Wii Fit age, improve our health and beat the pants of each other. For the tech bit. The board keeps track of your weight and balance / posture as you use it. You can set a BMI target and the wii will be your fitness log. It's a gym coach in the privacy of your home. Highly recommend it. Expand
  27. AlanW.
    Apr 27, 2008
    9
    A great addition to a regular exercise programme. If you're a couch potato it may spur you on to actually get fit, or you may use it for a week and then sell it. BUt for me who goes to gym 3 times a week, this is a perfect addition! The balance board is cutting edge kit, and I look forward to other releases that will utilize this kit. The game itself has lots of training activities A great addition to a regular exercise programme. If you're a couch potato it may spur you on to actually get fit, or you may use it for a week and then sell it. BUt for me who goes to gym 3 times a week, this is a perfect addition! The balance board is cutting edge kit, and I look forward to other releases that will utilize this kit. The game itself has lots of training activities and ways to motivate you, by charting your progress versus your set goals. Well Done Nintendo. Expand
  28. JohnnyR.
    May 11, 2008
    0
    Jog to wal-mart and buy a scale. Its 1/5 the price and 10x the exercise, you rubes.
  29. CogsyD
    May 22, 2008
    9
    Just git and love it. Lots of variety in the activities included. Controls are easy and there is lots of challenge to them as well. I only hope I can stick with it to see results. Great response from the balance board - picks up on every little jiggle.
  30. Nelson
    May 25, 2008
    10
    I was waiting for this game to be released just in order to buy a Wii console. This game alone (together with the bundled Wii Sports) is definitely worth spending money buying a Wii console. Ingenious & great fun!! Truly technology at it's best, when you consider what the benefits are, or will be, to your fitness, health, mental well-being, motivation, & self-esteem. Those reviewers I was waiting for this game to be released just in order to buy a Wii console. This game alone (together with the bundled Wii Sports) is definitely worth spending money buying a Wii console. Ingenious & great fun!! Truly technology at it's best, when you consider what the benefits are, or will be, to your fitness, health, mental well-being, motivation, & self-esteem. Those reviewers who have rated this very low obviously don't understand or appreciate these points, especially when paying for gym membership tends to be that "good intention" in the New Year but then just turns out to be a complete waste of money. So for the price of Wii Fit you can exercise & have fun both at the same time (in the privacy of your own home if you want). Congratulations to Nintendo! Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. A genuinely fun way to get fit. [Issue#22, p.66]
  2. Impressive. But games won't get much from it and it's unlikely to get you trim on its own. [May 2008, p.66]
  3. You need to know before paying out for (and therefore committing to) Wii Fit that it has to become part of your daily life for it to mean anything. And if you are willing to commit to it then Wii Fit is a loyal and multitalented trainer. [Feb 2008, p.136]