Wii Fit Wii

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 146 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 146
  2. Negative: 17 out of 146
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BradWS
    Jun 8, 2008
    7
    This obviously hits the market it intends to - couch potatoes with BMI's 25 and over that rarely exercise. For anyone that does physical activity aside from this and has (even a rough) eating plan Wii Fit fails to deliver. Multiple queued exercises, body type (muscular/fat) options, even a guide for the calorie intake/moderation required, calories burned in a workout, etc, etc... are This obviously hits the market it intends to - couch potatoes with BMI's 25 and over that rarely exercise. For anyone that does physical activity aside from this and has (even a rough) eating plan Wii Fit fails to deliver. Multiple queued exercises, body type (muscular/fat) options, even a guide for the calorie intake/moderation required, calories burned in a workout, etc, etc... are all things that so easily could have been included but haven't - even if it was buried deep in the options. For anyone serious about fitness (with an existing regime) buy it and have a look as a talking point but don't expect anymore than you'd get on your warm-up at the gym. For anyone who wants to pin all their weight loss hopes on a new gimmick you're not going to see any results without performing some moderate cardio at least - which is the failing point here, someone obese should be running or cycling for the 30-40 minutes they can spare each day not using this. I've got body fat % scales which are dramatically more accurate at capturing someones general health and physique too. Expand
  2. JohnF
    Feb 15, 2009
    7
    Although, Wii Fit has a high price attached to it, remember that it is a fitness program and not a game. If you were planning on buying this as some sort of substitute for eating healthy and exercising, it will do you no good. If you planning to buy this game as a tool to impress your friends, remember that the multiplayer value is low, and this game will collect dust if you personally Although, Wii Fit has a high price attached to it, remember that it is a fitness program and not a game. If you were planning on buying this as some sort of substitute for eating healthy and exercising, it will do you no good. If you planning to buy this game as a tool to impress your friends, remember that the multiplayer value is low, and this game will collect dust if you personally are not interested in using it. If none of the above would trouble you, then you should consider buying Wii Fit for your Wii. Wii Fit allows the user to create their own profile which the user can protect with a password. The Wii Balance Board is able to weigh the user and the game will show the user Expand
  3. thedude
    May 31, 2008
    7
    This review is based just on my first couple sessions with Wii Fit, so as a disclaimer I have to make it clear that it just represents my initial reaction to the game. As such, I've given it a 7 rather than a lower score so as to not unfairly lower it's tally. I was super excited about Wii Fit. I'm 33, and I used to have no trouble staying fit during my twenties, as there This review is based just on my first couple sessions with Wii Fit, so as a disclaimer I have to make it clear that it just represents my initial reaction to the game. As such, I've given it a 7 rather than a lower score so as to not unfairly lower it's tally. I was super excited about Wii Fit. I'm 33, and I used to have no trouble staying fit during my twenties, as there was always a basketball game, or a volleyball game, or the like to get in on with friends. Now that I've hit my thirties, though, and all my friends are married with children, I've gone about three years without any exercise at all. In that time, I've tacked on 30 pounds of gut, but as someone who hates exercising just for the sake of exercising (I get bored easily) Wii Fit looked like a godsend. Exercising made fun and interactive in the privacy of my own home, whenever I want to exercise? Sounds great, sign me up! In my mind, I hoped that the balance board would be as fun a gaming innovation as the wiimote has been in Wii Sports. Unfortunately, it hasn't turned out that way. None of the games in Wii Fit are that entertaining. The slalom and ski jumping, which I thought would be awesome, are really pretty lame. Okay, so it's still gonna be work and not so much fun, but it's convenient, right? Well, so far, not so much. I've spent about four hours on it, and only amassed an hour and a half of actual exercise time, by its calculations. Sure, the initial session takes extra time because of the initial set-up and the explanations for the exercises, but even my second session was incredibly inefficient. It took me an hour and a half to log on 30 minutes of exercise. And I only watched a couple of exercise demos. Now, as I spend more time at it it will increase the number of reps and duration of the exercises, which should help, but I haven't touched it in a week because I felt like it was doing such a great job of sucking away my time while giving me very little exercise and almost no entertainment value. There are only a few exercises that really feel like significant exercises so far: mainly the side-plank, the lunge, the hula hoop, and the free jogging. Even so, I was able to net a perfect score on the side-plank on each of my first two tries: and I am in terrible shape! Sure, they will add reps, but there just isn't much significant challenge. I actually really enjoy the jogging and the hula hoop, but its a shame that from the start you can't set them for longer durations to give yourself a more efficient work out. Instead, you have to do them in short bursts and constantly start and stop to try and get a decent work out while waiting for the game to open up longer versions. So, in conclusion, as I use Wii Fit more and more it will hopefully get more efficient as I unlock longer and harder versions of the exercises, but if you're looking for entertainment, or a good workout right out of the box, it's just not going to happen. Your going to have to put in the hours just to get the game to open up to the point that you can get a meaningful, decent, and somewhat time efficient exercise program out of it. Expand
  4. MchaelM
    Dec 14, 2008
    7
    The balance board works well and the daily body test will keep you coming back, however you'll be done with the minigames in a week and does not warrant the £70 price tag.
  5. Oct 23, 2013
    7
    Pretty impressive for a game to make exercising fun and it actually makes me sweat more than i do at a gym so if you want to lose weight and have a Wii pick this game up.
  6. AnonymousMC
    Apr 8, 2009
    6
    No doubt this is fun and I enjoy doing all the different activities. However, it takes too long! You must have a good chunk of time to devote to "exercise" because a lot of time is spent watching your score being posted, seeing how many "credits" you earn, deciding whether you want to repeat the exercise or move on. So your "rest time" is probably longer than the actual workout time. ButNo doubt this is fun and I enjoy doing all the different activities. However, it takes too long! You must have a good chunk of time to devote to "exercise" because a lot of time is spent watching your score being posted, seeing how many "credits" you earn, deciding whether you want to repeat the exercise or move on. So your "rest time" is probably longer than the actual workout time. But many of the challenges are pretty challenging and I have had sore muscles the next day trying to outdo my kids on certain activities. Or even to prove to the silly "trainer" that I can do a sit up, I just can't figure out how the Wii wants me to do it! So I wouldn't say it's for the already fit, I would say it's more for the person who is a couch potato or is just looking for something to do in addition to a regular workout routine and who doesn't belong to the gym. Collapse
  7. EtanM.
    May 28, 2008
    6
    Excellent idea and the balance board is well built; however, as a game Wii Fit has some serious shortcomings. First, there is no multiplayer feature at all. It would not have killed Nintendo to build in a quick Mii change or enable competitive features so that you can easily take turns playing the ski jump game using your own Mii. You can't even race a friend in the 2P race. Excellent idea and the balance board is well built; however, as a game Wii Fit has some serious shortcomings. First, there is no multiplayer feature at all. It would not have killed Nintendo to build in a quick Mii change or enable competitive features so that you can easily take turns playing the ski jump game using your own Mii. You can't even race a friend in the 2P race. Secondly, there should be an option to string together exercises and cut out all the screens between activities. Having to watch your ranking, the coin drop, back up, go into another exercise, skip past the trainer and then do the exercise limits ones ability to get a great diverse work out and means you're skipping past menus more than playing the game. Lastly, and most importantly to casual gamers, having to unlock everything is a huge pain. Who has the time to play the game so that everything becomes unlocked? It doesn't even unlock more games in the category you're playing either, just the longer you play the game the more some random game unlocks, and then you have to play basic before advanced which is a slap in the face to those of us who can do super basic aerobics no problem. Expand
  8. NickH
    Jun 28, 2008
    5
    Don't buy this as a fun game. Im a fittness fanatic and you don't wont to waite 3 minutes for every exercise to load otherwise it will take 2 - 3 hours to do a proper workout. Very disappointed I traded it in and got guitar hero 3 which is awesome. It also gave me stress fracture from running on the spot.
  9. AlistairT.
    Apr 26, 2008
    5
    lackluster attempt at demonstrating advanced pressure sensitive technology. What is sad about it is that no matter what nintendo release at the moment, I'm sure the "wii" crowd will lap it up with its fancy advertisement.
  10. AgentS.
    Jun 5, 2008
    5
    As a game I think it's cute and quaint. As a sole source of fitness (as many are unfortunately seeing this product as), it is simply not. It was fun to try out some of the mini-games but they are short segments and the down-time during navigating the menus drops the heartrate and you lose what exercise momentum you may have been building. There's so many ways to cheat yourself As a game I think it's cute and quaint. As a sole source of fitness (as many are unfortunately seeing this product as), it is simply not. It was fun to try out some of the mini-games but they are short segments and the down-time during navigating the menus drops the heartrate and you lose what exercise momentum you may have been building. There's so many ways to cheat yourself out of proper stances and positions that you might not be doing as much good for yourself as you think you might be. And definitely not as much good as a gym and/or trainer would. And....I'm a horribly practical person with the frugality nurtured by my poor artist background so.... I played this one mini-game of virtual hula-hooping, and I couldn't help but think how much more physical benefits I'd get from a $2 hula hoop as opposed to the hundreds of dollars spent on the wii. Or how much more social interaction comes with $10 soccer ball than watching someone virtually kick a wiiBall with their wiiMee's wiiHead. As I said earlier.... cute game. And I applaud Nintendo on a new approach to tackling the gamer laziness syndrome. Rather than criticizing the lazy with ineffective commercials telling everyone to go out and be active, they used the video game console to create an INTRODUCTORY to the active lifestyle. It's fun for playtime and hopefully it's a springboard to people become more active. Expand
  11. HeatherD
    Jan 24, 2010
    5
    At first I loved the wii fit and was addicted to certain games including the obstacle course...but then I got a stress fracture in my foot, so now I cant to any weight bearing exercises at all. I have been a long distance runner for over 20 years, and never had a stress fracture...but using the wii with not shoes...did me in.

Awards & Rankings

#5 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2008
#11 Most Shared Wii Game of 2008
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. n-Revolution Magazine UK
    85
    A genuinely fun way to get fit. [Issue#22, p.66]
  2. Games Master UK
    83
    Impressive. But games won't get much from it and it's unlikely to get you trim on its own. [May 2008, p.66]
  3. games(TM)
    70
    You need to know before paying out for (and therefore committing to) Wii Fit that it has to become part of your daily life for it to mean anything. And if you are willing to commit to it then Wii Fit is a loyal and multitalented trainer. [Feb 2008, p.136]