Wii Music Wii

User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 118 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 118
  2. Negative: 59 out of 118
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 11, 2016
    6
    Wii Music is a prime example of a severely overhated game. i grant you the song selection is bad and doesn't give you much to experiment with and some of the instruments sound worse than listening to One Direction but when the songs and instruments are good it can be fun especially the Nintendo themes. i'll grant you it ain't great and even at the time you were better off with most otherWii Music is a prime example of a severely overhated game. i grant you the song selection is bad and doesn't give you much to experiment with and some of the instruments sound worse than listening to One Direction but when the songs and instruments are good it can be fun especially the Nintendo themes. i'll grant you it ain't great and even at the time you were better off with most other music games on the market however you can do way worse Expand
  2. Aug 20, 2012
    7
    I got this game for my birthday and, after seeing the commercials, I was excited. I am a musician and can appreciate the mindless music making found in this game. It requires almost no skill to play a mediocre song, so my family, including my parents, were able to play and enjoy this game. I've gotten a lot of laughs out of this game with friends and family, so I believe that MiyamotoI got this game for my birthday and, after seeing the commercials, I was excited. I am a musician and can appreciate the mindless music making found in this game. It requires almost no skill to play a mediocre song, so my family, including my parents, were able to play and enjoy this game. I've gotten a lot of laughs out of this game with friends and family, so I believe that Miyamoto accomplished something there. I believe the point of these Wii (INSERT NAME HERE) titles was for family fun and casual get-to-know-your-system gaming. In no way is this meant to be a Wii version of guitar hero. One regret I have is the song choice. They could have created some more well-known, popular songs, but I understand where the songs' rights could have gotten in the way. There's room for improvement, but it's decent family fun and good for parties. Expand
  3. Jun 11, 2011
    7
    if you go into the game with low expectations, you will hate it. but if you start the game with an open mind you might actually find it alright, and believe it or not actually pretty fun. it's absolutely not anything like Rock Band or Guitar Hero of course, and it is extremely cheesy in some aspects but to be honest, I really did have fun with this thing.. It's very easy to grow boredif you go into the game with low expectations, you will hate it. but if you start the game with an open mind you might actually find it alright, and believe it or not actually pretty fun. it's absolutely not anything like Rock Band or Guitar Hero of course, and it is extremely cheesy in some aspects but to be honest, I really did have fun with this thing.. It's very easy to grow bored of though, and after you unlock all the songs and stages, you'll pretty much put it back in it's case and probably never so much as look at it again. the songs are actually shockingly bad. stuff like fere jacques, happy birthday, things like that. best songs are by far the Nintendo songs. The most fun thing to do with this game is take a song and re-arrange it a bunch of different ways, but that does get fairly old fast.

    pretty decent I'd say.
    Expand
  4. Dec 19, 2012
    7
    This isn't exactly a game that you'll spend all day playing. Since there aren't really any rules when you are creating a jam you can just give it any rating you want. Creating covers is fun with all the options you have. The minigames are fun to play.
  5. CalebH.
    Nov 10, 2008
    7
    Music lovers rejoice! We've got ourselves another music game and this one is for everyone! Wii Music is a wonderful and joyous experience that pumps as much happiness and love as it can into your ears. Musically inclined or not, Wii Music will give you a new perspective on improvisation. The thing this game does best is make you express yourself. With over 60 different kinds of Music lovers rejoice! We've got ourselves another music game and this one is for everyone! Wii Music is a wonderful and joyous experience that pumps as much happiness and love as it can into your ears. Musically inclined or not, Wii Music will give you a new perspective on improvisation. The thing this game does best is make you express yourself. With over 60 different kinds of instruments, albeit some more ridiculous and pointless than others, each time you play can be a different experience than the last. Wii Music sports a few fun extra modes and a functioning virtual drumset for those who have a Wii Balance Board. My only gripe is that there not enough modes. You have your standard jam session for up to four people and that's about it. However, the time you'll have with Jam Session just about makes up for that loss. Wii Music is another great music party game for those who can't even play music. No big plastic peripherals needed, just a couple of Wii Remotes and an open mind. Expand
  6. ChristopherT.
    Oct 22, 2008
    7
    As a real life musician, I was skeptical about buying this game. I have a two year old son whom i figured, if nothing else, would have a blast playing with this. after spending about two hours with the game last night, i have to say that i'm pleased with my purchase. i thoroughly enjoy the drum mode (balance board, of course) and i am looking forward to improving my rhythmic skills As a real life musician, I was skeptical about buying this game. I have a two year old son whom i figured, if nothing else, would have a blast playing with this. after spending about two hours with the game last night, i have to say that i'm pleased with my purchase. i thoroughly enjoy the drum mode (balance board, of course) and i am looking forward to improving my rhythmic skills even if it doesn't help me plays drums any better. i think the main game has endless possibilities and i'm also looking forward to making some unique jams by, get this, waving the wiimote around in the air like a fool. The minigames are fun too - i enjoyed seeing how quickly i could pass the pitch tests. Overall, the game isn't a game if you're a FPS/RPG/Sports Game hardcore gamer, but if you're a Music Nerd like myself, you'll most certainly find a way to enjoy this software. Expand
  7. ArthurZ
    Oct 24, 2008
    7
    The game is deeper than it looks, re-arranging songs requires a lot of rhythm and can be something fun and rewarding. It also has a good educational value. Perfect for kids. The controls, though, are not as intuitive as they could be and take some time to master. Experimenting with instruments and songs and making videos is fun in the beginning but gets tiresome after some time.
  8. BaruchB.
    Oct 28, 2008
    6
    All of you haters are missing the point completely. This isn't some dumbed down version of Guitar Hero, it's Cakewalk/FLStudio/SoundForge/[Insert favorite music software here] for kids. With a fun, family-friendly application. Those expecting a simple rhythm game in the vein of GH/RB/DDR will be disappointed that there's only a hand-bell minigame that grants that All of you haters are missing the point completely. This isn't some dumbed down version of Guitar Hero, it's Cakewalk/FLStudio/SoundForge/[Insert favorite music software here] for kids. With a fun, family-friendly application. Those expecting a simple rhythm game in the vein of GH/RB/DDR will be disappointed that there's only a hand-bell minigame that grants that experience. The rest is just basic sequencing, which puts most (not all) of the impetus on the user, and not on the software. Skilled arrangers can produce some very interesting remixes, as evidenced by the videos showing up on YouTube. Less-skilled musicians such as Matt Cassamania will end up with remarkably less interesting and more painful renditions. The main problem is that it doesn't even fulfill what it's set out to do. Although there is a wide swath of instruments, some are missing (where are you classical guitar?!), others are just gimmicky (cheerleader), and all lack good sound quality (especially the "sax"). There is a wide selection of public-domain music, and some (pre-modern) pop and Nintendo scores, but that's it. The game - sorry, SOFTWARE limits itself extremely by not including a Mario Paint-esque note-by-note composition tool. Including something like that will not only multiply its lifespan, but would expand its appeal. That Nintendo chose to exclude something so vital in a MUSIC game is puzzling. One can only hope that downloadable content can be made available in the future to compensate for this near-fatal flaw. All that said, the target audience is DEFINITELY targeted towards kids and other music novices (and their parents). The "Pitch Perfect" minigame is just another teaching tool on pitch, harmony, and music theory in general. The Jam Sessions, when played in multiplayer, may sound jarring when played by first-timers, but as the players learn rhythm and synchronization, the result will definitely clean up - hardware response issues aside (though I never saw much people have trouble there). No, it doesn't teach you how to play an instrument (neither does playing plastic guitars), but it teaches key music skills in a kid-friendly manner. Certainly, jamming on the air guitar to preset tunes goes a longer way than tedious forced lessons with dull music teachers. Ten years from now, when we see a whole new generation of musical geniuses, I expect that you haters will all eat your hats. (By which I mean I'll probably end up doing it myself before I ever see any of you show remorse.) If internet fanboys existed in 1992, Mario Paint would have been blasted to high heavens... but it's now an icon of our videogame library. Will we say the same of Wii Music years from now? If Nintendo fixed its major flaws, perhaps we would. Expand

Awards & Rankings

12
#12 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2008
51
#51 Most Shared Wii Game of 2008
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 43
  2. Negative: 8 out of 43
  1. 91
    Wii Music may have a hard time winning over the skeptics who just want to laugh at it, but give the game the chance it deserves. You just might realize it's pretty damn fun being in on the joke.
  2. 70
    Wii Music is an odd duck. It is far from a traditional videogame, and more akin to a tech demo or social audio experiment. The fact that it is so very basic means it's completely accessible to anyone, but at the same time there's not much here to interest regular and core gamers.
  3. 50
    Most adults will quickly recognize that Wii Music is little more than a noise maker tied to a series of gestures and grow bored of the experience in a matter of hours, if not minutes. The controls aren't particularly intuitive , but gimmicky, and the selection of music is fundamentally flawed with both dated public domain songs rendered in equally dated MIDI.