Wii Music Wii

User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 116 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 116
  2. Negative: 58 out of 116
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AnonymousMC
    Nov 12, 2008
    0
    My little girl seemed to enjoy dancing around with the Wii-mote to this, so I would probably rate his as a 7 if I were rating a toy, but as a video game rating this for you other gamers out there, I have to give it a 0. But if you're a real gamer then I guess you probably know this already. Avoid!
  2. JamesD.
    Nov 3, 2008
    3
    I deeply terribly wanted Wii Music to be amazing, so much so that I bought it on launch day. To my dismay, I feel sadly underwhelmed. I will give the game props, because it was indeed simple and very accessible, something that youngsters would love to play around with. Maybe this is because Wii Music is something akin to kids beating on pots and pans with cooking utensils. It is I deeply terribly wanted Wii Music to be amazing, so much so that I bought it on launch day. To my dismay, I feel sadly underwhelmed. I will give the game props, because it was indeed simple and very accessible, something that youngsters would love to play around with. Maybe this is because Wii Music is something akin to kids beating on pots and pans with cooking utensils. It is accessible but extremely minimalist and so very basic. To stress this last point, I will explain a few reasons why the game seems minimalistic. First off, my biggest disappointment with Wii Music. The game includes only seven Nintendo songs. Why in the name of Shigeru Miyamoto does this game not include more Nintendo classic songs? It would not be very difficult to import the MIDIs for the Nintendo theme songs into the game, but why didn't Nintendo do this? Instead, you are forced to play Oh Christmas Tree and Twinkle Twinkle Little Star, among other "classics". Another thing, the gimmicky controls don't stay fresh long and most instruments ,like the brass and woodwind instruments, don't respond like you would like them to. You just end up looking like a tool holding a wii remote sensor side towards you to your mouth like a giant, silicone oral thermometer pressing buttons with hopes that you will catch up to the rhythm of the songs. Other instruments control better and are more fun, but all get old quickly because they mostly sound alike, horrible. As I previously stated, a child would probably love this game, but I, someone who is a part of Nintendo's target audience, think that Nintendo could have done so so much better. Come on Nintendo, add some more songs, reconstruct the gimmicky gameplay (maybe with support for the soon to be released Motion Plus+ Wiimote addon peripheral, which would make total sense given the way that the game relies solely on motion controls!), and stick it back in the oven cause this turkey ain't done yet, in fact it's frozen and pink in the middle. Sorry, Game Over, Wii Music, and that means try again, hopefully with Wii Music: Encore! Expand
  3. BaruchB.
    Oct 28, 2008
    6
    All of you haters are missing the point completely. This isn't some dumbed down version of Guitar Hero, it's Cakewalk/FLStudio/SoundForge/[Insert favorite music software here] for kids. With a fun, family-friendly application. Those expecting a simple rhythm game in the vein of GH/RB/DDR will be disappointed that there's only a hand-bell minigame that grants that All of you haters are missing the point completely. This isn't some dumbed down version of Guitar Hero, it's Cakewalk/FLStudio/SoundForge/[Insert favorite music software here] for kids. With a fun, family-friendly application. Those expecting a simple rhythm game in the vein of GH/RB/DDR will be disappointed that there's only a hand-bell minigame that grants that experience. The rest is just basic sequencing, which puts most (not all) of the impetus on the user, and not on the software. Skilled arrangers can produce some very interesting remixes, as evidenced by the videos showing up on YouTube. Less-skilled musicians such as Matt Cassamania will end up with remarkably less interesting and more painful renditions. The main problem is that it doesn't even fulfill what it's set out to do. Although there is a wide swath of instruments, some are missing (where are you classical guitar?!), others are just gimmicky (cheerleader), and all lack good sound quality (especially the "sax"). There is a wide selection of public-domain music, and some (pre-modern) pop and Nintendo scores, but that's it. The game - sorry, SOFTWARE limits itself extremely by not including a Mario Paint-esque note-by-note composition tool. Including something like that will not only multiply its lifespan, but would expand its appeal. That Nintendo chose to exclude something so vital in a MUSIC game is puzzling. One can only hope that downloadable content can be made available in the future to compensate for this near-fatal flaw. All that said, the target audience is DEFINITELY targeted towards kids and other music novices (and their parents). The "Pitch Perfect" minigame is just another teaching tool on pitch, harmony, and music theory in general. The Jam Sessions, when played in multiplayer, may sound jarring when played by first-timers, but as the players learn rhythm and synchronization, the result will definitely clean up - hardware response issues aside (though I never saw much people have trouble there). No, it doesn't teach you how to play an instrument (neither does playing plastic guitars), but it teaches key music skills in a kid-friendly manner. Certainly, jamming on the air guitar to preset tunes goes a longer way than tedious forced lessons with dull music teachers. Ten years from now, when we see a whole new generation of musical geniuses, I expect that you haters will all eat your hats. (By which I mean I'll probably end up doing it myself before I ever see any of you show remorse.) If internet fanboys existed in 1992, Mario Paint would have been blasted to high heavens... but it's now an icon of our videogame library. Will we say the same of Wii Music years from now? If Nintendo fixed its major flaws, perhaps we would. Expand
  4. Mar 22, 2011
    1
    i remember seeing this at E3 and just laughing and started wondering if nintendo finnaly fell of the truck into moronville as presenting this at E3 as there big game of the year . i remember talking to all my friends after waching the E3 press and how some wanted to sell there Wii's ASAP as there thinking this was nintendo's future of gaming . well having rented it for myself just to seei remember seeing this at E3 and just laughing and started wondering if nintendo finnaly fell of the truck into moronville as presenting this at E3 as there big game of the year . i remember talking to all my friends after waching the E3 press and how some wanted to sell there Wii's ASAP as there thinking this was nintendo's future of gaming . well having rented it for myself just to see for myself how this game actaully was ... well basically all the negitive bashing this game got at E3 was well deserved . i mean who wants to play twinkle twinkle little star on this game or go play some awsome music on games like rock band or guitar hero? maybe some one under the age of 5 and yes thats who this game is pretty jmuch intended for but you have to bash this game and nintendo for having the audacity to make this there showcase game at E3 where pretty much 99.9% of the people waching it are hardcore gamers and wouldnt wipe there ass with this game let alot want to play it .... nintendo removing more smiles from gamers faces. Expand
  5. May 17, 2011
    10
    I went and borrowed this game from my friends house, it was so epic...Miyamoto has done something epic again. He must not retire or im gonna start a boycott!!!
  6. Oct 20, 2010
    3
    Games such as Wii Sports and WiI Fit are pretty fun, but this game ia simply a terrible racket. Although the idea of playing on all of the instruments is cool, the game simply doesn't work. Even if you bring up the stupid note chart, it will still sound awful. You can make your own CDs and videos, but there is no sharing them online. The only mode in Wii Music that is fun is the games,Games such as Wii Sports and WiI Fit are pretty fun, but this game ia simply a terrible racket. Although the idea of playing on all of the instruments is cool, the game simply doesn't work. Even if you bring up the stupid note chart, it will still sound awful. You can make your own CDs and videos, but there is no sharing them online. The only mode in Wii Music that is fun is the games, because the bell ringing actually has notes to play and sounds pretty good and the pitch quiz will stump you and have you laughing at the same time. Wii Music could have been fun, but its not. Drumming on cans or is more fun than playing this. Expand
  7. Tom
    Jan 5, 2009
    0
    Apparently Miyamoto made a deal with the devil. The devil would allow him to make a bunch of incredible gaming series but when the time was right he must make the worst game of all time. Congrats, your end of the deal is complete.
  8. BradW.
    Oct 23, 2008
    0
    This game is a travesty and an insult to every gamer on the planet. I cannot believe how something like this could have been released to the market. This 'game' has no scores, no goals, no point and the controls don't work at all.
  9. DannyH.
    Feb 19, 2009
    0
    This is a disgrace to all games ever made. This game is the epitome of the Wii. A waste of time, a waste of space, and intended to undermine us from within. With this release, game developers (who haven't already turned to the dark side after having seen the Wii's sales numbers) realize that they don't actually have to develop games with content in order to make some stupid This is a disgrace to all games ever made. This game is the epitome of the Wii. A waste of time, a waste of space, and intended to undermine us from within. With this release, game developers (who haven't already turned to the dark side after having seen the Wii's sales numbers) realize that they don't actually have to develop games with content in order to make some stupid people happy. If you want to play an instrument, play an instrument. If you just want to mix a bunch of sounds together, find a mixing program for your computer. Please don't support Nintendo's butchering of our favorite form of entertainment. Expand
  10. CB
    Jan 2, 2009
    8
    Okay, they certainly could have had a better selection of music, but other than that this is quite good. I wouldn't consider it a game so much as musical learning that is great for families to play together. Younger children in particular will benefit from learning music basics. Its not Rock Band or Guitar Hero, but those dont' teach music. Wii Music does.
  11. CalebH.
    Nov 10, 2008
    7
    Music lovers rejoice! We've got ourselves another music game and this one is for everyone! Wii Music is a wonderful and joyous experience that pumps as much happiness and love as it can into your ears. Musically inclined or not, Wii Music will give you a new perspective on improvisation. The thing this game does best is make you express yourself. With over 60 different kinds of Music lovers rejoice! We've got ourselves another music game and this one is for everyone! Wii Music is a wonderful and joyous experience that pumps as much happiness and love as it can into your ears. Musically inclined or not, Wii Music will give you a new perspective on improvisation. The thing this game does best is make you express yourself. With over 60 different kinds of instruments, albeit some more ridiculous and pointless than others, each time you play can be a different experience than the last. Wii Music sports a few fun extra modes and a functioning virtual drumset for those who have a Wii Balance Board. My only gripe is that there not enough modes. You have your standard jam session for up to four people and that's about it. However, the time you'll have with Jam Session just about makes up for that loss. Wii Music is another great music party game for those who can't even play music. No big plastic peripherals needed, just a couple of Wii Remotes and an open mind. Expand
  12. RussellC.
    Nov 4, 2008
    10
    I'm not sure this game is a 10, but it comes about as close as a game can. I had swore off buying it after E3 and have watched in stunned silence as it was marketed, unsure of just what the point was. Playing the game has been something of a revelation, though my experience is quite unique. I make games for a living, I love being creative and WiiMusic allows me to do that in a way I'm not sure this game is a 10, but it comes about as close as a game can. I had swore off buying it after E3 and have watched in stunned silence as it was marketed, unsure of just what the point was. Playing the game has been something of a revelation, though my experience is quite unique. I make games for a living, I love being creative and WiiMusic allows me to do that in a way unlike any other game I've played. Working with multiple parts to try and nail the feeling I wanted out of the theme from The Legend of Zelda took me over an hour and I still wasn't satisfied. The song was the one you know, but completely personalized from instrumentation to frills during the music, it was what I made it...and I still need practice. The sensation though, of creation was fantastic. I've been enlightened by the lessons and feel the game delivers on both making my life better and being very enjoyable, though in a totally different way than what I expect out of a game. It's not for everyone, in fact, again, I think it's only for the creative, and it is hard to play in groups where everyone wants to be the star, but it is something both unique and wonderful that is being unfairly maligned. To those who are creative check it out. To those who aren't, go play something that doesn't take any mental ability, you'll be happier. Expand
  13. RObK
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    This game's amazing! Unfortunately, it is a bit difficult and takes some skills with the Wii to be really dig into it (which is why the lower scores). Remix the songs or come up with new ones, share videos with friends, replay the song until you nail it "just right"! It's harder than MegaMan 9, but Definitely worth the challenge because it's so much fun.
  14. Johnk
    Nov 12, 2008
    10
    Amazing game! People who say that it's simplistic are obviously not playing the game! Mega Man 9 is pretty simplistic if you think the point is just to die a lot.

    I clock more hours in this game than any other giht now - and that's saying a lot.
  15. ChristopherT.
    Oct 22, 2008
    7
    As a real life musician, I was skeptical about buying this game. I have a two year old son whom i figured, if nothing else, would have a blast playing with this. after spending about two hours with the game last night, i have to say that i'm pleased with my purchase. i thoroughly enjoy the drum mode (balance board, of course) and i am looking forward to improving my rhythmic skills As a real life musician, I was skeptical about buying this game. I have a two year old son whom i figured, if nothing else, would have a blast playing with this. after spending about two hours with the game last night, i have to say that i'm pleased with my purchase. i thoroughly enjoy the drum mode (balance board, of course) and i am looking forward to improving my rhythmic skills even if it doesn't help me plays drums any better. i think the main game has endless possibilities and i'm also looking forward to making some unique jams by, get this, waving the wiimote around in the air like a fool. The minigames are fun too - i enjoyed seeing how quickly i could pass the pitch tests. Overall, the game isn't a game if you're a FPS/RPG/Sports Game hardcore gamer, but if you're a Music Nerd like myself, you'll most certainly find a way to enjoy this software. Expand
  16. ChrisB.
    Dec 29, 2008
    9
    This game is massively underrated - but then, as has been widely reported, many reviewers have completely missed the point. Don't approach this like every other videogame - it's not even a game per se; instead it's more like a fun musical playground where you can learn about music theory and reconstruct songs in your own style. Many of the songs are terrible, but turning a This game is massively underrated - but then, as has been widely reported, many reviewers have completely missed the point. Don't approach this like every other videogame - it's not even a game per se; instead it's more like a fun musical playground where you can learn about music theory and reconstruct songs in your own style. Many of the songs are terrible, but turning a bad song into something decent is often part of the fun. Look at the crazy ska remake of Twinkle Twinkle Little Star that comes with the game for evidence. And finally: if you've got a balance board then this is as close to a real drum simulator as it's possible to get. Absolutely incredible. If you have an open mind, a sense of rhythm and like the idea of making music then buy this now. If you're a bit creatively stifled, have no patience and just want to kill things then don't. Collapse
  17. [Anonymous]
    Oct 31, 2008
    9
    If you rate this game under an 8 you are not a gamer. Wii Music stands for what is right in video games and that is entertainment, having fun, and great game play all of which Wii Music has.
  18. AlanS
    Nov 2, 2008
    9
    I don't think this is really a"game", but it's a really fun tool for developing a wide range of musical skills. People who are expecting Guitar Hero will be disappointed, but this piece of software is much deeper and more complex than GH, while also being far more accessible to non-gamers.
  19. MathewMathew
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy and Twilight Princess were my favorite games on the wii, then I played this. Wii music is so unspeakably good, I've been a gamer for 12 years and I can honestly say I've never played anthing like it. Not only is this the best Game on the Wii, but probably my second favorite game of all time.
  20. JamesDeMille
    Dec 18, 2008
    8
    Before buying wii music I was under the impression that you could create your own songs. When I played it and found out that you couldn't I was a little dissapointed, but found that the game could stand without it. I think any gamer should pick up the controller and find something they like about this game.
  21. ArthurZ
    Oct 24, 2008
    7
    The game is deeper than it looks, re-arranging songs requires a lot of rhythm and can be something fun and rewarding. It also has a good educational value. Perfect for kids. The controls, though, are not as intuitive as they could be and take some time to master. Experimenting with instruments and songs and making videos is fun in the beginning but gets tiresome after some time.
  22. Jun 11, 2011
    7
    if you go into the game with low expectations, you will hate it. but if you start the game with an open mind you might actually find it alright, and believe it or not actually pretty fun. it's absolutely not anything like Rock Band or Guitar Hero of course, and it is extremely cheesy in some aspects but to be honest, I really did have fun with this thing.. It's very easy to grow boredif you go into the game with low expectations, you will hate it. but if you start the game with an open mind you might actually find it alright, and believe it or not actually pretty fun. it's absolutely not anything like Rock Band or Guitar Hero of course, and it is extremely cheesy in some aspects but to be honest, I really did have fun with this thing.. It's very easy to grow bored of though, and after you unlock all the songs and stages, you'll pretty much put it back in it's case and probably never so much as look at it again. the songs are actually shockingly bad. stuff like fere jacques, happy birthday, things like that. best songs are by far the Nintendo songs. The most fun thing to do with this game is take a song and re-arrange it a bunch of different ways, but that does get fairly old fast.

    pretty decent I'd say.
    Expand
  23. Dec 25, 2011
    4
    This is a fun games, yes, but it's one of the most disappointing games on the Wii. It does show some potential for the series to continue however. The exclusion of scores and goals is what leaves it as nothing more than a shell. The variety of instruments, game modes and the ability to create videos are nice additions.
  24. Aug 20, 2012
    7
    I got this game for my birthday and, after seeing the commercials, I was excited. I am a musician and can appreciate the mindless music making found in this game. It requires almost no skill to play a mediocre song, so my family, including my parents, were able to play and enjoy this game. I've gotten a lot of laughs out of this game with friends and family, so I believe that MiyamotoI got this game for my birthday and, after seeing the commercials, I was excited. I am a musician and can appreciate the mindless music making found in this game. It requires almost no skill to play a mediocre song, so my family, including my parents, were able to play and enjoy this game. I've gotten a lot of laughs out of this game with friends and family, so I believe that Miyamoto accomplished something there. I believe the point of these Wii (INSERT NAME HERE) titles was for family fun and casual get-to-know-your-system gaming. In no way is this meant to be a Wii version of guitar hero. One regret I have is the song choice. They could have created some more well-known, popular songs, but I understand where the songs' rights could have gotten in the way. There's room for improvement, but it's decent family fun and good for parties. Expand
  25. Dec 19, 2012
    7
    This isn't exactly a game that you'll spend all day playing. Since there aren't really any rules when you are creating a jam you can just give it any rating you want. Creating covers is fun with all the options you have. The minigames are fun to play.
  26. Jan 11, 2016
    6
    Wii Music is a prime example of a severely overhated game. i grant you the song selection is bad and doesn't give you much to experiment with and some of the instruments sound worse than listening to One Direction but when the songs and instruments are good it can be fun especially the Nintendo themes. i'll grant you it ain't great and even at the time you were better off with most otherWii Music is a prime example of a severely overhated game. i grant you the song selection is bad and doesn't give you much to experiment with and some of the instruments sound worse than listening to One Direction but when the songs and instruments are good it can be fun especially the Nintendo themes. i'll grant you it ain't great and even at the time you were better off with most other music games on the market however you can do way worse Expand
  27. Jun 24, 2015
    0
    THIS GAME SUCKS! Rock Band is much better and more realistic than Wii Music. Wii Music is the worst Nintendo game ever made. It's boring, has terrible songs, and an unrealistic gameplay. Rock Band has a more realistic gameplay than this game.
  28. Nov 24, 2015
    8
    Wii music is by far my favorite music based game ever. It is extremely unique, most music games have you follow a set pattern to earn lots of points, but wii music is all about creativity and there are no scores play the song however you like this allows you to put your own mix onto a classic song. from twinkle twinkle little star and september to the animal crossing theme and super marioWii music is by far my favorite music based game ever. It is extremely unique, most music games have you follow a set pattern to earn lots of points, but wii music is all about creativity and there are no scores play the song however you like this allows you to put your own mix onto a classic song. from twinkle twinkle little star and september to the animal crossing theme and super mario bros. The stages were also a joy to play from a club and a concert hall to a park and on the back of a 18 wheeler. The instruments are a joy to play and only have a few control hiccups here and there drums pianos guitars and the entire music spectrum is shown off. Add a music video maker and some fun mini games and this is a game any music fan can enjoy. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#12 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2008
#31 Most Shared Wii Game of 2008
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 43
  2. Negative: 8 out of 43
  1. 91
    Wii Music may have a hard time winning over the skeptics who just want to laugh at it, but give the game the chance it deserves. You just might realize it's pretty damn fun being in on the joke.
  2. 70
    Wii Music is an odd duck. It is far from a traditional videogame, and more akin to a tech demo or social audio experiment. The fact that it is so very basic means it's completely accessible to anyone, but at the same time there's not much here to interest regular and core gamers.
  3. 50
    Most adults will quickly recognize that Wii Music is little more than a noise maker tied to a series of gestures and grow bored of the experience in a matter of hours, if not minutes. The controls aren't particularly intuitive , but gimmicky, and the selection of music is fundamentally flawed with both dated public domain songs rendered in equally dated MIDI.