Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Apr 2, 2011
    60
    There is some fun to be had in WWE All Stars, but this over-the-top take on sports entertainment fails to deliver on its ambitions.
  2. Apr 18, 2011
    60
    We had high expectations for WWE All Stars, but unfortunately the game failed to deliver. The Wii version, in particular, comes with so many problems (cumbersome controls, poor collisions, awful sound effects, lack of multiplayer) that's hard to recommend it even to a huge fan of the genre.
  3. Aug 22, 2011
    65
    Overall, the game is a bit above average. If you love the license, you'll have fun and you'll forgive some of the issues. If you can't wait to be The Undertaker, or Randy Savage or even Jake the Snake then this game will leave you howling in (and out) of the ring.
  4. Apr 13, 2011
    65
    Even with a lot of areas in need of polish, WWE All Stars isn't a bad game. [April 2011, p.87]
  5. Apr 19, 2011
    60
    WWE All Stars is a missed chance. The scarce single player experience and the lack of online play are far from excusable, as they are the mixed graphics. Still funny, but not engaging.
  6. Apr 1, 2011
    80
    WWE All Stars executes fun, arcade-style action well, with accessible controls and exhilarating presentation. The lack of a career mode and online features will disappoint some, but it's a small dent in a very fun package.
  7. 80
    If you are a fan of the plethora of modes and superstars that WWE Smackdown vs. Raw offers, you may find yourself a bit let down by the casual take on the game in WWE All Stars, but that shouldn't stop you from giving the game a shot. If it were a basketball game, it would be a slam dunk, but in this particular case, I'd say it's a Hulk Hogan leg drop and three-count.
  8. Fun and accessible. It's easy to slip into a rut, but there's more there to discover.
  9. Apr 23, 2011
    85
    The ultimate in fantasy warfare, and a great port from Other Formats, too. [Apr 2011, p.64]
  10. May 24, 2011
    50
    Presentation troubles can usually be ignored if the gameplay is there, but unfortunately presentation is a big part of what WWE All Stars was supposed to be all about - over the top, arcade gameplay. Without the visual effects of its HD brothers, and with poor sound effects that do nothing to emphasise the action, WWE All Stars Wii feels like a shell of what it should be despite an array of interesting story modes and a wide-appealing roster.
  11. Apr 25, 2011
    40
    If you are looking for a new wrestling game you'd be better off looking for SD vs Raw 2011 or wait for the inevitable SD vs Raw 2012 at the end of the year.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    now this is a game that i can enjoy i mean come o choose a big man and make mofo's fly to the turnbuckle and back to you and even better younow this is a game that i can enjoy i mean come o choose a big man and make mofo's fly to the turnbuckle and back to you and even better you can finish them off with a grapple and basically what wrestleing game do you know when superstars jump from outside the ring to inside a ring to a turnbuckle JUST to do a finisher i just love punching the sh!t oout of people but i love this game Full Review »
  2. Nov 28, 2011
    6
    Cool looking game. Thats where the positives end. Very limited create a player mode, very limited game modes, controls and it just too easy toCool looking game. Thats where the positives end. Very limited create a player mode, very limited game modes, controls and it just too easy to spend your money on, unless your renting and have a few hours to beat a wrestling game that could have been much cooler. Full Review »
  3. Jun 19, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Admittedly, I was really looking forward to this game. Being a fan of classic wrestling characters, I couldn't wait to get throw somebody in the Sharpshooter, give someone that sweet chin music, or land a text-book flying elbow (RIP Macho). I had fun initially, but the game gets old, QUICK. Once you've run through the classic match-ups to unlock all the necessary characters, run them through the battery of an enjoyable by ultimately lackluster Path of Champions mode (awesome, a secondary outfit), there's not a lot left to do.

    My biggest qualm with the entire game is the horrendous Create-A-Wrestler ability. THQ has always been great at giving people a plethora of options when doing a CaW, but this is just pointless. Why would I take the time to make someone, say Kurt Angle, and just give him another already made players moves? Anyone with any knowledge of wrestlers and their individual styles is going to probably be pretty bummed about this. Granted, I haven't played a wrestling game since I lost interest in wrestling around the time Smackdown: Bring the Pain came out (another THQ title), but even back on the classic N64 wrestling canon you had SO.MANY.OPTIONS. Even if a wrestler wasn't on the game, you had the ability to tailor-make that wrestler and be completely specific with each grapple, finisher, mannerism, etc.

    So fun, Yes. Initially. But re-playability has always been key for me in wrestling games. This has nearly none of that. It's a shame too, because there are a lot of great legends and a stable of new guys (of whom I have no idea who they are) that could really benefit a player's imagination if given the opportunity, rather than existing in a controlled environment such as this.
    Full Review »