X-Men: Destiny Wii

User Score
4.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 9 out of 15
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 28, 2011
    0
    Everybody, please look at Cyclones review... Now point and laugh at him. I'm just gonna do what he did and not explain why, but this game sucks. and you don't want anyone to play it. anyone.
  2. Jul 28, 2013
    1
    Here are some examples of good X-Men games:

    *X-Men Arcade *X-Men Mutant Academy *X-men Legends 1 *X-Men Legends 2 **Even X-Men: the official game Examples of bad X-Men games: *X-Men: Destiny *X-Men: Destiny *X-Men: Destiny *X-Men: Destiny Even **X-Men: Destiny, which has blocky graphics, repetitive gameplay, no facial animation, cookie-cut dialogues, chopped editing,
    Here are some examples of good X-Men games:

    *X-Men Arcade
    *X-Men Mutant Academy
    *X-men Legends 1
    *X-Men Legends 2

    **Even X-Men: the official game

    Examples of bad X-Men games:

    *X-Men: Destiny
    *X-Men: Destiny
    *X-Men: Destiny
    *X-Men: Destiny

    Even **X-Men: Destiny, which has blocky graphics, repetitive gameplay, no facial animation, cookie-cut dialogues, chopped editing, boring platforming and powers FX that look really awful. It has a pro though in the form of the cutscenes, fashioned in the way of animated comic strips with still images; the voice acting is fine too but not enough to compensate for the rest of its unhappy features.
    Collapse
  3. May 31, 2016
    2
    "X-Men: Destiny" was a major disappointment for me. Prior to this game's release I had heard of the mechanic of customizing your own mutant and your powers. I had even heard that the story-line will change depending on what side you choose. Unfortunately this game not only failed to live to my expectations but it also left a bad taste in my mouth with really bad mechanics and repetitive"X-Men: Destiny" was a major disappointment for me. Prior to this game's release I had heard of the mechanic of customizing your own mutant and your powers. I had even heard that the story-line will change depending on what side you choose. Unfortunately this game not only failed to live to my expectations but it also left a bad taste in my mouth with really bad mechanics and repetitive game play. The story line follows the X-Men after the death of Charles Xavier as they try to fight off against an extremist group called the purifiers. You play as one of three stock characters and you can choose only one of three powers: energy beams, shadow manipulation, and body armor. None of the starter characters are compelling as they are really nothing more than mere stereotypes. The returning characters from the comics have a few moments to shine but they end up being nothing more than quest givers. The main plot itself even had potential but it failed to keep me invested since it doesn't go much in depth as it could have considering the complex-lore of the X-Men franchise. On the Wii cut-scenes are done through still images which looks bland and reeks of laziness in Silicon knight's part. The dialogue tree is tacted on at best and pointless at worst since no choice impacts the course of the story. Where this game really falls apart is in the basic design. The combat is highly repetitive and tedious as yo rely on pressing the "A" button on the Wii remote over and over again . Enemies drop like flies as you button mash your way to the top. The bosses don't fare that much better because you only rely on one strategy to beat them. The sequences are visually impressive but the actual mechanics are pretty simplified to the point that I might as well be playing "Dragon's Lair". The customizing hurts the experience instead of helping it since when you choose a power or suit, you are stuck with that suit or power for the rest of the game. There is no chance to test them before equipping so if you pick a customization you are not satisfied with than you are completely out of luck. On top of all of this, the game is ugly to look at with brown layed throughout the game with out of date character models. This game has a lot of potential but that potential has long been lost as it was rushed to meet a deadline instead of being made from the desire to make a good game. Expand
  4. Jul 28, 2013
    0
    Here are some examples of good X-Men games:

    *X-Men Arcade *X-Men Mutant Academy *X-men Legends 1 *X-Men Legends 2 **Even X-Men: the official game Examples of bad X-Men games: *X-Men: Destiny *X-Men: Destiny *X-Men: Destiny *X-Men: Destiny Even **X-Men: Destiny, which has blocky graphics, repetitive gameplay, no facial animation, cookie-cut dialogues, chopped editing,
    Here are some examples of good X-Men games:

    *X-Men Arcade
    *X-Men Mutant Academy
    *X-men Legends 1
    *X-Men Legends 2

    **Even X-Men: the official game

    Examples of bad X-Men games:

    *X-Men: Destiny
    *X-Men: Destiny
    *X-Men: Destiny
    *X-Men: Destiny

    Even **X-Men: Destiny, which has blocky graphics, repetitive gameplay, no facial animation, cookie-cut dialogues, chopped editing, boring platforming and powers FX that look really awful. It has a pro though in the form of the cutscenes, fashioned in the way of animated comic strips with still images; the voice acting is fine too but not enough to compensate for the rest of its unhappy features.
    Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#23 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2011
#19 Most Shared Wii Game of 2011
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 10
  2. Negative: 9 out of 10
  1. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    Dec 18, 2011
    28
    Half-baked rubbish. [Dec 2011, p.98]
  2. Nintendo Power
    Nov 8, 2011
    25
    Sadly, X-Men Destiny's lone mutant power is the causing of anguish. [Nov 2011, p.79]
  3. Nov 5, 2011
    40
    The concept of Destiny really is original, and should have made for a great game, but instead we are left with a final product that feels unfinished and rushed to completion with many sacrifices made along the way.