Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Apr 3, 2012
    90
    The best Japanese RPG of this generation. The fact that it looks like it's from the last generation is its only drawback, but its technical limitations are offset by imaginative artistic direction, innovative and compelling combat, and thoughtful design. It's a throwback to the glory days of the genre.
  2. Aug 19, 2011
    90
    Xenoblade Chronicles is a sublime, wonderfully paced game that both refines and modernises the Japanese role-playing game.
  3. 100
    Xenoblade Chronicles is such a huge, complex, and epic game that I can't possibly cover everything it offers in a single review. All I can say is that it has earned the first 5.0 score I've given, and I've had the honor to play quite a few excellent games for review.
  4. Mar 29, 2012
    95
    I fell in love with JRPGs in the 16-bit era because they constantly showed me things I'd never seen before. Somewhere in the last 15 years, most RPG developers in Japan have lost sight of that, instead rehashing the same fantasies and floating by on nostalgia. Xenoblade Chronicles is the first JRPG I've played this generation that has me excited for the future rather than simply reminding me of happy memories from my past. Monolith Soft deserves praise for creating it.
  5. Aug 16, 2011
    90
    It's a game that invites us to reassess an entire genre, pointing to a bold future while nodding its respect towards the past. It's a towering triumph.
  6. Sep 13, 2011
    100
    What makes Monolith's game such a stellar experience is the fact that everything it does dramatically improves and innovates the RPG genre. Xenoblade gives the player a whole world to interact with and explore, removing boundaries and convenient game design choices for the sake of fun and immersion.
  7. Jan 9, 2012
    95
    Xenoblade Chronicles is an amazing RPG. In some ways, it's like a single-player MMO that effortlessly blends together advantages from both JRPGs and Western RPGs.
  8. Sep 25, 2011
    93
    A fantastic achievement in storytelling and gameplay. Truly unmissable. [Nov 2011, p.86]
  9. Sep 14, 2011
    96
    A masterpiece which genuinely refreshes the JRPG genre without losing track of its tradition. Visuals are absolutely gorgeous and pushes the hardware to the point it's hard to believe we are playing on Nintendo Wii. Storytelling, art direction and soundtracks are definitely top notch. Fans of the genre and newcomers will definitely love it: must have.
  10. Apr 3, 2012
    80
    While the lack of difficulty is a major bummer, it doesn't overshadow Xenoblade Chronicles' many other accomplishments. It offers a singularly beautiful world, streamlined, interesting gameplay, likeable characters, and a fantastic soundtrack - for these reasons alone it's probably the best RPG on the Wii.
  11. Aug 23, 2011
    99
    A huge world that makes the most of the Wii with hundres of missions which provide tons of hours of play. Probably the best Japanese RPG in years, and hands down the best of this generation.
  12. Apr 12, 2012
    90
    Xenoblade Chronicles is the sort of precious jRPG that this recent console generation has sorely lacked. Despite some missteps and over-complication, the game stands out as one of the best in recent years. Xenoblade creates a world simply begging to be explored.
  13. Aug 18, 2011
    90
    It's a potent return to form for Takahashi, then, a glowing comeback for the Japanese RPG, and an injection of creativity for some tired hardware. Xenoblade Chronicles manages to impress, enrich and, best of all, inspire wonder.
  14. Apr 6, 2012
    100
    Not only the best RPG this generation, but it's also my favorite game on the Nintendo Wii. If you like RPGs, then you own it to yourself to buy this limited time gem of a game. The world and story of Xenoblade Chronicles is one of the most profound gaming experiences in recent years.
  15. Aug 11, 2011
    90
    Beautiful, feature-packed and brimming with creative remedies for the ails of a stagnating genre, that NOA should overlook such a shining example of what a JRPG can be paints a very different company to the Nintendo that went out at E3 with a call to arms for the hardcore.
  16. Mar 28, 2012
    90
    It's thrilling to see a game attempt so many unconventional things and get so many of them right. [April 2012, p.84]
  17. Sep 6, 2011
    91
    The best JRPG of this generation. A great new start for everyone looking for many entertaing hours of deep gameplay. Probably the Wii's swan song, don't miss it.
  18. Apr 4, 2012
    80
    There's no denying that Xenoblade has its low points, but those high points are some of the highest of the genre. If you own a Wii, there's very little room to question -- this is a must-have game for Nintendo's humble little system.
  19. Sep 7, 2011
    95
    Xenoblade has found its right place in videogames' history. From now on, there will be a "before" and "after" Xenoblade, when talking about Japanese RPGs. It will surely find a way into your heart, because a true Masterpiece always know the way to reach it.
  20. Oct 19, 2011
    93
    Xenoblade Chronicles is simply the best japanese rpg in years. Xenoblade Chronicles offers a unigue world with breathtaking vistas, a great storyline and solid gameplay. [Sept 2011]
  21. Aug 31, 2011
    95
    A deep breath of fresh air for an arguably stagnant genre, Xenoblade Chronicles is essential gaming for anybody with a flavour for role playing. It represents the absolute best of what traditional Japanese RPGs could be, and triumphantly what Japanese RPGs should be.
  22. Sep 6, 2011
    92
    This game can get a little chaotic but that doesn't matter considering how developer Monolith Soft has executed everything nearly perfectly. Agreed, the voice acting isn't perfect at all but the deep and beautiful world and the great fighting system make up for that, creating a wonderful experience for fans of the better role-playing games.
  23. Sep 9, 2011
    90
    Although its visuals aren't surely groundbreaking, Xenoblade Chronicles proves to be an excellent jRPG that demonstrates just how much this genre has still to offer to its loyal fans.
  24. Aug 19, 2011
    90
    Although the developers have done a terrific job of incorporating daunting detail with intuitive controls, this title is still best suited to gamers with the strength, diligence and passion to see it through. For them, this is an experience that must not be missed.
  25. Sep 23, 2011
    95
    A Japanese RPG that is challenging and refreshing enough for players that have seen all the other examples in the genre, while being easy on newcomers. The fantastic, enormous gameworld makes this an absolute classic on Wii and one of the best RPG's of the last ten years.
  26. 95
    Xenoblade Chronicles is considerable in the production value it took to make something of this scope; Xenoblade Chronicles is considerable for telling a story with more layers than one can count while retaining a level of accessibility for people of any walk of life; Xenoblade Chronicles is considerable for having an active combat system more engaging than anything I have seen in years. Although, with all things considered, Xenoblade Chronicles is really good, too.
  27. Aug 15, 2011
    90
    The best Japanese role-player of the current generation and a big step forwards for the genre in terms of accessibility and ambition.
  28. Mar 27, 2012
    93
    There's been a lot of talk lately about how Japanese RPGs are fading into irrelevancy with their increasingly linear designs, but Xenoblade delivers a world where you're free to explore at your own pace that frequently entices you to indulge in its many extracurricular activities. This is easily one of the best games on the Wii.
  29. Aug 22, 2011
    90
    As outstading as it can be, Takahashi's latest work is yet his greatest. Xenoblade Chronicles is the best JRPG that we've seen this year, and we could also say in this so-called next-gen.
  30. May 24, 2012
    80
    Xenoblade may not be the greatest JRPG ever, but it's certainly one of the best games on the Nintendo Wii.
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 472 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 128
  1. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    An amazing technical and creative achievement for the Wii. This game will blow your mind with its grand scale. Easily a candidate for one ofAn amazing technical and creative achievement for the Wii. This game will blow your mind with its grand scale. Easily a candidate for one of the best JRPGs of all time! This game deserves an award for the music alone. Huge levels, interesting characters, over 450 quests, and at least 60+ hours of main story gameplay packed in this sucker. Full Review »
  2. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    A fantastic game. The environments are stunning even though the graphics are pretty awful even for Wii. The gameplay is interesting and willA fantastic game. The environments are stunning even though the graphics are pretty awful even for Wii. The gameplay is interesting and will keep you occupied for a long time in its length. Full Review »
  3. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    Awesome game and I hope the US get this game. Have not finished it yet but I see that there are many hours ahead of me with this game!!! RPGAwesome game and I hope the US get this game. Have not finished it yet but I see that there are many hours ahead of me with this game!!! RPG mechanics are awesome and story is pretty good so far. Tons of sidequests as well. Full Review »