User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 430 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 430

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest wii games and an automatic classic gem. This game hands down is one of the most creative,fun,interesting rpgs in a while. I wont go into to much detail but if you love rpg games or want a reason to boot up your wii again this is it. Buy this game to show Japanese Game Companies that we want more things localized. We almost didn't get this game and that would have been a shame for people to miss out on such an amazing title. Expand
  2. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    I have to agree with almost everyone: this game is simply amazing. The music, game play, locations and story are all very good. One of the best game on the Wii.
  3. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    How does this masterpiece as of this writing have a 7.8 user score? It's these Xbot and Sony drone fanboys coming in and rating every Nintendo exclusive a 0 to try and make it so the morons who rely on Metacritic user scores don't buy the game. It's sickening. There isn't a single flaw I can think of in this game that isn't just nitpicking. It's the best JRPG ever made and a big-budget hardcore Wii game, the kind you haters SUPPOSEDLY wanted. Expand
  4. Apr 8, 2012
    10
    Worth the hype. This game is absolutely a blast and an impressive technical achievement on the Wii. The game features a solid dub and excellent cast of characters. The combat system is strong and the story is excellent. Buy it, love it.
  5. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    An amazing technical and creative achievement for the Wii. This game will blow your mind with its grand scale. Easily a candidate for one of the best JRPGs of all time! This game deserves an award for the music alone. Huge levels, interesting characters, over 450 quests, and at least 60+ hours of main story gameplay packed in this sucker.
  6. Jul 9, 2012
    6
    RPG is my favorite genre and this is the first and the only RPG I would ever give under 7. Combat system tries to be creative but it feels really clumsy and boring. It's like D&D system without pause or character swap. You need to press right and left to select skills from the bar which is reaaally annoying in a long run. I mean why could they just have used skill wheel instead of skill bar. Enemies can be avoided by going around them even at situations where you're clearly supposed to kill them to get past them and sometimes they won't even react if you run directly towards them. You need to push down C and use all of the other buttons to adjust camera angle all the time because the game can't do it properly. Heck at one time I think I got some sort of "can't see a **** achievement in the middle of a battle. Game mechanics take forever to figure out, the tutorial doesn't feel like it's enough. Mainly because common things like stun, knockdown, etc. are named daze, topple or something else you've never seen used in any other game. Quests are "kill X parrots" style like in MMOs without any further depth or interesting storylines. As you get in higher level areas you just keep seeing same enemies with different names and in different colors. Characters are uninteresting and the story is mediocre. I know I could've spelled this all better and in better english but I honestly don't feel like I should waste any more time even thinking about this game. Expand
  7. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    Awesome game and I hope the US get this game. Have not finished it yet but I see that there are many hours ahead of me with this game!!! RPG mechanics are awesome and story is pretty good so far. Tons of sidequests as well.
  8. May 14, 2012
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing. The story is engaging, the voice acting is top notch, there a million sidequests and the battle system is unique. I love this game and this will be my summer.
  9. Aug 22, 2012
    8
    Xenoblade Chronicles is by far and away one of the best RPGs of this generation, one of the best games on the WII and even one of the best I've played since RPG's like Dragon Warrior 8 and Rogue Galaxy. Graphics wise this game isn't good, no question. For what it can do however it is not terrible. Landscapes and areas are designed well. It's just the power of the WII holding back what would truly be a great vision. Character models are not terrible either, they have a strong resemblance to Final Fantasy 12's characters. Controls I have no complaints either. Having the controller that came with Monster Hunter Tri makes so many games more playable for me on the WII. I'm no fan of motion controls. The voice acting is a little annoying at first but after a while you do get used to it. Sounds and music are fantastic. The quests did eventually get a bit redundant and just downright annoying. In barely a week I had 60 hours into the game and I had completed more then 250 side quests. Now this wouldn't be bad normally but this game requires you to do these side quests to level up... If you decide to skip them you could end up being vastly under leveled. Killing normal enemies did not seem to reap much reward so leveling up on normal monsters I felt was out of the question, you are basically left with not much option. This does eliminate the traditional grinding that so many people find annoying, but searching for rare collectable items and killing so and so unique monsters that have conditions to spawn is just as bad if not worse then mindless button mashing to kill enemies. It's not all bad - the story does keep you strapped into the game and leave you wondering what happens next. Exploring areas is fun as well. This games only flaw I feel is the amount of side quests put into the game. I play more PS3 and 360 games then I do WII and I can honestly say I wish this game was on either console. Xenoblade's only major flaw is that it is being constrained by the WII's specs. Overall though it's a great game and should be picked up for RPG fans. Expand
  10. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Huge landscapes, lots of side quests, beautiful music and graphics, party members' affinities. Took me about 120 hours to do a good amount of side quests and reach the ending, and there was still a lot I didn't complete. Still hoping Nintendo of America decides to release this gem of a game, which is specially a triumph for Japan-developed RPGs often criticized for being stagnant. Congratulations Monolithsoft, you did a damn well job developing this game, LOVED IT! Expand
  11. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    This Game Was Simply amazing and took me for ever to get the last master but it was worth it.

    This Game is just awesome, Wasted almost 100 hours of my life on this, ha ha but overall probably one of the best games we will see on the Wii.
  12. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Xenoblade is one of the greatest JRPGs ever made. It takes everything that we love in JRPGs, the epic stories, crazy characters, and unique art and merges it with all the latest positive aspects of modern RPGs and MMOs. Gone is the tedium and grinding of old-school RPGs, rather, the combat puts you in control, and the travel system helps keep things moving. Plus this game is open-world, so you get a fantastic story combined with free roaming. ++++ It's just a dang shame so few people will play this game, because at the risk of speaking blasphemy, it's superior to Xenogears and just about any other JRPG. A must-play if you like RPGs. Expand
  13. Jan 25, 2013
    5
    This game has a ridiculously high metacritic score. You will find tons of adoring reviews. Every one of these is utter garbage. Xenoblade is tripe. The game is deeply, deeply, deeply flawed. Its just bad. Where to begin? Firstly, most people go to RPGs for the story. This game has a terrible story. The SETTING is cool - indeed, it is a major selling point for the game - but sadly, while the WORLD is cool... the characters inhabiting it are not. The game commits the cardinal sin of having a deeply boring cast. Shulk and Reyn are boring generic characters whose quest is driven by revenge, Melia is a generic princess who is coming to see what the other people see, and Riki is just an annoying little thing. Dunban and Sharla are okay, but they're unexceptional. The other characters in the world are mostly quite boring, with only a handful holding any real interest.

    Worse still, there is a ridiculous amount of filler. Indeed, the game is mostly filler. There are sidequests galore, which are necessary to unlock many skills, but if you do them you end up hilariously overlevelled - I often was 10-15 levels above the level of the area after the start of the game. If you skip them, some of them are timed lost forevers, and the rest are even more tedious once you've left the area as there's just no reason to run around for them. This also spaces out the time it takes to actually get through the story - you do some story, then A BILLION SIDEQUESTS, then another hour of story, then A BILLION MORE, ect. Its terrible pacing.

    The areas are nicely designed, but even there the game falls down. The areas look decent (though the graphics are not great - and it isn't just that it is on the Wii) but the areas are ENORMOUS. This sounds like a good thing, but it is actually really terrible as it takes a very long time to simply cross the areas. Oh, and the game rewards you for exploring, with better rewards than the quests, so you'd better do it - and worse still, there are teleporters which let you quick travel back through the areas, which are mandatory for making doing the sidequests tolerable, but you can miss some of them, meaning you end up finding them later while on your way back from some inconvenient to get to area. Joy.

    The combat is bad. The AI is not very smart - in fact, it is quite dumb - and there's no control over it. Some characters are just useless under AI control, while others work quite well, so its clearly just incompetence. Unfortunately this also means you never want to control some characters, as their AI is good enough, and other characters you can't put in as NPCs in your party because they don't behave intelligently. The only good thing is the "changing the future" thing, which adds in some actual interactivity.

    So yeah. The game is huge, extremely long, but a very empty and not terribly fun experience. Avoid it.
    Expand
  14. Apr 15, 2012
    9
    This is exactly what the genre needed. It toes the line between being respectful to the conventions of the genre, whilst tweaking said conventions to create a game which feels undeniably modern. From an engaging plot with a unique setting (the corpses of two titans!) to the exciting battle mechanics which combine real-time combat and turn-based strategy... Xenoblade is a blast to play. About the only knock on this game is the technical aspects of the visuals. Limited by the Wii's horsepower, this is to be expected. Thankfully, inspired art direction serves to mask these flaws. If you own a Wii... you need to play Xenoblade Chronicles. Expand
  15. Apr 11, 2012
    8
    Fantastic game--the best JRPG I've played in years--but it isn't without its flaws. The first and most glaring thing everyone will notice is the graphics could be classified as PS2 quality at best. I would say later PS2 games like Final Fantasy XII and Xenosaga Episode III had better graphics. We've seen with Skyward Sword, Super Mario Galaxy, and others that the Wii is capable of more than this. However, when one sees just how huge this game is, Monolith can be forgiven for skimping on the graphics. I would guess the graphics were watered down because the game wouldn't fit on a single disc otherwise. There's tons of geography to explore, items to collect, and sidequests to complete, and that's only a fraction of things to do in Xenoblade. Even so, the game's graphics look like something from a ten year old game, and for that I cannot give it a perfect score. Gameplay wise, there are elements of both Japanese and Western RPGs, as well as MMORPGs. All three genres are blended together quite well, though the ability for your character to jump seems to be rather buggy (and generally unnecessary). I also have yet to hear any music that compares to the compositions of Yasunori Mitsuda or Yuki Kajiura in previous "Xeno" games. One more thing that may put some people off is the US localization was basically copy-pasted from the European release. The characters all speak with a UK dialect (everyone is called "mate", armor is spelled with a U, etc.) It didn't bother me, but some people may get uppity about it. Monolith and Nintendo get big kudos, however, for including the option to switch between English and Japanese voice tracks. Long story short, this game is hands down the best RPG on the Wii to date. It's a must-have for JRPG fans, and many western RPG fans will enjoy it as well. I know it'll keep me busy until The Last Story is released in June. :) Expand
  16. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    Xenoblade Chronicles can go toe-to-toe with such JRPG classics as Chrono Trigger, Suikoden, and Lunar: Silver Star Story Complete, and there's no denying that it fills a major role-playing void on the Wii. But to get my one and only gripe out of the way, let me just say this - by no fault of the game itself, players won't be able to shake the feeling that Xenoblade should have been made on an HD-capable console. While Xenoblade Chronicles is an astounding technical achievement that makes use of every ounce of processing power it can squaeeze out of Wii's hardware, it still doesn't look much better than a decade-old PS2 RPG. As jaw-dropping as some of its environments and sweeping set pieces may be, the game's blurry textures and low-polygon models are a constant reminder of the platform's limitations. That being said, good gameplay should always trump graphical prowess, especially in the RPG genre, and Xenoblade delivers some major innovations in that department. The game successfully mixes the best parts of Japanese and Western development while bringing a few new concepts to the table. At first, it may strike the player as an offline MMO, with its real-time auto-attacks and a skill bar that lines the bottom of the screen during combat, but it's not that simple. There are a ton of ways to interact with enemies, whether it's instigating a battle, evading more aggressive mobs, dodging attacks that would automatically land in a typical MMO setup, or strategically positioning characters to exploit enemy weaknesses and distractions. Aside from combat, exploration and party management features are equally impressive. Equipment changes are visualized, enhancement slots allow you to constantly evolve the armor and weapons you like, crafting is deep yet intuitive, and even questing has been drastically streamlined over the MMO contemporaries that inspired its basic structure. The world itself is massive and very original in its design, as sweeping landscapes are interwoven in a way that makes every vista and cliff face recognizable, thus eliminating a constant reliance on maps and objective pointers. I also thoroughly enjoy the addition of social elements, which allow for relationships between party members, unlock special scenes, and even track the interpersonal connections of NPCs. Xenoblade impresses on a lot of fronts, and it's all highly intuitive. Also, unlike a majority of JRPGs that have been released in recent years, the story is almost immediately engaging and enjoyable, and despite the strength of its narrative, the entire experience remains non-linear and highly customizable. Japanese development has seemed reluctant to let go of its past conventions and typically linear storytelling techniques, so Xenoblade is solid proof that innovation is not only still possible, but now highly encouraged by the instantly classic and commercially successful precedent of Xenoblade Chronicles. While I could certainly go into greater depth with the game's individual systems, the points I have already made should be more than enough to convince RPG fans to buy the game as soon as possible. Play it for yourself, and as long as you can get over the fact that the game only exists on the technically limited and aging Wii, Xenoblade will almost certainly gain a permanent place in your RPG collection. Expand
  17. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    The best jRPG in years, maybe the best RPG of this generation (still haven't played Last Story and Skryim is too different for comparison), and one of the best Wii games to date. 'nuff said.
  18. May 23, 2012
    10
    after much time and consideration, i am going to say this has to be one of my favorite games. for the first 100 hours, but since i like to 100 percent everything not gonna lie a few things are a real pain in the ass about this game. BUT if you are not going for 100 percent i promise this game will satisfy you in every way, its completely epic the way they did this game. with the story when you think you understand it, it smacks you in the face, with a curve ball. great story, epic way of playing, simply amazing. i have recommended this game to all who i know play games. Expand
  19. May 25, 2013
    8
    Xenoblade is definitely one of the most interesting RPGs of this generation and for many several good reasons that in most RPGs nowadays are either removed, not present, or just forgotten. For starters, we HAVE exploration! YES, we can finally explore areas once again, even though there's no real world map but it is still a great thing to have, with extremely huge areas with details, enemies to fight, and add also that we get sub quests (which can be either annoying, or simple, but they are there!), this game has already a lot of stuff to give. We also get a very nice relation system that even though I don't remember exactly doing much (it was more useful for later part of the games), it's nice to have...but I'll go back to it later. The combat also is pretty good and, ACTUALLY, mix the turn based and action based combat pretty well: infact you actually have a good control over the combat, with hotkeys like in an MMORPG (skill trees included), and your compagnion work and act properly well, because they usually have a role; for example, Melia is the mage (and the only one not very good with an AI, for me at least), Reyn is a "tank", and Sharla is a healer, and so forth, and that even makes combination with your team mates pretty interesting, since they are all pretty unique in their way. And for last, but not the least, a detail that I really really liked of this game...the armors actually CHANGE your appearance, and the armors are extremely detailed and good looking! "Applauds" Bravo, I was really stunned by this, since that in 99% of RPGs (not including Western RPGs), the armor customization is literally zero. I'm pretty sure I'm being vague on the game details, combat and stuff, but it's because these are extremely good and well made, with few flaws that barely are remarkable. Except for the story. While the game itself is great...the story is flatout one of the worst I've ever seen but for ALL the wrong reasons. One of these reasons is that...it's SO predictable! I'm not kidding when I say that even the GAME COVER is a spoiler (just analyze the name Xenoblade...yeah, it's what you think. Yeah, it's a vital part of the game later on). But what about the story itself? It's not bad but I was able to predict any kind of twist, plot devices, character motivations....ANYTHING! I'm not saying this game is bad because the story is not original, but PLEASE at least tell it properly and without being too predictable: the only unpredictable thing of the story, was the the ending! Infact, I mentioned about the relation between characters, which usually means that behaving accordingly with certain characters usually will lead to a different ending: in this game, it serves only for getting either achievements and other stuff, and that's it...and that was such a waste because, actually, the game gives you ways to make up friendship with your team mates, and that helped me to like certain characters because they had their motivations. But then, if the game will have one ending, why giving us a fake trace of multiple endings by giving us the chance of interacting with the people of the game! Perhaps I'm overreacting over it, but that to me was a major flaw, because the ending is also weak and left me unsatisfied. But still...this is a good game and I honestly encourage to try it out, because it's both fun to play and very long to complete, due to the explorations, the skill trees to unlock, the subquests, the relationship building (even if not that great), the combat being fun and smooth (still, we can't dodge by moving away...), and so much more. But the story really didn't get me and I was really disappointed by it. Definitely a game to play and try, especially if you have a lot of time to spare. Expand
  20. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    Do not hesitate, if you like JRPG's or simply want a game with 40-60 hours of quality graphics, music , excellent story and great combat, look no further. This is a wonderful swan song RPG for the Wii, as I suspect even the mighty Zelda game thats about to launch, ( Skyward Sword) is going to have trouble being better than this piece of gaming genius.

    Satisfying character development
    and crafting and trade systems, all a little overly complex, but you can muddle through those minor parts of the game to enjoy the overall picture of great and often funny voice acting, a surprisingly powerful opening scene ( no spoilers, suffice to say the love interest you initially think is forming may not go the way you thought it would ).

    Another note on the voice acting, it has been regionalised by UK actors for the UK market, and it sounds like they had a good time recording the audio, just another detail that adds to the excellence of this game.
    Xenoblade. It simply exudes quality and high standards from the moment you load up to the beautiful title screen and sit there for 4 minutes listening to the stunning theme played on piano.
    Expand
  21. Jun 25, 2012
    9
    Graphically, the game looks terrible. Otherwise, there is a LOT to love here, so be sure to check this game out if you are looking for a great RPG experience.
  22. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    Xenoblade Chronicles is one of the best RPGs I have ever played. Monolith Soft created a wonderful gameplay environment that is one of the best I've ever experienced. The story was good but not great but when added to the wonderful gameplay, massive environments, fun characters and interesting settings of the game it definitely deserves a 10/10.
  23. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    I was severely disappointed when Nintendo initially ignored the fans who wanted this game so I paid a premium to import it from the United Kingdom and soft-modded my Wii to play it last year. And I did not regret it one bit. Now that it's available in America (via Nintendo's online store or exclusively at Gamestop), everyone has a chance to try it out. For anyone who's disappointed with the cookie-cutter dribble that's considered JRPGs these days, you need to try Xenoblade. It's the next evolution of the JRPG genre. You'll get a grand adventure, engaging and creative story, lovable characters and great music you've come to expect but what sets this game apart is the gameplay. It's very similar to a MMORPG. There's a huge, open world for you to explore (with a fantastic quick travel option) and there are tons of sidequests. The standard attacks during combat is automated (if you're close enough to an enemy). Special attacks are used by player commands and can have different effects depending on where the player is standing or what you're allies are doing, and rely on a cooldown feature rather than MP (or something similar). There are numerous other gameplay elements which provide a lot of depth to the gameplay. Unfortunately, because the combat is so similar to MMORPGs, it's nothing new or unique though it does work surprisingly well in an offline game. This is a long adventure and will take at least 60 hours to beat if you avoid doing any sidequests. But this is one of those games where it's very easy to get sidetracked so expect to spend a lot of time with this game. Visually, the game looks fantastic and in my opinion, is the best looking Wii game overall (yes, better than Mario Galaxy 2 or Skyward Sword). Not only is the art direction amazingly unique and imaginative but the scale of areas are simply breathtaking. Ultimately, if you own a Wii and regardless of whether or not you like JRPGs, you should give this game a try. I've been a fan of RPGs since the SNES days and this is simply one of the best games ever! Collapse
  24. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    9.5/10 2nd best game on the wii (hard to beat mario galaxy) one of my favorite rpgs in a very long time and a game that shows that jrpgs can still be relevant. Pros: immense immersive story world/universe Unique characters Cool weopans and equipment Unique battle system great jrpg evolution Great voice acting Minimal grinding required Tons to do! Took me 75 hours and hitting up only portion of quests
    Not a sequal! Rare these days.
    Music well done
    Character design and monster design both well thought out
    Story unique
    Streamlined rpg: quick travel to landmarks, die and not lose exp or items gained, save almost anytime (dunno why more console rpgs don't do this)
    Build relationships w party members and npcs gain rewards and enhance story mostly optional
    Characters change appearance w equipment in all cutscenes as well
    Challenging but not frustrating
    Skills learned keep you wanting to level up
    For the wii...good graphics
    Magical and I have not felt that real rpg magic since the snes psx classics, if you miss it here it is! First rpg since chrono trigger I'm doing new game+

    Cons:
    Some loooong cut scenes
    Only 3 characters at once and 1 real healer limits variety don't get to use and play with all as much as you'd like
    Do reach skill plateau but better than most rpgs
    Towns cities could have been more impressive especially on 2nd world
    On the wii, sequal for wiiU (fingers crossed)

    Buy it as soon as you're able and I give a 9.5 out of 10 odds u shan't be dissapointed. (o:
    Expand
  25. Jul 4, 2012
    9
    This game is ridiculously magnetic, and unlike many jrpgs has left me craving for more. From the sprawling locales, the beautiful skylines, and the amazing soundtrack to the wonderful gameplay and accessibility, this game is stunning. However it's not without its faults, including bad lip sync and repetitive questing. Don't let those deter your decision to buy this game, since that would be a bad mistake. Expand
  26. Oct 26, 2013
    10
    I have played so many Rpgs in this 7th generation era but I will have to say one thing that this game is certainly one of my top 5 game and 3rd best Jrpg after Ninokuni and The last story.

    Story: Story and character is just to fantastic for any game..I cared about main character and his Band of mercenaries.Characters have deep emotional touch with beautiful stories and the main
    protagonist is one of the best i the RPG genere.

    Graphics: Even though frame rate issue was there i was always wondering how did the old Wii manage to produce such a beautiful game.

    Gameplay: Just 10 out of 10. Blend of RPG strategy and action
    Expand
  27. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Xenoblade Chronicles is the best (j)RPG within this century and one of the best RPGs ever created. The game offers great graphics, a wonderful soundtrack, top-notch gameplay, a huge and very well designed world and finally a superb story. It clealry takes the jRPG genre to the next level with lots of great features like real time combat and a 'save everywhere' function. Gamer heart, what do you want more? Expand
  28. May 9, 2012
    10
    Xenoblade is THE best JRPG of this generation. Jam packed of content, you are looking at 80+ hours of gameplay, assuming you are only doing the main story. The visuals are good, though some of the animations are a bit awkward. The music is absolutely fantastic; one of my favorite soundtracks of all time. The gameplay is solid and the combat system is addicting.
  29. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    What a fantastic experience! This game set's itself apart from other contemporary RPG's by one major thing: game play. There's so much to find, so much to vary in terms of equipment and customization, that makes you wonder why it all went missing in other current generation games. Even the presentation looks vivid and uses the capabilities of the Wii, which is technically sub par with other platforms, to it's limits.
    Everything moves, changes, the world comes alive in a vast continuous stream. Day and night cycles included. Personally, I found the british speakers refreshing and the dialogue well written, not what you'd expect from a japanese RPG.
    Last but ultimately the most rewarding is the actual combat and rpg battle system: you'll feel at home if you've played either WoW or Final Fantasy XII, the combat just flows in realtime, tactical options always more important than hack n slash tactics. Make no mistake though: this game urges you to pay attention to the moment-to-moment proceedings, in order to maximize your attacks. Tons of monsters with different weaknesses and tactics, sub-bosses and challenges on the way make combat worthwhile.
    Expand
  30. Oct 31, 2011
    7
    Un bon RPG proposant énormément d'exploration, de quêtes, une bonne bande son et un assez bon scénario(bien que tardant à demarrer).
    Mais son interface lourde, son côté très répétitif, son aspect MMORPG, son chara design fade et son rendu atroce sur TV HD lui
    empeche d'atteindre l'excellence Expand
  31. Oct 31, 2011
    10
    Easily the best JRPG of this gen. The game shines by its great story, rhythm and huge content. The gameplay is deep and really different with each character, so if you get tired of it mid-game, you just have to change your team to try something different. The best thing in the game is probably how hassle free the progression is, so you get 80+ hours of game, not 80 hours of leveling and wandering.
  32. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    This game makes is the best JRPG to be released ever. Look no further, it is the ultimate JRPG game. This game has some stunning environments; it even makes the environments in Final fantasy HD games seem generic and boring. The combat system is genius, but it may require some patience to fully understand it. The story is very well written, and you will fall in love with the British voice overs. The game also features one of the best (if not the best) game music.

    This Game Is definitely the best JRPG of all time. It was worth buying a Wii just for this game.
    Expand
  33. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best games of the 2010's so far. Its advanced combat system, gameplay, music, story, visuals, and sidequests can keep you entertained for 100+ hours. Its the best wii game available.
  34. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Wish they would bring this to the US.. all i hear is how great this game is and we in the US are screwed because it wont be released here. I really think Nintendo is sabotaging the Wii this year here because they are focusing on the 3DS and the WiiU
  35. Apr 27, 2013
    3
    I can't believe this game got so many good reviews. I gave it a good 15 hours and I was very disappointed in the "EPIC, AMAZING, AWESOME JRPG". It's total trash. The battle system is excruciatingly boring and dumb. It's the same thing over and over and over. If I wanted a mindless button masher, I would have played God of War. The AI is useless. The quests are boring and dumb. The game...is boring and dumb. Maybe I just hate action rpg's but I just don't see it. It's mind blowing. I gave it a 3 for the soundtrack. Expand
  36. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Easily the best jrpg this generation, anyone with a wii should get this game. Huge expansive enviroments that look gorgeous, decent story with great battle system. You will easily get 60 hours out of this game and more if you do all the sidequests. It's a shame it's not out in the US because this is a game that should be enjoyed by everyone.
  37. Apr 20, 2013
    9
    Instantly one of my favorite JRPG's of all time. Tons of content, side quests, and a long main campaign. Fast paced action-oriented battle system. Excellent character development. This is the first JRPG I've played in years that I just couldn't put down...and I've already sunk in over 60 hours into the game.
  38. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    I admit, I wanted to hate this game. I think Nintendo Exclusives are HIGHLY overrated as a whole. But this game is amazing. Character Design strongly reminiscent of tactics ogre and FF tactics. World Design that reminds me of Final Fantasy XI. Mech Designs straight from Xenogears. A wonderful and eclectic musical score. A gripping story... seriously, play for an hour or two and tell me you weren't surprised and a little heartbroken when a certain character meets a terrible fate. This game is amazing, in spite of the technical limitations imposed by the wii. Xenoblade chronicles has transcended it's medium to become a beautiful and engaging piece of art. Expand
  39. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Its one of the goty on all plataforms: he innoves in gameplay, is very long with NOT DLCS, greats and big scenaries... i hope this game have been released to america o htey can play this wonderfull game :D
  40. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Hands down one of the best if not the best RPG i've played this generation. Tons of content, great characters and a storyline that gets you hooked right from the very start and never lets up all the way to its epic conclusion.
  41. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    Story: 9/10
    While you can't understand the story, if you don't know japenese the story is basically told through the animation which is infact a very compelling one with a few plot twists.
    Graphics: 9/10
    Visually Xenoblade looks fantastic the areas are massively huge, it runs a solid frame rate, there are plenty of detail in the enviorments and animations. The main characters might look
    abit stiff but the facial expressions make up for it.
    Gameplay: 8.5/10
    In terms of gameplay you can use the classic controller or nunchuk, either way while the combat is very simplistic there are plenty of abilitys and weapons and armor to equip, in which you could actually customize your character in a way which is pretty cool. The combat mechanics may be a bit stiff at first but you'll get used to them pretty quick.
    Sound: 9/10
    A great soundtrack and awesome voice acting makes Xenoblade suck you in even more.
    Lasting Appeal: 10/10
    Xenoblade is a long LOOONG game, and even when you manage to finish the game you can still customize your character and just mess around in quests.
    The Verdict: 9.0 Amazing!
    (Actual Score: 9.1)

    Xenoblade is just downright amazing despite a few painfully minor flaws, we can only hope that someday it gets a us release but until then, you should definitely check it out if you love rpgs. If not you should still try it because who knows? You might love it.
    Expand
  42. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    AWESOME. best rpg in years. sure the graphics let it down, but not to the point that after a few hours of gameplay you will still notice. once you are used to the look you get to the absolutely compelling story... better than any movie i've watched this year, and i am 115 hours in and sure i've done over 300 of the side missions, but still 115 hours of gameplay and more to come. quality gaming.
  43. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Easily the best rpg this generation, maybe the best one ever.

    xenoblade tells an extremely engrossing story, with 7 main characters, and for a change, they are all likable. The world of xenoblade is extremely beautiful, made even better with stunning music,and there are some extremely pretty hidden area's to find, all of them giving you a large xp boost when you do. this leads into my
    only real problem, the game throws xp at you; if, like me, you enjoy doing a few, but not all of the side quests you will still find yourself feeling over powered for the majority of the game. The real challenge of the game is found in the unique enemies (i can't actually remember what the game calls them) scattered around the HUGE world, these monsters are a lot more challenging than the majority of the games bosses and reward you with rarer weapons and armour. all in all this is an excellent game, and even if the difficulty is slightly low, it still felt fulfilling once i completed my first play through which took 100 hours and 18 minutes, i will be playing a new game plus and intend to do everything, after finishing i could have picked it up and started again from the beginning, and i only didn't because i had already bought a new game to play after it. A must buy. Expand
  44. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    One of the best JRPGs of this generation, with a compelling story, great characters, an amazing soundtrack and over 100 hours of gameplay, this is definitely a must have.
  45. Apr 10, 2012
    9
    Great game, is one of the best JRPG of this generation, sorry, but easily, the Final Fantasy XIII and XIII-2 is too small, next to this game, the game have a great Soundtrack, History and Gameplay, the graphic is not a problem with a game like this, with a Great History, Soundtrack and Gameplay, for these reasons i Support Operation Rainfall and Support this Game, and Pre-Order the game when this is Announced :) Good Job Monolith Soft and Nintendo Expand
  46. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Everything is in place to make you play one of the best rpg of all time. Monolith soft has done everything right The story is amazing, it drives you into it from the start. The soundtrack is astounding, one of the best music I've heard in my entire life. The gameplay mechanics are marvelous . The game lets you discover and reach everything you see even if it is a far little small island you can swim to it . Overall I give this game a 10 because this is a masterpiece bar none Expand
  47. Dec 4, 2011
    9
    The Japanese have a way with names they think up cool sounding words that mean nothing to anyone, translate them in to English where they still mean nothing to anyone. Xenoblade is one of those names. However as the old proverb says; â
  48. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    One of the biggest masterpiece of Nintendo Wii. This JRPG has the new essence of how to develop a work of art with respect a role games. With a timeless story, gameplay and sound, Monolith Soft achieves the perfect balance in a generation to forget with relation to the JRPG.
  49. Nov 30, 2013
    3
    Bear with me, as this review will be completely opposite to popular opinion. So I bought this game from the gamestop 40 dollar pre-owned black friday deal, and I was stoked as I could finally get this game cheap..this rare game that was praised so much.
    So I buy it and I play it. The introduction seemed pretty cool: these two robots face off against each other and the humans (or homs or
    whatever) try to fight off the little robots with this badass sword. That's all fine and dandy. Instantly once the gameplay begins, I start to doubt the game. First off, WHY IS THERE A JUMP FEATURE? The jump only goes horizontally and has absolutely no vertical height whatsoever..so what's the point? Second, the combat seemed awful. All you're doing is pushing the d-pad left and right and pressing A..that's it. Your character automatically attacks the opponent while you just walk around and toggle the sword icons. I figured, fine, maybe there are more mechanics later on. And no surprise there were. However, these mechanics just came off as dull and uninteresting. The triple attack (where the gauge is three bars full) has got to be the dullest thing I've seen. It's literally just the characters attacking with a regular sword swing against the enemy while the enemy can't move..just one enemy..this can't be done with more than one. There's no epic combo with the three or anything, just three separate sword swings...really worth those three bars....
    Not only that, but when you fight the enemy, the characters DONT SHUT THE UP! They keep giving these cheering speeches nonstop throughout the fight. And you can't turn this off, either. So whenever you engage in battle you constantly hear those annoying speeches. Really prevents you from wanting to battle an enemy, really. The ally AI is also complete bullocks as they die so easily while barely doing any damage to the enemy. And when they do die, you have to revive them only if your team gague is one bar full..and only about 1/6th of their health is revived, as well..making it pointless as the enemy could just do another attack and the teammates a goner. And why does the person need to be "motivated" to fight again after they've lost? Really, game? Does any other JRPG do that?
    The game also heavily focuses on grinding. It's a JRPG, I get it, but without grinding the out of your characters, you won't be winning some of those battles. Luckily the game is forgiving in the sense that when you die, you respawn before the battle, so the need to do everything over again is not there.
    Also is it just me, or is it irritating that you can't go inside buildings unless the door is fully open in a JRPG? I mean in every other JRPG, you can go in any house and talk to the folks inside. What's the deal with Xenoblade?
    The characters themselves seem so one-dimensional...maybe it's because I haven't gotten past 2 and a half hours of the game, but they're just...boring. Shulk is just the "I want to beat them and get revenge" Reyn is the "I'm a smug and I'm kind of a clutz" while FIona is the "OMG I care for you guys so much, don't hurt yourselves." And it's obvious from the get-go that Fiona and Shulk are love interests...they really force that. The townsfolk have nothing interesting to say either...and while I haven't done the sidequests yet, I've heard they're chores rather than actual quests.
    The number of tutorials also irks me. I think you can turn it off, but for first-timers, these tutorials are necessary. It's just, there's way too many, and the way the tutorials work is also annoying. Games need to take notes from the 90's and allow the player to teach him/herself the game through the gameplay rather than use 3 paragraph texts for each new mechanic.
    The graphics also make me cringe. For a game that's extremely long and has such a huge world to explore, why are the graphics equivalent to a PS1 title? I know it's the Wii, but the console can do much more.

    You know a game isn't going to be enjoyable when all these flaws are apparent in just the first two and half hours of the game. First impressions are everything, and if you can't woo the player in within the first two and a half hours, then you're really doing something wrong. I just don't see how I could enjoy this game if my opinion on it are this bad already.
    There are some good things though: I love the music to this game..my god is the music fantastic. In fact I'm listening to the OST as I'm typing this review. It's just beautiful. I also love the voice acting; great job on the actors' part. I also think that the story has some promise as some of the cutscenes intrigued me (although the amount of cutscenes (too many) is another problem I have with this game.) But as far as positives go, that's all I can say, really. Not a positive review, but hey it's an opinion.
    I did go back and trade this for the Metroid Prime Trilogy, which I gotta say is amazing.
    Expand
  50. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Très grand RPG le meilleur de cette génération de consoles ! Clairement , un bon 10/10 pour m'avoir enchanter de nombreuses heures. Ã
  51. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    A fantastic game. The environments are stunning even though the graphics are pretty awful even for Wii. The gameplay is interesting and will keep you occupied for a long time in its length.
  52. Jul 16, 2012
    7
    Xenoblade takes the Wii and really makes it work! The graphics are solid(though definitely not the best such as Metroid Prime 3 or Galaxy) and the music is among the best soundtracks I have ever heard. The gameplay is fast and interesting and overall the package is just great. But despite all these factors, it just doesn't feel particularly memorable. The quest system feels like a skeleton, often asking you simply to kill some monsters or gather materials on the field. These are not Zelda side quests with interesting back stories or lots of unexpected twists and turns. The first 15 or so hours can leave one wishing for more interesting characters, and the cutscenes, while nice, don't feature lip syncing which is a real letdown. This is balanced out by the amazing British accents in the game though :) Overall, a solid JRPG that simply doesn't standout too much to this weary gamer who has probably played a few too many JRPGs in his life. Expand
  53. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    This is the best RPG game i played in Wii never... big scenaries, epic scenes, beauty sotry :) Comments: In Spanish: http://lahabitaciondekazuki.es/?p=748
  54. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Awesome game and I hope the US get this game. Have not finished it yet but I see that there are many hours ahead of me with this game!!! RPG mechanics are awesome and story is pretty good so far. Tons of sidequests as well. An amazing technical and creative achievement for the Wii. This game will blow your mind with its grand scale. Easily a candidate for one of the best JRPGs of all time! This game deserves an award for the music alone. Huge levels, interesting characters, over 450 quests, and at least 60+ hours of main story gameplay packed in this sucker. Easily the best JRPG of this gen. The game shines by its great story, rhythm and huge content. The gameplay is deep and really different with each character, so if you get tired of it mid-game, you just have to change your team to try something different. The best thing in the game is probably how hassle free the progression is, so you get 80+ hours of game, not 80 hours of leveling and wandering. Expand
  55. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    This is the best RPG of the generation, Japanese or western. Xenoblade has amazingly immersive environments, the best soundtrack of the generation, great story and characters whom you can actually relate to, spot on combat system and a high replay value. Adventure takes easily 100 hours and more if you aim to do anything. I've played games like Skyrim and Skyward Sword, but those games feel embarrassing compared to this. If you are not die hard hater of anything that comes from Japan, get this. And even if you were, still get it, it may well change your mind. Expand
  56. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    This game so far is my absolute favorite game within the past 2 years (it's been nearly 2 years since I've been really back into gaming). Xenoblade: Chronicles truly embodies what a JRPG should be and simply what games used to be and should still be. Yes it is on the Wii and may not be in HD, but the amount of love and detail put into the game is stunning and at times made me think I was playing an HD game. The music is one of my favorites and this is a genre that always excels in having beautiful and memorable music and Xenoblade has what I believe to be the best soundtrack I've heard so far. The battle system is addictive and just makes you want to seek out every enemy you can find and slaughter them and since it is a cool down based system and your characters autoheal, you never have to worry about returning to a save point or back tracking to the town before to recover. The story (while some reviewers have said was cliche) I found to be very original, especially the setting, and filled with twists that I really didn't expect. In the end, I spent nearly 100 hours on the first play through and I didn't even finish a good deal of quests and side stories so I know if I went ahead and did all that, I could've added another 30 hours to the game. If you have a Wii, get this game, if you don't, find a friend with a Wii, borrow it and play this game. Expand
  57. Apr 17, 2012
    8
    Technically not as good as I expected. Good plot, story and characters, but the battles become bored when you've been fighting for more than 50 hours...
  58. Jun 30, 2014
    10
    This game is massive with everything a JRPG lover wants to see. A solid main story with countless small streamlined sidequests where you don't want to walk back to the NPC most of time to get your rewards. Battle mechanics that reward you for thinking rather than punish. Want a game where you need to walk past two horizon lines before you finally get to a loading screen? Xenoblade Chronicles is the game for you!! (Seriously unless you fast-travel or get to a cut-scene, you have to actively LOOK to find a loading screen) Expand
  59. Apr 15, 2012
    9
    Definitely the greatest RPG on the Wii, and one of the best on this generation's home consoles, which is truly saying something. The story is your typical RPG fare, with numerous twists along the way. What this RPG apart from others, though, is the game's unique setting. It's set on the bodies of two fossilized titans, which have enough traversable areas to constitute a world map. The characters are endearing and they each have a deep background. By the end of the game, their personalities are fully fleshed out. The battle system can remind one of an MMORPG's mechanics, but it's better than that. The action is in real time and your party attacks the enemy automatically, but you can control one party member at a time through issuing your "Arts" and various commands to your teammates. Not being able to control your other party members wouldn't be a problem, if it weren't for the sometimes dumb and "suicidal" AI, but it gets the job done. There's a lot of customization in this game, a unique affinity/relationship system that comprises your party and all the named NPCs you encounter. There's a ton of side-quests in this game, too, but doing too many at a time can ruin the game's pace and potentially cause you to become over-leveled. Thankfully, the quests which are assigned by unnamed NPCs (i.e. the really generic kill and fetch ones) don't require you to return to the quest giver for the reward, lessening the grind.
    Some problems aside, I recommend this game to RPG and non-RPG fans alike. It is a Nintendo game, after all.
    Expand
  60. Apr 19, 2012
    9
    Xenoblade Chronicles will immerse you in an imaginative, epic world begging to be explored.
    Aesthetically, it's an incredibly evocative, beautiful game; you'll often feel as if you're playing
    an Impressionistic painting. Combat is fun and strategic---- shared with charming companions.
    Innovative as well as nostalgic RPG elements create an engrossing, captivating experience.
  61. Sep 19, 2013
    4
    Xenoblade has to be the most underrated piece of video game ever made I paid $60 for this piece of garbage firstly lets talk about the story because its just boring and also just 100% predictable the gameplay is no better the combat system is bull**** its just real time combat where you press left or right on the d-pad to switch attacks also the game is extremely forgiving once you die you just start at a check point and the graphics are rubbish even for a wii game now the locations are gorgeous shame the developers vomit all over the locations the music is perfect fits the atmosphere and is just entertaining and just plain awesome also the characters are just boring Final Fantasy 13-2 Tifa sluts I'd skip this game because of the extremely high price Expand
  62. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    Xenoblade Chronicles, is one of the most amazing games that I can play, the story is fantastic, the characters interesting, and the graphics are beautiful, the gameplay, OMG! I feel like an excellent RPG, this game is a biggest sorprise and the better game of the year.
  63. Jan 14, 2013
    10
    Xenoblade is the greatest RPG of this generation and one of the best games on the Nintendo Wii . An epic adventure, beauty and there is still plenty of magic and fantasy. I hope we'll see more from this game in the future.
  64. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    One of the best JRPGs I've played in a long, long time; it reminds me of the joy I felt playing JRPGs in the PS2/GC generation. This game deserves nothing less than a 9/10 overall. While I'm here though, I'll say that it could have used some higher difficulty, less loading screens, and a slightly less disappointing end-game; but the positives far outweigh the negatives and I was hooked from start to finish. One playthrough took me 78 hours and I was never bored for a single second. It's good to see that Japan can still make games like this when it wants to. Expand
  65. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    it is the best j rpg i have ever played and its the best game of this generation. this game has alot of gameplay because of its sidequets. the game never gets boring and the boss fights were challenging. anyone who does not have it should get this now
  66. Apr 8, 2012
    10
    Xenoblade is a unique game that truly innovates Japanese RPGs. Previously, JRPGs were regarded as stale with developers ignoring changing key features for the better. Xenoblade? It fixes every single problem JRPGs have had in the past 20 years. This is what a JRPG should play like.

    The game opens up with a beautiful presentation. You are immediately thrown into a battlefield. The game has
    excellent tutorials (that can be viewed again if you wish so in the menu) that clearly explain how the game works. After the first battle, a cut-scene is displayed showing how enormous the game is. The gameplay is simply innovative. Remember how those classic RPGs had you move a couple steps with a battle that appears out of no where? Say goodbye to that - every single battle takes place in real time with enemies on the field. You can choose to attack the enemy or pass it. If you choose to battle, you fight in real time. No longer do you have to slowly choose attacks for each of your characters, you can instantly attack with each of your partners picking their own moves. This speeds up the gameplay and it makes RPG battles much more tolerable.

    Xenoblade has huge open world gorgeous environments. The color of the game just pops out of the screen at you. You will drop your jaw once you look at the game. Even on a huge HDTV, the game still looks fantastic. Most Wii games look really bad on bigger HDTVs, but this one is an exemption. Playing it widescreen with a resolution of 480p is a treat.

    The music in Xenoblade is great! The soundtrack is epic and it draws you in even closer to the game. It matches incredibly well with the huge environments. Speaking of music, the voice acting is top notch. I'm not used to British voice acting so it was definitely a change for me. I wish more games had voice acting like this.

    Overall, Xenoblade is a must have for any Wii owner out there. The game is simply stunning and it shines above the rest. With over 40 hours of gameplay, you would be a fool to not pick this up. Don't miss out on one of the best Wii games out there. Xenoblade is one grand epic experience that truly innovates gaming.
    Expand
  67. Apr 30, 2012
    9
    It's rare that I venture from my PC lately but I was in the mood for an RPG so I grabbed a copy of Xenoblade. First impression was uurrghhh my eyeballs!! Did I just turn on the Playstation 1? Believing the favourable reviews I pushed forward to see what all the fuss was about. The first thing I noticed was how responsive the controls were. The character moves quickly and it never seems tedious to get from point A to point B. The characters are likeable and the storyline is great. The setting for the adventure is interesting and fresh. After a few hours of play the graphical limitations faded away into non-importance and the will to advance took over. The beginning of the game is heavy with tutorials, a sign of the games complexity. Leveling up is natural with little grinding and there is a lot of enjoyment to be had by changing character equipment. Side quests don't require a trip back to town to cash in and there are many other thoughtful inclusions. Death is only a short set back, not a disasterous return to your last save. This game really brings me back to my teenage years playing FF7,8,9....A wonderful and worthwhile experience. Highly recommended. Expand
  68. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    Best JRPG ever? That may not even be overrating, Xenoblade is the best game in 2012 so far, AINEC, AND it could be one of the top games on the Wii and Ever. There's a lot of content here, with a fantastic storyline, the best rpg battle system ever, and drop dead gorgeous cutscenes. This is a must own for Wii owners and rpg fans.
  69. May 8, 2012
    10
    I honestly can not give this game enough praise. Everything about this game is simply amazing, from the combat, to the story, to the rich, colorful environments, to the amazing soundtrack. I have not even finished this game halfway and it is already in my list of favorite games of all time. The overworld is HUGE. (as big as the biggest island of japan, as it were.) there are lots of side quests to do, materials to gather to rebuild your town, a surprisingly deep level up and growth system, or hell, even just go out and explore the beautiful world. The only complaint that i can possibly think of is that because its on the wii, the graphics are as good as they could be, but the amazing art direction more than makes up for it. This, imo, is truly one of the greatest rpgs i have played in years. move over, skyrim! xenoblade has you beat! Expand
  70. May 13, 2012
    5
    Guys, I was really disappointed by this game and apparently I am completely alone. Maybe I bought into the hype/review scores too much, but I really wanted a meaty JRPG to drop some time into this summer, and it isn't this one. I've enjoyed the music, and the ability to switch on the Japanese audio track was an unexpected bonus. This is the end of the plus column for me.

    The following is
    what I wish someone had told me before I bought the game: The first thing you'll notice is that the graphics are terrible. Graphics certainly aren't everything, but these are so dated, blocky, and low res that it's actually distracting. The menu system is also a giant step back; you have to go through a bunch of layers to do basic things like make an equipment change. The battle system is fine, I guess, although the camera can have trouble picking the right height. I feel like I don't really have much to do once I initiate a battle with any one of the dozens of identical creatures milling about. The Eurodub is marginal, although the Japanese one is decent. And I'm still relatively early on in the game, but the characters are standard fare if you've played a bunch of these things and there's nothing compelling me forward. Ultimately, the game feels like it dropped through a time warp from the year 2000. Although I loved PSO Online and Final Fantasy X at the time, I expect more now -- and not only on a hardware level. Dragon Quest IX is a great game, and far more hardware-constrained than Xenoblade Chronicles. There have been so many lessons about character design, narrative, play control, and interface design that I thought had been learned over the past decade that just aren't put to use here.

    I'm sorry to poop all over a thing that people seem to love, and I don't downvote popular things just to prove how independent and edgy I am. It's because I dropped $50 on a game that I wanted to like, but have no interest in playing further. Obviously the development team put a lot of work into this, but it doesn't translate into something very fun for me, and at the end of the day, that's all I want from a game. That why I've given it a 5, and put a differing opinion out here.
    Expand
  71. May 16, 2012
    8
    Long awaited, but delivered. A fantastic JRPG! One of the things I loved the most about the game was the art style and music. The characters look great, the world looks great, and the game sounds great. While the Wii is obviously behind in tech, it proves that you don't need the most current hardware to have a game be great. The gameplay and control are smooth. Lots of exploring to do, and thousands upon thousands of side quests to be done. When playing this game, I felt a huge wave of nostalgia wash over me. It felt like playing a new RPG for the SNES back in the day. Its a shame that not alot of people will get to play this game. JRPG gamers for the most part should love this game, though you can't please everyone, the overall reviews still speak for themseleves. Expand
  72. May 24, 2013
    8
    A pretty good game overall, and one of the best RPGs i've played in some time. The story is great, the gameplay is pretty good, and most of the characters are pretty awesome. However the reason this game doesn't get a 10/10 is that it simply includes too many small flaws.

    First of all one of the things that annoyed me quite a bit about the game is the difficulty: The enemies and bosses
    actually have a fine difficulty to keep the game challenging without being to hard there's just one problem: If you don't stay and farm in each place you won't be able to keep on the same level as your opponents and then the game gets far too hard. This wouldn't be so much of a problem if the game actually had a decent side-quest system, but unfurturnately it doesn't. The sidequest are repetetive, boring and aren't very rewarding.

    Another big flaw with the game is with building your team. The characters simply aren't properly balanced with some of them being almost useless. And if you want to keep your team as strong as possible there's only like 2 combinations that work. There's quite a few other flaws like some enemies having way too much thorns when toppled and some other stuff, but i didn't want to write it all here. But it's a pretty fine game anyways so if your not the type that goes to much into the details, but simply wants a good story and decent combat, then this is a game for you.
    Expand
  73. Jun 4, 2012
    9
    I usually judge a game first by the story and the universe, and if it can captivate my imagination to the point where I will play it with pleasure. The Xenoblade universe is wonderfully illogical and captivating, and the story line is almost as good as it gets for video games. It does have a little Japanese flavor, especially in the character conversations. The world evolves completely as the story progresses, without any obvious mistakes.
    The gameplay is simple, intuitive, non-constraining, rapidly changed. There are some simple underlying patterns in quests and combats. The flow of the game is smooth and you can choose what to do based on how you feel. No forced combat sections or story progression...
    There are many other good aspects of this game but I will leave you with the best. In the more than 140 hours it took me to finish most of the quests and the main story line, the game did not glitch or crash once. The people who made this game loved it. Chances are so will you.
    Expand
  74. Jun 4, 2012
    6
    A game of two halves. Starts off really good, slowly building into some large levels which are great for exploration but, as the combat gets more complicated, it degenerates into a mess and the later stages just become a tedious procession of button mashing of the same few actions. This would have benefited from having turn based combat instead of the real time version implemented. Good graphics and sound, shame the game became not fun. Expand
  75. Jun 5, 2012
    10
    One of the best games in years. Gameplay system and story as well as character design go hand in hand building up an enourmously interesting universe and experience. People loving well worked out, intense and atmospheric titles like Secret of Mana, Lufia, Terranigma, Chrono Trigger, FF Series etc will just be thrilled. Has marched up into my "best games ever" list easily.
  76. Jun 14, 2012
    4
    It was OK. The gameplay is good: it has good voice acting, good battle system, the environments are nice and the soundtrack is great. Where the game completely drops the ball is the plot, and for an RPG that is a bad place to fail. The story is painfully cliched and overdone at worst and just plain boring at best. "Scenes," which are long and plenty, consist of spouting cheesy one-liners and talking over and over about nothing. The characters range from completely insufferable to boring to OK, the worst being the main lead Shulk, who is every annoying JRPG trope squished into one bland cliched package. Expand
  77. Jun 22, 2012
    10
    This game is epic! One of the best role-players of all time. If you like Japanese role-playing games and own a Wii, Xenoblade Chronicles is the game you
  78. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    9.7/10 Pros epic story, creative art direction, awesome voice acting, wondeful music, likeable characters, beautiful environments (especially the final few), 50+ hours of main quest, well-implemented and unique innovations Cons Wii graphics (this is a big turn off until you get used to them after which you stop grimacing so be prepared for this), a few rare stretches of slowness in the pacing (part of this is due to the phenomenal length of the game so this is to be expected)

    Definitely one of the best RPGs I've ever played and I've played more than a few. If you have any liking for RPGs, do yourself a favor and try this game. Looking forward to the next one.
    Expand
  79. Jul 8, 2012
    8
    I have mixed feelings about this game. It is not perfect and definitely has its flaws. Still, there is no game this generation that brings the nostalgia of old rpgs past, quite like Xenoblade. Pick it up for that reason alone. One thing that few people ever comment on is how much time spent just in the menus. You will spend almost half of your gaming time there. I"m not kidding. This is a good thing or bad thing depending on how you look at it. I liked it though, making sure I had the most up to date arts learned, arts leveled up, equipment, gems, collectables,skills sets, etc. The camera will frustrate you to no end. Sure you can manually adjust it, but combat is fast paced and there is too much going on during battles to have to stop and adjust the camera.The story is good in some places, but poor in others. The graphics are last gen. As far as the environments, I think the devs really wanted to give each one its own unique feel and it really shows. I also liked fighting my battles with different leaders and their playstyles. I went from Shulk being my main, to Sharla , to Riki ^ _^, to...well lets say the last character that joins the party. Really any are capable of playing directly and its interesting because each has their own strength.My only regret in this regard is that I didn't use Melia in my party unless the story required it. Expand
  80. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    This game was definitely the best Wii game I've ever played. For me it was the best game of 2011 too. It might be the best game of all times! An Japanese RPG this far evolved with such a great story, characters, battle mechanism, graphics (for Wii users), soundtracks and voice-acting.
  81. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    Playing this game is an amazing experience to me. Granted, this game, like almost other games to date, cannot satisfy everyone's taste. For those who take a lot consideration on graphical aspect of the game, i suggest you watch trailer first to see if that's acceptable to you. IMO, the characters rather jagged, but the environments are really pretty in lot of scenes. Nonetheless, if you choose not to play, you'll miss the amazing music, great and long storytelling, creative battle systems, tons of quest, addictive achievement status, and unique NPC relationship. Expand
  82. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    To this day I am simply dumbfounded by how impressive this game's open world is. Contrary to the "corridorization" of recent RPGs, Xenoblade Chronicles opts to immerse the player in a beautifully designed world.

    Oh, it also has one of the best soundtracks to ever grace this medium.
  83. Sep 23, 2012
    10
    Such an amazing and beautiful game,the best RPG of this generation no doubt, I feel really bad about the people who just bash and don't even try this game just for not have HD graphics or just for the fact that is a Wii game
  84. Nov 2, 2013
    8
    I played about 25 hours and I have to say that this is the pinnacle of Wii games. I will not finish due to being a week away from the PS4 release. But what I have played is a jrpg at its best. Story, gameplay, graphics and sound are all top notch for the Wii. Just play this with the pro controller and not the nunchucks like I did. This is a 75+ hour game so just be warned.
  85. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Expand
  86. Nov 20, 2012
    4
    A strikingly mediocre attempt at Final Fantasy XII.

    Sure, the story's flashy, but if you truly appreciate character customization, detailed equipment, and RPG-immersion, this is not the game for you. Expect no diversity of character or game-play; there are no "professions", absolutely no "magics" or "techniques" worth mentioning, and don't even think you will get to focus your
    characters strengths -- everything, including the "skills", is preset. It's reception baffles me. Have RPG-s really been this diluted? If you're 12 years old, though, the repetitive, simplistic tools that they give you to achieve a goal might be enough to immerse you. Expand
  87. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    This is quite possibly the best RPG of this generation, and in my own eyes a contender for the best RPG of all time. The fact that this game looks as good as it does, sounds as good as it does, and has such an epic scale on such limited hardware is truly awe-inspiring. This game is massive! The combat system is fluid and dynamic, the characters and story are well rounded, the soundtrack hits all the right notes. The Wii maybe the laughing stock of a lot of gamers, but this achievement is proof that hardware does not make the game. The games make the hardware. Expand
  88. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    Masterpiece JRPG overworld that describes this game. I will play this game over and over again Killing those little buggers. This a video game and developers should take note because you want your game to be like this. The con could be graphics and texture, but it is not because it is more than that. I have played this for over 200 hours and more.
  89. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    I would give this game a 10 if it weren't for certain parts of the game that required you to grind on monsters just to catch up to a boss's level. For example, you will be 42/43 and they will throw a 48 and 50 boss after you. Or, you could be 68/69 and get a 75 boss thrown at you. What are the pros?

    -Environment: breathtaking, massive, and each area looks different.
    -Music: One of the
    best soundtracks of all time. Each song is awesome, especially the Mechonis levels.
    - Heropon Riki: People will downplay this character as a pokemon ripoff, but he is hilarious, has a ton of charm, and was my favorite character to play.
    -Story: It was all over the play towards the middle and end, but it kept me glued the whole way through.
    -Unique Monsters: This was my favorite part of the game because each monster required a different strategy to defeat it. At one point, I was just monster hunting instead of working on the story.

    What are the cons?

    Sidequests: There are a ton and most of them are generic kill/collect quests. I only did those that were on the way along the main quest, but most sidequests didn't have much originality.

    Graphics: The environments are well-done, but the characters definitely look like from ps1/ps2 generation. Not a huge con just because the mechonis levels looked awesome.

    Forced grinding: I wish there were more quests that weren't so grindy and granted exp just so you didn't have to kill every monster in a dungeon over and over.

    Overall, I definitely recommend a playthrough the game. It's a great RPG that should be experienced by people who won't can appreciate a game like this.
    Expand
  90. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. The individuals who worked together to create this game must have poured everything they could have into it. Xenoblade is easily the best game on Wii and one of the greatest games of all time. Packaged with an engrossing story, breathtaking environments and a truly memorable soundtrack Xenoblade Chronicles stands among the hierarchy of JRPG's.
  91. May 3, 2014
    10
    The story is breath taking filled with twists and turns in the plot and good character development you will be hooked. The voice acting is amazing and far beyond what you would come to expect from an RPG. The graphics are fantastic, really pushing the Wii to it's limits and the game has a very large draw distance. The music fantastic and changes depending on if it is day on night in areas. The game is very long and your likely to clock well over 100 hours. The extra quest can become tedious, specially with the recycled story text when accepting and completing them, they start to make you feel the game is been water down to lengthen the game. Having to delete items often is a pain because of the carrying limit of unique items. The battle system is a bit clunky in areas for example trying to switch your target can be a pain. Expand
  92. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    One of the only JRPGs that will be remembered when trying to think of great JRPGs of the seventh gen and my personal favorite. Among the others I consider would be Ni No Kuni, Tales of Graces f, and Tales of Vesperia. That is literally all out of at least two dozen JRPGs I have played. But this is a review for XC so let me talk about that.

    It innovates a battle system in a way that
    makes battles go by fast through auto attacking, but gives the player complete control of the flow of battle through allowing the player to choose special attacks, heal spells, link attacks, power buffs, and attack warnings.

    The story provides a great and (mostly) original mythology that absolutely sucks you into the story and will have you up LONG past the time you told yourself you were going to get off the game to sleep for work tomorrow. This game will have you making predictions, and then completely throw you a curve ball and everything you thought you knew is completely wrong. The characters in this story are very likable and relatable, allowing an emotional connection with the player where you'll find yourself angry and even sad when experiencing the cost of war with these characters. The voice actors are AAA, hands down some of the best in the business. They all have British accents, which I was fine with but a heads up if those types of games turn you off.

    The last thing I will talk about is just what blew my freaking socks off. The sheer ambitiousness of this game. It is made from the labor of some of the greatest RPG creators in the business and you can tell. If all you do is play PS3 and XBox 360 and just got a Wii and just got this game the graphics would still come off as a rather impressive for 480p. If you are an owner of all three systems (as I am) and you have played a ton of Wii games (as I have) and thought you knew what the system was capable of (as I did), this game literally blows your mind. Not just in graphics, but in scope of all areas. Completely sandbox open world, the maps are unbelievable large and load times between areas is very quick. The characters have three personality types for upgrading which will give the character the ability to get heal spells, damage spells, or status effect spells. All armor gotten in the game (though some designs are recycled) change the appearance of the character, and all armor can be equipped with gems that range from lvl 1 to 5 (Think equipping materia to your parties in FF VII, with just stat boosts, and resistance effects) which gives the player an insane amount of options when customizing a character. The weapons are the same way, change in appearance and can be equipped with gems. Making the player able to boost the attack on a weapon that has a status effect that they really like that doesn't require a gem to be powerful enough to damage stronger enemies.

    Basically it comes down to this. This game will be regarded with the greats (for those of us who have been fortunate to game that long) such as Suikoden II, Final Fantasy VII and Lunar The Silver Star. Anyone who has a Wii U should seriously consider supporting Monolithsoft X, and keep another of the greatest RPG franchises alive.
    Expand
  93. RNH
    Feb 2, 2013
    10
    This and Super Smash Bros, are the best Wii games there is. Xenoblade Chronicles is a must own for any self-respectable gamer. The game is huge, with a unique game world that takes place on two giant corpses. The narrative is great, the cutscenes are even better. Gameplay is no slouch too, this battle system is one no ever JRPG nor APRG has ever come up with, its clever, easy to use, and fun. The future telling system is great, the bosses are cool, and the game will last you more than 100 hours. No other game, other than Red Dead Redemption or Super Smash Bros. Brawl, has made my jaw drop like this. Expand
  94. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    Xenoblade Chronicles is the best JRPG I've played in years. Every aspect of the game shines, offering a unique and amazing experience.
    The gameplay is top notch, boasting a new and interesting combat system that never seems to get old, even 60+ hours into the game. The characters, too, are very well done. All of the characters in the story are interesting, well voiced, extremely British,
    and not annoying (except Riki, who is the embodiment of annoyance).
    The story of the game is great mainly due to the game's setting atop two massive titans called the Bionis and the Mechonis. It is full of plot twists and character development which keeps the it interesting.
    The very best aspect of this game is its music, which is nothing short of masterful. The very best memory I have of this game involves entering a grand and expansive location, only then to be greeted by the best song in game. Every track suits the scenery it accompanies.
    The only fault people have with this game are the graphics. However, as far as Wii games go, the graphics aren't half bad. When looking at things up close, they might seem to be rather ugly. However, when viewing giant new areas, the game looks gorgeous.
    Take all these aspects and combine them with a nonlinear and lengthy experience, and you get an excellent JRPG and one of the Wii's best games.
    9.4/10
    Expand
  95. Jul 4, 2014
    9
    The only downside to this game is side-quests. There are over 200 side quests, but only vary a dozen ways. Make sure you check online to find which side quests are actually important. The game is at its best when you're exploring the vast open world and drinking in its beauty. Combat is fast paced and tons of challenging bosses to take on. Characters a typical JPRG heros and the story twists keep you going. A must play for any Wii owner! Expand
  96. Apr 1, 2013
    8
    You are going to need a Classic Controller and a love of JRPG's before you pick this one up. Finally the Wii has a game that is best described as epic. Huge, imaginative, beautiful open world accented by killer music. It reminds me of Skyrim. The overall story and characters are very vanilla (hence a need love of JRPGs), but it has enough twist and turns to keep you playing for the 70+ hours of campaign. It is a shame that side quests (300+) are fetch quests for random item drops and monster fights. They aren't thought out like the loyalty quests in Mass Effect 2. I ignored side quests and focused on combat. Combat is a lot of fun and will get tougher as you get deeper into the story. Negatively, aging Wii hardware means the game slows when fighting a lot of foes. Expand
  97. May 7, 2014
    10
    One of the best games I have played. It has everything you would expect from a jrpg. Great story, interesting characters you come to care about, a ton of quests (and yes some are annoying). The only issue I have is that you can't buy advanced skill books (not that you need them that much once you level up considerably). If you haven't played it I definitely recommend you do. The game also works on Dolphin emulator without any significant problems (Only a little audio issue here and there). Expand
  98. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    This game is the best JRPG I've played in a long time! It's story, dialogues, gameplay, graphics and also it's music (which is made by Yoko, who made the music for Kingdom Hearts, too) are all really good!
    I recommend it to you, if you have a Nintendo Wii!
  99. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    One of the best games that I've played ever. Just do yourself a favor: buy a copy of Xenoblade Chronicles and be prepared to be blown away, you won't regret it
  100. Apr 6, 2012
    0
    I was severely disappointed when Nintendo initially ignored the fans who wanted this game so I paid a premium to import it from the United Kingdom and soft-modded my Wii to play it last year. And I did not regret it one bit. Now that it's available in America (via Nintendo's online store or exclusively at Gamestop), everyone has a chance to try it out. For anyone who's disappointed with the cookie-cutter dribble that's considered JRPGs these days, you need to try Xenoblade. It's the next evolution of the JRPG genre. You'll get a grand adventure, engaging and creative story, lovable characters and great music you've come to expect but what sets this game apart is the gameplay. It's very similar to a MMORPG. There's a huge, open world for you to explore (with a fantastic quick travel option) and there are tons of sidequests. The standard attacks during combat is automated (if you're close enough to an enemy). Special attacks are used by player commands and can have different effects depending on where the player is standing or what you're allies are doing, and rely on a cooldown feature rather than MP (or something similar). There are numerous other gameplay elements which provide a lot of depth to the gameplay. Unfortunately, because the combat is so similar to MMORPGs, it's nothing new or unique though it does work surprisingly well in an offline game. This is a long adventure and will take at least 60 hours to beat if you avoid doing any sidequests. But this is one of those games where it's very easy to get sidetracked so expect to spend a lot of time with this game. Visually, the game looks fantastic and in my opinion, is the best looking Wii game overall (yes, better than Mario Galaxy 2 or Skyward Sword). Not only is the art direction amazingly unique and imaginative but the scale of areas are simply breathtaking. Ultimately, if you own a Wii and regardless of whether or not you like JRPGs, you should give this game a try. I've been a fan of RPGs since the SNES days and this is simply one of the best games ever! Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. May 24, 2012
    80
    Xenoblade may not be the greatest JRPG ever, but it's certainly one of the best games on the Nintendo Wii.
  2. Apr 19, 2012
    100
    There's a lot more to recommend Xenoblade Chronicles. The dialogue, the humor, the artwork, the prophecy system, the music, the variety of environments, the character progression, the crafting system, the crazy quest density, the quest quality, the memorable characters, the collectibles, the secrets, and so on. This is a landmark achievement in the genre. As of its release, you can no longer talk about great RPGs, or maybe even great games, without also talking about Xenoblade Chronicles.
  3. Apr 12, 2012
    90
    Xenoblade Chronicles is the sort of precious jRPG that this recent console generation has sorely lacked. Despite some missteps and over-complication, the game stands out as one of the best in recent years. Xenoblade creates a world simply begging to be explored.