User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 472 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 472

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest wii games and an automatic classic gem. This game hands down is one of the most creative,fun,interesting rpgs in a while. I wont go into to much detail but if you love rpg games or want a reason to boot up your wii again this is it. Buy this game to show Japanese Game Companies that we want more things localized. We almost didn't get this game and that would have been aOne of the greatest wii games and an automatic classic gem. This game hands down is one of the most creative,fun,interesting rpgs in a while. I wont go into to much detail but if you love rpg games or want a reason to boot up your wii again this is it. Buy this game to show Japanese Game Companies that we want more things localized. We almost didn't get this game and that would have been a shame for people to miss out on such an amazing title. Expand
  2. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    I have to agree with almost everyone: this game is simply amazing. The music, game play, locations and story are all very good. One of the best game on the Wii.
  3. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    How does this masterpiece as of this writing have a 7.8 user score? It's these Xbot and Sony drone fanboys coming in and rating every Nintendo exclusive a 0 to try and make it so the morons who rely on Metacritic user scores don't buy the game. It's sickening. There isn't a single flaw I can think of in this game that isn't just nitpicking. It's the best JRPG ever made and a big-budgetHow does this masterpiece as of this writing have a 7.8 user score? It's these Xbot and Sony drone fanboys coming in and rating every Nintendo exclusive a 0 to try and make it so the morons who rely on Metacritic user scores don't buy the game. It's sickening. There isn't a single flaw I can think of in this game that isn't just nitpicking. It's the best JRPG ever made and a big-budget hardcore Wii game, the kind you haters SUPPOSEDLY wanted. Expand
  4. Apr 8, 2012
    10
    Worth the hype. This game is absolutely a blast and an impressive technical achievement on the Wii. The game features a solid dub and excellent cast of characters. The combat system is strong and the story is excellent. Buy it, love it.
  5. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    An amazing technical and creative achievement for the Wii. This game will blow your mind with its grand scale. Easily a candidate for one of the best JRPGs of all time! This game deserves an award for the music alone. Huge levels, interesting characters, over 450 quests, and at least 60+ hours of main story gameplay packed in this sucker.
  6. Jul 9, 2012
    6
    RPG is my favorite genre and this is the first and the only RPG I would ever give under 7. Combat system tries to be creative but it feels really clumsy and boring. It's like D&D system without pause or character swap. You need to press right and left to select skills from the bar which is reaaally annoying in a long run. I mean why could they just have used skill wheel instead of skillRPG is my favorite genre and this is the first and the only RPG I would ever give under 7. Combat system tries to be creative but it feels really clumsy and boring. It's like D&D system without pause or character swap. You need to press right and left to select skills from the bar which is reaaally annoying in a long run. I mean why could they just have used skill wheel instead of skill bar. Enemies can be avoided by going around them even at situations where you're clearly supposed to kill them to get past them and sometimes they won't even react if you run directly towards them. You need to push down C and use all of the other buttons to adjust camera angle all the time because the game can't do it properly. Heck at one time I think I got some sort of "can't see a **** achievement in the middle of a battle. Game mechanics take forever to figure out, the tutorial doesn't feel like it's enough. Mainly because common things like stun, knockdown, etc. are named daze, topple or something else you've never seen used in any other game. Quests are "kill X parrots" style like in MMOs without any further depth or interesting storylines. As you get in higher level areas you just keep seeing same enemies with different names and in different colors. Characters are uninteresting and the story is mediocre. I know I could've spelled this all better and in better english but I honestly don't feel like I should waste any more time even thinking about this game. Expand
  7. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    Awesome game and I hope the US get this game. Have not finished it yet but I see that there are many hours ahead of me with this game!!! RPG mechanics are awesome and story is pretty good so far. Tons of sidequests as well.
  8. May 14, 2012
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing. The story is engaging, the voice acting is top notch, there a million sidequests and the battle system is unique. I love this game and this will be my summer.
  9. Aug 22, 2012
    8
    Xenoblade Chronicles is by far and away one of the best RPGs of this generation, one of the best games on the WII and even one of the best I've played since RPG's like Dragon Warrior 8 and Rogue Galaxy. Graphics wise this game isn't good, no question. For what it can do however it is not terrible. Landscapes and areas are designed well. It's just the power of the WII holding back whatXenoblade Chronicles is by far and away one of the best RPGs of this generation, one of the best games on the WII and even one of the best I've played since RPG's like Dragon Warrior 8 and Rogue Galaxy. Graphics wise this game isn't good, no question. For what it can do however it is not terrible. Landscapes and areas are designed well. It's just the power of the WII holding back what would truly be a great vision. Character models are not terrible either, they have a strong resemblance to Final Fantasy 12's characters. Controls I have no complaints either. Having the controller that came with Monster Hunter Tri makes so many games more playable for me on the WII. I'm no fan of motion controls. The voice acting is a little annoying at first but after a while you do get used to it. Sounds and music are fantastic. The quests did eventually get a bit redundant and just downright annoying. In barely a week I had 60 hours into the game and I had completed more then 250 side quests. Now this wouldn't be bad normally but this game requires you to do these side quests to level up... If you decide to skip them you could end up being vastly under leveled. Killing normal enemies did not seem to reap much reward so leveling up on normal monsters I felt was out of the question, you are basically left with not much option. This does eliminate the traditional grinding that so many people find annoying, but searching for rare collectable items and killing so and so unique monsters that have conditions to spawn is just as bad if not worse then mindless button mashing to kill enemies. It's not all bad - the story does keep you strapped into the game and leave you wondering what happens next. Exploring areas is fun as well. This games only flaw I feel is the amount of side quests put into the game. I play more PS3 and 360 games then I do WII and I can honestly say I wish this game was on either console. Xenoblade's only major flaw is that it is being constrained by the WII's specs. Overall though it's a great game and should be picked up for RPG fans. Expand
  10. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Huge landscapes, lots of side quests, beautiful music and graphics, party members' affinities. Took me about 120 hours to do a good amount of side quests and reach the ending, and there was still a lot I didn't complete. Still hoping Nintendo of America decides to release this gem of a game, which is specially a triumph for Japan-developed RPGs often criticized for being stagnant.Huge landscapes, lots of side quests, beautiful music and graphics, party members' affinities. Took me about 120 hours to do a good amount of side quests and reach the ending, and there was still a lot I didn't complete. Still hoping Nintendo of America decides to release this gem of a game, which is specially a triumph for Japan-developed RPGs often criticized for being stagnant. Congratulations Monolithsoft, you did a damn well job developing this game, LOVED IT! Expand
  11. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    This Game Was Simply amazing and took me for ever to get the last master but it was worth it.

    This Game is just awesome, Wasted almost 100 hours of my life on this, ha ha but overall probably one of the best games we will see on the Wii.
  12. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Xenoblade is one of the greatest JRPGs ever made. It takes everything that we love in JRPGs, the epic stories, crazy characters, and unique art and merges it with all the latest positive aspects of modern RPGs and MMOs. Gone is the tedium and grinding of old-school RPGs, rather, the combat puts you in control, and the travel system helps keep things moving. Plus this game is open-world, soXenoblade is one of the greatest JRPGs ever made. It takes everything that we love in JRPGs, the epic stories, crazy characters, and unique art and merges it with all the latest positive aspects of modern RPGs and MMOs. Gone is the tedium and grinding of old-school RPGs, rather, the combat puts you in control, and the travel system helps keep things moving. Plus this game is open-world, so you get a fantastic story combined with free roaming. ++++ It's just a dang shame so few people will play this game, because at the risk of speaking blasphemy, it's superior to Xenogears and just about any other JRPG. A must-play if you like RPGs. Expand
  13. Jan 25, 2013
    5
    This game has a ridiculously high metacritic score. You will find tons of adoring reviews.

    Every one of these is utter garbage. Xenoblade is tripe. The game is deeply, deeply, deeply flawed. Its just bad. Where to begin? Firstly, most people go to RPGs for the story. This game has a terrible story. The SETTING is cool - indeed, it is a major selling point for the game - but sadly,
    This game has a ridiculously high metacritic score. You will find tons of adoring reviews.

    Every one of these is utter garbage. Xenoblade is tripe.

    The game is deeply, deeply, deeply flawed. Its just bad. Where to begin?

    Firstly, most people go to RPGs for the story. This game has a terrible story. The SETTING is cool - indeed, it is a major selling point for the game - but sadly, while the WORLD is cool... the characters inhabiting it are not. The game commits the cardinal sin of having a deeply boring cast. Shulk and Reyn are boring generic characters whose quest is driven by revenge, Melia is a generic princess who is coming to see what the other people see, and Riki is just an annoying little thing. Dunban and Sharla are okay, but they're unexceptional. The other characters in the world are mostly quite boring, with only a handful holding any real interest.

    Worse still, there is a ridiculous amount of filler. Indeed, the game is mostly filler. There are sidequests galore, which are necessary to unlock many skills, but if you do them you end up hilariously overlevelled - I often was 10-15 levels above the level of the area after the start of the game. If you skip them, some of them are timed lost forevers, and the rest are even more tedious once you've left the area as there's just no reason to run around for them. This also spaces out the time it takes to actually get through the story - you do some story, then A BILLION SIDEQUESTS, then another hour of story, then A BILLION MORE, ect. Its terrible pacing.

    The areas are nicely designed, but even there the game falls down. The areas look decent (though the graphics are not great - and it isn't just that it is on the Wii) but the areas are ENORMOUS. This sounds like a good thing, but it is actually really terrible as it takes a very long time to simply cross the areas. Oh, and the game rewards you for exploring, with better rewards than the quests, so you'd better do it - and worse still, there are teleporters which let you quick travel back through the areas, which are mandatory for making doing the sidequests tolerable, but you can miss some of them, meaning you end up finding them later while on your way back from some inconvenient to get to area. Joy.

    The combat is bad. The AI is not very smart - in fact, it is quite dumb - and there's no control over it. Some characters are just useless under AI control, while others work quite well, so its clearly just incompetence. Unfortunately this also means you never want to control some characters, as their AI is good enough, and other characters you can't put in as NPCs in your party because they don't behave intelligently. The only good thing is the "changing the future" thing, which adds in some actual interactivity.

    So yeah. The game is huge, extremely long, but a very empty and not terribly fun experience. Avoid it.
    Expand
  14. Apr 15, 2012
    9
    This is exactly what the genre needed. It toes the line between being respectful to the conventions of the genre, whilst tweaking said conventions to create a game which feels undeniably modern. From an engaging plot with a unique setting (the corpses of two titans!) to the exciting battle mechanics which combine real-time combat and turn-based strategy... Xenoblade is a blast to play.This is exactly what the genre needed. It toes the line between being respectful to the conventions of the genre, whilst tweaking said conventions to create a game which feels undeniably modern. From an engaging plot with a unique setting (the corpses of two titans!) to the exciting battle mechanics which combine real-time combat and turn-based strategy... Xenoblade is a blast to play. About the only knock on this game is the technical aspects of the visuals. Limited by the Wii's horsepower, this is to be expected. Thankfully, inspired art direction serves to mask these flaws. If you own a Wii... you need to play Xenoblade Chronicles. Expand
  15. Apr 11, 2012
    8
    Fantastic game--the best JRPG I've played in years--but it isn't without its flaws. The first and most glaring thing everyone will notice is the graphics could be classified as PS2 quality at best. I would say later PS2 games like Final Fantasy XII and Xenosaga Episode III had better graphics. We've seen with Skyward Sword, Super Mario Galaxy, and others that the Wii is capable of moreFantastic game--the best JRPG I've played in years--but it isn't without its flaws. The first and most glaring thing everyone will notice is the graphics could be classified as PS2 quality at best. I would say later PS2 games like Final Fantasy XII and Xenosaga Episode III had better graphics. We've seen with Skyward Sword, Super Mario Galaxy, and others that the Wii is capable of more than this. However, when one sees just how huge this game is, Monolith can be forgiven for skimping on the graphics. I would guess the graphics were watered down because the game wouldn't fit on a single disc otherwise. There's tons of geography to explore, items to collect, and sidequests to complete, and that's only a fraction of things to do in Xenoblade. Even so, the game's graphics look like something from a ten year old game, and for that I cannot give it a perfect score. Gameplay wise, there are elements of both Japanese and Western RPGs, as well as MMORPGs. All three genres are blended together quite well, though the ability for your character to jump seems to be rather buggy (and generally unnecessary). I also have yet to hear any music that compares to the compositions of Yasunori Mitsuda or Yuki Kajiura in previous "Xeno" games. One more thing that may put some people off is the US localization was basically copy-pasted from the European release. The characters all speak with a UK dialect (everyone is called "mate", armor is spelled with a U, etc.) It didn't bother me, but some people may get uppity about it. Monolith and Nintendo get big kudos, however, for including the option to switch between English and Japanese voice tracks. Long story short, this game is hands down the best RPG on the Wii to date. It's a must-have for JRPG fans, and many western RPG fans will enjoy it as well. I know it'll keep me busy until The Last Story is released in June. :) Expand
  16. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    Xenoblade Chronicles can go toe-to-toe with such JRPG classics as Chrono Trigger, Suikoden, and Lunar: Silver Star Story Complete, and there's no denying that it fills a major role-playing void on the Wii. But to get my one and only gripe out of the way, let me just say this - by no fault of the game itself, players won't be able to shake the feeling that Xenoblade should have been madeXenoblade Chronicles can go toe-to-toe with such JRPG classics as Chrono Trigger, Suikoden, and Lunar: Silver Star Story Complete, and there's no denying that it fills a major role-playing void on the Wii. But to get my one and only gripe out of the way, let me just say this - by no fault of the game itself, players won't be able to shake the feeling that Xenoblade should have been made on an HD-capable console. While Xenoblade Chronicles is an astounding technical achievement that makes use of every ounce of processing power it can squaeeze out of Wii's hardware, it still doesn't look much better than a decade-old PS2 RPG. As jaw-dropping as some of its environments and sweeping set pieces may be, the game's blurry textures and low-polygon models are a constant reminder of the platform's limitations. That being said, good gameplay should always trump graphical prowess, especially in the RPG genre, and Xenoblade delivers some major innovations in that department. The game successfully mixes the best parts of Japanese and Western development while bringing a few new concepts to the table. At first, it may strike the player as an offline MMO, with its real-time auto-attacks and a skill bar that lines the bottom of the screen during combat, but it's not that simple. There are a ton of ways to interact with enemies, whether it's instigating a battle, evading more aggressive mobs, dodging attacks that would automatically land in a typical MMO setup, or strategically positioning characters to exploit enemy weaknesses and distractions. Aside from combat, exploration and party management features are equally impressive. Equipment changes are visualized, enhancement slots allow you to constantly evolve the armor and weapons you like, crafting is deep yet intuitive, and even questing has been drastically streamlined over the MMO contemporaries that inspired its basic structure. The world itself is massive and very original in its design, as sweeping landscapes are interwoven in a way that makes every vista and cliff face recognizable, thus eliminating a constant reliance on maps and objective pointers. I also thoroughly enjoy the addition of social elements, which allow for relationships between party members, unlock special scenes, and even track the interpersonal connections of NPCs. Xenoblade impresses on a lot of fronts, and it's all highly intuitive. Also, unlike a majority of JRPGs that have been released in recent years, the story is almost immediately engaging and enjoyable, and despite the strength of its narrative, the entire experience remains non-linear and highly customizable. Japanese development has seemed reluctant to let go of its past conventions and typically linear storytelling techniques, so Xenoblade is solid proof that innovation is not only still possible, but now highly encouraged by the instantly classic and commercially successful precedent of Xenoblade Chronicles. While I could certainly go into greater depth with the game's individual systems, the points I have already made should be more than enough to convince RPG fans to buy the game as soon as possible. Play it for yourself, and as long as you can get over the fact that the game only exists on the technically limited and aging Wii, Xenoblade will almost certainly gain a permanent place in your RPG collection. Expand
  17. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    The best jRPG in years, maybe the best RPG of this generation (still haven't played Last Story and Skryim is too different for comparison), and one of the best Wii games to date. 'nuff said.
  18. May 23, 2012
    10
    after much time and consideration, i am going to say this has to be one of my favorite games. for the first 100 hours, but since i like to 100 percent everything not gonna lie a few things are a real pain in the ass about this game. BUT if you are not going for 100 percent i promise this game will satisfy you in every way, its completely epic the way they did this game. with the story whenafter much time and consideration, i am going to say this has to be one of my favorite games. for the first 100 hours, but since i like to 100 percent everything not gonna lie a few things are a real pain in the ass about this game. BUT if you are not going for 100 percent i promise this game will satisfy you in every way, its completely epic the way they did this game. with the story when you think you understand it, it smacks you in the face, with a curve ball. great story, epic way of playing, simply amazing. i have recommended this game to all who i know play games. Expand
  19. May 25, 2013
    8
    Xenoblade is definitely one of the most interesting RPGs of this generation and for many several good reasons that in most RPGs nowadays are either removed, not present, or just forgotten. For starters, we HAVE exploration! YES, we can finally explore areas once again, even though there's no real world map but it is still a great thing to have, with extremely huge areas with details,Xenoblade is definitely one of the most interesting RPGs of this generation and for many several good reasons that in most RPGs nowadays are either removed, not present, or just forgotten. For starters, we HAVE exploration! YES, we can finally explore areas once again, even though there's no real world map but it is still a great thing to have, with extremely huge areas with details, enemies to fight, and add also that we get sub quests (which can be either annoying, or simple, but they are there!), this game has already a lot of stuff to give. We also get a very nice relation system that even though I don't remember exactly doing much (it was more useful for later part of the games), it's nice to have...but I'll go back to it later. The combat also is pretty good and, ACTUALLY, mix the turn based and action based combat pretty well: infact you actually have a good control over the combat, with hotkeys like in an MMORPG (skill trees included), and your compagnion work and act properly well, because they usually have a role; for example, Melia is the mage (and the only one not very good with an AI, for me at least), Reyn is a "tank", and Sharla is a healer, and so forth, and that even makes combination with your team mates pretty interesting, since they are all pretty unique in their way. And for last, but not the least, a detail that I really really liked of this game...the armors actually CHANGE your appearance, and the armors are extremely detailed and good looking! "Applauds" Bravo, I was really stunned by this, since that in 99% of RPGs (not including Western RPGs), the armor customization is literally zero. I'm pretty sure I'm being vague on the game details, combat and stuff, but it's because these are extremely good and well made, with few flaws that barely are remarkable. Except for the story. While the game itself is great...the story is flatout one of the worst I've ever seen but for ALL the wrong reasons. One of these reasons is that...it's SO predictable! I'm not kidding when I say that even the GAME COVER is a spoiler (just analyze the name Xenoblade...yeah, it's what you think. Yeah, it's a vital part of the game later on). But what about the story itself? It's not bad but I was able to predict any kind of twist, plot devices, character motivations....ANYTHING! I'm not saying this game is bad because the story is not original, but PLEASE at least tell it properly and without being too predictable: the only unpredictable thing of the story, was the the ending! Infact, I mentioned about the relation between characters, which usually means that behaving accordingly with certain characters usually will lead to a different ending: in this game, it serves only for getting either achievements and other stuff, and that's it...and that was such a waste because, actually, the game gives you ways to make up friendship with your team mates, and that helped me to like certain characters because they had their motivations. But then, if the game will have one ending, why giving us a fake trace of multiple endings by giving us the chance of interacting with the people of the game! Perhaps I'm overreacting over it, but that to me was a major flaw, because the ending is also weak and left me unsatisfied. But still...this is a good game and I honestly encourage to try it out, because it's both fun to play and very long to complete, due to the explorations, the skill trees to unlock, the subquests, the relationship building (even if not that great), the combat being fun and smooth (still, we can't dodge by moving away...), and so much more. But the story really didn't get me and I was really disappointed by it. Definitely a game to play and try, especially if you have a lot of time to spare. Expand
  20. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    Do not hesitate, if you like JRPG's or simply want a game with 40-60 hours of quality graphics, music , excellent story and great combat, look no further. This is a wonderful swan song RPG for the Wii, as I suspect even the mighty Zelda game thats about to launch, ( Skyward Sword) is going to have trouble being better than this piece of gaming genius.

    Satisfying character development
    Do not hesitate, if you like JRPG's or simply want a game with 40-60 hours of quality graphics, music , excellent story and great combat, look no further. This is a wonderful swan song RPG for the Wii, as I suspect even the mighty Zelda game thats about to launch, ( Skyward Sword) is going to have trouble being better than this piece of gaming genius.

    Satisfying character development and crafting and trade systems, all a little overly complex, but you can muddle through those minor parts of the game to enjoy the overall picture of great and often funny voice acting, a surprisingly powerful opening scene ( no spoilers, suffice to say the love interest you initially think is forming may not go the way you thought it would ).

    Another note on the voice acting, it has been regionalised by UK actors for the UK market, and it sounds like they had a good time recording the audio, just another detail that adds to the excellence of this game.
    Xenoblade. It simply exudes quality and high standards from the moment you load up to the beautiful title screen and sit there for 4 minutes listening to the stunning theme played on piano.
    Expand
  21. Jun 25, 2012
    9
    Graphically, the game looks terrible. Otherwise, there is a LOT to love here, so be sure to check this game out if you are looking for a great RPG experience.
  22. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    Xenoblade Chronicles is one of the best RPGs I have ever played. Monolith Soft created a wonderful gameplay environment that is one of the best I've ever experienced. The story was good but not great but when added to the wonderful gameplay, massive environments, fun characters and interesting settings of the game it definitely deserves a 10/10.
  23. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    I was severely disappointed when Nintendo initially ignored the fans who wanted this game so I paid a premium to import it from the United Kingdom and soft-modded my Wii to play it last year. And I did not regret it one bit. Now that it's available in America (via Nintendo's online store or exclusively at Gamestop), everyone has a chance to try it out. For anyone who's disappointed withI was severely disappointed when Nintendo initially ignored the fans who wanted this game so I paid a premium to import it from the United Kingdom and soft-modded my Wii to play it last year. And I did not regret it one bit. Now that it's available in America (via Nintendo's online store or exclusively at Gamestop), everyone has a chance to try it out. For anyone who's disappointed with the cookie-cutter dribble that's considered JRPGs these days, you need to try Xenoblade. It's the next evolution of the JRPG genre. You'll get a grand adventure, engaging and creative story, lovable characters and great music you've come to expect but what sets this game apart is the gameplay. It's very similar to a MMORPG. There's a huge, open world for you to explore (with a fantastic quick travel option) and there are tons of sidequests. The standard attacks during combat is automated (if you're close enough to an enemy). Special attacks are used by player commands and can have different effects depending on where the player is standing or what you're allies are doing, and rely on a cooldown feature rather than MP (or something similar). There are numerous other gameplay elements which provide a lot of depth to the gameplay. Unfortunately, because the combat is so similar to MMORPGs, it's nothing new or unique though it does work surprisingly well in an offline game. This is a long adventure and will take at least 60 hours to beat if you avoid doing any sidequests. But this is one of those games where it's very easy to get sidetracked so expect to spend a lot of time with this game. Visually, the game looks fantastic and in my opinion, is the best looking Wii game overall (yes, better than Mario Galaxy 2 or Skyward Sword). Not only is the art direction amazingly unique and imaginative but the scale of areas are simply breathtaking. Ultimately, if you own a Wii and regardless of whether or not you like JRPGs, you should give this game a try. I've been a fan of RPGs since the SNES days and this is simply one of the best games ever! Expand
  24. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    9.5/10
    2nd best game on the wii (hard to beat mario galaxy) one of my favorite rpgs in a very long time and a game that shows that jrpgs can still be relevant.
    Pros: immense immersive story world/universe Unique characters Cool weopans and equipment Unique battle system great jrpg evolution Great voice acting Minimal grinding required Tons to do! Took me 75 hours and hitting up only
    9.5/10
    2nd best game on the wii (hard to beat mario galaxy) one of my favorite rpgs in a very long time and a game that shows that jrpgs can still be relevant.
    Pros: immense immersive story world/universe
    Unique characters
    Cool weopans and equipment
    Unique battle system great jrpg evolution
    Great voice acting
    Minimal grinding required
    Tons to do! Took me 75 hours and hitting up only portion of quests
    Not a sequal! Rare these days.
    Music well done
    Character design and monster design both well thought out
    Story unique
    Streamlined rpg: quick travel to landmarks, die and not lose exp or items gained, save almost anytime (dunno why more console rpgs don't do this)
    Build relationships w party members and npcs gain rewards and enhance story mostly optional
    Characters change appearance w equipment in all cutscenes as well
    Challenging but not frustrating
    Skills learned keep you wanting to level up
    For the wii...good graphics
    Magical and I have not felt that real rpg magic since the snes psx classics, if you miss it here it is! First rpg since chrono trigger I'm doing new game+

    Cons:
    Some loooong cut scenes
    Only 3 characters at once and 1 real healer limits variety don't get to use and play with all as much as you'd like
    Do reach skill plateau but better than most rpgs
    Towns cities could have been more impressive especially on 2nd world
    On the wii, sequal for wiiU (fingers crossed)

    Buy it as soon as you're able and I give a 9.5 out of 10 odds u shan't be dissapointed. (o:
    Expand
  25. Jul 4, 2012
    9
    This game is ridiculously magnetic, and unlike many jrpgs has left me craving for more. From the sprawling locales, the beautiful skylines, and the amazing soundtrack to the wonderful gameplay and accessibility, this game is stunning. However it's not without its faults, including bad lip sync and repetitive questing. Don't let those deter your decision to buy this game, since that wouldThis game is ridiculously magnetic, and unlike many jrpgs has left me craving for more. From the sprawling locales, the beautiful skylines, and the amazing soundtrack to the wonderful gameplay and accessibility, this game is stunning. However it's not without its faults, including bad lip sync and repetitive questing. Don't let those deter your decision to buy this game, since that would be a bad mistake. Expand
  26. Oct 26, 2013
    10
    I have played so many Rpgs in this 7th generation era but I will have to say one thing that this game is certainly one of my top 5 game and 3rd best Jrpg after Ninokuni and The last story.

    Story: Story and character is just to fantastic for any game..I cared about main character and his Band of mercenaries.Characters have deep emotional touch with beautiful stories and the main
    I have played so many Rpgs in this 7th generation era but I will have to say one thing that this game is certainly one of my top 5 game and 3rd best Jrpg after Ninokuni and The last story.

    Story: Story and character is just to fantastic for any game..I cared about main character and his Band of mercenaries.Characters have deep emotional touch with beautiful stories and the main protagonist is one of the best i the RPG genere.

    Graphics: Even though frame rate issue was there i was always wondering how did the old Wii manage to produce such a beautiful game.

    Gameplay: Just 10 out of 10. Blend of RPG strategy and action
    Expand
  27. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Xenoblade Chronicles is the best (j)RPG within this century and one of the best RPGs ever created. The game offers great graphics, a wonderful soundtrack, top-notch gameplay, a huge and very well designed world and finally a superb story. It clealry takes the jRPG genre to the next level with lots of great features like real time combat and a 'save everywhere' function. Gamer heart, whatXenoblade Chronicles is the best (j)RPG within this century and one of the best RPGs ever created. The game offers great graphics, a wonderful soundtrack, top-notch gameplay, a huge and very well designed world and finally a superb story. It clealry takes the jRPG genre to the next level with lots of great features like real time combat and a 'save everywhere' function. Gamer heart, what do you want more? Expand
  28. May 9, 2012
    10
    Xenoblade is THE best JRPG of this generation. Jam packed of content, you are looking at 80+ hours of gameplay, assuming you are only doing the main story. The visuals are good, though some of the animations are a bit awkward. The music is absolutely fantastic; one of my favorite soundtracks of all time. The gameplay is solid and the combat system is addicting.
  29. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    What a fantastic experience! This game set's itself apart from other contemporary RPG's by one major thing: game play. There's so much to find, so much to vary in terms of equipment and customization, that makes you wonder why it all went missing in other current generation games. Even the presentation looks vivid and uses the capabilities of the Wii, which is technically sub par withWhat a fantastic experience! This game set's itself apart from other contemporary RPG's by one major thing: game play. There's so much to find, so much to vary in terms of equipment and customization, that makes you wonder why it all went missing in other current generation games. Even the presentation looks vivid and uses the capabilities of the Wii, which is technically sub par with other platforms, to it's limits.
    Everything moves, changes, the world comes alive in a vast continuous stream. Day and night cycles included. Personally, I found the british speakers refreshing and the dialogue well written, not what you'd expect from a japanese RPG.
    Last but ultimately the most rewarding is the actual combat and rpg battle system: you'll feel at home if you've played either WoW or Final Fantasy XII, the combat just flows in realtime, tactical options always more important than hack n slash tactics. Make no mistake though: this game urges you to pay attention to the moment-to-moment proceedings, in order to maximize your attacks. Tons of monsters with different weaknesses and tactics, sub-bosses and challenges on the way make combat worthwhile.
    Expand
  30. Oct 31, 2011
    7
    Un bon RPG proposant énormément d'exploration, de quêtes, une bonne bande son et un assez bon scénario(bien que tardant à demarrer).
    Mais son interface lourde, son côté très répétitif, son aspect MMORPG, son chara design fade et son rendu atroce sur TV HD lui
    Un bon RPG proposant énormément d'exploration, de quêtes, une bonne bande son et un assez bon scénario(bien que tardant à demarrer).
    Mais son interface lourde, son côté très répétitif, son aspect MMORPG, son chara design fade et son rendu atroce sur TV HD lui empeche d'atteindre l'excellence
    Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. May 24, 2012
    80
    Xenoblade may not be the greatest JRPG ever, but it's certainly one of the best games on the Nintendo Wii.
  2. Apr 19, 2012
    100
    There's a lot more to recommend Xenoblade Chronicles. The dialogue, the humor, the artwork, the prophecy system, the music, the variety of environments, the character progression, the crafting system, the crazy quest density, the quest quality, the memorable characters, the collectibles, the secrets, and so on. This is a landmark achievement in the genre. As of its release, you can no longer talk about great RPGs, or maybe even great games, without also talking about Xenoblade Chronicles.
  3. Apr 12, 2012
    90
    Xenoblade Chronicles is the sort of precious jRPG that this recent console generation has sorely lacked. Despite some missteps and over-complication, the game stands out as one of the best in recent years. Xenoblade creates a world simply begging to be explored.