User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 435 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 435

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    An amazing technical and creative achievement for the Wii. This game will blow your mind with its grand scale. Easily a candidate for one of the best JRPGs of all time! This game deserves an award for the music alone. Huge levels, interesting characters, over 450 quests, and at least 60+ hours of main story gameplay packed in this sucker.
  2. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    A fantastic game. The environments are stunning even though the graphics are pretty awful even for Wii. The gameplay is interesting and will keep you occupied for a long time in its length.
  3. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    Awesome game and I hope the US get this game. Have not finished it yet but I see that there are many hours ahead of me with this game!!! RPG mechanics are awesome and story is pretty good so far. Tons of sidequests as well.
  4. Oct 31, 2011
    10
    Easily the best JRPG of this gen. The game shines by its great story, rhythm and huge content. The gameplay is deep and really different with each character, so if you get tired of it mid-game, you just have to change your team to try something different. The best thing in the game is probably how hassle free the progression is, so you get 80+ hours of game, not 80 hours of leveling and wandering.
  5. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    How does this masterpiece as of this writing have a 7.8 user score? It's these Xbot and Sony drone fanboys coming in and rating every Nintendo exclusive a 0 to try and make it so the morons who rely on Metacritic user scores don't buy the game. It's sickening. There isn't a single flaw I can think of in this game that isn't just nitpicking. It's the best JRPG ever made and a big-budget hardcore Wii game, the kind you haters SUPPOSEDLY wanted. Expand
  6. Apr 30, 2012
    9
    It's rare that I venture from my PC lately but I was in the mood for an RPG so I grabbed a copy of Xenoblade. First impression was uurrghhh my eyeballs!! Did I just turn on the Playstation 1? Believing the favourable reviews I pushed forward to see what all the fuss was about. The first thing I noticed was how responsive the controls were. The character moves quickly and it never seems tedious to get from point A to point B. The characters are likeable and the storyline is great. The setting for the adventure is interesting and fresh. After a few hours of play the graphical limitations faded away into non-importance and the will to advance took over. The beginning of the game is heavy with tutorials, a sign of the games complexity. Leveling up is natural with little grinding and there is a lot of enjoyment to be had by changing character equipment. Side quests don't require a trip back to town to cash in and there are many other thoughtful inclusions. Death is only a short set back, not a disasterous return to your last save. This game really brings me back to my teenage years playing FF7,8,9....A wonderful and worthwhile experience. Highly recommended. Expand
  7. Dec 4, 2011
    9
    The Japanese have a way with names they think up cool sounding words that mean nothing to anyone, translate them in to English where they still mean nothing to anyone. Xenoblade is one of those names. However as the old proverb says; â
  8. Apr 8, 2012
    10
    Worth the hype. This game is absolutely a blast and an impressive technical achievement on the Wii. The game features a solid dub and excellent cast of characters. The combat system is strong and the story is excellent. Buy it, love it.
  9. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Xenoblade Chronicles is the best (j)RPG within this century and one of the best RPGs ever created. The game offers great graphics, a wonderful soundtrack, top-notch gameplay, a huge and very well designed world and finally a superb story. It clealry takes the jRPG genre to the next level with lots of great features like real time combat and a 'save everywhere' function. Gamer heart, what do you want more? Expand
  10. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    I admit, I wanted to hate this game. I think Nintendo Exclusives are HIGHLY overrated as a whole. But this game is amazing. Character Design strongly reminiscent of tactics ogre and FF tactics. World Design that reminds me of Final Fantasy XI. Mech Designs straight from Xenogears. A wonderful and eclectic musical score. A gripping story... seriously, play for an hour or two and tell me you weren't surprised and a little heartbroken when a certain character meets a terrible fate. This game is amazing, in spite of the technical limitations imposed by the wii. Xenoblade chronicles has transcended it's medium to become a beautiful and engaging piece of art. Expand
  11. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Awesome game and I hope the US get this game. Have not finished it yet but I see that there are many hours ahead of me with this game!!! RPG mechanics are awesome and story is pretty good so far. Tons of sidequests as well. An amazing technical and creative achievement for the Wii. This game will blow your mind with its grand scale. Easily a candidate for one of the best JRPGs of all time! This game deserves an award for the music alone. Huge levels, interesting characters, over 450 quests, and at least 60+ hours of main story gameplay packed in this sucker. Easily the best JRPG of this gen. The game shines by its great story, rhythm and huge content. The gameplay is deep and really different with each character, so if you get tired of it mid-game, you just have to change your team to try something different. The best thing in the game is probably how hassle free the progression is, so you get 80+ hours of game, not 80 hours of leveling and wandering. Collapse
  12. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Hands down one of the best if not the best RPG i've played this generation. Tons of content, great characters and a storyline that gets you hooked right from the very start and never lets up all the way to its epic conclusion.
  13. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    This is the best RPG game i played in Wii never... big scenaries, epic scenes, beauty sotry :) Comments: In Spanish: http://lahabitaciondekazuki.es/?p=748
  14. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Expand
  15. Jul 9, 2012
    6
    RPG is my favorite genre and this is the first and the only RPG I would ever give under 7. Combat system tries to be creative but it feels really clumsy and boring. It's like D&D system without pause or character swap. You need to press right and left to select skills from the bar which is reaaally annoying in a long run. I mean why could they just have used skill wheel instead of skill bar. Enemies can be avoided by going around them even at situations where you're clearly supposed to kill them to get past them and sometimes they won't even react if you run directly towards them. You need to push down C and use all of the other buttons to adjust camera angle all the time because the game can't do it properly. Heck at one time I think I got some sort of "can't see a **** achievement in the middle of a battle. Game mechanics take forever to figure out, the tutorial doesn't feel like it's enough. Mainly because common things like stun, knockdown, etc. are named daze, topple or something else you've never seen used in any other game. Quests are "kill X parrots" style like in MMOs without any further depth or interesting storylines. As you get in higher level areas you just keep seeing same enemies with different names and in different colors. Characters are uninteresting and the story is mediocre. I know I could've spelled this all better and in better english but I honestly don't feel like I should waste any more time even thinking about this game. Expand
  16. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Huge landscapes, lots of side quests, beautiful music and graphics, party members' affinities. Took me about 120 hours to do a good amount of side quests and reach the ending, and there was still a lot I didn't complete. Still hoping Nintendo of America decides to release this gem of a game, which is specially a triumph for Japan-developed RPGs often criticized for being stagnant. Congratulations Monolithsoft, you did a damn well job developing this game, LOVED IT! Expand
  17. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Xenoblade is one of the greatest JRPGs ever made. It takes everything that we love in JRPGs, the epic stories, crazy characters, and unique art and merges it with all the latest positive aspects of modern RPGs and MMOs. Gone is the tedium and grinding of old-school RPGs, rather, the combat puts you in control, and the travel system helps keep things moving. Plus this game is open-world, so you get a fantastic story combined with free roaming. ++++ It's just a dang shame so few people will play this game, because at the risk of speaking blasphemy, it's superior to Xenogears and just about any other JRPG. A must-play if you like RPGs. Expand
  18. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    Do not hesitate, if you like JRPG's or simply want a game with 40-60 hours of quality graphics, music , excellent story and great combat, look no further. This is a wonderful swan song RPG for the Wii, as I suspect even the mighty Zelda game thats about to launch, ( Skyward Sword) is going to have trouble being better than this piece of gaming genius.

    Satisfying character development
    and crafting and trade systems, all a little overly complex, but you can muddle through those minor parts of the game to enjoy the overall picture of great and often funny voice acting, a surprisingly powerful opening scene ( no spoilers, suffice to say the love interest you initially think is forming may not go the way you thought it would ).

    Another note on the voice acting, it has been regionalised by UK actors for the UK market, and it sounds like they had a good time recording the audio, just another detail that adds to the excellence of this game.
    Xenoblade. It simply exudes quality and high standards from the moment you load up to the beautiful title screen and sit there for 4 minutes listening to the stunning theme played on piano.
    Expand
  19. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    I was severely disappointed when Nintendo initially ignored the fans who wanted this game so I paid a premium to import it from the United Kingdom and soft-modded my Wii to play it last year. And I did not regret it one bit. Now that it's available in America (via Nintendo's online store or exclusively at Gamestop), everyone has a chance to try it out. For anyone who's disappointed with the cookie-cutter dribble that's considered JRPGs these days, you need to try Xenoblade. It's the next evolution of the JRPG genre. You'll get a grand adventure, engaging and creative story, lovable characters and great music you've come to expect but what sets this game apart is the gameplay. It's very similar to a MMORPG. There's a huge, open world for you to explore (with a fantastic quick travel option) and there are tons of sidequests. The standard attacks during combat is automated (if you're close enough to an enemy). Special attacks are used by player commands and can have different effects depending on where the player is standing or what you're allies are doing, and rely on a cooldown feature rather than MP (or something similar). There are numerous other gameplay elements which provide a lot of depth to the gameplay. Unfortunately, because the combat is so similar to MMORPGs, it's nothing new or unique though it does work surprisingly well in an offline game. This is a long adventure and will take at least 60 hours to beat if you avoid doing any sidequests. But this is one of those games where it's very easy to get sidetracked so expect to spend a lot of time with this game. Visually, the game looks fantastic and in my opinion, is the best looking Wii game overall (yes, better than Mario Galaxy 2 or Skyward Sword). Not only is the art direction amazingly unique and imaginative but the scale of areas are simply breathtaking. Ultimately, if you own a Wii and regardless of whether or not you like JRPGs, you should give this game a try. I've been a fan of RPGs since the SNES days and this is simply one of the best games ever! Expand
  20. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    This game makes is the best JRPG to be released ever. Look no further, it is the ultimate JRPG game. This game has some stunning environments; it even makes the environments in Final fantasy HD games seem generic and boring. The combat system is genius, but it may require some patience to fully understand it. The story is very well written, and you will fall in love with the British voice overs. The game also features one of the best (if not the best) game music.

    This Game Is definitely the best JRPG of all time. It was worth buying a Wii just for this game.
    Expand
  21. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Easily the best jrpg this generation, anyone with a wii should get this game. Huge expansive enviroments that look gorgeous, decent story with great battle system. You will easily get 60 hours out of this game and more if you do all the sidequests. It's a shame it's not out in the US because this is a game that should be enjoyed by everyone.
  22. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    This Game Was Simply amazing and took me for ever to get the last master but it was worth it.

    This Game is just awesome, Wasted almost 100 hours of my life on this, ha ha but overall probably one of the best games we will see on the Wii.
  23. Apr 11, 2012
    8
    Fantastic game--the best JRPG I've played in years--but it isn't without its flaws. The first and most glaring thing everyone will notice is the graphics could be classified as PS2 quality at best. I would say later PS2 games like Final Fantasy XII and Xenosaga Episode III had better graphics. We've seen with Skyward Sword, Super Mario Galaxy, and others that the Wii is capable of more than this. However, when one sees just how huge this game is, Monolith can be forgiven for skimping on the graphics. I would guess the graphics were watered down because the game wouldn't fit on a single disc otherwise. There's tons of geography to explore, items to collect, and sidequests to complete, and that's only a fraction of things to do in Xenoblade. Even so, the game's graphics look like something from a ten year old game, and for that I cannot give it a perfect score. Gameplay wise, there are elements of both Japanese and Western RPGs, as well as MMORPGs. All three genres are blended together quite well, though the ability for your character to jump seems to be rather buggy (and generally unnecessary). I also have yet to hear any music that compares to the compositions of Yasunori Mitsuda or Yuki Kajiura in previous "Xeno" games. One more thing that may put some people off is the US localization was basically copy-pasted from the European release. The characters all speak with a UK dialect (everyone is called "mate", armor is spelled with a U, etc.) It didn't bother me, but some people may get uppity about it. Monolith and Nintendo get big kudos, however, for including the option to switch between English and Japanese voice tracks. Long story short, this game is hands down the best RPG on the Wii to date. It's a must-have for JRPG fans, and many western RPG fans will enjoy it as well. I know it'll keep me busy until The Last Story is released in June. :) Expand
  24. Apr 27, 2013
    3
    I can't believe this game got so many good reviews. I gave it a good 15 hours and I was very disappointed in the "EPIC, AMAZING, AWESOME JRPG". It's total trash. The battle system is excruciatingly boring and dumb. It's the same thing over and over and over. If I wanted a mindless button masher, I would have played God of War. The AI is useless. The quests are boring and dumb. The game...is boring and dumb. Maybe I just hate action rpg's but I just don't see it. It's mind blowing. I gave it a 3 for the soundtrack. Expand
  25. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Its one of the goty on all plataforms: he innoves in gameplay, is very long with NOT DLCS, greats and big scenaries... i hope this game have been released to america o htey can play this wonderfull game :D
  26. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    Story: 9/10
    While you can't understand the story, if you don't know japenese the story is basically told through the animation which is infact a very compelling one with a few plot twists.
    Graphics: 9/10
    Visually Xenoblade looks fantastic the areas are massively huge, it runs a solid frame rate, there are plenty of detail in the enviorments and animations. The main characters might look
    abit stiff but the facial expressions make up for it.
    Gameplay: 8.5/10
    In terms of gameplay you can use the classic controller or nunchuk, either way while the combat is very simplistic there are plenty of abilitys and weapons and armor to equip, in which you could actually customize your character in a way which is pretty cool. The combat mechanics may be a bit stiff at first but you'll get used to them pretty quick.
    Sound: 9/10
    A great soundtrack and awesome voice acting makes Xenoblade suck you in even more.
    Lasting Appeal: 10/10
    Xenoblade is a long LOOONG game, and even when you manage to finish the game you can still customize your character and just mess around in quests.
    The Verdict: 9.0 Amazing!
    (Actual Score: 9.1)

    Xenoblade is just downright amazing despite a few painfully minor flaws, we can only hope that someday it gets a us release but until then, you should definitely check it out if you love rpgs. If not you should still try it because who knows? You might love it.
    Expand
  27. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    AWESOME. best rpg in years. sure the graphics let it down, but not to the point that after a few hours of gameplay you will still notice. once you are used to the look you get to the absolutely compelling story... better than any movie i've watched this year, and i am 115 hours in and sure i've done over 300 of the side missions, but still 115 hours of gameplay and more to come. quality gaming.
  28. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Easily the best rpg this generation, maybe the best one ever.

    xenoblade tells an extremely engrossing story, with 7 main characters, and for a change, they are all likable. The world of xenoblade is extremely beautiful, made even better with stunning music,and there are some extremely pretty hidden area's to find, all of them giving you a large xp boost when you do. this leads into my
    only real problem, the game throws xp at you; if, like me, you enjoy doing a few, but not all of the side quests you will still find yourself feeling over powered for the majority of the game. The real challenge of the game is found in the unique enemies (i can't actually remember what the game calls them) scattered around the HUGE world, these monsters are a lot more challenging than the majority of the games bosses and reward you with rarer weapons and armour. all in all this is an excellent game, and even if the difficulty is slightly low, it still felt fulfilling once i completed my first play through which took 100 hours and 18 minutes, i will be playing a new game plus and intend to do everything, after finishing i could have picked it up and started again from the beginning, and i only didn't because i had already bought a new game to play after it. A must buy. Expand
  29. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    One of the best JRPGs of this generation, with a compelling story, great characters, an amazing soundtrack and over 100 hours of gameplay, this is definitely a must have.
  30. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Everything is in place to make you play one of the best rpg of all time. Monolith soft has done everything right The story is amazing, it drives you into it from the start. The soundtrack is astounding, one of the best music I've heard in my entire life. The gameplay mechanics are marvelous . The game lets you discover and reach everything you see even if it is a far little small island you can swim to it . Overall I give this game a 10 because this is a masterpiece bar none Expand
  31. Nov 28, 2011
    0
    Awesome game and I hope the US get this game. Have not finished it yet but I see that there are many hours ahead of me with this game!!! RPG mechanics are awesome and story is pretty good so far. Tons of sidequests as well. An amazing technical and creative achievement for the Wii. This game will blow your mind with its grand scale. Easily a candidate for one of the best JRPGs of all time! This game deserves an award for the music alone. Huge levels, interesting characters, over 450 quests, and at least 60+ hours of main story gameplay packed in this sucker. Easily the best JRPG of this gen. The game shines by its great story, rhythm and huge content. The gameplay is deep and really different with each character, so if you get tired of it mid-game, you just have to change your team to try something different. The best thing in the game is probably how hassle free the progression is, so you get 80+ hours of game, not 80 hours of leveling and wandering. Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. May 24, 2012
    80
    Xenoblade may not be the greatest JRPG ever, but it's certainly one of the best games on the Nintendo Wii.
  2. Apr 19, 2012
    100
    There's a lot more to recommend Xenoblade Chronicles. The dialogue, the humor, the artwork, the prophecy system, the music, the variety of environments, the character progression, the crafting system, the crazy quest density, the quest quality, the memorable characters, the collectibles, the secrets, and so on. This is a landmark achievement in the genre. As of its release, you can no longer talk about great RPGs, or maybe even great games, without also talking about Xenoblade Chronicles.
  3. Apr 12, 2012
    90
    Xenoblade Chronicles is the sort of precious jRPG that this recent console generation has sorely lacked. Despite some missteps and over-complication, the game stands out as one of the best in recent years. Xenoblade creates a world simply begging to be explored.