Xenoblade Chronicles Wii

Xenoblade Chronicles Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 965 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Xenoblade Chronicles throws you into a universe bursting with imagination. Take hold of an ancient sword that offers glimpses of the future, customise your characters extensively and discover a world where your relationships with others matter.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Apr 19, 2012
    100
    There's a lot more to recommend Xenoblade Chronicles. The dialogue, the humor, the artwork, the prophecy system, the music, the variety of environments, the character progression, the crafting system, the crazy quest density, the quest quality, the memorable characters, the collectibles, the secrets, and so on. This is a landmark achievement in the genre. As of its release, you can no longer talk about great RPGs, or maybe even great games, without also talking about Xenoblade Chronicles.
  2. Sep 13, 2011
    100
    What makes Monolith's game such a stellar experience is the fact that everything it does dramatically improves and innovates the RPG genre. Xenoblade gives the player a whole world to interact with and explore, removing boundaries and convenient game design choices for the sake of fun and immersion.
  3. Aug 23, 2011
    99
    A huge world that makes the most of the Wii with hundres of missions which provide tons of hours of play. Probably the best Japanese RPG in years, and hands down the best of this generation.
  4. Sep 6, 2011
    91
    The best JRPG of this generation. A great new start for everyone looking for many entertaing hours of deep gameplay. Probably the Wii's swan song, don't miss it.
  5. Sep 9, 2011
    90
    Although its visuals aren't surely groundbreaking, Xenoblade Chronicles proves to be an excellent jRPG that demonstrates just how much this genre has still to offer to its loyal fans.
  6. Aug 18, 2011
    90
    It's a potent return to form for Takahashi, then, a glowing comeback for the Japanese RPG, and an injection of creativity for some tired hardware. Xenoblade Chronicles manages to impress, enrich and, best of all, inspire wonder.
  7. Apr 7, 2012
    65
    Many are calling this the Japanese RPG of this console generation-if not of all time-but it's simply got too many glaring warts for me to embrace the experience on that level. Instead, I see it as a deeply flawed, tantalizing glimpse of what the Japanese RPG can potentially become in the coming generation.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 163
  1. May 23, 2015
    10
    Just amazing

    This is probably got the best story line of any game ever Its really sad for the fiftsixth character though thats my only
    Just amazing

    This is probably got the best story line of any game ever

    Its really sad for the fiftsixth character though thats my only down side

    But ill still give it a 10/10
    Expand
  2. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    An amazing technical and creative achievement for the Wii. This game will blow your mind with its grand scale. Easily a candidate for one ofAn amazing technical and creative achievement for the Wii. This game will blow your mind with its grand scale. Easily a candidate for one of the best JRPGs of all time! This game deserves an award for the music alone. Huge levels, interesting characters, over 450 quests, and at least 60+ hours of main story gameplay packed in this sucker. Collapse
  3. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    This game is definitely a step forward in the JRPG genre, it's huge, unique, and comes packed in with amazing music, story, and 200+ hours ofThis game is definitely a step forward in the JRPG genre, it's huge, unique, and comes packed in with amazing music, story, and 200+ hours of game play side quests. If I had to choose my game of last gen, it'd be this one for sure. Despite being a Wii game, this game is huge, the landscapes and environments are beautiful. Although the game starts out somewhat typically, once you get into the fourth area it starts to blow you away. The story was just heart wrenching at some points to me and I was hooked on it. Besides all that though, the Characters are relate able, the quests are fun and not required, the secret areas leave exploring fun to do, the collectibles, achievements, and even the crafting system will all keep you busy when doing some grinding, so it's not all that tedious unlike some other JRPG's are.
    Although the game is a masterpiece in story, music- (and practically everything else) It does have some setbacks. For those who like graphics, this game might not be the best on your eyes, but as I see it, the pros blow away this small con. Also, the AI is just horrible at times, sometimes they just fail at the wrong times unfortunately, but it's a rare occurrence. The characters.. although most are amazing, some just aren't as deep as you'd want- but hey, what game doesn't have this?

    Overall this game is top quality, it's fun, memorable, and definitely a must-have for RPG fans, if you can get a hold of it of course.
    Expand
  4. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Wish they would bring this to the US.. all i hear is how great this game is and we in the US are screwed because it wont be released here. IWish they would bring this to the US.. all i hear is how great this game is and we in the US are screwed because it wont be released here. I really think Nintendo is sabotaging the Wii this year here because they are focusing on the 3DS and the WiiU Expand
  5. May 8, 2012
    10
    I honestly can not give this game enough praise. Everything about this game is simply amazing, from the combat, to the story, to the rich,I honestly can not give this game enough praise. Everything about this game is simply amazing, from the combat, to the story, to the rich, colorful environments, to the amazing soundtrack. I have not even finished this game halfway and it is already in my list of favorite games of all time. The overworld is HUGE. (as big as the biggest island of japan, as it were.) there are lots of side quests to do, materials to gather to rebuild your town, a surprisingly deep level up and growth system, or hell, even just go out and explore the beautiful world. The only complaint that i can possibly think of is that because its on the wii, the graphics are as good as they could be, but the amazing art direction more than makes up for it. This, imo, is truly one of the greatest rpgs i have played in years. move over, skyrim! xenoblade has you beat! Expand
  6. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    Xenoblade Chronicles is the best JRPG I've played in years. Every aspect of the game shines, offering a unique and amazing experience.
    The
    Xenoblade Chronicles is the best JRPG I've played in years. Every aspect of the game shines, offering a unique and amazing experience.
    The gameplay is top notch, boasting a new and interesting combat system that never seems to get old, even 60+ hours into the game. The characters, too, are very well done. All of the characters in the story are interesting, well voiced, extremely British, and not annoying (except Riki, who is the embodiment of annoyance).
    The story of the game is great mainly due to the game's setting atop two massive titans called the Bionis and the Mechonis. It is full of plot twists and character development which keeps the it interesting.
    The very best aspect of this game is its music, which is nothing short of masterful. The very best memory I have of this game involves entering a grand and expansive location, only then to be greeted by the best song in game. Every track suits the scenery it accompanies.
    The only fault people have with this game are the graphics. However, as far as Wii games go, the graphics aren't half bad. When looking at things up close, they might seem to be rather ugly. However, when viewing giant new areas, the game looks gorgeous.
    Take all these aspects and combine them with a nonlinear and lengthy experience, and you get an excellent JRPG and one of the Wii's best games.
    9.4/10
    Expand
  7. Jul 27, 2014
    0
    this overrated tittle... The story isn't any special to me , good music , good graphic but worst fighting system in this kind of game ... itthis overrated tittle... The story isn't any special to me , good music , good graphic but worst fighting system in this kind of game ... it isn't worst game i ever played , but it just disappointed me because the game play really somehow boring and isn't fun to me Expand

See all 163 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.
  2. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Wii Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Wii Games Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the Wii.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2012
#1 Most Shared Wii Game of 2012