Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 433 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Xenoblade Chronicles throws you into a universe bursting with imagination. Take hold of an ancient sword that offers glimpses of the future, customise your characters extensively and discover a world where your relationships with others matter.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Apr 19, 2012
    100
    There's a lot more to recommend Xenoblade Chronicles. The dialogue, the humor, the artwork, the prophecy system, the music, the variety of environments, the character progression, the crafting system, the crazy quest density, the quest quality, the memorable characters, the collectibles, the secrets, and so on. This is a landmark achievement in the genre. As of its release, you can no longer talk about great RPGs, or maybe even great games, without also talking about Xenoblade Chronicles.
  2. Sep 13, 2011
    100
    What makes Monolith's game such a stellar experience is the fact that everything it does dramatically improves and innovates the RPG genre. Xenoblade gives the player a whole world to interact with and explore, removing boundaries and convenient game design choices for the sake of fun and immersion.
  3. Aug 23, 2011
    99
    A huge world that makes the most of the Wii with hundres of missions which provide tons of hours of play. Probably the best Japanese RPG in years, and hands down the best of this generation.
  4. Sep 6, 2011
    91
    The best JRPG of this generation. A great new start for everyone looking for many entertaing hours of deep gameplay. Probably the Wii's swan song, don't miss it.
  5. Sep 9, 2011
    90
    Although its visuals aren't surely groundbreaking, Xenoblade Chronicles proves to be an excellent jRPG that demonstrates just how much this genre has still to offer to its loyal fans.
  6. Aug 18, 2011
    90
    It's a potent return to form for Takahashi, then, a glowing comeback for the Japanese RPG, and an injection of creativity for some tired hardware. Xenoblade Chronicles manages to impress, enrich and, best of all, inspire wonder.
  7. Apr 7, 2012
    65
    Many are calling this the Japanese RPG of this console generation-if not of all time-but it's simply got too many glaring warts for me to embrace the experience on that level. Instead, I see it as a deeply flawed, tantalizing glimpse of what the Japanese RPG can potentially become in the coming generation.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 118
  1. Jan 14, 2013
    10
    Xenoblade is the greatest RPG of this generation and one of the best games on the Nintendo Wii . An epic adventure, beauty and there is still plenty of magic and fantasy. I hope we'll see more from this game in the future. Expand
  2. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    An amazing technical and creative achievement for the Wii. This game will blow your mind with its grand scale. Easily a candidate for one of the best JRPGs of all time! This game deserves an award for the music alone. Huge levels, interesting characters, over 450 quests, and at least 60+ hours of main story gameplay packed in this sucker. Collapse
  3. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    To this day I am simply dumbfounded by how impressive this game's open world is. Contrary to the "corridorization" of recent RPGs, Xenoblade Chronicles opts to immerse the player in a beautifully designed world.

    Oh, it also has one of the best soundtracks to ever grace this medium.
    Expand
  4. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest wii games and an automatic classic gem. This game hands down is one of the most creative,fun,interesting rpgs in a while. I wont go into to much detail but if you love rpg games or want a reason to boot up your wii again this is it. Buy this game to show Japanese Game Companies that we want more things localized. We almost didn't get this game and that would have been a shame for people to miss out on such an amazing title. Expand
  5. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    This game makes is the best JRPG to be released ever. Look no further, it is the ultimate JRPG game. This game has some stunning environments; it even makes the environments in Final fantasy HD games seem generic and boring. The combat system is genius, but it may require some patience to fully understand it. The story is very well written, and you will fall in love with the British voice overs. The game also features one of the best (if not the best) game music.

    This Game Is definitely the best JRPG of all time. It was worth buying a Wii just for this game.
    Expand
  6. Jun 25, 2012
    9
    Graphically, the game looks terrible. Otherwise, there is a LOT to love here, so be sure to check this game out if you are looking for a great RPG experience. Expand
  7. Jul 27, 2014
    0
    this overrated tittle... The story isn't any special to me , good music , good graphic but worst fighting system in this kind of game ... it isn't worst game i ever played , but it just disappointed me because the game play really somehow boring and isn't fun to me Expand

See all 118 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.
  2. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Wii Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Wii Games Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the Wii.