Xenoblade Chronicles Wii

Xenoblade Chronicles Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 999 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Xenoblade Chronicles throws you into a universe bursting with imagination. Take hold of an ancient sword that offers glimpses of the future, customise your characters extensively and discover a world where your relationships with others matter.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Apr 19, 2012
    100
    There's a lot more to recommend Xenoblade Chronicles. The dialogue, the humor, the artwork, the prophecy system, the music, the variety of environments, the character progression, the crafting system, the crazy quest density, the quest quality, the memorable characters, the collectibles, the secrets, and so on. This is a landmark achievement in the genre. As of its release, you can no longer talk about great RPGs, or maybe even great games, without also talking about Xenoblade Chronicles.
  2. Sep 13, 2011
    100
    What makes Monolith's game such a stellar experience is the fact that everything it does dramatically improves and innovates the RPG genre. Xenoblade gives the player a whole world to interact with and explore, removing boundaries and convenient game design choices for the sake of fun and immersion.
  3. Aug 23, 2011
    99
    A huge world that makes the most of the Wii with hundres of missions which provide tons of hours of play. Probably the best Japanese RPG in years, and hands down the best of this generation.
  4. Sep 6, 2011
    91
    The best JRPG of this generation. A great new start for everyone looking for many entertaing hours of deep gameplay. Probably the Wii's swan song, don't miss it.
  5. Sep 9, 2011
    90
    Although its visuals aren't surely groundbreaking, Xenoblade Chronicles proves to be an excellent jRPG that demonstrates just how much this genre has still to offer to its loyal fans.
  6. Aug 18, 2011
    90
    It's a potent return to form for Takahashi, then, a glowing comeback for the Japanese RPG, and an injection of creativity for some tired hardware. Xenoblade Chronicles manages to impress, enrich and, best of all, inspire wonder.
  7. Apr 7, 2012
    65
    Many are calling this the Japanese RPG of this console generation-if not of all time-but it's simply got too many glaring warts for me to embrace the experience on that level. Instead, I see it as a deeply flawed, tantalizing glimpse of what the Japanese RPG can potentially become in the coming generation.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 162
  1. Jun 29, 2015
    10
    This game actually made me think, which was a refresher for an industry filled with "Shoot some stuff and win," and "DARK! EDGY! EXPLOSIONS!"This game actually made me think, which was a refresher for an industry filled with "Shoot some stuff and win," and "DARK! EDGY! EXPLOSIONS!" and that's just the beginning. I recommend playing this without knowing anything that happens, as it makes the game more than a game. It makes it an experience. While, yes, the game did get a bit dark at times, but it never felt like they were trying to emphasize it. Every plot twist had my jaw hanging open for about five minutes, except one, because I just knew that it was going to happen. The gameplay is near flawless, and there were minimal, if any, glitches to be had. All the environments are gorgeous, and every area had something different. Overall, if you enjoy a great story, solid gameplay, or JRPGs in general, I recommend it with every ounce of my soul. Expand
  2. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    An amazing technical and creative achievement for the Wii. This game will blow your mind with its grand scale. Easily a candidate for one ofAn amazing technical and creative achievement for the Wii. This game will blow your mind with its grand scale. Easily a candidate for one of the best JRPGs of all time! This game deserves an award for the music alone. Huge levels, interesting characters, over 450 quests, and at least 60+ hours of main story gameplay packed in this sucker. Expand
  3. May 20, 2017
    10
    A masterpiece, an absolute gem on a console that isn't the most powerful. It is one of the most beautiful games I've ever played and it feels massive.
  4. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Little late to the party on this review. I hated my Wii up until playing this game. Even now I can say its the only game I truly enjoyed onLittle late to the party on this review. I hated my Wii up until playing this game. Even now I can say its the only game I truly enjoyed on the system. Even being on such terrible hardware, they graphic direction made it one of the most beautiful games I played last generation. Couple that with an amazing story, voiced by probably the best voice acting of last gen and its just a great journey. That's not even mentioning the gameplay, customization and best in class soundtrack. I couldn't say enough good things about this game if I tried. Right up there with the Mass Effect trilogy and original Bioshock for my top game of the 360/PS3/Wii generation. Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    One of the biggest masterpiece of Nintendo Wii. This JRPG has the new essence of how to develop a work of art with respect a role games. WithOne of the biggest masterpiece of Nintendo Wii. This JRPG has the new essence of how to develop a work of art with respect a role games. With a timeless story, gameplay and sound, Monolith Soft achieves the perfect balance in a generation to forget with relation to the JRPG. Expand
  6. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    Play the game for 2-4 hours, if you're not hooked then, then the game is not for you. This is an amazing game, really feels like a JRPG fromPlay the game for 2-4 hours, if you're not hooked then, then the game is not for you. This is an amazing game, really feels like a JRPG from the 90's, and somehow Monolith Soft managed to make the game exactly as they wanted to, without Nintendo intervention (not spoiling anything!)

    Short review, amazing game, really well designed battle system, great plot, and overall you're getting one of the most well thought out games I have ever seen. The whole world just comes to life in this game, and every location feels like a real place, that has some real importance. Plus the boss fights in this game are just amazing.

    However if you don't get hooked withing 4 hours, put it down and never look back. Why? While the story is amazing, if you don't like the start, you probably won't like the rest of it. Plus there is a lot of needless walking in this game. Honestly they could have cut 20 hours out of the game just by introducing a motorcycle or something. It's just too long of a game, it could have been compressed into 40 hours no problem.

    That said, this is still a 9/10, it's one of the best RPG's which I have ever played. It really feels like a 90's JRPG, and without spoiling anything........there is blood....in a Nintendo game.........
    Expand
  7. Jul 27, 2014
    0
    this overrated tittle... The story isn't any special to me , good music , good graphic but worst fighting system in this kind of game ... itthis overrated tittle... The story isn't any special to me , good music , good graphic but worst fighting system in this kind of game ... it isn't worst game i ever played , but it just disappointed me because the game play really somehow boring and isn't fun to me Expand

See all 162 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.
  2. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Wii Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Wii Games Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the Wii.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2012
#1 Most Shared Wii Game of 2012