Xenoblade Chronicles Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1102 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Xenoblade Chronicles throws you into a universe bursting with imagination. Take hold of an ancient sword that offers glimpses of the future, customise your characters extensively and discover a world where your relationships with others matter.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Xenoblade Chronicles Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Apr 19, 2012
    100
    There's a lot more to recommend Xenoblade Chronicles. The dialogue, the humor, the artwork, the prophecy system, the music, the variety of environments, the character progression, the crafting system, the crazy quest density, the quest quality, the memorable characters, the collectibles, the secrets, and so on. This is a landmark achievement in the genre. As of its release, you can no longer talk about great RPGs, or maybe even great games, without also talking about Xenoblade Chronicles.
  2. Sep 13, 2011
    100
    What makes Monolith's game such a stellar experience is the fact that everything it does dramatically improves and innovates the RPG genre. Xenoblade gives the player a whole world to interact with and explore, removing boundaries and convenient game design choices for the sake of fun and immersion.
  3. Aug 23, 2011
    99
    A huge world that makes the most of the Wii with hundres of missions which provide tons of hours of play. Probably the best Japanese RPG in years, and hands down the best of this generation.
  4. Sep 6, 2011
    91
    The best JRPG of this generation. A great new start for everyone looking for many entertaing hours of deep gameplay. Probably the Wii's swan song, don't miss it.
  5. Sep 9, 2011
    90
    Although its visuals aren't surely groundbreaking, Xenoblade Chronicles proves to be an excellent jRPG that demonstrates just how much this genre has still to offer to its loyal fans.
  6. Aug 18, 2011
    90
    It's a potent return to form for Takahashi, then, a glowing comeback for the Japanese RPG, and an injection of creativity for some tired hardware. Xenoblade Chronicles manages to impress, enrich and, best of all, inspire wonder.
  7. Apr 7, 2012
    65
    Many are calling this the Japanese RPG of this console generation-if not of all time-but it's simply got too many glaring warts for me to embrace the experience on that level. Instead, I see it as a deeply flawed, tantalizing glimpse of what the Japanese RPG can potentially become in the coming generation.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 174
  1. Jul 22, 2015
    10
    Xenoblade Chronicles is, simply, a work of art. Throughout the story, the player is situated in an awe-inspiring world full of secretXenoblade Chronicles is, simply, a work of art. Throughout the story, the player is situated in an awe-inspiring world full of secret landmarks, "alive" NPCs with which the player can interact, and a constantly building, powerful storyline. The battle system starts off with a simple way to introduce a player to using "arts" (abilities/moves), but gets more complex and strategic, as well as becoming more fun, even when fighting the simple enemies encountered throughout the environment. The quests system is not very well implemented in such an epic JRPG, but, overall, the fantasy world allows the player to accept every quest and automatically reap the rewards for completion, even if one has no idea that they completed a quest, or, it is possible to ignore quests entirely. This freedom of action, plus the amazing story which never slows down combine to make an unbelievably impressive and incredibly fun game, as well as a very fleshed out world for the player to enjoy. Expand
  2. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    An amazing technical and creative achievement for the Wii. This game will blow your mind with its grand scale. Easily a candidate for one ofAn amazing technical and creative achievement for the Wii. This game will blow your mind with its grand scale. Easily a candidate for one of the best JRPGs of all time! This game deserves an award for the music alone. Huge levels, interesting characters, over 450 quests, and at least 60+ hours of main story gameplay packed in this sucker. Expand
  3. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    This is the best RPG of the generation, Japanese or western. Xenoblade has amazingly immersive environments, the best soundtrack of theThis is the best RPG of the generation, Japanese or western. Xenoblade has amazingly immersive environments, the best soundtrack of the generation, great story and characters whom you can actually relate to, spot on combat system and a high replay value. Adventure takes easily 100 hours and more if you aim to do anything. I've played games like Skyrim and Skyward Sword, but those games feel embarrassing compared to this. If you are not die hard hater of anything that comes from Japan, get this. And even if you were, still get it, it may well change your mind. Expand
  4. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Wish they would bring this to the US.. all i hear is how great this game is and we in the US are screwed because it wont be released here. IWish they would bring this to the US.. all i hear is how great this game is and we in the US are screwed because it wont be released here. I really think Nintendo is sabotaging the Wii this year here because they are focusing on the 3DS and the WiiU Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    One of the biggest masterpiece of Nintendo Wii. This JRPG has the new essence of how to develop a work of art with respect a role games. WithOne of the biggest masterpiece of Nintendo Wii. This JRPG has the new essence of how to develop a work of art with respect a role games. With a timeless story, gameplay and sound, Monolith Soft achieves the perfect balance in a generation to forget with relation to the JRPG. Expand
  6. Jun 25, 2012
    9
    Graphically, the game looks terrible. Otherwise, there is a LOT to love here, so be sure to check this game out if you are looking for a greatGraphically, the game looks terrible. Otherwise, there is a LOT to love here, so be sure to check this game out if you are looking for a great RPG experience. Expand
  7. Jul 27, 2014
    0
    this overrated tittle... The story isn't any special to me , good music , good graphic but worst fighting system in this kind of game ... itthis overrated tittle... The story isn't any special to me , good music , good graphic but worst fighting system in this kind of game ... it isn't worst game i ever played , but it just disappointed me because the game play really somehow boring and isn't fun to me Expand

See all 174 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.
  2. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Wii Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Wii Games Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the Wii.

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2012
1
#1 Most Shared Wii Game of 2012