• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Nov 24, 2009
  • Also On: PC
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 54
  2. Negative: 24 out of 54

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Lindsay
    Jan 8, 2010
    2
    I got this game for Christmas and not impressed with it at all. It does not work like it show on tv and it gives me the same workout to do over and over even if I say I want to do a different type of workout. It has no way of showing you the progress of your workout other than if you are moving the correct way. I want to see and feel the results with a workout and with this game I do not. I got this game for Christmas and not impressed with it at all. It does not work like it show on tv and it gives me the same workout to do over and over even if I say I want to do a different type of workout. It has no way of showing you the progress of your workout other than if you are moving the correct way. I want to see and feel the results with a workout and with this game I do not. If the slightest thing moves around you the camera picks that up and gives me a bad score as a mother of 3 trying to get all alone for a full hour never happens. I do not recommend this to anyone. Expand
  2. LoisF
    Dec 2, 2009
    9
    Video game console fitness program of the year! That
  3. CateS
    Jan 2, 2010
    5
    This game is impressive with the technology and being able to see yourself and scanning a profile of your body type though I found the workout to be VERY BORING! I was really looking forward to working out and having FUN like the box claims to do but in my opinion it was the complete opposite. During a 30 minute workout it had me do the same 4 or 5 steps over and over again, I had to shut This game is impressive with the technology and being able to see yourself and scanning a profile of your body type though I found the workout to be VERY BORING! I was really looking forward to working out and having FUN like the box claims to do but in my opinion it was the complete opposite. During a 30 minute workout it had me do the same 4 or 5 steps over and over again, I had to shut it off. I'm hoping I am just using it wrong so if anyone has any suggestions I'm all ears. Expand
  4. JackieB
    Jan 3, 2010
    8
    Just finished my first week with your shape - and no I am not a paid endorser I am a 24 year old bartender from NYC who got the game for Christmas from her boyfriend. I give the game 8 out of 10s so far and am sure it will increase with time. I considered myself in decent shape working on my feet, doing about 2 hours of pilates a week and one 5 mile jog every Sunday. The first 15 minutes Just finished my first week with your shape - and no I am not a paid endorser I am a 24 year old bartender from NYC who got the game for Christmas from her boyfriend. I give the game 8 out of 10s so far and am sure it will increase with time. I considered myself in decent shape working on my feet, doing about 2 hours of pilates a week and one 5 mile jog every Sunday. The first 15 minutes of this game kicked my @$$! The workouts are awesome and I think its so cool to see myself on the tv! I like how I can personalize it and make it my own and feel like I really do have Jenny McCartney as my personal trainer (I yell back at her!) Theres regular warm up exercises but then when you get into the specializing workouts I havent repeated an exercise yet. It incorporates alot of different styles and I was real excited to even see some yoga positions thrown into the workouts! I don't understand why anyone would say that its a waste of $80. This is a way better by than the wii fit ! Expand
  5. budS
    Jan 3, 2010
    0
    The biggest problem with these shill reviews is that it destroys the credibility of any authentic reviews. I have Your Shape. It is the worst $70 I have ever spent on a game. The controls don't work, the usability is terrible, and the music and talent is annoying. Do yourself a favor and get EA Sports Active.
  6. DebbieW
    Dec 30, 2009
    10
    I'm not from a marketing firm, I'm a consumer and I LOVE this product. It does everything it claims to do. It's very easy to use and mixes your routines up so you don't get bored. Some of the exercises are a bit hard for me, but, hey, I like a challenge and in the long run it pushes me to new levels. Love the game, would not hesitate to suggest it to a friend. Hubby I'm not from a marketing firm, I'm a consumer and I LOVE this product. It does everything it claims to do. It's very easy to use and mixes your routines up so you don't get bored. Some of the exercises are a bit hard for me, but, hey, I like a challenge and in the long run it pushes me to new levels. Love the game, would not hesitate to suggest it to a friend. Hubby loves it too!! Expand
  7. GregoryC
    Jan 15, 2010
    7
    I like this program. The camera works well. Do not have to worry about wiimotes etc.. If a problem with the camera does occur it does not interrupt the flow of the workout. The exercise routine can really make you sweat. Using weights and ball is real good addition. I have never done aerobics class style workouts before but I am enjoying these routines. My wife really likes it and uses it I like this program. The camera works well. Do not have to worry about wiimotes etc.. If a problem with the camera does occur it does not interrupt the flow of the workout. The exercise routine can really make you sweat. Using weights and ball is real good addition. I have never done aerobics class style workouts before but I am enjoying these routines. My wife really likes it and uses it to replace her aerobics class if she has missed it. A good companion to both EA active and Wii Fit; Your shape is overall more enjoyable to use and has less frustrating controls than both of these programs. Get rid of J. McCarthy and I would add a point to my score. Expand
  8. CourtneyM
    Jan 8, 2010
    3
    As interesting as it initially appeared as a concept, this game is remedial for anyone who exercises regularly, and boring. Did not keep my interest. I feel horrible about my disappointment, as my boyfriend shelled out about $70-$80 for it as a Christmas gift to me. Don't waste your money on this. It's not what it's cracked up to be, unfortunately.
  9. E
    Jan 8, 2010
    2
    Not good! This is way too expensive for what you get...a low quality camera that doesn't seem to work the way they say it does in the commercials. And I bought it because it says it will tell you HOW to correct your form. That does not happen. Were is the form correcting outline they show in the commercial? Oh, it doesn't exist. False advertising anyone? I also agree that there Not good! This is way too expensive for what you get...a low quality camera that doesn't seem to work the way they say it does in the commercials. And I bought it because it says it will tell you HOW to correct your form. That does not happen. Were is the form correcting outline they show in the commercial? Oh, it doesn't exist. False advertising anyone? I also agree that there are a lot of fake reviews from the company out there. Expand
  10. Miranda
    Feb 3, 2010
    8
    I was annoyed with the program at first because it constantly told me I was doing crap wrong that I was totally doing right. I fixed my lighting, bought some bright colored work out clothes, and have been scoring high ever since. So far all of my workouts have been pretty similar but I'm not going to complain. Within the first week I lost 5 pounds, an inch of my waist and half an I was annoyed with the program at first because it constantly told me I was doing crap wrong that I was totally doing right. I fixed my lighting, bought some bright colored work out clothes, and have been scoring high ever since. So far all of my workouts have been pretty similar but I'm not going to complain. Within the first week I lost 5 pounds, an inch of my waist and half an inch off my arms - and this program is the only change I've made in my daily routine (I'll eat healthy some day). I love that she schedules my workouts and what to focus on because without that I would probably have a lot more "no workout" days. Expand
  11. LaraB
    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    I
  12. DonnaK
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    The camera for the Wii, which comes with the game for an extra added bonus, is used to
  13. anonymous
    Dec 2, 2009
    9
    As a personal trainer I give this game a 9/10. If you're too shy, busy, or strapped for cash to enter a gym and get personal attention, this is the "game" for you. (It really is not a game, unless you consider "winning" becoming more attractive and healthy! No way to lose unless you give up) The game gauges your weight and body type and sets up recommendations for workouts, and you As a personal trainer I give this game a 9/10. If you're too shy, busy, or strapped for cash to enter a gym and get personal attention, this is the "game" for you. (It really is not a game, unless you consider "winning" becoming more attractive and healthy! No way to lose unless you give up) The game gauges your weight and body type and sets up recommendations for workouts, and you decide how much time and dedication you can put in. Since it's in the form of a "video game" you can get home, plug it in, turn it on, and in no time you're working out. It's really, really convenient. I will be recommending it to my clients who, due to the recession, have to quit going to the gym. It is in my opinion the best breakthrough in videogame technology. Expand
  14. AKL
    Jan 22, 2010
    3
    I am sooo disappointed in this game. Jenny McCarthy is on crack the whole time. I can't keep up with her, even when it "shows" me how to do the moves. I wish I read all the Real Reviews before buying it. The camera is delayed, therefore making it totally useless. I'm returning it on my next day off! Wii fit is so much better. I'll be sticking to that. What an utter I am sooo disappointed in this game. Jenny McCarthy is on crack the whole time. I can't keep up with her, even when it "shows" me how to do the moves. I wish I read all the Real Reviews before buying it. The camera is delayed, therefore making it totally useless. I'm returning it on my next day off! Wii fit is so much better. I'll be sticking to that. What an utter disappointment, not to mention joke. Expand
  15. Chelsea
    Jan 29, 2010
    7
    I am 25 years old...and trying to get in shape for my upcoming wedding. I have both wii active and I just bought Your Shape. I think Your Shape is great. I have been using it everyday for a week now...and I am seriously sore from it. I think that it definitely works. When I am doing it, I feel like I am taking a workout class that I could take at a gym, except I don't even have to I am 25 years old...and trying to get in shape for my upcoming wedding. I have both wii active and I just bought Your Shape. I think Your Shape is great. I have been using it everyday for a week now...and I am seriously sore from it. I think that it definitely works. When I am doing it, I feel like I am taking a workout class that I could take at a gym, except I don't even have to leave my apartment. I will say that if you are not someone active prior to using this game, that it would be or could be hard to keep up with. All and all I would and have recomended this to my friends. I personally like it better than wii active.....I feel like it makes me work and sweat more. Expand
  16. MaiseyD
    Dec 1, 2009
    9
    She
  17. ChasL
    Dec 15, 2009
    1
    Horrible, horrible game and waste of money. But Ubisoft's PR firm is working overtime, I see. All of these glowing reviews is from a shill; you can believe me now or after you've shelled out $80.
  18. RegularJoe
    Dec 18, 2009
    0
    I agree with Chas L, these user comments are obviously fake. Who would write these kinds of things? They're clearly from a PR firm. Don't buy this Your Shape junk. Get EA Sports Active, a game that has actually been received well by the game-reviewing media.
  19. EllieS
    Dec 22, 2009
    1
    I agree totally with Regular Joe and Chas L - this game is not good at all! It is repetitive and boring, so after only 30 minutes I never wanted to use it again. I would definitely not recommend it as it is a waste of money!
  20. ReneM
    Dec 22, 2009
    8
    Your Shape isn
  21. caroll
    Dec 28, 2009
    9
    I have to eat my hat, i have trashed exercise games for years, but i finally found something that works. I just need to find the time to fully apply myself and get the full benefits. Sadly wii do not sell time.
  22. zueb
    Dec 31, 2009
    1
    I bought this hoping it was be of help with my form. The camera doesn't capture your exact movement, and is VERY delayed. The actual excersizes are good for only a warm up or cardio. There are no actual "excersizes" The only thing worth anything on this game is the yoga section, and even that is very repetitive. Dont buy it...you'll get more out of it if you get up and take a walk!
  23. JyrandaV
    Nov 29, 2009
    8
    This just came out about 5 days ago, I had read up on it with little to no review available online so I took a gamble and glad I did. First thing first, if you buy this, make sure you have a big area to move around. You need to be about 8 to 10 feet away from the tv and need close to 8 feet in width to move around in some of the exercises. The camera is very easy to install, plug it in, This just came out about 5 days ago, I had read up on it with little to no review available online so I took a gamble and glad I did. First thing first, if you buy this, make sure you have a big area to move around. You need to be about 8 to 10 feet away from the tv and need close to 8 feet in width to move around in some of the exercises. The camera is very easy to install, plug it in, turn the WII on and put in the cd. First thing to say, I have the WII sport active that I love, except some of those exercise are a pain to do with the cord between the controllers and the resistance band could offer more resistance (I had others so I just switched it). I plan on using both games and may purchase (unless santa buys it for me) the 2nd part of the sport active series. The Your Shape is true to it's word, you only use the remote to select your profile and activity level for the day. After that, you put the remote to the side and only use it if you need to pause or to view the tutorial on the exercise. It's kind of spooky at first to actually see yourself and your living room on the tv screen and the game is quite good at letting you know if you are doing the exercise right or not. If you raise your arms to high or don't lower them enough it will tell you. The only negative things I can say on this game is that you do not see how to do the exercise till it jumps into it and then you have to reach over to the remote to activate the tutorial. I think a way they could have made this game more user friend would have been that the first time the exercise is perform by the player, that it showed you the tutorial right away. That and that you need to have a big enough room to use this game unlike the other exercise games though I haven't had a chance to try all of them yet. Expand
  24. [anonymous]
    Dec 23, 2009
    8
    ea sports active is garbage. obviously the below "reviewers" haven't played the game. when you experience the interactivity between yourself and jenny it's not so "awful." it's a decent game.
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Your Shape is more of a straight-up workout tool that you can use in unisons with a personal trainer, or going to the gym.
  2. Your Shape featuring Jenny McCarthy is a decent title, but it's in dire need of a shot in the arm. [Jan 2010, p.87]
  3. 50
    The included camera is a great idea, but Your Shape is loaded with lame workouts that probably won't get you off the couch.