Zack & Wiki: Quest for Barbaros' Treasure Wii

  • Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Oct 23, 2007
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 119
  2. Negative: 2 out of 119
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnnyM.
    Nov 4, 2007
    9
    Beautifully effective art style; engaging, addictive gameplay; lots of fun. Don't be afraid of the difficulty level if you're a parent, this game is a lot of fun for adults on their own but offers a great opportunity for parents to share a video game with their child. About as perfect of a Wii game there is.
  2. ErlendT.
    Jan 27, 2008
    10
    A gem of a game that reminds me of the old point & click adventure games. Truly clever puzzles and brilliant use of the wii remote. I wish more people would buy this game.
  3. RobG.
    Mar 14, 2008
    10
    Innovative, brilliant, addictive. There is nothing else out there like this.
  4. Sep 11, 2011
    10
    This competes only with Cave Story as the Best Game of all time. You must buy it. No renting. Go away once you've read this sentence buy it. You must buy it now. The puzzles are Supreme. The Characters personalities are very distinct and the story in the end is intriguing. This game is defenitly the best game of all time. Go. Now. Buy. It. NOW...
  5. DanielR.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    Incredible puzzles and the biggest fun since Metroid Prime 3 on the wii.
  6. DonnyL.
    Oct 27, 2007
    9
    I have beat alot of this game probably 3/4 through. and i'm planning on beating the entire game with no hints and no continues. puzzles get pretty tricky - although the game looks very child orientated - it's way too hard for lil kids. thats why its not a 10 out of ten 10. this game challenges you to think outside the box. all i can say is play this game get and beat level 3 I have beat alot of this game probably 3/4 through. and i'm planning on beating the entire game with no hints and no continues. puzzles get pretty tricky - although the game looks very child orientated - it's way too hard for lil kids. thats why its not a 10 out of ten 10. this game challenges you to think outside the box. all i can say is play this game get and beat level 3 before you make an impression and choose to overlook the gameplay mechanics Expand
  7. ahbear
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    Fantastic. Cleverly designed puzzles. This is one of the rare Wii games that shines.
  8. MattD.
    Oct 30, 2007
    9
    Finally, a great game that caters to the Wii's strengths. Even more unexpected is the fact that it's a great game that Nintendo didn't make! Zack & Wiki feels like a crazy marriage between Zelda's puzzles and Warioware's clever use of the wii-remote. Highly recommended.
  9. JoeS.
    Sep 21, 2007
    10
    Better than cake. A must buy for Wii.
  10. AndrewC.
    Jul 8, 2008
    9
    I must have missed a memo somewhere that said how AWSOME this game would be. I have seen it many times in Stores and online but ignored it as a childish simplistic game. I could not have been more wrong. This game is alot of fun. The puzzles are unique and colorful. It is hard to describe a game like this. It probably is not for everyone, but recently this games price has been $20. It is I must have missed a memo somewhere that said how AWSOME this game would be. I have seen it many times in Stores and online but ignored it as a childish simplistic game. I could not have been more wrong. This game is alot of fun. The puzzles are unique and colorful. It is hard to describe a game like this. It probably is not for everyone, but recently this games price has been $20. It is worth every penny!I think a wide range of ages can enjoy this. I am in college and some of the early puzzles stumped me. Summary - Pleasant Surprise! Expand
  11. scottw
    Aug 1, 2009
    10
    Don't let the childish characters or cartoonish graphics fool you. This game rapidly becomes a challenge for adults. My wife is constantly saying "What am I supposed to do now?", and I am always responding "Think about, what tools, opportunities and challenges do you see?". (what if you break the stick, put it in the fire to make a torch and then go into the cave?) This is a GREAT Don't let the childish characters or cartoonish graphics fool you. This game rapidly becomes a challenge for adults. My wife is constantly saying "What am I supposed to do now?", and I am always responding "Think about, what tools, opportunities and challenges do you see?". (what if you break the stick, put it in the fire to make a torch and then go into the cave?) This is a GREAT GAME. The first couple of tutorial levels will not impress you, but by the time you get to the 5th or 6th screen, you will be pleasantly surprised and challenged. And to top it off, the game has a great sense of humor. It's been a long time since I laughed out loud at a video game. I buy all my games used on Ebay, but if none were available used, I would not hesitate to pay full retail for this game, it Expand
  12. JonathanM.
    Nov 4, 2007
    10
    This product is what I purchased a Wii for - easy to pick up and difficult to put down, i can honestly say that you won't regret purchasing this one. Supporting Zack and Wiki despite it's weird name and strange humor is almost a true gamers duty. You don't believe me - do a rental at least. (this one was comparable to old Sierra point and clicks or Goblins if you can This product is what I purchased a Wii for - easy to pick up and difficult to put down, i can honestly say that you won't regret purchasing this one. Supporting Zack and Wiki despite it's weird name and strange humor is almost a true gamers duty. You don't believe me - do a rental at least. (this one was comparable to old Sierra point and clicks or Goblins if you can remember that one). Expand
  13. HavenL.
    Nov 4, 2007
    10
    This game is amazing. The puzzles range from absurd to ingenious, and it's some of the most polished group gaming I've had in years. Everyone considering it should buy it, especially at only $40.
  14. AlexL.
    Dec 24, 2007
    10
    This game is fun! My 9yr and 5 yr old sons have been playing this the past week and they love it. The level design is very imaginative with beautiful artwork, sound, and cutscenes, and makes good use of the Wii remote as you pull levers, saw/drill/hammer things, turn a crank,grab stuff, sweep -- lots of variety. The puzzles are also clever but not frustrating; The game is too hard for my This game is fun! My 9yr and 5 yr old sons have been playing this the past week and they love it. The level design is very imaginative with beautiful artwork, sound, and cutscenes, and makes good use of the Wii remote as you pull levers, saw/drill/hammer things, turn a crank,grab stuff, sweep -- lots of variety. The puzzles are also clever but not frustrating; The game is too hard for my 5 yr old to play by himself but the 9 yr old has been able to figure it out, although they had to ask for hints a few times. Even the way you ask for hints is well done. They give you a small visual clue and text hint about what you need to do next. The quality and polish is as good or better than the nintendo games. This is the first 3rd party Wii game that I can rate highly since Elebits came out last year. For pure family fun for preteen boys, our top 5 Wii games right now are Super Mario Galaxy (Nintendo), Lego Star Wars (Lucas Arts), Zack and Wiki (Capcom), Super Paper Mario (Nintendo), and Elebits (Konami). Expand
  15. Mr.Anonymous
    Dec 31, 2007
    9
    I'm in a rush, so I'll make this short and sweet. A great puzzle game for all of those older folks out there! The gameplay might be a bit challenging for the younger audience (Which this game cries out to), but still solid. The artwork is very nice, and once again cries out to the child, especially those who's parents actually listened to ratings on movies and game and did I'm in a rush, so I'll make this short and sweet. A great puzzle game for all of those older folks out there! The gameplay might be a bit challenging for the younger audience (Which this game cries out to), but still solid. The artwork is very nice, and once again cries out to the child, especially those who's parents actually listened to ratings on movies and game and did not buy nor see Pirates of the Carribean (ERSB and that stuff ratings, not critic ratings). First of all, Zack kind of misses the candy bar while eating it, and it's noticable. Secondly, the characters seem to phase through everything, especially Wiki. This is a great game that many people will cherish and adore as a solid addition to their library. No loose pixels included. 9.25! Expand
  16. AndrewK.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    The visuals, the mechanics, the characters simply rock. This game was made for the Wii, and the system needs more like this. I hope Capcom is making this an on-going franchise.
  17. EdgarB.
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    Great 3rd party Wii Game, could not be done on any other console. It perfectly masks the point and click part of the game, and makes you feel like your playing an adventure game, the puzzles are masked well, you don't think your solving a puzzle, you just need to know how to get to that spot, and use your enviroment to do so. the fact that you can solve each "puzzle" (more like Great 3rd party Wii Game, could not be done on any other console. It perfectly masks the point and click part of the game, and makes you feel like your playing an adventure game, the puzzles are masked well, you don't think your solving a puzzle, you just need to know how to get to that spot, and use your enviroment to do so. the fact that you can solve each "puzzle" (more like scenario) in different ways is also a plus! Everything in this game's presentation is great. Graphics/Music/Controls/Story. If you want 3rd party to make good Wii games, support this game! Expand
  18. UprightD.
    Oct 27, 2007
    9
    Awesome game overall. Some of the tools don't quite work the way one would expect them to, but it's not that big of a deal. The puzzles are fun to solve and the visuals are captivating!! If you own a Wii this title is a buyer.
  19. BenM.
    Oct 29, 2007
    9
    A very well thought out game. It kind of reminds me of a sophisticated version of the Lemmings. Highly recommended!
  20. MilesJ.
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    Read the reviews: it is hard to find a more critically well received game, and for great reason -- if you are a fan of the old Monkey Island games from Lucasarts, or the great Sierra games of the mid 90s, then this is a wonderful fix for your gaming needs. A fantastic use of the Wii remote, and genuine fun. Perhaps the best game on the Wii right now, certainly true if you are into Read the reviews: it is hard to find a more critically well received game, and for great reason -- if you are a fan of the old Monkey Island games from Lucasarts, or the great Sierra games of the mid 90s, then this is a wonderful fix for your gaming needs. A fantastic use of the Wii remote, and genuine fun. Perhaps the best game on the Wii right now, certainly true if you are into adventure games. Expand
  21. ShawnaP
    Apr 19, 2008
    9
    This game I would recommend. It is fun for the whole family. It has cute scenes, some challenging puzzles, and high entertainment. We purchsed it on sale and now believe that it is one of the better games for the wii. If you enjoy thinking outside the box, you will enjoy this. I would give it a ten but there is one downfall. If you are rythmically challenged like me, you will find the This game I would recommend. It is fun for the whole family. It has cute scenes, some challenging puzzles, and high entertainment. We purchsed it on sale and now believe that it is one of the better games for the wii. If you enjoy thinking outside the box, you will enjoy this. I would give it a ten but there is one downfall. If you are rythmically challenged like me, you will find the minigame with Bonelich next to impossible. However, he is not required for the game so you wont be missing out of too much. Expand
  22. BrandonJ.
    Apr 23, 2008
    10
    A perfect example of why Capcom is still one of the top video game developers around. These types of titles are what I and even Nintendo I think were aiming to provide with the Wii.
  23. DanL
    Nov 16, 2009
    10
    This is BY FAR my favorite Wii Game. I love the reviewers that complain about the graphics. You don't buy a Wii for graphics. You buy it for gameplay, and this game is the Wii at its challenging best. I'm SO sad to hear (and hoping they reconsider) that Capcom does not intend on making a Sequel. It has become a cult hit and I think a follow up would sell really well. This game This is BY FAR my favorite Wii Game. I love the reviewers that complain about the graphics. You don't buy a Wii for graphics. You buy it for gameplay, and this game is the Wii at its challenging best. I'm SO sad to hear (and hoping they reconsider) that Capcom does not intend on making a Sequel. It has become a cult hit and I think a follow up would sell really well. This game is perfection on the Wii! LOVE it!!! I recommend it to anyone who has a Wii. Challenging and fun! We play it over and over since there is no Zack and Wiki 2 yet. Expand
  24. JamesW.
    Feb 5, 2009
    10
    A travesty it didn't sell well, forget Okami. Every oozes charm and humour, and no game has been this hard without seeming unfair: you just feel stupid when you're stuck. The lack of saving during a level encourages you to really think hard about the solution, so no boring, game-ruining trial and error. You need this game.
  25. JoradT
    Apr 14, 2009
    9
    This game is fantastic. It's just geniunely fun to play. It offers a great challenge whilst at the same time you go through the whole game using a good amont of simple logic (for the exception of a couple of levels). The controls are innovative and interesting and the game will last you quite a while.
  26. MarcC.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    Another game that shows the strengths of the Wii. The unique motion controls and fun puzzles make this my new favorite, until Galaxy comes.
  27. GradyP.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    An overall amazing game. BUY IT RIGHT NOW!
  28. MichaelP.
    Dec 15, 2007
    10
    Really fantastic and innovative game. You guys say you are sick of cookie cutter nonsense, so go out and support new ideas! This game is a lot of fun and a great break from the endless stream of FPS we are getting
  29. LeeP.
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    The graphics, title, and box cover art might put off people who think they might be too old for the game but this could not be more farther from the truth. The game requires attention to detail as well as requiring the player to change their approach to problems. Extremely fun game that is very innovative game and makes great use of the Wii mote.
  30. AdamO.
    Dec 29, 2007
    9
    I always hated the point-and-click genre until Hotel Dusk came around, which brought me closer to liking it, so I bought Zack & Wiki. I then realized there was no game like it, and there aren't many other games on Wii make better use of the console. While not perfect, it is an excellent example of why the Wii is an excellent console, even if it's technically inferior to the I always hated the point-and-click genre until Hotel Dusk came around, which brought me closer to liking it, so I bought Zack & Wiki. I then realized there was no game like it, and there aren't many other games on Wii make better use of the console. While not perfect, it is an excellent example of why the Wii is an excellent console, even if it's technically inferior to the other next-generation systems. The graphics and setting are somewhat reminiscent of The Legend of Zelda: Wing Waker, with its own beautifully Japanese take on the world of pirates. But the real hook of this game is the Wii controls and puzzles. With your partner, Wiki, a yellow flying monkey, you can shake the Wii remote to turn animals into items to help solve puzzles, which shows just how uniquely this game forces you use the environment, My only problems with the game are that the puzzles become overwhelmingly hard, and the story is mediocre at best. Otherwise, along with Zelda, Galaxy, Paper Mario, Metroid, and Resident Evil 4, Zack & Wiki is another essential single-player experience in the Wii's library. Expand
  31. TWOODEE
    Oct 26, 2007
    9
    Thought the gestures aren't perfectly polished, the remaining package well than makes up for it. The amount of time solving the many different ways the puzzles are presented should merit the purchase alone. I love this game!
  32. IanT.
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    A gorgeous looking title that makes excellent use of the Wii's capabilities to a degree that few... very few titles have thus far. Ignore the goofy title and silly looking characters on the package and *buy* *this* *game*. An impressive reincarnation of the point and click adventure puzzler and a must have for any gamer. Yeah, you hardcore gamers too. There's little chance of A gorgeous looking title that makes excellent use of the Wii's capabilities to a degree that few... very few titles have thus far. Ignore the goofy title and silly looking characters on the package and *buy* *this* *game*. An impressive reincarnation of the point and click adventure puzzler and a must have for any gamer. Yeah, you hardcore gamers too. There's little chance of anybody calling this one soft or easy once you really get into the game, but it's all in an accessible and achievable format. The hidden gem of the Wii lineup thus far. Expand
  33. Paladinja
    Oct 28, 2007
    10
    OK, so I'm a capcom fanboy, its true and i wouldn't deny it if you threatened me with a near-sighted firing squad. That doesn't change the FACT that this game is PURE MAGIC! Seriously, I JUST started it and I'm already in love. Truly unique and with a very fresh sense of openness heretofore UNHEARD of in the puzzle genre, if you are a treasure hunter at heart this game OK, so I'm a capcom fanboy, its true and i wouldn't deny it if you threatened me with a near-sighted firing squad. That doesn't change the FACT that this game is PURE MAGIC! Seriously, I JUST started it and I'm already in love. Truly unique and with a very fresh sense of openness heretofore UNHEARD of in the puzzle genre, if you are a treasure hunter at heart this game is a dream come true, RIPE with tear-jerking old school capcom nods that can't stop & won't stop uhuh uhuh. Seriously, one of the first few levels has a WATERSLIDE with a huge underwater seamonster at the end, and you'll STILL ride it & die MORE THAN ONCE because it's just so darn FUN! If that alone doesn't make you want to buy a wii just to play this game, look down... you probably have a fork in you. (ya'done) Expand
  34. TedE.
    Jan 18, 2008
    8
    This is definitely a thinking man's (or woman's) game. Underneath the cutesy graphics and (occassionally grating) sound effects is one of the most challenging adventure/puzzle games around. There's no need to worry, though - The game is only difficult for people--like me--who refuse to use the Hints available in the game. My only complaint would be that some trial-and-error This is definitely a thinking man's (or woman's) game. Underneath the cutesy graphics and (occassionally grating) sound effects is one of the most challenging adventure/puzzle games around. There's no need to worry, though - The game is only difficult for people--like me--who refuse to use the Hints available in the game. My only complaint would be that some trial-and-error aspects, where death is pretty much unavoidable even when you are doing something seemingly logical at the time. Also, there isn't much of a story to go along with the gameplay. It's too bad this game isn't finding a wider audience. I think this would have been a perfect "Young Indiana Jones" game. Expand
  35. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    This game is so much fun, and it's an utter travesty that it does not have as much recognition as games like Super Mario Galaxy or Metroid Prime 3, as it stands right with them as some of the best games on the Wii. Full of absolutely amazing puzzles (seriously; some of the best in gaming), a very nice art style, great music and by far the best use of the Wii remote, Zack and Wiki is anThis game is so much fun, and it's an utter travesty that it does not have as much recognition as games like Super Mario Galaxy or Metroid Prime 3, as it stands right with them as some of the best games on the Wii. Full of absolutely amazing puzzles (seriously; some of the best in gaming), a very nice art style, great music and by far the best use of the Wii remote, Zack and Wiki is an adventure classic. Expand
  36. Jul 19, 2016
    9
    Zack & Wiki didn't sell very well and it's fairly unlikely that there'll ever be a sequel and that's a shame because it's a great game.

    First the game looks great for a 2007 Wii game with a very nice cartoon art style and animations, sure it's helped by the genre with small levels but it still took some nice developing skills at the time, specially given the fact that the game runs
    Zack & Wiki didn't sell very well and it's fairly unlikely that there'll ever be a sequel and that's a shame because it's a great game.

    First the game looks great for a 2007 Wii game with a very nice cartoon art style and animations, sure it's helped by the genre with small levels but it still took some nice developing skills at the time, specially given the fact that the game runs smoothly.

    But the most important thing is the gameplay and here it's really sweet with well thought puzzles, but always logical (you don't need to click on everything to find out the solution by luck), there's also a very good, natural and varied use of the motion controls. Point and click never seemed so active.

    Finally the story is very predictable, with very few dialogs and it's probably the worst part of the game, it will take something around 15 hours to finish game, far from the lying cover that guarantees 40 hours (a shame, specially that 15 hours is very honest for the genre).

    So in conclusion Zack and Wiki is a very good game if you want to put your brain to the test, the only better option I see is the Portal games (for the incredibly funny dialogs) and they're not available on Wii, so if you want a puzzle game and own this console go for it, just don't believe the cover, it's a big lie.
    Expand
  37. Jan 26, 2015
    10
    If you have a Wii or Wii U, this is a must have! This is the Wii-remote fully utilized. One of my absolute favorites!

    Pros:
    + Very Clever Puzzles
    + Wii-remote FULLY utilized
    + fun and memorable characters
    + superb level designs
    + tons of collectables
    + humorous
    + fully replayable

    Con:
    - not for the easily puzzled :P
  38. Sep 27, 2015
    9
    Don't be fooled by the infantile presentation. When you start this game, you'll feel like you've made a mistake by buying a game for babies. But the puzzles get really difficult really fast, and this game has some of the most clever puzzles I've seen. There's a level where you have to examine a lock and make a key of that shape... out of ice! If you stick with this game you'll find theDon't be fooled by the infantile presentation. When you start this game, you'll feel like you've made a mistake by buying a game for babies. But the puzzles get really difficult really fast, and this game has some of the most clever puzzles I've seen. There's a level where you have to examine a lock and make a key of that shape... out of ice! If you stick with this game you'll find the characters to be likable and the overall experience very satisfying. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#12 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
#39 Most Shared Wii Game of 2007
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. In the Wii's expansivve gutter of shoddy third-party ports and minigame garbage, Capcom is showing that it's possible to make something original and fun. [Nov 2007, p.148]
  2. Zack & Wiki is a delightful blend of the Wii's motion-sensing technology and challenging yet approachable puzzle design.
  3. 90
    One of those welcomed surprises – an unpredictably top-quality undertaking whose winning marriage of sometimes-genius environmental puzzles and beautiful graphics will suck you in. It also perfectly encapsulates what I always hope for but seldom see from third parties: an original Wii project that really makes the most of the console.