• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Oct 23, 2007
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 112 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 112
  2. Negative: 2 out of 112

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 1, 2013
    0
    The worst game I've ever played. I play video games to have fun and this "game" was the complete opposite of fun. I never once enjoyed playing it. It looks like a charming kids game with an anime style reminiscent of One Piece, but in actuality this game is aimed at older, more hardcore gamers. Each level is a giant puzzle, and it all looks very engaging at first. But when you dig into theThe worst game I've ever played. I play video games to have fun and this "game" was the complete opposite of fun. I never once enjoyed playing it. It looks like a charming kids game with an anime style reminiscent of One Piece, but in actuality this game is aimed at older, more hardcore gamers. Each level is a giant puzzle, and it all looks very engaging at first. But when you dig into the game all it does is make you angry that it was even made. Let's start with the controls, they're awful. First off you move around by pointing and clicking where you want to go and the objects you want to interact with on the screen. It's not an enjoyable method and all I could do was wish they would have let me use the nunchuck. In order to complete puzzles you have to deal with the games awful use of the Wii's motion controls. To keep it simple the motion controls are awkward and can be erratic in responsiveness. Now for the actual "gameplay". Completing levels is simple and mostly boring at first but quickly ramp up in difficulty and can be controller smashingly frustrating. This is mostly do to the horrible design choices that make the game feel like on big trial and error scenario. Puzzle games always require you to experiment with many wrong ideas before you can determine how a puzzle can be completed, but the problem with this is that the game punishes you for this. Mess up and you will quickly die and get sent back to the beginning of the level, or worse not die and just render the level un-winnable. This is especially frustrating if you've almost made your way through a level as a simple mistake will cause you to lose all your progress. There are ways to prevent having to restart a level in the form of tickets that can revive you shortly before you die, but even these are rendered useless in the later levels. For instance you've almost made your way through a level but didn't do one little thing at the beginning of the level and got yourself killed, the ticket is made useless and you'll have to restart the level anyway. In the later levels which are bigger, longer, and more complex, an simple mistake can mean redoing up to 30 minutes of progress. It's angering, heck the whole game seems like it's just a way to piss of gamers. Do yourself a favor and avoid this game. I take my reviews very seriously and the fact that I'm giving this a zero means you probably want to take my advice and make sure this game NEVER finds it's way anywhere near you or the people you care about. Unless of course you just like getting angry and playing garbage video games. Expand
  2. Sep 11, 2011
    10
    This competes only with Cave Story as the Best Game of all time. You must buy it. No renting. Go away once you've read this sentence buy it. You must buy it now. The puzzles are Supreme. The Characters personalities are very distinct and the story in the end is intriguing. This game is defenitly the best game of all time. Go. Now. Buy. It. NOW...
  3. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    This game is so much fun, and it's an utter travesty that it does not have as much recognition as games like Super Mario Galaxy or Metroid Prime 3, as it stands right with them as some of the best games on the Wii. Full of absolutely amazing puzzles (seriously; some of the best in gaming), a very nice art style, great music and by far the best use of the Wii remote, Zack and Wiki is anThis game is so much fun, and it's an utter travesty that it does not have as much recognition as games like Super Mario Galaxy or Metroid Prime 3, as it stands right with them as some of the best games on the Wii. Full of absolutely amazing puzzles (seriously; some of the best in gaming), a very nice art style, great music and by far the best use of the Wii remote, Zack and Wiki is an adventure classic. Expand
  4. Jan 26, 2015
    10
    If you have a Wii or Wii U, this is a must have! This is the Wii-remote fully utilized. One of my absolute favorites!

    Pros:
    + Very Clever Puzzles
    + Wii-remote FULLY utilized
    + fun and memorable characters
    + superb level designs
    + tons of collectables
    + humorous
    + fully replayable

    Con:
    - not for the easily puzzled :P
  5. Aug 19, 2010
    6
    The puzzles are truly fun and make the game worthy of much of its praise but I think most reviewers are ignoring all the incredibly annoying garbage between puzzles. This game also has the longest and most useless intro to any game I've played on the Wii. I also think the puzzles go from too easy to too hard a little too quickly.
  6. DanielR.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    Incredible puzzles and the biggest fun since Metroid Prime 3 on the wii.
  7. JohnnyM.
    Nov 4, 2007
    9
    Beautifully effective art style; engaging, addictive gameplay; lots of fun. Don't be afraid of the difficulty level if you're a parent, this game is a lot of fun for adults on their own but offers a great opportunity for parents to share a video game with their child. About as perfect of a Wii game there is.
  8. DonnyL.
    Oct 27, 2007
    9
    I have beat alot of this game probably 3/4 through. and i'm planning on beating the entire game with no hints and no continues. puzzles get pretty tricky - although the game looks very child orientated - it's way too hard for lil kids. thats why its not a 10 out of ten 10. this game challenges you to think outside the box. all i can say is play this game get and beat level 3 I have beat alot of this game probably 3/4 through. and i'm planning on beating the entire game with no hints and no continues. puzzles get pretty tricky - although the game looks very child orientated - it's way too hard for lil kids. thats why its not a 10 out of ten 10. this game challenges you to think outside the box. all i can say is play this game get and beat level 3 before you make an impression and choose to overlook the gameplay mechanics Expand
  9. ahbear
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    Fantastic. Cleverly designed puzzles. This is one of the rare Wii games that shines.
  10. MattD.
    Oct 30, 2007
    9
    Finally, a great game that caters to the Wii's strengths. Even more unexpected is the fact that it's a great game that Nintendo didn't make! Zack & Wiki feels like a crazy marriage between Zelda's puzzles and Warioware's clever use of the wii-remote. Highly recommended.
  11. JoeS.
    Sep 21, 2007
    10
    Better than cake. A must buy for Wii.
  12. Raahsnavj
    Jan 21, 2008
    7
    It is definately a rent first. I found a lot of the controls to be wonky, the repetitive animation and lack of options when it comes to playing the levels also holds it back. The fact you can finish the game in 10-15 hours if you're smart makes this a great rental. However, if you were (are) a huge fan of point click adventures from the old PC days, love puzzle games, and don't It is definately a rent first. I found a lot of the controls to be wonky, the repetitive animation and lack of options when it comes to playing the levels also holds it back. The fact you can finish the game in 10-15 hours if you're smart makes this a great rental. However, if you were (are) a huge fan of point click adventures from the old PC days, love puzzle games, and don't mind the kiddied down animation and story you can buy it outright. The rest of you should rent it though. Expand
  13. ErlendT.
    Jan 27, 2008
    10
    A gem of a game that reminds me of the old point & click adventure games. Truly clever puzzles and brilliant use of the wii remote. I wish more people would buy this game.
  14. TomD.
    Jan 30, 2008
    3
    Got this with high hopes based on the score I saw. Yes it does use the wii-mote but the slow pace and the puzzles were more an exercise in aggravating repetition than challenging game play. The point and click navigation is not the easiest way to move around and I just felt thoroughly bored by the experience.
  15. EricH.
    Jan 7, 2008
    5
    The reviews for this game were so overly full of praise that I bought the game without first renting. I warn you not to do the same. This game tries to be cute to the point of being annoyingly. The action sequence of shaking your bell to defeat any enemy just doesn't make any sense. The puzzles are neat. Nothing revolutionary, Although it was kind of cool to see this old school style The reviews for this game were so overly full of praise that I bought the game without first renting. I warn you not to do the same. This game tries to be cute to the point of being annoyingly. The action sequence of shaking your bell to defeat any enemy just doesn't make any sense. The puzzles are neat. Nothing revolutionary, Although it was kind of cool to see this old school style of gaming again. This game has no other redeeming value. But hey, I'm the exception here. So rent it; might be your favorite game ever. I hope so. Enjoy. Expand
  16. RobG.
    Mar 14, 2008
    10
    Innovative, brilliant, addictive. There is nothing else out there like this.
  17. AndrewC.
    Jul 8, 2008
    9
    I must have missed a memo somewhere that said how AWSOME this game would be. I have seen it many times in Stores and online but ignored it as a childish simplistic game. I could not have been more wrong. This game is alot of fun. The puzzles are unique and colorful. It is hard to describe a game like this. It probably is not for everyone, but recently this games price has been $20. It is I must have missed a memo somewhere that said how AWSOME this game would be. I have seen it many times in Stores and online but ignored it as a childish simplistic game. I could not have been more wrong. This game is alot of fun. The puzzles are unique and colorful. It is hard to describe a game like this. It probably is not for everyone, but recently this games price has been $20. It is worth every penny!I think a wide range of ages can enjoy this. I am in college and some of the early puzzles stumped me. Summary - Pleasant Surprise! Expand
  18. scottw
    Aug 1, 2009
    10
    Don't let the childish characters or cartoonish graphics fool you. This game rapidly becomes a challenge for adults. My wife is constantly saying "What am I supposed to do now?", and I am always responding "Think about, what tools, opportunities and challenges do you see?". (what if you break the stick, put it in the fire to make a torch and then go into the cave?) This is a GREAT Don't let the childish characters or cartoonish graphics fool you. This game rapidly becomes a challenge for adults. My wife is constantly saying "What am I supposed to do now?", and I am always responding "Think about, what tools, opportunities and challenges do you see?". (what if you break the stick, put it in the fire to make a torch and then go into the cave?) This is a GREAT GAME. The first couple of tutorial levels will not impress you, but by the time you get to the 5th or 6th screen, you will be pleasantly surprised and challenged. And to top it off, the game has a great sense of humor. It's been a long time since I laughed out loud at a video game. I buy all my games used on Ebay, but if none were available used, I would not hesitate to pay full retail for this game, it Expand
  19. JonathanM.
    Nov 4, 2007
    10
    This product is what I purchased a Wii for - easy to pick up and difficult to put down, i can honestly say that you won't regret purchasing this one. Supporting Zack and Wiki despite it's weird name and strange humor is almost a true gamers duty. You don't believe me - do a rental at least. (this one was comparable to old Sierra point and clicks or Goblins if you can This product is what I purchased a Wii for - easy to pick up and difficult to put down, i can honestly say that you won't regret purchasing this one. Supporting Zack and Wiki despite it's weird name and strange humor is almost a true gamers duty. You don't believe me - do a rental at least. (this one was comparable to old Sierra point and clicks or Goblins if you can remember that one). Expand
  20. HavenL.
    Nov 4, 2007
    10
    This game is amazing. The puzzles range from absurd to ingenious, and it's some of the most polished group gaming I've had in years. Everyone considering it should buy it, especially at only $40.
  21. AlexL.
    Dec 24, 2007
    10
    This game is fun! My 9yr and 5 yr old sons have been playing this the past week and they love it. The level design is very imaginative with beautiful artwork, sound, and cutscenes, and makes good use of the Wii remote as you pull levers, saw/drill/hammer things, turn a crank,grab stuff, sweep -- lots of variety. The puzzles are also clever but not frustrating; The game is too hard for my This game is fun! My 9yr and 5 yr old sons have been playing this the past week and they love it. The level design is very imaginative with beautiful artwork, sound, and cutscenes, and makes good use of the Wii remote as you pull levers, saw/drill/hammer things, turn a crank,grab stuff, sweep -- lots of variety. The puzzles are also clever but not frustrating; The game is too hard for my 5 yr old to play by himself but the 9 yr old has been able to figure it out, although they had to ask for hints a few times. Even the way you ask for hints is well done. They give you a small visual clue and text hint about what you need to do next. The quality and polish is as good or better than the nintendo games. This is the first 3rd party Wii game that I can rate highly since Elebits came out last year. For pure family fun for preteen boys, our top 5 Wii games right now are Super Mario Galaxy (Nintendo), Lego Star Wars (Lucas Arts), Zack and Wiki (Capcom), Super Paper Mario (Nintendo), and Elebits (Konami). Expand
  22. Mr.Anonymous
    Dec 31, 2007
    9
    I'm in a rush, so I'll make this short and sweet. A great puzzle game for all of those older folks out there! The gameplay might be a bit challenging for the younger audience (Which this game cries out to), but still solid. The artwork is very nice, and once again cries out to the child, especially those who's parents actually listened to ratings on movies and game and did I'm in a rush, so I'll make this short and sweet. A great puzzle game for all of those older folks out there! The gameplay might be a bit challenging for the younger audience (Which this game cries out to), but still solid. The artwork is very nice, and once again cries out to the child, especially those who's parents actually listened to ratings on movies and game and did not buy nor see Pirates of the Carribean (ERSB and that stuff ratings, not critic ratings). First of all, Zack kind of misses the candy bar while eating it, and it's noticable. Secondly, the characters seem to phase through everything, especially Wiki. This is a great game that many people will cherish and adore as a solid addition to their library. No loose pixels included. 9.25! Expand
  23. AndrewK.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    The visuals, the mechanics, the characters simply rock. This game was made for the Wii, and the system needs more like this. I hope Capcom is making this an on-going franchise.
  24. EdgarB.
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    Great 3rd party Wii Game, could not be done on any other console. It perfectly masks the point and click part of the game, and makes you feel like your playing an adventure game, the puzzles are masked well, you don't think your solving a puzzle, you just need to know how to get to that spot, and use your enviroment to do so. the fact that you can solve each "puzzle" (more like Great 3rd party Wii Game, could not be done on any other console. It perfectly masks the point and click part of the game, and makes you feel like your playing an adventure game, the puzzles are masked well, you don't think your solving a puzzle, you just need to know how to get to that spot, and use your enviroment to do so. the fact that you can solve each "puzzle" (more like scenario) in different ways is also a plus! Everything in this game's presentation is great. Graphics/Music/Controls/Story. If you want 3rd party to make good Wii games, support this game! Expand
  25. UprightD.
    Oct 27, 2007
    9
    Awesome game overall. Some of the tools don't quite work the way one would expect them to, but it's not that big of a deal. The puzzles are fun to solve and the visuals are captivating!! If you own a Wii this title is a buyer.
  26. BenM.
    Oct 29, 2007
    9
    A very well thought out game. It kind of reminds me of a sophisticated version of the Lemmings. Highly recommended!
  27. MilesJ.
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    Read the reviews: it is hard to find a more critically well received game, and for great reason -- if you are a fan of the old Monkey Island games from Lucasarts, or the great Sierra games of the mid 90s, then this is a wonderful fix for your gaming needs. A fantastic use of the Wii remote, and genuine fun. Perhaps the best game on the Wii right now, certainly true if you are into Read the reviews: it is hard to find a more critically well received game, and for great reason -- if you are a fan of the old Monkey Island games from Lucasarts, or the great Sierra games of the mid 90s, then this is a wonderful fix for your gaming needs. A fantastic use of the Wii remote, and genuine fun. Perhaps the best game on the Wii right now, certainly true if you are into adventure games. Expand
  28. SteveC.
    Feb 7, 2008
    7
    Nice game - similar to the SCUMM VM based classics, but broken down into small levels rather than big sprawling maps. This cuts down on the tedious journeys between areas but also limits the scope of each problem making the game far too easy to complete. The "Wii Remote" functionality doesn't add much other than requiring you to pull handles / turning keys etc. Bit of a Nice game - similar to the SCUMM VM based classics, but broken down into small levels rather than big sprawling maps. This cuts down on the tedious journeys between areas but also limits the scope of each problem making the game far too easy to complete. The "Wii Remote" functionality doesn't add much other than requiring you to pull handles / turning keys etc. Bit of a disappointment after all the high scoring reviews, but not bad all the same. Rent it for a weekend and you'll probably complete it. Expand
  29. ShawnaP
    Apr 19, 2008
    9
    This game I would recommend. It is fun for the whole family. It has cute scenes, some challenging puzzles, and high entertainment. We purchsed it on sale and now believe that it is one of the better games for the wii. If you enjoy thinking outside the box, you will enjoy this. I would give it a ten but there is one downfall. If you are rythmically challenged like me, you will find the This game I would recommend. It is fun for the whole family. It has cute scenes, some challenging puzzles, and high entertainment. We purchsed it on sale and now believe that it is one of the better games for the wii. If you enjoy thinking outside the box, you will enjoy this. I would give it a ten but there is one downfall. If you are rythmically challenged like me, you will find the minigame with Bonelich next to impossible. However, he is not required for the game so you wont be missing out of too much. Expand
  30. BrandonJ.
    Apr 23, 2008
    10
    A perfect example of why Capcom is still one of the top video game developers around. These types of titles are what I and even Nintendo I think were aiming to provide with the Wii.
  31. DanL
    Nov 16, 2009
    10
    This is BY FAR my favorite Wii Game. I love the reviewers that complain about the graphics. You don't buy a Wii for graphics. You buy it for gameplay, and this game is the Wii at its challenging best. I'm SO sad to hear (and hoping they reconsider) that Capcom does not intend on making a Sequel. It has become a cult hit and I think a follow up would sell really well. This game This is BY FAR my favorite Wii Game. I love the reviewers that complain about the graphics. You don't buy a Wii for graphics. You buy it for gameplay, and this game is the Wii at its challenging best. I'm SO sad to hear (and hoping they reconsider) that Capcom does not intend on making a Sequel. It has become a cult hit and I think a follow up would sell really well. This game is perfection on the Wii! LOVE it!!! I recommend it to anyone who has a Wii. Challenging and fun! We play it over and over since there is no Zack and Wiki 2 yet. Expand
  32. MatthewC
    Nov 30, 2009
    6
    A decent game which is probably better than most games on the Wii, but coming from and old school point and click adventure gamer, it doesnt compare. Ill give it that it is hard, but the puzzles are too random and not logical to the point where its trial and error. In otherwords, you have to die about 10 times before you can figure out what to do. Its not witty enough. The sounds are A decent game which is probably better than most games on the Wii, but coming from and old school point and click adventure gamer, it doesnt compare. Ill give it that it is hard, but the puzzles are too random and not logical to the point where its trial and error. In otherwords, you have to die about 10 times before you can figure out what to do. Its not witty enough. The sounds are APPALLING! The voices especially. It is the worst game for sounds i can possibly think of. I actually thought the graphics were fine for this type of game, some people pick on that. Expand
  33. JamesW.
    Feb 5, 2009
    10
    A travesty it didn't sell well, forget Okami. Every oozes charm and humour, and no game has been this hard without seeming unfair: you just feel stupid when you're stuck. The lack of saving during a level encourages you to really think hard about the solution, so no boring, game-ruining trial and error. You need this game.
  34. JoradT
    Apr 14, 2009
    9
    This game is fantastic. It's just geniunely fun to play. It offers a great challenge whilst at the same time you go through the whole game using a good amont of simple logic (for the exception of a couple of levels). The controls are innovative and interesting and the game will last you quite a while.
  35. MarcC.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    Another game that shows the strengths of the Wii. The unique motion controls and fun puzzles make this my new favorite, until Galaxy comes.
  36. GradyP.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    An overall amazing game. BUY IT RIGHT NOW!
  37. MichaelP.
    Dec 15, 2007
    10
    Really fantastic and innovative game. You guys say you are sick of cookie cutter nonsense, so go out and support new ideas! This game is a lot of fun and a great break from the endless stream of FPS we are getting
  38. LeeP.
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    The graphics, title, and box cover art might put off people who think they might be too old for the game but this could not be more farther from the truth. The game requires attention to detail as well as requiring the player to change their approach to problems. Extremely fun game that is very innovative game and makes great use of the Wii mote.
  39. AdamO.
    Dec 29, 2007
    9
    I always hated the point-and-click genre until Hotel Dusk came around, which brought me closer to liking it, so I bought Zack & Wiki. I then realized there was no game like it, and there aren't many other games on Wii make better use of the console. While not perfect, it is an excellent example of why the Wii is an excellent console, even if it's technically inferior to the I always hated the point-and-click genre until Hotel Dusk came around, which brought me closer to liking it, so I bought Zack & Wiki. I then realized there was no game like it, and there aren't many other games on Wii make better use of the console. While not perfect, it is an excellent example of why the Wii is an excellent console, even if it's technically inferior to the other next-generation systems. The graphics and setting are somewhat reminiscent of The Legend of Zelda: Wing Waker, with its own beautifully Japanese take on the world of pirates. But the real hook of this game is the Wii controls and puzzles. With your partner, Wiki, a yellow flying monkey, you can shake the Wii remote to turn animals into items to help solve puzzles, which shows just how uniquely this game forces you use the environment, My only problems with the game are that the puzzles become overwhelmingly hard, and the story is mediocre at best. Otherwise, along with Zelda, Galaxy, Paper Mario, Metroid, and Resident Evil 4, Zack & Wiki is another essential single-player experience in the Wii's library. Expand
  40. TWOODEE
    Oct 26, 2007
    9
    Thought the gestures aren't perfectly polished, the remaining package well than makes up for it. The amount of time solving the many different ways the puzzles are presented should merit the purchase alone. I love this game!
  41. IanT.
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    A gorgeous looking title that makes excellent use of the Wii's capabilities to a degree that few... very few titles have thus far. Ignore the goofy title and silly looking characters on the package and *buy* *this* *game*. An impressive reincarnation of the point and click adventure puzzler and a must have for any gamer. Yeah, you hardcore gamers too. There's little chance of A gorgeous looking title that makes excellent use of the Wii's capabilities to a degree that few... very few titles have thus far. Ignore the goofy title and silly looking characters on the package and *buy* *this* *game*. An impressive reincarnation of the point and click adventure puzzler and a must have for any gamer. Yeah, you hardcore gamers too. There's little chance of anybody calling this one soft or easy once you really get into the game, but it's all in an accessible and achievable format. The hidden gem of the Wii lineup thus far. Expand
  42. Paladinja
    Oct 28, 2007
    10
    OK, so I'm a capcom fanboy, its true and i wouldn't deny it if you threatened me with a near-sighted firing squad. That doesn't change the FACT that this game is PURE MAGIC! Seriously, I JUST started it and I'm already in love. Truly unique and with a very fresh sense of openness heretofore UNHEARD of in the puzzle genre, if you are a treasure hunter at heart this game OK, so I'm a capcom fanboy, its true and i wouldn't deny it if you threatened me with a near-sighted firing squad. That doesn't change the FACT that this game is PURE MAGIC! Seriously, I JUST started it and I'm already in love. Truly unique and with a very fresh sense of openness heretofore UNHEARD of in the puzzle genre, if you are a treasure hunter at heart this game is a dream come true, RIPE with tear-jerking old school capcom nods that can't stop & won't stop uhuh uhuh. Seriously, one of the first few levels has a WATERSLIDE with a huge underwater seamonster at the end, and you'll STILL ride it & die MORE THAN ONCE because it's just so darn FUN! If that alone doesn't make you want to buy a wii just to play this game, look down... you probably have a fork in you. (ya'done) Expand
  43. TedE.
    Jan 18, 2008
    8
    This is definitely a thinking man's (or woman's) game. Underneath the cutesy graphics and (occassionally grating) sound effects is one of the most challenging adventure/puzzle games around. There's no need to worry, though - The game is only difficult for people--like me--who refuse to use the Hints available in the game. My only complaint would be that some trial-and-error This is definitely a thinking man's (or woman's) game. Underneath the cutesy graphics and (occassionally grating) sound effects is one of the most challenging adventure/puzzle games around. There's no need to worry, though - The game is only difficult for people--like me--who refuse to use the Hints available in the game. My only complaint would be that some trial-and-error aspects, where death is pretty much unavoidable even when you are doing something seemingly logical at the time. Also, there isn't much of a story to go along with the gameplay. It's too bad this game isn't finding a wider audience. I think this would have been a perfect "Young Indiana Jones" game. Expand
  44. JeffB.
    Oct 19, 2008
    5
    Way too high scores: this is an average game. Why? Graphics and sounds are good but navigation with the camera is not easy and since timing counts to succeed in many levels it's really bad. And the ugliest: why in hell can't we save anywhere on a level...it's soooo easy to die and it's so boring starting again from the beginning doing the same sequence of Way too high scores: this is an average game. Why? Graphics and sounds are good but navigation with the camera is not easy and since timing counts to succeed in many levels it's really bad. And the ugliest: why in hell can't we save anywhere on a level...it's soooo easy to die and it's so boring starting again from the beginning doing the same sequence of action...maybe it's a way to artificially extend the lenght of the game. They should patch it with maybe 2 saves a level...it would then earn an 8 in my book. Expand
  45. Mar 12, 2011
    7
    Zack and Wiki is one of the few "point-and-click- adventure games a la the early 1990s that has been released on a console. It would be a superb game if not for multiple annoyances that drastically detract from the overall experience.
    The graphics, sounds, and most importantly the puzzles are excellent. The puzzles hit the sweet spot of not being too easy or too esoteric, and most veteran
    Zack and Wiki is one of the few "point-and-click- adventure games a la the early 1990s that has been released on a console. It would be a superb game if not for multiple annoyances that drastically detract from the overall experience.
    The graphics, sounds, and most importantly the puzzles are excellent. The puzzles hit the sweet spot of not being too easy or too esoteric, and most veteran adventure game players should get by without needing any hints whatsoever. However Zack and Wiki suffers from 3 huge problems that bring down the score:
    1. Story - A non-existent story is not a problem in a game that does note contain emotive characters, but Zack and Wiki is full of colorful characters, lengthy cut scenes, villains, danger and intrigue. Yet nothing is done to advance the characters beyond blasse anime tropes. Either flesh out the characters, or just place the puzzles in disconnected rooms with a faceless protagonist and cut out the rest of the garbage.
    2. Death, saving, and dead ends - Dying in adventure games pretty well expired with the Space Quest series, and it hasn't been missed. But even in those games, while death was annoying the ability to save at any point meant it was only a setback of a few minutes of time. Dead ends, a situation where the game becomes impossible because a critical item was destroyed, has also been eliminated from modern adventure games and for good reason. Zack and Wiki tragically suffers from 2 problems: Puzzles that contain dead-ends (fortunately not many) and puzzles where death can occur suddenly, without warning, and without the ability to save. You can buy 'platinum tickets' which will revive you moments before death, but these cost money, and worse, the price of each successive ticket increases exponentially. I was very frugal with my tickets and I still ended up using a lot of them toward the later levels. Having to repeat 20-30 steps to get to the point where I died is inexcusable in a modern video game.
    3. Wii-mote usage. This is strangely one of the most praised features of the game yet is a big drawback. Items are used by waggling the Wiimote in the same manner as the item in question. The only problem is in many instances you simply cannot get the item to behave how you want it to. This is infuriating in time sensitive puzzles especially when they case death (see point #1). Since the actual usage of the item is generally straight forward, making us use the motion controls adds nothing to the game except frustration.

    The above 3 points should not take away from the actual level design, which is fantastic. It is tragic that such well crafted levels had to be shackled inside such awful restraints.
    Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. In the Wii's expansivve gutter of shoddy third-party ports and minigame garbage, Capcom is showing that it's possible to make something original and fun. [Nov 2007, p.148]
  2. Zack & Wiki is a delightful blend of the Wii's motion-sensing technology and challenging yet approachable puzzle design.
  3. 90
    One of those welcomed surprises – an unpredictably top-quality undertaking whose winning marriage of sometimes-genius environmental puzzles and beautiful graphics will suck you in. It also perfectly encapsulates what I always hope for but seldom see from third parties: an original Wii project that really makes the most of the console.