Zack & Wiki: Quest for Barbaros' Treasure Wii

  • Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Oct 23, 2007
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 119
  2. Negative: 2 out of 119
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 19, 2016
    9
    Zack & Wiki didn't sell very well and it's fairly unlikely that there'll ever be a sequel and that's a shame because it's a great game.

    First the game looks great for a 2007 Wii game with a very nice cartoon art style and animations, sure it's helped by the genre with small levels but it still took some nice developing skills at the time, specially given the fact that the game runs
    Zack & Wiki didn't sell very well and it's fairly unlikely that there'll ever be a sequel and that's a shame because it's a great game.

    First the game looks great for a 2007 Wii game with a very nice cartoon art style and animations, sure it's helped by the genre with small levels but it still took some nice developing skills at the time, specially given the fact that the game runs smoothly.

    But the most important thing is the gameplay and here it's really sweet with well thought puzzles, but always logical (you don't need to click on everything to find out the solution by luck), there's also a very good, natural and varied use of the motion controls. Point and click never seemed so active.

    Finally the story is very predictable, with very few dialogs and it's probably the worst part of the game, it will take something around 15 hours to finish game, far from the lying cover that guarantees 40 hours (a shame, specially that 15 hours is very honest for the genre).

    So in conclusion Zack and Wiki is a very good game if you want to put your brain to the test, the only better option I see is the Portal games (for the incredibly funny dialogs) and they're not available on Wii, so if you want a puzzle game and own this console go for it, just don't believe the cover, it's a big lie.
    Expand
  2. JohnnyM.
    Nov 4, 2007
    9
    Beautifully effective art style; engaging, addictive gameplay; lots of fun. Don't be afraid of the difficulty level if you're a parent, this game is a lot of fun for adults on their own but offers a great opportunity for parents to share a video game with their child. About as perfect of a Wii game there is.
  3. ErlendT.
    Jan 27, 2008
    10
    A gem of a game that reminds me of the old point & click adventure games. Truly clever puzzles and brilliant use of the wii remote. I wish more people would buy this game.
  4. RobG.
    Mar 14, 2008
    10
    Innovative, brilliant, addictive. There is nothing else out there like this.
  5. Aug 19, 2010
    6
    The puzzles are truly fun and make the game worthy of much of its praise but I think most reviewers are ignoring all the incredibly annoying garbage between puzzles. This game also has the longest and most useless intro to any game I've played on the Wii. I also think the puzzles go from too easy to too hard a little too quickly.
  6. Sep 11, 2011
    10
    This competes only with Cave Story as the Best Game of all time. You must buy it. No renting. Go away once you've read this sentence buy it. You must buy it now. The puzzles are Supreme. The Characters personalities are very distinct and the story in the end is intriguing. This game is defenitly the best game of all time. Go. Now. Buy. It. NOW...
  7. TomD.
    Jan 30, 2008
    3
    Got this with high hopes based on the score I saw. Yes it does use the wii-mote but the slow pace and the puzzles were more an exercise in aggravating repetition than challenging game play. The point and click navigation is not the easiest way to move around and I just felt thoroughly bored by the experience.
  8. Jun 1, 2013
    0
    The worst game I've ever played. I play video games to have fun and this "game" was the complete opposite of fun. I never once enjoyed playing it. It looks like a charming kids game with an anime style reminiscent of One Piece, but in actuality this game is aimed at older, more hardcore gamers. Each level is a giant puzzle, and it all looks very engaging at first. But when you dig into theThe worst game I've ever played. I play video games to have fun and this "game" was the complete opposite of fun. I never once enjoyed playing it. It looks like a charming kids game with an anime style reminiscent of One Piece, but in actuality this game is aimed at older, more hardcore gamers. Each level is a giant puzzle, and it all looks very engaging at first. But when you dig into the game all it does is make you angry that it was even made. Let's start with the controls, they're awful. First off you move around by pointing and clicking where you want to go and the objects you want to interact with on the screen. It's not an enjoyable method and all I could do was wish they would have let me use the nunchuck. In order to complete puzzles you have to deal with the games awful use of the Wii's motion controls. To keep it simple the motion controls are awkward and can be erratic in responsiveness. Now for the actual "gameplay". Completing levels is simple and mostly boring at first but quickly ramp up in difficulty and can be controller smashingly frustrating. This is mostly do to the horrible design choices that make the game feel like on big trial and error scenario. Puzzle games always require you to experiment with many wrong ideas before you can determine how a puzzle can be completed, but the problem with this is that the game punishes you for this. Mess up and you will quickly die and get sent back to the beginning of the level, or worse not die and just render the level un-winnable. This is especially frustrating if you've almost made your way through a level as a simple mistake will cause you to lose all your progress. There are ways to prevent having to restart a level in the form of tickets that can revive you shortly before you die, but even these are rendered useless in the later levels. For instance you've almost made your way through a level but didn't do one little thing at the beginning of the level and got yourself killed, the ticket is made useless and you'll have to restart the level anyway. In the later levels which are bigger, longer, and more complex, an simple mistake can mean redoing up to 30 minutes of progress. It's angering, heck the whole game seems like it's just a way to piss of gamers. Do yourself a favor and avoid this game. I take my reviews very seriously and the fact that I'm giving this a zero means you probably want to take my advice and make sure this game NEVER finds it's way anywhere near you or the people you care about. Unless of course you just like getting angry and playing garbage video games. Expand
  9. DanielR.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    Incredible puzzles and the biggest fun since Metroid Prime 3 on the wii.
  10. DonnyL.
    Oct 27, 2007
    9
    I have beat alot of this game probably 3/4 through. and i'm planning on beating the entire game with no hints and no continues. puzzles get pretty tricky - although the game looks very child orientated - it's way too hard for lil kids. thats why its not a 10 out of ten 10. this game challenges you to think outside the box. all i can say is play this game get and beat level 3 I have beat alot of this game probably 3/4 through. and i'm planning on beating the entire game with no hints and no continues. puzzles get pretty tricky - although the game looks very child orientated - it's way too hard for lil kids. thats why its not a 10 out of ten 10. this game challenges you to think outside the box. all i can say is play this game get and beat level 3 before you make an impression and choose to overlook the gameplay mechanics Expand
  11. ahbear
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    Fantastic. Cleverly designed puzzles. This is one of the rare Wii games that shines.
  12. MattD.
    Oct 30, 2007
    9
    Finally, a great game that caters to the Wii's strengths. Even more unexpected is the fact that it's a great game that Nintendo didn't make! Zack & Wiki feels like a crazy marriage between Zelda's puzzles and Warioware's clever use of the wii-remote. Highly recommended.
  13. JoeS.
    Sep 21, 2007
    10
    Better than cake. A must buy for Wii.
  14. Raahsnavj
    Jan 21, 2008
    7
    It is definately a rent first. I found a lot of the controls to be wonky, the repetitive animation and lack of options when it comes to playing the levels also holds it back. The fact you can finish the game in 10-15 hours if you're smart makes this a great rental. However, if you were (are) a huge fan of point click adventures from the old PC days, love puzzle games, and don't It is definately a rent first. I found a lot of the controls to be wonky, the repetitive animation and lack of options when it comes to playing the levels also holds it back. The fact you can finish the game in 10-15 hours if you're smart makes this a great rental. However, if you were (are) a huge fan of point click adventures from the old PC days, love puzzle games, and don't mind the kiddied down animation and story you can buy it outright. The rest of you should rent it though. Expand
  15. EricH.
    Jan 7, 2008
    5
    The reviews for this game were so overly full of praise that I bought the game without first renting. I warn you not to do the same. This game tries to be cute to the point of being annoyingly. The action sequence of shaking your bell to defeat any enemy just doesn't make any sense. The puzzles are neat. Nothing revolutionary, Although it was kind of cool to see this old school style The reviews for this game were so overly full of praise that I bought the game without first renting. I warn you not to do the same. This game tries to be cute to the point of being annoyingly. The action sequence of shaking your bell to defeat any enemy just doesn't make any sense. The puzzles are neat. Nothing revolutionary, Although it was kind of cool to see this old school style of gaming again. This game has no other redeeming value. But hey, I'm the exception here. So rent it; might be your favorite game ever. I hope so. Enjoy. Expand
  16. AndrewC.
    Jul 8, 2008
    9
    I must have missed a memo somewhere that said how AWSOME this game would be. I have seen it many times in Stores and online but ignored it as a childish simplistic game. I could not have been more wrong. This game is alot of fun. The puzzles are unique and colorful. It is hard to describe a game like this. It probably is not for everyone, but recently this games price has been $20. It is I must have missed a memo somewhere that said how AWSOME this game would be. I have seen it many times in Stores and online but ignored it as a childish simplistic game. I could not have been more wrong. This game is alot of fun. The puzzles are unique and colorful. It is hard to describe a game like this. It probably is not for everyone, but recently this games price has been $20. It is worth every penny!I think a wide range of ages can enjoy this. I am in college and some of the early puzzles stumped me. Summary - Pleasant Surprise! Expand
  17. scottw
    Aug 1, 2009
    10
    Don't let the childish characters or cartoonish graphics fool you. This game rapidly becomes a challenge for adults. My wife is constantly saying "What am I supposed to do now?", and I am always responding "Think about, what tools, opportunities and challenges do you see?". (what if you break the stick, put it in the fire to make a torch and then go into the cave?) This is a GREAT Don't let the childish characters or cartoonish graphics fool you. This game rapidly becomes a challenge for adults. My wife is constantly saying "What am I supposed to do now?", and I am always responding "Think about, what tools, opportunities and challenges do you see?". (what if you break the stick, put it in the fire to make a torch and then go into the cave?) This is a GREAT GAME. The first couple of tutorial levels will not impress you, but by the time you get to the 5th or 6th screen, you will be pleasantly surprised and challenged. And to top it off, the game has a great sense of humor. It's been a long time since I laughed out loud at a video game. I buy all my games used on Ebay, but if none were available used, I would not hesitate to pay full retail for this game, it Expand
  18. JonathanM.
    Nov 4, 2007
    10
    This product is what I purchased a Wii for - easy to pick up and difficult to put down, i can honestly say that you won't regret purchasing this one. Supporting Zack and Wiki despite it's weird name and strange humor is almost a true gamers duty. You don't believe me - do a rental at least. (this one was comparable to old Sierra point and clicks or Goblins if you can This product is what I purchased a Wii for - easy to pick up and difficult to put down, i can honestly say that you won't regret purchasing this one. Supporting Zack and Wiki despite it's weird name and strange humor is almost a true gamers duty. You don't believe me - do a rental at least. (this one was comparable to old Sierra point and clicks or Goblins if you can remember that one). Expand
  19. HavenL.
    Nov 4, 2007
    10
    This game is amazing. The puzzles range from absurd to ingenious, and it's some of the most polished group gaming I've had in years. Everyone considering it should buy it, especially at only $40.
  20. AlexL.
    Dec 24, 2007
    10
    This game is fun! My 9yr and 5 yr old sons have been playing this the past week and they love it. The level design is very imaginative with beautiful artwork, sound, and cutscenes, and makes good use of the Wii remote as you pull levers, saw/drill/hammer things, turn a crank,grab stuff, sweep -- lots of variety. The puzzles are also clever but not frustrating; The game is too hard for my This game is fun! My 9yr and 5 yr old sons have been playing this the past week and they love it. The level design is very imaginative with beautiful artwork, sound, and cutscenes, and makes good use of the Wii remote as you pull levers, saw/drill/hammer things, turn a crank,grab stuff, sweep -- lots of variety. The puzzles are also clever but not frustrating; The game is too hard for my 5 yr old to play by himself but the 9 yr old has been able to figure it out, although they had to ask for hints a few times. Even the way you ask for hints is well done. They give you a small visual clue and text hint about what you need to do next. The quality and polish is as good or better than the nintendo games. This is the first 3rd party Wii game that I can rate highly since Elebits came out last year. For pure family fun for preteen boys, our top 5 Wii games right now are Super Mario Galaxy (Nintendo), Lego Star Wars (Lucas Arts), Zack and Wiki (Capcom), Super Paper Mario (Nintendo), and Elebits (Konami). Expand
  21. Mr.Anonymous
    Dec 31, 2007
    9
    I'm in a rush, so I'll make this short and sweet. A great puzzle game for all of those older folks out there! The gameplay might be a bit challenging for the younger audience (Which this game cries out to), but still solid. The artwork is very nice, and once again cries out to the child, especially those who's parents actually listened to ratings on movies and game and did I'm in a rush, so I'll make this short and sweet. A great puzzle game for all of those older folks out there! The gameplay might be a bit challenging for the younger audience (Which this game cries out to), but still solid. The artwork is very nice, and once again cries out to the child, especially those who's parents actually listened to ratings on movies and game and did not buy nor see Pirates of the Carribean (ERSB and that stuff ratings, not critic ratings). First of all, Zack kind of misses the candy bar while eating it, and it's noticable. Secondly, the characters seem to phase through everything, especially Wiki. This is a great game that many people will cherish and adore as a solid addition to their library. No loose pixels included. 9.25! Expand
  22. AndrewK.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    The visuals, the mechanics, the characters simply rock. This game was made for the Wii, and the system needs more like this. I hope Capcom is making this an on-going franchise.
  23. EdgarB.
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    Great 3rd party Wii Game, could not be done on any other console. It perfectly masks the point and click part of the game, and makes you feel like your playing an adventure game, the puzzles are masked well, you don't think your solving a puzzle, you just need to know how to get to that spot, and use your enviroment to do so. the fact that you can solve each "puzzle" (more like Great 3rd party Wii Game, could not be done on any other console. It perfectly masks the point and click part of the game, and makes you feel like your playing an adventure game, the puzzles are masked well, you don't think your solving a puzzle, you just need to know how to get to that spot, and use your enviroment to do so. the fact that you can solve each "puzzle" (more like scenario) in different ways is also a plus! Everything in this game's presentation is great. Graphics/Music/Controls/Story. If you want 3rd party to make good Wii games, support this game! Expand
  24. UprightD.
    Oct 27, 2007
    9
    Awesome game overall. Some of the tools don't quite work the way one would expect them to, but it's not that big of a deal. The puzzles are fun to solve and the visuals are captivating!! If you own a Wii this title is a buyer.
  25. BenM.
    Oct 29, 2007
    9
    A very well thought out game. It kind of reminds me of a sophisticated version of the Lemmings. Highly recommended!
  26. MilesJ.
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    Read the reviews: it is hard to find a more critically well received game, and for great reason -- if you are a fan of the old Monkey Island games from Lucasarts, or the great Sierra games of the mid 90s, then this is a wonderful fix for your gaming needs. A fantastic use of the Wii remote, and genuine fun. Perhaps the best game on the Wii right now, certainly true if you are into Read the reviews: it is hard to find a more critically well received game, and for great reason -- if you are a fan of the old Monkey Island games from Lucasarts, or the great Sierra games of the mid 90s, then this is a wonderful fix for your gaming needs. A fantastic use of the Wii remote, and genuine fun. Perhaps the best game on the Wii right now, certainly true if you are into adventure games. Expand
  27. SteveC.
    Feb 7, 2008
    7
    Nice game - similar to the SCUMM VM based classics, but broken down into small levels rather than big sprawling maps. This cuts down on the tedious journeys between areas but also limits the scope of each problem making the game far too easy to complete. The "Wii Remote" functionality doesn't add much other than requiring you to pull handles / turning keys etc. Bit of a Nice game - similar to the SCUMM VM based classics, but broken down into small levels rather than big sprawling maps. This cuts down on the tedious journeys between areas but also limits the scope of each problem making the game far too easy to complete. The "Wii Remote" functionality doesn't add much other than requiring you to pull handles / turning keys etc. Bit of a disappointment after all the high scoring reviews, but not bad all the same. Rent it for a weekend and you'll probably complete it. Expand
  28. ShawnaP
    Apr 19, 2008
    9
    This game I would recommend. It is fun for the whole family. It has cute scenes, some challenging puzzles, and high entertainment. We purchsed it on sale and now believe that it is one of the better games for the wii. If you enjoy thinking outside the box, you will enjoy this. I would give it a ten but there is one downfall. If you are rythmically challenged like me, you will find the This game I would recommend. It is fun for the whole family. It has cute scenes, some challenging puzzles, and high entertainment. We purchsed it on sale and now believe that it is one of the better games for the wii. If you enjoy thinking outside the box, you will enjoy this. I would give it a ten but there is one downfall. If you are rythmically challenged like me, you will find the minigame with Bonelich next to impossible. However, he is not required for the game so you wont be missing out of too much. Expand
  29. BrandonJ.
    Apr 23, 2008
    10
    A perfect example of why Capcom is still one of the top video game developers around. These types of titles are what I and even Nintendo I think were aiming to provide with the Wii.
  30. DanL
    Nov 16, 2009
    10
    This is BY FAR my favorite Wii Game. I love the reviewers that complain about the graphics. You don't buy a Wii for graphics. You buy it for gameplay, and this game is the Wii at its challenging best. I'm SO sad to hear (and hoping they reconsider) that Capcom does not intend on making a Sequel. It has become a cult hit and I think a follow up would sell really well. This game This is BY FAR my favorite Wii Game. I love the reviewers that complain about the graphics. You don't buy a Wii for graphics. You buy it for gameplay, and this game is the Wii at its challenging best. I'm SO sad to hear (and hoping they reconsider) that Capcom does not intend on making a Sequel. It has become a cult hit and I think a follow up would sell really well. This game is perfection on the Wii! LOVE it!!! I recommend it to anyone who has a Wii. Challenging and fun! We play it over and over since there is no Zack and Wiki 2 yet. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#12 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
#44 Most Shared Wii Game of 2007
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. In the Wii's expansivve gutter of shoddy third-party ports and minigame garbage, Capcom is showing that it's possible to make something original and fun. [Nov 2007, p.148]
  2. Zack & Wiki is a delightful blend of the Wii's motion-sensing technology and challenging yet approachable puzzle design.
  3. 90
    One of those welcomed surprises – an unpredictably top-quality undertaking whose winning marriage of sometimes-genius environmental puzzles and beautiful graphics will suck you in. It also perfectly encapsulates what I always hope for but seldom see from third parties: an original Wii project that really makes the most of the console.