007 Legends Xbox 360

Metascore
45

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 49
  2. Negative: 32 out of 49
Buy On
  1. Nov 7, 2012
    65
    007 Legends may be a good game for the celebration of Bond's 50th Birthday, but after all it is too flawed to be recommended, not even for fans of the MI6 agent.
  2. Oct 27, 2012
    60
    007 Legends has lots of problems, on the gameplay and structural side, for being one competitor in this generation.
  3. It's nice that there's more content coming, but until it arrives this game literally has no ending.
  4. Oct 24, 2012
    70
    007 Legends is a game aimed squarely at fans, it has nods to the films and aficionados will be able to pick out the locations and characters with ease. It is far from a must own title for everyone, but on the whole it holds up as a solid title that is worth putting some time in to.
  5. Oct 24, 2012
    73
    It's not a dreadful game, but it's not a truly spectacular game either. It is a good game that caters well to celebrating Bond. Linking six of the Bond films into a game like 007 Legends is brilliant.
  6. Oct 23, 2012
    51
    Despite its promising source material, 007 Legends is just a forgettable action game.
  7. Oct 23, 2012
    60
    007 Legends isn't completely terrible; Bond fans could even enjoy it. But for every step forward it takes two steps back.
  8. Oct 22, 2012
    60
    007 Legends intends to recreate a mix between FPS and a stealth game, but it fails its aim. Multiplayer is instead really entertaining, especially with friends in a 4 players split-screen.
  9. Oct 21, 2012
    67
    007 Legends delivers some decent FPS action, giving you the chance to complete each mission using either stealth or "casual" approach. However, the single player campaign is too short and the weapons upgrade system is anything but awesome.
  10. Oct 18, 2012
    56
    The game is certainly fun, mind, and having the Bond license in there will make it all the more pleasurable for those who are longtime fans of the character, but I can't help feeling that, in the end, the game is a mass of wasted potential.
  11. Oct 18, 2012
    50
    007 Legends is more Call of Duty than a James Bond Game. Poor stealth gameplay and enemy AI, but some good classic stuff: four players split-screen multiplayer and health mode like Goldeneye 64.
  12. Oct 17, 2012
    50
    Bond's latest shooter is barely kept afloat throughout the five-hour-long campaign, but while it has a smattering of good ideas, they're buried beneath concepts so tired, you'll have a hard time caring. It's a game filled with occasional highs and frequent lows--and you'll be thrown between them so quickly and haphazardly that you'll be lucky to make it through 007 Legends without whiplash.
  13. 60
    Multiplayer is where the real action is...Here, stripped of its stealthy pretensions, 007 Legends is finally free to focus on the mindless but consistently enjoyable twitch action it does best.
  14. Oct 16, 2012
    69
    007 Legends lets us see Bond, but never actually be the suave, debonair, brash, and ultimately human British Secret Agent. Instead we are forced to watch as our generic agent shoots people in the face and then punches them in the sides for a few moments.
  15. Oct 16, 2012
    55
    I really wanted to love 007 Legends, given the source material they had to rely on, as well as how I had enjoyed the previous Bond games; however, at the end of the day I am left underwhelmed by the whole experience having played what I view as a average game at best.
User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 18
  2. Negative: 11 out of 18
  1. Oct 16, 2012
    2
    Don't believe the fake reviews - this is a really terrible game. The game mechanics are tired, the graphics suck, and it's extremelyDon't believe the fake reviews - this is a really terrible game. The game mechanics are tired, the graphics suck, and it's extremely disconcerting to "relive" Jame Bond legendary experiences.. that not only never even happened, but take place in the present and star Daniel Craig. 007 Legends is more aptly-titled "Alternate Universe James Bond in a cheap CoD/Punch-Out Clone". Skip it. Full Review »
  2. Oct 19, 2012
    2
    I was really looking forward to 007 Legends since I'm a huge fan of 007 both the films and the games. But unfortunately, 007 Legends wins theI was really looking forward to 007 Legends since I'm a huge fan of 007 both the films and the games. But unfortunately, 007 Legends wins the title of the greatest disappointment of 2012. First, Daniel Craig isn't even in the game (they only used his likeness, not his voice). Speaking of the voice acting, it's as dull and uninspired as the one they did back in the late nineties when voice acting was still something new in games. Like the actors couldn't care. I'm not the kind of guy who compares every single shooter with Call of Duty. But it's hard not to compare 007 Legends with COD since every single aspect of its gameplay is identical. The stealth is awkward and you won't care if the guards spot you since it's much easier to go Rambo on them. The boss battles are the most scripted moments I've ever seen in a game. They don't have any challenge or sense of threat. By the end of them, you can simply put down your controller and see how the AI does everything for you. Supposedly, 007 Legends is a tribute to 007 in film, but it's more like a messed mash-up. When there's an iconic moment from a movie you feel the developers said "Hey! here's an iconic moment, moving on to the next" so they won't let you enjoy it. Every mission is a very synthesized version of a movie. Because of that, they missed some key scenes in them (Bond's infiltration of Sanchez's boat in Licence to Kill) or they last too short (Goldfinger's Aston Martin chase lasts less than 20 seconds). The guy who played Bond didn't even bother in saying "Bond, James Bond" when he was supposed to. The game doesn't even finish. You're supposed to wait for the Skyfall DLC to see its ending, so if you don't have an online connection you missed it. It's very obvious 007 Legends had an extremely rushed development, lacked the passion the creators spoke about in the interviews and why did EON approved this piece of trash with 007 name on it is beyond me. Not even worth for the Torrent. Full Review »
  3. Nov 2, 2012
    3
    I am personally a fan of the 007-games. Spanning from Golden-eye on the N64, Golden-eye Reloaded for the Xbox 360, and my biggest dirty secretI am personally a fan of the 007-games. Spanning from Golden-eye on the N64, Golden-eye Reloaded for the Xbox 360, and my biggest dirty secret is 007: Blood Stone is probably my most favorite 007 game ever made. This time around for the 50th anniversary, this game falls short hard. It's over ambitious, there's no depth, flow to the games storyline, or even the way the games mechanics work out. Things are often "vague" when trying to solve puzzles for key-cracking, safe-cracking. The storyline is very lackluster at best. What makes 007: Legends seem like an utter failure is that it's feels pieced together with Scotch tape instead of Duct Tape. The storyline is, well, there isn't really one to follow. The mechanics of the game are buggy, and frustrating. And then the gameplay aspect is just downright frustrating. The enemies just keep coming at you, with what seems unlimited health, while you the player are made to suffer through this abomination. It's a failure on both the developers part, and the publishers part. This game isn't fun, but torture. I say that because, simply, you are driven through the most linear fps shooter with a swarm of frustrating enemies that keep coming over and over. The only satisfaction that you can take away from this game might possibly be that some of the "level" designs are cool. That, and maybe the split screen multi-player. But even, the $60 for just split-screen isn't worth it.

    If you want a good Bond game, this one won't do you justice. Skip it, and just wait for it to drop to bargain bin price in a few months. But, be warned, it's one frustrating game that tries to copy COD, and other successful FPS elements by slapping on arbitrary things that just make you wonder what was going on over at the publishing offices.
    Full Review »