Metascore
45

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 007 Legends features an original, overarching storyline that explores Bond's journey from a newly-minted secret agent to the most beloved, or hated, spy legend there has ever been. Players experience the conscience and gritty evolution of James Bond by tying together 5 classic Bond movie-inspired missions: Moonraker, On Her Majesty's Secret Service, Die Another Day, Licence to Kill, and Goldfinger. A 6th mission based on this year’s SKYFALL is available post-launch as DLC. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 49
  2. Negative: 32 out of 49
  1. Oct 16, 2012
    85
    007 Legends attempts to be a big, brassy tribute to 50 years of James Bond, but it ends up a little too ambitious for its own good, with a story that is more spectacle than substance and some new ideas that don't work together as well as they should. The multiplayer, however, is better than ever, and that alone should make this a must have for any 007 fan's collection.
  2. Nov 7, 2012
    65
    007 Legends may be a good game for the celebration of Bond's 50th Birthday, but after all it is too flawed to be recommended, not even for fans of the MI6 agent.
  3. 55
    I really wanted to love 007 Legends, given the source material they had to rely on, as well as how I had enjoyed the previous Bond games; however, at the end of the day I am left underwhelmed by the whole experience having played what I view as a average game at best.
  4. Nov 13, 2012
    42
    007 Legends absolutely reeks of a rush job. It may have the look (loosely) but carries with it none of the heart, soul or charm of the world's greatest secret agent.
  5. Oct 29, 2012
    40
    While having many movies of the Bond franchise to get inspiration from, 007 Legends wastes every possible chance to translate them in an entertaining gameplay and ultimately falls short.
  6. Oct 19, 2012
    40
    Simply put, 007 Legends is a trap: a poor, uninspired game touting the 007 license hoping nostalgic fans will shell out $60 expecting to relive some of their favorite franchise moments. Bond-lovers will be offended by story inaccuracies and barely recognizable action sequences, while shooter fans will grow bored of the lame level design, lack of variety, and out-of-context story lines.
  7. Oct 18, 2012
    20
    Reliving some of the most popular missions of 007 definitely has something appealing. But the end result, is, alas, an abomination. It's a terrible, dull, and sometimes plainly unplayable FPS which, when it tries to diversify its experience (stealth, espionage, chase sequences), just adds more frustration and annoyance.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 10 out of 16
  1. Oct 16, 2012
    8
    Will this take the title of greatest 007 game? A definite no. But it is a solid game worth a play especially if you're a Bond fan. This happens to be exactly what Eurocom and Activision are aiming at. It's does a nice job of tying Daniel Craig's version of James Bond to the previous interpretations of 007 by expanding, perhaps a little too liberally from time-to-time, on the themes, stories, and locales of some of the most iconic films in the series. As a lifelong gamer and Bond fan, I find can find the fun in this game without trying and will continue to enjoy what it offers. Games in general will always be compared to the successful leaders (whether commercially or critically) in their genre, so for all of the comparisons to CoD I say "What FPS isn't compared to those these days?" But further to that point, 007 Legends does a nice job of making the player feel like Craig's Bond - gritty, fast-paced, action oriented - and the style of this games suits that just fine.

    And for comparison's to one of my all time favorites, Goldeneye 007, I'll say this... That game did something rare in the gaming world; it changed the way we look at games, specifically FPS, and for those of us that are Bond fans we are simply all the more lucky that Goldeneye was the story chosen for that particular project and time. The most I can hope for in a Bond game is that it does justice to the character, not that it lives up to the legacy of Goldeneye 007. A legacy that over time we've probably all glamorized a bit too much...
    Expand
  2. Oct 16, 2012
    7
    Not the greatest game made, nor is it the best Bond game ever made. That said, this isn't a complete throw away like some reviewers are saying. I do like how they've had to re-imagine some of the older movies to fit with modern times. The multiplayer could be better if they can work on latency issues. That said, give it a try. I paid full price because I am a Bond fan to the core, but I imagine this will be down 20-30 bucks by Christmas. Expand
  3. Nov 2, 2012
    3
    I am personally a fan of the 007-games. Spanning from Golden-eye on the N64, Golden-eye Reloaded for the Xbox 360, and my biggest dirty secret is 007: Blood Stone is probably my most favorite 007 game ever made. This time around for the 50th anniversary, this game falls short hard. It's over ambitious, there's no depth, flow to the games storyline, or even the way the games mechanics work out. Things are often "vague" when trying to solve puzzles for key-cracking, safe-cracking. The storyline is very lackluster at best. What makes 007: Legends seem like an utter failure is that it's feels pieced together with Scotch tape instead of Duct Tape. The storyline is, well, there isn't really one to follow. The mechanics of the game are buggy, and frustrating. And then the gameplay aspect is just downright frustrating. The enemies just keep coming at you, with what seems unlimited health, while you the player are made to suffer through this abomination. It's a failure on both the developers part, and the publishers part. This game isn't fun, but torture. I say that because, simply, you are driven through the most linear fps shooter with a swarm of frustrating enemies that keep coming over and over. The only satisfaction that you can take away from this game might possibly be that some of the "level" designs are cool. That, and maybe the split screen multi-player. But even, the $60 for just split-screen isn't worth it.

    If you want a good Bond game, this one won't do you justice. Skip it, and just wait for it to drop to bargain bin price in a few months. But, be warned, it's one frustrating game that tries to copy COD, and other successful FPS elements by slapping on arbitrary things that just make you wonder what was going on over at the publishing offices.
    Expand
  4. Oct 16, 2012
    2
    Don't believe the fake reviews - this is a really terrible game. The game mechanics are tired, the graphics suck, and it's extremely disconcerting to "relive" Jame Bond legendary experiences.. that not only never even happened, but take place in the present and star Daniel Craig. 007 Legends is more aptly-titled "Alternate Universe James Bond in a cheap CoD/Punch-Out Clone". Skip it. Collapse
  5. Nov 20, 2012
    1
    Some thrills, but mostly a boring, confusing, painful to look at game with a storyline that will put you to sleep, if you can even piece it together. I have seen better story lines on commercials, and not just TV commercials, even billboards can have better story, and I do mean that literally. I rented this game from a redbox machine, and I am so glad I didn't buy it. At least its only $2.00 per day instead of full price. Expand
  6. Jan 6, 2013
    0
    This is a hideous game. Even the mere thought of spending money on this game, makes my pockets genuinely sad. 007 would shoot this game without even thinking twice. This game besmirches the name of James Bond and is a poor excuse for a generic shooter.

    DEEKHEAD GAME.
    Expand

See all 16 User Reviews