Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 71
  2. Negative: 1 out of 71
  1. Oct 24, 2011
    92
    As we approach the engagement zone, we are treated to one undeniable truth and that is Ace Combat: Assault Horizon is the premier flight game for the Xbox 360. There are a ton of new innovations packed in every area and aspect of this game and with the included support of the Ace Edge flight stick, Ace Combat: Assault Horizon is the king of the skies. Now marshal your talent and focus pilots for it's time to fly.
  2. Oct 16, 2011
    91
    Ace Combat has finally returned and it's awesome.
  3. Oct 11, 2011
    91
    It's not quite flawless, and it would be great to see a current gen Ace Combat that would run at 60fps, but Namco's attempt at revitalizing the series is actually pretty solid.
  4. Oct 16, 2011
    90
    Ace Combat: Assault Horizon not only attempts something new in the arcade flight space but absolutely nails those goals and intentions.
  5. Oct 11, 2011
    90
    Ace Combat Assault Horizon walks that dangerous line many modern franchises are attempting these days: make an old formula more accessible and streamlined without alienating the hardcore fans.
  6. Oct 11, 2011
    90
    Speaking as someone firmly on the casual end of the flight spectrum, I've never had more fun in the Wild Blue Yonder.
  7. Oct 23, 2011
    87
    Combining gritty realism with an accessible arcade feel makes this a winner. [Dec 2011, p.78]
  8. Oct 11, 2011
    87
    Namco Bandai has showed that air combat games can be as thrilling and spectacular as first-person shooters. Every wargame fan should give the game a try, even those who have never tried a flight simulator game, for its great new gameplay features.
  9. 87
    Adding some of Modern Warfare's gritty realism gives the Ace Combat series a shot in the arm, while its arcade accessibility and enjoyability remains intact.
  10. Oct 11, 2011
    87
    An important and very welcome turning point for the series, with a more enjoyable and spectacular gameplay, and a greatly improved storytelling. If you're intrigued by air combat and don't mind a more forgiving and arcade approach, it's a recommended buy.
  11. Oct 11, 2011
    87
    While there are some rough edges, Project Aces has done a fantastic job overhauling the series, breathing new life into what had otherwise become a 'fish in a barrel' simulator.
  12. Oct 10, 2011
    87
    A flight-sim for the rest-of-us. It's silly, it's fun and it looks absolutely stunning. The new helicopter missions prove to be an excellent addition to the Ace Combat fare. On the negative side this game is way too fond of setting mission critical time limits for the player. [Oct 2011]
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 28
  2. Negative: 13 out of 28
  1. Oct 11, 2011
    5
    "The new Ace Combat has the depth of a college freshman; there's just very little substance to be had."
    Pro:
    1. This game is full of
    cinematography and in-game cuts that tantalizes even the oldest fan (at first). 2. Again, the visuals are fantastic.

    Cons:
    This cannot be real? The utter destruction of everything that has made Ace Combat what it is incarnated in Assault Horizons? What's obvious is that the game was revamped and reformatted to cater to the masses.

    The zoomed in game model {and dumbed down} controls allows for a 20 second learning curve ( 5 of which are accounted in picking up the controller). For any fan of the old Ace Combat games, everything that was admired has been stripped out of this game - depth, storyline, a sense of accomplishment after a tough mission on a plane 15% in tact, and a weird sense of connection to your squadron. Ace Combat Assault Horizon proves little more that the zoom button on the camera works (hurray). Easily, the most annoying thing about the game is the zoomed in chase view, which can suddenly turn to dog fight mode in which literally require zero skill to shoot down an enemy plane.

    For die hard fans like myself, I would suggest to stay away form this one.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 18, 2011
    4
    I'm a big fan of Ace Combat but I have to say that I'm greatly disappointed by Assault Horizon.
    The DFM (Dogfight Mode) or ASM (Air Strike
    Mode) destroyed the Ace Combat gameplay for me entirely by taking the controls of the planes away from me, placing me in a rail shooter sequence to show me some scripted events and effects. The destruction camera gets old especially quick and is distracting to the point it left me disoriented several times.
    I was not even able to pass on this â
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 12, 2011
    9
    While it can take some time for veterans of the series to adapt to the new "Dogfight Mode" the game overall has the stuff to take a place with the other great Ace Combats like Shattered Skies, The Unsung War, and The Belkan War. Now, yes the switch from the fictional universe of Strangereal to our very own Earth is a bit disappointing the story that is told is as wild and imaginative as any told in Strangereal. Mechanically the game is solid as a rock. The flight mechanics on planes are smooth and responsive and Dogfight Mode is surprisingly fun and useful. Things can get sticky when using an attack helicopter, but you don't use one often enough to get angry with it. The graphics are amazing. The planes look sleek and realistic and jaggies are far and few in between. Surprisingly the ground doesn't look like a low resolution composite image anymore, it actually looks realistic. The game has large amounts of replayability when it comes to 3 player co-op and 8v8 competitive multiplayer. Capital Conquest is a base defense game that requires a large amount of teamwork to win at. Overall while the game may have a few quirks, it is still the best Ace Combat game since The Belkan War. Full Review »