User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 74
  2. Negative: 22 out of 74

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 12, 2011
    9
    While it can take some time for veterans of the series to adapt to the new "Dogfight Mode" the game overall has the stuff to take a place with the other great Ace Combats like Shattered Skies, The Unsung War, and The Belkan War. Now, yes the switch from the fictional universe of Strangereal to our very own Earth is a bit disappointing the story that is told is as wild and imaginative as any told in Strangereal. Mechanically the game is solid as a rock. The flight mechanics on planes are smooth and responsive and Dogfight Mode is surprisingly fun and useful. Things can get sticky when using an attack helicopter, but you don't use one often enough to get angry with it. The graphics are amazing. The planes look sleek and realistic and jaggies are far and few in between. Surprisingly the ground doesn't look like a low resolution composite image anymore, it actually looks realistic. The game has large amounts of replayability when it comes to 3 player co-op and 8v8 competitive multiplayer. Capital Conquest is a base defense game that requires a large amount of teamwork to win at. Overall while the game may have a few quirks, it is still the best Ace Combat game since The Belkan War. Expand
  2. Oct 12, 2011
    9
    One of the best soundtracks of 2011 by far, the combat is fast paced and exciting. Yes there's a little less depth to flying, but it's MUCH more accessible to the general audience. The story line is decent along with the voice acting.
  3. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    I am here to say something about the difficulty of this game that most of people who are saying this game is too easy are misunderstanding in a wrong way. I would say, there are mainly two new factors which have changed the difficulty of Ace Combat. 1)"dogfight mode (DFM)" and 2)"automatic healing". I have beaten this game on the "Ace" mode which is most difficult so far on this game. Contrary to an opinion that this game is "too easy" or "no skill" which i saw many places on websites, it was absolutely NOT easy (i guess for most of you) even on the Elite mode. With the higher difficulty, tougher and smarter enemy AI would be against you and take your back so often. With the Ace mode, damage on your aircraft is NOT healed automatically anymore. Because of these, you would not be able to go on DFM and shoot enemy in a relax way anymore unlike "demo". Due to the new fighting style that you take the enemy's back and enemy takes your back, you would have more chance to be hit as well as you hit enemy. So because of this, depending on with or without automatic healing, the situation could be changed drastically. If you are hit in the early stage of the mission it could be almost impossible to beat the whole mission. (Actually, you would have to count on your skill which you obtained from previous Ace Combat as well) If you say this game is too easy, you must try on the Ace mode. I bet you it will definitely kick your ass and will result in your satisfaction. It will require you a new skill which is composed of the new style and old style. Therefor, i would say, this game must not be rated down due to choosing the difficulty in a wrong way. And I am expecting higher difficulty "Ace of Ace" would come like AC6.. Expand
  4. Jul 2, 2012
    9
    This was not a game I ever intended to purchase until the price was right, which for me was $22.45 from one of the major game retailers for a used copy. Given how good this game is, I wish I had purchased it sooner. So far I am about two-thirds of the way through the campaign mode and can only describe it as aeronautical Modern Warfare! It is a lot of fun going through the various game modes (dogfight, ground assault, bodyguard) using a ton of real-world bad ass aircraft from today's headlines. I found playing at medium difficulty level best for me in terms of game play vs. reward (achievements, storyline progression) . I have also tried the online aspect of the game which seems fun as well and is a nice addition to the series. I recommend this game for anyone who enjoys FPS and wants to try a new experience. The game play and headline news feel to the storyline were very enjoyable, and certainly well worth the money I paid for a used copy. 9 out of 10 overall. Expand
  5. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    I don't have any idea why people would hate this game besides not getting used to it, compared to the old ace combat's.

    I am really glad a game like this came out, and I will hope to see more like this come out in the future.
  6. Apr 28, 2014
    10
    Please understand: i gave my score evaluating THE GAME not THE SERIES wich i think it is the main purpose of these reviews, review the GAME and not review what the franchise has become

    The game takes a daring choice to make the aerial combat more visceral, fast paced, i just love how you can see the plane designs from up close instead of shooting a fire and forget missile from
    kilometers away, seeing pilots flying out of the cockpits, engines blowing, oil gushing everywhere..looks like pacific rim on planes
    The game is REALLY a metal carnage

    Really, shooting missiles on green boxes can be realistic but, when you fit 60+ missiles on a F-15C and then thinks about realism..well..it doesn't make any sense..plus, it makes the game repetitive and after some missions, you get tired (not an issue on the game series since they always make up great ideas like those big bomber-like planes/carriers on fires of liberation to break the monotony)

    The game features great cutscenes, nice cinematography, great graphics and plane models, a very good soundtrack that fitted PERFECTLY with the game and the game stages wich each music plays and a fun, addicting and mind blowing gameplay

    Another interesting thing i saw, my girlfriend with NO experience on flight games, managed to play it perfectly after 1 hour or so, i found this pretty interesting since some games focus so much on simulation and plane handling that some players get sad since they can't play those games very well and they end up having trouble with the controls and that makes the game impossible to enjoy, this games offers easy controls so anyone can enjoy it

    Now, people usually get mad when they cange series, it was very clear on the release of metal gear rising revengeace, DmC..but if you play these games, you'll see that it ain't so bad, people need to open their minds, a game series that just copy and paste the same game with almost no new features and just add 1 to the name can be fun to see the story going on and on and branching out to whole new levels but some people need to think a little before judging games, some just say "the game does not have innovation, it's the same as before" but when they make a whole new game, with new ideas and gameplay "they killed the series, they are destroying the franchise" make up your minds people..

    Summing it up - the game is fun, action packed, thrilling, unlike anything you ever played before, the soundtrack is great and the cinematography and in-game cutscenes are great and this is a FACT
    however..the story feels like call of duty "YO BRO, GRAB THESE GUNS N STUFF AND BLOW SOME STUFF UP, YEEEEEEEH" but i found the "shark" nemesis a lot more interesting than some stereotypical Russian nation, making it personal

    This game is a masterpiece, however, if you are a hard headed fanboy that can't stand any changes on the game franchise, don't go near it
    Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 71
  2. Negative: 1 out of 71
  1. 60
    One of the greatest disappointments of the year. Once great and entertaining flying arcade became an average Call of Duty-copycat shooter. [Christmas 2011]
  2. Nov 30, 2011
    65
    It's not a great game by any means, but there are much worse ways to spend an afternoon than making jets explode.
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    70
    Just good. [Issue#78, p.82]