Ace Combat: Assault Horizon Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 84 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Climb back into the cockpit with another installment of the Ace Combat series.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Ace Combat: Assault Horizon Shark Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 71
  2. Negative: 1 out of 71
  1. Oct 24, 2011
    92
    As we approach the engagement zone, we are treated to one undeniable truth and that is Ace Combat: Assault Horizon is the premier flight game for the Xbox 360. There are a ton of new innovations packed in every area and aspect of this game and with the included support of the Ace Edge flight stick, Ace Combat: Assault Horizon is the king of the skies. Now marshal your talent and focus pilots for it's time to fly.
  2. 87
    Adding some of Modern Warfare's gritty realism gives the Ace Combat series a shot in the arm, while its arcade accessibility and enjoyability remains intact.
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    83
    Ace Combat Assault Horizon continues the legacy of the series by giving fans of the series the new title that they've wanted. With a deep storyline included in the campaign and an online community that is quite strong upon launch, there is plenty of replay value with the title. Some issues with the gameplay do exist, but nothing that truly detracts from the game enough to not justify picking the game up.
  4. Oct 10, 2011
    80
    A nice multiplayer game. The single player Campaign can be kinda boring due to the lack of intensity. The multiplayer modes, on the contrary, can be really funny and interesting to play with. If you're looking for a different kind of multiplayer experience, you should try this game.
  5. Oct 13, 2011
    80
    Ace Combat Assault Horizon is a really fun game. The dogfights, the really cool online mode and the helicopters are great additions, make this a need to buy game for every aspiring pilot.
  6. Oct 14, 2011
    75
    Dogfights are exciting, the helicopters are interesting (though underdeveloped), and the real world setting and story ground the game in reality.
  7. Oct 11, 2011
    33
    Really the only thing Ace Combat has to offer that its predecessors don't is a couple of new flight modes and real world locations. This would be enough to recommend the game to die-hard fans, but the camera cut aways make the game a worse experience than its predecessors. If you want a good Ace Combat experience, you should play an earlier game in the series.

See all 71 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 30
  2. Negative: 15 out of 30
  1. Apr 28, 2014
    10
    Please understand: i gave my score evaluating THE GAME not THE SERIES wich i think it is the main purpose of these reviews, review the GAMEPlease understand: i gave my score evaluating THE GAME not THE SERIES wich i think it is the main purpose of these reviews, review the GAME and not review what the franchise has become

    The game takes a daring choice to make the aerial combat more visceral, fast paced, i just love how you can see the plane designs from up close instead of shooting a fire and forget missile from kilometers away, seeing pilots flying out of the cockpits, engines blowing, oil gushing everywhere..looks like pacific rim on planes
    The game is REALLY a metal carnage

    Really, shooting missiles on green boxes can be realistic but, when you fit 60+ missiles on a F-15C and then thinks about realism..well..it doesn't make any sense..plus, it makes the game repetitive and after some missions, you get tired (not an issue on the game series since they always make up great ideas like those big bomber-like planes/carriers on fires of liberation to break the monotony)

    The game features great cutscenes, nice cinematography, great graphics and plane models, a very good soundtrack that fitted PERFECTLY with the game and the game stages wich each music plays and a fun, addicting and mind blowing gameplay

    Another interesting thing i saw, my girlfriend with NO experience on flight games, managed to play it perfectly after 1 hour or so, i found this pretty interesting since some games focus so much on simulation and plane handling that some players get sad since they can't play those games very well and they end up having trouble with the controls and that makes the game impossible to enjoy, this games offers easy controls so anyone can enjoy it

    Now, people usually get mad when they cange series, it was very clear on the release of metal gear rising revengeace, DmC..but if you play these games, you'll see that it ain't so bad, people need to open their minds, a game series that just copy and paste the same game with almost no new features and just add 1 to the name can be fun to see the story going on and on and branching out to whole new levels but some people need to think a little before judging games, some just say "the game does not have innovation, it's the same as before" but when they make a whole new game, with new ideas and gameplay "they killed the series, they are destroying the franchise" make up your minds people..

    Summing it up - the game is fun, action packed, thrilling, unlike anything you ever played before, the soundtrack is great and the cinematography and in-game cutscenes are great and this is a FACT
    however..the story feels like call of duty "YO BRO, GRAB THESE GUNS N STUFF AND BLOW SOME STUFF UP, YEEEEEEEH" but i found the "shark" nemesis a lot more interesting than some stereotypical Russian nation, making it personal

    This game is a masterpiece, however, if you are a hard headed fanboy that can't stand any changes on the game franchise, don't go near it
    Expand
  2. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    I am here to say something about the difficulty of this game that most of people who are saying this game is too easy are misunderstanding inI am here to say something about the difficulty of this game that most of people who are saying this game is too easy are misunderstanding in a wrong way. I would say, there are mainly two new factors which have changed the difficulty of Ace Combat. 1)"dogfight mode (DFM)" and 2)"automatic healing". I have beaten this game on the "Ace" mode which is most difficult so far on this game. Contrary to an opinion that this game is "too easy" or "no skill" which i saw many places on websites, it was absolutely NOT easy (i guess for most of you) even on the Elite mode. With the higher difficulty, tougher and smarter enemy AI would be against you and take your back so often. With the Ace mode, damage on your aircraft is NOT healed automatically anymore. Because of these, you would not be able to go on DFM and shoot enemy in a relax way anymore unlike "demo". Due to the new fighting style that you take the enemy's back and enemy takes your back, you would have more chance to be hit as well as you hit enemy. So because of this, depending on with or without automatic healing, the situation could be changed drastically. If you are hit in the early stage of the mission it could be almost impossible to beat the whole mission. (Actually, you would have to count on your skill which you obtained from previous Ace Combat as well) If you say this game is too easy, you must try on the Ace mode. I bet you it will definitely kick your ass and will result in your satisfaction. It will require you a new skill which is composed of the new style and old style. Therefor, i would say, this game must not be rated down due to choosing the difficulty in a wrong way. And I am expecting higher difficulty "Ace of Ace" would come like AC6.. Expand
  3. Apr 17, 2014
    8
    [Review PT-BR] Ace Combat Assault Horizon é um ótimo jogo, com belos gráficos e uma jogabilidade sólida garante horas de diversão.
    Houve uma
    [Review PT-BR] Ace Combat Assault Horizon é um ótimo jogo, com belos gráficos e uma jogabilidade sólida garante horas de diversão.
    Houve uma mudança em relação aos jogos anteriores da série, mas foi uma mudança bem vinda, não tem mais fases onde você perdia 30 minutos apenas atirando até dar Mission Accomplished, o novo modo DFM é ótimo e responde bem e o modo Online é muito bom, recomendo muito esse jogo
    Expand
  4. Oct 18, 2011
    4
    I'm a big fan of Ace Combat but I have to say that I'm greatly disappointed by Assault Horizon.
    The DFM (Dogfight Mode) or ASM (Air Strike
    I'm a big fan of Ace Combat but I have to say that I'm greatly disappointed by Assault Horizon.
    The DFM (Dogfight Mode) or ASM (Air Strike Mode) destroyed the Ace Combat gameplay for me entirely by taking the controls of the planes away from me, placing me in a rail shooter sequence to show me some scripted events and effects. The destruction camera gets old especially quick and is distracting to the point it left me disoriented several times.
    I was not even able to pass on this â
    Expand
  5. May 10, 2012
    3
    Huge downgrade in the series. They took the flight out of the game completely. If you're going up against a boss, you HAVE to use the dogHuge downgrade in the series. They took the flight out of the game completely. If you're going up against a boss, you HAVE to use the dog fight mode. Even some of the weaker targets require dog fight mode to take down. Dog fight mode was a garbage addition to the game, and needs to be removed. And thank god for all the Call of Duty fanboys trying to turn this series into CoD: The helicopter missions that CoD style gameplay now seems to require has been added, is dreadfully buggy, boring, and lacks any skill to really complete...needs to be removed also. The developers decided it was a good idea to put in random mini-cut scenes whenever you do something, so that way you get disoriented when you come out of it, and usually screw up whatever it was you were doing before (i.e. youre in a bombing run and then over run your target cuz of cutscene). Some of the missions are painfully hard for absolutely no reason at all, and your "allies" just fly in circles while every aircraft on the map lights you up. In Ace Combat 6 I understood it, you can call them in for help at some point, so why should they help you if you can call in their unreasonable firepower using a skill meter bar? Now they are just on the map for no reason at all, while every single enemy aircraft is shooting at you. You will do 90% of the work on any mission, without exception. Thankfully, your enemy can enter into dog fight mode behind you which is unreasonably difficult to escape, so that way its easier to get shot down (remove dog fight mode!!). Dog fight mode in general is your plane on rails, following another plane through unreasonably unrealistic maneuvers...oh and planes can do backflips now. Soundtrack left me uninspired, and I felt so disconnected from the story that I barely know what's going on. In Ace Combat 6 I was excited to fight for a country that didn't exist (as cheesy as it was at times), to a soundtrack that was amazing...wtf happened?? CoD happened, and now every game has to be like CoD...rails, gay helicopter missions, etc etc. As far as visually, the graphics look OK, but the camera likes to move all over the place. Besides the randomly generated cutscences that will throw you off, the camera is always in ridiculous spots way to close to the aircraft, so that way you can't see anything in front of you (if you fly in third person, which lets be honest, this is an arcade/sim, and we all want to appreciate the view of the aircraft we're flying). Firing machine guns will shift the camera in even closer, so that way 50% of your screen is taken up by the aircraft cuz the camera is shifted right next to the machine gun...god forbid the aircraft your chasing flys to the opposite side of your aircraft cuz you're gonna lose him. Pros:Graphics are OK, you get to blow stuff up, plenty of aircraft to choose from. Cons: Who thought it was a good idea to put helicopter missions in a jet game?? Dog fight mode forces you onto rails, Dog Fight mode is bad enough but the game forces you into dog fight mode for harder pilots making it unavoidable, story is bland, music is bland, camera work is god awful, allies are useless (you will do all the work), and I know this is supposed to be arcade style flight, but the flying maneuvers in this game have turned into the realism level of a cartoon. If you love the series, stay away from this as it will just make you mad and throw your controller, the previous installment into the series was a million times better (Ace Combat 6: Liberation of Gracemeria) Collapse
  6. Jan 13, 2016
    3
    "The nightmare is over. Finally" - those final words of main protoganist are best description of my feeling at the end of this game. Compering"The nightmare is over. Finally" - those final words of main protoganist are best description of my feeling at the end of this game. Compering to Unsung War, AH is just stupid. I hate those casual gameplay mechanics that should make game easier but made it chaotic and shallow. Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Pros: 1) The graphics and sounds are absolutely incredible. Great script, the voice acting felt natural, aircraft (visually speaking) werePros: 1) The graphics and sounds are absolutely incredible. Great script, the voice acting felt natural, aircraft (visually speaking) were spot on. Pretty much standard fair in the graphics and sound department, aka "top of the top notch."

    Cons: WHAT THE HELL DID THEY DO TO MY FLIGHT CONTROLS?!?!? I can't even roll! And whats with the zoom autopilot dog fights? It takes everything (and I sincerely mean everything) that was fun about the franchise right out of the game. Seriously, devote Ace Combat fans will sorely hate this game. You know what? Why am I even writing this? Everyone who would benefit from this review already took the game to the desert for target practice. Seriously, the only fun I had in the game was the 15 minutes I had in the Blackhawk, and MW2 did this better, so why bother playing this game in the first place?

    This is the last Ace Combat I will ever buy, until they bring back ye old school gameplay. Take your graphics and cutscenes and shove it.
    Expand

See all 30 User Reviews