Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. Dec 8, 2013
    60
    A mediocre experience made a little better with co-op play. Possibly a good weekend game with a friend or two, especially during a new game release lull often seen in December and January.
  2. Nov 28, 2013
    60
    It feels like a game designed to catch some fans the series. There's some important issues, but if you get some friends to play with, it's a product you can enjoy.
  3. Nov 24, 2013
    60
    It’s a slog through and through, and with a lack of character customization, elements more shallow than a Gauntlet-like grind, and a startling lack of Adventure Time charm, it’s tough to recommend. Pick up the first couple seasons of the show instead.
  4. Nov 29, 2013
    50
    You'll have to use the power of imagination to make it seem that this game is fun to play.
  5. 45
    Ultra die-hard series addicts will find some reward in a handful of lively but short cutscenes, but overall this licensed title lacks the joy and entertainment of its source material.
  6. Nov 19, 2013
    40
    Adventure Time Explore the Dungeon Because I DON'T KNOW! is a smooth poser at best, but not one that lives up to the awesomeness of the show or the characters. It doesn’t even stand up well against the game it is clearly apeing, Gauntlet, and can’t hold a candle to current dungeon crawlers like Diablo III that do far more to hold your interest.
  7. 30
    This parasitic barnacle seeks only to corrode and cash in on joy. [Feb 2014, p.89]
User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 7 out of 9
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    1
    Coming from a true fan of the show this pains me greatly to say...But this game was a waste of money and energy.
    Essentially a top-down
    Coming from a true fan of the show this pains me greatly to say...But this game was a waste of money and energy.
    Essentially a top-down Arcade game gone full retail. Not what fans deserve.
    The Land of OOO begs to be explored and here were limited to a hole in the ground and an incredibly tiny portion of the Candy Kingdom to explore.

    The absolute worst part about this game is the fact that ANY unspent money or "treasures" earned within "checkpoints" will be forfeited if you do not spend OR WORSE CANT AFFORD TO PURCHASE UPGRADES!!!! the FUH!!! Prepare to throw your money away time and time again!

    We deserve a 3rd person, Open World style game. Not this poor excuse for a Retail game.

    ...I feel like the biggest sucker in the world right now. Im gonna go sulk in a corner

    **UPDATE** Thankfully Gamestop had a fair trade in price!!! Im going to stick to renting this game in the future after the initial dissatisfaction goes away.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 6, 2014
    7
    Actually you do know............................................................................................................ just wastingActually you do know............................................................................................................ just wasting the space..yep.. Full Review »
  3. Nov 20, 2013
    3
    This game made with only one wish make easy money. Ok, fans buy any trash if we put they favorite characters in our weird creature. PoorThis game made with only one wish make easy money. Ok, fans buy any trash if we put they favorite characters in our weird creature. Poor graphic, primitive gameplay, even cutscenes looks like askew slideshow. AT deserv more more serious treatment. Full Review »