Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Adventure Time: Explore the Dungeon Because I DON'T KNOW has you save the Candy Kingdom by exploring the mysteries surrounding a massive Secret Royal Dungeon deep below the Land of Ooo.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. 60
    It’s a slog through and through, and with a lack of character customization, elements more shallow than a Gauntlet-like grind, and a startling lack of Adventure Time charm, it’s tough to recommend. Pick up the first couple seasons of the show instead.
  2. Nov 28, 2013
    60
    It feels like a game designed to catch some fans the series. There's some important issues, but if you get some friends to play with, it's a product you can enjoy.
  3. Dec 8, 2013
    60
    A mediocre experience made a little better with co-op play. Possibly a good weekend game with a friend or two, especially during a new game release lull often seen in December and January.
  4. Nov 29, 2013
    50
    You'll have to use the power of imagination to make it seem that this game is fun to play.
  5. 45
    Ultra die-hard series addicts will find some reward in a handful of lively but short cutscenes, but overall this licensed title lacks the joy and entertainment of its source material.
  6. 40
    Adventure Time Explore the Dungeon Because I DON'T KNOW! is a smooth poser at best, but not one that lives up to the awesomeness of the show or the characters. It doesn’t even stand up well against the game it is clearly apeing, Gauntlet, and can’t hold a candle to current dungeon crawlers like Diablo III that do far more to hold your interest.
  7. 30
    This parasitic barnacle seeks only to corrode and cash in on joy. [Feb 2014, p.89]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 6 out of 8
  1. Jan 6, 2014
    7
    Actually you do know............................................................................................................ just wasting the space..yep.. Collapse
  2. Dec 30, 2013
    5
    A tragic waste of a great licence. Choice of 90's jrpg retro graphics is baffling and adds nothing to game. Gameplay gets old within first 10 minutes. Voiceover is ok but rest of audio is boring and bland. Get a free adventure time app for your phone instead or just watch the cartoon. Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2013
    3
    This game made with only one wish make easy money. Ok, fans buy any trash if we put they favorite characters in our weird creature. Poor graphic, primitive gameplay, even cutscenes looks like askew slideshow. AT deserv more more serious treatment. Expand
  4. Feb 25, 2014
    2
    As a huge fan of Adventure Time, I was excited there was a videogame and even more excited they had some additional characters for purchase (i.e. Peppermint Butler! yay!). My boyfriend and I sat down to play the co-op and quickly learned that after a few charming conversations between characters - this is the most formulaic game imaginable. Every level is the same; the controls are very clunky (ranged weapons can only deal damage if you are directly horizontal or directly vertical to an on-screen villain despite having full 360 degree movement). The characters aren't very customizable either, having the same few categories of gifts between them... each character has a special attack, but it becomes old news quick. There are a few charming bits of dialogue (I laughed at being addressed by villains as "hello one or more players!") but beyond that, it was a huge waste of money. I even bought it on Xbox's 50% deal and I still feel robbed. I don't even think my 8 and 6 year old will enjoy playing it. Frown. Expand
  5. Jan 23, 2014
    1
    Could have made such a good third person slasher with a great storyline and stuff with the proper budget, but it seems that this has been a really awful and dumb waste of license. Btw the name is dumber than the game itself Expand
  6. Apr 20, 2014
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This has to be the worst game i have ever played. I am a big fan of the show, so when I heard that there was a AT game for X-Box 360 I was so excited. Then I played it. The game-play is repetitive and boring, all you do is run around a dungeon killing things. Do not by this game! Expand
  7. Nov 19, 2013
    1
    Coming from a true fan of the show this pains me greatly to say...But this game was a waste of money and energy.
    Essentially a top-down
    Arcade game gone full retail. Not what fans deserve.
    The Land of OOO begs to be explored and here were limited to a hole in the ground and an incredibly tiny portion of the Candy Kingdom to explore.

    The absolute worst part about this game is the fact that ANY unspent money or "treasures" earned within "checkpoints" will be forfeited if you do not spend OR WORSE CANT AFFORD TO PURCHASE UPGRADES!!!! the FUH!!! Prepare to throw your money away time and time again!

    We deserve a 3rd person, Open World style game. Not this poor excuse for a Retail game.

    ...I feel like the biggest sucker in the world right now. Im gonna go sulk in a corner

    **UPDATE** Thankfully Gamestop had a fair trade in price!!! Im going to stick to renting this game in the future after the initial dissatisfaction goes away.
    Expand

See all 8 User Reviews