Aegis Wing Xbox 360

Aegis Wing Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Xbox Live Arcade] Aegis Wing is a side-scrolling space combat game reminiscent of classic eighties arcade hits. It features alien-busting action, slick graphics, an orchestral soundtrack, and devastating power-ups. Also included is a unique cooperative mode of play in which up to three[Xbox Live Arcade] Aegis Wing is a side-scrolling space combat game reminiscent of classic eighties arcade hits. It features alien-busting action, slick graphics, an orchestral soundtrack, and devastating power-ups. Also included is a unique cooperative mode of play in which up to three additional players can "attach" to the leader's ship and become independent, 360-degree gun turrets. Get ready for an action-retro 2-D sci-fi side scrolling shooter, similar to "Gradius" or "Defender." Up to four players can compete on the same console or on Xbox Live. Attach to each other, and super weapon powers grow as more players attach. After attaching, there's one pilot and each rider rotates fire via a 360-degree gun turret. Wield four super weapons, including the Hades Beam (kills everything in it’s path), the Gordon Burst (EMP pulse that kills all bullets and short circuits enemies), the Arcus Missile (heat-seeking missiles), and Lambda Shield (allows bullets to be deflected and used against the enemies). [Microsoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. Aegis Wing is a pretty decent looking and sounding 2D side-scrolling shooter with a nice twist on co-op multiplayer. The free price tag somewhat makes up for the lack of ship variation and small number of levels.
  2. Hardcore Gamer
    70
    Despite being a bit basic in its presentation, Aegis Wing is a fun shooter for any group that can work together. [Sept 2007, p.69]
  3. It’s an excellent diversion when you just want to play something simple and fun with your friends for an hour or two.
  4. There’s no question that Aegis Wing is fun and challenging, but it would be a hard sell if it wasn’t a giveaway.
  5. Yes, it’s free. It’s also repetitive, tedious, unambitious and boring. You know how they say “time is money”? Don’t spend your time on this game.
  6. X-ONE Magazine UK
    40
    The levels that you fly through have all been seen a hundred times before. [Issue 28, p.118]
  7. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    40
    This is a very basic, very rubbish side-scrolling shooter with some knobs on. [Aug 2007, p.92]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Pikamander2
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    It's free, it has achievements, and it's fun when you play it with friends.
  2. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    Aegis Wing is a rich featured, well polished, well designed and great produced shmup game out there. And it's free, what is superb. I didn'tAegis Wing is a rich featured, well polished, well designed and great produced shmup game out there. And it's free, what is superb. I didn't expect much from a free space shooter, but after half hour playing it on-line I was totally addicted to it -- had to get all achievements in a heartbeat. Remarkable game. Highly recommended. Expand
  3. CharleyT.
    May 29, 2007
    9
    This game is great but to really enjoy it, play the 4 player multiplayer with your mic on!! if it wasnt free, i would have scored it as an 8This game is great but to really enjoy it, play the 4 player multiplayer with your mic on!! if it wasnt free, i would have scored it as an 8 on 10 an said that its too short but, hey, this is a great games that was made by essentially 3 persons! use this to inspire yourself to make games with XNA! Expand
  4. JamesJ.
    May 17, 2007
    8
    Quite a fun little game. Definitely make use of combining and disengaging ships at various stages of progression. The signle player game is a Quite a fun little game. Definitely make use of combining and disengaging ships at various stages of progression. The signle player game is a bit too tough or I might give it another point. Glad to see MS give something to the customers and I can only hope they continue to add levels. Earn some gamer points and have some fun! Expand
  5. DaveL.
    May 21, 2007
    8
    For the price I'd give it a 10! For the gameplay I'm giving it an 8. I really enjoy this on Live. Single player is a bit boring but For the price I'd give it a 10! For the gameplay I'm giving it an 8. I really enjoy this on Live. Single player is a bit boring but this is quite an enjoyable (and short) multiplayer game. Expand
  6. Aaace5
    May 22, 2007
    7
    Because it was free I was expecting the worst, but after playing it I was shocked by how good it was. It's not great, it won't keep Because it was free I was expecting the worst, but after playing it I was shocked by how good it was. It's not great, it won't keep you hooked for a long period of time but it's a fun little shooter. I first played with a friend on multiplayer, and was amazed when I found out that all four ships could link together with each person controlling their gunfire independently. But the game only has six levels, so the fun is short lived. But for free you can't complain. But I suspect that if they make a part two they will bring more to the table. Expand
  7. JasonD.
    May 16, 2007
    5
    Well it's free so I won't complain. It is a decent game, but I probably would not have bought this if it were not free.

See all 16 User Reviews