Afro Samurai Xbox 360

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 57
  2. Negative: 15 out of 57
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 26, 2011
    8
    if you like Quentin Tarantino films, Ninja Gaiden-esque combos, great scenery and awesome music look no further. it's very repetitive and the controls can often be maddening but overall a solid, fun game.
  2. Feb 13, 2012
    6
    I had a ton of fun with this game, still there are some problems with it. Sometimes you have to do very specific slices with your katana that were hard for me to get down. At the end when you face a nearly endless, and i mean endless, wave of the same enemy was hands down the stupidest part of the game.
  3. Apr 15, 2011
    1
    Graphics arent everything, game play is, Afro Samurai has neither. The game looks and feels like an Xbox 1 game, textures are smudgy and gameplay is repetitive as hell. Move here, kill some dudes, move there kill the same copy and pasted dudes. The game (and the franchise) really plays on the fact that Samuel L Jackson put his name to it, yet unfortunately isnt enough to save it. OtherGraphics arent everything, game play is, Afro Samurai has neither. The game looks and feels like an Xbox 1 game, textures are smudgy and gameplay is repetitive as hell. Move here, kill some dudes, move there kill the same copy and pasted dudes. The game (and the franchise) really plays on the fact that Samuel L Jackson put his name to it, yet unfortunately isnt enough to save it. Other games (release before 2009) have done it better, so look else where. Expand
  4. ROBBMACROBBMAC
    Jan 27, 2009
    8
    This game is great fan service to fans of the anime. It's easy to get into yet deep enough for anyone that takes time to learn the moves. The art style is re-imagined for this game perfectly and has surpassed my expectations greatly. The screenshots and videos don't do it justice. The game plays a lot like Ninja Gaiden II but with a slower pace, the ability to slow down time This game is great fan service to fans of the anime. It's easy to get into yet deep enough for anyone that takes time to learn the moves. The art style is re-imagined for this game perfectly and has surpassed my expectations greatly. The screenshots and videos don't do it justice. The game plays a lot like Ninja Gaiden II but with a slower pace, the ability to slow down time (but not gimmicky) and for those that take the time to learn... you can aim your attacks pretty easily. The music thumps during the gameplay and if your a fan of asian infused hip-hop you'll love the score here. Ninja Ninja has some classic one liners when you press what I will dubb "The Sam Jackson Button". This game is sure to be a sleeper hit and I can't wait to see what reviewers thing. I would tell fans of the anime to run out and pick it up and everyone else to at least give it a rental. 8.5 Collapse
  5. FredB.
    Feb 2, 2009
    7
    Pretty game, frustrating camera and controls. On the plus side; the story and graphics were amazing. The graphics were particularily detailed and unique. The chopping enemy in half mechanic truly satifying. The voice acting was actually funny and well done featuring Samuel Jackson, Ron Perlman and Lucy Lu. This game is not for the young ones- alot of cursing, sexual innuendo, naked female Pretty game, frustrating camera and controls. On the plus side; the story and graphics were amazing. The graphics were particularily detailed and unique. The chopping enemy in half mechanic truly satifying. The voice acting was actually funny and well done featuring Samuel Jackson, Ron Perlman and Lucy Lu. This game is not for the young ones- alot of cursing, sexual innuendo, naked female zombie strippers, etc. The game felt alot like an "R" rated mix of Tomb raider, XII, and Ninja Gaiden. Now onto the negatives; The left-right axis on the camera is inverted and can't be changed. The dash button hurts your thumb becuase you have to click the left thumbstick- the same button that you move with- If you ever played Monster Madness, then you know the drill. That game got horrible reviews in part due to the button layout. This would be fine if you didn't have to use dash, however, becuase you don't have a throwing weapon and bosses often do, you have to dash to get close enough to hit them, or dodge attacks. At times I would have to hold the dash in during a whole boss fight, which is painful, I guess that thumbs (at least mine) weren't designed to push down and move at the same time. There are also some cheap bosses, made more complicated by the camera and control struggles. In any event, something about this game kept me going, I wanted to get to the next level to see what happends next, and what set piece would be used. This is quite a feat considering that I personally have never seen the cartoon. Expand
  6. JasonDeatherage
    Feb 9, 2009
    6
    This game looks very cool. The cell-shaded graphics are a good touch and the gore factor stays true to the show, but after that Afro Samurai does not have much else to offer. The gameplay starts out fun but quickly becomes repetitive. The levels are pretty bland and are often recycled. Don't get me wrong the focus kills are great but the rest of it just doesn't fit. Afro Samurai This game looks very cool. The cell-shaded graphics are a good touch and the gore factor stays true to the show, but after that Afro Samurai does not have much else to offer. The gameplay starts out fun but quickly becomes repetitive. The levels are pretty bland and are often recycled. Don't get me wrong the focus kills are great but the rest of it just doesn't fit. Afro Samurai is a bonafide badass in the show but you never really get the same feeling in the game. I have read some reviews of this game and they said that fans of the show would like it more but I have to strongly disagree. Fans of the show are the ones who will notice how watered down this story is. I started playing this game before watching the show. I thought it was decent. I immediately watched season 1 and then realized how much this game was missing. Expand
  7. DavidC
    Feb 4, 2009
    3
    The game looks ok, but nothing great by today's standards. It offers nothing new and was a HUGE disappointment to me as a big fan of Afro Samurai. I hope if they do a sequel, they'll spend a little more time on making a coherent game with combat that can at least resemble the show.
  8. toltec123
    Apr 10, 2009
    5
    Great fantastic art, once again the next gen machines have produced some beautiful graphics...but once again another game not worth playing...I really really wished I could play more of it, but I just can't get myself to go back. Unlike say Viking which I completed from start to finish, something is missing in this game. Something "sticky." I dare say, one interesting excerciseGreat fantastic art, once again the next gen machines have produced some beautiful graphics...but once again another game not worth playing...I really really wished I could play more of it, but I just can't get myself to go back. Unlike say Viking which I completed from start to finish, something is missing in this game. Something "sticky." I dare say, one interesting excercise I've been doing lately is looking through the game's credits and cross referencing them through mobygames.com...its no suprise that the majority of the design team has little or now experience. A great rule of thumb is to have 1 rookie per 4 or 5 veterans. This way the new guy will gain exp and rise to the occasion. The design lead also seemed to have less experience than the one of the other veterans on the credits...this doesn't make much sense...but when you play the game things begin to add up...I looked at some of the other disciplines with similiar results. I also did this test on Liquid Ent Rise of the Argonauts, with similiar results. Its great to give people a chance to be game designers, but its also important to balance a team out in order to balance a game out...I give it a 5 because the art was cool mofos. Expand
  9. Mar 17, 2011
    9
    Watched the 2 animes then played game,its a blast,the camera angles are a bit squiffy sometimes...but the buckets of blood and limbs,scalps,brains...etc...flying through the air as you slice and dice your way through the levels makes up for it..good graphics great sound and voice/lip sync....yes it is a button pusher..but if you take time to learn the many moves..its easier on yourWatched the 2 animes then played game,its a blast,the camera angles are a bit squiffy sometimes...but the buckets of blood and limbs,scalps,brains...etc...flying through the air as you slice and dice your way through the levels makes up for it..good graphics great sound and voice/lip sync....yes it is a button pusher..but if you take time to learn the many moves..its easier on your thumbs...go and play this bro... Expand
  10. Jan 15, 2012
    3
    If you want a good action game in the style of Devil May Cry or God of War, do not buy this game. If you want terrible camera controls, decent voice work, a barely glued together plot, and one of the most boring combat systems ever created, then go get this game. I took a 2 year break between starting and beating this game for how enraged i was at it. It tries to be much better than it is,If you want a good action game in the style of Devil May Cry or God of War, do not buy this game. If you want terrible camera controls, decent voice work, a barely glued together plot, and one of the most boring combat systems ever created, then go get this game. I took a 2 year break between starting and beating this game for how enraged i was at it. It tries to be much better than it is, and offers a glimpse of inspired combat, but fails rather quickly. The strategy for all non-boss fights is virtually identical, that being focus attacking, because the normal combos are worthless. One focus attack kills all standard enemies, but standard enemies need at least a dozen normal attacks to be defeated. The focus attacks themselves are fun, offering a No More Heroes style of slicing dudes in pieces ... that is when you can get it to work properly. Other than the Focus stuff all the normal attacks feel terrible, and don't feel like they are doing any damage. Combos 'exist' but only if you bother to look them up, and are pretty useless compared to a focus attack. Enemies barely react to attacks, and the only indicator of their health (or your own) is the character model tinting red. This game will go down as one of the few games in history that gave my a headache due to terrible platforming, level design, checkpointing, combat, and several other things. Of the few positives i'll say that the voice work is well done, and the soundtrack is alright, but it does get repetitive when songs loop infinitely during fights. The visual style is nice to look at, but it's dragged down by boring enemy and level design. Expand
  11. Nov 15, 2013
    3
    Afro Samurai is a action anime that is about a mans journey to avenge his fathers death and become the number one samurai. The anime is very bloody, raw, and full of action. However, the game is nothing like the show at all. The story loosely follows the actual anime also the graphics are in a very weird middle ground. The characters look fine during actual game play but during cut scenesAfro Samurai is a action anime that is about a mans journey to avenge his fathers death and become the number one samurai. The anime is very bloody, raw, and full of action. However, the game is nothing like the show at all. The story loosely follows the actual anime also the graphics are in a very weird middle ground. The characters look fine during actual game play but during cut scenes they are shell shaded but horrible. Controls are not responsive and very loose fighting makes this game almost a parody of the anime. Voice acting is pretty cool tho due to the fact that all the voice acting is straight from the anime. The reason I am comparing the two is because the one thing that I have noticed is that if a game is made into a anime its not to bad but very annoying at times; where as if an anime is made into a game (other than any Gundam game or Dragon Ball Z game) it skips annoying and just goes into borderline unplayable. I hate that there can't be anything just good, Naruto games are ok is but its still a figting game and by all means I am done with jrpg's and fighting games. Regardless, I have to admit that their are some really awesome looking games based off of anime. But no one can say to me that this games are changing gaming in anyway, they are almost all made for fans of the series. Afro Samurai is a really cool anime but in all honesty avoid this game, nothing will be gained from playing this game other than not only hating this game but also the anime as well. Expand
  12. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    It gets one point for the music but even for that you need to change the sound levels to hear properly. Camera is embarrassingly terrible and the controls aren't very good either. You can only do like four moves and it glitches pretty often. It's overall extremely boring and poorly made.
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 70
  2. Negative: 5 out of 70
  1. 66
    Falling through the air while brawling with Afro Droid while rocking out to some fat beats is an amazing experience, but when you couple that with a piss-poor camera, terrible platforming sections, and cheap/mentally challenged bosses, the end product suffers.
  2. 70
    Far from perfect but still an incredibly entertaining play, Afro Samurai captures all of the style and substance from the hit TV show with amazingly innovative combat and absolutely stunning visuals.
  3. It’s really too bad that Afro Samurai is bogged down by nagging annoyances, because the core game is actually decent, if not spectacular. If it had a healthy dose of polish it would be a solid rental (but not full-price purchase).