Alan Wake Xbox 360

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1130 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 22, 2011
    7
    I really wanted Alan Wake to be a masterpiece, but unfortunately it failed to live up to my expectations by some margin. The problem with the game is that, after a strong start, it fails to immerse the player. After every episode (the game consists of 6 episodes) the character is robbed of all of his inventory and the return of these items becomes irritating. Also, how many flashlights,I really wanted Alan Wake to be a masterpiece, but unfortunately it failed to live up to my expectations by some margin. The problem with the game is that, after a strong start, it fails to immerse the player. After every episode (the game consists of 6 episodes) the character is robbed of all of his inventory and the return of these items becomes irritating. Also, how many flashlights, pistols and hunting rifles do you normally find casually strewn about the wilderness? No, I don't find many either, but Alan Wake finds literally hundreds.

    The facial animation and lip-synching is often poor which, for a game thats main aim is to tell a story, is unforgivable. The story itself is actually pretty good, if a little bit convoluted. The inspirations behind the story are clear, ranging from Stephen King to Twin Peaks, yet I do feel that perhaps the story could have been a little better. Perhaps this is because any impact of key plot moments is lost due to the premature finding of manuscript pages, which often detail what is about to occur before it actually does. Not only does this reduce the impact of plot moments, but it also often causes tension in the scene to be reduced, as the player knows exactly what is coming.

    All of these criticisms are not to say that Alan Wake is a bad game, as it is enjoyable. It is just unfortunate that the developers did not spend more time and iron out a number of irritating issues. However, when one looks at the fact that the game took 5 years to make, it is maybe the skill of the developer and the choices made whilst making the game that must be called into question. If you can pick it up cheap then you won't regret it. I just hope that there is an Alan Wake 2 that truly explores the potential of Alan Wake.
    Expand
  2. NGardner
    May 18, 2010
    6
    There are many things wrong with this game but it was still playable and enjoyable enough for me to finish. The things that stop me rating this game higher are quite lengthy for a game 5 years in development and I think that is the biggest issue I have it shouldn't have half of these problems. The lip sync animation is so bad it is laughable, all the animation in fact feels dated. There are many things wrong with this game but it was still playable and enjoyable enough for me to finish. The things that stop me rating this game higher are quite lengthy for a game 5 years in development and I think that is the biggest issue I have it shouldn't have half of these problems. The lip sync animation is so bad it is laughable, all the animation in fact feels dated. The resolution low giving the environments a muddy blurred feeling with none of the crispness you expect in a quality title. Also there was a very noticeable draw distance for the grass and in may downhill sections you can see it appearing in a wave before you. In the cut scenes there is some terrible compression artefacting the made me feel like I was watching a youtube video from 5 years ago. there was also in these scenes noticeable texture fill and detail pop-in's. Fortunately the movement and combat mechanic are quite solid if a little repetitive by the end of the game. The only real issue I have around the gameplay is the frequency that you are relieved of your inventory and then sent off to reacquire even your standard inventory items of torch and revolver is almost schizophrenic and which leaves you never knowing when to use or save your more powerful weapons. If you can look past these flaws then Alan Wake is a reasonably enjoyable experience but I very much doubt that I will be returning to this one. Expand
  3. Aug 23, 2010
    6
    Alan Wake's attempts at paying homage to Stephen King come off as being more self-serving than sincere. Almost as if the developers were trying to distract you from what is basically a boring presentation by reminiscing about the halcyon days of King's best novels. The environments are an absolute creepy kind of joy to look at, but it leaves you wishing that they could have worked harderAlan Wake's attempts at paying homage to Stephen King come off as being more self-serving than sincere. Almost as if the developers were trying to distract you from what is basically a boring presentation by reminiscing about the halcyon days of King's best novels. The environments are an absolute creepy kind of joy to look at, but it leaves you wishing that they could have worked harder on the character models; faces in particular are jarring to look at. Expand
  4. Oct 6, 2010
    7
    This game is fun the first time you play it. But thats the thing about it. You will only truely enjoy this game the first time you play it. After that, as with so much other games, the magic is no longer there. I do reccomend this game to anyone as it is highly playable. However not worth the 5 year wait.
  5. Dec 8, 2010
    7
    Interesting storyline and gameplay but no need to play it a second time. The add-ones available provide some extended time and some new ideas. If you want to pick one, download The Writer which provides some good moments.
  6. Nov 8, 2012
    6
    Overall, the game was enjoyable on some level.. But Overall, I don't think it deserves the high rating that it has received. The story line was excellent. It was almost like an interactive movie. The graphics weren't bad, but nothing special. The driving mission was broken... it was honestly some of the worst driving in a game that I have ever played... some flash games on the internet hadOverall, the game was enjoyable on some level.. But Overall, I don't think it deserves the high rating that it has received. The story line was excellent. It was almost like an interactive movie. The graphics weren't bad, but nothing special. The driving mission was broken... it was honestly some of the worst driving in a game that I have ever played... some flash games on the internet had better physics.. but that was just a small problem, as there wasn't much driving anyway... my main complaint, is that the gameplay was very much the same for the entire game. It felt like a Demo that lasted for 6 hours.
    overall I was a bit disappointed with the purchase, however if you find it in a bargain bin at walmart, then go for it.
    Collapse
  7. Oct 22, 2010
    6
    I like my games with a bit of story to them, and Alan Wake is just that. Alan Wake himself makes a interesting character, and if only their was more to the combat and then this would make for a pretty sweet game. Nothing about it is 'special', though, and because of that, it'll be forgotten about in a few years.
  8. Aug 8, 2011
    6
    Action thriller that is predictable at times. The good: Storytelling, sounds, and chapter by chapter like TV series. The bad: Graphics could have used more work around release date (when characters on screen talk there lips don't move with words properly), repetitive game play, too predictable for a horror/thriller game, and linear game play also. It has a very unique way of telling youAction thriller that is predictable at times. The good: Storytelling, sounds, and chapter by chapter like TV series. The bad: Graphics could have used more work around release date (when characters on screen talk there lips don't move with words properly), repetitive game play, too predictable for a horror/thriller game, and linear game play also. It has a very unique way of telling you the story (at the end of each chapter there is a short intermission followed by the next chapter like a TV movie series where it shows what happened last before the start of each chapter). For the main character you control there are some exciting points like driving in cars and dictating the light. Bottom line is that it feels like your being pulled along. Weapons are limited and your main character abilities to fight off the darkness (enemies) hand to hand doesn't exist. Your best weapon is your flashlight sadly. I understand the concept of the game but I think it would have been a better game if it was a sandbox environment so it wouldn't be so predictable. For the time it took Remedy to make this one it's not worth the wait. Expand
  9. Alex
    May 18, 2010
    7
    This game would be a 9, only if it came out when it was suppose to. Standards on games have increased, which is why this game is not what it could have been. A big complaint with this game is the ending, which i won't spoil anything but lets just say it is one of the most predictable physiological endings EVER. The gameplay is fun at first, but gets very repetitive as well as theThis game would be a 9, only if it came out when it was suppose to. Standards on games have increased, which is why this game is not what it could have been. A big complaint with this game is the ending, which i won't spoil anything but lets just say it is one of the most predictable physiological endings EVER. The gameplay is fun at first, but gets very repetitive as well as the enemies. Almost every enemy is the same for the most part with no variety. The visuals are pleasing, but do not set any standards to modern day. All in all I wish I could have played this game two years ago. Expand
  10. Aug 19, 2010
    7
    This is a horror shooter trying to get you all veklempt with a story thrown in there, somewhere. But it's ultimately mundane because of the repetitive enemies and tired novelty of having to remain in light. Nothing to see here. This game is ultimately forgettable, even though it is initially intriguing. Well worth a rental, but you're a sucker if you buy this one, just as you're a suckerThis is a horror shooter trying to get you all veklempt with a story thrown in there, somewhere. But it's ultimately mundane because of the repetitive enemies and tired novelty of having to remain in light. Nothing to see here. This game is ultimately forgettable, even though it is initially intriguing. Well worth a rental, but you're a sucker if you buy this one, just as you're a sucker if you allow sites like this one to make decisions about your playing preferences. Expand
  11. Gex
    Aug 28, 2010
    6
    Descent game with a cool atmosphere. No real variety in enemies and you don't get the real ending which must be downloaded at a cost. Graphics are subpar and the story is quite good, but not great as some would want you to believe.
  12. Sep 12, 2013
    7
    A very unique game with an interesting concept, I found the storytelling interesting if a bit cliche at times and the experience all together enjoyable. The creepy vibe is achieved well and the combat is fairly fluid if you are not a klutz with a controller. I played this game solidly all the way through and was not disappointed, a great game and I would love to see a proper come next gen.
  13. Nov 19, 2011
    7
    Alan Wake is a fairly well made horror game with some interesting concepts such as the use of light but suffers from its influences.The characters setting and story are nothing you haven't read or seen in a movie a dozen times.Though initially disconcerting,it soon wears off and becomes a generic,so-called horror game.This game may as well be called Stephen King.
  14. Jul 16, 2013
    7
    Alan Wake is a flawed but still enjoyable game.

    The production values are up there with the best the story is good but the mechanics do let it down a bit having to shine a torch at the undead to make them shootable whilst running out of batteries with the undead coming at you from all angles is quite frustrating It did keep me playing to the end but the experience wasn't as
    Alan Wake is a flawed but still enjoyable game.

    The production values are up there with the best the story is good but the mechanics do let it down a bit having to shine a torch at the undead to make them shootable whilst running out of batteries with the undead coming at you from all angles is quite frustrating

    It did keep me playing to the end but the experience wasn't as enjoyable as it could have been,
    Expand
  15. Aug 9, 2012
    7
    The gameplay is pretty shallow, but I liked story and graphics. I've quit that jump'n'run orgy after 2-3 hours. I would recommend it to fans of the genre.
  16. Jan 30, 2013
    6
    Alan wake is perhaps one of the few true old school survival horrors on the XBox 360. Visually it looks good, story is well written and thought out. Voice acting is good. It does almost everything an adventure or survival horror should. So what's wrong with it. The game's pacing is just far too slow and tries to be too clever for its own good. For people new to the genre, or to this style,Alan wake is perhaps one of the few true old school survival horrors on the XBox 360. Visually it looks good, story is well written and thought out. Voice acting is good. It does almost everything an adventure or survival horror should. So what's wrong with it. The game's pacing is just far too slow and tries to be too clever for its own good. For people new to the genre, or to this style, I guess it would be something to marvel. But above all it really doesn't feel like a game, but more like an interactive movie. To be honest the plot here reminds me allot of the old John Candy movie Delirious, except set in a serious gloomy town. Above all, it isn't interesting. I kind of feel like I'm a part of a Stephen King novel, and like his books there is just far too much filler. Overall: It's a decent enough game that is likely to be more appealing to "fresher" audience. Considering how long it had been in development I had expected a bit more. It is highly likely I had just over-hyped the game for myself and was underwhelmed by the end result, but regardless, that is how I feel. Expand
  17. Dec 30, 2013
    7
    At first the story line of the game was interesting. A different type then other FPS games that use all kinds of weapons. This one, even though you did have use of a pistol, shotgun, and flash bang grenades used flash lights, lights, and flares to defeat attackers, but after playing it, it got monotonous. I finished the game just to see if it would pick up the pace. The story line gotAt first the story line of the game was interesting. A different type then other FPS games that use all kinds of weapons. This one, even though you did have use of a pistol, shotgun, and flash bang grenades used flash lights, lights, and flares to defeat attackers, but after playing it, it got monotonous. I finished the game just to see if it would pick up the pace. The story line got boring and game play was repetitive. Expand
  18. Apr 7, 2013
    7
    Interesting entry into the survival horror video game world. The story is interesting enough considering how absurd it is, even for a video game. The gameplay gets very repetitive near the end and by the time I was playing the DLC, I just felt like I was grinding through it to see the end. Not worth the original retail price, but definitely worth the $20 it costs now. Pretty easy gameInteresting entry into the survival horror video game world. The story is interesting enough considering how absurd it is, even for a video game. The gameplay gets very repetitive near the end and by the time I was playing the DLC, I just felt like I was grinding through it to see the end. Not worth the original retail price, but definitely worth the $20 it costs now. Pretty easy game to get achievements on if that is your thing. Expand
  19. Jun 19, 2013
    7
    It was fun, it just got a bit old to me. The story was interesting, but the whole time I did not know where it was trying to go with it. To honest none of the characters were really memorable. It was fun but I would have to say there are many other games that Xbox has to offer that are way better.
  20. Oct 31, 2013
    6
    Maybe if this game didn't have such a raging stiffy for Stephen King and Rambo, this game could have been very good. This game was a missed opportunity with poor characters you don't care about (Barry!) and a very difficult story to follow. This game did have a good atmosphere but only in dark forests, other than that it was just a bland repetitive shooter after a couple of hours givingMaybe if this game didn't have such a raging stiffy for Stephen King and Rambo, this game could have been very good. This game was a missed opportunity with poor characters you don't care about (Barry!) and a very difficult story to follow. This game did have a good atmosphere but only in dark forests, other than that it was just a bland repetitive shooter after a couple of hours giving you unlimited ammo and pretty easy, not scary enemies that were as predictable as burnt toast. As I said, better story, better characters and maybe more survival based combat this game could have been awesome, but it failed, badly. Expand
  21. Nov 25, 2013
    7
    All in all, Alan Wake is a great game with a really captivating story. It's one of those movie-esque games (not to be confused with movie license games....Those things are that really engages you with its plot. Anyway, to get to the point, here is what I really enjoyed about Alan Wake:
    -An amazing story that's complicated and mature
    -Mostly interesting characters (granted, there are
    All in all, Alan Wake is a great game with a really captivating story. It's one of those movie-esque games (not to be confused with movie license games....Those things are that really engages you with its plot. Anyway, to get to the point, here is what I really enjoyed about Alan Wake:
    -An amazing story that's complicated and mature
    -Mostly interesting characters (granted, there are exceptions to this).
    -A unique combat system with the flash light, flares and guns.
    -Some down right amazing environments.
    -A superb soundtrack with Poets of the Fall being one of the featured artists.
    Now here are my cons:
    -Some pretty bad lip syncing and character models. I think the characters had a lot of potential to look good but it just didn't really work out.
    -Extremely repetitive gameplay. I mean, you'll basically be running through levels trying to not get killed by the same enemies over and over. Fun for a while but it does get old...
    -A pretty confusing ending
    Expand
  22. Jun 10, 2014
    6
    Este juego es una de las primeras veces que te sientes como parte de una serie, su estructura por capítulos así como su interés a nivel narrativo así lo demuestra, lo malo es que la jugabilidad no está a la altura y de hecho casi parece molestar. Tal vez para comprarlo en grandes rebajas y si te interesa la narrativa.
  23. Nov 8, 2012
    0
    Overall, the game was enjoyable on some level.. But Overall, I don't think it deserves the high rating that it has received. The story line was excellent. It was almost like an interactive movie. The graphics weren't bad, but nothing special. The driving mission was broken... it was honestly some of the worst driving in a game that I have ever played... some flash games on the internet hadOverall, the game was enjoyable on some level.. But Overall, I don't think it deserves the high rating that it has received. The story line was excellent. It was almost like an interactive movie. The graphics weren't bad, but nothing special. The driving mission was broken... it was honestly some of the worst driving in a game that I have ever played... some flash games on the internet had better physics.. but that was just a small problem, as there wasn't much driving anyway... my main complaint, is that the gameplay was very much the same for the entire game. It felt like a Demo that lasted for 6 hours.
    overall I was a bit disappointed with the purchase, however if you find it in a bargain bin at walmart, then go for it.
    Collapse
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 100 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 100
  2. Negative: 0 out of 100
  1. Alan Wake is finally here, and it's as good as we expected. Rich environments, great story, superb gameplay, many areas to explore, interesting characters... A great game that is not the ambitious project Remedy wanted it to be, but it's glorious anyway.
  2. Alan Wake lacks that little spark of genious that distinguishes a good game from a masterpiece, an H.P. Lovecraft from your average Stephen King.
  3. While its not the generation defining game the epic development schedule might've hyped, Alan Wake is still a fantastic, 10-hour-plus play-it-on-the-couch linear action game - with brains required or not depending on your preference.