User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1002 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 25, 2010
    9
    Alan Wake is a game that captures you as soon as it begins. The first thing you will notice is that this game looks absolutely gorgeous. The voice acting is some of the best I have heard in any game. Everything about Alan Wake is believable. And most importantly the story is excellent. This is the one aspect of the game that drove me to complete the game quickly to see the ending (which is conclusive and pretty satisfying). I really do believe that this game has set standards in how a story is told in the video game medium. If you like your games with an engrossing narrative and game-play so smooth you feel as if you are Alan Wake then this game is a must buy. Expand
  2. Aug 29, 2010
    9
    The best story-driven game i have ever played. Alan Wake wont let you go before you finish it, and even after that you still want more. This game has great controls,very good graphics, Superb story and character you want to se more of. Just go buy it. Nuff said
  3. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    As an avid stephan king reader, i appreciate the fiction this game puts forth. I know good storytelling and this game raises the bar on it. The graphics have a specific art style and complement the engaging music. To some one with no knowledge on video games, the combat and enemies seem generic and not varied. These people are idiots. this game is engaging and awesome in presentation. I pity the fool who rates this game low. Expand
  4. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    this game is brilliant. Many have wrongly complained about the voice acting which is brilliant. Second the game play isn't repetitive that much i mean seriously its only as repetitive as resident evil 4 which everyone said was brilliant. Overall this game is brilliant with very good graphics, a great story and great game play.
  5. Jul 25, 2012
    9
    After almost a year, I still think about the visuals and story of this game. It was a complete surprise and one I will definitely return to in the future. The DLC was interesting but lacked the feeling of the main story.
  6. Jan 22, 2011
    10
    One of the best XBOX 360 games I've played. Great story and execellent atmosphere. Recommended if you liked Condemned.

    Perhpas a little short, although on the hardest level it does take longer.

    Brilliant. Will definitly buy AW2 when its released.
  7. Sep 16, 2010
    9
    Alan Wake is a fantastic title, packing a intriguing narrative and gorgeous visuals. Finnish developer 'Remedy' wanted Wake to play out like a US TV drama, and they've succeeded in every way possible. What you see here is six in-game episodes of heart pounding, spine tingling awesome with a narrative that'll keeping you guessing right up until the final credits role. Characters are unique and engaging, with Wake's monologuing adding to the experience every step of the way. Gameplay can become quite samey, though environments remain stunning and the lighting is fluid and, at times, simply breath taking (which is fantastic, in a game built up upon a mechanic that direct involves it.) If you're a fan of engaging narrative coupled with exciting gameplay, Wake is an unmissable edition to the Xbox's exclusive collection. Expand
  8. Sep 30, 2010
    9
    Alan Wake is a fantastic title, packing a intriguing narrative and gorgeous visuals. Finnish developer 'Remedy' wanted Wake to play out like a US TV drama, and they've succeeded in every way possible. What you see here is six in-game episodes of heart pounding, spine tingling awesome with a narrative that'll keeping you guessing right up until the final credits role. Characters are unique and engaging, with Wake's monologuing adding to the experience every step of the way. Gameplay can become quite samey, though environments remain stunning and the lighting is fluid and, at times, simply breath taking (which is fantastic, in a game built up upon a mechanic that direct involves it.) If you're a fan of engaging narrative coupled with exciting gameplay, Wake is an unmissable edition to the Xbox's exclusive collection. Expand
  9. Oct 8, 2010
    9
    This game is awesome. I don't like the final....but only because is confusing. This game is for "twin peak's fan" or every person that wanna play a well narrated story. A must buy.
  10. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    This is really one of the best games I've ever played. Done by the same guys who did the Max Payne series, the character development, the story, the creepiness, the graphics. Everything about this game was a winner for me. For those who enjoyed the series Twin Peaks, you'll see multiple references and similarities. Incredibly polished, enjoyable cinematic/gaming experience.
  11. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    Alan Wake is by far one of my favorite games of this generation, maybe it can get a little repetitive but the story is so compelling that you just can't move from the chair, the graphics are awesome and the game play works well.
  12. Sep 27, 2011
    9
    A brilliant game that shows the power of atmosphere. The immersion was great, the environments dragged me in so well I was on the edge of my seat the whole time, while still being able to frighten the hell out of me. Brilliantly paced and written, with strong gameplay mechanics and beautiful environments, the minor flaws like facial animations are nearly completely forgotten it what is a game that deserves more praise than it gets. Expand
  13. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    Love this game, the atmosphere this game brings is one of the best I have seen in any game. The lighting as well is fantastically done. Definitely one of my favourite games this gen!
  14. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    amazing graphics, amazing story. Smoke and fog effects are great and add to the spooky supernatural feel of the game. They did their homework - their fictional town looks much like small towns in the pacific northwest.
  15. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    This is one of my all time favourite games, it is so atmospheric and although this was originally meant to be an open world game I'm glad they didn't in the end as it is really well done as a linear story and it really is just amazing to go through. My only complaint is that it is a little bit long, if they cut out some parts I think it would have helped with the pacing a little. But it has amazing graphics, characters and locations. The music is also 1st class. Expand
  16. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Alan Wake is an outstanding and absolutely polished, beautifully written thriller story from Remedy - makers of previous best seller Max Payne. I must say I was totally stunned by the beautiful graphics, the most realistic lights and shadows, the crisp audio, but the secret weapon for me was the STORY itself, without doubt. All the characters and mechanics, the background story, the smart talking-names, the minor referrals to Remedy's previous blockbuster action, the narration and the beautifully crafted lines, the lost manuscripts, all of them feels like straight from the hand of a Real writer! Alan Wake is a must have for not just the ones who like survival-horror action, but especially for the ones who loves watching, reading and feeling the adventure, the moving, heart pounding stories - spiced with bits inspired by the best of Stephen King's.
    Everybody have to try this one!
    Expand
  17. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    This game really shows what Remedy can do, it will leave you wanting for more but not in a bad way. The story is one of the most interesting stories you will ever experience, with cliffhangers, great writing and intriguing characters, you will not want to stop playing. It pulls you into the world and you will never want to leave. With manuscripts fore-telling events to come and radios to fill you in an the events there is plenty of reasons to go back and play again. Technically the game is beautiful with big long vistas and sun swept landscapes. This is down to the lighting effects, it almost looks like real life at times. It introduces a unique way fo fighting off enemy's that creates tense moments, your most powerful tool isn't your gun but your flashlight. This game is a masterpiece and creates a new standard of storytelling in not only video games but all forms of media. This is a most buy game! Expand
  18. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    I really liked this game. It keeps you in the dark, figuratively and literally. Not the scariest game I've played but it definitely has its moments. The gameplay is good, but be warned - it takes some getting used to. The flashlight combat is very unique, and satisfying once you get it down. The length is good, it's not a short game by any means. It mixes in the occasional open world scene with a heavily linear story, which I also liked. The game pulls you in, lulls a bit for the first few chapters, but picks up and finishes strong. 9/10. Expand
  19. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    this game is great inspired by stephen king & the tv show lost it has such an edge of your seat story it will keep u guessing 2 the end & beyond great acting,graphics,story & mechanics any1 who hates this game truly don't understand what a thriller is & the 2 dlc packs r amazing must buys
  20. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    Maybe when you play this game, you do not immediately appreciate it highly. But after the passage of it will come out of your memory for a long time. Alan Wake - incredibly atmospheric game, with great plot and interesting characters. The visual effects look very nice, and landscapes of Bright Falls to remember for a long time. The game may not have a lot of memorable moments, there are no interesting bosses. But it is an adult story, great atmosphere, excellent professional videos, a great soundtrack and excellent presentation of the plot. Maybe Alan Wake - the best exclusive for the XBOX360 and one of the best games of recent times. Expand
  21. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    this game is great inspired by stephen king & the tv show lost it has such an edge of your seat story it will keep u guessing 2 the end & beyond great acting,graphics,story & mechanics any1 who hates this game truly don't understand what a thriller is & the 2 dlc packs r amazing must buys
  22. Sep 17, 2011
    9
    What a great game. Excellent atmosphere, okay lenght (9 to 10 hours), and well-telled history. Batteries and ammo are not something that you can find anywhere and there are epic boss fights. You will want to come back because of the challenge of Insane difficulty, but not so more as the game is not that long. There are a few bugs, and the physic is not perfect, but there are a few games as unique as this one. Expand
  23. Oct 10, 2011
    9
    Alan Wake is a major success for being a psychological thriller thats plays out like a tv show. The story line for this game is interesting and is full of twists in the plot. You play the role of Alan Wake, a writer, who is looking for his wife who went missing when they were vacationing in a Bright Falls. Bright Falls is a small town in Washington that holds many mysteries, namely Cauldron lake which is in the center of the town. The game's mood is creepy and dark which really is the only "scary" part of it. The gameplay works but could be better and glitches occur occasionally sometimes creating issues. The music also contributes to the eerie feeling of Bright Falls. Though it is a short game and has a rather unfulfilling ending, the DLC should keep you happy but only for a few more hours. The best part of the game in my opinion is the light vs dark theme which involves you racing to sources of light to escape the darkness and removing the darkness from the taken to defeat them. Overall, loved this game, hoping for a new one. What kept this from a perfect 10/10 was the short story and the poor ending. Expand
  24. Aug 17, 2012
    9
    Finally the makers of Max Payne 1 and 2 have returned.Their latest game Alan Wake hasn't made as big an impact as Max Payne yet but the franchise has a lot of potential. Right off the bat you will notice Alan Wake's story is well written. I can't remember the last time a video game's story was told like Alan Wake. The atmosphere and graphics of the game just add to the experience. I can't go any further without mentioning the lighting system. It's one of the best lighting systems I have seen in a video game. Not to mention the combat system is based on the use of light. Although the story of the game is told well there is something that takes away from the cutscenes/storytelling. That is lip syncing. A lot of games don't have good lip syncing but in Alan Wake in just has an odd look to it. Some gameplay mechanics aren't very good as well. Such as jumping. It's good for clearing gaps but when it comes to jumping over something it is a little annoying and the animation doesn't look right even though the animations in every other aspect of the game is done very well. What more can you ask for from a game? There is a well written story plus good gameplay (with a little errors) and amazing looking graphics. This could possibly lead to one of the best franchises ever and I have high hopes that Remedy can strike gold with it if they put in the effort. I wouldn't say it is a must own but it is a should own game if you like great stories. 9/10 Expand
  25. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    To start off Alan Wake is one of the best games I have ever played, yeah the camera angles are annoying and yes you run through the same forest over and over but the fact is, you play Alan Wake for the story and it sure does deliver. The gun play is pretty solid with a decent range of weapons for someone who has never fired a gun, the flares and flash bangs are cool additions. The enemies were not the best with only a few types but they were I believe well balanced providing some tense encounters. The story is probably the best story in any game I have played which is over 230 on the Xbox 360 (not including the N64, Sega MegaDrive, SNES, Gameboy, Gamecube, Dreamcast, PS1, PS2, PS3, PC and the PSP) so I think I have a pretty decent history with game stories and Alan Wake's narration and the manuscripts were really well done. Making the game like a book was a great idea and was executed perfectly with some great twists and cliff-hangers. The ending at first was a disappointing but when I thought about it, the ending made sense and was rather good at sprouting questions in the brain. This is a game that everyone that likes a good story should play but if you're for action, you have come to the wrong place.
    A most definite 10/10. GOTY 2010
    (I got the game on release, collector's edition but I didn't do reviews on here then but I felt I had to put it)
    Expand
  26. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This game is Twin Peaks meets Stephen King in a Remedy shaped parking garage. In short, it's absolutely perfect. The pacing was handled extremely well and I was struck with a 'just ten minutes more' feeling whenever the story revealed another small piece of information. It's an adventure that is as subtle as it is dark and I loved every minute.
  27. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    You must try this game, this one is my favorite game this generation. I can't wait to play alan wake 2, i mean you can buy this game now for 9$ DO IT
  28. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Alan Wake represents the epitome of great storytelling. It takes the archaic story of light vs. darkness and provides a cool new spin to it. What makes a great game is not the main character, but who surrounds that main character. The supporting characters are SUPERB. At times, Alan Wake is at times seriously scary, which is different from other "scary" games that a 4 year old could easily play. The beautiful scenery, story, characters, and all around atmosphere really makes this game great. The music doesn't hurt either.

    I would tell anyone to pick up this game. Absolutely awesome,
    Expand
  29. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    The best game I ever played in my life. Good graphics and nice music and the gameplay is so fun the game is Challenging and make you feel great.
    overall the story of the game is wonderfull and keep you wondering what's gona happend next and you feel exciting :D.... i dont know any other game who affer you fun and good story together alan wake is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  30. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Alan Wake es un titulo nuevo dentro del genero de terror psicologico.
    Sin duda que Remedy tomo bastante tiempo para terminarlo, pero finalmente crearon un juego
    totalmente inmersivo, increiblemente bien logrado grafica y fisicamente con una historia atrayente y un terror sobrenatural raya entre la realidad y la locura.

    Aunque resulta un tanto corto el juego es totalmente recomendado.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 100 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 100
  2. Negative: 0 out of 100
  1. Alan Wake is finally here, and it's as good as we expected. Rich environments, great story, superb gameplay, many areas to explore, interesting characters... A great game that is not the ambitious project Remedy wanted it to be, but it's glorious anyway.
  2. Alan Wake lacks that little spark of genious that distinguishes a good game from a masterpiece, an H.P. Lovecraft from your average Stephen King.
  3. While its not the generation defining game the epic development schedule might've hyped, Alan Wake is still a fantastic, 10-hour-plus play-it-on-the-couch linear action game - with brains required or not depending on your preference.