Alan Wake Xbox 360

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1179 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GunGraveTZA(JackW.)
    May 18, 2010
    10
    This game is truely a masterpiece. It has one of the most exciting and satisfying stories for any video game (and the ending isn't crap nor does it require the DLC, it just doesn't answer some questions clearly, and that's great as it opens up the ending to interpretation and makes it even more interesting), the gameplay is simple yet always fun, and the graphics are really This game is truely a masterpiece. It has one of the most exciting and satisfying stories for any video game (and the ending isn't crap nor does it require the DLC, it just doesn't answer some questions clearly, and that's great as it opens up the ending to interpretation and makes it even more interesting), the gameplay is simple yet always fun, and the graphics are really wow for a game that's been in development for 5 years. Truely one of the best games of this generation. Expand
  2. DavidS.
    May 18, 2010
    9
    If you can thrust "minor ailments" like sometimes too quickly vanishing birds, smaller physics bugs here and there, clipping errors in some of the cutscenes and the unsightly face-animations aside, can ignore a few bad textures, the recurring fightscenes and very similar looking (there are different types!) "taken", it truly remains a more solid title as usual these days (thank god!). in If you can thrust "minor ailments" like sometimes too quickly vanishing birds, smaller physics bugs here and there, clipping errors in some of the cutscenes and the unsightly face-animations aside, can ignore a few bad textures, the recurring fightscenes and very similar looking (there are different types!) "taken", it truly remains a more solid title as usual these days (thank god!). in spite of it linear story-heavyness this game sprayes an unbelievable amount of charme, so many details and allusions that it boils over every moment... for me this game released a really rare kind of "i cannot stop" symptom, i still have a lasting effect because of that intense story and even managed to play through it again after such a short time period (don't happens often, believe me). sure, there is stuff that could have been improved before the release, but I believe most of the "free openworld sandbox" fanboys simply forgotten that a deep storyline like this won't work without certain barriers as desired by the writer ;) this game got the best lightning effects i've ever seen in a game, soooo huge maps to explore, awesome atmosphere on day or night, so much details and of course a well written plot. by the way: such good "feeling" while steering with the xbox-pad is very seldom, too! anyway, i am glad that (the now broke) rockstar vienna wasn't responsible for the console-port of this game as planned before and that its creators are the real makers. respekt to those finnish actionprofis and creators of the one and only bullettime! the whole produkt alan wake rocks! i am still discovering unseen, unheard and new manuscript pages on the second play through (has found only 86 of more than 100 pages till now and want everything). very briefly: if you know lovecraft, king, kubrick and scorsese and love their work, basically start to play this game with a setting sun and stop again in the early morning hours, if you'll let yourself get involved with the story, show initiative and think about what just happend after each episode while listening to the awesome soundtrack, this game offers so much more suspense and subtle horror than most "in office "alongside rush testers" will note. 2. round for me, and i still stick to it: 9/10 (please excuse my english). Expand
  3. AnelM.
    May 18, 2010
    10
    Alan Wake is one of the best experience I have ever felt in a Video Game. The atmosphere, the story and the gameplay make Alan Wake the top action game of the decade. The fans of Max Payne will love Alan Wake, also the fans of Lost and S. King will felt in love with the story. If you are looking for a very cool game to play now days pick up Alan Wake, It has a 15 hours campaing and a lot Alan Wake is one of the best experience I have ever felt in a Video Game. The atmosphere, the story and the gameplay make Alan Wake the top action game of the decade. The fans of Max Payne will love Alan Wake, also the fans of Lost and S. King will felt in love with the story. If you are looking for a very cool game to play now days pick up Alan Wake, It has a 15 hours campaing and a lot of replay value with more difficulty levels and collectable items for the Achivements hunters. Alan Wake is a game you should not miss on the XBOX 360. Expand
  4. CraigB.
    May 18, 2010
    10
    When RMD first showed off Alan Wake a long time ago I was stunned, shocked and intimately curious to see where the developers of Max Payne 1 & 2 were going to go with a new IP. The premise seems simple enough. Take 1/2 a spoonful of The Shining, a healthy dose of Twin Peaks, develop a game engine with some of the best lighting effects seen on a console ever and wrap it all up in a When RMD first showed off Alan Wake a long time ago I was stunned, shocked and intimately curious to see where the developers of Max Payne 1 & 2 were going to go with a new IP. The premise seems simple enough. Take 1/2 a spoonful of The Shining, a healthy dose of Twin Peaks, develop a game engine with some of the best lighting effects seen on a console ever and wrap it all up in a mysterious and thrilling "roller coaster ride" where a shroud of darkness has fallen over the town of Bright Falls. Well all I can say is that after having watched almost every snippet of information get revealed and gameplay footage start to crop up I couldn Expand
  5. JohnNikkelson
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    I use a PS3 not a 360. However it disgusts me that fellow PS3 users have to troll onto the 360 section. Makes me wonder if any of them have heard of the saying "2 wrongs don't make a right"

    I've voted 10/10 just to help recover the scoring and help generate normality here.
  6. IanM
    May 18, 2010
    9
    Amazing game with great visuals, atmosphere, and writing. I've never been so tense in a videogame in my life. As good as it is, the facial animation and lip syncing doesn't really match what is being said on screen, especially with Alan's wife. For a game that is centered around story telling and takes on the visage of a TV show, this really should have been a top priority Amazing game with great visuals, atmosphere, and writing. I've never been so tense in a videogame in my life. As good as it is, the facial animation and lip syncing doesn't really match what is being said on screen, especially with Alan's wife. For a game that is centered around story telling and takes on the visage of a TV show, this really should have been a top priority for Remedy. Still it's a small complaint compared to the overall game. 9/10. Expand
  7. Aug 11, 2010
    8
    Although Alan Wake has an incredible amount of room for improvement, it's a deep game, and it's honestly terrifying in it's own way. The use of the flashlight in the game as your ultimate weapon is very unique, this game wanted it's own feel and got it, they have started there own unique gameplay that they simply just have to build on like every other game that had ideas to make somethingAlthough Alan Wake has an incredible amount of room for improvement, it's a deep game, and it's honestly terrifying in it's own way. The use of the flashlight in the game as your ultimate weapon is very unique, this game wanted it's own feel and got it, they have started there own unique gameplay that they simply just have to build on like every other game that had ideas to make something different, in almost all ways Alan Wake succeeded and it met my expectations which were fairly high for a series starter like Alan Wake. I loved the game and can't wait to see what they do in the future with this title. Expand
  8. Jul 1, 2012
    8
    Alan Wake encapsulates imagination. And with such comes great originality. The story has a tendency to go a bit all over the place, though overall it comes across as something few developers dare to explore these days - a brand new vision. The characters have strong personalities, and the atmosphere draws you into the world with a presentation that holds up well even by today's standards.Alan Wake encapsulates imagination. And with such comes great originality. The story has a tendency to go a bit all over the place, though overall it comes across as something few developers dare to explore these days - a brand new vision. The characters have strong personalities, and the atmosphere draws you into the world with a presentation that holds up well even by today's standards. The gameplay succeeds in being quite different from the norm, and although it doesn't vary as much as I would have liked it to throughout the game, it manages to remain challenging and enjoyable. Personally I would have liked a Focus button that did not require me to hold it down for minutes on end, and a more alarming notification of enemies approaching from behind - though this is nitpicking really. I'm not yet certain where Remedy is going with the narrative, but consider me intrigued. All in all Alan Wake is a rarity, and its approach to episodic content reminiscent of television shows should be encouraged throughout the video gaming industry where fit. Much props to Remedy for taking their time to fulfill their vision, and perhaps it will help encourage the rest of the industry to take some notes on how originality is achieved - instead of having the only remaining ambition in this sequel-filled industry being the constantly reappearing selling point "bigger and better". Expand
  9. Oct 13, 2012
    8
    Alan wake is a pretty good new IP and i like the idea behind it. You go to a cabin in the woods with your wife to work on a book and your wife vanishes and all hell breaks loose. The game has a nice creepy atmosphere being in the woods at night . The combat mechanics are fairly good . i like the idea of having to use your flashlight to weeken the enimys down before you can shoot them .Alan wake is a pretty good new IP and i like the idea behind it. You go to a cabin in the woods with your wife to work on a book and your wife vanishes and all hell breaks loose. The game has a nice creepy atmosphere being in the woods at night . The combat mechanics are fairly good . i like the idea of having to use your flashlight to weeken the enimys down before you can shoot them . The story telling is pretty solid . There is no real good enimy varity at all though and it would have been nice if they could have put some freakier creatuers in this game . over all though if you like survival horror type games like silent hill its worth your time. Expand
  10. Aug 25, 2010
    9
    Alan Wake is a game that captures you as soon as it begins. The first thing you will notice is that this game looks absolutely gorgeous. The voice acting is some of the best I have heard in any game. Everything about Alan Wake is believable. And most importantly the story is excellent. This is the one aspect of the game that drove me to complete the game quickly to see the ending (which isAlan Wake is a game that captures you as soon as it begins. The first thing you will notice is that this game looks absolutely gorgeous. The voice acting is some of the best I have heard in any game. Everything about Alan Wake is believable. And most importantly the story is excellent. This is the one aspect of the game that drove me to complete the game quickly to see the ending (which is conclusive and pretty satisfying). I really do believe that this game has set standards in how a story is told in the video game medium. If you like your games with an engrossing narrative and game-play so smooth you feel as if you are Alan Wake then this game is a must buy. Expand
  11. Aug 29, 2010
    9
    The best story-driven game i have ever played. Alan Wake wont let you go before you finish it, and even after that you still want more. This game has great controls,very good graphics, Superb story and character you want to se more of. Just go buy it. Nuff said
  12. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    As an avid stephan king reader, i appreciate the fiction this game puts forth. I know good storytelling and this game raises the bar on it. The graphics have a specific art style and complement the engaging music. To some one with no knowledge on video games, the combat and enemies seem generic and not varied. These people are idiots. this game is engaging and awesome in presentation. IAs an avid stephan king reader, i appreciate the fiction this game puts forth. I know good storytelling and this game raises the bar on it. The graphics have a specific art style and complement the engaging music. To some one with no knowledge on video games, the combat and enemies seem generic and not varied. These people are idiots. this game is engaging and awesome in presentation. I pity the fool who rates this game low. Expand
  13. Oct 19, 2010
    8
    I really enjoyed playing this game it has a fine storyline and great controls.The graphics are very atmospheric and the lighting effects are a joy to behold.All in all I'd recommend this game to anybody that's a fan of the genre
  14. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    this game is brilliant. Many have wrongly complained about the voice acting which is brilliant. Second the game play isn't repetitive that much i mean seriously its only as repetitive as resident evil 4 which everyone said was brilliant. Overall this game is brilliant with very good graphics, a great story and great game play.
  15. Jul 25, 2012
    9
    After almost a year, I still think about the visuals and story of this game. It was a complete surprise and one I will definitely return to in the future. The DLC was interesting but lacked the feeling of the main story.
  16. Jan 22, 2011
    10
    One of the best XBOX 360 games I've played. Great story and execellent atmosphere. Recommended if you liked Condemned.

    Perhpas a little short, although on the hardest level it does take longer.

    Brilliant. Will definitly buy AW2 when its released.
  17. Sep 16, 2010
    9
    Alan Wake is a fantastic title, packing a intriguing narrative and gorgeous visuals. Finnish developer 'Remedy' wanted Wake to play out like a US TV drama, and they've succeeded in every way possible. What you see here is six in-game episodes of heart pounding, spine tingling awesome with a narrative that'll keeping you guessing right up until the final credits role. Characters are uniqueAlan Wake is a fantastic title, packing a intriguing narrative and gorgeous visuals. Finnish developer 'Remedy' wanted Wake to play out like a US TV drama, and they've succeeded in every way possible. What you see here is six in-game episodes of heart pounding, spine tingling awesome with a narrative that'll keeping you guessing right up until the final credits role. Characters are unique and engaging, with Wake's monologuing adding to the experience every step of the way. Gameplay can become quite samey, though environments remain stunning and the lighting is fluid and, at times, simply breath taking (which is fantastic, in a game built up upon a mechanic that direct involves it.) If you're a fan of engaging narrative coupled with exciting gameplay, Wake is an unmissable edition to the Xbox's exclusive collection. Expand
  18. Feb 17, 2011
    8
    For the amount of hype that this game has received, I must admit that I'm somewhat disappointed. When this game first came out, all I ever saw on anything that has to do with video games is "ALAN WAKE" plastered everywhere. I forced myself to not purchase this game at full price, waiting till it dropped into the bargan bin for a mere $20 before i made my purchase. In the end, I'm glad thatFor the amount of hype that this game has received, I must admit that I'm somewhat disappointed. When this game first came out, all I ever saw on anything that has to do with video games is "ALAN WAKE" plastered everywhere. I forced myself to not purchase this game at full price, waiting till it dropped into the bargan bin for a mere $20 before i made my purchase. In the end, I'm glad that I did, seeing as how this game has very little replay value and can be completed in a mere 8-10 hours. I read that it's supposed to be a psychological thriller, shooter, action, and horror game. While it definitely is all of these, it really doesn't do any of them well except psychological thriller. The game isn't scary in the slightest, mainly because the enemies are all exceptionally annoying. Or, it could be that the main character is constantly talking, giving you the sense that you're not fully enveloped in the world. Either way, the game never gave me chills, nor did it ever make me jump, even a little. I was expecting some insane mind-twisting story that would leave my mouth agape, but it was actually quite predictable and uninspired. You'll catch yourself in the game thinking, "OK, there's no way that's going to happen next, it's waaaayyy too obvious." And then, to your dismay, it does happen. Exactly as you imagined that it would. I can't say that the entire story is like this, but the majority of it definitely is. The collectible thermos' are boring to collect, but the manuscript pages are somewhat interesting. The voice acting is decent, but nothing spectacular, and lip-synching is hilariously bad. The actual game's graphics are excellent, and the environment was tremendously well-done. Lighting in the game is remarkable, and the shadowing is near flawless. The gunplay and core mechanics in the game all work extremely well and definitely gives you more of a movie-esque vibe with all of the slow-motion cinematics during combat. The general idea of light vs. dark is prevalent in this one, and seems a little cliche. The ending was OK, but wasn't pieced together too well, as I felt that some things weren't explained as properly as they should have been. One thing that ground out my nerves was when you were swarmed by enemies that swing their weapons over and over. A dodge is great once or twice, but then you run into the third guy who is swinging as well. The general gameplay tends to get a little repetitive at times, consisting of you running through the woods shooting at seemingly endless amounts of enemies that aren't even scary to fight. Overall, I enjoyed the story to a degree and it was worth paying $20 for. The gameplay is good and the graphics are great. If you're looking for another horror game to satisfy your need to leap out of your chair, this is not recommended at all. I feel this game is targetted more towards adults who enjoy a decent psychological thriller with some shooting sprinkled in, and so that is the only audience I can recommend this game to. In the end, a disappointment to myself, but still a solid game. Expand
  19. Sep 19, 2010
    8
    Alan Wake. Alan Wake,
    About 5 years in the making, Alan Wake has finally reached our store shelves. Created by famed developer Remedy, responsible for gems such as Max Payne, Alan Wake is a psychological thriller about a writer called Alan Wake who takes a much needed holiday with his wife to Bright Falls. As soon as they arrive, nothing goes to plan, his wife is kidnapped by a mysterious
    Alan Wake. Alan Wake,
    About 5 years in the making, Alan Wake has finally reached our store shelves. Created by famed developer Remedy, responsible for gems such as Max Payne, Alan Wake is a psychological thriller about a writer called Alan Wake who takes a much needed holiday with his wife to Bright Falls. As soon as they arrive, nothing goes to plan, his wife is kidnapped by a mysterious force known as the Darkness and Alan brings it upon himself to discover her whereabouts.
    The game was originally conceived as an open world, sandbox title and I was a little disappointed upon release when it was revealed that this had been taken out. The game takes place as episodes like a tv series with daytime being your story progression and night-time being the action orientated fight against the Taken, the name given to the people who have been overcome by the Darkness. This, ruined one of the strongest appeals for me. I had envisaged taken my car out for a drive to suddenly being overcome by the Darkness, with light the only source of comfort.
    But Alan Wake is good, but not great. The daytime sequences only exist to expand the narrative and provide a sense of a believeable open world which in fact is quite linear. The night is the main bulk of the game and is where Alan Wake's story lies. Armed with only a torch and a few weapons, Alan must traverse a variety of woodland environments to meet his objectives to try to find his wife, Alice. The environments are incredibly spooky and the game is very atmospheric but unfortunately it is just not scary. I played the game on the 'Normal' setting and this is what most people will play and the game constantly tells you when the Taken are going to ambush you, defeating the element of suprise. I don't know if this can be turned off.
    Despite this, the game is still an enjoyable experience. I think, had the game not spent so much time in development, then it would be getting 9's across the board.
    The only other negative is the story. The story is good but incredibly confusing if you don't analyse everything. About half way through I didn't really have a clue what was going on!
    However, in an industry saturated with 'space marine shooters', Alan Wake is a refreshing change. It's not a masterpiece but it is a brilliant experience not to be missed.
    FeelinLuckyPUNK
    Expand
  20. Sep 30, 2010
    9
    Alan Wake is a fantastic title, packing a intriguing narrative and gorgeous visuals. Finnish developer 'Remedy' wanted Wake to play out like a US TV drama, and they've succeeded in every way possible. What you see here is six in-game episodes of heart pounding, spine tingling awesome with a narrative that'll keeping you guessing right up until the final credits role. Characters are uniqueAlan Wake is a fantastic title, packing a intriguing narrative and gorgeous visuals. Finnish developer 'Remedy' wanted Wake to play out like a US TV drama, and they've succeeded in every way possible. What you see here is six in-game episodes of heart pounding, spine tingling awesome with a narrative that'll keeping you guessing right up until the final credits role. Characters are unique and engaging, with Wake's monologuing adding to the experience every step of the way. Gameplay can become quite samey, though environments remain stunning and the lighting is fluid and, at times, simply breath taking (which is fantastic, in a game built up upon a mechanic that direct involves it.) If you're a fan of engaging narrative coupled with exciting gameplay, Wake is an unmissable edition to the Xbox's exclusive collection. Expand
  21. Oct 8, 2010
    9
    This game is awesome. I don't like the final....but only because is confusing. This game is for "twin peak's fan" or every person that wanna play a well narrated story. A must buy.
  22. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    This is really one of the best games I've ever played. Done by the same guys who did the Max Payne series, the character development, the story, the creepiness, the graphics. Everything about this game was a winner for me. For those who enjoyed the series Twin Peaks, you'll see multiple references and similarities. Incredibly polished, enjoyable cinematic/gaming experience.
  23. Nov 24, 2010
    8
    Alan Wake was almost more of a cinematic experience than anything else. The game play itself wasn't all that difficult, and the linear path of the story left me feeling that I had little control over the outcome. I still enjoyed it and can appreciate the artistic value of this game.
  24. Nov 26, 2010
    8
    I highly recommend this game! This game has a great story with plenty of question that keeps you thinking, the gameplay is ok in a fact you destroy people with a flashlight. The flaws with this game is the repetztive walk in the woods with enemies from every direction, this is almost what you are doing 80% off the time. This game overall did not truly live up to its height as i thoughtI highly recommend this game! This game has a great story with plenty of question that keeps you thinking, the gameplay is ok in a fact you destroy people with a flashlight. The flaws with this game is the repetztive walk in the woods with enemies from every direction, this is almost what you are doing 80% off the time. This game overall did not truly live up to its height as i thought it would be one of the greatest games i've ever played especialy through all the delays it went through. Expand
  25. Oct 19, 2011
    8
    Alan wake is a very enjoyable game, I hadn't played it but saw that it had good reviews so recently got it on XBL, the game was not that long but it kept my interest, the plot and take on the storyline is a very interesting mixture. One of my favourite parts of the game is once you finish a chapter yoàu get an alan wake logo on screen and a song plays from start to finish itAlan wake is a very enjoyable game, I hadn't played it but saw that it had good reviews so recently got it on XBL, the game was not that long but it kept my interest, the plot and take on the storyline is a very interesting mixture. One of my favourite parts of the game is once you finish a chapter yoàu get an alan wake logo on screen and a song plays from start to finish it just adds an extra relief and a little while to relax before starting up again. Found the game to be like a mini tv series of which you are the main character, no doubt the intention of the producers and the gameplay, the story and gameplay mesh well together with the creative directing. There are a few niggles, the gameplay does begin to get repetitive by the end and I couldn't bring myself to replay the game, once through was enough. So.... Not perfect but an enjoyable gaming adventure, if you find it on the cheap it's worth picking it up. Expand
  26. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    Alan Wake is by far one of my favorite games of this generation, maybe it can get a little repetitive but the story is so compelling that you just can't move from the chair, the graphics are awesome and the game play works well.
  27. Sep 27, 2011
    9
    A brilliant game that shows the power of atmosphere. The immersion was great, the environments dragged me in so well I was on the edge of my seat the whole time, while still being able to frighten the hell out of me. Brilliantly paced and written, with strong gameplay mechanics and beautiful environments, the minor flaws like facial animations are nearly completely forgotten it what is aA brilliant game that shows the power of atmosphere. The immersion was great, the environments dragged me in so well I was on the edge of my seat the whole time, while still being able to frighten the hell out of me. Brilliantly paced and written, with strong gameplay mechanics and beautiful environments, the minor flaws like facial animations are nearly completely forgotten it what is a game that deserves more praise than it gets. Expand
  28. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    Love this game, the atmosphere this game brings is one of the best I have seen in any game. The lighting as well is fantastically done. Definitely one of my favourite games this gen!
  29. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    amazing graphics, amazing story. Smoke and fog effects are great and add to the spooky supernatural feel of the game. They did their homework - their fictional town looks much like small towns in the pacific northwest.
  30. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    This is one of my all time favourite games, it is so atmospheric and although this was originally meant to be an open world game I'm glad they didn't in the end as it is really well done as a linear story and it really is just amazing to go through. My only complaint is that it is a little bit long, if they cut out some parts I think it would have helped with the pacing a little. But itThis is one of my all time favourite games, it is so atmospheric and although this was originally meant to be an open world game I'm glad they didn't in the end as it is really well done as a linear story and it really is just amazing to go through. My only complaint is that it is a little bit long, if they cut out some parts I think it would have helped with the pacing a little. But it has amazing graphics, characters and locations. The music is also 1st class. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 100 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 100
  2. Negative: 0 out of 100
  1. Alan Wake is finally here, and it's as good as we expected. Rich environments, great story, superb gameplay, many areas to explore, interesting characters... A great game that is not the ambitious project Remedy wanted it to be, but it's glorious anyway.
  2. Alan Wake lacks that little spark of genious that distinguishes a good game from a masterpiece, an H.P. Lovecraft from your average Stephen King.
  3. While its not the generation defining game the epic development schedule might've hyped, Alan Wake is still a fantastic, 10-hour-plus play-it-on-the-couch linear action game - with brains required or not depending on your preference.